Mary and the Witch's Flower - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 847

  • Seferina Bluebaskets

    Blessed be.

  • Sophea Mandall
    Sophea Mandall 12 days ago

    I give it an A- It was my first time watching an anime movie and honestly I think it was pretty good, just at some points it didnt make sense and the plot.was a little weird. I think anime made by Ponoc are the only ones ill watch because all other anime is trash.......k dont fight me

  • Cpn. Beartato
    Cpn. Beartato 20 days ago

    Agree on everything you said, I liked it but felt rushed in plot and development in characters and villains. Also missed what I love about ghibli films and animation period when they have those quiet times to show time or character growth like when Kikis broom breaks and there isba quick scene of her in her little room carving the wood for a new one and crying about it. Or when Chihiro sits with Len on the balcony and look over the sea at night showing her adjusting to this world unlike when she was shaking in her sleep the first night. Stuff like that or small details put in to those paying attention like when you find out the tunnel in the end of spirited awat wasnt actually red and new and had a path to it in reality it was like that cuz the spirit world was open and the place was actually covered in vines and brush it was great.
    I bring these up cuz in the movie she makes a big point about her hair being unruly and red and just not to her liking. Though all through people in the witching world see that hair as a sign of a strong witch. Id of liked to see her in the end instead of having her hair stay in pigtails just out and unruly and pushed back with one of her bow ribbons as a headband. Show that shes proud of inheriting that hair from her grandmother. I'm being apart of a legacy of a great witch even if she may or may not get to be one herself.

  • Jack K
    Jack K 25 days ago

    I can't stand everyone comparing every movie featuring a magic university to the Harry Potter franchise. This was nothing like Harry Potter. In _Harry Potter,_ the politics of the university are central to the plot. There is some of that here with the corrupt teachers, extortion and animal cruelty. It's also true that like Harry, Mary was dubbed an inherent prodigy, but those "connections" are so shallow. There were books about schools of magic before Harry Potter. Some people was argued Rowling to be derivative in that regard.
    Additionally, people should stop comparing this to other Ghibli movies. Kiki's Delivery service didn't even _have_ a school of magic.

  • Jack K
    Jack K 25 days ago

    Am I the only one who thought this movie didn't make any sense?
    If the twist is that Mary's a real witch after all, why did she need to rely on the flower seeds for compensation? Mary being a true witch could explain why her magical powers didn't run dry during the climatic chase scene.
    If the flower was necessary for the purpose of accessing limitless use and potency of magical ability, this implies that all magic wielding has terminal use capacity. Therefore, if other witches and wizards had only finite power to use magic, why didn't we see evidence of this from the two antagonists (or any of the other magical characters for that matter)? The teacher and professor seemed to have no such limitations.
    If the grandmother was a real witch, why is no longer a magic wielder?
    If the broom was truly magical, why did it seem to have an insignia that indicated it was merely augmented by the flowers only to _seem_ to be truly magical?
    Why did Mary's gradmother transform in the opening scene? Was it a disguise?
    Why wouldn't the two antagonists be demoted or fired after such a fantastic failure?
    How is it realistic the town didn't suffer more interactions and sightings with witches and wizards?

  • Jay no
    Jay no Month ago

    can someone please explain to me what's the exact link between Mary and Charlotte?!?! and what about her parents....
    i liked the movie tbh but i didn't like the absence of character development and the evil witches were boring :/

  • SloppyJoe TheCat
    SloppyJoe TheCat Month ago

    I watched this when I was high and I was so tripped but I did like it

  • KingTai 64
    KingTai 64 Month ago

    She's hasty and clumsy. That's why she can't go do much.

  • ZdreamerZ 14
    ZdreamerZ 14 Month ago

    This movie actually made me be happy about my crazy curly frizzy hair that's pretty much the only thing I took from this movie

  • I Love Toucans
    I Love Toucans Month ago

    This movie felt kinda sticky. When your in the school, you never see anyone roaming around except for one scene and we don't get to see much magic being used. It kinda felt like a play, but looked like a movie.

