Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 12, 2017
  • I don't like being that guy who compares the book to the movie, but when the movie cuts important info that they could have left in...I gotta do what I gotta do. Here's my review of HARRY POTTER AND THE HALF BLOOD PRINCE!
    See more videos by Jeremy here: tvclip.biz/user/JeremyJahns
    Follow Jeremy on Twitter: twitter.com/JeremyJahns
    Friend Jeremy on Facebook: facebook.com/RealJeremyJahns
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 317

  • Harshit kumar singh
    Harshit kumar singh 8 days ago

    My first and favourite Harry Potter book of all time . I have read it a total of 272 times and trust me when I say this, I understand exactly what you are saying about the book to movie translation. I actually teared up when I was reading the Dumbledore-Death scene the first time. But in the movie it was "meh" . Unbelievable reviews will always be available at the Jeremy jahns channel to those who ask for it.

  • sabresman31
    sabresman31 11 days ago

    They botched this film the most. The book was demonstrably better.

  • Loven Dra
    Loven Dra 18 days ago +1

    "I'm not mad at the movie, I'm just disappointed" - Gets me all the time.

  • Char Sol
    Char Sol 23 days ago

    I agree completely, this was my favourite book and they cut so much important lore and backstory out that I felt all the motivation was messed up. All the flashbacks in the book helped set up the horcrux hunt and gave them some direction, the fact that they cut that out means their ability to locate them in the next movie comes out of nowhere.

  • Kyan Simon
    Kyan Simon Month ago

    5:15 Hilairious

  • Anton A.
    Anton A. Month ago

    The relationships between Harry and Weasley's sister are so forced and unexplained, I felt like I missed a movie in between when I saw Deathly Hallows. Since Order of Phoenix, I felt like Harry Potter movies have some sort of bad habit of making the majority of the story about lame school stuff and then finally doing something interesting with the story only in the third act, when it should've been the main story point from the beginning. It sucks that Order of Phoenix was not about Sirius and Harry being together for most of the movie, bonding, while trying to stop Voldemort. Instead, we got that lame shit with Ms. Thundercunt.

  • Giovanni Foulmouth
    Giovanni Foulmouth Month ago

    This was the best one. Still a mediocre movie tho.

  • Faisal Alshaikh
    Faisal Alshaikh 4 months ago +1

    Agree with you, best book but not best movie

  • Noah Ibarra
    Noah Ibarra 5 months ago

    I think the trust Harry had in Dumbledore that he’d do something was enough for me to buy into Harry not doing anything. Throughout the movie whole Harry has this blind trust of safety for Dumbledore.

  • Slasher_ Ville
    Slasher_ Ville 6 months ago

    Considering both parts of the deathly hollows are suppose to be great which they are I have this one as my number one I just watch this one more it was just the most intense out of the series I don’t like the romance either but this story is where everything breaks down for what is to come and get you’re still in the dark

  • DubAthleticShark
    DubAthleticShark 6 months ago

    But the thing is that Harry-Cho, Ron-Lavender, Ginny-Michael, Ginny-Dean, and Hermione-Viktor were the “High School” relationships. Ginny-Harry and Ron-Hermione was a long time coming. Although, to be fair, I think that Ron got lucky that he ended up with Hermione after he left her and Harry in DH since she could’ve easily found someone else.

  • Arlis White Bear
    Arlis White Bear 6 months ago

    Oof this is my least favorite Harry Potter movie. I still tear up at the end.

  • Ian
    Ian 7 months ago

    The Voldy-Dumby chapter he’s talking about is called ‘Lord Voldemort’s Request’ - awesome chapter

  • Alucard, More Awesome Than Chuck Norris!

    She did write the characters of Snape and Luna with Alan Rickman and Evanna Lynch in mind.

  • TEJ Jensen
    TEJ Jensen 7 months ago

    Oh no ... this is damn annoying to see and hear. Could not see it finished!

