Vega 20 MacBook Pro Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 21, 2018
  • Dave2D reviews AMD Vega 20 2018 MacBook Pro. Significantly faster performance for certain applications like Adobe Premiere.
    Available Here - amzn.to/2Kv0Gul
    With a 6-core i9-8950HK this newly updated MacBook Pro can push out some serious GPU and CPU performance. Vega 20 and Vega 16 are some badly needed graphics upgrades on the 15" Apple MacBook Pro
    Background Music: Fili - Domo
    If you want to support the channel, consider a Dave2D membership by clicking the “Join” button above!
    Dave2D
    Dave2D
    discord.gg/Dave2D
    Purchases made from store links may give me some money.
    (It doesn’t cost you extra, so please buy everything)
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 070

  • Dave Lee
    Dave Lee  Year ago +965

    It costs some serious $$$ but the Vega 20 FINALLY brings good GPU performance to 15" MacBook Pro. Thanks for watching!

    • Joshua Gonzalez
      Joshua Gonzalez 6 months ago

      Mehdi Ferradj if your willing to pay for the Vega 16 then you’d be willing to spend an extra $100 for that extra performance

    • Le Twins
      Le Twins 6 months ago

      @Kassim Williams macbook ;D very cool display for code

    • Doomsday Clock
      Doomsday Clock 7 months ago

      @BaldingEagle51 Dave 2D also does Van life series.
      tvclip.biz/video/3YzAJiKnxNc/video.html

    • BaldingEagle51
      BaldingEagle51 7 months ago

      I mean I get what you're saying, don't expect too much. Thing is Apple has never been performance leaders in anything, so there will be 10 laptop brands that beat those Premiere benchmarks, it's just that Apple buyers don't look. Apple buyers buy Apple cos Apple and can't cope with change, they're not power users like you. The more important question is when the other big "killer app" (5 of them on Mac) companies tire of making special versions of their software with nothing for a reward. Apple could crash hard and lose that trust when it becomes overly clear to users.

    • 404Found
      404Found 9 months ago

      @Andrew Colborn you just echoed me

  • ricky v
    ricky v 2 months ago +1

    Have you used this MacBook Pro with an eGPU and been able to get dual GPU rendering? This is of interest to me. (:

  • david rose
    david rose 3 months ago

    So if you had only one choice to either get 32 GB of RAM or get the Raidon Vega 20 which would you choose I will be going into the profession of web development web design with a lot of graphic arts animation running Adobe creative suite and writing a lot of code maybe you could help me on this says I’m going to purchase early next week and I’ve been juggling stats around to fit on my budget of $4160 Canadian so my choices one or the other if you don’t mind what would you choose? Please and thank you I’ve been looking for an answer on this all over so you’re the closest and I believe your expertise can really help me thank you

  • HuntaKiller
    HuntaKiller 3 months ago

    Heard rumors saying that this vega 20 will be inside the next renoir/4200G&4400G apu..is it close to rx570?

  • Drew Media Australia
    Drew Media Australia 3 months ago

    Great review of the facts !
    Thank you for explaining so well.
    Your comment about Premier I thought was a bit odd. Apple don’t make hardware to cater for Premiere, it will always be lower on the priority list, Adobe is streamlined for Windows.

  • Steve Ramirez
    Steve Ramirez 4 months ago

    How does the i9 Vega20 handle AE and C4D?

  • Justin Liebenberg
    Justin Liebenberg 6 months ago

    I can get a 32gb rtx2080 i9 8950hk for $3000 and you say you can't get a windows laptop at a competitive price...

  • JesusLovesYou
    JesusLovesYou 6 months ago

    My MacBook got on fire and Apple refused to do the repair. My whole family was put in danger and they told me that it is not their fault as I should have home insurance in place just in case their laptop catch fire. Shame on you Apple! Please avoid to buy their MacBooks if you value your life and your family.

  • bushidorox
    bushidorox 6 months ago

    Honestly, this is an absolutely amazing laptop. However, the pricing is a little...much? I'm not sure how to say this, but Apple has completely lost the plot with their prices. Still gonna buy a fully-specced MacBook Pro after my 2014 model dies, but I'm sad I can't buy a MacBook with proper graphics for a price point that makes sense.

  • Deadpool
    Deadpool 7 months ago +1

    LOL so much for a Vega 20. My GTX 1060 smokes it any time of the day.

