Google Pixel 4 and 4 XL review: the best Android experience

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 21, 2019
  • The Pixel 4 has at least five major new hardware-based features: face unlock, Motion Sense, the new Google Assistant, the new 90Hz display, and a second telephoto camera lens. It’s also available on all four major US carriers for the first time. The price starts at $799. Here’s The Verge review of the Pixel 4 with Dieter Bohn.
    Read more: bit.ly/2JdHiST
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Why'd You Push That Button Podcast: pod.link/1295289748
    The Vergecast Podcast: pod.link/430333725
    More about our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TVclip, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 357

  • Lance Schall
    Lance Schall 14 hours ago

    Love this review super good video and quality

  • Arthvr Schwartz
    Arthvr Schwartz Day ago

    I love my Google Pixel 3XL and still think it's a superior phone. Having a hard time wanting to upgrade to the Pixel 4XL is anyone else feel this way? I love the fingerprint reader on the back. The way your hand holds the phone, your finger just hits it so naturally. I love the notch on the Pixel 3 XL and if you don't want it change the settings. Performance is still great till this day on my Pixel 3XL. I want to upgrade but the phone is still such a great phone! I still get compliments on how good of photos my Pixel 3XL takes.

  • pyrosdestiny
    pyrosdestiny 2 days ago

    Samsung has the best Android skin. I said it! The best!

  • Tringlobe Media
    Tringlobe Media 2 days ago

    Too much bezel

  • A7llaman
    A7llaman 7 days ago

    Best phone ever

  • Theo Lindsay
    Theo Lindsay 10 days ago

    why is every pixel 4 review video just comparing that and the 11

  • Cameron
    Cameron 10 days ago

    I was looking through the comments before watching the video & saw a lot of people quoting "Only sleep around people you trust." This video seems long so I just skipped to 3:09 and thats when he said it.

  • brandon dixon
    brandon dixon 13 days ago

    So many excuses 😅

  • Lightning Bolt
    Lightning Bolt 13 days ago

    I can get this for £599 you reckon it's worth it? iPhone 11 is £699 so any thoughts?

  • Olivia Dickey
    Olivia Dickey 14 days ago

    Been thinking seriously about getting a new phone, I currently have the Samsung s8+ and I've been considering this one. Can the pixel 4 be used on straighttalk??

  • DrHouse2004
    DrHouse2004 15 days ago

    No built quality

  • Vyanktesh Kanungo
    Vyanktesh Kanungo 15 days ago

    Shot from g’s pocket get it?

  • Cinco Sound
    Cinco Sound 16 days ago

    Wow unbelievable that as a GSuite user I still can't set reminders on my Pixel phone with the assistant.

  • Daniel Waun
    Daniel Waun 16 days ago

    I watched this review first, and loads more since, and now watching this one again, it's by far the best Pixel 4 review I've seen.

  • happy
    happy 17 days ago

    I'm still using the Pixel 2 XL, which has a forehead, and I don't mind, so the 4 XL looks fine to me.

  • Mark Kendall
    Mark Kendall 18 days ago

    Disagree I think the Samsung S10 and note10 take better images than both of these phones

  • Edward Bello
    Edward Bello 18 days ago

    What Pokemon app is that at screen?

  • Ni Tian
    Ni Tian 18 days ago

    You activated my hey google. Unsubscribing and reporting you. 😔

  • Nathan Knauss
    Nathan Knauss 18 days ago

    And since you're getting a Google manufactured phone, you also get very minimum bloat wear or non at all

  • Igor Bujanović
    Igor Bujanović 19 days ago

    A month with Pixel 4 XL, motion sensor works perfect. Do not move your hand hysterically over the phone, calm down, it works great ;-)

  • JPT
    JPT 19 days ago

    my only problem with this phone is the battery and the storage since they remove the unlimited google photo storage.
    if it had like 4500-5000mah, it would've been the best.

  • Kenny Phelps
    Kenny Phelps 20 days ago

    Then there’s the note10 and 1+ 7t pro as well

  • capricorndavid
    capricorndavid 21 day ago

    Best phone review I have seen so far 👍

  • Adrian G
    Adrian G 21 day ago

    What a great review! My first time watching your review and you got everything on point. I had the Pixel 2 XL for almost 2 years now and it was one of the best phones when it came out. I got to say that this phone is worth it if they do drop the price. I got the 4 XL with a pretty good discount and it's worth the price. If Google started the Pixel 4 price lower, it wouldn't be as reviewed negatively by reviewers.

  • Anachronos Anachronos
    Anachronos Anachronos 22 days ago

    To put a phone in the case? Really???? My phone dont have case and is work perfect under water and is shockproof. And most interesting is the price, it cost 105$. And you try to tell me that 1000$ phone need case because when you drop it on the ground and his life gone but 100$ phone dont need because is made it to survive. Why you make 1000$ phone and didnt make it to survite droping and water? Is that normal?

  • David Martrano
    David Martrano 26 days ago

    The reviews are so bad on both pixals I'm buying the 128gb XL anyway. The design is boring but I for one like it. The camera will still be a wonderful experience. The soli-radar is a gimmick but will get better? I will wait for black friday & save a few $$. I don't care what the reviewers say, I'll judge it for myself. Maybe it should have 8gb's & 128gb's of base storage. I don't think the 6gb's of ram will be a problem with performance!

