IT - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 4 539

  • Preezy Beatz
    Preezy Beatz Day ago +1

    This movie proved why King is the King of horror movies. 🙌

  • Kaylee Morris
    Kaylee Morris 4 days ago

    The person who plays Pennywise can make one of his eye go sideways. So thats how he does the eye thing.

  • K. Le Animateur
    K. Le Animateur 6 days ago

    I think he makes stuff good. Cleary this kid has talent and I wanna see him in more stuff

  • Eliza Gaskell
    Eliza Gaskell 9 days ago

    It was an okay movie. Sure there were a few scares but it sound suspenseful music and the loud noises when Pennywise made his move, was really getting on my nerves, as well as the character of Bill. All the kid were just standing there in the house screaming when Pennywise came out of the fridge for George, Eddie and ..I think Jack. Sure they were screaming but it's either flight or fight, and in this case I would of found something in the kitchen to throw at the clown or throw at him. Also Bill really was a pain in the but; when his brother Georgie dies and he almost got the rest of them killed in the house, that he wanted to go back for more and ensure Pennywise dies, not caring about this friend's broken arm or the slashed belly of the chubby friend. One redeeming thing is the Bill Skarsgård and this portrayal of Pennywise; the make up team did a really good job.

  • James W
    James W 11 days ago +1

    This movie was shit. No threats or horror, the fucking clown just grabbed kids by the head and scream in their face.

  • Batman
    Batman 16 days ago

    Saw this last night, fucking terrifying and excellently directed

  • Josh
    Josh Month ago +1

    Fun fact; his askew eyes aren't an effect. Bill naturally has individual control over both eyes and can look in different directions

  • Nate Saldutti
    Nate Saldutti Month ago +1

    The best part of this film is that its scary. And I mean scary. Its horifying. And it has a good mix of jump scares and scary images. The jump scares make you jump, but then it keeps going and going as pennywise tries his damndest to kill them.

  • Kylie The Robot
    Kylie The Robot Month ago +1

    The acting was good and it was pretty similar to the book. However I do think some of the jump scares were cheap. I personally found this movie to be more of a thriller rather than a horror movie. Don’t get me wrong the movie was great it was just not as scary as expected, and I laughed at more scenes then I ever have in a horror movie.

  • Unique Love
    Unique Love 2 months ago

    No lie I PASSED OUT IN FEAR WATCHING THIS!!! This was so f'n scary!!! 😱😭🙈👎🏾

  • The Artisan
    The Artisan 2 months ago

    Am I the only one who thought this movie was just... meh?
    Wasn't scary at all. In the slightest regard, especially compared to the 1990 miniseries.
    A fine example of this is the bathroom scene in which Beverly sees the blood but
    her father does not. That scene in particular was done so much worse in this film.
    In the 1990 miniseries the father was looking down in the drain, getting blood all over
    his fingers but he couldn't see it, yet here, it was so subtle and just stupid.
    The film was also not loaded, but OVERLOADED with jump scares.
    They weren't scary at all, and they would consistently lead to smash cuts which were
    then followed by a more contrasted, peaceful scene. That's pretty much the entire plot.
    The movie is shot well. The acting by the kid's is okay, to say the least. Dialogue? Ridiculous.
    I just wasn't impressed. It was even really boring at times.
    The only good thing about this remake in my opinion is Skarsgard's portrayal as Pennywise
    as well as the look of Pennywise, which I think they got right. Other than that though
    I think this remake is getting way too much credit, over hype.
    C+

  • Tom Harris
    Tom Harris 2 months ago

    The old ones better

  • Stephen Smith
    Stephen Smith 2 months ago

    I loved this Movie way better than the MiniSeries

  • Anonymous 00
    Anonymous 00 2 months ago

    The editing we're fuckin goofy dude

  • Davyd Teather
    Davyd Teather 3 months ago

    I really enjoyed this movie. Definitely one of the better Stephen King adaptations.

  • Jetto Scranda
    Jetto Scranda 3 months ago

    It looks like shit! Also the whole movie was shit. Biggest overrated pieco of... I ever saw.

