Alien Covenant SPOILERS Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 125

  • Scepticisme Scientifique

    Really liked the movie.

  • Habitacion 101
    Habitacion 101 4 months ago

    I find interesting some of your points...but sadly this movie is simply a mess...Mr Scott had too much to say but it is impossible to really understand what he is trying to say. The film has a lot of inconsistencies with past Alien canon... even though It has been established a long time ago that Blade Runner and Alien universes are the same.Tyrell corporation exists in Alien. Love your videos Grace!!!

  • robs reality !!
    robs reality !! 4 months ago

    Grace could you write a story based on these worlds either Alien 5 or the new Pred film because you have such a talent ! Fans want Marines, Aliens and Preds in films its not rocket science

  • Angelo Carr
    Angelo Carr 4 months ago

    Took me almost a year to watch this review, how didn’t I catch this I don’t know. With that being said, SMH. I’m surprised of you praises for this movie Grace, not because it lacked the praise (there were some high points in this film) but because the errors and mistakes in this film seem more glaring than anything else. Your one of the few individuals that gave this film a “good” review. Mostly every pointed out the faults that were obvious. In any case, keep doing what you’re doing and keep pushing out more content.

  • Jordan Gate
    Jordan Gate 6 months ago

    This was really good. Im impressed

  • Doorway to Heaven church of Jesus Christ

    It sounds like she is eating a worthers original always swallowing saliva , but her pausing voice keeps me interested

  • jakegetscake
    jakegetscake 6 months ago

    Shouldn't Walter beaten David in the fight since he's an upgrade? Or no cause they took out dangerous features because of David ?

  • jakegetscake
    jakegetscake 6 months ago

    I wish they would have gone more in depth about Prometheus in this movie, I actually really liked both of these movies. But the typical "smart" people doing dumb things was happening a lot in this movie. You think the astronauts would have been smarter than they were. When David cut his hair to look like Walters they should have checked him at the end.

  • Christopher Crawford
    Christopher Crawford 7 months ago

    Maybe the reason they have to be in cryo-sleep for that seven years is because they don’t have enough resources such as food and water for them for seven years. Perhaps it takes more energy for a person to live normally than it does to be put in cryosleep.

  • #Rossy's Corals
    #Rossy's Corals 8 months ago

    I'll do the fingering for you Grace

  • Buck Mountain Taxidermy

    Really like your thoughts on the two aliens movies!Better than some of the other critics..Your thoughts and opinions on them really helps me to look at the movies from a different angle,and appreciate the characters more.I think covenant delivered in the horror department,which I think was the idea on that one..

  • lewis trombly
    lewis trombly 8 months ago

    How is david able to talk to mother as himself + as walter

  • Hustle Tha GOD
    Hustle Tha GOD 10 months ago +2

    Grace 😍😍😍

  • Asher Authement-Garza
    Asher Authement-Garza 11 months ago

    It's pronounced All-SOH
    Not alsul, not alsuh. ALSO.

  • biron james
    biron james 11 months ago

    Also how could david create the xenomorphs, what was the point then when noomi rapace cut that thing out of her in Prometheus, wouldn't it be the engineers that created them, id say david more so perfected them than created them

  • biron james
    biron james 11 months ago

    When you realize alien covenant is just another robot gone bad movie

  • XanArt21
    XanArt21 11 months ago

    This review almost made me want to rewatch it...

  • Thomas H Cullen
    Thomas H Cullen 11 months ago

    In Alien Covenant, David's hostility to humanity is meant to symbolise the consequence of the Covenant crew ignoring the evolution of Upworth and Ricks

  • Clay Mann
    Clay Mann Year ago

    I sure am late to this one but I think I've got something I haven't seen anyone else talk about so thought I'd slap it in with Graces excellent review.
    Noomi only got experimented on because SHE fixed David. He was broken remember, just a head? In the act of remaking him, she broke him and the other A.I knew this and commented on it in the film when he said that one wrong note can ruin a masterpiece. He was referring to how David was nearly perfect but that one wrong thing that went wrong with him had ruined him. And now all his ideas about how he wanted to emulate humans and get his hair cut like his idol from a movie. His love of a single woman. All these things that were making him just as human as any real human. All those were lost after Noomi put him back together.