    • Herofromthe90z
      Herofromthe90z 25 days ago

      Personal the looks amazing in person and I love my phone so far 🤷🏾‍♂️

  • Johnny Morris
    Johnny Morris 26 days ago

    Is it smooth when transitioning between screens? I gotta have that smooth buttery experience

  • Johnny Morris
    Johnny Morris 26 days ago

    Pixel 4 had better portrait mode by far...look at 09:19

  • Johnny Morris
    Johnny Morris 26 days ago

    It is true that once you start using face unlock ya get used to it. My stuff works even at night...I never gave it a chance but once I did I've never looked back

  • Chris Vargas
    Chris Vargas 26 days ago

    Where exactly was he shooting @9:48? The place is just beautiful.

  • Daniel Hernandez
    Daniel Hernandez 26 days ago

    Is this phone a better buy over the OnePlus 7 Pro? It'll take a lot of convincing for me to consider the Pixel 4 XL.

  • DanMan!
    DanMan! 27 days ago

    I wish project soli was MORE flakey! It switches songs when I don't want it to all the time lol

  • DanMan!
    DanMan! 27 days ago +1

    If you're worried about face unlock going when you're sleeping, just turn on lockdown before you go to sleep. I dunno why no reviewer has mentioned this

  • Haari N M
    Haari N M 28 days ago +23

    3 reasons why I ordered it :
    1) Fastest Android updates
    2) Camera
    3) It's kinda clean inside
    (My own opinion)

    • Haari N M
      Haari N M 7 days ago

      @Weeb Atron I have a black as well. I bought a 9€ case from Ringke EN Fusion X through Amazon ... Looks perfect now...

    • Weeb Atron
      Weeb Atron 7 days ago +1

      I went boring black on mine but I don't really care

    • Haari N M
      Haari N M 8 days ago

      @Pastel Peach NP mate :)

    • Pastel Peach
      Pastel Peach 8 days ago +1

      @Haari N M thanks I really needed someone's advice! Definitely getting it

    • Haari N M
      Haari N M 8 days ago

      @Pastel Peach I love mine. The pictures are damn awesome. Zoom is way better than iPhone. My 4XL battery lasts for a day! The only drawback is the lack of wide angle camera ...

  • David John
    David John 28 days ago +1

    This review made me buy the phone, and then all the other reviews tore it apart savagely. I still enjoy it. Love the face unlock and the telephoto. Best software on any phone.

    • Johnny Morris
      Johnny Morris 26 days ago

      Is it really smooth with no dropped frames? For me it's either this or galaxy

  • Brad Dunshee
    Brad Dunshee 29 days ago

    Thank you for this. Very informative.

  • Mike L
    Mike L 29 days ago

    Here's the part they left out. On the worst hardware for the price.

  • Shiva Narayan
    Shiva Narayan 29 days ago

    So now someone can unlock ur phone while u sleep and also make payments while you sleep
    Wow google way to go

  • TN Gentleman
    TN Gentleman Month ago

    I think the phone colour was edited to look more pink

  • Harshal shetty
    Harshal shetty Month ago

    Google shill

  • TheFourthWinchester
    TheFourthWinchester Month ago +1

    Google is the King of phone photography.

  • roman2011
    roman2011 Month ago

    wow...nice vid. great review

  • Erik Feketefoldi
    Erik Feketefoldi Month ago

    I was about to NOT buy the Pixel after having every iteration of it... Now I'm having second thoughts.

  • Dual ADV
    Dual ADV Month ago

    Tested the astrophotography last night and it's unbelievable

  • Kevin Bryant Sr.
    Kevin Bryant Sr. Month ago

    I have trouble taking the Verge seriously..... I still watch though

  • JV Detmer
    JV Detmer Month ago

    I don-t care about video, c'mon Google, just do something with the battery and you'll have the perfect phone! at least for me!

  • Tarek jamil
    Tarek jamil Month ago

    Again again and say about this phone camera no other side in pone has chepsate parformance in gameing,battery life time,Display quality and other side

  • Epic Rabid
    Epic Rabid Month ago

    It is soooo bad!

  • Chucki McGinn420
    Chucki McGinn420 Month ago

    uh it's Google NO THANKS

  • shottingham
    shottingham Month ago

    But why did I choose to upgrade from my S8 to a P4XL? Because Android. To say the VERY least.
    Edit: Thank you for a frank, balanced and fair comparison.

  • silver andrew
    silver andrew Month ago

    If face unlock a problem use a pin when you turn off the phone got to use a pin anyway

  • Lorenzo Rey
    Lorenzo Rey Month ago

    Paid review by Google

  • Moritz Spohn
    Moritz Spohn Month ago

    This review is just amazing! Great Video with incredible quality :)

  • Dean Oldfield
    Dean Oldfield Month ago

    I have loved every pixel I've ever had. I like not having bloatware that I don't want, pixel only comes with Google products. The phone is made to work with these apps and it does it well.

  • Dan Green
    Dan Green Month ago +1

    Great review. First one I've watched that wasn't so negative.

  • Christian B.
    Christian B. Month ago

    Uff ill just wait another year

    Again

  • Emmanuel oShaddai
    Emmanuel oShaddai Month ago

    This video should be titled "Good life advice while reviewing the Pixel 4".

  • Istochnik Vladimir
    Istochnik Vladimir Month ago

    Hey everyone! I'm a pixel fun. Have every XL version. Everytime was unlucky with the screen - burns a lot. Software is great and camera blew me away, BUT: 11 PRO has much bigger battery and screen is not so dim...with even a little bit worse camera but with wide lense and better video...I really don't know which one to buy. Thank you for all responses. Price is not a concern

  • Quentin COSSON
    Quentin COSSON Month ago

    Didn't see those 17min pass

  • Project ElectricEye

    I feel sick after listening to this...🤮