Happy Death Day - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 11, 2017
  • A girl keeps reliving her birthday in the style of Groundhog Day.....except with a slasher flick killer. Here's my review of HAPPY DEATH DAY!

    See more videos by Jeremy here: tvclip.biz/user/JeremyJahns
    Follow Jeremy on Twitter: twitter.com/JeremyJahns
    Friend Jeremy on Facebook: facebook.com/RealJeremyJahns
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 393

  • w_R Andrs
    w_R Andrs 14 days ago

    Once again (and this is quite few i do) i disagree with you, Jeremy...

    First i worried that it was one of those morale plots. Be a better person, and you'll live till the next day.

    This was not IT.
    Now there must be some wish she made or Lori made that made Tree live through the 18th over and over again (Explained in HDD 2U?), but that to kill the person that would always try to kill her would save her, i had no idea. The movie tricked me good thinking it was some serial killer that would FINALLY be the perpetrador, but then it tricked me again with Lori being the murderer. Basically a 'fool me twice' scenario (which in this case is nothing but positive).

    For a bunch of movies's main goal to have plot twists no one could foresee... This action-comedy horror served that idea better than those ever did.

  • Truthordab
    Truthordab Month ago

    Jeremy is such a douche

  • ravi sharma
    ravi sharma 3 months ago

    Triangle was one such great movie.

  • Charles Lewis
    Charles Lewis 3 months ago

    I went to see Death Day good movie from Gswift The Transformer

  • judy Radin
    judy Radin 4 months ago

    There is 2

  • Mel Lussier
    Mel Lussier 4 months ago

    “Monologue to a person” that’s a bit redundant don’t you think

  • Marleyyy
    Marleyyy 4 months ago

    I love this movie because its interesting and it's one of the only 'horror' movies I can watch

  • Elizabeth Kotite
    Elizabeth Kotite 4 months ago

    Cant wait to see your review of happy death day 2

  • King Savage97
    King Savage97 4 months ago

    This is a movie I wanna see so bad! Especially with the sequel coming out. I hate horror movies, but this seems kinda interesting
    Edit: 1:33 also I don’t think Jeremy’s ever been stabbed before, cuz idk how many ppl would be okay with being stabbed/ killed just to get a clue for later

  • vzud8
    vzud8 4 months ago

    Okay I just saw this and came back to check your review.I won't say it's perfect but tbh it wasn't that bad either.I kinda enjoyed it though we've seen many flicks like this before.Cheers.!

  • hjames78
    hjames78 4 months ago

    Wrong. Happy death day 2 u comes out tomorrow lol. Wrong about there being no part 2 lol

  • somemysteriousguy
    somemysteriousguy 4 months ago

    they're actually making a sequel called Happy Death Day 2U lol. For the intro of the sequel review, you should say "i didn't think there would be a sequel, guess i'm wrong."

  • Vishanthfishy .R
    Vishanthfishy .R 4 months ago +1

    The most memorable Groundhog esque story was that Summer Story arc in Haruhi Suzumiya mostly because it lasted for 8 episodes and It annoyed me so muchh

  • Ronald Madrid
    Ronald Madrid 4 months ago

    I disagree, instant classic in my book.

  • Cameron Spink
    Cameron Spink 4 months ago +1

    So, no Happy Death Day 2, right?

  • Netson Eng
    Netson Eng 4 months ago

    I luv it

  • nfl20
    nfl20 4 months ago +2

    "I don't feel like there can be a happy death day 2" lol 2 years later we got a 2nd one coming

    • Osahon Uwagboe
      Osahon Uwagboe 4 months ago

      Jeremy needs to like this comment.... Lol

  • famously anonymous
    famously anonymous 4 months ago

    I like this movie only because it doesn't take itself seriously

  • Lloyd Evans
    Lloyd Evans 4 months ago +1

    "After watching this movie, I couldn't see there being a second one..."
    Oh Jeremy, I wish you had been right

  • weirdeyedkid ™
    weirdeyedkid ™ 4 months ago +1

    "After this one I feel like there can't be a Happy Death Day 2" - Jeremy 2017
    2019 Universal Pictures: "That's what you get for telling us what to do you little shit"

  • Eduard Vain
    Eduard Vain 4 months ago

    I highly disagree with u Jeremy. I love ur reviews but i love this movie more peace

  • Ava_ Doodles_Things
    Ava_ Doodles_Things 4 months ago +3

    2:50 welp...

