IT - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 6, 2017
  • Stephen King's IT gets a big screen adaptation! Is it the version we've all been waiting for? Is it better than the 90s mini series? Here's my review for IT!
    See more videos by Jeremy here: tvclip.biz/user/JeremyJahns
    Follow Jeremy on Twitter: twitter.com/JeremyJahns
    Friend Jeremy on Facebook: facebook.com/RealJeremyJahns
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 4 009

  • Kunisake The Artist
    Kunisake The Artist 7 days ago

    I love these kids so much. And I am so Ben
    9/10; it's awesome

  • Teeve 900
    Teeve 900 9 days ago +1

    Who’s here after the chapter 2 trailer

  • GL Customs
    GL Customs 11 days ago +13

    IT: We have 7 characters to juggle and not everyone has their moment.
    Avengers Endgame: Hold my beer, and Infinity Stones

  • manhammer AR15
    manhammer AR15 Month ago +1

    This movie was horrendous

  • Alexis Aldama
    Alexis Aldama Month ago

    watch it by Stephen king's the first one

  • Allixar Allixar
    Allixar Allixar Month ago

    new one!!

  • Chase Coyer
    Chase Coyer Month ago

    This film was dog shit

  • Pohjanakka
    Pohjanakka 2 months ago

    Bit of a spoiler here, but I'd assume most do know that particular spoiler by now anyway.


    One thing that worked for me well with this movie: I like horror, but I also like happy endings, in the sense that the story has main characters I like AND they both survive - at least most of them - and win in the end. And those horror stories have been rather scarce for a long time. Either there is only one or few survivors but the monster is shown to survive (and then it's highly likely they get it, or most of them anyway, in the sequel when there is a sequel, which also will end in the same way, a survivor or few but the monster survives too and the human characters will probably not survive the next sequel, if there is one, which will then again have a different new character standing in the end), or everybody dies or the ending is such that you know they most likely will soon after the ending.
    And maybe I'm not the only ones who likes those "good guys win" endings in horror, which perhaps contributed somewhat to the good enough commercial success of this movie. I am not going to debate about the possible merits or demerits of those endings, just saying that as somebody who likes them I have felt quite under serviced for decades, and will happily pay for any movie, as long as at least halfway decent otherwise, which is willing to give me that.
    And yep, I knew the story beforehand from the novel and the old miniseries, and assumed the ending had not been changed in any radical way, considering (the now inevitable sequel...).

  • Veyvovv Sapkota
    Veyvovv Sapkota 3 months ago +1

    Fat guy will grow up to be Jack Black?

  • Ingvild Kvakestad
    Ingvild Kvakestad 4 months ago

    I gave it 9/10 also the skewy eyes was Skarsgård

  • Evan Ferguson
    Evan Ferguson 4 months ago

    Just saw IT. January 7th, 2019. Amazing.

  • Know What I'm Saying
    Know What I'm Saying 4 months ago

    Whoever filmed this has never been in a rock fight. You get pegged in the head by any size or type they were throwing you are out like a damn light which I know from experience many times over. Then you have Ben all of 12 years old slashed like hell and, barely anybody mentions it or even tries to patch him up a second time when the gashes from IT look like they need 200 stitches. Seriously his whole half stomach looked like Freddy did it. I'm 12 shrug. ICBS ( I call bullshit ) on half this thing. The Movie " tries " to do. The old one had great music, suspense, John Ritter, A Walton I mean who could ask for more? I had to get this off my chest. I was looking for nightmare fodder again like back in the day. IT just sucked.

  • GrayNeko
    GrayNeko 4 months ago

    I gave this movie the coldest of cold shoudlers when it came out. I had reasons. Valid reasons. Stephen King novels never really make good movies. They'll probably screw up the story in any number of arbitrary ways. Do I really wanna spend and hour and however with a bunch of snotty kids? Etc, etc.
    Finally, found it on my HBO feed on Amazon Prime tonight, said, 'I've seen the movie everyone else wants to watch to death, why not?'
    I am so, so happy to have been proven absolutely dead-wrong. This movie was really, really good. They got it right. They got the kids right. They got the dialogue right. They got the atmosphere right. Best Stephen King translation into a film to date, IMHO. Looking forward to getting to know this movie better over the years.
    First The Haunting of Hill House, which I also had abysmal expectations for, now this. Being wrong can be glorious!