  • Randy Marsh
    Randy Marsh Month ago

    animation is good but feals too recycled. its idealistic english portrial is like somethings you'd put vr googles on to reminise a pre e.u time.

  • DeAngelo Hill
    DeAngelo Hill 2 months ago

    Sad, but true this movie is terrible. All I could think about is Kiki's Delivery Service, the broomstick and the black cat, although the black cat in this movie is so horrible, doesn't speak kind of stuck up, cant really understand Mary's like for it. The world it was used seemed inclosed and they didn't spend enough time developing the characters. They were bland and rushed to an ultimately bad climatic attempt

  • Matt Thornton
    Matt Thornton 2 months ago

    Finally watched the movie. It was good and kinda felt like a combination Castle in the Sky and Kiki’s Delivery Service.
    The story felt like there was a lot of content missing and the pacing felt rather fast in places. But the animation was beautiful and I hope Studio Ponoc really steps up their game in future movies

  • loyalKingshound
    loyalKingshound 2 months ago

    My thoughts pretymuch exactly

  • Tiaam Du Nord
    Tiaam Du Nord 2 months ago +1

    FYI TVclipr called Shadowrules VA stole your review word for word

  • Hagleboz
    Hagleboz 2 months ago

    Spot on Review

  • Spencer Manganiello
    Spencer Manganiello 2 months ago

    I think Studio Ghibli and now studio Ponoc could really use some Disney-isms and i think Disney really could use some Ghibli-sims.

  • Jo L.
    Jo L. 2 months ago

    It sucked. :)

  • Francisco Ícaro
    Francisco Ícaro 3 months ago

    Good settings won't compensate generic plot.

  • alarturo93
    alarturo93 3 months ago

    Have you watched Laura’s Star ? It’s a German movie and it’s obviously for kids but even now I like it because it gets close to this Ghibli side of giving you things that are different in point of view.

  • Tara Lucent
    Tara Lucent 3 months ago

    Mary is such a Mary Sue.

  • The Slick Android
    The Slick Android 3 months ago

    So the main protagonist is basically a poor man's Kiki.

  • Courtney S.
    Courtney S. 3 months ago

    Decent movie at best.

  • CarebearNo.89
    CarebearNo.89 3 months ago

    I agree. I didn't hate it, but the plot and characters were lacking. Animation was gorgeous though. It was based on a book, so idk if it was one of things that got lost in translating a book to flim.

  • Adam Hyatt
    Adam Hyatt 3 months ago

    Anime Harry Potter?

  • Natalie Mcdonald
    Natalie Mcdonald 3 months ago

    Yes I would have loved to see a movie about aunt Charlotte. It was frustrating to see the echoes of Studio Ghibli through such beautiful illustration and character design but to feel none of the hope and pain and revelations that we felt with all of the wonderful, deeply multi-faceted characters that Ghibli gave us. I really hope that Studio Ponoc can continue to produce movies and work to keep giving young girls somebody accessible and truly good to look up to.

  • Gamer Voice
    Gamer Voice 3 months ago

    Something about the way the first day in the movie felt... how the TV was broken, how her day was doomed to boredom until she was given the excuse to have an unexpected picnic. I've had that feeling of being in a place as a kid that didn't initially cater to children, where you felt like you were going to be trapped into a boring day but... it turned into unexpected rich memory that fostered your imagination.
    Sometimes a movie has a feeling about it that pulls on a string you forgot you had... I feel like this movie had that special mood. So it is one of my favorites for that indescribable reason.
    It made me remember that part of childhood... before smartphones, and before having a car where I could take myself out of a boring situation.
    Great-Aunt Charlotte reminded me of my late grandmother too...I found myself very emotional throughout all of her scenes with Mary.
    The movie just spoke to me I guess.