  • Neeraj Singh R9
    Neeraj Singh R9 7 months ago

    Should I prefer ASUS rog gl503ge for editing?

  • CenturionGhost
    CenturionGhost 7 months ago

    What about the keyboard? Still terrible?

  • Niyog Ray
    Niyog Ray 7 months ago

    Seriously, having a monopoly on USB-C powered performance doesnt really make sense, for anybody. Apple is just trying to milk people. There is only so much any macOS lover is going to pay for.

  • G S
    G S 7 months ago

    Nice gfx upgrade, keyboard fixed yet?

  • Zizi Mugen
    Zizi Mugen 7 months ago

    I’d rather have a MacBook Pro with a low-end gpu, but I’d also like to see external gpu housing prices drop. A good cpu will last longer than a good gpu. Thunderbolt 3 baby. Boot camp can also allow for improved gaming performance by loading Windows.

  • Right Wing Safety Squad

    There's 2 reasons Apple keeps using AMD. First, NVIDIA pissed off all of the other tech companies with anti-competitive and letigious actions. Second, AMD has much better compute performance than Nvidia. Adobe applications won't show this because they have shit support for GPU compute other than CUDA. Compare a windows machine with a 1060 in Premier to a Mac with Vega 20 running FCP. The Mac will scrub more smoothly and render faster.

  • theinsfrijonds
    theinsfrijonds 8 months ago

    I get that it isn't as good as a $850+ windows laptop, performance-wise, but the comments from Windows users are ignorant. Use your brain and effort to make a comparison instead of exaggerating

    www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100006740%204814%20601285496&IsNodeId=1&bop=And&Order=PRICE&PageSize=36
    Link for all the lazy, ignorant fanboys (I know you couldn't have gotten there without my help because logic isn't part of your culture.)

  • Aayush Lamichhane
    Aayush Lamichhane 8 months ago

    Stylus in thumbnail , i need that

  • 百世經綸一頁書
    百世經綸一頁書 9 months ago

    👏👏👏💪👍👍👍

  • Willie Cordoba
    Willie Cordoba 9 months ago

    Does anybody know if the thumbnail pic is just a pic; or can I purchase that blue Vega skin / laptop cover?

  • Michael Latta
    Michael Latta 9 months ago

    Any chance of you doing a benchmark of Anthem on the Vega 20 Mac?

  • alienpilgrim
    alienpilgrim 9 months ago

    Is that a Suorin at 0:40? haha

  • Tanvir Ahammed
    Tanvir Ahammed 9 months ago +1

    Apple just won my heart

  • Michael Murphy
    Michael Murphy 9 months ago

    0:41, brooo, is that a suorin? 😂👌🏽

  • YUSHUA ELIAS
    YUSHUA ELIAS 9 months ago

    Do you think a new macbook pro 2019 is coming out?

  • AFIFI MERCURIALL DAISUKE

    Waiting ryzen 5 3600g apu vega 20. I still patient although rumoured.

  • descargasdenia descargasdenia

    Tengo una duda , voy a comprarme un MacBook Pro 2018 , el más barato, el I5 de dos núcleos a 2,3Ghz, tarjeta gráfica 640, ¿podré editar vídeo en 4K y retocar fotos?, no de manera profesional sino como usuario doméstico.

  • descargasdenia descargasdenia

    En español?

  • Riccardo Merlo
    Riccardo Merlo 9 months ago

    macOS now faster than Windows on the same machine with same GPU thanks to Metal 2 (macOS upper, Windows bottom)
    barefeats.com/warhammer-2-mac-shootout.html

  • Mahmoud Mohamed
    Mahmoud Mohamed 9 months ago

    Hi Dave, I have a question for you please, now I wanna get into the apple ecosystem and I don’t know to buy exactly. I’m thinking about buying MacBook Pro the 2017 model and I’m not using it for heavy productivity like video editing or such stuff since I’m a teacher i will be using it for the my work. so what do you recommend thanks

  • aidan ocampo
    aidan ocampo 10 months ago

    Why is Mercedes twice the price of Acura because it’s one of its kind

  • Thiaguera GYN
    Thiaguera GYN 10 months ago

    Hello, when does the video test run with I9 after the OS update?

  • Steve Zhu
    Steve Zhu 10 months ago +1

    Though I love this MacBook Pro, but ITS KEYBOARD SUCKS.