  • The Seeker
    The Seeker 5 months ago

    Please say you read the novel I would totally sit through a 4 hour version, and love it

  • escapeplan4
    escapeplan4 6 months ago

    sometimes it is he

  • Kyle Luke
    Kyle Luke 6 months ago +1

    This movie reminds me alot of stranger things which is why I love it...the characters are what make it good

  • hmmm mmm
    hmmm mmm 7 months ago +1

    *take it*



    NOW......WHY THE FUCK WOULD YOU THAT?

  • Cassy Sullivan
    Cassy Sullivan 7 months ago

    When Pennywise has ITs eyes going in different directions that's not cgi. The actor was able to do that on his own.

  • domotormate
    domotormate 8 months ago

    I liked this movie, but it didn't scare me as much as I hoped.

  • Young Papi
    Young Papi 8 months ago

    Not gon lie, that fat ass kid got on my never just because he was fat

  • Rage Quit
    Rage Quit 8 months ago

    he lives in the swear of course he looks like shit

  • Jaden Heap
    Jaden Heap 8 months ago

    I enjoyed this movie but it really wasn’t scary at all...

  • Mr President
    Mr President 9 months ago

    I saw IT. I give it 10/10

  • Daisy jones
    Daisy jones 9 months ago

    I wish I got to see it in the cinema but I'm only 12 and would be like 10 when it came out so people would be like that's a no
    Also I think I'm Ben out of the kids. Mostly because I'm a nerd who gets bullied for it!
    My favourite has to be either eddie or Richie

  • MyPillowRapedMe
    MyPillowRapedMe 9 months ago

    movie was very shallow compared to the book tbh

  • the Raven King
    the Raven King 9 months ago

    I bought it on blu Ray

  • Cats Rule
    Cats Rule 9 months ago

    The thing with Pennywises eyes isn't fake, Bill skarsgard can actually do that

  • Disco Deaky
    Disco Deaky 9 months ago

    It’s the least scary horror movie I’ve ever seen

  • Pred Dziadek
    Pred Dziadek 9 months ago

    Worst movie I ever watched. The horror itself is to watch this shit and last till the end before killing yourself or someone for filming this crap. Jeez. It's just an unrealistic movie about kids killing a clown in the end. No character dies, just the stupid clown in the end. And it last for over 2 hrs. OMG. First 5 minutes are great. Then it turns into typical crap that made no sense at all. Absolutely Awful.

  • Batman157983
    Batman157983 10 months ago

    Best film of 2017.

  • Paul Ma
    Paul Ma 10 months ago

    After watching the movie, I would never see red balloons the same way lol

  • abhishek rana
    abhishek rana 10 months ago

    People are like this movie sucks cause it's not scary. Well, It ain't about jump scare and shit bruh, it's about the characters too.

  • wholetruthy
    wholetruthy 10 months ago +1

    I don't have reflect on something .....I know if I'm enjoying myself instantly

  • Bashful
    Bashful 10 months ago

    It's true it's like nightmare on elm street, the goonies, and stranger things holy shit

  • PreezyBeatz777 xx
    PreezyBeatz777 xx 11 months ago +2

    This movie proved why King is the King of horror movies. 🙌

  • Kaylee Morris
    Kaylee Morris 11 months ago

    The person who plays Pennywise can make one of his eye go sideways. So thats how he does the eye thing.