  • rugged english
    rugged english Year ago

    Grace. Seven years on a ship. With only twelve to fifteen copassengers? Even if the ship could provide food water toilets etc for that long? Could the human psyche survive that kinda trip? I think at least someone is going to go more than a little bonkers. Which I guess leads to a whole different horror movie? 💥😳

  • Paul Ryder
    Paul Ryder Year ago

    Yes there are people who speak like that but it is a dying acsent. But consider this Grace, MF is from Ireland, he is fantastic with acsents, he speaks tonnes of languages and he is very worldly. Irish people are fantastic at acsents anyway. Love ya Grace

  • TheMksteel
    TheMksteel Year ago

    You're great Grace, good honest objectivity laced with some enthusiasm and criticism.

  • Danton Steele
    Danton Steele Year ago

    Finding Mr.right

  • Danton Steele
    Danton Steele Year ago

    Buttermilk n air conditioning

  • Danton Steele
    Danton Steele Year ago

    trinity st clair, usin whose eyes? not nice.seem cooler than lotsa librarians though

  • Ryan Scherbluk
    Ryan Scherbluk Year ago +1

    You blow I'll do the fingering.

  • No Way
    No Way Year ago

    Just rented the movie on streaming. It ain't so bad. Fassbender is good but the rest of the actors really suck!!! Better than
    Prometheus. And, Sheldon copies on Borgs in Star Trek tv series no? Am glad you pointed out the religious point in this movie, you can also see the logo under the USCSS which looks like zoroastrianism, a girl has a judaic neckless and David's kiss to Walter is actually Juda's kiss.

  • Jerry Hensley
    Jerry Hensley Year ago +1

    I don't quite understand how David created the xenomorph if there is no more carvings in Prometheus. Maybe he recreated them

  • no hassle
    no hassle Year ago

    spoiler alert> David is a bigger douche than ever.

  • Daniel muyumba
    Daniel muyumba Year ago

    The real dumb thing about this movies is that they would got on a totally foreign planet and not wear oxygen masks and other protections against unknown micro elements of that environment... I meant you don't fucking know what out there Bitches

  • KissingZombie's Channel

    okay so as a superfan who watched the trilogy at the age of 5... FUCK... this movie is an absolute tripe, what the fuck is Ridley Scott even doing? this isnt Blade Runner, the main villain should be the ALIEN... not only is this a terrible prequel, and a terrible sequel to Prometheus (offing Shaw like that is just insulting)... its also a terrible movie, its Jason X all over, the characters are dumb as fuck, the creatures look like garbage and it is sooo inconsequential to the larger Alien universe... garbage... absolutely dissapointed, I shouldnt be laughing at the stupidity of the main characters in an ALIEN movie... sadly, "blow my whistle, ill do the fingering" sums up my thought about this movie 100%.. make it stop... thankfully it flopped HARD so perhaps now we can get that Blompkamps ALIEN 5?

  • steve richards
    steve richards Year ago

    Hate it, hate it, messes with the whole alien timeline, what film were you watching grace?

  • John Lovethatmagic

    lol 15:05 "...and 7 years isn't that long..." - It is if you're all alone!
    You can't stop the rest of the crew using the cryosleep, and retaining their youth

  • ScarfLess117
    ScarfLess117 Year ago

    This movie was a disappointment.

  • Matthew Ruch
    Matthew Ruch Year ago

    I finally got around to watching this and had to go back and watch your review. My only gripe with the movie is like you said. THE CREW WAS SO DAMN STUPID!!!

  • René Moncayo
    René Moncayo Year ago

    standard recieved english accents works for politics and academics. or aristos. lots to do with class consciousness

  • Life Is Hell #1
    Life Is Hell #1 Year ago

    When did David release the Virus into Engineer's?

