Google Pixel 4 Review: Easier To Buy, Harder To Recommend

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 21, 2019
  • Sponsored by Tech21. Protect your Pixel 4 (and save 10%!) here: bit.ly/2mkXZ6r
    Code: MRMOBILE10

    [GOOGLE PIXEL 4 REVIEW]
    You’ve heard it time and time again from reviewers like me: “this phone has a great concept, but it falls down in the execution.” Well Google has always gone a little different with its smartphones so maybe it should come as no surprise that the Pixel 4 flips that around. The Google Pixel 4 is a wonderful execution … of some very confusing decisions. Join me for the MrMobile Google Pixel 4 Review!

    [SUBSCRIBE TO MRMOBILE]
    tvclip.biz/channel/UCSOp...

    [ABOUT MRMOBILE'S GOOGLE PIXEL 4 REVIEW]
    MrMobile's Google Pixel 4 Review was produced following six days with a Google Pixel 4 review device provided by Google. Preproduction device running pre-release software. Google offered travel and lodging assistance for some members of the media to cover the Pixel 4 launch event in NYC, as well as a photo tour to several Brookyn-area destinations. MrMobile does not produce paid or sponsored reviews; Google was not offered copy review or approval prior to publication, and no compensation was requested or provided in exchange for this coverage.
    Special thanks to Android Central, which provided support critical to the production of this video. See Android Central's Pixel 4 Review.

    [SOCIALIZE]
    themrmobile
    themrmobile
    themrmobile
    mrmobile.tech

    [DISCLOSURE]
    This post may contain affiliate links, which afford Mobile Nations a commission if you make a purchase. See Mobile Nations' disclosure policy for more details: www.mobilenations.com/external-links
    #googlepixel4 #pixel4 #googlepixel #madebygoogle #smartphone #tech
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 511

  • MAYHEM MAEFAH GELSOFT
    MAYHEM MAEFAH GELSOFT 14 hours ago

    Google never good at building hardware poor quality everytime

  • cinIALVEspO w
    cinIALVEspO w 19 hours ago

    Them adding the telephoto instead of a wide angle is almost like they're doing it to spite the fans/users for asking for another camera.

  • Izzy
    Izzy Day ago

    your audio is poor execution use a Lav Mic bro, they're 20 bucks.

  • Nikolov Nikey
    Nikolov Nikey 2 days ago

    Waited impatiently about the Pixel 4 so i can finally ditch the SSAmsungLag phones iv been using for past 10 years , sad to be i finally give the thumbs up to Iphone . Gonna migrate this month on iphone 11 and thats that . Im sick of gimmicks in android for no use , i dont know how they give out ideas there on their drawing board but they sux . None needs the radar gestures , telephoto is useless ( 2x? wtf zoom ) its just a mess . I loved you google . P.S i will keep using your services tho hahhaa and your chromebooks haha

  • Anuj Dubey
    Anuj Dubey 3 days ago

    Always high quality content and Video, hats off man

  • OverProcessed
    OverProcessed 3 days ago

    I'll wait for the Pixel 5

  • CZARNYEU
    CZARNYEU 3 days ago

    Where is 4K @ 60fps?

  • Sean Smith
    Sean Smith 4 days ago

    This phones battery is not bad stop all this fake news!! I have the pixel 4 and I get 5-6 hours screen on time every day!

  • David Martrano
    David Martrano 4 days ago

    Due to the overpricing and what's offered I'll be skipping both models. Very disappointed that they used a 2800mamp battery in the base model. Plus they charge you an extra one hundred for the 128gb's of storage. Nah! Very good review....

  • Reeb
    Reeb 6 days ago

    I can buy an LG G7 (Snapdragon 845) for $200 with 6gb ram and 64gb storage.

  • jay hans
    jay hans 6 days ago

    This dude looks like a 40 year old trying to be 18 😂😂😂😂 really, is that hair gel? 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

  • Based D
    Based D 8 days ago

    Waiting for the pixel 4a

  • TF Shaw
    TF Shaw 8 days ago

    I really want a Google phone, have for years. Every time there is at least one thing that is so disappointing I change my mind. The battery alone is enough, not to mention the lack of a fingerprint sensor. Pass again, maybe next year.

  • Jeremy H
    Jeremy H 8 days ago

    It's actually a good phone, just needs to actually be ised for more than a few days to settle in.

  • Lani Pierre
    Lani Pierre 9 days ago

    I broke down and got the Pixel 4 (small version) and I'm enjoying it. My usage isn't heavy so the battery is OK - not winning any medals, but OK. And I also don't need a lot of flashy gimmicky features on a phone. I'd say the Pixel is for someone like me who likes the simplicity, the integration into the Google ecosystem and really isn't a power user. There's a phone out there for everybody...