  • Thomas Evans
    Thomas Evans 5 months ago

    I loved Happy Death Day. Personally would grade it Buy On Blu Ray.

  • bigmacchasi
    bigmacchasi 5 months ago

    Just saw it today i hated it

  • Kimberly Brown
    Kimberly Brown 5 months ago

    I really liked this movie bought it on blue ray it’s in my opinion awesometacular

  • Obi Wan Kenobi
    Obi Wan Kenobi 5 months ago +1

    I want to see the second one coming out next month

  • texas h53d
    texas h53d 5 months ago +5

    Happy Death Day 2U coming out Feb 2019 lol

  • NEFALINO
    NEFALINO 6 months ago

    I agree...she's hot.

  • James March
    James March 6 months ago +4

    Theres a happy death day 2

  • bob berry
    bob berry 6 months ago

    are you going to see number 2?

  • LTKoby
    LTKoby 6 months ago

    He says he doesn’t think there can be a second. Hehe HAPPY DEATH DAY 2 U trailer releases. Well, you were wrong

  • SNOWISTA
    SNOWISTA 6 months ago

    And here, we have happy death day 2u releasing on Fab 14th

  • ashiq zen
    ashiq zen 6 months ago

    It's got a sequel Jeremy, 😂😂😂

  • Robert Harris
    Robert Harris 6 months ago

    Happy Death day 2U

  • emil engen
    emil engen 7 months ago

    I really enjoyed this movie.

  • Rax
    Rax 7 months ago

    arc has the same plot

  • Elias Williams
    Elias Williams 7 months ago

    Happy Death Day 2 is confirmed!

  • David Russell
    David Russell 7 months ago

    Wedding day

  • Little3Pigs
    Little3Pigs 7 months ago

    I really liked the concept of this movie, I felt it was a clever idea, is very enjoyable, is fresh and it actually does somenthing new within the established genre, is not a horror movie and it isn't a mistery film either, but the mix itself makes sense with the formula. The worst part would likealy be the musical montage, but thats when I realized that the mistery in the film didn't really matter. I

  • ChickenOfTheCaveMan
    ChickenOfTheCaveMan 8 months ago

    This such a soulful movie and yeah probably because of Jessica Rothe, but still, the direction allowed her to be snarky, moving, funny and all that good stuff. I kinda want to see her as a lead still in another movie but more mainstream, just to see if she can handle it.

  • Nick The First
    Nick The First 8 months ago

    I’m not gonna lie this movie was INTERESTING

  • Cichlid Tanks
    Cichlid Tanks 9 months ago

    I loved the movie and I loved jessica Roth

  • Kyle Campbell
    Kyle Campbell 9 months ago

    There WILL BE a sequel
    "Happy Death Day 2U"
    Now this one will suck

  • SpikyPikachu 116
    SpikyPikachu 116 9 months ago

    I was actually interested in the movie and still want to at least see it, and I saw some clips with it and I agree with you definitely! Jessica definitely made it look better so I do want to see it for sure!

  • 091MW2
    091MW2 10 months ago

    spoiler:

    in the movie there's a scene when they talked about Tree's ongoing injuries. were those injuries that were carried over every day she died? i wish they explored that more

  • Oh Yeah Yeah
    Oh Yeah Yeah 10 months ago

    Ⓘ ⓁⒾⓀⒺ ⒽⒺⓇ ⒻⒶⒸⒺ

  • NinjaWalrus
    NinjaWalrus 10 months ago

    Carter was cool. Also they’re making a sequel. Hmmmm...

  • WHAT PISSES ME OFF
    WHAT PISSES ME OFF 10 months ago

    source code

  • Matthew Lugo
    Matthew Lugo 11 months ago

    Happy death day 2 is coming 2019 apparently

  • Liana Mark
    Liana Mark 11 months ago

    Another movie that does the relive the same day thing is "The Last day of summer" were this boy, who is going into high school is afraid of summer ending because that means that he and his friends will have to deal with the school bully.
    So the day keeps repeating and you get the idea.