  • Landon Ward
    Landon Ward Year ago

    My favorite character was Walter I liked how interacted with the crew and Daniels

  • J.Gomez
    J.Gomez Year ago

    Though she was an alien at first glance.

  • Helen Waldeck
    Helen Waldeck Year ago

    I love this review, she brought up some great points, very positive.

  • Dan24
    Dan24 Year ago

    Think the movie should've just been called; "Alien: Incoherent"

  • Dominik Notz
    Dominik Notz Year ago

    hey grace, I'm a little confused. how does that all fit into predators? They hunt the aliens already for thousand years before...
    is iit a big blot hole or did I miss something?! Thanks for explaining

    • +TricksterLove+
      +TricksterLove+ Year ago

      While there are people who say otherwise, to me, AvP isn't canon. It never was. It started with the comics. They thought of the crossover and it was a hit, so it became films. But it isn't a part of the Alien universe. Originally, Alien and Predator were two different universes that just so happened to cross over because of the comics. And since I have seen a Superman vs Aliens comic before, I don't take comic crossovers with either Predator or Alien seriously.

  • Tanya Doogan
    Tanya Doogan Year ago

    when are you making the bladerunner/alien video?

  • Edgar Sanchez
    Edgar Sanchez Year ago

    Finally watched the movie, and blade runner trailer played before it. And in that trailer an image of an eye stood out to me because it just seemed to artsy until the that excact same image starts the alien covenant movie. I enjoyed this movie but I'm glad David kills them all cause they are all to stupid to live. Like you don't get why they wait till it's to late to question David. I would have been like what the fuck is going on how does this virus work who built this massive city we are in and what the hell have you been doing all this time.

  • bauhaus
    bauhaus Year ago +1

    I really did not want to like Covenant, because I felt like I was alone is enjoying Prometheus, but dammit it was really good. I really like and was surprised at how human/vengeful David had become. The final scene with Daniels, as she is prepping to go into hyper sleep and David standing over her revealing the sickening truth, you could see the human satisfaction in his expression. Great scene! Looking forward to see how this develops further on down the road. Well done R. Scott.

  • T Powers
    T Powers Year ago

    But it in the first Alien movie they found Xenomorph eggs on a Engineer ship and the corpse of the Engineer was fossilized. So the time periods don't match up at all.

  • Marco Solorio
    Marco Solorio Year ago

    I don t agree at all, I think this movie is shit¡ everything is about michael fast. cmmon is just stupid.

  • Benerji
    Benerji Year ago

    Gotta love it when Americans think there's only one English accent 😂

  • Apocalypse
    Apocalypse Year ago

    Please, please stop making these Aliens movies. I just seen Alien-Covenant and it it absolutely horrible. If I were to make a list of my five worst movies of all time, this one will make the list. The plot is ridiculous, the characters are stupid and everything is foreseeable from miles. The first two Aliens were quite good, but since then, it is downhill.

  • silkhead44
    silkhead44 Year ago

    I saw the movie last night before I saw this review and I said to my friend...they ripped off Braniac...great minds think alike grace

  • Rocksteddybelmont

    this woman explaining this movie is a complete idiot I cannot take her seriously critiquing any other film

  • K. M.
    K. M. Year ago

    where's the blade runner-covenant video she's referring to??

  • DamnFineCupOfCoffee

    What? Fassbinder kisses himself? Goddamn Chinese censored version...

  • nuno pumpkin
    nuno pumpkin Year ago

    one of worse movies i ever saw, or maybe i'm just too dumn to follow the plot

  • gordianknotsolution
    gordianknotsolution Year ago +2

    Such a great analysis of the movie; great job Grace! Did you guys notice how the movie created an explanation of why Geiger's alien design are mechanical, organic and sexual? It made so much sense that David wanted to create something that was actually alive, but still has a mechanical aspect, like himself, and still resembled/honored Shaw.

