Aladdin - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 22, 2019
  • The newest Disney Live Action remake is a classic of the 90's. Here's my review for ALADDIN!
    #Aladdin
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 3 832

  • Jason Mcshark
    Jason Mcshark Day ago

    I liked it except for the fact that they removed the original prince Ali reprise so jasmine could sing a song for 8 year old girls on radio Disney

  • alwaysxnever
    alwaysxnever Day ago +1

    That was harsh Jahns. But I don't watch your videos to validate my opinion. But to hear your's. Ty fir thr content as always I.

  • Maiko Gammell
    Maiko Gammell Day ago

    I agree with everything you said...I left the theater feeling like the film was rushed. Lacked weight, like you said, which the animated film had. The carpet ride number lacked a WOW. But I did enjoy it.

  • XxxIdgaf
    XxxIdgaf Day ago

    The beginning of the movie was fucking terrible but it got better as it went on. I didn’t like Jasmines speechless song, Jafar was bad, Aladdin’s screaming expressions were awful, but other than that it was alright.

  • Inksterboy
    Inksterboy Day ago

    What do I have to say about this movie.......?
    This movie was the
    Best Disney movie remake I have ever seen in my life!
    Although Jafar was still awful and boring and the father of Jasmine was kinda dull..
    However the rest of the movie was fantastic!
    I really loved how they made alot references to the cartoon movie like how the genie still did the hilarious actions by turning into a women 😂 dont get me wrong I laughed so hard.
    The singing was outstanding and the acting was incredible!

  • K Clems
    K Clems Day ago

    I Walked out. Atrocious compared to the original.

  • Marlene Gnzlz
    Marlene Gnzlz 2 days ago

    I loved the movie ❤

  • pyrabelle 57
    pyrabelle 57 2 days ago

    I LOVED THE MOVIE

  • David Perez
    David Perez 2 days ago

    Extremely disappointed from this movie...Mega fuck this Aladdin... hope the Lion King doesn't fail like this movie did

  • sportsMike87
    sportsMike87 2 days ago

    It was an entertaining movie. A different interpretation on an animated movie.

  • keith thornton
    keith thornton 2 days ago

    I was really skeptical going in to this movie. With that said I really enjoyed it, BUT they completely ruined Jafar. Painfully so. And some really memorable scenes were changed and not for the better.

  • Zuko104
    Zuko104 2 days ago +1

    I just saw the film, I enjoyed it overall. The most noticeable flaw was the cast for Jafar, he did not feel like a Jafar to me lol.

  • Lucy does playlists and song lyrics

    I have seen this movie and I thought that they did it really well I liked will smith as the genie and I liked the songs and the actors who played Princes Jasmine and Aladdin.

  • T Terry
    T Terry 3 days ago

    1:30 hahahaha that's the funniest part hahahahahaha ONLY ONE MAY ENTER HERE!

  • AWF AWF
    AWF AWF 3 days ago

    Just got back from seeing Aladdin and your review misses the mark. But we can agree to disagree, as you loved the Force Awakens which I found to be an insipid, poorly made film which destroyed classic characters. This film does not destroy Aladdin; it's very exciting and fun to watch in its own right. I almost skipped the film after watching your review, but I came out of the theater thoroughly satisfied with what I saw on the screen. The film is shot in the style of the classic Sinbad films of the 1960s--sure, some of the acting was cheesy and the direction could have been better in places , but the orchestrations were fantastic, the costumes and cinematography lush, the script surprisingly good especially with respect to the development of the Jasmine character. My only complaints had to do with the length and portrayal of Jafar--a few sequences could have been cut with no harm done, and I preferred the comic-sinister edge of the original Jafar. But overall, the original Aladdin (cartoon) gets an A+ and this one gets a solid B+ from me (bordering on an A-). Did I need this film? No. Was I entertained and was it worthwhile? Yes. And that's why I go to the theaters--to be entertained.

  • Tyler Durden
    Tyler Durden 4 days ago

    Why compare it to the original? Did you try watching the movie as if it's your first time seeing it? I did. And it was good. So good. CGI Genie was good too. John August and Guy Richie made an adaptation that wasn't trying to go one to one with the original and they did it well.

  • Glen Reidy
    Glen Reidy 4 days ago

    I enjoyed it but I wasn’t as immersed as I would of liked due to the American accents.

  • Christophe Ferreira
    Christophe Ferreira 4 days ago

    One of the lines of the genie, haven't they used Robin Williams' voice?
    I could swear it was his voice, for one line only ...