  • Toon Link
    Toon Link 3 months ago

    I totally agree. While I too was also completely blown away by the intro, as the film progressed I began to feel as though there was something "missing" from this movie (and especially towards the end). It definitely wasn't the visuals and certainly not the animation, both were incredible and had me at the edge of my seat, but the way the script and characters were developed throughout the film had left me with a slightly unamused feeling, like it just didn't hit its fullest potential as a Ghibli successor. I kept thinking to myself that I probably would have enjoyed it more if I had been 12 years younger, but then again, the same could be said for a crappy anime that doesn't even compare to this film, so I digress. It's a cute and gorgeous film, but it needed more work regarding story and character development.

  • Oziel Arteaga
    Oziel Arteaga 3 months ago

    I strongly agree beautiful movie but i got really bored

  • Things with Kay
    Things with Kay 3 months ago

    do a review on howl’s moving castle

  • RandomCat
    RandomCat 3 months ago +1

    I liked the film but a missed opportunity is that Mary complains about her life and screwing things up and BOOM she has the chance to be a witch and she's VERY good at magic we could've seen her not want to leave since she doesn't like her old life or that she grew attached to the school only to be disappointed when they find out she's not a real witch but overall this was a decent first film

  • Cali FIT
    Cali FIT 3 months ago

    I give it a B, I still liked it. The ending was abrupt, but I still thought for the most part they did a good job

  • Lance D.
    Lance D. 3 months ago

    I just watched the movie and honestly I dislike it quite a bit although it is in fact beautiful. Tib was the only character I cared for.

  • Rebel official
    Rebel official 3 months ago

    Is this how howl form howls moving castle learned to be a wizard

  • Angela Yang
    Angela Yang 3 months ago

    My favorite parts about the movie were probably the music and the art.

  • Andrew Charron
    Andrew Charron 3 months ago

    I personally agree with Chris’s position on this film. I believe that the audio and visual are definitely top tier, however the character development was definitely lacking. There are plot holes galore in the film that leave us wanting to know more about Mary and her journey. The “in medias res” intro of the film does not add much in the end. The end goal of the antagonists really are underdeveloped.

  • fdasfdsa fdsafdsafdasfds

    I'm glad they set the bar high for animation and visuals. Hopefully they can find better vision

  • FurryEskimo
    FurryEskimo 3 months ago

    Well I’m glad you didn’t watch this movie through Rose colored classes.
    The online scores are High, but all the characters are boring, the evil plot is vague, and the dialogue is cliche.
    In anime it’s painfully common for characters to:
    1. Repeat everything they hear.
    2. Ask “what?” to everything they hear.

  • Leyah Cheney
    Leyah Cheney 3 months ago

    It was a nice film^^

  • zimmier
    zimmier 3 months ago

    yes! best scene whole movie was that beginning scene paired with its music. i def found i was more interested in that backstory. it got me super hyped then it turned into another ghibli kids movie. not that that is a bad thing. i agree with almost all your talking points chris. i would really like to see a prequel to this movie with all that great action in that backstory. its such a strong contrast and looks like so much effort went into that scene that it makes me wonder if they planned on expanding that to another movie. its too epic to ignore.

  • Sean Lee
    Sean Lee 3 months ago

    There are so many ghibli references in this film it would make a great drinking game.

  • Dragon Scales
    Dragon Scales 3 months ago

    I agree! The movie was pretty but left a lot to be desired

  • Kimberly H
    Kimberly H 3 months ago

    The story was kind of messy. I had to watch a Ghibli film after.

  • Pooky1991
    Pooky1991 3 months ago

    Not bad for a new studio. I can see them improving and doing better

  • Pooky1991
    Pooky1991 3 months ago

    I watched this and it reminds me of Little Witch Academia meets Kiki's Delivery Service with a dash of Spirited Away

  • Your Mom's Tits
    Your Mom's Tits 3 months ago

    This is one of those
    Atomic power and science is bad. nature and natural order is Good.
    "Magic" is science, they are trying to harness the power of the Atom /" witche's Flower".