  • sarcawan
    sarcawan 10 months ago

    You are one of the only youtubers or "influencers" that I actually trust in his/her opinion.

  • Chad
    Chad 10 months ago

    hi David, is it ok to add vega 20 in i7?

  • Couto
    Couto 10 months ago

    titulo em português?

  • Sascha Kuhn
    Sascha Kuhn 10 months ago

    Impressive how they fit everything in this tiny package. Thermal issues aside is this impressive.

  • FatBoy Diesel
    FatBoy Diesel 10 months ago

    So.... I'm (hypothetically) paying HEDT money for a MacBook with Vega 20...
    This is why I'm never getting Mac-anything.

  • TheShapeeeee
    TheShapeeeee 10 months ago

    Whats the other laptop next to the macbook? - beautiful

  • AHMED SM
    AHMED SM 10 months ago

    Dave since you like MacOS why dont you buy a powerfull laptaob(Better than Pro) and install Mac OS

  • Tyler Lipsky
    Tyler Lipsky 10 months ago

    Apple already charges whatever they want, this isn't anything new 😂

  • Riccardo Merlo
    Riccardo Merlo 10 months ago

    Mac gaming is reborn thanks to Metal, not all games are optimized or many are still on OpenGL. But quality port like Feral ones have performance parity with Windows

  • Joe Turk
    Joe Turk 10 months ago

    I don’t binge watch youtube as much as I used to but I have noticed that Dave2d’s tone in his video is actually very calming, a lot of the fake enthusiasm of apple reviewers on youtube and “productivity” bullshit is very annoying, it’s nice to see simplicity and chillness for a change, now that’s what I call effective communication through videos

  • Dary Satyanegara
    Dary Satyanegara 10 months ago

    Better buy the GPU and make it an external GPU...... (if it's possible 😅😅😅😅)

  • Roy Tseng
    Roy Tseng 10 months ago

    I believe the new macbook pro model still has the blown speaker issue. My 2016 model has already encountered this problem twice. I think it's a hardware design defect, so even if you get it fixed the problem is very likely to bother you again at some time. I am very disappointed that Apple seems to have no intention on correcting this at all.

  • camXmile
    camXmile 10 months ago

    2:55 not really. For some reason the store I got my macbook from has vega version for twice as much.

  • jacob lester
    jacob lester 10 months ago

    Ehhh I call bullshit. Having that card in there is great for pro users and that’s a great selling point but who cares that much about usb c charging on a laptop. And at 100 watts that sob is going to be forever charging

  • Real Content
    Real Content 10 months ago

    I have a Vega 20 MacBook and it could game well under boot camp

  • Harris Allen
    Harris Allen 10 months ago

    Updated a month earlier. Feel like if I do it again, the next day they'll update it again.

  • Sankarshan Ghosh
    Sankarshan Ghosh 10 months ago

    4000$?😶

  • Honest Tech Reviews
    Honest Tech Reviews 10 months ago

    Wait what about the Dell XPS though?

  • Tai DING
    Tai DING 10 months ago

    Brenchmark please. We wants numbers and pictures. Less talking please

  • Scott Frost
    Scott Frost 10 months ago

    What are those light sticks in the background ?

  • Psyconic LT
    Psyconic LT 10 months ago

    Try a better background for your videos

  • LuvTEA XD
    LuvTEA XD 10 months ago

    i mean for like 3k you could get a 15 inch razer blade or 2 predator helios 300s, who buys macbooks its not worth it. even a 899 acer nitro 5 beats it with specs, and its 30% the price,, like what

  • Makendu
    Makendu 10 months ago

    why would you link someone to buy a mac book from amazon on a referral code what the hell is wrong with you

  • Teddy M
    Teddy M 10 months ago

    Thank you Dave as always. What a wonderful channel for computer reviews especially laptops and a very sound knowledge on apple products.

  • Teddy M
    Teddy M 10 months ago

    What a shame that apple still refuse to put n 8GB memory card of any kind in their notebooks though...

  • Terrence C
    Terrence C 11 months ago +2

    I used to have a Mac, I switched to Lenovo 4 years ago. I think Lenovo is better for the money.

  • Abraham
    Abraham 11 months ago +2

    Is there any 8GB vram models? 4GB is a bit short in 2018. Also any high refresh rate?