  • Camila B
    Camila B 4 days ago +2

    I enjoyed this movie, but I missed my favourite line from the animated one, that's actually a Jafar line.. "Prince Abubu"

  • Camila B
    Camila B 4 days ago

    *JAMS*

  • Stephanie Lastname
    Stephanie Lastname 4 days ago +1

    This movie was a borefest. no one in the cinema laughed at all not even once, Even though the cast were trying so hard to be funny it just didn't work. Save yourself money and watch the original

  • howtoeataham
    howtoeataham 4 days ago +1

    I feel like I’m in the minority when I say this movie sucked. It was funny in some parts, but other than that the acting was pretty sub par, CGI was pretty bad for Disney, and lots of character moments didn’t make sense

  • ILLUSION CESAR
    ILLUSION CESAR 4 days ago

    Isn't that for girls

  • Arelis Villanueva
    Arelis Villanueva 4 days ago

    I don't like u

  • Arelis Villanueva
    Arelis Villanueva 4 days ago

    I'm disappointed they left out jafar's song out but I still loved it

  • Emily Goldman
    Emily Goldman 4 days ago +2

    Yessss! You hit my main two gripes of the movie so well. First off iago was trash in the new version, so why bother. Secondly I was NOT a fan of the weird editing during the songs with the speed.

  • Arelis Villanueva
    Arelis Villanueva 4 days ago

    Will Smith was awesome

  • Arelis Villanueva
    Arelis Villanueva 4 days ago

    I loved the movie.prince Ali was awesome stop hating

    • Farquaad Castle
      Farquaad Castle 4 days ago +1

      How much is Disney paying you? I could do with Duke side cash

  • yellow mermaid
    yellow mermaid 5 days ago

    I loved the actors more than the film itself..

  • supremercommonder
    supremercommonder 5 days ago

    They got Jasmin wrong white washed

  • Apple y
    Apple y 6 days ago

    Here comes all of the "ThE OriGiNAL wAS bEttER" comments. Honestly, I'm so tired of this trope. Cant people just think for themselves? A movie is not automatically better because it came first and was animated, and a live action ADAPTATION is not bad because of the inverse. Imo, this live action was actually better than the original. But I know everyone will attack that opinion, because the desire to have the majority opinion is stronger than fairly assessing a films quality for what it does and giving it the credit it deserves. Oh well...

  • Zachariah Miteruai
    Zachariah Miteruai 6 days ago

    People need to get there head out of there ass about cgi like bro how else would we get half the movies we get

  • Apple y
    Apple y 6 days ago +2

    Ahh yes of course, live action remakes...no matter how good/enjoyable they are they will be underrated simply because there was a medicore cartoon made before it. Rip.

    • Apple y
      Apple y 6 days ago

      @Celsea C I'm sorry. For clarification I did not intend to say that the 2D animation/anime/"cartoon" medium was mediocre, it is absolutely not. I love animation as well, and I actually believe that animation is capable of creating better stories, worlds and characters than 99% of live action films/TV shows. I was just speaking specifically about "Aladdin", the original 2D Disney movie. I will admit though that I haven't seen that film in a couple of years so it may not even be fair for me to judge it, so I apologize for that. From what i remember though I enjoyed it but i was just not as impressed or captivated by it as much as some of Disney's other works. It wasn't that original story or character wise and so I believe that the live actions changes made up for that for me. Honestly the point of my comment was just that many times people will blindly bash these live action ADAPTATIONS of these older, reneissance Disney era films simply because they are "different from the original" even when if the live action version came first they wouldn't love the animated one as much as the live. You can't let nostalgia or a bandwagon of opinions impact your judgement of a good film which is genuinely good in what it does. People should be thankful that Disney is even reviving their favorite cartoons, instead of complaining, and that was just my main point, I guess.

    • Celsea C
      Celsea C 6 days ago +1

      mediocre cartoon?? have you no idea how many months that took back in the day? what a huge team to work on it? I understand your point but can you not being so condescending? Animation is something that people study and should be appreciated. The original had character and atmosphere which stemmed from animation. The faces were very expressive and all the feelings of the characters got out perfectly. Unlike some of the performances in the movie

  • Apple y
    Apple y 6 days ago +1

    Honestly when Disney releases a GOOD live action ADAPTATION (that everyone knows they were gonna go to in theatres since the trailer) and then everybody whines about the whole "ThE oriGiNAL iS aLwAYs bETTER" its so goddamn ANNOYING. people want to hop on that bandwagon so bad that they cant use actual unbiased judgement to enjoy something or recognize its quality. This Aladdin was fantastic, and so were The Jungle Book and Beauty and the Beast. Dont let stupid superstitions cloud your judgement/enjoyment of good movies. Ffs.