  • Sparrowbandit92
    Sparrowbandit92 9 days ago

    I used to think I’d try a pixel at some point, Been using apple for a long time (had many androids too) but at this point I’d only buy a Samsung or Motorola. But then you lose on software updates

  • Tournel Henry
    Tournel Henry 9 days ago

    Google fucks up the iphone killer finally

  • matthew wragge
    matthew wragge 10 days ago

    Swing and Miss!?!?.....I respectfully disagree Sir.

    This phone is absolute dream. Plus the battery life has proven to be excellent, even with "force 90hz" turned on.

  • John Marsh
    John Marsh 11 days ago

    As always, your reviews are my 'go to' ones for accurate, insightful thoughts on today's tech, and I always check for a review from you before making a purchase. I appreciate your review here, but differ in some areas (I've had my Pixel 4XL for two weeks now). Battery life has never concerned me, though I know for those of you constantly on the road it's more important. I'm 'Joe Average' user who has chargers at home (night stand, home office), car, work office, etc. So I can easily charge up anytime. So I've never minded battery life shortcomings on Pixels or the Samsung Note series that was previously my phone of choice. I also seem to be the only one having issues with the Face Unlock. It seems slow to me and doesn't work all the time.

  • Davii Mai
    Davii Mai 12 days ago

    Not really related but about the rear fingerprint sensor:
    After switching to the S10 from an S8 I also miss the notification shortcut but as I use my phone flat on the table by my laptop half of the time I think it's worth it for the convenience of unlocking it. Can't say the same for face unlocking though.

  • NethLuc
    NethLuc 12 days ago

    Isnt the screen made by Samsung?

  • James Jackson
    James Jackson 12 days ago

    Okay I am swapping to a iPhone 11 Pro Max. Sorry Google I was a hard core fan and it legit hurts me to consider a beautiful Golden iPhone but URGH that battery life killed it for me...

  • A 360
    A 360 12 days ago

    Everything I am seeing and hearing about this phone makes me think this thing should cost the same as what the 3 does now, it's last years tech with this year's flagship prices. But hey you can take pictures of stars now, because ppl more than 1% of all of its users will do that more than like 3 nights ever....

  • Shane Bigler
    Shane Bigler 12 days ago +1

    I feel like Google makes the perfect phone then says "you know what, this is too good, let's eff it up a little" then replaces some good components with crappy ones.

  • TraceguyRune
    TraceguyRune 14 days ago

    Who cares if eyes are closed?
    1. Finger print does the same.
    2. People wear sunglasses...

  • mena seven
    mena seven 15 days ago

    The Google Pixel 4 design is boring. the phone doesn't have a wide angle camera and SD card slot and the battery is small. Google need to do a better job making cell phone.

  • adam khwaja
    adam khwaja 15 days ago

    Pixel lineup is never about the hardware alone. It's the software experience that makes the phone worthwhile. I had iPhone for 6 years, Samsung for 2 years and finally switched to Pixel 3 last year. The Pixel Android experience is miles ahead of anything else. The software is smart and smooth. Yeah, the hardware specs may be lower, but the software is smoother. Go try a pixel, it's hard to back back to other phones after that.

  • Charles Yeo
    Charles Yeo 15 days ago

    Omg your mic....what is going on there

  • Keyur Parikh
    Keyur Parikh 15 days ago

    What ever Google gets into it fails miserable. It's got the money 💰 but doesn't have the desire to make it an awesome phone so it give subpar specs. Unlike Samsung, just throws the everything and the kitchen sink and see what works well. So your getting the best of the best. Love my note 10+

  • Alan
    Alan 15 days ago

    Way too expensive. Losing ground now. iPhone 11 the boss.

  • Eri Nya
    Eri Nya 16 days ago +1

    2080 mAh battery is a joke really.

  • Mark Brown
    Mark Brown 16 days ago

    Yeah the camera still reigns supreme but nothing else and if you already own a pixel 3xl so does that camera so no need to upgrade at all

  • Питер Рай
    Питер Рай 16 days ago

    Worst pixel ever

  • SubyWill
    SubyWill 16 days ago

    I used Google phones since the Nexus One. Every single year I got the new Nexus or Pixel phone. Until this year. I got the iPhone 11 Pro Max instead of the Pixel 4 XL. Every review I see confirms that I made the right decision.

  • Ant Rod
    Ant Rod 16 days ago

    It's great you don't accept compensation for your reviews, unlike cough cough Juan Bagnell, but if you did, I wouldn't mind compensating you.

  • Tennis Ball
    Tennis Ball 16 days ago

    Pixel phones are a disgrace to Android.

