12 Angry Men - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 4 299

  • peaou
    peaou 14 hours ago

    nice review! you've could also mention, that it was originally a tv-play

  • Charlie Cho
    Charlie Cho 4 days ago

    hey chris stuckmann. this movie was so great! thank you for giving us such great movies. One of the best movies I've ever seen! It's about how personal preferance can get in the way of Truth! Continue bro. please. I saw every a+ movies you shown us, (only 3 I didn't see). Keep finding us better movies!!!

  • khoi le
    khoi le 5 days ago

    I actually don't like the ending. They could've left juror 8 and 9's names unknown, and i honestly think it would've much better that way.

  • rani Girod
    rani Girod 7 days ago

    I have been wanting to watch your video on this film but I had not seen the movie yet. I just got done seeing it with my parents and now I got to watch your review on this amazing film. A masterpiece indeed!

  • Swarm509
    Swarm509 9 days ago

    This is one movie I would love to see in a packed theater, just for the atmosphere of dozens of people silently riveted to their seats. Every time I watch this with someone who has not seen it they are at the edges of their seat throughout.

  • Zelda Williams
    Zelda Williams 9 days ago

    great pick to review this is one of my favorite films or @ least in the top 10! 👍☺

  • Peterson St. Louis
    Peterson St. Louis 10 days ago

    "You bunch of lousy bleeding hearts"

  • Andrew TheSavage
    Andrew TheSavage 10 days ago

    Chris can you please review Rebel Without A Cause some day

  • marian
    marian 13 days ago

    I watched the movie around the same age and it did affect my view on apathy and humanity

  • royandescartes
    royandescartes 15 days ago

    should have been called "12 angry WHITE men"

  • Tavifa Cojocari
    Tavifa Cojocari 16 days ago

    Thank you for working hard on sharing with us your opinion on so many movies! Today I saw your videos for the first time, simply amazing!!!

  • I'm not AbortionFag. I'm TheNabOwnzz part II

    MY FAVOURITE MOVIE!!!!!!!

  • I'm not AbortionFag. I'm TheNabOwnzz part II

    MY FAVOURITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!!

  • JaxtheRox
    JaxtheRox 22 days ago

    I watched this movie with my class in social studies to learn more about the law and court system and I loved it. The next week I told my teacher I watched it again over the weekend and she gave me extra credit ;)

  • lost flashforward
    lost flashforward 22 days ago

    12angry man and rear window is good start for see old movies

  • John Stanly
    John Stanly 24 days ago

    I watched this movie for the first time my sophomore year in high school since we had to analyze the play in my English class. I was amazed in how all of my classmates were bored out of their mind, but I thought the movie was phenomenal. After school I borrowed 15 dollars from my dad and I went to target and bought the movie, since I didn't want to wait till the next day to finish the film.

  • Jonathan Yogev
    Jonathan Yogev 25 days ago

    Chris, I never write comments on TVclip... But, buddy, I just watched it thanks to you and it's one of the best. Thank you.

  • Jim Fitzsimons
    Jim Fitzsimons 25 days ago

    One tiny quibble: Sidney Lumet is pronounced loo-met, not loo-may. Otherwise, Chris is spot on. This is an excellent movie.

  • Mike Schleiff
    Mike Schleiff 26 days ago

    just want to say i usually hate .... hate watching personal reviews of movies but somehow once i found ur channel it’s a good sign a relief that i actually found someone with a good taste and explains their thoughts .. during work when i’m not busy dealing with a domestic or worry about the next awful call i have to go on... watching ur reviews helps me get through shifts not going to lie . keep up the good work and i’m not looking for a shout out or anything just wanted to let u know that. i can go on youtube and watch someone’s thoughts on great movies and not want to toss my phone out of my cruiser so thank you chris

  • 21 GoatsOnABoat123
    21 GoatsOnABoat123 27 days ago

    I really want to watch this movie but I can’t find a way to buy it

  • Kylan Riley
    Kylan Riley 27 days ago

    I love that 12 Angry Men is right behind his right shoulder on the Nintendo.

  • TaurineMovie17
    TaurineMovie17 Month ago

    can you do a review of to kill a mockingbird

  • Eric Preister
    Eric Preister Month ago

    I could not agree more with Chris' review. We read this screen play in high school for an English class and watched the movie. I have watched it several times since then. Watched it last night with my 15 year old son and he was probably more engrossed in this film than any Marvel movie. Love it!