  • Matt Scarpace
    Matt Scarpace 3 months ago

    Love the way you described Finn as an actor. He definitely makes shit good

  • Mighty Kamina
    Mighty Kamina 3 months ago

    IT made me hate clowns even more than before.

  • Jnpunz
    Jnpunz 3 months ago

    A lot of people (not all) say it was the first movie to show violence toward kids: Sicario, the maze runner, Terminator 3, the hitmans bodyguard, jaws, and more.

  • Dutch Courage
    Dutch Courage 3 months ago

    "The movie had heart." lolololololol

  • Dutch Courage
    Dutch Courage 3 months ago

    Minus five stars.

  • Angie McIntyre
    Angie McIntyre 4 months ago

    Anyone here read the book before movie?

  • Stan Sergiu Gabriel
    Stan Sergiu Gabriel 4 months ago

    Just saw it last night. Tim Curry character killed it with his villain charm. This new Pennywise seemed lobotomized or like a nutty squirrel.

  • Toriana Palacki
    Toriana Palacki 4 months ago

    If you jumped when it was a jump scare, which I did 90% of the time through the movie, then it is a good scary movie. People forget that scary movies should be judged off how SCARY it is, like how freaked out you are when you go to bed alone, and this movie definitely did that to people.

  • Cody Nonnemacher
    Cody Nonnemacher 4 months ago

    I own it on blu ray and I have the book

  • Trust No-one
    Trust No-one 4 months ago

    Pennywise looked awesome but the movie wasn’t as good as per usual with most Stephen King’s movies vs books. Never liked “It” as a book or the older movie. The acting was really good. It did seem like Stranger Things. I liked the lead and I liked each individual character. I agree about the violence towards kids comment. I was surprised. It helped with the depth. I liked Pennywise, he was creepy. I liked the actors. They were great. I felt meh about the resolution and it was a little slow. It seems like there’s always a lot of hype surrounding Steven King movies and I’m always disappointed by them. With the exception of Misery and Pet Cemetary. If you like Steven King books you probably don’t like the movies. The books are always better.

  • Raul Medina
    Raul Medina 4 months ago

    You’re a talentless hack!!!!!!!

  • Jenna Walkinshaw
    Jenna Walkinshaw 4 months ago

    As a horror movie enthusiast I was actually disappinted with this movie. All the scares where to cheap to even give me the nostalgia feel, the cgi was terrible in some parts, simple details that just werent taken care of production wise, barely any characters developed, and overall just a boring movie that couldnt get me to feel for any of the characters. Hell the dad was the creepiest part of the movie. Essiently 2 hours of my life I wish I could get back.

  • Michael Watson
    Michael Watson 4 months ago

    A good film but very disappointed by the lack of dread and tension. I dunno, the kids are going through serious trauma but there was never a point where you felt terrified or worried about them. They all just went about happy, cracking jokes, having fun like any other kid through to the very end. Compare this to the highway scene in "Nocturnal Animals", that is real horror right there. Why didn't I ever feel that kind of tension whenever Pennywise showed up?

  • Thandie
    Thandie 4 months ago

    IT was sooo bad, Jeremy sometimes you’re spot on but boy were you wrong about this one

  • elisabeth moss
    elisabeth moss 4 months ago +2

    i thought it was a good movie and enjoyable but not scary at all in my opinion. it relied on jump scares and effects to deliver the “scares”

  • blah blah
    blah blah 4 months ago +1

    I liked it, but it was'nt scary at all...

  • andersenkalle
    andersenkalle 4 months ago

    This movie looks pretty good and the kids are great. But it wasn’t one bit scary. Very few disturbing scenes. The horror parts are pretty much just filled with music that tells the audience how to feel. A bunch of loud noises and typical horror build up. Also, i don’t even understand how Pennywise is considered scary. Looks ridiculous. It’s certainly not a bad movie, it has good things in it (especially the child actors) but when it came to the horror i was really, really bored. Fine film but also highly overrated in my opinion.

  • Kyd Kaide
    Kyd Kaide 4 months ago

    Why WatchMojo ever deemed Jeremy Jahns the no. 1 asshole of movie critics is beyond me.

