The Revenant - movie review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 7, 2016
  • Alejandro González Iñárritu bring us a tale of willpower as Leonardo DiCaprio gives us yet another powerful performance. Jeremy reviews "The Revenant"!

    See more videos by Jeremy here: tvclip.biz/user/JeremyJahns
    Follow Jeremy on Twitter: JeremyJahns
    Friend Jeremy on Facebook: RealJeremyJahns
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 2 654

  • Steve Rattle
    Steve Rattle 2 months ago

    Gleeson is soft in this movie for a captain

  • Michael S
    Michael S 2 months ago +1

    This is a great movie one of the best ever in my opinion. This is a fantastically shot and well made and it kept me on the edge the hole time.

  • Jennifer Greenfield
    Jennifer Greenfield 3 months ago

    The revenant is awsometacular

  • Joe Ezequile
    Joe Ezequile 4 months ago

    CinemaSins video on this was pretty crap

  • Kunisake
    Kunisake 4 months ago

    I absolutely loved this movie. Leonardo DiCaprio has deserved Oscars in the past, but he definitely deserved one for this. Not only is the acting amazing, the story is just great. "You killed my boy and left me dead. I'm going to kill you now." I don't wanna sound cringey but, that's savage!

  • maddy7
    maddy7 6 months ago

    IMO Richard Deakins did a far superior job of Cinematography for Sicaro. I preferred Sicario over The Revenant. I do have to agree with Jeremy that DiCaprio has given stellar performances for which he was overlooked; gr8 actor.

  • Toomanyweasels
    Toomanyweasels 6 months ago

    3:32 "Sargent Eyebrows" lol 😂

  • Nate DS
    Nate DS 7 months ago

    Can’t think of anyone who’s won 4 oscars(all of which being one of the big 5 oscars) in 2 years and COMPLETELY deserved it. Inaritu knows his shit.

  • Alfashiion Creary
    Alfashiion Creary 10 months ago

    I think that the wild native indians that hunted them down, deserved an oscar. Stella job they did potraying themselves.

  • Antonio Ramirez
    Antonio Ramirez 10 months ago

    Just bought this movie on 4k uhd and yea amazing and looks godam beautiful!!

  • D H
    D H 11 months ago

    “I won’t let go.”
    Lets go of Jack...

  • Eric Rock
    Eric Rock 11 months ago

    My only complaint is that Leonardo DiCaprio shouldn't have been selected. He's an amazing actor. Incredibly gifted, but this part wasn't for him.

  • Daniel Hernandez
    Daniel Hernandez 11 months ago

    I like how this money got Leo and Ton Hardy their first Oscars!!

  • Dominic Matich
    Dominic Matich 11 months ago

    How is it not an awesometacular?

  • minus148
    minus148 Year ago

    Hey Ross,,, put the case of beer down...this movie is awesome!

  • Atanu Chakravarty

    WHY THE F*** WOULD U SPOIL THIS GR8 MOVIE JEREMY! U totally spoiled Dicaprio's son getting killed by Hardy and didn't even put up spoiler warning. This is the first time I feel this much angry with u. Normally I am a big fan of ur videos.

  • Karanvir Kooner
    Karanvir Kooner Year ago

    Tom Hardy strangled the director

  • Candace Colon-Rivera

    My jaw is on the damn floor. Now, I don’t wanna come off like a ageists, but I can’t help but assume the comments about the movie being slow, boring or being a shit story, are people who are just WAY to young to appreciate it. The same people who love all of the 163773 Fast & The Furious bullshit or the 474&36 Transformer movies 🙄

  • Shane Gorton
    Shane Gorton Year ago

    Ugh, you skipped over all of the reasons this movie sucked. Bloated plot, with way too much emphasis on shock instead of substance. If this was 90 min long, and all the nonsense was cut out, and the gratuitous violence was used to help the story (instead of hold up the plot for the sake of blood), then this would have been a great movie. The rape scene was obscene and COMPLETELY unnecessary. This movie sucks

  • Iconic Movie Reviews

    Great review as always. I was scared spitless during the bear scene!