  • wolf paw
    wolf paw 8 months ago

    Rereview this one please and actually talk about the half blood prince lol

  • the wookiee fuzzball87
    the wookiee fuzzball87 9 months ago +1

    THE HALF BLOOD PRINCE. will always be the best movie for me. (hands down the best in the series)

  • MIKE da BEE with kNOwledge

    It was 6 movies in of m trying to build a romance of ron and hermoine and then just makes them get together off screen at the end thats a waste

  • mdkleve
    mdkleve 10 months ago

    I agree with u Jeremy. Fav book but not my fav movie

  • Alex Pollock
    Alex Pollock 10 months ago

    This is exactly why I will always watch the movie first if I haven’t already read the book. I haven’t read all of the Harry Potter books (I’m reading them now) but I’ve seen and own all the movies and I love them. Reading after watching adds to the experience where reading before will most likely end in disappointment. I learned that from the disaster artist. I listened to the audio book (best way to read it) and then watched the movie. Not that I wanted everything to be in there because pacing is more important in movies than it is in books, but there were a lot of little details that could of been easily included. So I will never read the book before seeing the movie, despite what everyone’s parents say

    • Big Mo Logan
      Big Mo Logan 10 months ago

      That's not entirely foolproof, though. You can watch a movie, enjoy it, read the book, realize everything the movie cut out, and then become disappointed in the movie. Watching the movie before reading the book doesn't do much.

  • Emma
    Emma 10 months ago

    I'm glad you're the guy who says 'In the book!' because I have not seen this movie yet and I finished the book last night so I'm really not looking forward to the changes D:

  • Mr Sniper1730
    Mr Sniper1730 11 months ago

    Proud slytherin

  • TheMarionick
    TheMarionick Year ago

    If you think about it, Half Blood Prince is Voldemort's origin story. (Well, the book version. The movie version cuts all of that out.)

  • Acn movie reviews

    Yessss please review harry potter and the deathly hollows parts 1 &2 again

  • Alfie871
    Alfie871 Year ago

    This is my least favorite HP film, might be because it has been the most viewed HP film in my country and Im just tired of it.
    But i feel like this movie is way to long and way to boring with the previous movies in mind.
    Maybe if they did it like the book (Like Jeremy said) It would be way more interesting and far more enjoyable.
    And also like Jeremy said, it is an enjoyable film, but it is my least favorite.

  • Ronin Kenway
    Ronin Kenway Year ago

    Would love for you to review part 1 & 2 again

  • NeverMindGaming
    NeverMindGaming Year ago

    I actually like this movie

  • Please No RPGs
    Please No RPGs Year ago

    DO DEATHLY HALLOWS AGAIN

  • Jesse A
    Jesse A Year ago

    Half Blood Prince was the first one I saw, and liked it, but I didn't love it. I then saw Sorcerer's Stone and I felt it was slightly better than Half Blood Prince (however I cannot deny that the guy who plays Harry, Daniel Radcliff, is a much better actor in Half Blood Prince than he is in Sorcerer's Stone). I then saw Order of the Phoenix and, eh. Wasnt my favorite. The first Harry Potter movie I LOVED was Prisoner of Azkaban. I eventually saw all the others, but none of those experiences will compare to whan I saw Half Blood Prince (my introduction to the series) and Prisoner of Azkaban (To this day it's my favorite in the series. It was smart, emotional, funny, the action was good, the characters were Interesting, it was dark but light hearted, I could go on).

  • Devan Smith
    Devan Smith Year ago

    I completely agree on the Snape stuff

  • miss rose
    miss rose Year ago

    You hit the nail on the head with this one. The romance was never interesting for me in HBP. I especially dislike Harry/Ginny. Her character as a whole in the books and movie are ho-hum. I do wish they had more of Voldemort's past in this. Something that still annoys me is they had the Weasley home catch fire. That didn't happen in the book!!! Why add in a brand-new scene instead of sticking to the book? HBP as a whole isn't my favorite book. There are several funny moments but the romance in the book ruined the story for me.

  • Matt Pattison
    Matt Pattison Year ago

    "FUUUUUUUUUUUUCK him" kickass Jahns

  • Mathew Perdue
    Mathew Perdue Year ago

    you know in five years when HBO does a harry potter tv show they will show Voldemort's past.

  • Lily Hannah
    Lily Hannah Year ago

    Sometimes, I came back to this video just to re-watch the best "Fuck him" I've ever seen in TVclip. This and Jon's Tron "I will always love you" just have a special place in my heart.

