Aladdin - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 22, 2019
  • The newest Disney Live Action remake is a classic of the 90's. Here's my review for ALADDIN!
    #Aladdin
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 3 978

  • RodCornholio
    RodCornholio 16 days ago

    Poor acting (or directing of actors) - aside from Smith, naturally - in part due to poorly written dialogue. Awful, out-of-place, unmemorable song writing (other than "A Whole New World). Miscast....everyone, other than Smith and the monkey. Typical, modern-film, shit sandwich; great visual effects wrapped around mushy feces.

  • Trisha Leigh
    Trisha Leigh 29 days ago +2

    I rewatched the “Never had a friend like Me” & “Prince Ali” sequences several times. I laughed along, rooted for the heroes & heroines, fell in love & cried tears of joy at the end! Wonderful LIVE ACTION remake & thought Guy Ritchie was perfect. As for the original & Robin Williams, they cannot be outdone; true perfection! So it’s a different take. Just as Heath & Joaquin had different but amazing takes on the joker!

  • ElectroShock
    ElectroShock Month ago

    I hope Sonic is fixed in the actual movie. He looked fucking terrible in the first trailer. A humanoid hedgehog, wtf!!!!

  • QueenQuita
    QueenQuita Month ago

    Every movie reviewer I have watched did not like Aladdin that much. Maybe because we who aren't reviewers are just sitting back and enjoying the movie rather than thinking too much about every single thing. I honestly thought they did a perfect job bringing the animation to a fantasized reality. Jaafar could've been darker in demeanor but everything else was satisfying. Still great review. You're so funny.

  • Jvv ng Tondo
    Jvv ng Tondo Month ago

    Will Smith nailed it. We really need a black guy in a every movie for real xd

  • Hulk Gamer
    Hulk Gamer Month ago

    I liked this a lot. I thought everything they did with it. STOP comparing it so exact...it is different and GOOD. Like those people that ALWAYS say, "oh the book was better"

  • Dan-The-Squid
    Dan-The-Squid Month ago

    I never watched the original, I probably will sometime soon!

  • regina simpson
    regina simpson Month ago

    They fixed Sonic.

    • regina simpson
      regina simpson Month ago

      And cgi genie doesn't look exactly like that the whole time. I liked most of the movie. Didn't enjoy the new song and Jafar was meh for me but overall I really liked it.

    • regina simpson
      regina simpson Month ago

      The human form of Genie his blue outfit is an homage to the broadway look.

  • Eliya
    Eliya Month ago +1

    My criticisms and compliments are as listed. You can agree or disagree with them.
    Criticisms:
    1. Lack of character development. I particularly missed seeing the relationship between Jasmine and her father that you see in the animated version. I also would have liked to see more of Genie and Dalia's relationship progress throughout the film.
    2. Jafar lacks the amount of intimidation and evilness that the animated Jafar possesses.
    3. Each song had a drumbeat, and it took away from the beauty of the orchestra. I'm specifically talking about "Whole New World."
    4. The rearranged order of events and the addition and ommition of others.
    5. The lack of energy from the actors. Many seemed very unanimated.
    6. I was hoping to hear at least one song from the Broadway musical or deleted songs from the animated one, such as "Proud of Your Boy."
    7. Jasmine wants to be Sultan. Political correctness overriding historical facts.
    Compliments:
    1. The visuals were stunning! There was so much detail in every scene.
    2. The CGI. I couldn't believe how lifelike Rajah and Abu were, especially.
    3. The camaraderie between Dalia and Jasmine. That is an addition I enjoyed.
    4. The added lyrics to the existing songs. I enjoyed listening to those.
    5. "Speechless" was sung incredibly by Naomi. I was impressed there was no pre-recording or autotone for the song.
    6. The choreography... Wow. My favorite part of the film was the "Prince Ali" musical number for its energy, vividness and choreography. It was a lot of fun.

  • AWF AWF
    AWF AWF Month ago

    I rewatched this on Blu Rray. It was mediocre as hell--your review is spot on. Sadly.

  • rudeboymon
    rudeboymon Month ago

    It was entertaining from beginning to end. Will Smith pulled off the Genie role even though I really thought he was going to 💣. I didnt appreciate them changing the story at the end but it was fun to watch. I was never bored and the special effects were pretty damn good. I say smoke a joint and watch it 😎👍

  • Master Skywalker
    Master Skywalker Month ago

    Return of Jafar was great. I was a kid so I never noticed the animation

  • Jenna Alyse
    Jenna Alyse Month ago

    I didn't like this remake, I tried, but I felt like they shifted the plot in random places, the characters didn't draw you in, will smith was the better of characters though. The music was flat, they took the amazing film score it is and turned it into bland pop music. The song Jasmine sang in the end sounded like it was recycling Frozen's song Let It Go (especially the choreography). Anyways, it was disappointing. Can't top the original.