  • pedro rosales
    pedro rosales 16 days ago

    Did you know google pixel 4 xl unlocks any angle upside down sideways..

  • John Barchard
    John Barchard 17 days ago

    That intro animation was illegally smooth

  • news feed
    news feed 17 days ago +1

    Why is there a war against effective fingerprint scanners?

  • Everyday Techy
    Everyday Techy 17 days ago +1

    Fantastic video, the pixel is the first Android phone I've used in years and I'm enjoying it.

  • God First Bro
    God First Bro 17 days ago

    I stand firm My favorite pixel is the black and white pixel 2XL

  • Ryan Hayden
    Ryan Hayden 17 days ago +1

    I bought mine and returned it a day later. The face unlock is highly inconvenient, and all the gimmicks just don't make it worth the money. Plus Google's trade-in program is highway robbery. I think it's time to abandon the Pixel line and go with OnePlus

  • John McGhie
    John McGhie 17 days ago

    You neglected to add that it's a rather ugly phone.

  • Chuck Richardson
    Chuck Richardson 18 days ago

    I can't believe that everyone is so up on how the camera can unlock your phone with your eyes closed have we forgotten that people who can see are not the only people who use cell phones these phones have TalkBack features and other options so that visually impaired people can also use the phone Google has it so that it can unlock your phone with your eyes closed for the benefit of blind people or people who have awkward eyes and pupils do to possibly birth defects or injuries there are a lot of blind people that wear special types of classes that have to be kept on at all times this allows them to still be able to have that same security to unlock their phone people need to step back for a second and stop thinking about themselves and think about what other reasons these things have been utilized for and for whom they may be utilized for you don't like the fact that it can unlock your phone with your eyes closed going to the options menu and change it or use a pattern or pin being able to unlock your phone without your eyes is probably one of the biggest benefits that a blind person has ever come across with phone security you guys need to leave it alone I happen to know somebody who was blind and thinks that that is one of the best things that has ever been done and jumps for Joy at the fact that they can have Security on their phone now because they don't need to worry about retinal scanning

    • skifree
      skifree 16 days ago

      @Chuck Richardson

      FaceID on the iPhone doesn't do retinal scanning, but it uses the eyes as a mechanism of whether to even attempt the authentication process. It does not unlock with eyes closed as it won't even begin to try unless it detects any person is actively looking at it.

      Even in the article you linked:
      "Face ID also requires your attention to unlock, so if your eyes are closed, or if you're looking away, it's not going to unlock."

      The main issue with not having attention awareness is that there is actually no way to willfully "deny" entry into the device. It would be equivalent to having a very secure key to your house but placing the key right next to the lock.

      A couple of my friends were even joking around with it a while back when the iphone x came out. The owner didn't like the speed penalty of the attention awareness and turned it off...All it took to gain access was to pick up the phone, hold it up to their face [which would unlock and he could not deny access to] and we were in.

    • Chuck Richardson
      Chuck Richardson 16 days ago

      @skifree www.pocket-lint.com/phones/news/apple/142207-what-is-apple-face-id-and-how-does-it-work
      Click and read that if you got a chance know where does it mention anything about how your eyes or anything related to them are used which kind of validates my point. It doesn't matter if your eyes are closed or not because it's not worrying about your eyes at all your eyes are not even part of this face ID program.
      I do understand where you're coming from and I do believe your argument is valid but at the same time I kind of believe I've won people don't truly understand what face ID is and thus never fully truly understood what it was supposed to do or how it was supposed to work and if you don't know something and you don't understand it you do what most people do you assume and as we all know most assumptions tend to be wrong

    • Chuck Richardson
      Chuck Richardson 16 days ago

      @skifree also if I'm not mistaken wouldn't the phone be able to unlock with your face unlock with your eyes closed regardless?? if I'm not mistaken didn't Apple remove their Iris scanning feature which means it's only scanning the how many different points of your face it wouldn't be scanning your eyes at all anyway because the retinal scanner was removed I may be wrong but I'm almost positive that they don't even use retinal scanning anymore so your eyes would make no difference to the Face Unlock that's why it's called Face Unlock it's unlocking via your face which is the new form of what they call Face ID it's not the nice retinal scanning that they used to have if I'm wrong on that please correct me but I thought it really was Apple that removed the whole Iris and retinal scanning thing.