  • Big Boss
    Big Boss Year ago

    Ranking the Hp movies worst to best(not including fantastic beasts)
    8. Halfblood prince
    -I fell asleep twice watching this movie in the theater and when I watched it the second time fully awake, still didn’t enjoy it except the ending and Yates is probably my least favorite director.
    2.5/5
    7. Deathly hallows pt.1
    A great startup to the movie but it slowly and slowly drifted apart but man Dobbys death was sad.
    3/5
    6. Chamber of secrets
    I have a love/hate relationship with this movie I do appreciate Columbus’s work but it was really long being 2hrs 52mins.
    3.5/10
    5.Order of the Phoenix
    David Yates first film for the universe and I thought it was good not magnificent but good.
    3.75/5
    4. Sorcerer’s Stone
    This was my childhood film when I grew up and I couldn’t thank Columbus anymore for introducing me to the Harry Potter universe.
    4/5.
    3. Deathly Hallows pt.2
    This is what we’ve all been waiting for and the best conclusion to the series. Yates really surprised me here.
    4.5/5
    2. Goblet Of Fire
    This was the turning point of the series for me where it started to go more into a mature story and Mike Newell did a great job on this film.
    4.5/5
    1.Prisoner of Azkaban
    This use to be my least favorite as a 10 year old kid but when I matured I started to appreciate this film and it became my all time favorite of the series. Alfonso Cuaron did magnificent on this film.
    5/5

  • RationalLllama
    RationalLllama Year ago

    Funny how the best Harry Potter book ended up being the worst movie on the series.

  • j9rd11
    j9rd11 Year ago

    you should do a rereview, because I don't know what rating you give to deathly hallow one and two

  • Luka
    Luka Year ago

    Can someone explain to me how in this movie harry didn't get into truble after essentially killing draco

  • Osama Beast
    Osama Beast Year ago

    Pls review the last 2 movies.

  • Ryan smith
    Ryan smith Year ago

    The books are better after a re-read

  • Roei Potash AKA Poihpio

    the romance is actually my favourite part of this movie

  • Asian Stole My Tv
    Asian Stole My Tv Year ago +3

    1. POA
    2. DHP2
    3. HBP
    4. OOTP
    5. COS
    6. DHP2
    7. ST
    8. GOF

  • Ian Barrett
    Ian Barrett Year ago +1

    Dude, Half Blood Prince is my favorite book too.

  • BobbyG17
    BobbyG17 Year ago

    This was my least favorite one

  • Jay Kelly
    Jay Kelly Year ago +7

    I am so glad you included the book comparison, because that is exactly the problem I have with this movie. Also my fav book, and Voldie's backstory is the reason, which is what they left out of the movie.

  • Mike Mac
    Mike Mac Year ago

    Jeremy: "They're all getting girlfriends and stuff"
    Me: "But Hermione ended up with Ron ... Yeah, they all got girlfriends"

  • endorbr
    endorbr Year ago +1

    How often do high school romances work out? Well... I started dating my wife in high school and we've been together for 19 years now so... I'll let you know.

  • endorbr
    endorbr Year ago

    To be honest Harry was really just as much a dick as Draco, just in different ways.

  • xxAlexixx88
    xxAlexixx88 Year ago

    I think they added the romance because if there wasn't romance, Hermoine and Ron wouldn't even be in the movie. Those were like all their scenes.

  • Taylor Burrell
    Taylor Burrell Year ago +2

    "Fuuuuuuck him" 😂

  • MattMan Reviews
    MattMan Reviews Year ago

    Please review Deathly Hallows again!

  • seigeengine
    seigeengine Year ago

    I have always had trouble differentiating movies from books. Partly because I'm not really a fan of things, so I don't tend to commit details of things to memory firmly enough to be able to remember and identify differences between versions of things.
    I would agree though. If accurate, the movie would have ruined the snape being a bad guy thing there, and I was somebody who foresaw snape actually being a good guy in the books.

  • AwesomeTurtleFish
    AwesomeTurtleFish Year ago +1

    1. Chamber of Secrets
    2. Prisoner of Askaban
    3. Sorcerer's Stone
    4. Deathly Hallows Pt. 1
    5. Order of the Phoenix
    6. Half Blood Prince
    7. Deathly Hallows Pt. 2
    8. Goblet of Fire

  • Timothy Hammons
    Timothy Hammons Year ago +1

    1. Deathly Hallows Pt 2
    2. Prisoner of Azkaban
    3. Order of the Phoenix
    4. Half-Blood Prince
    5. Deathly Hallows Pt 1
    6. Chamber of Secrets
    7. Sorcerer's Stone
    8. Goblet of Fire
    I really hated Goblet of Fire because that's really the movie where the book material was severely cut out and the rest of the movies afterwards just had to cope. Also it's just not a good film to me, especially since the book was one of the best.