  • Theo Lamp
    Theo Lamp Month ago

    This film had the best character actors of the era. Great actors, a great director, and a great script. That = an undeniable great film. Never ever ignore B&W films. Many of them remain as the greatest films of all time. Another Henry Fonda film I would suggest is Fail Safe.

  • CtrlFreak85
    CtrlFreak85 Month ago

    Absolutely Love this movie. I first saw it in school as a kid in '97. Of course at the time I had no idea who any of the actors were, regardless, I was amazed by everyone's excellent work and the movie overall.
    This is probably my favorite, if not top 3 for sure.
    Good review I agree with all your points.
    One thing I'd like to add, especially if one watches at a young age, is how you might relate or at least understand the different characters as you grow older. Adding to that timeless feel, as you mentioned. Again just Excellent. Highly recommend.

  • The Domanation
    The Domanation Month ago

    Saw this for the first time this year in my English class and I thought it was great.

  • G Q P
    G Q P Month ago

    I cannot agree more, this movie is perfect, probably the best movie I’ve ever seen, if I’m being completely honest, but I have much more to see of course. Probably my favorite part about this movie, as you already pointed out, is how it stays in one place. Films these days just don’t do that, they jump all over the place and make the movie much less believable and lowers the tension. This film honestly doesn’t even feel like you’re watching a movie when you watch it, it’s so immersive and mesmerizing, in large part due to the fact it stays in one place, which makes the realism and tension so remarkable. I actually first saw this in my English class in 10th grade, so glad my teacher showed us this instead of the other propagandized crap they show us all the time, I cannot thank my teacher enough, I doubt I would’ve stumbled across this movie on my own in the near future. I love this movie and I recommend it to literally anyone, this movie is absolutely outstanding.

  • carolryann
    carolryann Month ago

    I saw this movie about fifteen years ago, I LOVED it then, I still love it. You're right, it is perfect.

  • William Hess
    William Hess Month ago

    Chris, if you hadn’t reviewed this, I never would’ve known about it. I love many old films and normally I’m the retro guy in films amongst my friends, but somehow I had never watched this classic. Always was interested, never watched it. Your review reminded me about the movie and I watched it tonight.
    Thank you so much for doing this series on older movies. It pleases me to see these older films getting love and helping me experience some new ones.
    This movie was amazing. Thank you Chris!

  • Satisek
    Satisek Month ago

    I know Fonda is supposed to be the main star in this movie, but when it comes lo actin, Lee stole his show, his acting was one step in the realms of gods.

  • Steve Knarr
    Steve Knarr Month ago

    This is one of the all time best films. Story and dialogue driven, and both are top notch. The cast is incredible. I agree 100%... this film is perfect in every way.

  • WutangBizkit
    WutangBizkit Month ago

    Love ur videos but ur laugh is so unsettling nd odd

  • educostanzo
    educostanzo Month ago

    This movie is mesmerizing! I remember a friend who always recommended me films that were well, not to my taste at all, and one day he came up with this one on dvd and I thought, oh well, must be an old cliche jury story, then 5 minutes in I was completely enthralled by the camera work and character dynamics. This is a very powerful and moving story, that stays with you days after you watch it. Acting and cinematography is just superb. It is really that good, a flawless piece of cinema.

  • Gabe Loar
    Gabe Loar Month ago

    Do and then they were none (The older version)

  • whade62000
    whade62000 Month ago

    It's an OK movie but it's more of a thought experiment or a tutorial on rhetorics and due process than a movie. The characters are all cardboard cut.outs exemplifying attitudes/types in court. None of them are real personages. And that's okay; if your goal is education and not storytelling, I think it's certainly nobler and more useful. The plot is painfully fake and artificial but it's a demonstration that can help young people understand how justice and convincing works. I'm just not sure if I should call this a movie or a tutorial/educational video.

  • Andre Alonso
    Andre Alonso Month ago

    This is the best movie ever. I just spent 2h of my life using boxxy software and I want more good movies, it's great that with boxxy everything you want you can watch

  • user_name_is_unavailable

    The first time I watched this movie was in class in like grade 5 after reading the play.
    So I feel like that kind of ruined it for me. Because I had to be filling out a work sheet as I was watching it so I couldn't really get that into it. And things like the fact they don't mention their names and the more poignant pieces of dialogue weren't as powerful because I had already seen those things.
    Which is really a shame because it is a very well made movie.

  • TheKingIsFUN - Channel

    Do cool hand luke

  • Tanner Productions
    Tanner Productions Month ago

    Just watched this film recently and I have to say I agree with you, it is a masterpiece. Such a well written, well directed film about human nature.

