Mary and the Witch's Flower - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 19, 2018
  • FACEBOOK: facebook.com/ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: twitter.com/Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Mary and the Witch's Flower, starring Ruby Barnhill, Kate Winslet, Jim Broadbent, Ewen Bremner, Lynda Baron, Louis Ashbourne Serkis, Morwenna Banks, Teresa Gallagher, Rasmus Hardiker, Rebecca Louise Kidd. Directed by Hiromasa Yonebayashi.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 870

  • NoneOfTheAbove
    NoneOfTheAbove 27 days ago

    Just a quick note. I disagree with you on the villains motivation. It clearly stated throughout the movie what the specific motivation was. It showed it in that spell book. It showed it in that scene from the "past" and it showed it in the end of the film. Sorry if I came across to nit picky.

  • NoneOfTheAbove
    NoneOfTheAbove 27 days ago

    SPOILER ALERT: I did like the movie but the ending just frustrated me. The moral of the story was that magic is bad, never use magic again, abandon magic for good. And for what? Just because 2 people became corrupt. Most of the magic that was being used was for good, and to right the wrongs of those 2 people. But even in the face of mostly good magic, the moral was still to reject magic. That ruined the whole, other wise good, movie for me.

  • matthew fenwick
    matthew fenwick Month ago

    But! There’s something about Mary

  • Jacob Kaiser
    Jacob Kaiser Month ago

    I actually give it a A+ or 10/10 it’s that good in my opinion

  • GachaChloe YT
    GachaChloe YT Month ago

    This is my favorite movie :3

  • Olivia Cordner
    Olivia Cordner 2 months ago

    Tbh I really did like the movie and was wondering if a second movie is coming out so let me know if u have any info :))

  • BabyFantasia
    BabyFantasia 2 months ago

    With no expectation, I couldn't even finish the movie; I was so bored, and uninspired from it all. Despite its beautiful animation, its Miyazaki references couldn't even save it. It felt focus was solely to that, neglecting other aspects what makes a great film. The pacing was strange, characters were bland from the get go; I wasn't connecting to Mary at all. I'll try to give it a second shot. For their first movie it's understandable there's more learning and growing ahead. I will keep eye out for their next film though. You have to start from somewhere.
    - edit -
    Okay, tried a second attempt. Still couldn't finish it given 15-20min left towards the end. Am left disappointed to say the least. Still stand the plot and pacing felt all over the place. Sadly there was not one likable character, very predictable, etc. There were some weird interaction from time to time, I thought I was losing it at one point. lol Yeah, over all, very underwhelming film.

  • Michael Cappelli
    Michael Cappelli 2 months ago

    At first I thought "Gosh, even her first name is Mary and she's a Mary Sue character...." but she did redeem herself at the end, where she used the help of the animals and even utilized the circumstances of her trapped friend to save the day. Now, this is no fault of her character per say but rather the story writing. Everything just sort of "happened" around her, very little input on her part. The correct decision was always obvious and the solution was just handed to her. Now I get she's a little girl, but so was the main character in Spirited Away. Age doesn't mean a character can't observe a level of complexity and intellect. Mary was just confused by EVERYTHING, and literally anyone else could have done what she did. The Never Ending Story did the "character along for the ride" thing right by having a SECOND main character that had already made the tough decisions, yet it made you feel like the boy reading along was making those tough decisions with him. He even argues with the Atreyu's decisions sometimes, knowing he can't change them but it shows that there's something going on upstairs and the character is actively involved in the story. Mary never confronts any ideologies other than to say she does or doesn't agree-and THAT's once again due to the bad writing, as there are SO many details left out of the story and how everything works. I think a C+ was generous, I mean, maybe because of the great animation, but the movie itself was severely disappointing.

  • Alia Ris
    Alia Ris 2 months ago +1

    Mary is barely interacted with other characters, all along we just listening to her talking to herself loudly about almost everything, even to smallest details like "oh, the cat turned to black again!". We barely even know why she must stay with her great-aunt, unless you read the book.

  • babyskitty
    babyskitty 2 months ago

    In my opinion the movie felt slow.