  • MOS13
    MOS13 Year ago

    I would have to say awesometacular for this one.

  • tSp289
    tSp289 Year ago

    Anyone else get the feeling that Tom Hardy's character was basically Sgt. Barnes from Platoon? Same accent, scarred face, attitude to indigenous population and morality, same eventual manful resignation to his fate.

  • Inmate No. 010100

    The soundtrack to this movie is amazing

  • Rull Mourn
    Rull Mourn Year ago +1

    gawd you're the worst and most annoying piece of shit on youtube

  • Dylan Allen
    Dylan Allen Year ago

    probably should’ve gave a spoiler warning lol

  • Michael Medcalf
    Michael Medcalf Year ago

    Good movie. Leonardo's performance impressed me because it was great, but not in the way I expected.

  • Austin Stewart
    Austin Stewart Year ago

    Im pretty sure this is based on a real story

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald Year ago

    I thought this movie was fantastic, Leonardo DiCaprio gave a great performance, which is really saying something considering after he gets attacked by the bear he doesn’t really have much dialogue for a while, just a lot of moaning and grunting, the cinematography was gorgeous, the best I’ve seen in a while, Tom Hardy was great as well and my word the bear scene was intense, as well as beautifully shot, no multiple cuts or angle changes of any kind, just a long, steady, unbroken take showing the attack. My only real issue with the movie is that similar to 127 Hours, another survival movie that I really enjoyed, sometimes it can get a bit too pretentious and a bit too artsy for my taste, I would’ve preferred it if they just took that stuff out and just focused on the survival element of the film, but that’s my only real issue, this is still a fantastic movie. 9/10

  • Benjayi
    Benjayi Year ago

    Personally, I found that the film felt like Leonardo DiCaprio crawling around in the snow for a few hours, liked the bear scene though.

  • Mister Calamity
    Mister Calamity Year ago

    This is a great film on all levels. My only complaint is that they changed the plot device from the book in the film adaptation (and added characters).
    The protagonist did not have a son in the book, and his drive for revenge was motivated else wise.
    It’s such an overall small portion of the movie, that it isn’t a dealbreaker, but I did like the book’s plot device and protagonist’s motivation more so than I did the film’s.
    I don’t want to go into further detail, as if someone wants to read the book, I’m not spoiling anything more.
    I loved the book, I loved the movie, and the only complaint that I have is really minor, and inconsequential to the film as a whole, overall.
    Definitely worth multiple viewings.

  • Curtis Eisenbeis
    Curtis Eisenbeis Year ago

    I'm sorry if you guys loved this movie, but for what ever reason that I cant figure out why its liked so much. I watched 1 hour and 30 mins of the film, and I never got a solid point where I got hooked into it. The bear scene was exciting, but after 1 hour and 30 mins I was easily able to decide if I wasn't excited yet, then I wasn't going to be. I got frustrated and went to rottentomatos to see if everyone else felt the same, and it had a solid 84. Confused, I've been watching a lot of survival shows lately. Maybe the reason I didn't like it is cause I was burnt out on survival television. I'm not entirely sure why I didn't like it, when I see a movie have a 84 on it I would expect it too be good. Maybe I didn't enjoy it because their wasn't any happy or joyful moments just low or depressing vibes. And I also felt like the movie kinda dragged on a little long. Their was a lot of completely pointless parts too in it that didn't even connect to anything relevant in the movie. Figuring out names was also a challenge. From the start of the movie I made a commitment to pay extra close attention so I don't miss anything, I wasn't able to keep track of names. I also remembered two characters looked extremely similar and I couldn't figure out who was who. Apologize to all that loved it, but this wasn't my kind of movie I guess.

  • Max the Scarecrow

    The most realistic revenge movie I have watched is Blue Ruin.

  • Alden’s World
    Alden’s World Year ago

    It was great

  • David Roudebush
    David Roudebush Year ago

    I love it

  • Gokul Darshan
    Gokul Darshan 2 years ago

    How to start youtube chanel with some more suscriber ??????