  • LeadCounsel
    LeadCounsel Month ago

    Agreed. As a lawyer, great film. I always hope the jury is really doing this level of consideration. But probably not reality, unfortunately.

  • LagrangePoint
    LagrangePoint Month ago

    I stoped the review a couple minutes in and watched it. Wonderful film.

  • Observer Link
    Observer Link Month ago

    Young man, you did an excellent, EXCELLENT review of a truly astounding film; I congratulate you on such a fine job! I first learned of this film back in the early 1980s from one of my professors when I was in college. In the mid-1980s when this film was released on VHS, I rented it and I was absolutely galvanized by it! You're SO right; this film, with very few exceptions, is remarkably undated! I've been summoned to jury duty three times in my life so far, and I ALWAYS think of this film. Another great Lumet film, from about six years later, is Fail-Safe; I'd love to see your review of that.

  • Sam Groll
    Sam Groll 2 months ago

    And we get to see Piglet on jury duty. 😊

  • Eran Amara
    Eran Amara 2 months ago

    I just watched it because of your recommendation and because I'm going through the IMDB Top 25 movie list! :) Thanks Chris! This movie is amazing! It really is a masterpiece! I've only seen very few B&W movies (I'm easily discouraged to watch one when I find out that it's in B&W), but I trusted your recommendation and man am I glad I did! Thanks again. Keep this up! I also watched The Good The Bad and The Ugly yesterday, also because of your recommendation. Loved that too! So many great classics that I haven't seen...! The Shining is next :) Please keep up this series!

  • PA
    PA 2 months ago

    One of the best. It is worthy also watch, Dersu Uzala directed by Akira Kurosava.

  • Michael Galle
    Michael Galle 2 months ago

    Wow - 12 Angry Men is a favorite - I am a fan of many, many pre-1970s movies. So; would you consider a movie review of A Thousand Clowns (1965) with Jason Robards, Barbara Harris, Martin Balsam? Or maybe, Bad Day at Back Rock (1955) with Spencer Tracy, Robert Ryan, Anne Francis? Or The Oxbow Incident (1943) with Henry Fonda, Dana Andres, Mary Beth Hughes.
    Please; don't review Casablanca if at all possible ... not because I don't like it; I love it - it has all the reviews it needs; nothing more can be added. However, you could even do a review on Stagecoach (1939) with john Wayne, Claire Trevor, Andy Devine, then there's ... okay; okay. I'm stopping now. LOL Have a nice day.
    Um; Seven Samurai (Shichinin no samurai - 1954) Toshirô Mifune; Takashi Shimura; Keiko Tsushima ????? please ...

  • Hans Vriend
    Hans Vriend 2 months ago

    I really enjoyed this film!

  • befilmt
    befilmt 2 months ago

    finally saw it yesternight.
    it is so magnificent!

  • JMac92430
    JMac92430 2 months ago

    Just watched it for the first time. I never really give old black and white movies like this a chance, but I'm glad I did. This movie is absolutely phenomenal. It's an hour and a half, but it's so intriguing and full that I was surprised it was on and hour and a half

  • larky368
    larky368 2 months ago

    Unfortunately most young people can't get over it being black and white no matter how good it is. It would be like me trying to listen to my favorite music using a dollar store earphone. The quality is vastly diminished by my playback source and that's how they would view a masterpiece filmed intentionally in that medium. Their reasoning is that if only they'd used color or even colorized it for modern viewers it would have merit.

  • Cuddles287
    Cuddles287 2 months ago

    Finally watched it today!

  • bill burke
    bill burke 2 months ago

    I have always loved this movie (Even with some legal issues) But I heard that it was not profitable and pulled from the theaters after a week, hard to believe. But I will always consider this one of the best.

  • PhantHam
    PhantHam 2 months ago

    Im watching this in history and its was amazing. Had me on the edge of my seat

  • HEYDuDE607
    HEYDuDE607 2 months ago

    Review Rope

  • Al Mubarak
    Al Mubarak 2 months ago

    is That Rocket Racoon on his right arm ?

  • Kalle Strand
    Kalle Strand 2 months ago

    Hello Chris. Just saw this film tonight for the first time and despite the "hype" from you and from recomendations from friends i was blown away by this film! So great and those points you bring up about tension and shots... (oh the opening something 8-minute shot)
    Amazing! Keep up the good work :)
    Greetings from Sweden.

  • Pratham Kumar
    Pratham Kumar 2 months ago

    For me Shawshank redemption is perfect... actually its more than perfect.

  • DougRayPhillips
    DougRayPhillips 2 months ago

    You could do a Sidney Lumet series. Including "Running on Empty."