  • Zwordsman
    Zwordsman Year ago

    I reallyhope he does a rereview of the last two.
    cause they're different view indeed. More so because he just watched and reviewed the rest.

  • moretz lover
    moretz lover Year ago

    What if you reviewed the extended editions of the deathly hallows with the deleted scenes that were left out of the theatrically released movies. For example there's a deleted scene with Dudley and Harry and Harry and Petunia. Just a thought

  • NerdGuy
    NerdGuy Year ago

    That fight in the field at the Weasley's home didn't make any sense and it added fuck all to the plot.

  • J-H P
    J-H P Year ago

    Excellent point about Dumbledore's death in the film. I never thought of it like that. Well done.

  • J-H P
    J-H P Year ago

    Dumbledore brings Slughorn to Hogwart BECAUSE he has the memory, tho. He even uses Harry to convince him to accept the position. Dumbledore, the real MVP of the story with Rogue and possibly Lily Potter (: definitely Lily Potter if she was 100% aware of all the repercussions her sacrifice would have on Voldemort and it wasn't all due to "luck").

  • Dennis Reynolds The Golden God

    My least favourite Harry Potter film but it does have its moments. Great review Jeremy.

  • Justin Murtagh
    Justin Murtagh Year ago

    Totally agree about the book vs the movie. This is my favourite book in the series, but the movie didn't live up to it. It's still a decent movie though.

  • hatori more
    hatori more Year ago

    Do review the last ones!

  • Baby Scatha
    Baby Scatha Year ago

    I agree very much with this review. It's my favorite of the books (with PoA), but the movie was a big let down for me. It's not bad at all, but it's disappointing and... yeah too much romance...

  • Luke Dougherty
    Luke Dougherty Year ago

    1. Goblet of Fire/Prisoner of Azkaban
    3. Deathly Hallows pt2
    4. Half Blood Prince

  • Nastenkina
    Nastenkina Year ago +37

    seriously ... that's how many years have passed since the release of this movie? And all this time I was not supported by anyone in my anger - they cut out everything about the origin of Voldemort. IT JUST SUCKS!

    • Big Mo Logan
      Big Mo Logan 10 months ago +1

      Exactly. I get that movies need to cut things out from the book --- you know what they could have cut out? Lavender Brown. Was her romance with Ron needed for this movie? No. Did the romance lead him to get with Hermione? No, because he couldn't remember saying her name in the hospital wing, which leaves Hermione a bit down. So what was the point? Why did we waste runtime on that when we could have seen Riddle memories?

  • doylestatus
    doylestatus Year ago

    Review last 2 again Please!!!

  • Matt
    Matt Year ago

    I'm surprised he didn't mention how they cut out the huge battle at the end! Can someone explain to me why the death eaters don't grab harry and immediately take him to Voldemort at the end when he is lying in the grass helpless!? Literally the next movie Voldemort is like "I must have Harry Potter". The book, which is my favorite of the series, addresses this because the order of the Phoenix is attacking the deatheaters as they flee! Without that, it makes no sense...

  • Bruz the Chopper
    Bruz the Chopper Year ago

    order of the phoenix is the best in my opinion. mainly because shit got interesting.

  • Max Madmax
    Max Madmax Year ago +1

    OOOOooohhh that's why I found Voldemor story very weak, and absolutely NOT interesting ?
    The whole Harry Potter saga was lame because of the last movies, which clearly lacked impact. That's really stupid from Hollywood... especially when I know that they cut the last book into 2 movies !

  • Ryan Howe
    Ryan Howe Year ago

    Maybe you could do spoiler talks for deathly hallows part 1 and 2

  • MightyManotaur22
    MightyManotaur22 Year ago

    Best movie, second-best book.

  • Reality Weasel
    Reality Weasel Year ago

    Um are you not gonna talk about the terrible writing, the stilted acting, the maddeningly slow pacing, the washed-out cinematography, and the absolute piece of shit that was the composition of this entire film?