  • Some Cynical Asshole
    Some Cynical Asshole 3 months ago

    It was a great movie. Had that amazing Ghibli look to it, the animation always being amazing and the designs. The only thing I kept thinking during the movie though was “This feels a lot like Spirited Away mixed with Kiki’s Delivery Service or Harry Potter.” other than that, I loved it a lot. Just a good fun laid back film.

  • LoriiCakez
    LoriiCakez 3 months ago

    I just saw thee move a year later, and I literally said the same thing about rather seeing the prequel than this movie.

  • t-bone007
    t-bone007 3 months ago

    A solid 8 for me.

  • mikesgirl8304
    mikesgirl8304 3 months ago

    Hmmm I agree it didn't quite live up to Studio Ghibli movies but I still loved it and thought it was wonderful

  • Rebecca Robinson
    Rebecca Robinson 3 months ago

    I'm glad I'm not crazy lol- this film as some really terrible dialogue and Mary just... never does anything offensive whatsoever... It felt like they were just trying way too hard to make her cute and likable

  • crazybutcrazy 1919
    crazybutcrazy 1919 3 months ago

    Why is in english?

  • Succ Succcy
    Succ Succcy 3 months ago

    a good movie

  • syz·y·gy
    syz·y·gy 3 months ago

    Pssh. I loved it.

  • Tiaam Du Nord
    Tiaam Du Nord 3 months ago +1

    Bootlegged version of Kiki’s Delivery Service

  • 525Lines
    525Lines 3 months ago

    Like so much anime, beautiful animation but the stories/characters don't connect. Wonder if Ponoc would animate somebody else's story.

  • Joe Sandhu
    Joe Sandhu 3 months ago

    Hey Chris thanks for reviewing this movie
    I had a blast watching this movie for myself
    Mary and the witches flower is a good movie.

  • TailinLaer
    TailinLaer 4 months ago

    I just watched this today and you are dead on as always. The art was stunning but overall it was a let down.

  • RAZKEN
    RAZKEN 4 months ago

    The whole movie felt rushed and there wasnt any buildup or anything. No character development... Dissapointed to say the least. It was beautiful animated tho.

  • Splatulated
    Splatulated 4 months ago

    How does it compare to the book from 1971?

  • Will Camick
    Will Camick 4 months ago

    As someone who has watched every studio ghibli production I feel confident in saying Mary and the witch's flower lacks feeling. It looks amazing but it has no heart. When she was sad about the broom and she cried i felt nothing.
    I did not feel a single thing =(

  • Strawberrysugarcube
    Strawberrysugarcube 4 months ago

    Gorgeous movie, but a rushed plot, and characters that lacked depth and relate-ability. I'm just gonna go read the book it's based on.

  • poetascarafaggio
    poetascarafaggio 4 months ago

    (Late comment since the movie just came out in Italy and for 1 week only instead or 2/3 nonetheless)
    I disagree when Stuckmann said '(Mary) didn't learn much of anything' and the subsequent comparison with Star Wars he made.
    From that last sentence in the movie, we learn that Mary has basically learnt a lot!
    She started as a kid that wanted to prove she was able to be useful and not just a klutz, and when she was praised while in that magic academy, she thought magic could be a(n easy) way to finally "change" and become better.
    But towards the end of the movie, she proved she didn't need magic to save Peter and understood that you can change (or, rather, improve yourself) by putting efforts in the things you do!
    So she didn't need a flower that could give her magical powers, because she proved she could do better by herself.
    That, and, let's be honest, even if she wanted to use the flower once again, she would have either ended up planting it and having to wait another 7 years before a new plant would sprout or she would have smashed it and kept those powers for just one more day.

  • Nick
    Nick 5 months ago

    I dunno I think I kind of disagree with you about her not learning anything, i think by the end of it she learned to love herself as she is. Like she doesn't need any magic powers to be special. So I think she did learn something that i atleast think is pretty important.