  • Lordsuhn
    Lordsuhn Year ago

    Anyone remember the plot of the Stargate SG1 episode "Menace" where the replicators were created by an android? Very similar plot device here.

  • clonedkeifer
    clonedkeifer Year ago +3

    To all Alien fans, just remember Ridley will not let us down, he is just wetting our appetites for what is to come. This movie is just setting up the next one. I still think we got a great movie, simple, suspenseful, kept me on the edge of my seat. I know some did not like the movie but it really is good. I think some peoples expectations were too high. But let's just wait until we get the next one to really decide if this truly bad?

  • Foto Roys
    Foto Roys Year ago

    Alien: Creation

  • Edwin B.
    Edwin B. Year ago

    i think they didnt want to go back to sleep, because of those random anomalies that damage the captain pod, could happen again in those 7 years, so they could die, if there is another planet with living conditions, i say is not bad idea

  • mass issues
    mass issues Year ago

    you would not want to "stay awake" for 7 years on your spacecraft while travelling since there would not be enough food. btw loving your videos, as always.

    • han dler
      han dler Year ago

      We dont know that. If it operates under Passengers logic they have months worth of food for over 2k people. That's enough food for like 4 couples.

  • Evan Gamer25
    Evan Gamer25 Year ago

    Cool content

  • Vincent Montgomery

    The last couple of weeks Grace has been talking about the connections between Alien Covenant and Blade runner yet she never points out what those connections actually are, kinda frustrating.

  • Aset Bilibaev
    Aset Bilibaev Year ago

    One(David) is not qualified as a creator if all one's done is took a seed (goo) and put it in earth (body).

  • Kelly Pfeiffer
    Kelly Pfeiffer Year ago

    Ridley should have used Styx's Come Sail Away when Tennessee was retracting the Space Sails in the beginning because Tennessee was a big fan of 20th Century pop music and then later at the end of the movie Tennessee could ask Walter when being put back into hyper sleep for Walter to play the same song he played earlier and David wouldn't know what song Walter had played. More entertaining and more exacting than, "help build our house" which is easily deniable and like Guardian of the Galaxy, it makes the use of modern music entertaining and helps out a plot point in the film.

  • DemiRonin
    DemiRonin Year ago +2

    I thought David was similar to Mr. Sinister from X-men. He just like to toy with genetics and species. A being who has no sympathy from the genetic canvas which he paints on.

  • acepc2
    acepc2 Year ago

    What was up with the with the music signal? Like why was the signal going off and why was it music?

  • GimbalLock
    GimbalLock Year ago

    This movie was terrible.

  • ComiXamples
    ComiXamples Year ago

    How were the Aliens created in the Future when they fought the Predators in Ancient times.

  • Logan Wolverine
    Logan Wolverine Year ago

    Grace once again you've proven your ability to see past the obvious, make connections and delve into the substance of the content . I also saw the minor flaws of this film (which pushed the narrative ). I was able to look past them to see a good movie with deeper meaning then your typical horror suspense genre. Great review in my humble opinion.

  • Jennifer McMahon
    Jennifer McMahon Year ago

    I felt bad I saw the ending coming, which I think they were trying to go for a very Hitchcockian / Psycho effect.
    However it didn't 100% really work on me as stated, but I did appreciate Fassbender's acting quite a bit..

  • Jay J
    Jay J Year ago

    Stupidest choice was to enter a biome that's not familiar without proper protection .All plants are poisonous or toxic, we have evolved with them building resistances to them.

  • THE MASTER LENS
    THE MASTER LENS Year ago

    @15:29, I really think having children in space would be too much of a liability. Plus many of the cryopods were designed for adults. So the best way to proceed with the procreation was to keep the embryos in cryo.

