The Hateful Eight - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 21, 2015
  • Please visit www.crunchyroll.com/ChrisStuckmann for 30 Days Free!
    FACEBOOK: facebook.com/ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: twitter.com/Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews The Hateful Eight, starring Samuel L. Jackson, Kurt Russell, Walton Goggins, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Tim Roth, Michael Madsen, Bruce Dern, Demian Bichir. Directed by Quentin Tarantino.
  • MoviesMovies

Comments • 2 908

  • copper redd
    copper redd 54 minutes ago

    Do the green mile

  • DK Dempcey Knight DK

    Really dislike Westerns and avoided this movie like a plague. I didn't know it was a Quentin T movie. I don't remember why I decided to watch the movies, likely I wanted to watch something new. Doesn't really "feel" like a western, the eight could just as soon be camping or perhaps I become so enthralled in the dialog that I don't notice that it is a western? Like most all of Quentin T movies, I loved this one as well.

  • John nacho
    John nacho 6 days ago

    The part about the song from the thing was really cool.

  • Steve Craig
    Steve Craig 7 days ago

    I loved this movie !
    It wasn't the usual good guy wins and gets the girl.
    Spoiler alert..
    .
    .
    .
    Everybody in this movie, Dies.

  • shankar TN
    shankar TN 10 days ago

    Masterpiece

  • Liam Goddard
    Liam Goddard 14 days ago

    Can u review reservoir dogs

  • Jacob
    Jacob 17 days ago

    The thing about this movie is Quentin Tarantino was bragging about his fancy 70 mm camera that he was using and he wasted it. There was literally no point in filming it that way if you’re going to have 98% of the movie filmed inside a cabin. Speaking of being wasteful he had moricone on his music just to play a couple songs during the movie. You can’t even remember any of the music after you watch the movie. Tarantino joined his fanboys in sucking his own dick on this blunder

  • Poligraf Poligrafovich Sharikov

    I loved the first 2 hours of this film, but once they dropped the "who dun it" angle and went with the "most of them were in on it" reveal; I felt it was a little underwhelming. Everything passed that point just felt like it was going through the motions.
    Inglorious Basterds: Ended with Eli Roth shooting Hitler's face into a thousand pieces with a machine gun moments before being blown to pieces himself, and Brad Pitt carving a swastika into Christoph Waltz's forehead. Epic.
    Django Unchained: Ended with Jamie Foxx castrating Walton Goggins with a bullet, knee-capping Sam Jackson and blowing a white plantation house to smithereens with the latter screaming obscenities inside. Classic.
    Hateful Eight: Ends with Walton Goggins and Sammy J bleeding to death alone on a bed after hanging Jennifer Jason Leigh from the rafters...yeah, just seems a bit tame by comparison.
    Also, I don't mind Tarantino trying to emulate David Lean films with the whole "3-hour long picture complete with overture and intermission screens, shot on 70mm film" thing; but a compelling story makes films such as Lawrence of Arabia and Doctor Zhivago more memorable than how wide the panoramic shots are.

  • Neva Herdamee
    Neva Herdamee 23 days ago

    I loved Beastiality when I was a kid too.

  • Philip Rodriguez
    Philip Rodriguez Month ago

    A slow, bore of a movie with unconvincing character interactions. Far from good IMO

  • BlueBadgerGamer
    BlueBadgerGamer Month ago

    There are at least three songs from the thing in this.
    Eternity
    Beastiality
    I don't know the name of the third but it plays when they find the dead Norwegian and when they find the orginal UFO

  • Nate DS
    Nate DS Month ago

    That 70 milimeter film is really interesting. Cant wait to see it. Im gonna say there wont be any imax scenes.

  • Bernardo Padilla Baez

    can you review all tarantino movies please????

