Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince - Movie Review


Comments • 1 357

  • NeverMindGaming
    NeverMindGaming 17 hours ago

    I actually like this movie

  • Please No RPGs
    Please No RPGs 10 days ago


  • Jesse A
    Jesse A Month ago

    Half Blood Prince was the first one I saw, and liked it, but I didn't love it. I then saw Sorcerer's Stone and I felt it was slightly better than Half Blood Prince (however I cannot deny that the guy who plays Harry, Daniel Radcliff, is a much better actor in Half Blood Prince than he is in Sorcerer's Stone). I then saw Order of the Phoenix and, eh. Wasnt my favorite. The first Harry Potter movie I LOVED was Prisoner of Azkaban. I eventually saw all the others, but none of those experiences will compare to whan I saw Half Blood Prince (my introduction to the series) and Prisoner of Azkaban (To this day it's my favorite in the series. It was smart, emotional, funny, the action was good, the characters were Interesting, it was dark but light hearted, I could go on).

  • Devan Smith
    Devan Smith Month ago

    I completely agree on the Snape stuff

  • miss rose
    miss rose Month ago

    You hit the nail on the head with this one. The romance was never interesting for me in HBP. I especially dislike Harry/Ginny. Her character as a whole in the books and movie are ho-hum. I do wish they had more of Voldemort's past in this. Something that still annoys me is they had the Weasley home catch fire. That didn't happen in the book!!! Why add in a brand-new scene instead of sticking to the book? HBP as a whole isn't my favorite book. There are several funny moments but the romance in the book ruined the story for me.

  • Matt Pattison
    Matt Pattison Month ago

    "FUUUUUUUUUUUUCK him" kickass Jahns

  • Mathew Perdue
    Mathew Perdue 2 months ago

    you know in five years when HBO does a harry potter tv show they will show Voldemort's past.

  • Jack Coupland
    Jack Coupland 2 months ago

    I wish that before killing Dumbledore, Snape said “What was it that you said to me? Yippee Kay Yay motherfucker.”

  • Lily Hannah
    Lily Hannah 2 months ago

    Sometimes, I came back to this video just to re-watch the best "Fuck him" I've ever seen in TVclip. This and Jon's Tron "I will always love you" just have a special place in my heart.

  • Big Boss
    Big Boss 2 months ago

    Ranking the Hp movies worst to best(not including fantastic beasts)
    8. Halfblood prince
    -I fell asleep twice watching this movie in the theater and when I watched it the second time fully awake, still didn’t enjoy it except the ending and Yates is probably my least favorite director.
    7. Deathly hallows pt.1
    A great startup to the movie but it slowly and slowly drifted apart but man Dobbys death was sad.
    6. Chamber of secrets
    I have a love/hate relationship with this movie I do appreciate Columbus’s work but it was really long being 2hrs 52mins.
    5.Order of the Phoenix
    David Yates first film for the universe and I thought it was good not magnificent but good.
    4. Sorcerer’s Stone
    This was my childhood film when I grew up and I couldn’t thank Columbus anymore for introducing me to the Harry Potter universe.
    3. Deathly Hallows pt.2
    This is what we’ve all been waiting for and the best conclusion to the series. Yates really surprised me here.
    2. Goblet Of Fire
    This was the turning point of the series for me where it started to go more into a mature story and Mike Newell did a great job on this film.
    1.Prisoner of Azkaban
    This use to be my least favorite as a 10 year old kid but when I matured I started to appreciate this film and it became my all time favorite of the series. Alfonso Cuaron did magnificent on this film.

  • RationalLllama
    RationalLllama 3 months ago

    Funny how the best Harry Potter book ended up being the worst movie on the series.

  • j9rd11
    j9rd11 3 months ago

    you should do a rereview, because I don't know what rating you give to deathly hallow one and two

  • FlopBag
    FlopBag 4 months ago

    Can someone explain to me how in this movie harry didn't get into truble after essentially killing draco

  • Osama Beast
    Osama Beast 4 months ago

    Pls review the last 2 movies.