  • Desmond Hodges
    Desmond Hodges 2 months ago

    This film reminds so much of castle in the sky and spirited away. It reminds me of the golden age of anime films

  • birds_and_ fat_dogs
    birds_and_ fat_dogs 2 months ago

    I totally agree

  • gnosis2012
    gnosis2012 3 months ago

    C+ ???? really? really???

  • IDEA
    IDEA 3 months ago

    Peter looks like link

  • ur2c8
    ur2c8 3 months ago

    Agreed.

  • Karli
    Karli 3 months ago

    everyone hates this movie but i loved it...

  • OsteoPierogies
    OsteoPierogies 3 months ago

    I disagree. This movie was beyond impressive. The visuals were amazing and how can you dislike a character that’s just so damn cute.

  • DindonPoo
    DindonPoo 3 months ago

    Long rant_My thoughts on the movie after giving it a go:
    1) The villains' motivations were very clearly shown - they became greedy quickly after the aunt showed them the Witch's flower. However, no matter the story or concept you write for a character, the most important step is execution. Which the movie failed at. Could've emphasized their greed more, add in a few scenes (e.g Show the process of their kindness slowly turning downhill to greed, them wanting more information about the research lead to corruption of abusing innocent animals and even their own beloved students).
    2) As for Mary, she was a typical portrayal of a very relatable character(not that it's bad) having her own flaws. She was not confident about her appearance (red hair) and was very bothered by her own clumsiness. That's the only points I really did recall. Unlike what many others have said in the comment section, she did not lack confidence to make changes. It was shown in one scene where Mary bravely decided to walk into the forest despite the heavy mist and Peter pussying his way out. It was also shown in another scene at the beginning how Mary kept trying to help others despite failing every time. You would say that she gained the confidence she lacked from being showered with compliments from her first visit from Endor Magic College, allowing her to save Peter. But, she already had the confidence from the start as I said. I'm not making a very clear statement, but my point was that there weren't much character development Mary had in the movie. Or at least, it wasn't impactful enough. It fell flat.
    3) I agree with Chris regarding Mary's bloodline and her aunt once carrying the power of a witch. It was very obvious that Mary would turn out to be a normal human being instead of gaining witch abilities in the end, that's perfectly fine. I suppose we can all assume that the power just didn't transfer over to Mary. HOWEVER, when Mary rushed to her witch aunt's old house, a magic fire greeted and welcomed her, calling her "'miss". I thought that was directly towards broom. But as the broom was taking a rest, the fire then said something along the lines of "Welcome back, miss. In all honesty, we didn't expect you to come back. It's been very long, please do come in." Does that mean even if Mary didn't carry any of her aunt's power, the fire still recognized Mary simply because they were blood related? I thought that dialogue line should be reworded, as it sounded like it was implying something much more interesting. I understand and agree to the reason being that Mary is a normal human, but it would've been nice and made sense to shed some light about Mary's bloodline.
    4) I felt that all the decisions our main character made wasn't very impactful or lead me feeling that she made a lot of character development in her journey. The broomstick was the one that guided her majority of the movie, the animals were the one that saved her from endgame. Most of the decisions she made wasn't very smart and didn't align with her flaws from the beginning so well. The fact that she was saved every time after being driven into a corner just yells conveniency for the writers to move on to the next scene. Other than the obvious blushing in embarrassment or shying away from her red hair, there weren't much to be said about her insecurities.
    5) Not much to be said about the rest of the characters too, honestly. Peter didn't have much to show, the supporting characters were uninteresting. This movie was about Mary, but even her wasn't interesting enough.
    6) Many of Hayao Miyazaki's movies had very great settings. The environment and background characters he created made the story very world building and a fictional story feel realistic, as if the audience is also witnessing firsthand everything that's happening. In Mary and the Witch's Flower, the setting was about magic since most of the scenes consisted of the magical world. If you think about it, the whole theme about not needing magical powers and not feeding into greed fits very well with the setting. However, I didn't feel like the writers really used the setting of the story properly to further emphasize their theme and purpose. What of the students that we're currently studying magic? Were they aware of the cruel experiments done by their professors, and if so, were the students also clouded with greed? How reliant were the witches towards magic? What kind of relationship did they have with magic? What were the professors' goal after successfully creating a human that could use any kind of magic? Would they abuse Peter's new-founded powers, claiming they would make humankind more superior?
    7) One last thing I want to say about Mary's character development: I see the point of bringing up the last scene that has Mary throwing away the Witch's Flower, hence rejecting the need of magic. I do admit that she was completely ecstatic about 'her' powers, to the point of lying multiple times and bragging for more compliments. I agree to that and the last scene showing character development. But, I still felt like there should've been something in between those scenes, like Mary having great hesitations between abandoning her new powers and sacrificing those powers to save Peter.