  • Jacqueline Waugh
    Jacqueline Waugh 4 months ago

    I loved the movie

  • Overwatchgotv
    Overwatchgotv 4 months ago

    Im 11 year old kid just saw this movie because it was one redbox and its terrifying and what he said about your kids cursing up a storm its very true i do all my friends do its very true

  • altruistic Assassin
    altruistic Assassin 4 months ago

    Seriously the new it movie made me laugh more then scared me. Penny wise was nothing like the original! For me it was like a nightmare on elm street remake just horrible why remake a movie when they were already great millennials may disagree but oh well

  • Raul Medina
    Raul Medina 4 months ago +1

    Just shut up! You suck at making movie reviews. This movie was a piece of shit. I hated everything in the movie.

  • Neil Tomlinson
    Neil Tomlinson 4 months ago

    This movie was absolutely amazing ! Loved it.

  • Lorioyama Emma-o
    Lorioyama Emma-o 4 months ago

    Was cute.

  • Alexander Harnar
    Alexander Harnar 4 months ago

    you'll float too...you'll float too...You'll Float Too!...You'll Float Too!....YOU'LL FLOAT TOO!!! YOU'LL FLOAT TOO!!!!!! AARRRRRAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Chef RPG
    Chef RPG 4 months ago

    IT was a horrible mess of political correctness and vulgarity. What kids in the 80s curse that much, like what? If you're looking for something to make you laugh with your friends, this is the garbage movie meant for you. Lmao.


    What a piece of shi-

  • Joe Luckett
    Joe Luckett 4 months ago

    Its not scary at all

  • Milk Just Milk
    Milk Just Milk 4 months ago

    I’ve been a horror fanatic for years, since I was 3. I can say that this movie wasn’t that scary but I did appreciate the disturbing images, the acting was great at the beginning but got iffy nearing the end, the effects and lighting were amazing, and the clown himself was (in my opinion) portrayed much better in this remake than the original. I’d say this is a huge step from the usually cliche bull crap and I can’t wait for IT chapter two.

  • Mark Marquez
    Mark Marquez 4 months ago

    Awesome review, man. Could we get an IT 1990 review?

  • Albedo Yuriev
    Albedo Yuriev 4 months ago

    I thought this is overrated, bad, and it's just plain generic.
    Pennywise looks scary, but he's not scary at all. Even looking scary is already raises the red flag. One might think that the goal would work best if he would actually look inviting and friendly.
    Everytime he charges after the kids he constantly seizes out. I mean why does he have to jerk around so much?
    The scene where Pennywise kidnapped Beverly is out of character for him. Pennywise wouldn't do that. I don't recall him ever doing that in both the book and the mini series. What he would have done was quickly kill then eat her, and create an illusion of her, just like he did with Gorgie; not use her as bait. Like I said, out of character.
    When the loosers club went into the house the first time, how well could they have expected things to go? They just strolled right in without any sort of protection. Thats not realism nor being smart, that pretty much asking to get killed. I seriously doubt bitch slapping an ancient godlike entity is going to do much good.
    So many opportunities for Pennywise eat the loosers clubs, but he spends nearly the entire movie just playing around. The scene down in the well, Pennywise had his mouth on...Stan I think, but he just let go and took off. He had plenty of time to bite his face off, let alone his head.
    Everytime the kids where trying to have a serious discussion about the tragedies and whatever else was going on, Eddie constantly just ruins the mood by saying sex jokes.
    The scene when all the kids went swimming...I can't the only one that thought it was very disturbing and uncomfortable to sit through.
    At the end of the movie when Beverly was floating in the air...I couldn't believe that happened just to push the poor excuse for a love triangle. It's not even brought up afterward, only to end it Bill and Beverly, not with Ben. The whole damsel in distress thing was just pointless. Like I said, Pennywise doesn't kidnap and bait his victims.
    Henry Bowers looks tough one minute, but the second his father is around he's nothing more than a bitch.
    Where was the werewolf? Where was the mummy? IT relys too much on his clown and leper forms, so there's not much on the variety department.
    Mike's character is butchered. Mike and Bill are the two most important characters in the loosers club. In the book, Bill serves as the leader because he's the one with the strongest imagination. Mike is suppose to be the one that helps bring hold the group together, but here he's just...there, and barely says or does anything at all.
    The 90's mini series film is far superior because it was able to stay in touch with the book. The 2017 remake is a cheap parody knockoff that strayed too far from the book. I just don't understand why people think this movie is good at all.
    Yes, I do agree that the mini series had it's flaws as well, but it still did better.