  • Vincent Dorado
    Vincent Dorado Year ago

    spoiler james franco dies

  • John Conacher
    John Conacher Year ago

    From the UK : people still talk like that 😄

  • mike neun
    mike neun Year ago +2

    James Franco would have been a saving element of this movie if they had kept him alive

  • Erin Grainger
    Erin Grainger Year ago +2

    This movie was a complete letdown. If I wanted an alien movie to be an existential diatribe be about creation ..... arrghh
    We want aliens massive scale fighting and they get defeated. What the hell happens here is a writers fantasy that Danes to be more than it is. No personal connection to the Elizabeth Shaw which is where they should have left off!

  • Ez-8
    Ez-8 Year ago +2

    Covenant is a huge disappointing.

  • gary alexander
    gary alexander Year ago +2

    Grace, I love all your reviews but I have to disagree here. Now please remember I've been going to the theatre to see these films since Alien, yip I was there😊. And I also really enjoyed Prometheus ( really helps to add the deleted scenes back in ). But to me this one was bottom of the barrel even worse then the 2 Alien VS.
    predator flicks!!!
    Unfortunately I have to kindly disagree. First 40 minutes was boring!!! The rest lacked pacing skills too!!! Scott just crapped all over his own franchise!! Please take it away from him now, and for the sake of the franchise beg, and I mean beg Cameron to create a new Aliens reboot and Aliens continuation story all in one!!! Worse PO to the Alien franchise fans ever!!! Here's how I would grade the films.
    Alien A+
    Aliens A
    Aliens 3. B. ( reedited version)
    Alien 4 B -
    Alien Vs Predator c+ ( even though I hated the idea )
    Alien VS. Predator C -
    Prometheus B +
    Alien Covenant D+
    Just my humble fan boy opinion, but I'm finding no matter what you review I find your method very infectious wonderful un- jaded sense of wonder!

  • SeemsLikeSomething

    I wasn't going to see this in theatres but the spoiler reviews actually piqued my interest and now I know where to level my expectations. BUT!! I don't understand one thing. Maybe someone can help with this...?
    If David created the xenomorphs (aliens), how exactly are there eggs, similar aliens and alien-symbology in Prometheus? Wouldn't that have been before those things existed? The only 2 ideas I have for how this is possible are A) David expanded on an experiment already in the works or B) There's a time travel element.
    Cheers

  • jason harvote
    jason harvote Year ago +1

    that android was a head theres no way it could have been fixed especially if shaw wasnt an engineer herself with any materials or machines to make the parts man yhis writer is a sale out crack head how are people buying his books or not firing him?

  • jason harvote
    jason harvote Year ago

    and how you say the android created the xenomorph if it was already showed in prometheus that the engineers had created the xenomorphs and were killed by them. alien 1 showed the engineers ship and find the aliens inside of it so makes no sense the android made the xenomorphs.

  • jason harvote
    jason harvote Year ago +1

    wo wo wo so it wasnt the creators of humans who made the aliens? but the android instead? lol that makes no sense especially since aliens never posed threat to humans on earth. o and did writer forget that aliens existed before prometheus? in alien vs predator aliens were brought to earth by predator aliens to fight which also says that the creators did not accidently just make humans but maybe predators or they are another advanced civilization. the aliens movie is idiotic and a dead franchise lol.

  • Gareth Davies
    Gareth Davies Year ago +1

    The film was shockingly bad, a real disappointment. And yes Grace some people do still talk with that accent here in the UK :D

  • Redsam 6
    Redsam 6 Year ago

    Good to see a reviewer that actually GOT the film, the criticisms I've heard from others are ridiculous. I agree with 90% of what you've said here!

  • TLS Aeonian
    TLS Aeonian Year ago

    Im pretty sure the cabin being built thing wasnt a code by Daniels. I think she was just having a convenient chat with Walter about it and knew Walter wouldnt forget. In the end when she asked David and he didnt answer she realized it. Besides why would she even make a code before any threats even occured, she wasnt even expecting another Android.

  • Jeffery Miller
    Jeffery Miller Year ago

    I didn't even see James Franco in the movie. Did they cut even more?