    My opinion would remain exactly the same even if Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli weren't connected to this movie. Well, it would be silly of me to lie that I didn't come here with high expectations - that is something you can't help feeling, when the same workers that was alongside with Miyazaki in his creations of some very great films also helped with this movie. I don't believe I have anything else to add here. I'd give this movie a 5/10. The only saving grace was the animation.

  • Satanen Perkele
    Satanen Perkele 3 months ago

    Japanese animated movies usually have that issue with bad storylines and plotholes that make no sense. Anime sucks.

  • Art Talk with Mr. S
    Art Talk with Mr. S 4 months ago

    Everyone bashing this film because it’s not as good as the films made by one of the greatest animation directors of all time are ridiculous. Almost every Ghibli film that is remembered fondly is made by Hayao Miyazaki, so saying that Mary is bad film because it’s not like his movies is not a valid criticism. If you have problems with the the story or characters, fine different opinions. But to say “this movie is bad because it’s not as good as Spirited Away” is nonsense.

  • Ameya Waghmare
    Ameya Waghmare 4 months ago

    Agree with the villains being kinda meh, but disagree with Mary's character not growing or learning much. I feel like her growing was done more thematically than through the context of the film's story. She starts out not liking herself. She hates her red hair, she says she's "rubbish at everything," however when she arrives at the Hogwarts school that becomes a complete 180 for her. She becomes confident in herself and in her abilities. So confident that she was able to go back to the school and save Peter. A message I think was conveyed here was "if you can't physically change something about yourself, why not look at it from another light." This is something many young people, especially females are known to struggle with, maybe not as kids but definitely as teens. And when she says she never wants to use magic again, she means she's tired of trying to change things about herself that she can't change or at least can't change at that instant. Over all a great video, I know this comment is like 12 months late but I just wanted to state my opinion!

  • Sergio Wolfskull
    Sergio Wolfskull 5 months ago

    I watched it on mushrooms so it was pretty amazing for me through and through

  • Blondesmartarse
    Blondesmartarse 5 months ago

    YES. I want a movie on the backstory that lead to that opening scene

  • BaRRY H5Z7 D
    BaRRY H5Z7 D 5 months ago

    D-
    That’s my rating I HATED this movie

  • ebrahim hasanqasemy
    ebrahim hasanqasemy 5 months ago

    those flowers were just Hallucinogens , all that did happen was Delusion

  • Seferina Bluebaskets
    Seferina Bluebaskets 5 months ago

    Blessed be.

  • Sophea Mandall
    Sophea Mandall 5 months ago

    I give it an A- It was my first time watching an anime movie and honestly I think it was pretty good, just at some points it didnt make sense and the plot.was a little weird. I think anime made by Ponoc are the only ones ill watch because all other anime is trash.......k dont fight me

  • Cpn. Beartato
    Cpn. Beartato 6 months ago

    Agree on everything you said, I liked it but felt rushed in plot and development in characters and villains. Also missed what I love about ghibli films and animation period when they have those quiet times to show time or character growth like when Kikis broom breaks and there isba quick scene of her in her little room carving the wood for a new one and crying about it. Or when Chihiro sits with Len on the balcony and look over the sea at night showing her adjusting to this world unlike when she was shaking in her sleep the first night. Stuff like that or small details put in to those paying attention like when you find out the tunnel in the end of spirited awat wasnt actually red and new and had a path to it in reality it was like that cuz the spirit world was open and the place was actually covered in vines and brush it was great.
    I bring these up cuz in the movie she makes a big point about her hair being unruly and red and just not to her liking. Though all through people in the witching world see that hair as a sign of a strong witch. Id of liked to see her in the end instead of having her hair stay in pigtails just out and unruly and pushed back with one of her bow ribbons as a headband. Show that shes proud of inheriting that hair from her grandmother. I'm being apart of a legacy of a great witch even if she may or may not get to be one herself.