  • Echadh
    Echadh 4 months ago

    It is like a long episode of goosebumps.

  • The Rave Music Archive
    The Rave Music Archive 4 months ago

    Didn't like this. Much prefer the original 1990 version.

  • hostilityy
    hostilityy 5 months ago

    this movie was pretty fucking stupid. they tried to bridge science fiction with horror and it failed. people with simple brains think it was scary and good. it was terrible. it would've been good if they made it only a scary movie and not thrown in weird shit that defied science.

  • Carlito1085
    Carlito1085 5 months ago

    Majorly disappointed after watching the remake.
    To me it lacked the character, pacing, flow, and tension (a lot of which came through the great score) of the original, not to mention some of the characters in the remake served no purpose what so ever other than just being there to make up the numbers. In my opinion, Bill, Eddie, Eddie's mother, Henry, and Belch didn't come remotely close to their 1990 counterparts, while Tim Curry as Pennywise was one of the best acting performances I've ever seen, period. I think Beverly and Ben, and even Mike for what he had, those 3 did a really good job in the remake so credit where it's due.
    The remake was basically a pick and mix of jump scares thrown in all over the place, with them going to the well way too much.
    To those criticizing the original, part 2 of the mini-series deserves its criticism, but part 1 was masterfully done and full of charm and character. It really captured the look and feel of the 1950's-1960's from top to bottom.

  • JacobW22
    JacobW22 5 months ago

    it was an amazing horror movie in my opinion. too many “horror” movies are just 2 hour long tropes filled with cheap and loud jump scares whereas movies like It are what horror really should be. the horror in this movie was truly unnerving and disturbing and made you say wow that is truly terrifying to think about like being in that situation. honestly probably one of if not my favorite movies ever

  • Searching 4 humans
    Searching 4 humans 5 months ago

    Naaah, it's dummb movie

  • Gerann Gerber
    Gerann Gerber 5 months ago

    I loved this movie. I absolutely loved Richie's character!!

  • Dylan Thomas
    Dylan Thomas 5 months ago

    Add review

  • TheCopperhound84
    TheCopperhound84 5 months ago

    I Dont Want Jump Scares I Want Eerie Make Me Feel Alone And The Clown Bein At Far Away Distances

  • aaron lao
    aaron lao 5 months ago

    its a mehh

  • Six Strings
    Six Strings 5 months ago

    I'm a couple months late but looking at the comments....man....people just can't enjoy things these days, huh?

  • Dementix
    Dementix 5 months ago +1

    Honestly, the last "good" adaptation of a Stephen King book-to-movie was "Misery". Before that, "The Shining". Everything since has been horrible.

  • Dementix
    Dementix 5 months ago +1

    IT (2017) was worse than IT (1990). And IT (1990) sucked balls. If you want to be scared by clowns, I would suggest the movie "Killer Klowns from Outer Space".

  • Edwin Palacios
    Edwin Palacios 5 months ago

    The thing with the crazy lazy eye thing pennywise does . The actor actually knows how to control his eye to do that. No cgi

  • JCvideos
    JCvideos 5 months ago

    The scariest part of the original was when pennywise turns into a dog....😐

  • A, Tahboub
    A, Tahboub 5 months ago

    Fuck people who likes it and who rate it as good. Fuck Stephen king and fuck the director , fuck the producer and fuck all actors and everyone who worked in this movie . I rate it -100

  • Asante Xaba Xaba
    Asante Xaba Xaba 5 months ago

    The movie is terrifying but l'm eight years old

  • Samaddar Shubham
    Samaddar Shubham 5 months ago

    I liked this movie not because of the scares, although it was scary. I loved it cause it's so different than any other horror movie I've seen in my whole life. Some of the actors were just terrific, the ending couldn't be better, and it was just amazingly done. This movie is not just another low budget money grabber like most of the movies out there, this movie has heart.

  • I T
    I T 5 months ago

    I think he was salivating

  • The New Tide
    The New Tide 5 months ago

    The clown ruined the movie for me, whenever he was in a scene i was just like, are you serious? This is pennywise? Totally ruined the great work done by the rest of the cast.