  • night on the tiles
    night on the tiles Month ago

    Loved it.. Despite Alot of people not liking it (fools) great characters as usual.. Great script.. Just love tarantino films..Kurt Russell is brilliant same as dern Samuel Roth etc

  • DirtyDinner24
    DirtyDinner24 Month ago

    Strange that he didn’t even mention Leigh

  • Captain Michael J. Caboose

    The Hateful Eight is great just not Tarantino’s best

  • louis Odell
    louis Odell Month ago

    who else is here now cos its on netflix?

  • Frederico Pinto
    Frederico Pinto Month ago

    Thought it was the worst Tarantino movie. 1. Kill Bill Vol2 2. Inglourious Basterds 3. Reservoir Dogs 4. Pulp Fiction 5. Django Unchained 6. Kill Bill Vol 1 7. Jackie Brown 8. Hateful 8

  • Chai DK
    Chai DK Month ago

    best movie ever.. I kept watching it so many times, especially, the scene on the big black dingus... Really make me lmao ahahahah

  • cbudzyn
    cbudzyn 2 months ago

    I luv this movie

  • Luke Cahill
    Luke Cahill 2 months ago

    My favorite Tarantino movie 😍

  • sochuiwon khapai
    sochuiwon khapai 2 months ago

    that did not feel like 3 hours great movie...but gotta admit i was a bit grossed out especially that part where sam l jackson tells that story about that son of a gun

  • Tuff Gong
    Tuff Gong 2 months ago

    Bestiality is not a song!?!...it’s a piece of music!
    Also
    IMO, Tarantino could have made the most of The Maestro’s extraordinary skills instead of also using old pop songs and Roy Orbison song etc.

  • Tuff Gong
    Tuff Gong 2 months ago

    You guys having a bounty hunters picnic!?

  • lilith lee
    lilith lee 2 months ago

    I loved this movie way more than Django Unchained actually , Tarantino is the best now all his movies are good at least .
    You forgot Jennifer Jason Leigh , that bitch was crazy

  • Helaric
    Helaric 2 months ago

    This film felt very Agatha Christie to me, with the narrator commentating over a scene and the Bounty Hunter smartly interrogating the men, really made it feel like a detective quiz for the audience which made it exciting, engaging and intense. You don't really see many movies doing that nowadays so I gotta commend The Hateful Eight for doing so.

  • Lou Vegas
    Lou Vegas 2 months ago

    So glad somebody liked this beside me. Still, best QT is Pulp Fiction and 2nd best is Inglorious Basterds. Both masterpieces.

  • Alexis Athan
    Alexis Athan 2 months ago

    Is that a cowboy bebop shirt?

  • jaydawg116
    jaydawg116 2 months ago

    So you touch upon the score for the thing that wasn't used in the original film that WAS implemented in this film yet don't draw the comparison to the actual themes and tonal similarities to the thing? Come on Chris! This is totally an homage to that movie- who dunnit, social paranoia, Kurt russel, sacrificing the entire cast to make sure the culprit cannot escape the snowy landscape. This movie is 100% a love letter to the thing. Maybe 95.

  • Josh
    Josh 3 months ago

    Amazing acting, dialogue, cinematography, etc. top 3 Tarantino movie easy, right behind pulp fiction and inglorious bastards

  • Arnmazing
    Arnmazing 3 months ago

    I'll be double dog damn

  • Maddox Jackson
    Maddox Jackson 3 months ago

    What does Marsellus Wallace look like?

  • Axo S
    Axo S 3 months ago

    how come you haven't done a video on kill bill yet

  • Troy Thomas
    Troy Thomas 3 months ago

    The biggest piece of lazy excrement and waste of celluloid and talent in film history, and I'm a big Tarantino fan.

  • Sean B
    Sean B 3 months ago

    Every Quentin Tarantino movie has a long, masterfully crafted build up that keeps you on the edge of your seat, and towards the end your are met with multiple emotions in a fast paced climax, which leaves you grinning like an idiot when the movie ends. Such a satisfying ending and unexpected gory and gruesome plot twist makes this movie a must see for a true cinema connoisseur

  • shahed bin-karim
    shahed bin-karim 3 months ago

    I didn't like this movie the first time I watched it, which is strange, because I am a huge fan of Tarantino's filmmaking style. I surprised myself on not liking it on my first watch. Probably the length of the movie was an issue, not sure. I will give it another go.