  • Kelly Kelbe
    Kelly Kelbe 6 days ago +1

    Why didn’t they keep the same storyline ?

  • Limor Shakar
    Limor Shakar 7 days ago +2

    The Animation one is the best with the late and great Robin Williams 🧞‍♂️ RIP. Also, too much Aladdin for me Broadway show 🎭, cruise show🚢 and of course the original flick.

  • Kyle Campbell
    Kyle Campbell 7 days ago

    I don't like Disney movies, especially musicals, and I don't remember seeing the original movie when I was a kid

    I was in because is a Guy Ritchie movie

  • Richard Andrews
    Richard Andrews 8 days ago +1

    What the hell man? The movie was actually really good. The only part I would agree on was the fast forward part, but I think I noticed just because you said it. It held it's own apart from the animation. I even cried a bit at the end, and I DIDN'T expect that. Also, I watched in in 4D, so maybe enhanced the movie. Anyway, I can't imagine how many people didn't watch this listing to you. Oh, well, the the movie still did great regardless or all the "negative" people .

    • Richard Andrews
      Richard Andrews Day ago +1

      S M oh no. Someone likes something I don’t. Waaaa 😭😭😭

    • S M
      S M Day ago

      Yea DIsney relies on dopes like you to keep their monopoly going.


      The movie was easy and lazy and boring trash. No need for it and the animated version still has better visuals to this day and will continue for 10+ years into the future with the shit CGI they used. Some people are just sheep and do what they are told. Go find the next penny it'll be just as easy to find and just as shiny.

  • Kimberley Charlie Mifsud

    YES!!! It felt like a stage musical but filmed! except they were fast forwarded... as you said

  • Justin Rivera
    Justin Rivera 8 days ago +3

    Nahhh I usually agree with you but this movie was great and I was surprised by it. Give it a 7/10 and I'd watch it again.

    • Rough
      Rough 8 days ago +1

      7 out of 10 more like 3 out of 10

  • Elisabeth Bonnema
    Elisabeth Bonnema 9 days ago

    About Disney sequels, they made those straight to dvd's so that new animators could be trained and train for the proper disneymovies and the budget for those was lower. That's why they mostly lack in quality and stuff, not because nobody cared. They were still well made imo tho ^^

  • Herbo Racks
    Herbo Racks 9 days ago +1

    It seems like everyone enjoyed this movie except for the hardcore reviewers that keep comparing a live action to something that's animated. Instead of just taking it as a live action film. Literally everyone enjoyed this film and if you haven't seen it go watch it

  • R
    R 9 days ago

    Will Smith sucks imo, I don't understand why people find him charismatic. I even read some opinions about people comparing his charisma with Tom Cruise and even goddamn Keanu Reeves, lol Where man, where is this charisma? The guy is froze in the 90's

  • Alfian Hardianto 8
    Alfian Hardianto 8 9 days ago

    Only one may enter here🤣🤣🤣

  • Swayslandjobs Swayslandjobs

    My god..this fucking guy...YES!

  • Arthuruz Scofield
    Arthuruz Scofield 9 days ago +1

    I watched it with my wife and kids and we loved it! This movie is better than Beauty and the Beast. And the song A Whole New World is better than the cartoon version.

  • izzy A
    izzy A 9 days ago +1

    this clown is wrong. Its a great movie. Best live action yet.

  • Ranking Factory Review

    Nice job, I loved the info.

  • Ahmed Adam Andalus
    Ahmed Adam Andalus 9 days ago

    You said you wanted more character development, but then you said the original was hour & half, making it seem you wanted it to be 1.5. That couldn’t happen tho, They could have just did the development but added 20 min extra to the film.
    The movie wasn’t sloppy like X-Men was. They had an actual plot, which gave the overall reason & the Genie was a Blue will smith basically the same thing, still Great & entertaining blue & brown.
    Now mayb they could have done more character development forsure, overall i loved the movie. No alcohol required

  • Jordan Reynolds
    Jordan Reynolds 10 days ago +5

    I really liked the Will Smith genie. I went into this movie with super low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. I genuinely enjoyed this movie.

  • George Rady
    George Rady 10 days ago

    Aladdin can’t act and Will Smith can’t sing and Jasmine wants to be Sultan... could care less about “true love”
    Ya know, the Soviets went thru this when they made sure all the “arts” delivered a POSITIVE MESSAGE for the People - they called it “Social Realism” - but we can just callnit what it was... propaganda... and this was corporate propaganda done BAAAAD!

  • CaptainGavtron
    CaptainGavtron 10 days ago +3

    Should have had Patrick Warburton play the Genie and Ben Kingsley play Jafar.