  • Jack K
    Jack K 6 months ago

    I can't stand everyone comparing every movie featuring a magic university to the Harry Potter franchise. This was nothing like Harry Potter. In _Harry Potter,_ the politics of the university are central to the plot. There is some of that here with the corrupt teachers, extortion and animal cruelty. It's also true that like Harry, Mary was dubbed an inherent prodigy, but those "connections" are so shallow. There were books about schools of magic before Harry Potter. Some people was argued Rowling to be derivative in that regard.
    Additionally, people should stop comparing this to other Ghibli movies. Kiki's Delivery service didn't even _have_ a school of magic.

  • Jack K
    Jack K 6 months ago

    Am I the only one who thought this movie didn't make any sense?
    If the twist is that Mary's a real witch after all, why did she need to rely on the flower seeds for compensation? Mary being a true witch could explain why her magical powers didn't run dry during the climatic chase scene.
    If the flower was necessary for the purpose of accessing limitless use and potency of magical ability, this implies that all magic wielding has terminal use capacity. Therefore, if other witches and wizards had only finite power to use magic, why didn't we see evidence of this from the two antagonists (or any of the other magical characters for that matter)? The teacher and professor seemed to have no such limitations.
    If the grandmother was a real witch, why is no longer a magic wielder?
    If the broom was truly magical, why did it seem to have an insignia that indicated it was merely augmented by the flowers only to _seem_ to be truly magical?
    Why did Mary's gradmother transform in the opening scene? Was it a disguise?
    Why wouldn't the two antagonists be demoted or fired after such a fantastic failure?
    How is it realistic the town didn't suffer more interactions and sightings with witches and wizards?

  • Jay no
    Jay no 6 months ago

    can someone please explain to me what's the exact link between Mary and Charlotte?!?! and what about her parents....
    i liked the movie tbh but i didn't like the absence of character development and the evil witches were boring :/

  • SloppyJoe TheCat
    SloppyJoe TheCat 6 months ago

    I watched this when I was high and I was so tripped but I did like it

  • KingTai 64
    KingTai 64 7 months ago

    She's hasty and clumsy. That's why she can't go do much.

  • ZdreamerZ 14
    ZdreamerZ 14 7 months ago

    This movie actually made me be happy about my crazy curly frizzy hair that's pretty much the only thing I took from this movie

  • I Love Toucans
    I Love Toucans 7 months ago

    This movie felt kinda sticky. When your in the school, you never see anyone roaming around except for one scene and we don't get to see much magic being used. It kinda felt like a play, but looked like a movie.

  • Randy Marsh
    Randy Marsh 7 months ago

    animation is good but feals too recycled. its idealistic english portrial is like somethings you'd put vr googles on to reminise a pre e.u time.

  • DeAngelo Hill
    DeAngelo Hill 7 months ago

    Sad, but true this movie is terrible. All I could think about is Kiki's Delivery Service, the broomstick and the black cat, although the black cat in this movie is so horrible, doesn't speak kind of stuck up, cant really understand Mary's like for it. The world it was used seemed inclosed and they didn't spend enough time developing the characters. They were bland and rushed to an ultimately bad climatic attempt

  • Matt Thornton
    Matt Thornton 7 months ago

    Finally watched the movie. It was good and kinda felt like a combination Castle in the Sky and Kiki’s Delivery Service.
    The story felt like there was a lot of content missing and the pacing felt rather fast in places. But the animation was beautiful and I hope Studio Ponoc really steps up their game in future movies

  • loyalKingshound
    loyalKingshound 7 months ago

    My thoughts pretymuch exactly

  • Tiaam Du Nord
    Tiaam Du Nord 7 months ago +1

    FYI TVclipr called Shadowrules VA stole your review word for word

  • Hagleboz
    Hagleboz 8 months ago

    Spot on Review

  • Spencer Manganiello
    Spencer Manganiello 8 months ago

    I think Studio Ghibli and now studio Ponoc could really use some Disney-isms and i think Disney really could use some Ghibli-sims.