  • MDM
    MDM 2 months ago

    Great movie. No color, no CGI, no guns or car chases. Just great actors bringing the story to life.

  • *internally screaming*
    *internally screaming* 2 months ago +3

    I just watched the movie, right after your review. I'm only 14 years old, and this film blowed me away. I was so intrigued with the story, the characters, the dialouge. I inspire to be a future writer/director so lately I watched many, many movies(Psycho, Shawshank, American Psycho, The Green Mile, Fight Club, 2001 and many more) but this one really stand out. The writing of this movie is pretty much flawless.
    So thank you, Chris for recommending this movie, becouse I would have never seen it otherwise.
    I'm actually thinking about watching Citizen Cane or Casablanca next, so I would love a review of those two.
    (Edit: Sorry for my bad english.)

    • Robert Wallen
      Robert Wallen 7 days ago

      *internally screaming* Your a Person Of Great Culture

  • ieuan hurford
    ieuan hurford 2 months ago

    I thought the guy in the thumbnail was Willem Dafoe 😂

  • Christian Dusina
    Christian Dusina 2 months ago +1

    Hey Chris stuckman are you doing the deer hunter review soon because it’s one of my favourite Vietnam war movies of all time and thanks for the great videos and you have my one inspirations to keep on being the actor writer and director

  • Helgamond Ratbone
    Helgamond Ratbone 2 months ago

    Great vid. Great movie.

  • Nate Emond
    Nate Emond 2 months ago

    My Dad sat me down and made me watch this as a kid and it opened my eyes to the idea of shades of grey in life.

  • LB2007
    LB2007 2 months ago

    I think the T in "Lumet" is not silent

  • Trevor Burt
    Trevor Burt 2 months ago

    What do you think of the TV-update, starring Jack Lemon and George C. Scott? I think it is pretty good.

  • Jcesar Neaves
    Jcesar Neaves 2 months ago

    Fuck you bitch

  • Victor del Razo
    Victor del Razo 2 months ago

    Do "Once upon a time in the west"...

  • Sally Bollen
    Sally Bollen 2 months ago

    100% agree, Chris. My folks were very good at showing me the classics, so I first saw this film when I was fairly young, and it has been a favorite since. Pure drama, pure art. Flawless characterization through dialogue. I love this movie and it was awesome to hear your thoughts on it.

  • sanzo21
    sanzo21 2 months ago

    Thanks to Chris, I was able to watch this amazing movie. It's sad to see that nowadays most movies rely so much on fancy effects and flashy explosions. This movie is literally 90 minutes of talking, and I wasn't bored a single moment. Amazing

  • Jakub Fabisiak
    Jakub Fabisiak 2 months ago

    one thing you forgot to mention - as the film progresses, the shots get narrower and narrower, increasing the feeling of claustrophobia.
    Truly one of my all time favourites, right up there with The Big Sleep, Casablanca, Alien, both Blade Runners, Once Upon a Time in the West, and a few others.

  • Oceanic fan 427
    Oceanic fan 427 2 months ago

    I first saw this in 7th grade.. seems so long ago...

  • Renzo
    Renzo 2 months ago

    Great review of a truly great film.
    By Sidney Lumet...Loo-MET.
    The reviewer tells too much!

  • Glenn J
    Glenn J 2 months ago

    Another Sidney Lumet perfect film is, in my opinion, "Dog Day Afternoon." Interestingly enough, both have enseble casts and are supposed to be occurring on a very hot, stifling day.

  • Maran Nebbeling
    Maran Nebbeling 2 months ago

    I think a lot of people missed this while watching the film, so I'm going to say it: when they get the architectural plans and confirm that it would've taken more than half a minute, you get this great scene with ''I'll kill him, I'll kill him!". Afterwards, after ALMOST A MINUTE the guy comes in the room asking if everything is alright, literally CONFIRMING that it would've taken the old man way more than 15 seconds. This was the intention of him coming into the room. And they use that very moment as well to then close that part of the evidence by handing him over the very same map that proved their case.
    I also loved the fact that henry fonda wore a bright white suit, and Lee J Cobb the blackest suit of them all. So that when henry puts the coat on Lee, you'll get this conclusion where ''good and evil'' can see eye to eye after all.

  • amstel 54
    amstel 54 2 months ago

    This movie is filled with Twilight Zone alums. That's all it took to get my butt watching it..

  • Pokemon115
    Pokemon115 2 months ago

    they do state the first names of juror's 8 and 9 at the end

  • Sheep pez
    Sheep pez 2 months ago

    This is the first review channel that I've seen that uses a letter grade instead of a number grade.