  • BoyThunder Productions
    BoyThunder Productions 5 months ago

    It's Studio *PONOC'S* latest movie, *BLIKI"S BLEBLIVERY BLERVICE.*

  • Heliogenesis
    Heliogenesis 5 months ago

    Mary is so dumb, sorry

  • CoolGamerbros
    CoolGamerbros 5 months ago

    ive watched all of the anime before you reviewed it

  • JCcovers
    JCcovers 5 months ago

    You can't blame them for the storyline. It's based on a children's book

  • Okami Kitsune
    Okami Kitsune 5 months ago

    Whoah, I'm shook I thought the movie was amazing

  • Huong Vu
    Huong Vu 5 months ago

    I support this movie regardless. I loved the film and I thought it was the best movie I've ever watched! But I do agree with you! I rate the movie 7.5/10

  • Tiffany Flores
    Tiffany Flores 5 months ago +1

    How many hours of movies have you watched?

  • Kevin Hagler
    Kevin Hagler 5 months ago

    Agreed with just about everything you said, but your final grade was harsh.

  • かわいい人MelonzieSaukiDere

    It's called a Anime Animation...

  • aliquidcow
    aliquidcow 5 months ago

    Agree with this. The story felt oddly rushed and the characters undeveloped. It was lacking the charm and attention to detail you get in Ghibli films.
    The opening sequence was great but it's always a tell-tale sign when a film starts with a big action sequence like that one that there's going to be a long setup before anything else like that happens. Unfortunately, as you say, I don't think anything else in the film lived up to it, and when the significance of that scene was revealed, it was very flat, like 'Oh yeh by the way I used to be a witch and I hid those seeds', it didn't really seem to have much emotional impact on the story.

  • Brian
    Brian 5 months ago

    A bit like Steamboy but I still love it

  • John Jacques
    John Jacques 5 months ago

    Which is better to watch the sub version or the dub version? I am literally torn here 💔💔💔

  • hobbes296
    hobbes296 6 months ago

    Agreed.
    It wasn't terrible....I enjoyed it well enough....but it was just missing so much. In the end it was just, eh.

  • Lovely Sunshinee
    Lovely Sunshinee 6 months ago

    The ending pissed me off so much, more than the ending of Spider-Man homecoming

  • Yanyan
    Yanyan 6 months ago

    Weeeell this was Ponoc's first film and a lot of the members of Ghibli wasn't here

  • chris oliver
    chris oliver 6 months ago

    The one thing I noticed about the whole movie was the lack of movement in the background and lot of animes you always have bugs or birds or wind or something happening to the leaves in the trees are moving or you have an animal walking through the background to give life and structure to the other movie like the scene where she goes into town there is no one in town no one in the windows no one on the streets no cars no dogs no cats no birds it's a ghost town the whole movie is a ghost town

  • Joel Otero
    Joel Otero 6 months ago

    I finally saw this movie. Yup, I agree with you.

  • Lo's Vlog
    Lo's Vlog 6 months ago

    Seriously though, I think people expected too much because of its Studio Ghibli roots.
    People should try to remove their "Ghibli Googles" and look at Studio Ponoc with fresh eyes. Wait for 10 years and surely Mary and the Witch's Flower will be an one of the ultimate classics. I enjoyed it and no, those who say that its similar to Kiki's Delivery Service without even watching it are idiots.
    A great film IMHO and the writing for me is great.

  • Group Stuff
    Group Stuff 6 months ago

    I HATED THIS MOVIE!!!! The visuals were definitely top notch, but the writing and story telling was so DERIVATIVE in every part that I felt insulted throughout the movie. There were obvious imitations of Kiki's Delivery Service and Harry Potter, but also Castle in the Sky (Floating islands and buildings), Howl's Moving Castle (the flying pursuers), and probably every other Ghibli film. The characters had no motivation, as stated, but they also behaved as complete stereotypes. Everything was a stereotype. The clumsy girl whining at every moment, who then becomes resourceful and confident as the plot requires was a cliche. The boy who begins as a jerk, but is really a brave and bashful hero was a cliche. The evil villains were cliches. The grumpy sidekick cat was a cliche. The spunky broom was a cliche. The helpful anthropomorphic animals were cliches. The faces and reactions of the heroine (looking into the mirror, getting frustrated by the boy, upset at herself for breaking a flower, etc. etc.) were all cliches. Every plot point was a cliche. Nothing was explained well, or resolved well at the end. The silly laugh at the end was as much a cliche as James Bond with his Bond girl at the end of a movie. The story telling was a travesty, especially when compared to the visual artistry. So sad, and frustrating, and IRRITATING!