  • Laura Pereira
    Laura Pereira 10 days ago

    What about Jasmine ? Cause she was great

  • бот для накрутки

    FINALLY! After 1 day i have found the only place where you are able to see Aladdin 2019 with awesome quality and awesome sound! Im sharing the link to you, guys ) Just Open _ALADDIN .IHACK . CO_

  • John Peacekeeper
    John Peacekeeper 10 days ago +3

    Eh. This feels like lazy nitpicks rather than an analysis tbh. Like CinemaSins.

  • faruzzy
    faruzzy 10 days ago +1

    I love your reviews. But I think you a hit a miss on this one. I enjoyed this movie

  • Jose Ruiz
    Jose Ruiz 10 days ago +1

    I never seen the original Adladin!!!! Should I steer clear of this one? 🤔😱

    • Niasoux Rocks
      Niasoux Rocks 10 days ago

      Jose Ruiz I think you should definitely watch live action. Everyone is being hard on it but it’s really fun and entertaining. It’s not the best movie in the world but it’s so worth it to see the songs and the actors.

      Ps. You should watch the original too

  • Humza Khan
    Humza Khan 10 days ago +2

    This was the most “good time no alcohol required” movie ive seen in quite awhile. But then again, i fell off of being critical of movies like around last yr so yeah

  • Robert A. Davis
    Robert A. Davis 11 days ago

    Yeah the new movie was too long. Like you said they rushed over important scenes and stretched out non-essential scenes (e,g., the Bollywood dance sequence)

  • HallWoodProductions
    HallWoodProductions 11 days ago +1

    Loved it more then the original

  • Olly Enriquez
    Olly Enriquez 12 days ago +1

    I agree. A mixed bag. Overall pretty enjoyable but not perfectly executed. Costumes A+

  • JJ M
    JJ M 12 days ago

    Never gonna watch another Disney remakes ever again. This movie was so lame on a whole new level. I hated it so much. I hated Jasmine and I hated all those Genie changes.

  • Prince Music
    Prince Music 12 days ago

    Editing and Cinematography worst.

  • fat matt
    fat matt 12 days ago +1

    It's a money grab....

  • Yoo Fan
    Yoo Fan 12 days ago +1

    I honestly enjoyed the movie and that too with zero expectation it would amaze me.... kudos to the main leads

  • barbaro267
    barbaro267 12 days ago +4

    I'll be the first to say it, but Aladdin in Once Upon A Time is actually better than this one.

  • zynbw
    zynbw 12 days ago

    I went to it without comparing it to the original disney animation and I had a good time. I took my little cousins to the film and they had a good time and so did I. Some parts were a bit rushed but over all it's good.

  • Chnekohan
    Chnekohan 12 days ago

    Actually, the movie was great

  • JesMarie Jonz
    JesMarie Jonz 13 days ago

    Can’t relate cause I loved the movie, there were parts I missed that the animation did. But as a movie on its own not comparing the two I loved it, especially Will Smith as the Genie.

  • Prince Khan
    Prince Khan 13 days ago

    I loved this movie!!! Def worth a watch

  • LunaOfTheDarkestNight
    LunaOfTheDarkestNight 13 days ago +3

    I loved will Smith as the genie

  • veecherrygirl
    veecherrygirl 13 days ago

    I'm with you on this one. I didn't really love it.

  • Robert van Piggelen
    Robert van Piggelen 13 days ago

    Listening to you is a struggle.

  • aslsmm 00
    aslsmm 00 13 days ago

    None of the live actions have lived up to the animated. Having said that, I'm definitely going to Robin hood if it ever gets the green light.

  • Idon'tCare Yo
    Idon'tCare Yo 13 days ago

    Don't worry I think disney sent employees to review it good because everyone I talked to didn't like it and critics really didn't like it!

  • McMatthew99
    McMatthew99 13 days ago +1

    If the live action remake were released in the '90s and the animated version was released in 2019, then we would be saying that the animation was worse hands-down.
    I'm not saying the reboot beats the original, I'm just saying that it is fantastic in its own right and nostalgia for the original is what drives people to criticize the reboot.

  • Joey (Lucky Boy) Nato
    Joey (Lucky Boy) Nato 13 days ago

    that electric guitar in the intro is from Propellerhead Reason lol i like your vids btw man

  • tom thorn
    tom thorn 13 days ago

    Will Smith finally committed career suicide in this movie!!!!

  • Elam White
    Elam White 13 days ago

    I'm suddenly imagining Disney CGI-ing Robin William's face on Genie...