  • Ryan smith
    Ryan smith 4 months ago

    The books are better after a re-read

  • Roei Potash AKA Poihpio
    Roei Potash AKA Poihpio 5 months ago +1

    the romance is actually my favourite part of this movie

  • Siotame Palu
    Siotame Palu 5 months ago +3

    1. POA
    2. DHP2
    3. HBP
    4. OOTP
    5. COS
    6. DHP2
    7. ST
    8. GOF

  • Ian Barrett
    Ian Barrett 5 months ago +1

    Dude, Half Blood Prince is my favorite book too.

  • BobbyG17
    BobbyG17 5 months ago

    This was my least favorite one

  • Jay Kelly
    Jay Kelly 5 months ago +2

    I am so glad you included the book comparison, because that is exactly the problem I have with this movie. Also my fav book, and Voldie's backstory is the reason, which is what they left out of the movie.

  • Mike Mac
    Mike Mac 6 months ago

    Jeremy: "They're all getting girlfriends and stuff"
    Me: "But Hermione ended up with Ron ... Yeah, they all got girlfriends"

  • endorbr
    endorbr 6 months ago +1

    How often do high school romances work out? Well... I started dating my wife in high school and we've been together for 19 years now so... I'll let you know.

  • endorbr
    endorbr 6 months ago

    To be honest Harry was really just as much a dick as Draco, just in different ways.

  • xxAlexixx88
    xxAlexixx88 6 months ago

    I think they added the romance because if there wasn't romance, Hermoine and Ron wouldn't even be in the movie. Those were like all their scenes.

  • Taylor Burrell
    Taylor Burrell 6 months ago +1

    "Fuuuuuuck him" 😂

  • MattMan Reviews
    MattMan Reviews 6 months ago

    Please review Deathly Hallows again!

  • Nicole Hindman
    Nicole Hindman 6 months ago

    I agree! I watched this for the first time immediatly after I read the book and they changed and left out so much!! There was a big battle with Dumbledore's army and the Death Eaters at the end and they left that whole thing out! I couldn't believe they did that!

  • seigeengine
    seigeengine 6 months ago

    I have always had trouble differentiating movies from books. Partly because I'm not really a fan of things, so I don't tend to commit details of things to memory firmly enough to be able to remember and identify differences between versions of things.
    I would agree though. If accurate, the movie would have ruined the snape being a bad guy thing there, and I was somebody who foresaw snape actually being a good guy in the books.

  • AwesomeTurtleFish
    AwesomeTurtleFish 6 months ago +1

    1. Chamber of Secrets
    2. Prisoner of Askaban
    3. Sorcerer's Stone
    4. Deathly Hallows Pt. 1
    5. Order of the Phoenix
    6. Half Blood Prince
    7. Deathly Hallows Pt. 2
    8. Goblet of Fire

  • Timothy Hammons
    Timothy Hammons 6 months ago +1

    1. Deathly Hallows Pt 2
    2. Prisoner of Azkaban
    3. Order of the Phoenix
    4. Half-Blood Prince
    5. Deathly Hallows Pt 1
    6. Chamber of Secrets
    7. Sorcerer's Stone
    8. Goblet of Fire
    I really hated Goblet of Fire because that's really the movie where the book material was severely cut out and the rest of the movies afterwards just had to cope. Also it's just not a good film to me, especially since the book was one of the best.

  • Zwordsman
    Zwordsman 6 months ago

    I reallyhope he does a rereview of the last two.
    cause they're different view indeed. More so because he just watched and reviewed the rest.

  • moretz lover
    moretz lover 7 months ago

    What if you reviewed the extended editions of the deathly hallows with the deleted scenes that were left out of the theatrically released movies. For example there's a deleted scene with Dudley and Harry and Harry and Petunia. Just a thought

  • NerdGuy
    NerdGuy 7 months ago

    That fight in the field at the Weasley's home didn't make any sense and it added fuck all to the plot.

  • Jules-Hervé Pindy
    Jules-Hervé Pindy 7 months ago

    Excellent point about Dumbledore's death in the film. I never thought of it like that. Well done.

  • Jules-Hervé Pindy
    Jules-Hervé Pindy 7 months ago

    Dumbledore brings Slughorn to Hogwart BECAUSE he has the memory, tho. He even uses Harry to convince him to accept the position. Dumbledore, the real MVP of the story with Rogue and possibly Lily Potter (: definitely Lily Potter if she was 100% aware of all the repercussions her sacrifice would have on Voldemort and it wasn't all due to "luck").