  • MLG GAMER
    MLG GAMER Month ago

    Wait a minute there was a sequel to Aladdin called Return of Jafar? How did I not know this? Also I mostly agree with you although I thought the dancing was pretty meh but I didn't mind the fast dancing it certainly is different.

  • Stevie J Reviews
    Stevie J Reviews Month ago +1

    I had the same thoughts mate. Also I thought the backgrounds should have been a bit more washed out so the bright costumes could really pop off the screen but it all kind of just blended in.

  • scotcheggable
    scotcheggable Month ago

    Your cave of wonders impressions sounds exactly like the precursor statues from Jak and Daxter Precursor legacy.

  • somebody13324
    somebody13324 Month ago

    It actually was fun, yes not even close to the original, but I had fun watching it aside from the guy playing Aladdin I found it good

  • XaviarLaCante
    XaviarLaCante Month ago +1

    Movie sucked!

  • Javier Corona
    Javier Corona 2 months ago

    Well am drunk right now so lets watch this shit

  • R Metal
    R Metal 2 months ago

    Disney should stop making live action movies. They are milking classic films.

  • ᕮᗰᗩᑎYT TIᕼSᗩ

    I thought Jafars first henchmen might've been Abis Mal.

  • Greg technic
    Greg technic 2 months ago

    Will Smith made the movie you ask me ..this is for the newer generation .. let appreciate the entertainment of the movie

  • Barbara
    Barbara 2 months ago

    Another thing was Jasmine in the animation I felt was much more clever, like the pole vault from one building to the next was her idea and they took that out!!! If these films nowadays go for strong women, why take that away from her?

  • Barbara
    Barbara 2 months ago

    Yea I just watched this movie and didn't really like it. There was no emotional impact. There were certain scenes in the animation film, like when Jasmines hand almost got chopped off, that were so intense. But in this movie it was so quick that you couldn't really absorb it. I didn't like what they did with Abu or Iago ( which was nothing) and Jafar just didn't have the same presense. I did like the Genie but thought Will Smith's singing was very weak.

  • Epodmusic17
    Epodmusic17 2 months ago

    I love that this was rated to be a good time if you're drunk when I wound up turning this movie into a drinking game in order to watch it.

  • Joel Matthew
    Joel Matthew 2 months ago

    One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Drink a lot and smoke a few blunts, it won't make the movie better but you may pass out and miss most of the awfulness.

  • Lumpy Stilskin
    Lumpy Stilskin 2 months ago

    Yeah i really liked this movie

  • Javier Carrillo
    Javier Carrillo 2 months ago +1

    This movie sucked compared to the animation. I didn’t really like the ending! I agree with everything you said!!

  • Yusef Taufiq
    Yusef Taufiq 2 months ago

    I agree 💯 it was enjoyable but overall fell flat for me

  • Taylor Fox
    Taylor Fox 2 months ago

    I agree 100% critique on point. I had high hopes and wanted to attach to this movie because I’m a Disney princess myself but I have to succumb to that this was just a very sub par execution.

  • Royhazel Edmonds
    Royhazel Edmonds 2 months ago

    Had some funny moments but it was really rushed. Some of the dialogue didn’t exactly land especially the hand maid’s, she was kind of weird with the genie lol

  • Keshav Batra
    Keshav Batra 2 months ago

    I actually loved this movie

  • Aaron Johnson
    Aaron Johnson 2 months ago

    this film is generally good, i liked the trailer, and it indeed may be a good companion to the animated version
    jafar is the only thing in the film at least for me that i was kinda iffy about, he kinda seemed a little less menacing than his animated equivelant, and More like a jerk uncle
    mena massoud and naomi scott seem to have terrific chemistry, in the same manner how linda larkin and scott weigner did in the animated version
    so i would say it is Purchase worthy with the animated version, but i do agree with your opinion that this film would be fun if you do or Don't have to be drunk

  • Zubair Baraskar
    Zubair Baraskar 2 months ago

    Cave of wonder face LMFAO

  • Alexandru
    Alexandru 2 months ago

    whaT? he didn't mention the fact that they changed Jasmine story and personality into a feminist. lol

  • Mueseek
    Mueseek 2 months ago

    I agree it felt rushed. Will Smith made the movie for me. The actor who plays Aladdin was cringy throughout in my opinion and his acting was questionable. How did Jasmine, being a strong intelligent woman who strives to be Sultan, not know that you need to pay with money in the beginning? She must surely know how society works and the consequences of stealing. The chemistry between Aladdin and Jasmine felt off. In my opinion the animated movie is better in almost every way.

  • Dylan’s Plush Show
    Dylan’s Plush Show 2 months ago +1

    I hated this movie, it sucked, one the worst movies I’ve ever seen

  • marcpatrol
    marcpatrol 2 months ago

    You have to give us a review NOT a comparison

  • Jacob Santeria
    Jacob Santeria 2 months ago

    Thank you. I will not watch this film now. Disney is running out of ideas! 😂

  • Daniel Arcilla
    Daniel Arcilla 2 months ago +1

    I really don't understand why they did not cast Snoop Dog as Jafar

  • Artur V
    Artur V 2 months ago

    I think this movie was great. This guy is looking for something bad to say Just because of the stupid critics

  • Ukko Clap
    Ukko Clap 2 months ago

    I’m honestly disappointed in the Aladdin actor i just think he was not the right actor to play alladin. Couldn’t really feel him bringing the character forward. Will smith did a good job on genie though. I still enjoyed the movie and the songs.