  • K. The Artist
    K. The Artist 11 months ago

    I think he makes stuff good. Cleary this kid has talent and I wanna see him in more stuff

  • Eliza Gaskell
    Eliza Gaskell 11 months ago

    It was an okay movie. Sure there were a few scares but it sound suspenseful music and the loud noises when Pennywise made his move, was really getting on my nerves, as well as the character of Bill. All the kid were just standing there in the house screaming when Pennywise came out of the fridge for George, Eddie and ..I think Jack. Sure they were screaming but it's either flight or fight, and in this case I would of found something in the kitchen to throw at the clown or throw at him. Also Bill really was a pain in the but; when his brother Georgie dies and he almost got the rest of them killed in the house, that he wanted to go back for more and ensure Pennywise dies, not caring about this friend's broken arm or the slashed belly of the chubby friend. One redeeming thing is the Bill Skarsgård and this portrayal of Pennywise; the make up team did a really good job.

  • James W
    James W 11 months ago +1

    This movie was shit. No threats or horror, the fucking clown just grabbed kids by the head and scream in their face.

  • Batman
    Batman 11 months ago

    Saw this last night, fucking terrifying and excellently directed

  • Josh
    Josh Year ago +1

    Fun fact; his askew eyes aren't an effect. Bill naturally has individual control over both eyes and can look in different directions

  • Nate DS
    Nate DS Year ago +1

    The best part of this film is that its scary. And I mean scary. Its horifying. And it has a good mix of jump scares and scary images. The jump scares make you jump, but then it keeps going and going as pennywise tries his damndest to kill them.

  • Kylie Rose
    Kylie Rose Year ago +2

    The acting was good and it was pretty similar to the book. However I do think some of the jump scares were cheap. I personally found this movie to be more of a thriller rather than a horror movie. Don’t get me wrong the movie was great it was just not as scary as expected, and I laughed at more scenes then I ever have in a horror movie.

  • Unique Love
    Unique Love Year ago

    No lie I PASSED OUT IN FEAR WATCHING THIS!!! This was so f'n scary!!! 😱😭🙈👎🏾

  • The Artisan
    The Artisan Year ago

    Am I the only one who thought this movie was just... meh?
    Wasn't scary at all. In the slightest regard, especially compared to the 1990 miniseries.
    A fine example of this is the bathroom scene in which Beverly sees the blood but
    her father does not. That scene in particular was done so much worse in this film.
    In the 1990 miniseries the father was looking down in the drain, getting blood all over
    his fingers but he couldn't see it, yet here, it was so subtle and just stupid.
    The film was also not loaded, but OVERLOADED with jump scares.
    They weren't scary at all, and they would consistently lead to smash cuts which were
    then followed by a more contrasted, peaceful scene. That's pretty much the entire plot.
    The movie is shot well. The acting by the kid's is okay, to say the least. Dialogue? Ridiculous.
    I just wasn't impressed. It was even really boring at times.
    The only good thing about this remake in my opinion is Skarsgard's portrayal as Pennywise
    as well as the look of Pennywise, which I think they got right. Other than that though
    I think this remake is getting way too much credit, over hype.
    C+

  • Tom Harris
    Tom Harris Year ago

    The old ones better

  • Stephen Smith
    Stephen Smith Year ago

    I loved this Movie way better than the MiniSeries

  • Anonymous 00
    Anonymous 00 Year ago

    The editing we're fuckin goofy dude

  • Davyd Teather
    Davyd Teather Year ago

    I really enjoyed this movie. Definitely one of the better Stephen King adaptations.

  • Jetto Scranda
    Jetto Scranda Year ago

    It looks like shit! Also the whole movie was shit. Biggest overrated pieco of... I ever saw.

  • Matt Scarpace
    Matt Scarpace Year ago

    Love the way you described Finn as an actor. He definitely makes shit good

  • Dutch Courage
    Dutch Courage Year ago

    "The movie had heart." lolololololol

  • Dutch Courage
    Dutch Courage Year ago

    Minus five stars.

  • Angie McIntyre
    Angie McIntyre Year ago

    Anyone here read the book before movie?