  • Jo L.
    Jo L. 8 months ago

    It sucked. :)

  • Francisco Ícaro
    Francisco Ícaro 8 months ago

    Good settings won't compensate generic plot.

  • alarturo93
    alarturo93 8 months ago

    Have you watched Laura’s Star ? It’s a German movie and it’s obviously for kids but even now I like it because it gets close to this Ghibli side of giving you things that are different in point of view.

  • Tara Lucent
    Tara Lucent 8 months ago

    Mary is such a Mary Sue.

  • The Slick Android
    The Slick Android 8 months ago

    So the main protagonist is basically a poor man's Kiki.

  • Courtney S.
    Courtney S. 8 months ago

    Decent movie at best.

  • CarebearNo.89
    CarebearNo.89 8 months ago

    I agree. I didn't hate it, but the plot and characters were lacking. Animation was gorgeous though. It was based on a book, so idk if it was one of things that got lost in translating a book to flim.

  • Adam Hyatt
    Adam Hyatt 8 months ago

    Anime Harry Potter?

  • Natalie Mcdonald
    Natalie Mcdonald 8 months ago

    Yes I would have loved to see a movie about aunt Charlotte. It was frustrating to see the echoes of Studio Ghibli through such beautiful illustration and character design but to feel none of the hope and pain and revelations that we felt with all of the wonderful, deeply multi-faceted characters that Ghibli gave us. I really hope that Studio Ponoc can continue to produce movies and work to keep giving young girls somebody accessible and truly good to look up to.

  • Gamer Voice
    Gamer Voice 8 months ago

    Something about the way the first day in the movie felt... how the TV was broken, how her day was doomed to boredom until she was given the excuse to have an unexpected picnic. I've had that feeling of being in a place as a kid that didn't initially cater to children, where you felt like you were going to be trapped into a boring day but... it turned into unexpected rich memory that fostered your imagination.
    Sometimes a movie has a feeling about it that pulls on a string you forgot you had... I feel like this movie had that special mood. So it is one of my favorites for that indescribable reason.
    It made me remember that part of childhood... before smartphones, and before having a car where I could take myself out of a boring situation.
    Great-Aunt Charlotte reminded me of my late grandmother too...I found myself very emotional throughout all of her scenes with Mary.
    The movie just spoke to me I guess.

  • Toon Link
    Toon Link 8 months ago

    I totally agree. While I too was also completely blown away by the intro, as the film progressed I began to feel as though there was something "missing" from this movie (and especially towards the end). It definitely wasn't the visuals and certainly not the animation, both were incredible and had me at the edge of my seat, but the way the script and characters were developed throughout the film had left me with a slightly unamused feeling, like it just didn't hit its fullest potential as a Ghibli successor. I kept thinking to myself that I probably would have enjoyed it more if I had been 12 years younger, but then again, the same could be said for a crappy anime that doesn't even compare to this film, so I digress. It's a cute and gorgeous film, but it needed more work regarding story and character development.

  • Oziel Arteaga
    Oziel Arteaga 8 months ago

    I strongly agree beautiful movie but i got really bored

  • Things with Kay
    Things with Kay 8 months ago

    do a review on howl’s moving castle

  • RandomCat
    RandomCat 9 months ago +1

    I liked the film but a missed opportunity is that Mary complains about her life and screwing things up and BOOM she has the chance to be a witch and she's VERY good at magic we could've seen her not want to leave since she doesn't like her old life or that she grew attached to the school only to be disappointed when they find out she's not a real witch but overall this was a decent first film

    • Purple spaghetti
      Purple spaghetti 4 months ago

      RandomCat she knew that she wasn’t a witch and that’s why she didn’t grow attached

  • Cali FIT
    Cali FIT 9 months ago

    I give it a B, I still liked it. The ending was abrupt, but I still thought for the most part they did a good job

  • Lance D.
    Lance D. 9 months ago

    I just watched the movie and honestly I dislike it quite a bit although it is in fact beautiful. Tib was the only character I cared for.