  • Markallen Garcia
    Markallen Garcia 2 months ago

    I highly disliked this remake. The change of Jasmine's character to a glory-seeking diva negatively affected the whole movie. For example, the fact that Jasmine is already mingling on the streets and engaged in foreign politics from the start totally contradicts the iconic "A Whole New World" carpet ride scene and strips it of any soul and purpose. Aladdin had no real convincing reason to like her. The scene becomes just a cute little interlude of deception on Aladdin's part, whereas the original point was to show that Aladdin is a bold adventurer with a good heart whether he's a prince or a lowly street guy.

  • Alan Hanna
    Alan Hanna 2 months ago

    I will never watched the remake

  • Alan Hanna
    Alan Hanna 2 months ago

    crap movie

  • Farid Pahlevan
    Farid Pahlevan 2 months ago +1

    i don't think if you got this!you just spoil the movie! and the fact that everyone loved the movie but it was a mixed bag for you is embarrassing 😂

  • Disney65Fan
    Disney65Fan 2 months ago

    Love this film

  • IC
    IC 2 months ago

    Disney are like Nintendo , recycling their original classics in shoddy updates that suck ass.

  • Cerberus 8513
    Cerberus 8513 2 months ago +5

    I liked Aladdin 2019 and will smith was good as the genie 🧞‍♂️🧞‍♀️ but 1992 was a little better 👌

  • Banana Child
    Banana Child 2 months ago

    *Pros:*
    1. The visuals are very beautiful to look at.
    *Cons:*
    1. The musical sequence felt dull and slow (Though I will commend the
    faithfulness of Mena Massoud's and Naomi Scott's singing voice to the
    original 1997 Aladdin, especially Massoud's)
    2. Jaafar looks like a total wimp when compared to the (obviously) evil,
    menacing and charismatic cartoon Jaafar.
    3. A lot of character building scenes from the original were trimmed in
    the remake and was replaced with a bunch of unnecessary newly written
    scenes which added an extra (stretched) 30-minutes of boring filler to
    the movie.

  • Hari S
    Hari S 2 months ago

    They tried to develop Jasmine to a bit deeper but don't give a shit about Aladdin's character. He's less developed in the live-action than the animation. Should've given him a backstory or dug into his past more. Also, Jaraffar is just garbage casting.

  • Akshay Jumani
    Akshay Jumani 3 months ago

    Just watched it yesterday, I did enjoy the added gravitas they have to Jasmine. Instead of being a princess looking for a prince she's actually someone with motivations to lead her people. Will Smith's Genie is fun in some scenes, his romantic comedy and reaction scenes were good. I also liked the new Dalia character.
    What I didn't like was the poor rendition of Jafar (didn't feel like a threat), lack of certain elements from the original (Genie's transformations and reactions, as pointed out, the cave, a well rounded Iago, the hourglass). It would have been better if they went for a darker colour tone as well, to match that mysterious Arabian vibe of the original. This one had the colours of a Disney channel tv show.

  • Syed Shah Nawaz Ali
    Syed Shah Nawaz Ali 3 months ago

    At least critics and fans online have forced the movie makers to not white wash all of characters.
    They did do everything possible to hide religion. When its clear that Arabian Nights is from Muslim Iraq times.
    Probably no one knows this but FYI
    Jaffar marriage was shown as Christian marriage
    In Islamic marriage the lady is asked first for her consent and she signs the marriage contract.
    But here it was shown wrong when Jaffar was asked first.
    But rest is all fine at least the animated song blunder did not happen. LOL
    So no complains. I enjoyed it can't believe it.

  • StruckdownButNotdestroyed 1980

    Not me. watching this Aladdin felt like eating a rubber chicken.

  • Sarah
    Sarah 3 months ago

    Will Smith was great but his singing not so much 🙃

  • WL Chek
    WL Chek 3 months ago

    I only know Jasmine sings like Queen Elsa, and Jafar's pet is like Soundwave's Laserbeak.

  • Oto Tanase
    Oto Tanase 3 months ago

    I like it it was good fun... still enjoyed tho the animation

  • fida80
    fida80 3 months ago

    It's just ok movie , I am glad I didn't watched in cinema

  • Darren McDaid
    Darren McDaid 3 months ago

    I for one thought this was a great. Compared to Lion King disaster.

  • Zara khan
    Zara khan 3 months ago

    I just checked a stupid 2014 movie Neighbours that gave me headache , had 72% score on rotten tomatoes but Aladdin 2019 had 57%