  • thebomb2116
    thebomb2116 2 years ago

    The Revenant is overrated and overall a boring movie. I guarantee you'll never see it on cable television because it's not entertaining. We forget that most people watch a movie to be entertained. DiCaprio has had way better movies.

  • Deus Cognito
    Deus Cognito 2 years ago

    The only movie that I've been totally immersed in for a LONG time.

  • Animeguy
    Animeguy 2 years ago

    Leonardo DiCaprio in his best

  • TenTonNuke
    TenTonNuke 2 years ago +1

    Screw the Oscar. Leonardo DiCaprio deserves a Lifetime Achievement Award for all he's given us.

  • Marcus Ciantar
    Marcus Ciantar 2 years ago

    He wasn't impervious to hypothermia in Titanic though :')

  • Zac Irvin
    Zac Irvin 2 years ago

    This movie is without a doubt Awesometacular.

  • blaxk pyramid
    blaxk pyramid 2 years ago

    the revenant 😊👍💖💗😍😘🔥

  • Mayur Gangawane
    Mayur Gangawane 2 years ago

    Am I the only one who didn't like this movie as much as everyone hyped it? I mean the acting from both of them was fucking awesome but the story wasn't that great (ik it's based on true events and shit) and they failed miserably at making us care for his son and his wife

  • For Kek
    For Kek 2 years ago

    The best movie of 2015

  • Tekena igoni
    Tekena igoni 2 years ago

    Y the spoilers man?

  • Tekena igoni
    Tekena igoni 2 years ago

    This is the best Jeremy jahns review I have seen. Well done man, Good job.

  • Isaac Campos
    Isaac Campos 2 years ago

    My favorite movie ever was Forrest Gump, but now it's the Revenant.

  • Ev R
    Ev R 2 years ago

    The only time I was surprised he didn't say Awesometacular

  • Unitas
    Unitas 2 years ago

    I walked into the Twilight Zone, this movie has nothing bad said about it, but didn't get Awesometacular, I don't care, but that's kinda intriguing

  • Michael Medcalf
    Michael Medcalf 2 years ago

    This is the best review channel on TVclip. You are great, Jeremy. Is there any chance that you would start doing reviews of Scorsese films like Taxi Driver, Casino and The Departed? Thank you.

  • Mihir Patel
    Mihir Patel 2 years ago +2

    I found this movie sooooooo booooring.

    • blaxk pyramid
      blaxk pyramid 2 years ago +2

      SendMeNoodles that's true not everyone can enjoy the movie

    • SendMeNoodles
      SendMeNoodles 2 years ago +9

      It's definitely not for everyone but I loved it.

  • Casey Smith
    Casey Smith 2 years ago +2

    This movie is amazing. One of my favorites of all time.

  • Fly Hacks
    Fly Hacks 2 years ago

    This was my favorite movie of 2015

  • Kimberly Smith
    Kimberly Smith 3 years ago

    you and cinemasins should work together.

  • Tobi Hassan
    Tobi Hassan 3 years ago +1

    spoiled it in the first 55 seconds of reviewing it. well done... idiot

  • house music
    house music 3 years ago +1

    loved it.. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

  • Wavester64
    Wavester64 3 years ago +1

    Just saw this movie - very entertaining. Special effects were great - so was the cinematography. The first attack scene and the bear scene was incredible!

  • and_drew_123
    and_drew_123 3 years ago

    WELL YOU'RE NOT HARDCORE
    UNLESS YOU LIVE HARDCORE
    AND THE LEGEND OF THE REVENANT WAS WAY HARDCORE!!!

  • Alucard, More Awesome Than Chuck Norris!

    Hey, Jeremy. Can you check out Hellsing and Hellsing Ultimate?

  • Mr J
    Mr J 3 years ago +60

    I think it deserves an "AWESOMETACULAR"

    • AlexG67
      AlexG67 2 years ago +1

      Ajayz I agree this movie is on a whole nother level

    • Nick Sketch
      Nick Sketch 3 years ago +2

      Ajayz
      Yeah Gardians Of The Galaxy, and The Revenant, are the movies that should have gotten Awesometacular, instead they got an inferior rating to Awesometacular, which pissed me off abit,