  • Red Tango
    Red Tango Year ago +1

    Just saw it last night. Tim Curry character killed it with his villain charm. This new Pennywise seemed lobotomized or like a nutty squirrel.

  • Toriana Palacki
    Toriana Palacki Year ago

    If you jumped when it was a jump scare, which I did 90% of the time through the movie, then it is a good scary movie. People forget that scary movies should be judged off how SCARY it is, like how freaked out you are when you go to bed alone, and this movie definitely did that to people.

  • Cody Nonnemacher
    Cody Nonnemacher Year ago

    I own it on blu ray and I have the book

  • Tradwife Life
    Tradwife Life Year ago +1

    Pennywise looked awesome but the movie wasn’t as good as per usual with most Stephen King’s movies vs books. Never liked “It” as a book or the older movie. The acting was really good. It did seem like Stranger Things. I liked the lead and I liked each individual character. I agree about the violence towards kids comment. I was surprised. It helped with the depth. I liked Pennywise, he was creepy. I liked the actors. They were great. I felt meh about the resolution and it was a little slow. It seems like there’s always a lot of hype surrounding Steven King movies and I’m always disappointed by them. With the exception of Misery and Pet Cemetary. If you like Steven King books you probably don’t like the movies. The books are always better.

  • Raul Medina
    Raul Medina Year ago

    You’re a talentless hack!!!!!!!

  • Jenna Walkinshaw
    Jenna Walkinshaw Year ago

    As a horror movie enthusiast I was actually disappinted with this movie. All the scares where to cheap to even give me the nostalgia feel, the cgi was terrible in some parts, simple details that just werent taken care of production wise, barely any characters developed, and overall just a boring movie that couldnt get me to feel for any of the characters. Hell the dad was the creepiest part of the movie. Essiently 2 hours of my life I wish I could get back.

  • Michael Watson
    Michael Watson Year ago

    A good film but very disappointed by the lack of dread and tension. I dunno, the kids are going through serious trauma but there was never a point where you felt terrified or worried about them. They all just went about happy, cracking jokes, having fun like any other kid through to the very end. Compare this to the highway scene in "Nocturnal Animals", that is real horror right there. Why didn't I ever feel that kind of tension whenever Pennywise showed up?

  • Thandie
    Thandie Year ago

    IT was sooo bad, Jeremy sometimes you’re spot on but boy were you wrong about this one

  • elisabeth moss
    elisabeth moss Year ago +2

    i thought it was a good movie and enjoyable but not scary at all in my opinion. it relied on jump scares and effects to deliver the “scares”

  • Karoline Equestrian
    Karoline Equestrian Year ago +1

    I liked it, but it was'nt scary at all...

  • andersenkalle
    andersenkalle Year ago

    This movie looks pretty good and the kids are great. But it wasn’t one bit scary. Very few disturbing scenes. The horror parts are pretty much just filled with music that tells the audience how to feel. A bunch of loud noises and typical horror build up. Also, i don’t even understand how Pennywise is considered scary. Looks ridiculous. It’s certainly not a bad movie, it has good things in it (especially the child actors) but when it came to the horror i was really, really bored. Fine film but also highly overrated in my opinion.

  • Kyd Kaide
    Kyd Kaide Year ago

    Why WatchMojo ever deemed Jeremy Jahns the no. 1 asshole of movie critics is beyond me.

  • Jacqueline Waugh
    Jacqueline Waugh Year ago

    I loved the movie

  • Overwatchgotv
    Overwatchgotv Year ago

    Im 11 year old kid just saw this movie because it was one redbox and its terrifying and what he said about your kids cursing up a storm its very true i do all my friends do its very true

  • altruistic gamer
    altruistic gamer Year ago

    Seriously the new it movie made me laugh more then scared me. Penny wise was nothing like the original! For me it was like a nightmare on elm street remake just horrible why remake a movie when they were already great millennials may disagree but oh well

  • Raul Medina
    Raul Medina Year ago +1

    Just shut up! You suck at making movie reviews. This movie was a piece of shit. I hated everything in the movie.