  • Rebel official
    Rebel official 9 months ago

    Is this how howl form howls moving castle learned to be a wizard

  • Angela Yang
    Angela Yang 9 months ago

    My favorite parts about the movie were probably the music and the art.

  • Andrew Charron
    Andrew Charron 9 months ago

    I personally agree with Chris’s position on this film. I believe that the audio and visual are definitely top tier, however the character development was definitely lacking. There are plot holes galore in the film that leave us wanting to know more about Mary and her journey. The “in medias res” intro of the film does not add much in the end. The end goal of the antagonists really are underdeveloped.

  • fdasfdsa fdsafdsafdasfds

    I'm glad they set the bar high for animation and visuals. Hopefully they can find better vision

  • FurryEskimo
    FurryEskimo 9 months ago

    Well I’m glad you didn’t watch this movie through Rose colored classes.
    The online scores are High, but all the characters are boring, the evil plot is vague, and the dialogue is cliche.
    In anime it’s painfully common for characters to:
    1. Repeat everything they hear.
    2. Ask “what?” to everything they hear.

  • Leyah Cheney
    Leyah Cheney 9 months ago

    It was a nice film^^

  • zimmier
    zimmier 9 months ago

    yes! best scene whole movie was that beginning scene paired with its music. i def found i was more interested in that backstory. it got me super hyped then it turned into another ghibli kids movie. not that that is a bad thing. i agree with almost all your talking points chris. i would really like to see a prequel to this movie with all that great action in that backstory. its such a strong contrast and looks like so much effort went into that scene that it makes me wonder if they planned on expanding that to another movie. its too epic to ignore.

  • Sean Lee
    Sean Lee 9 months ago

    There are so many ghibli references in this film it would make a great drinking game.

  • Dragon Scales
    Dragon Scales 9 months ago

    I agree! The movie was pretty but left a lot to be desired

  • Kimberly H
    Kimberly H 9 months ago

    The story was kind of messy. I had to watch a Ghibli film after.

  • Pooky1991
    Pooky1991 9 months ago

    Not bad for a new studio. I can see them improving and doing better

  • Pooky1991
    Pooky1991 9 months ago

    I watched this and it reminds me of Little Witch Academia meets Kiki's Delivery Service with a dash of Spirited Away

  • Your Mom's Tits
    Your Mom's Tits 9 months ago

    This is one of those
    Atomic power and science is bad. nature and natural order is Good.
    "Magic" is science, they are trying to harness the power of the Atom /" witche's Flower".

  • Some Cynical Asshole
    Some Cynical Asshole 9 months ago

    It was a great movie. Had that amazing Ghibli look to it, the animation always being amazing and the designs. The only thing I kept thinking during the movie though was “This feels a lot like Spirited Away mixed with Kiki’s Delivery Service or Harry Potter.” other than that, I loved it a lot. Just a good fun laid back film.

  • LoriiCakez
    LoriiCakez 9 months ago

    I just saw thee move a year later, and I literally said the same thing about rather seeing the prequel than this movie.

  • t-bone007
    t-bone007 9 months ago

    A solid 8 for me.

  • mikesgirl8304
    mikesgirl8304 9 months ago

    Hmmm I agree it didn't quite live up to Studio Ghibli movies but I still loved it and thought it was wonderful

  • Rebecca Robinson
    Rebecca Robinson 9 months ago

    I'm glad I'm not crazy lol- this film as some really terrible dialogue and Mary just... never does anything offensive whatsoever... It felt like they were just trying way too hard to make her cute and likable

  • ArtistXXX 1900
    ArtistXXX 1900 9 months ago

    Why is in english?

  • Alex T.
    Alex T. 9 months ago

    a good movie

  • syz·y·gy
    syz·y·gy 9 months ago

    Pssh. I loved it.

  • Tiaam Du Nord
    Tiaam Du Nord 9 months ago +1

    Bootlegged version of Kiki’s Delivery Service

  • 525Lines
    525Lines 9 months ago

    Like so much anime, beautiful animation but the stories/characters don't connect. Wonder if Ponoc would animate somebody else's story.