  • Ahmed Habichuela Adam
    Ahmed Habichuela Adam 5 months ago

    I liked the Clown in the movie, they did a good job with that. And his Character, The modern humor was funny. But i expected to see Pennywise More, I enjoyed the Original a bit better. The original was Very Good. This movie was just Okay.. Part 2 should be better probably.
    But the Top Horror movies for me that are better than IT, are the Conjuring, Annabel, & Insidious

  • Turan Hinds
    Turan Hinds 5 months ago

    Am I the only one that got really bored watching this movie? it was intense for like the 1st half but as it dragged on it just lost its interest

  • Alan Brown
    Alan Brown 5 months ago

    There's no full stops in your reviews fucking tires me out

  • Carl Jarlskov
    Carl Jarlskov 5 months ago

    I loved the movie! But the green mile is still my favorite stephen king movie and just my favorite movie overall :-)

  • Mr.M
    Mr.M 5 months ago

    Jeremy what are you really afraid of? Answer before "IT" becomes a thing.
    Edit- Don't say Bumble from Rudolph

  • Italian Stallion
    Italian Stallion 5 months ago

    Movie was garb

  • Liya Lene
    Liya Lene 5 months ago

    Is there a website or something I won’t have to pay money to watch IT

  • What Is Your Worldview? - Creation or Evolutionism?

    The kids swear too much... sad

    • Chef RPG
      Chef RPG 4 months ago +1

      Louis McLean are you for real bud? How the fuck do kids from the 50s or 80s know what even HALF OF THOSE WORDS MEAN LMAO. Half of those phrases weren't even created until the 21st century... It's so sad to see people being okay with 10 year old kids being so vulgar. Can't wait to hear the word fuck 100 times in the next pixar film

    • Louis McLean
      Louis McLean 5 months ago +1

      What Is Your Worldview? - Creation or Evolutionism? Kids do swear..... children of that age don't have a PG mouth the parents think. It felt very real.

  • Nathaniel Burks
    Nathaniel Burks 5 months ago

    Jeremy, were you trying to do Pennywise’s smile in your thumbnail? Lol

  • Tsum tsum Show
    Tsum tsum Show 5 months ago

    Really people thought it was scary? I thought it was freaking hilarious I laughed through all the scenes so did my mom 😂 I think we have issues 🤣

  • Diego Aguirre
    Diego Aguirre 5 months ago

    Best movie ever

  • JUGGERNAUT KI11
    JUGGERNAUT KI11 5 months ago

    Pennywise is an alien

  • Yaya White-Farrell
    Yaya White-Farrell 5 months ago

    I only liked it because Finn wolfhard is in the movie

  • Feras Nj
    Feras Nj 5 months ago

    i just watched the movie and felt a bit disappointed. (spoilers alert)
    this movie was fucking scary af and disturbing in the first 1 hour or so, and this is coming from a guy who watched alot of horror/thriller movies. it was creepy but then it started slowly to turn into some kids adventure to beat the living crap of a weak ass clown.
    non of the "losers" group died.. srsly ? everyone survived expect for poor goerge who had a disturbing death at the start of the movie, a much not needed romance bw billy and the girl but that was not the problem here. we also don't see what happened with the floating kids ? did they come back alive ? imo there should've been some of the kids killed and at the end 2 or 3 at most survives. it would've been more intense than wtv the last 40 mins of the movie was all about.
    this could've been an awesometacular but they kinda ruined it. nd that's probably why it has so many mixed reviews.

  • Shape Mommy
    Shape Mommy 5 months ago

    I laughed at this movie, it wasn't scary to me and frankly I didn't like the movie in general. It seemed like they tried way too hard to be edgy and scary. That is just what I think though.