  • nicolas orduz
    nicolas orduz 11 months ago

    Me and some friends have been having some drinks and I think that this is the time to watch this movie. So with nothing else to do we are going to give it a try. Love your videos man, greetings from Colombia (The country, not the university) 🇨🇴🇨🇴

  • James Lemmons
    James Lemmons 11 months ago

    Thanks I’d rather watch it for myself!🤨🤨🤨🤨

  • James Lemmons
    James Lemmons 11 months ago

    Could you stop making sense??? You make me sick to my stomach with That!🤮🤮🤮 Critics are the reincarnations of the mobs… that crucified Christ! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🎷🎷🎷🎷🎼🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶😎

  • Eduardo Silva
    Eduardo Silva Year ago

    I just don’t understand why she didn’t ask the killer to show her face before she gets killed

  • Jay Sony
    Jay Sony Year ago +1

    I liked Scouts Guide!!!!!!! It was a blast

  • pamela campbell
    pamela campbell Year ago

    This movie is completely unwatchable , absolutely horrible

  • Cody Baggs
    Cody Baggs Year ago

    You should do a review for the movie Hush. It's a couple of years old but I'm interested in hearing your thoughts

  • Garin Sparks
    Garin Sparks Year ago

    The Fuck was that?

  • JamesCPotter13
    JamesCPotter13 Year ago

    Tree Short for Theresa...weird

  • Groundhog Day 1993 is AWESOME!

    LOVED Supernatural's episode "Mystery Spot" :-D

  • Baewatch X
    Baewatch X Year ago

    I was high when I watched and I liked it but idk how I’m going to feel after I’m sober:/

  • goodguynow
    goodguynow Year ago

    I like this movie

  • jricherts99
    jricherts99 Year ago

    let me review your review,.....kinda shitty sorry bud.....

  • Bimal Garg
    Bimal Garg Year ago

    naked (2017)

  • brokechanic
    brokechanic Year ago

    "Tell me how i die" was interesting, and i think underrated. Theres a company that try to make pills to improve memory, so they take a a bunch of test subjects from college who agree to try them. And while they're at the facility a serial killer comes and kills people, but it turns out that the pills had a "Groundhog Day" side affect. But instead of one person repeating the same day over and over, they each have their own murdered and come back moments which is cool. You get this whole repeat the day thing, but the story still develops because its short term. Good twist as well

  • just jacob11
    just jacob11 Year ago

    Haunter, on netflix

  • jacob lol5
    jacob lol5 Year ago

    It a good movie?

  • Numba1Stunna
    Numba1Stunna Year ago

    Rather watch this, Mother!, Jigsaw, Devil’s Candy, or Jeepers 3 ? I’ve seen all of the good horror movies already lol

  • Dan Williams
    Dan Williams Year ago

    Happy Death Day is a "feel good" horror movie! It was fun, light-hearted, and even a little bit of a tear-jerker at one point. This is a horror movie you can enjoy with the whole family, 13 on up. When it was over, people leaving the theater were nodding their heads in approval with smiles on their faces. I can't think of too many horror flicks that leave you feeling happy the way this one does. And Jessica Rothe? MORE PLEASE!

  • David Berty
    David Berty Year ago

    there's an Egyptian movie that's called " Alf Mabrook" " الف مبروك !" ( in Eng. : CONGRATS !)
    dealing with same topic of : reliving the day over
    but it's more of a comedy/drama movie
    I guess there's a lot in common between these two :
    the hero is a selfish jerk, as he relives the day he starts to make sense of his life
    but in my opinion " Alf Mabrook " is focusing more on such message more than of just being an entertaining movie
    unlike " happy death day " but I enjoyed both though =)

  • roblex63
    roblex63 Year ago

    Just watched it, and really enjoyed it, it's really hard to pull off a bloodless, nudeless, swearless, slasher type movie but this movie does.. and like you said Jezza Jessica Rothe is really good, a bright future ahead ...

  • Enoc Sosa
    Enoc Sosa Year ago

    This movie is so fun

  • THGhost2013
    THGhost2013 Year ago

    Her parents didn't literally name her Tree. It's short for Theresa 😋

  • tibursilog
    tibursilog Year ago

    I liked The Source Code.

  • Kaycee
    Kaycee Year ago

    Suite life on deck. Lol

  • exxinferis24
    exxinferis24 Year ago

    X files pulled a groundhog day really neat IMO

  • InspireInk
    InspireInk Year ago

    Finally showed the movie, then I immediately went to your review cause I wanted to know.