  • irish91ify
    irish91ify 7 months ago

    My least favourite Harry Potter film but it does have its moments. Great review Jeremy.

  • Justin Murtagh
    Justin Murtagh 7 months ago

    Totally agree about the book vs the movie. This is my favourite book in the series, but the movie didn't live up to it. It's still a decent movie though.

  • David Baines
    David Baines 7 months ago

    HPSS= 10/10
    HPCS= 7/10
    HPPOS= 10/10
    HPGOF= 10/10
    HPOOP= 7/10
    HPHBP= 7/10
    HPDHP1= 7/10
    HPDHP2= 10/10
    FBAWTFT= 7/10

  • hatori more
    hatori more 7 months ago

    Do review the last ones!

  • Baby Scatha
    Baby Scatha 7 months ago

    I agree very much with this review. It's my favorite of the books (with PoA), but the movie was a big let down for me. It's not bad at all, but it's disappointing and... yeah too much romance...

  • Luake XBL
    Luake XBL 7 months ago

    1. Goblet of Fire/Prisoner of Azkaban
    3. Deathly Hallows pt2
    4. Half Blood Prince

  • Nastenkina
    Nastenkina 7 months ago +23

    seriously ... that's how many years have passed since the release of this movie? And all this time I was not supported by anyone in my anger - they cut out everything about the origin of Voldemort. IT JUST SUCKS!

  • doylestatus
    doylestatus 7 months ago

    Review last 2 again Please!!!

  • Matt
    Matt 7 months ago

    I'm surprised he didn't mention how they cut out the huge battle at the end! Can someone explain to me why the death eaters don't grab harry and immediately take him to Voldemort at the end when he is lying in the grass helpless!? Literally the next movie Voldemort is like "I must have Harry Potter". The book, which is my favorite of the series, addresses this because the order of the Phoenix is attacking the deatheaters as they flee! Without that, it makes no sense...

  • Bruz the Chopper
    Bruz the Chopper 7 months ago

    order of the phoenix is the best in my opinion. mainly because shit got interesting.

  • Max Madmax
    Max Madmax 7 months ago +1

    OOOOooohhh that's why I found Voldemor story very weak, and absolutely NOT interesting ?
    The whole Harry Potter saga was lame because of the last movies, which clearly lacked impact. That's really stupid from Hollywood... especially when I know that they cut the last book into 2 movies !

  • Ryan Howe
    Ryan Howe 7 months ago

    Maybe you could do spoiler talks for deathly hallows part 1 and 2

  • MightyManotaur22
    MightyManotaur22 7 months ago

    Best movie, second-best book.

  • Reality Weasel
    Reality Weasel 7 months ago

    Um are you not gonna talk about the terrible writing, the stilted acting, the maddeningly slow pacing, the washed-out cinematography, and the absolute piece of shit that was the composition of this entire film?

  • Eric Piche
    Eric Piche 7 months ago

    You are right

  • Talan
    Talan 7 months ago

    You should review a movie review that you reviewed.

  • Matrix Drift
    Matrix Drift 7 months ago

    1. Prisoner of Azkaban
    2. Goblet of Fire
    2. Deathly Hallows Part 2 (yes I tied them on purpose)
    4. Deathly Hallows Part 1
    5. Sorcerer's Stone
    6.Chamber of Secrets (these two 5 and 6 are about the same, classic, but lacking)
    7. Order of the Phoenix

    8. Half Blood Prince

  • Corey Garner
    Corey Garner 7 months ago

    ummm Jeremy? 2009 wants it movie review back... like do we really need a review for a movie everyone has already seen and is over 7 years old?

  • Tori Volz
    Tori Volz 7 months ago

    I think I'm the only one who really liked this movie even though not much stuff happened I thought it was enjoyable

  • AJsBookLife
    AJsBookLife 7 months ago

    The Half Blood Prince was my favorite book too! and also not my favorite movie but I still really like it. :)

  • InoMercy
    InoMercy 7 months ago

    Half-blood Prince is to this day the only Harry Potter movie I have yet to see.