  • Joe Sandhu
    Joe Sandhu 9 months ago

    Hey Chris thanks for reviewing this movie
    I had a blast watching this movie for myself
    Mary and the witches flower is a good movie.

  • TailinLaer
    TailinLaer 9 months ago

    I just watched this today and you are dead on as always. The art was stunning but overall it was a let down.

  • RAZKEN
    RAZKEN 9 months ago

    The whole movie felt rushed and there wasnt any buildup or anything. No character development... Dissapointed to say the least. It was beautiful animated tho.

  • Splatulated
    Splatulated 9 months ago

    How does it compare to the book from 1971?

  • Will Camick
    Will Camick 9 months ago

    As someone who has watched every studio ghibli production I feel confident in saying Mary and the witch's flower lacks feeling. It looks amazing but it has no heart. When she was sad about the broom and she cried i felt nothing.
    I did not feel a single thing =(

  • Strawberrysugarcube
    Strawberrysugarcube 10 months ago

    Gorgeous movie, but a rushed plot, and characters that lacked depth and relate-ability. I'm just gonna go read the book it's based on.

  • poetascarafaggio
    poetascarafaggio 10 months ago

    (Late comment since the movie just came out in Italy and for 1 week only instead or 2/3 nonetheless)
    I disagree when Stuckmann said '(Mary) didn't learn much of anything' and the subsequent comparison with Star Wars he made.
    From that last sentence in the movie, we learn that Mary has basically learnt a lot!
    She started as a kid that wanted to prove she was able to be useful and not just a klutz, and when she was praised while in that magic academy, she thought magic could be a(n easy) way to finally "change" and become better.
    But towards the end of the movie, she proved she didn't need magic to save Peter and understood that you can change (or, rather, improve yourself) by putting efforts in the things you do!
    So she didn't need a flower that could give her magical powers, because she proved she could do better by herself.
    That, and, let's be honest, even if she wanted to use the flower once again, she would have either ended up planting it and having to wait another 7 years before a new plant would sprout or she would have smashed it and kept those powers for just one more day.

  • God is a Critter
    God is a Critter 10 months ago

    I dunno I think I kind of disagree with you about her not learning anything, i think by the end of it she learned to love herself as she is. Like she doesn't need any magic powers to be special. So I think she did learn something that i atleast think is pretty important.

  • BoyThunder Productions
    BoyThunder Productions 10 months ago

    It's Studio *PONOC'S* latest movie, *BLIKI"S BLEBLIVERY BLERVICE.*

  • Heliogenesis
    Heliogenesis 10 months ago

    Mary is so dumb, sorry

  • CoolGamerbros
    CoolGamerbros 10 months ago

    ive watched all of the anime before you reviewed it

  • JCcovers
    JCcovers 10 months ago

    You can't blame them for the storyline. It's based on a children's book

  • peter robin
    peter robin 10 months ago

    Whoah, I'm shook I thought the movie was amazing

  • Havy
    Havy 11 months ago

    I support this movie regardless. I loved the film and I thought it was the best movie I've ever watched! But I do agree with you! I rate the movie 7.5/10

  • Tiffany Flores
    Tiffany Flores 11 months ago +1

    How many hours of movies have you watched?

  • Kevin Hagler
    Kevin Hagler 11 months ago

    Agreed with just about everything you said, but your final grade was harsh.

  • xxOwOxx Pawsies
    xxOwOxx Pawsies 11 months ago

    It's called a Anime Animation...

  • aliquidcow
    aliquidcow 11 months ago

    Agree with this. The story felt oddly rushed and the characters undeveloped. It was lacking the charm and attention to detail you get in Ghibli films.
    The opening sequence was great but it's always a tell-tale sign when a film starts with a big action sequence like that one that there's going to be a long setup before anything else like that happens. Unfortunately, as you say, I don't think anything else in the film lived up to it, and when the significance of that scene was revealed, it was very flat, like 'Oh yeh by the way I used to be a witch and I hid those seeds', it didn't really seem to have much emotional impact on the story.

  • Brian
    Brian 11 months ago

    A bit like Steamboy but I still love it