  • mrmomo26
    mrmomo26 2 months ago

    Just watched this movie! Was absolutely blown away

  • Keyan Taheri
    Keyan Taheri 2 months ago

    remake this film in 3d

  • TurkishChubs
    TurkishChubs 3 months ago

    Stalag 17

  • Bob Smithers
    Bob Smithers 3 months ago

    I've watched black and white sherlock holmes tv episodes and ive seen black and white movies like flash gordons trip to mars and I've seen the twilight zone tv show

  • Willie Dynamite
    Willie Dynamite 3 months ago

    An amazing film. The film is the template of any jury film. One of my English teachers had us read the script when I was in high school. The script does not get the credit it deserves.

  • Unwritten Zephyr
    Unwritten Zephyr 3 months ago

    So I actually watched this movie in my English class the other day.
    I love my English Class, but no one really cares about the movies our teacher shows (Other than me, but I’m a huge film nerd), but with this film, no one spoke a word. Not a peep. The only thing anyone said was a loud gasp whenever they had a break through in the case. (The glasses thing especially.)
    Truly a testament that something so simple can be so powerful.

  • Hope Von Gremp
    Hope Von Gremp 3 months ago

    I watched this movie in my 10th grade business law class and I’m so glad we did

  • Jaycbee024
    Jaycbee024 3 months ago

    Another Classic movie that is constantly referenced, or parodied... But at the same time, too few people have watched.
    Good video.

  • Marcel Hisge
    Marcel Hisge 3 months ago

    Thank you so much for bring out the classics. 12 angry men is also my favourite movie and you say all the things i think about this film! Please, don‘t stop talk about older films!

  • Caleb Waller
    Caleb Waller 3 months ago

    Just saw this movie in school today

  • Rick Canty
    Rick Canty 3 months ago +1

    I don't know what anyone finds special about this movie. It's boring and not well acted.

  • Kay Anders
    Kay Anders 3 months ago

    I just saw it, thanks to your review Chris. Sooo good!! I absolutely loved everything about this movie; the attention to details, the characters dichotomy, the smart dialogues... And the fact that it's in black and white just add to the film, to the atmosphere. A real classic that I thoroughly enjoyed!

  • Abzekh01
    Abzekh01 3 months ago

    Review On the Waterfront please.

  • ChitteringFiend
    ChitteringFiend 3 months ago

    Saw this my sophomore year of high school. Totally agree that this movie is absolutely amazing.

  • Canon Wright
    Canon Wright 3 months ago

    Ok movie, but too bad the kid was guilty. A better movie by far is 'My Cousin Vinny'. And it has a pretty woman in it too. 12 Angry Men gets a D- from me.

  • Charanjeet Singh
    Charanjeet Singh 3 months ago

    One of my favorite.

  • verisimilidude1
    verisimilidude1 3 months ago

    Sidney Loo-MET...

  • Critiqu3
    Critiqu3 3 months ago

    Some context: when he says "do you really mean it?" After the guy threatens to kill Fonda's character, he's refrencing an earlier scenes when the jurers discuss evidence that the boy was heard saying "I'll kill you!" before the crime. There's a lot of discussion on whether or not the statement can be used as evidence of intent or of it's a common exclamation with no intent.
    I love this movie so much. Glad to see it getting the attention it deserves.the stage play it comes from is also excellent if you ever get the chance to catch a performance.

  • Mandy J
    Mandy J 3 months ago

    I watched it a couple of years ago. It really was a terrific film. I’m a person who struggles to focus, but this film had my attention from beginning to end. I really should watch it again.

  • lvacqua
    lvacqua 3 months ago

    When I try to have people watch this, they complain that it's boring. Any idea how to introduce it or contextualize it so that someone will spend the time to watch it closely?
    What made it so compelling to me was the way it shows the process of rhetoric and debate, engagement with facts and confrontation of individual bias and motivations. And that's before you consider the filmmaking itself and the brilliance of how directorial choices contribute seamlessly to the narrative. It's difficult to bring this one out to show others because almost universally, they don't 'get' why I think it's so perfect.

  • Adam Rab
    Adam Rab 3 months ago

    I saw this when I was 12.

  • al3rgen
    al3rgen 3 months ago

    I don't get it, you know, you realise there is big chance that many of your viewers haven't seen the movie, plus you try to convince them to see it, to even be the first black and white movie they see (if they didn't see any before) AND THEN - you spoil it, WHY? Why there are spoilers in your review?