  • deigning
    deigning 7 months ago

    i feel "fuck him" about snape at all hours of the day regardless of what media i am consuming

  • leonardo448
    leonardo448 7 months ago

    I felt the same way 2:56

  • CuteWallflowergirl
    CuteWallflowergirl 7 months ago

    lol i love how Jeremy says "FUUUUUUCK HIM!" while pretend closing the book.

  • Ali Arshad
    Ali Arshad 7 months ago

    1. Deathly Hallows Part 2
    2. Prisoner of Azkaban
    3. Philosophers Stone
    4. Chamber of Secrets
    5. Goblet of Fire
    6. Half Blood Prince
    7. Order of Phoenix
    8. Deathly Hallows Part 1

  • Batfreak11
    Batfreak11 7 months ago

    Can some make a GIF of Jeremy saying "Fuuuuck Him!" Lol

  • F P
    F P 7 months ago

    There should have been 11 HP movies, all the books after Azkaban should have been split into 2 movies, considering the amount of stuff that was cut.

  • Benjamin Foster
    Benjamin Foster 7 months ago

    Hey Jeremy! Can we get a list of your all time top ten favorite movies? Think it would be fun!

  • MOVIE Master Vevo
    MOVIE Master Vevo 7 months ago

    I disagree

  • Kevin McNamara
    Kevin McNamara 7 months ago

    Please do deathly hallows

  • John von Shepard
    John von Shepard 7 months ago


  • FrogMelodies
    FrogMelodies 7 months ago

    The scene where McGonagall raises up her wand silently and everybody else starts following her lead so they'd destroy that bitch ass dark mark in the sky gets me every time man.

  • Jose A
    Jose A 7 months ago

    Fitting that he reviewed all the movies up until he leaves the school

  • Toby Sweetman
    Toby Sweetman 7 months ago

    Jeremy, you need to re-review Firefly!

  • Rebecca Dittman
    Rebecca Dittman 7 months ago

    Someone further down is like Jeremy I need to know your a GRYFFINDOR!! Um... Am I the on,y one here that thinks he is Ravenclaw? I mean the guy IS a nerd from Harry potter to star wars knows his who is who... And he loves picking movies apart like puzzles and

  • Carl Smith
    Carl Smith 7 months ago

    So.. just a question
    Why does snape kill dumbledor?

  • Vince Maslowski
    Vince Maslowski 7 months ago +2

    Harry's shotgun spell on Malfoy was pretty great.

  • Kal El
    Kal El 7 months ago

    "He belongs to the Dark Lord!" - Severus Snape after killing Dumbledore.
    What would be the point of revealing Harry to the Deatheaters if he never planned to act on it any way?

  • CapnSavvy
    CapnSavvy 7 months ago

    Well... I really enjoyed making potions in the Half Blood Prince game on ps2.
    And making random objects levitate so I could whack random students in the head.
    And I even enjoyed the quiditch sections of the game.
    Movie was just ok for me. I honestly enjoyed the game more. :O

  • Richie Spur
    Richie Spur 7 months ago

    You explained exactly my frustrations with this movie.

  • Luis Marzan
    Luis Marzan 7 months ago

    Should definitely do Deathly Hallows part 1 and 2 Jeremy

  • Remi Carl
    Remi Carl 7 months ago

    5:14 Every betrayal reaction

  • Alexander Ivanov
    Alexander Ivanov 7 months ago

    I remember almost walking out of the theater because they hadn't included the wizard battle in the school!!!!

  • devilpupbear09
    devilpupbear09 7 months ago

    hey Jenny, you know that movie is at least 6 yrs old

  • Bailey Alexander
    Bailey Alexander 7 months ago

    Do the deathly hallows!!!

  • Raquiyah Kelly
    Raquiyah Kelly 7 months ago

    Can we talk about the fact that the Weasleys house did not burn down in the books.

    • Paul C
      Paul C 7 months ago

      Raquiyah Kelly in the original draft of the book, it did. Jk rowling said that she took it out because it would be redundunt since it would happen anyway in deathly hollows. She did suggest reusing that scene in the movie to yates. Thats why its in the movie

  • rgoodwyn
    rgoodwyn 7 months ago

    The scene where Voldemort comes to ask for the Defense Against the Dark Arts job def should have been in the movie! Great moment between them.
    Well done on all these reviews good sir! Like seeing your thoughts on non current stuff as well.