  • Vanilla Nipple
    Vanilla Nipple 3 months ago

    Fun fact: There's a quick moment in the film where Kurt Russell's character smashes a guitar. The guitar was an 1870 Martin model on loan from Martin Guitar museum and was intended to be switched out for a stunt guitar. Unfortunately no one actually switched the guitar and it was totally destroyed.

  • Simon B
    Simon B 4 months ago

    The final is so good. One of the best ending I ever saw.

  • Papa Boat
    Papa Boat 4 months ago

    it felt more like mafia

  • Derva Kommt von hinten
    Derva Kommt von hinten 4 months ago

    its a comedy, drama etc? its a snore fest. didnt have to laugh once, and its no drama if you dont care for ANY of the characters...

  • TheUrbanLoner
    TheUrbanLoner 4 months ago

    Movie was completely pointless.

  • Tyrant
    Tyrant 4 months ago

    Holy shit the overly scripted dialogue in his films are so fucking stupid. I'm sorry, has this director on adderall never had a conversation with a real human being before.

  • Yautja Prime
    Yautja Prime 4 months ago

    I don't know what intermission you're talking about. There wasn't one in the movie and to say the great Russel was "likable" is suspect. Did you like him and think he was a great guy as Stunt Man Mike too? Come on...

  • Steven Lewis
    Steven Lewis 4 months ago

    Didn’t like this movie. I left it feeling uncomfortable and bad. But then again I was 14 at the time and preferred happy endings.

    • Steven Lewis
      Steven Lewis 4 months ago

      Judas yep, 16 gonna turn 17 soon. And yes my life actually has drastically changed.

    • Tyrant
      Tyrant 4 months ago

      So you're what, 16 now? Lol has your life drastically changed.

  • Ian Christopher
    Ian Christopher 4 months ago

    Some facts about The H8ful Eight and Tarantino. Main inspirations The Thing and Rio Bravo. John Ruth based on John Wayne's John T. Chance. Daisy Domergue is inspired by 1940s actress Faith Domergue and Oswaldo Mowbray by actor Alan Mowbray who starred in classic westerns like My Darling Clementine same goes with Inglourious Basterds Emmanuelle Mimieux is taken from the name of actress Yvette Mimieux who starred in The Time Machine in 1960 alongside Rod Taylor who starred in Inglourious Basterds as Winston Churchill.Major Marquis Warren based on the name of real screenwriter/director Charles Marquis Warren who wrote classic westerns in the 1950s like Pony Express starring Charlton Heston and it shares similarities with The Hateful Eight.English Pete Hickox taken from the name of english director Douglas Hickox who made Zulu Dawn which the soundtrack for this movie was used in Inglourious Basterds.

  • reasonvsmyth
    reasonvsmyth 5 months ago

    See my channel for a full review of why I hated the Hateful 8.

  • Max Isola
    Max Isola 5 months ago

    Not only did Tarantino use the song from The Thing, The Hateful Eight also stars Kurt Russell in a group of suspicious characters in the middle of a blizzard.

  • Xxx Tentacion
    Xxx Tentacion 5 months ago

    Quentin Tarantino at hes finest. Its a 3 hours movie i know but its worth every second of it.

  • Hypatia Stanhope
    Hypatia Stanhope 5 months ago

    His two spagette western wannabe films are his best , I'm a spagette western fanatic lol hatfull 8 was purely amazing , his version of django was a game changer !

  • Kai
    Kai 5 months ago

    Can you please do a review of Once Upon a Time in the West

  • Gwarguts
    Gwarguts 5 months ago +2

    I would love to wipe my memory of this film to watch it again

  • CallMe EJ
    CallMe EJ 5 months ago

    I liked the movie, but damn was it dark. I mean every single character is quite despicable, the only two you can sort of root for is Russels and Hoggins characters, and those two were also scumbags. But hey it really gives an accurate portrayal of the wild west, and I kind of respect that. It's a movie about shitty and "fairly" shitty people in a shitty situation. Not as great as Pulp Fiction and Inglorious Bastards (just my opinion) but I still really enjoyed it, I found it captivating form start to finish, though the end truly is quite grisly haha.