  • Auntkekebaby
    Auntkekebaby Year ago

    Fassbender makes the movie.

  • Sir Roach
    Sir Roach Year ago

    First off david wasn't creating Xenomorphs he was creating Protomorphs and Neomorphs. Protomorphs being less cautious as a Xenomorph and Neomorphs being more animalistic, no strategy, no caution, just straight up brutal killing and eating of the victims. David let the Protomorph be killed in the end to study it's weaknesses, to further advance it, to ultimately lead towards a more advance version of the species of which is known as a Xenomorph. And secondly David did not wipe out the engineers, he merely wiped out another race the engineers made that was suppose to replace humanity. The engineers for some reason was unhappy with us so they made a race more like them to replace us with.

  • rurutu M
    rurutu M Year ago

    the ending was too predictable

  • dirty harry1881
    dirty harry1881 Year ago

    the stupidity of a cross over between alien and blade runner is beyond me. What the ffff are you talking about??
    Blade runner was the best movie it could be with a pretty solid A.I. background.
    This is not the case with Covenant. David makes no sense at all and we certainly learn nothing new or interesting about what A.I. might be or think.
    Saying all the time that things might get clear in the next movie or the Blue-Ray has destroyed the cinema-experience. If we just get nonsensical fractions of movies at the cinema then there is no point to go to the movies anymore, is there?

  • Richard Koek
    Richard Koek Year ago

    The crew was so stupid in its decision making. So there were so many more dumb twists besides the haircutting. Grace, why doesn't a bad script annoy you? The walking away (twice) and getting killed. And the shower scene was so out of touch with the rest. Why would the captain go look for those eggs?! All so dumb.... but i did enjoy it!

  • A Stafford
    A Stafford Year ago

    I honestly thought Karine could've easily been a main focal point of the movie. 1/3 third of the movie could've been just her trapped in that med room with the protomorph. Was very saddened that she died, hoped she would make it out of that room.

  • Coinage McGregor
    Coinage McGregor Year ago

    Finally a positive in depth review. Too many youtubers are becoming so pretentious. Thank David for Grace, reviews everything fairly and with class. Great movie. Great review

  • Tony Payne
    Tony Payne Year ago

    7yrs, 2,000 ppl....resources..would deplete .....i think

  • Thomas h cullen
    Thomas h cullen Year ago

    Like the Tom Ford film Nocturnal Animals, Alien Covenant is the means to destroying the Second World War, cancelling its existence. This is because Alien Covenant is a story about the dichotomy of an original needing to destroy its replication, but not having the power to

  • theespressokid1
    theespressokid1 Year ago +1

    By far the worst Alien film ever AND extremely damaging to the franchise continuity. Braindead crew (come look at this egg, it's safe, take a closer look), predictable deaths and super fast maturing aliens (full size in minutes!), bad hatchet job ret-conning the xeno origins. But the biggest cinema sin: setting up a character in the previous movie only to have them die off camera, as bad as Newt and Hicks dying in Alien 3. Last but not least: Alien Vision! aka snapchat filter.

  • Penguin 101
    Penguin 101 Year ago

    The whole David plot line is a slap in the face to Prometheus AND the Alien lore regarding xenomorphs being much older (predator franchise, and the mural in Prometheus). I was looking forward to having more of the engineers and their connection to xenomorphs. Also Elizabeth Shaw's fate was a slap in the face too!

  • A Girl Has No Name

    Im British Grace, no one talks like that anymore except maybe Royalty. Regional accents kinda rule, the realm. This is an accent that was popular up until the breaking down of the class structure during WW2. Its whats know as a classical British accent, devoid of regional influence.

  • Marc Paterson
    Marc Paterson Year ago

    I think it's perfectly clear why David needed to have his xenomorph exit through the stomach rather than the back: the plot demanded it.

  • dlancer2k
    dlancer2k Year ago

    You said Walter died, but there wasn't any real evidence that happened.