  • Oriana Flaquer
    Oriana Flaquer 7 months ago

    Review them again!!!!!!!!!!

  • TheWendo101
    TheWendo101 7 months ago

    Please review deathly hallows I need it

  • Danielle B
    Danielle B 7 months ago +1

    The only time you sound like "That Annoying Guy" when comparing the book to its adaptations is when you're complaining about something like Harry having blue eyes in the movie and green eyes in the book. Cutting out important plot points and changing characterization that ruins their development are legitimate reasons to compare the book to the movie.

  • Tyler Rehkopf
    Tyler Rehkopf 7 months ago

    My least favorite of the movies. They cut a shit ton out and added a made up scene at the Weaslys house. SMH

  • Sophia Rose
    Sophia Rose 7 months ago

    I find this interesting...half blood prince is my least favorite book and movie..... any one else agree. I just felt it was sad and a little boring

  • Tracey S
    Tracey S 7 months ago

    Best line in a review ever..."Fuuuuuuuck HIM" LOLOLOL

  • The Stuff of Nerdz
    The Stuff of Nerdz 7 months ago

    I wanna re-read the sixth book now

  • Ryan Cox
    Ryan Cox 7 months ago

    How I rank the Harry Potter films:
    8. Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part I
    7. Harry Potter And The Order Of The Phoenix
    6. Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part II
    5. Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince
    4. Harry Potter And The Sorcerer's Stone
    3. Harry Potter And The Prisoner Of Azkaban
    2. Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire
    1. Harry Potter And The Chamber Of Secrets

  • Tarotiste
    Tarotiste 7 months ago

    You got most of my biggest frustrations I had with this film. I really, really couldn't get why they cut the most important stuff just to put it n some really insipid romance. (Plus I've never been a big epilogue fan. I could've done without JKR' a scene at the end. It just showed -to me- that nothing has gotten better. Why not have Draco marry Ginny... Or do something surprising? Show the wording world is a bit better?)

  • Allons y
    Allons y 7 months ago

    Man I'd be really down to see another Deathly Hallows review

  • Alphabet
    Alphabet 7 months ago

    You should re review the next two films to see if your views have changed whilst watching them all again.

  • Joseph Johnson
    Joseph Johnson 7 months ago

    Shout out to the minister of magic himself! May he rest in peace ❤️

  • Hunter Engstad
    Hunter Engstad 7 months ago

    I would love to see if you're opinion changed on the last two!

  • Brasse 3 kyZ 3
    Brasse 3 kyZ 3 7 months ago

    i dont understand the daniel day lewis refrence, can someone explain it to me?

    • Brasse 3 kyZ 3
      Brasse 3 kyZ 3 7 months ago

      ive read the book, but which charcter is described to look like daniel day lewis?

    • Paul C
      Paul C 7 months ago

      Brasse 3 kyZ 3 read the book. the character is described to look like him. No spoilers here btw if you plan on reading halfblood prince

  • Spartanll7x
    Spartanll7x 7 months ago +1

    I totally agree with you on this Jeremy about how they did that end scene with Dumbledore, Snape and Harry. The book definitely did it significantly better, they could have just kept that same scene.

  • Ardnightian
    Ardnightian 7 months ago

    I think it would be awesome if you re-reviewed the Deathly Hallows

  • Tina
    Tina 7 months ago

    I dislike this one the most, I so wanted to see the Voldermort back story and when they focused on the romance I was disappointed, this was my favorite book and it was because of all the back story that voldermort had in it, you could really see the resentment he had growing and than there was also the scene where he comes back to Hogwarts to hide the tiara, that was important to the last book :/

  • Chris Tucholske
    Chris Tucholske 7 months ago +1

    I actually wasn't as annoyed with this movie as I was with Goblet of Fire & Order of the Phoenix, but I do miss all the really interesting little things & great scenes that were left out of every movie starting with Prisoner of Azkaban-- and even more annoyed that half of those scenes were filmed for HPPoA & were cut out in the end to focus on the drama. Although, I think the movies that were most disserviced by this were Order of the Phoenix & Deathly Hallows Pt2.