  • artawesome30
    artawesome30 5 months ago

    I just watched this film. 3 hours long, set mostly in one location (that location being a small room, no less), with a plot comprised of little else but verbal exchanges. And yet, scarcely a boring moment throughout the whole fucking thing. Like seriously, how the fuck does someone pull that off? I never once felt the runtime. Even when it ended, I wanted more. Such a fantastic film!

  • Matthew Alan Herriott
    Matthew Alan Herriott 5 months ago

    well deserved score :)

  • Intoxicated Gray Hulk aka Mr. Fixit

    I watched this film again yesterday. I enjoyed it even more than the first time. Love Tarantino's work.

  • Approved Dust
    Approved Dust 5 months ago

    Boring

  • David M. Johnston
    David M. Johnston 5 months ago

    Saddly this movie just REEKS of Tarantino...

    • Tyrant
      Tyrant 4 months ago

      I don't see how people don't notice that in his movies. I listen to the dialogue and just think to myself who the fuck talks like this?

  • valerie moore
    valerie moore 5 months ago

    I love the The sheriff.

  • Ye Lin Aung
    Ye Lin Aung 5 months ago

    holy crap. that t-shirt

  • Robb Stark 55
    Robb Stark 55 6 months ago

    By far one of my fav movies of all time

  • lvceline
    lvceline 6 months ago

    I'm shocked he raved so much about the movie and didn't say a word about Jennifer Jason Leigh. Her performance was stunning! To be fair, there were so many standouts it's hard to mention everyone, but I saw the movie and absolutely loved it as well, this was a really enjoyable movie and there were no weak performances in my opinion.

  • nicolás blr
    nicolás blr 6 months ago

    I fucking love that shirt

  • Jacob Young
    Jacob Young 6 months ago

    The Thing huh?

  • DISCO-INFERNO-70
    DISCO-INFERNO-70 6 months ago +63

    This is Tarantino's BEST film.

  • The Sabluke
    The Sabluke 6 months ago

    There’s 9 people

  • The Sabature
    The Sabature 6 months ago

    Yea whatever , hateful eight , I hated it .

  • GTbowhunter90
    GTbowhunter90 6 months ago

    My only problem with this film is that Jackson never once said "MOTHERFUCKA"... other than that 10/10

  • Attributelessman
    Attributelessman 6 months ago

    Am I the only one that just thought Demián Bichir was hilarious and amazing in every single scene he was in? Spoiler alert: He died too fucking soon.

  • nicodimus2222
    nicodimus2222 6 months ago

    Goggins stole this entire movie.

  • Ricardo Corchado
    Ricardo Corchado 7 months ago

    Hears Sergio Moriconi's name thinks of ecstasy of gold, the good the bad and the ugly theme and the score for the 3 way dual

  • PutainMoi _
    PutainMoi _ 7 months ago

    Loved this movie

  • kenza abdi
    kenza abdi 7 months ago

    Wow. Sounds like a great movie. You made me really interested in it

  • Recht_voor_zijn_raap
    Recht_voor_zijn_raap 7 months ago

    Just like EVERY Tarantino movie this is an absolute masterpiece... (does that man ever make bad movies?)

  • infodrumm
    infodrumm 7 months ago

    might be the greatest movie of all time

  • Thagomizer
    Thagomizer 7 months ago

    No, this isn't a masterpiece. It's a western remake of Reservoir Dogs.

  • SloppyJoe TheCat
    SloppyJoe TheCat 7 months ago

    Such a good movie I just watched it yesterday

  • Joostin Kookel
    Joostin Kookel 7 months ago

    will never forget the crunchy roll days. demz were some fine promos fer what i memba.