  • Britnatural
    Britnatural 13 days ago

    I took my daughter to watch this movie, she loved it... I asked her who was her favourite and she said the genie.

  • Thisisshaz Yessir
    Thisisshaz Yessir 14 days ago +2

    Watched it twice.. love it enjoyed it.. not as good at the OG tho

  • Sarah ABC
    Sarah ABC 14 days ago

    I went with a group of friends and we didn’t like the movie. I’m not a particular fan of Will Smith, so I didn’t enjoy it much. It was just a big forgettable blah. Then today I took my 6 years old niece and saw the movie through her eyes. They were filled with awe and wonder and she couldn’t stop talking about it (it replaced princess & the frog & frozen as her favorite movie).

  • Funstuff13613
    Funstuff13613 14 days ago

    Dude, I don’t know how you didn’t give this film either Dog Shit or You’re not going to remember it in T-20 seconds. Disney are to blame for this blunder not Will Smith. He and Naomi Scott could have been great with the right script, cast, direction, vision and quality assurance. An estimated budget of $185 million, complete freedom of choice of a world full of talent and this is what they come up with, LOL GTFOH.

  • Him With The Hair
    Him With The Hair 14 days ago

    Seen it, I'd say it was a good time no alcohol required, but can also see how some people might need the alcohol to enjoy it.

  • saina subtle
    saina subtle 14 days ago +7

    It was awesome
    Hear it from me
    I am quite a critic

  • ULTRALISK BUILDER
    ULTRALISK BUILDER 14 days ago +1

    4:00 I was in a screening where he existed in a single scene and said nothing. Trust me, whatever you are talking about, *it's better.*

  • Blaze Escamilla
    Blaze Escamilla 14 days ago

    I thought Guy Ritchie was a wierd choice and I didnt even realize he was director until the movie started

  • SL twentyeight
    SL twentyeight 14 days ago

    My kid never seen the animated ver. She loved this movie dancing when movie ended. Thankfully it was AMC.

  • Brooke
    Brooke 15 days ago

    I thought it was the best disney remake thus far...but granted I’m not sure the other ones set the bar very high

  • Smooth Operator
    Smooth Operator 15 days ago +5

    If Will Smith wasn’t in this film it would’ve been a complete bomb

  • Eric Mugerwa
    Eric Mugerwa 15 days ago

    CGI expensive, a mouth move costs $250,000 - that why director said leave that ish open

  • Zed Kaizoku
    Zed Kaizoku 15 days ago

    One of my complaints is when Aladdin 2019 wished the genie to be free becoming humain with no power which he supposed to maintain his half semi cosmic power like in the continuation (so in short he was 100% when imprison and when freed he was 50%) if a sequel is planned the return of jafar they need the Genie half semi Cosmic power to fight abysmal & Jafar

  • Naytron 9000
    Naytron 9000 15 days ago +2

    Jeremy Jahns > Chris Stuckapenisinhisbuttandlikeditmann

  • BrandoCritic
    BrandoCritic 15 days ago

    Although this movie didn't blow my socks off, I have to give it to Will Smith! The dude crushed it!

  • Rassan Ferhadi
    Rassan Ferhadi 15 days ago

    Daddy daddy daddy daddydaddydaddydaddydaddydaddydaddy JEREMY

  • Kemuel Perez
    Kemuel Perez 15 days ago

    The cave should’ve had movement. They should have done the whole scene instead of it being part of the montage. Jafar was eh not so menacing. Blue genie sounded like he was reading lines. Kinda like his son did in Karate Kid. Normal genie was fine for some reason. The new jasmine song didn’t fit with the old songs. Great job with the friend like me sequence and the Prince Ali one. It was ok. It felt rushed sometimes. Now I did think of having return of Jafar made. That would give them more freedom.

  • queen j
    queen j 15 days ago

    I actually really liked the beginning because it had Jasmine already sneaking out of town rather than complain to wanting to be free. She actually executed it.

  • Peter Parker
    Peter Parker 15 days ago

    A hahaha

  • TeachMe4Free
    TeachMe4Free 15 days ago +1

    There was never a moment when I didn't feel like I was watching the Fresh Prince of Bel Air. His portrayal of the Genie seemed monotone and generic at best.

    The original Genie from the animation was based on Robin Williams style of comedy and acting. Will Smiths style of comedy simply doesn't work for the Genie.
    Will Smith can't do voices and he can't sing or rap. The rap made me cringe orange soda.

    I lasted about 22 mins before leaving, which is about your average length of a "Fresh Prince of Bel Air" episode. RIP

  • DKTheDarkKnight
    DKTheDarkKnight 15 days ago

    You went in with your mind already made up.