  • Neil Tomlinson
    Neil Tomlinson Year ago

    This movie was absolutely amazing ! Loved it.

  • Lorioyama Emma-o
    Lorioyama Emma-o Year ago

    Was cute.

  • Ohh Yeah Yeah
    Ohh Yeah Yeah Year ago

    Its not scary at all

  • Milk Just Milk
    Milk Just Milk Year ago

    I’ve been a horror fanatic for years, since I was 3. I can say that this movie wasn’t that scary but I did appreciate the disturbing images, the acting was great at the beginning but got iffy nearing the end, the effects and lighting were amazing, and the clown himself was (in my opinion) portrayed much better in this remake than the original. I’d say this is a huge step from the usually cliche bull crap and I can’t wait for IT chapter two.

  • Mark Marquez
    Mark Marquez Year ago

    Awesome review, man. Could we get an IT 1990 review?

  • Albedo Yuriev
    Albedo Yuriev Year ago

    I thought this is overrated, bad, and it's just plain generic.
    Pennywise looks scary, but he's not scary at all. Even looking scary is already raises the red flag. One might think that the goal would work best if he would actually look inviting and friendly.
    Everytime he charges after the kids he constantly seizes out. I mean why does he have to jerk around so much?
    The scene where Pennywise kidnapped Beverly is out of character for him. Pennywise wouldn't do that. I don't recall him ever doing that in both the book and the mini series. What he would have done was quickly kill then eat her, and create an illusion of her, just like he did with Gorgie; not use her as bait. Like I said, out of character.
    When the loosers club went into the house the first time, how well could they have expected things to go? They just strolled right in without any sort of protection. Thats not realism nor being smart, that pretty much asking to get killed. I seriously doubt bitch slapping an ancient godlike entity is going to do much good.
    So many opportunities for Pennywise eat the loosers clubs, but he spends nearly the entire movie just playing around. The scene down in the well, Pennywise had his mouth on...Stan I think, but he just let go and took off. He had plenty of time to bite his face off, let alone his head.
    Everytime the kids where trying to have a serious discussion about the tragedies and whatever else was going on, Eddie constantly just ruins the mood by saying sex jokes.
    The scene when all the kids went swimming...I can't the only one that thought it was very disturbing and uncomfortable to sit through.
    At the end of the movie when Beverly was floating in the air...I couldn't believe that happened just to push the poor excuse for a love triangle. It's not even brought up afterward, only to end it Bill and Beverly, not with Ben. The whole damsel in distress thing was just pointless. Like I said, Pennywise doesn't kidnap and bait his victims.
    Henry Bowers looks tough one minute, but the second his father is around he's nothing more than a bitch.
    Where was the werewolf? Where was the mummy? IT relys too much on his clown and leper forms, so there's not much on the variety department.
    Mike's character is butchered. Mike and Bill are the two most important characters in the loosers club. In the book, Bill serves as the leader because he's the one with the strongest imagination. Mike is suppose to be the one that helps bring hold the group together, but here he's just...there, and barely says or does anything at all.
    The 90's mini series film is far superior because it was able to stay in touch with the book. The 2017 remake is a cheap parody knockoff that strayed too far from the book. I just don't understand why people think this movie is good at all.
    Yes, I do agree that the mini series had it's flaws as well, but it still did better.

  • Echad
    Echad Year ago +1

    It is like a long episode of goosebumps.

  • The Rave Music Archive

    Didn't like this. Much prefer the original 1990 version.

  • hostilityy
    hostilityy Year ago

    this movie was pretty fucking stupid. they tried to bridge science fiction with horror and it failed. people with simple brains think it was scary and good. it was terrible. it would've been good if they made it only a scary movie and not thrown in weird shit that defied science.