  • Dirk Walker
    Dirk Walker Year ago

    I liked this movie but the ending makes no sense. I feel like if you're going to do this premise you have to explain the loop, plus it makes no sense how the killer is able to find her and kill her so easily everyday. She's looping, she should know more about that specific day than anyone else. It should be impossible for anyone else to get the jump on her, yet the killer does it consistently everyday as if he's omnipotent.

    • Chachamaru15
      Chachamaru15 Year ago

      SPOILER ALERT FOR THOSE WHO HAVEN'T WATCHED: The killer always knew what she was planning though. Even though it wasn't always shown, I believe that In every time loop she made the poor decision to reveal her battle plan to her roommate. That's how the killer was able to always get the jump on her. Plus, since they had been roommates for some time, it made Tree's actions easier for her roommate to predict. As far as the loop being explained, I have a theory that it's her mother's bracelet, and that somehow it's her mother's spirit protecting her..*shrug* just a theory though. I just saw this movie the other day and enjoyed it as well :)

  • Russell Ballard
    Russell Ballard Year ago

    I love the ending. The movie was great but the last minute of it made me love it.

  • David Bradley
    David Bradley Year ago

    Naked by Netflix did it

  • unogazzy84
    unogazzy84 Year ago

    I really liked this movie.
    Movies that has the same theme as this one and groundhog day: Premature: Is quite funny and Before I Fall: I loved it!

  • Michael Newman
    Michael Newman Year ago

    Before I fall

  • cadence katrina
    cadence katrina Year ago

    Before I Fall had tht really great premise of reliving the same day over and over, but was more like Groundhog Day than Happy Death Day... I think it did a really amazing job and had a John Green feel that just made it better; I see mostly mixed reviews with it, but i thoroughly enjoyed it and it is easily one of my favorite movies.

  • Volpe
    Volpe Year ago

    movie was complete trash

  • Joey Giolitti
    Joey Giolitti Year ago

    i fucking hated this movie

  • Nelly Julian-hernandez

    Happy Death day is the worst movie, don’t waste your time.

  • Livia Tosie
    Livia Tosie Year ago +13

    I liked the movie

  • frank njoroge
    frank njoroge Year ago

    Before i fall 2017

  • Catplop
    Catplop Year ago +2

    I dunno, I feel like people sleep on this movie. I thought it'd be stupid as hell but it far exceeded my expectations and pleasantly surprised me. I mean it lacked in the scare department for sure but I feel like the movie really shined elsewhere and that was how much heart it had, strangely. The lead was incredibly down to earth and charming (for the most part) and had a really positive yet natural progression in her character development, the love interest was sweet and sincere and believable, the dialogue in general was consistently fun and snarky, and best of all, the movie was self aware and that reference to Groundhog Day at the end makes me smile every god damn time.

  • Ghassan ALjabali
    Ghassan ALjabali Year ago

    spoiler alert

  • Leo Mingo
    Leo Mingo Year ago

    Spoilers included

  • Malique Warren
    Malique Warren Year ago +1

    Happy Death Day was phenomenal! How everything came together and how Tree put the pieces together was astonishing! I usually have a grudge against comedy-horror films, but this one's amazing! Definitely would give it a 9/10.

  • Jayson
    Jayson Year ago

    she's kind of a snarky little dick most of the movie if we're being honest haha

  • Darius slater
    Darius slater Year ago

    "Source Code" has that same event formula but I feel like they did a pretty great job with it.

  • Paul westaway
    Paul westaway Year ago

    Loved this film ....well made for a teen slasher

  • Isaias Serrano
    Isaias Serrano Year ago

    It's was actually really good

  • Will Browning
    Will Browning Year ago

    Amazing movie

  • 옿케이HeyOhKei

    I actually really enjoyed this film despite how cliche it may have been. It was fun to watch.

  • Ben Tarr
    Ben Tarr Year ago

    I hope that's not real leather. Animals, especially cows, suffer tremendously for leather production. It's not just a by-product of the meat industry.

  • Lev P
    Lev P Year ago

    It reminded me of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, the whole aesthetic, uni campus, sorority thing. And I'm pretty sure there's a Buffy episode with a Groundhog Day loop too. Nice reviews Jeremy, always spot on 👌🏾