  • Foebane72
    Foebane72 6 months ago

    I saw this today and thought it was mostly good, although the parallels with Harry Potter are really unmistakeable. I thought it was an interesting twist that the Dumbledore Lady and the Bald Scientist were actually the villains, or at least greedy for power.

  • lhalls9116
    lhalls9116 6 months ago

    Saw this was new. Might go back get it haha:p

    • lhalls9116
      lhalls9116 6 months ago

      More anime than superhero. If i got flower power id be like ya no big deal..just swag!!!

  • Louise Brooks1920
    Louise Brooks1920 6 months ago

    Thanks for the review Chis! I loved the book this film was based on growing up, The Little Broomstick by Mary Stuart, and am excited to watch. The book the film is based on was pre Harry Potter, so the similarities are there, but are from long before Harry Potter was written. Always enjoy your reviews, and is was great hearing your thoughts on this film. 😁👍💫🌸🌺

  • Sydney Purvis
    Sydney Purvis 6 months ago

    Omggggg can you please please please do a review on Anohana???? I would adore you foreverrrr 😻😻😻

  • John Gatev
    John Gatev 6 months ago

    Watches movie
    Rates and reviews in head
    Watches Chris
    Hears same thing

  • TheCrimsonChin91
    TheCrimsonChin91 6 months ago

    still going to watch it, but i am disappointed, wanted it to be awesome!

  • marwa omar
    marwa omar 7 months ago

    I was just talking to my friend and told her that I didn't like mary much. I didn't know why but now with your review I understand. I also told her that I liked the grandma better.. I also liked peter. But the movie overall wasn't that interesting. I have to agree with everything that you said.
    Anyway I still adore studio ponoc for this, their amazing work to deliver such quality "animation wise, that is"... I'm looking forward to their next movie. I hope it's something with a far better script

  • iHZRD
    iHZRD 7 months ago

    I love your channel but i do not like you because you have a tattoo in your arm so you can not donate your blood for diseased in hospital!

  • Prophesorr
    Prophesorr 7 months ago

    Weeb.

  • potatochips
    potatochips 7 months ago

    tho movie is basically saying that it is okay to settle and what you have is enough, and that you should be happy about it
    the art and animation was great though

  • potatochips
    potatochips 7 months ago

    fuck this movie XD I need magic! wind guardian lavio_sa!

  • c0mpu73rguy
    c0mpu73rguy 7 months ago

    I still liked this film a lot, but it is technichally the worst film Yonebayashi san has made. But it’s still a very good film. If I had to give it a rating (and I hate to do that with films) it would be a B or a B-.

  • Lee Mee
    Lee Mee 7 months ago +4

    I was watching this film, and towards the end, I realized that it is basically Spirited Away, Kiki’s Delivery Service, Howl’s Moving Castle, and some Princess Mononoke smooshed together. Despite your in depth review though, I liked it and I’d watch it again. It had so many similar elements to some of my favorite Ghibli movies; aside from the animation. I understand where you were coming from though.

  • Shafina Hanafi
    Shafina Hanafi 7 months ago

    before watching this review I watched the movie already and I told myself after finishing the movie that " I'll give it a C+ cause there's so much of lacking, I feel like Chris Stuckmann gonna give it C+ as well"
    Welp, guess my predict was right all along😂

  • adam crear
    adam crear 7 months ago

    100% agree

  • MovieUploader 45
    MovieUploader 45 7 months ago

    Please do a review on The Breadwinner

  • Clint Cranford
    Clint Cranford 7 months ago

    Is this the guy RLM was mocking? A grown man watching cartoons