  • Sasa B.
    Sasa B. 7 months ago

    For some reason I really enjoyed this film. I feel like it’s constructed just like a classic drama - like a written play. And it’s actually made just like that, which makes it so stylish and just absolutely awesome and with an interesting story that you just want to continue to follow.

  • MrMaskedMan
    MrMaskedMan 7 months ago

    This movie is adequate to watch nothing more nothing less

  • Bree Casillas
    Bree Casillas 8 months ago +3

    Hahah this movie made me feel so uncomfortable

    • Luke Cahill
      Luke Cahill 2 months ago

      Bree Casillas is that a good thing or a bad thing?

  • Continuum Transfunctioner

    ICY... COLD.... DIALOGUE!!

  • 3rd Gunman
    3rd Gunman 8 months ago

    Movie sucked....Boring pretentious, winking mess celebrating gratuitous everything just like Ingorious Basterds.
    Dude is a seriously over rated direcor.

  • Andrew Swanson
    Andrew Swanson 8 months ago

    The movie changed from a drama to a comedy when Sam L. Nigga Jackson said "... my big, black pecker..."

  • Jackal
    Jackal 8 months ago

    It’s too bad he’s only making two more films, let’s hope they’re his best.

  • Stephanie Baca
    Stephanie Baca 8 months ago

    Tarantino is just brilliant! My favorite director ever ! Just ever! Love this movie ! Only true artists know who a true artist is!👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

  • Nelson martinez
    Nelson martinez 8 months ago

    I’m fuckin shook how did he not give this film an A+

  • big kahuna burger
    big kahuna burger 8 months ago

    Love Clue the game, love the film and love the hateful eight

  • The Voice of Reason
    The Voice of Reason 8 months ago

    Too long and too stupid.

  • Mr. Realistic
    Mr. Realistic 9 months ago

    Sometimes i feel like Chris finds a tiny flaw in a movie so he doesn’t have to give it an A+

  • Disco Robot
    Disco Robot 9 months ago

    Damian bechir? That's the guy that had 3 lines right? Same with Tim Roth, barely a character.
    For the most part I like Quentin Tarantino, however this movie didn't do it for me. I guess a lot of people just need little disparate homages all over the place to look past serious character and plot inconsistencies and plot shortcomings. This just was not a good movie from any standpoint.

  • Teboski78
    Teboski78 9 months ago

    You only need to hang mean bastards. But mean bastards, you need to hang.

  • Factual Opinion
    Factual Opinion 9 months ago

    big black pecker....

  • Kratos King
    Kratos King 9 months ago

    Did he just say Ennio Morricone was the best composer who ever lived?...Ummm correction Albus Dumble- Hans Zimmer is the best sorce- composer who ever lived!

  • TheGamingCrab
    TheGamingCrab 9 months ago

    It’s 2 hours and 45 Minutes actually

  • Marvel Stark
    Marvel Stark 9 months ago

    Chris, please do a detailed analysis of either Hateful Eight and Neon Demon. Similar to what you did for Signs and Drive and Only God Forgives

  • Hamphield D. Phoenix
    Hamphield D. Phoenix 9 months ago

    since the "The Mission" theme, I love Ennio Morricone...
    and I so fucking love the core of this movie...
    gods I love Tarantino...

  • Crappy Critic
    Crappy Critic 9 months ago

    The score was fucking awesome. The title screen is kinnda eerie since the stage coach and everyone in it is literally going to their eminent death. Kinda fucked up if you ask me.

  • Adam Dem
    Adam Dem 9 months ago

    Sell out

  • Nathan M.
    Nathan M. 9 months ago

    I just watched it on Netflix... Totally agree! Loved it!

  • darkstarVIII
    darkstarVIII 9 months ago +2

    Some people really don't get this movie.... it was extremely political. People are pawns regardless of color, regardless of social status and in the end all are guilty of wrong doing at some point. Whether it be through the mistreatment of others or the aid in their wrong doings to gain a level of respect.