    • Chuck Richardson
      Chuck Richardson 16 days ago

      @skifree I see what you're saying but perhaps it wasn't previously included because it hadn't been previously made an issue. how many of your street corners do you see with those little bubble plates in the cement near the corners before traffic lights? They are so that the blind people can know when to stop so that they don't walk into the street and get hit by a car. No streets just automatically came with those installed and some streets still don't have it.. eventually it gets implemented when too many people speak up and request it or state that they have an issue with that particular feature. you usually dont just include something until you feel it becomes a necessity to those who are purchasing the product or using it on a daily basis. When a certain amount of people require something and it becomes beneficial to implement it it done gets put into effect and I don't see how it jeopardizes your security somebody else with closed eyes can't unlock your phone because it still goes by all the points of your face so you can unlock your phone with your eyes closed but your buddy sitting next to you can't so I don't see how that jeopardized security at all it gave a future while keeping security but those that are only one sided and one minded see this as a downgrade to their security what about people like flossy Carter that like the constantly wear sunglasses this will now allow him to be able to unlock his phone while wearing his sunglasses so he doesn't have to take an extra step by removing them. It's not a problem it's just something different people don't like to accept change and difference. And lest we forget, you still have your pin on your pattern which they have stated is supposed to be the most secure way to get into your phone face unlock it's just an extra just like some other companies provide you with the fingerprint scanner but still state that the most security comes out of your pin or password which is why when setting up face ID and fingerprint ID you still need the first come up with a pin or a passcode, etc.

    • skifree
      skifree 16 days ago

      So your argument is, that certain groups of people will greatly appreciate this "feature" or lack there of, and that we should be more considerate to this group of people when justifying the decreased security.

      My question is: why not just INCLUDE IT (attention scanning), and then allow certain groups of people disable it.

      You even made a good example out of the talk back features. It's a feature out there and waiting to be enabled for the people who need it, but it defaults to the preferred setting for the majority of people. If my phone had talkback features FORCED on, and you make the same argument to justify it, I would return the phone and buy something else.

  • Jorge Carvajal
    Jorge Carvajal 18 days ago

    Dude is just unbelievable how great how amazing you make this review videos. Thanks for this information. I got the note 10 2 days ago and turns it in for exchange for the pixel 4. Not going to lie I feel a little bit scared now. I hope I didn't make the wrong move 😬

  • Khairumukhriz Ridzwan
    Khairumukhriz Ridzwan 18 days ago

    Excellent video as always, but coming from Mr Mobile himself I can expect no less. Hope you'll do the Asus ROG Phone 2 global version soon.

  • Mathew Swift
    Mathew Swift 18 days ago

    I have the pixel 4, it's been off charge since about 8:30AM, and with moderate use and is just now hitting 25%. I had a Galaxy S9, so this is an upgrade for me.

  • David Eagle
    David Eagle 18 days ago

    64gb storage makes no sense. Google still doesn't get that more storage is always a good thing. The cloud is not always reliable!
    Hopefully they don't screw up the Pixel 4a. It will probably be my next phone unless battery life is crap.

  • newname
    newname 18 days ago

    For $1000 Canadian, I'd say no. That one of the major marketing points is the swipe feature, to me, that's a major problem (and a suspiciously gimmicky one).

  • slick rick
    slick rick 19 days ago

    Everyone will vote with their pockets and not buy it. Shame really they could have made something great out of this phone.

  • JC HAZARD
    JC HAZARD 19 days ago

    Well I'm happy with my GP XL first generation and my 1+6T and my iPhone 7 plus

  • Xcelor 892
    Xcelor 892 19 days ago +1

    3:30
    Me: looking at my 2 hour battery life phone in disgust

  • Jack Taylor
    Jack Taylor 19 days ago

    The pixel had me lost when they started making the sleep/wake button plastic neon coloured, it was way better the original design.

  • John Calvette
    John Calvette 19 days ago

    Thank you,I haven't seen your videos for a long time.I remeber you call youself Mr. Mobile when you leave PocketNow.I think your opinion is really helpful.Personaly I want to a phone which has HTC's SLCD screen,iPhone 11's bettery life and Pixel 4's camera.

  • M A
    M A 19 days ago

    how could google fuck this up> meaning of successor was lost with google

  • Shaffaf Ahmed
    Shaffaf Ahmed 19 days ago

    camera of pixel vs latest mate ?

  • alchemistTi
    alchemistTi 19 days ago

    I really thought this 4th gen pixel would would be a turning point for Google. Unfortunately, it is...in the wrong direction. 🤦

  • Geric John Olivar
    Geric John Olivar 19 days ago +1

    Even my Redmi Note 8 is 100x way easier to recommend than this half-baked flagship

  • It's ch.illmatic
    It's ch.illmatic 19 days ago

    Google should stick to software and integrate their camera software into other phone manufacturers

  • Mustafa Tunc
    Mustafa Tunc 19 days ago

    I guess they'll release a 5G variant with a bigger battery which won't do any difference because of 5G 😂