  • Eric Piche
    Eric Piche Year ago

    You are right

  • Talan
    Talan Year ago

    You should review a movie review that you reviewed.

  • Matrix Drift
    Matrix Drift Year ago

    1. Prisoner of Azkaban
    2. Goblet of Fire
    2. Deathly Hallows Part 2 (yes I tied them on purpose)
    4. Deathly Hallows Part 1
    5. Sorcerer's Stone
    6.Chamber of Secrets (these two 5 and 6 are about the same, classic, but lacking)
    7. Order of the Phoenix


    8. Half Blood Prince

  • Corey Garner
    Corey Garner Year ago

    ummm Jeremy? 2009 wants it movie review back... like do we really need a review for a movie everyone has already seen and is over 7 years old?

  • Tori Volz
    Tori Volz Year ago

    I think I'm the only one who really liked this movie even though not much stuff happened I thought it was enjoyable

  • AJsBookLife
    AJsBookLife Year ago

    The Half Blood Prince was my favorite book too! and also not my favorite movie but I still really like it. :)

  • InoMercy
    InoMercy Year ago

    Half-blood Prince is to this day the only Harry Potter movie I have yet to see.

  • deigning
    deigning Year ago

    i feel "fuck him" about snape at all hours of the day regardless of what media i am consuming

  • leonardo448
    leonardo448 Year ago

    I felt the same way 2:56

  • Brownebunny
    Brownebunny Year ago

    lol i love how Jeremy says "FUUUUUUCK HIM!" while pretend closing the book.

  • Ali Arshad
    Ali Arshad Year ago

    1. Deathly Hallows Part 2
    2. Prisoner of Azkaban
    3. Philosophers Stone
    4. Chamber of Secrets
    5. Goblet of Fire
    6. Half Blood Prince
    7. Order of Phoenix
    8. Deathly Hallows Part 1

  • Batfreak11
    Batfreak11 Year ago

    Can some make a GIF of Jeremy saying "Fuuuuck Him!" Lol

  • F P
    F P Year ago

    There should have been 11 HP movies, all the books after Azkaban should have been split into 2 movies, considering the amount of stuff that was cut.

  • Benjamin Foster
    Benjamin Foster Year ago

    Hey Jeremy! Can we get a list of your all time top ten favorite movies? Think it would be fun!

  • MOVIE Master Vevo

    I disagree

  • Kevin McNamara
    Kevin McNamara Year ago

    Please do deathly hallows

  • John von Shepard
    John von Shepard Year ago

    REMAKE!!!

  • FrogMelodies
    FrogMelodies Year ago

    The scene where McGonagall raises up her wand silently and everybody else starts following her lead so they'd destroy that bitch ass dark mark in the sky gets me every time man.

  • Jose A
    Jose A Year ago

    Fitting that he reviewed all the movies up until he leaves the school

  • Toby Sweetman
    Toby Sweetman Year ago

    Jeremy, you need to re-review Firefly!

  • Rebecca Dittman
    Rebecca Dittman Year ago

    Someone further down is like Jeremy I need to know your a GRYFFINDOR!! Um... Am I the on,y one here that thinks he is Ravenclaw? I mean the guy IS a nerd from Harry potter to star wars knows his who is who... And he loves picking movies apart like puzzles and

  • Rejuvenating Rhythms

    So.. just a question
    Why does snape kill dumbledor?

  • Vince Maslowski
    Vince Maslowski Year ago +3

    Harry's shotgun spell on Malfoy was pretty great.

  • Kal El
    Kal El Year ago

    "He belongs to the Dark Lord!" - Severus Snape after killing Dumbledore.
    What would be the point of revealing Harry to the Deatheaters if he never planned to act on it any way?

  • CapnSavvy
    CapnSavvy Year ago

    Well... I really enjoyed making potions in the Half Blood Prince game on ps2.
    And making random objects levitate so I could whack random students in the head.
    And I even enjoyed the quiditch sections of the game.
    Movie was just ok for me. I honestly enjoyed the game more. :O

  • Richie Spur
    Richie Spur Year ago

    You explained exactly my frustrations with this movie.

  • Luis Marzan
    Luis Marzan Year ago

    Should definitely do Deathly Hallows part 1 and 2 Jeremy

  • Remi Carl
    Remi Carl Year ago

    5:14 Every betrayal reaction