  • TheNextStep851
    TheNextStep851 Year ago

    Majorly disappointed after watching the remake.
    To me it lacked the character, pacing, flow, and tension (a lot of which came through the great score) of the original, not to mention some of the characters in the remake served no purpose what so ever other than just being there to make up the numbers. In my opinion, Bill, Eddie, Eddie's mother, Henry, and Belch didn't come remotely close to their 1990 counterparts, while Tim Curry as Pennywise was one of the best acting performances I've ever seen, period. I think Beverly and Ben, and even Mike for what he had, those 3 did a really good job in the remake so credit where it's due.
    The remake was basically a pick and mix of jump scares thrown in all over the place, with them going to the well way too much.
    To those criticizing the original, part 2 of the mini-series deserves its criticism, but part 1 was masterfully done and full of charm and character. It really captured the look and feel of the 1950's-1960's from top to bottom.

  • JacobW22
    JacobW22 Year ago

    it was an amazing horror movie in my opinion. too many “horror” movies are just 2 hour long tropes filled with cheap and loud jump scares whereas movies like It are what horror really should be. the horror in this movie was truly unnerving and disturbing and made you say wow that is truly terrifying to think about like being in that situation. honestly probably one of if not my favorite movies ever

  • Searching 4 humans

    Naaah, it's dummb movie

  • GG Channel
    GG Channel Year ago

    I loved this movie. I absolutely loved Richie's character!!

  • Dylan Thomas
    Dylan Thomas Year ago

    Add review

  • TheCopperhound84
    TheCopperhound84 Year ago

    I Dont Want Jump Scares I Want Eerie Make Me Feel Alone And The Clown Bein At Far Away Distances

  • aaron lao
    aaron lao Year ago

    its a mehh

  • Six Strings
    Six Strings Year ago

    I'm a couple months late but looking at the comments....man....people just can't enjoy things these days, huh?

  • Edwin Palacios
    Edwin Palacios Year ago

    The thing with the crazy lazy eye thing pennywise does . The actor actually knows how to control his eye to do that. No cgi

  • JCvideos
    JCvideos Year ago

    The scariest part of the original was when pennywise turns into a dog....😐

  • A. Tahboub
    A. Tahboub Year ago

    Fuck people who likes it and who rate it as good. Fuck Stephen king and fuck the director , fuck the producer and fuck all actors and everyone who worked in this movie . I rate it -100

  • Asante Xaba Xaba
    Asante Xaba Xaba Year ago

    The movie is terrifying but l'm eight years old

  • Samaddar Shubham
    Samaddar Shubham Year ago

    I liked this movie not because of the scares, although it was scary. I loved it cause it's so different than any other horror movie I've seen in my whole life. Some of the actors were just terrific, the ending couldn't be better, and it was just amazingly done. This movie is not just another low budget money grabber like most of the movies out there, this movie has heart.

  • I T
    I T Year ago

    I think he was salivating

  • The New Tide
    The New Tide Year ago

    The clown ruined the movie for me, whenever he was in a scene i was just like, are you serious? This is pennywise? Totally ruined the great work done by the rest of the cast.

  • Ahmed Adam Andalus

    I liked the Clown in the movie, they did a good job with that. And his Character, The modern humor was funny. But i expected to see Pennywise More, I enjoyed the Original a bit better. The original was Very Good. This movie was just Okay.. Part 2 should be better probably.
    But the Top Horror movies for me that are better than IT, are the Conjuring, Annabel, & Insidious

  • Turan Hinds
    Turan Hinds Year ago

    Am I the only one that got really bored watching this movie? it was intense for like the 1st half but as it dragged on it just lost its interest

  • Alan Brown
    Alan Brown Year ago

    There's no full stops in your reviews fucking tires me out

  • Mr.M
    Mr.M Year ago

    Jeremy what are you really afraid of? Answer before "IT" becomes a thing.
    Edit- Don't say Bumble from Rudolph

  • Italian Stallion
    Italian Stallion Year ago

    Movie was garb

  • Liya Lene
    Liya Lene Year ago

    Is there a website or something I won’t have to pay money to watch IT