  • grundyboy
    grundyboy 5 months ago

    Nice inserting that little self-compliment there, Jeremy :)

  • Tyler Morgan
    Tyler Morgan 5 months ago

    I love this movie and I love the book as well as the old special 2 parter aka Tim curry. however I wanna talk about the scare factor because I feel most people don't think about this. it's 2017. It is a horror standard and something you've seen before in terms of jump scares and gore and disturbing stuff in general. you can play video games where you watch people die in horrid ways and you can kill people and torture animals even. its so commonplace now. in other words everyone is desensitized to it. imagine if this same movie had dropped in the 80s. I bet that generation would still be freaked out about it. I'll even admit it didnt really scare me, the book not much either, but rather it built an amazing story around characters that I cared about and built tension with them. that's why I love it. I was startled and felt on edge throughout but for the characters. I think that's where it succeeded in the end. but yeah, its not scary for a lot of people and I believe that's due to the fact that in 2017 not much is new. not really.

  • Conscious Reminders
    Conscious Reminders 5 months ago

    I didn't like the movie. The story execution was weak and slow paced.

  • SsilenceTv
    SsilenceTv 5 months ago

    i think this movie was shit but bill skarsgard whas fucking good as pennywise

  • 3choBlast3r
    3choBlast3r 5 months ago

    I fucking loved this movie ... I liked that it wasn't full on horror but more about the kids overcoming their fears ...
    My only small critique .. is the red head (Rebacca) In the movie they have made her look so damn mature .. it's kinda FUCKED UP. I mean I looked up this girl after watching the movie (I was under the impression she was like 18/20 playing a 16/17 yo and already kinda felt she was maybe a little old for the role) .. then I found out she is 15 and in her regular real life fotos she looks her age (like a KID) .. WTF film makers?
    That said .... she was 10/10 her performance was amazing and she REALLY fit the role of the "pretty, & insanely cool girl, that hangs out with the "losers" because she knows how it feels to be shunned, bullied and have people make up all sort of lies about her.

    Not sure what to feel about the rape undertones from her father ... they could just had him be an ultra conservative and physically abuse father .. but went a step further. It made me sympathise even more with the girl but also felt kinda fucked up ...
    This girl was going trough a nightmare LONG before the clown. She didn't care about the bullies or what people said about her because she faced a worse monster at home everyday ...

    DAMN this movie is good.. how the fuck does it have a 7.2 on imdb?!

  • Van Hub Gaming
    Van Hub Gaming 5 months ago

    There were several unaddressed plot points though. Like are there no repercussions to the characters that killed people?

  • Tren979797
    Tren979797 5 months ago

    Good Movie. Much better than the TV version. Just was not a fan of the CGI. Was overly used and took me out of it. No pun intended

  • Rally SA
    Rally SA 6 months ago

    Jeremy, Dude, The views for this matches the Subs on your channel

  • aprilryan2
    aprilryan2 6 months ago

    shitty movie

  • Mijo Cee
    Mijo Cee 6 months ago

    Where's your Jumanji review?? Haha still waiting

  • okir rama
    okir rama 6 months ago

    Tim Curry was great in IT 😂😂😂😂

  • okir rama
    okir rama 6 months ago

    IT is stranger things made into movie 😂😂😂😂

  • Eric Smith
    Eric Smith 6 months ago

    I just watched the movie and it was so well shot and well acted. But it was not very good

  • Unboxing Deutschland
    Unboxing Deutschland 6 months ago

    Hi you got a nice channel! If you want I can help you to reach some more people. Just shoot me a message :)

  • Darbell 115
    Darbell 115 6 months ago

    Just to say it to all the fuck boys who are triggered for it not being Awsometacular he gave it awsometacular in the spoiler talk your welcome Jeremy

  • Lovely Petty
    Lovely Petty 6 months ago

    4:08 i go to a school were for 2 years we went undetected for sreawing until to is year in the 7th grade this new kid as soon as the teacher was oit the room started yelling watch your f*cking language loud enough for the teacher to hear. But all the teachers at my school expect like 3 dont care and my homeroom teacher being one of them. So all we got was a stren scolding if you would even call ot that

  • Five Stars
    Five Stars 6 months ago

    9.25/10 or A or AWESOMETACULAR

  • M03 Smith
    M03 Smith 6 months ago

    Disappointment if you compare it to the book. But is still good even though it gets bits wrong probably on purpose to make it shorter. And wasn't that scary.

  • Duran Ryan
    Duran Ryan 6 months ago

    Just watched It again the second time... Still came up with the same conclusion... #boring ...