Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 678

  • Moushka Gaming
    Moushka Gaming 14 days ago

    I think the way Harris and Gambon play dumbledore is perfect for the shift in feel of the movies, Richard Harris is perfect for the wonderful magical feeling about harry learning and experiencing childhood wonders. Michael Gambon shows how now Voldermort is a thing and harry needs to grow into large boots that the magical society has laid out for him and that he now has a worlds responsibility placed on his shoulders

  • Tyler Z
    Tyler Z 18 days ago

    Holy shit this video was uploaded on the 13th anniversary of the film's release.
    Wicked.

  • Dom N
    Dom N 23 days ago

    Just noticed that Jeremy is wearing an Overwatch T-shirt

  • NeverMindGaming
    NeverMindGaming Month ago

    I saw this in theaters

  • Lisa Hood
    Lisa Hood Month ago

    I have no idea why but this one and the goblet of fire is my favorite in the series

  • miss rose
    miss rose 2 months ago

    POA is my favorite book from the series and I agree, when I first saw it in theaters it wasn't my favorite. I felt they left out some important scenes. But I had recently read the book yet again, as well as watch the film, and wow- it is a lot better than I remember. The score, cinematography, overall tone... I think it was a really good interpretation of the book.

  • The Unknown SCP
    The Unknown SCP 3 months ago

    I always get so happy whenever you mention the Legacy of Kain series.

  • It'sTy
    It'sTy 3 months ago

    Is Jeremy wearing an Overwatch shirt?

  • TheBeggies95
    TheBeggies95 4 months ago

    My favorite harry potter movie!

  • Jeffrey515
    Jeffrey515 6 months ago +1

    if anyone wonders why they had a different deffence against the dark arts teacher every year it is because tom riddle left hogwarts and started creating horcruxes, years later he returned to hogwarts asking to teach deffence against the dark arts, Dumbledore refused to give him the job because he obviously had changed from creating those horcruxes, he had red eyes, pale skin, and just really awfull apearance, dumbledore knew he had changed. voldemort got angry and put a curse on the role of deffence against the dark arts so that no teacher could teach it for more than a year. I am not making this up, search it.

  • Stephanie L
    Stephanie L 6 months ago

    As a movie in and of itself, Prisoner of Azkaban is definitely one of the better Harry Potter movies, and the direction is lovely! But I can't help it; I fell in love with the books first, and I will never really be able to forgive what ALL the movies- but especially this one- did to the story script-wise.
    I know, I know that they're different mediums and the movie was always going to have changes from the book, but just.. they took an entire two chapters worth of critical plot material (two chapters that happen to be two of my favorites in the entire series) and reduced it to all of maybe *two minutes* !! That whole scene in the shrieking shack... if HP had been adapted to a TV show, that could have been the contents of almost an entire 60 minutes of an episode right there!! And it's not just that it's a ridiculously engaging part of the story- it's also *important information* that the movie just totally left out! Like the fact that Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot, and Prongs are indeed Remus, Peter, Sirius, and James respectively! And I could be wrong on this (it's been a while since I've seen the movie), but I'm not sure I recall the movie ever having even made it clear that James and Lily had ended up making Peter their secret keeper instead of Sirius without telling anyone (a move that Sirius had pushed on them thinking it would be safer)!
    And that's not even getting into the details that just added so much emotional depth that the movie barely touched on... like how in the movie when the dementors are near Harry there's just an unintelligible, far-off scream that could be anyone, but in the book he *vividly* hears exactly the proceedings of the night his parents were murdered. He even admits to himself that there's a part of him that doesn't want to master the patronus charm just yet because he's never remembered what it was like to hear his parents' voices before and at least hearing the flashbacks to that night gives him something of them to remember even it's a horrible something. It's the details like that that get me every single time in the book, and the movie script just doesn't capture it.
    So yeah... if I'd never read the book? I'd probably enjoy the movie quite a lot for what it is! But as it is I can't help but think that I would enjoy it so, soooo much more if, for instance, it had been a full season of an HP TV series, still directed by Alfonso Curan. One that could even remotely measure up to the richness and detail of the book. THAT would have been amazing :)

  • Sam Prusa
    Sam Prusa 7 months ago

    Thank you for giving Prisoner of Askaban Awesometacular

  • theNobleTaco
    theNobleTaco 7 months ago

    This one also has one of my favorite soundtracks

  • Kayo Yuuki-sama
    Kayo Yuuki-sama 7 months ago

    my fav one ;)

  • scottpilgrim920
    scottpilgrim920 7 months ago

    Slowly but surely making through the Harry Potter franchise for the first time. Got to this one and after watching this one, I have to say that it is my current favorite. It felt bittersweet leaving the comforts of Chris Columbus and his whimsical and enjoyable run. It will probably get darker from here.

  • Giorgioksk
    Giorgioksk 7 months ago

    My favorite part is the Quiddich finals, when Griffindor won in the most spectacular way.
    Too bad they didn't put it in the movie and hopefully the series will include it.

  • EtHaN35pEtTiT
    EtHaN35pEtTiT 8 months ago

    Dude that werewolf scene near the the end of the film was my childhood

  • Matrix Drift
    Matrix Drift 8 months ago

    Absolutely the best book and one of the top two best movies.

  • Jace Carsonne
    Jace Carsonne 8 months ago +7

    This movie is kind of the Empire Strikes Back of the Harry Potter series.

  • Continuum Transfunctioner

    voldy cursed the job so nobody would last more than a year mannnn

  • Mateusz Wojtkiewicz
    Mateusz Wojtkiewicz 8 months ago

    I watched it originally in a theatre when I was a kid and I hated it. I loved the magical light-hearted previous movies and was expecting more of the same. I was so dissapointed I did not watch any HP movie after this one when they came out. They I got older, all of the movies have been released on BR, and I decided to just watch all of them at home. I bought them and... something interesting happened. The first two which I loved so much as a kid... were just meh to me now. Then I watched the third one and oh my god I loved that movie. And after watching all of them it was still my favourite of all of them. And it still is. It's dark, it's beautiful, the music is amazing. And now I really wish they kept Cuaron as a director for the rest of the movies.

  • Tee F
    Tee F 8 months ago

    This one is my favorite movie. Not necessarily fave book, but the movie is so well crafted and beautiful--gothic, dark and romantic. And steers the story arc amazingly.

  • Ethan Rue
    Ethan Rue 8 months ago

    My favourite Harry Potter movie

  • Miguel P-B
    Miguel P-B 8 months ago

    Never realized that Sirius was played by the same guy as commisioner gordon thats amazing

  • Samuel Courliss
    Samuel Courliss 8 months ago

    and then read the books. also awesome.

  • Samuel Courliss
    Samuel Courliss 8 months ago

    you should review all the hunger games movies in chronological order. truly great cinema.

  • Ryan Aumann
    Ryan Aumann 8 months ago

    I like this one a lot. This film is totally re-watchable. I want DC Comics to do a Harry Potter comic book series.

  • NickX
    NickX 8 months ago

    1 - Professor Quirrell (ew)
    2 - Professor Lockhart (gross)
    3 - Professor Lupin (mah fav)
    4 - Professor Moody (Moody's great, but this was fake Moody so ew)
    5 - Professor Umbridge (ugh)
    6 - Professor Snape (Badass)
    7 - Professor Carrow (dk too well but gross)

  • Gibbypastrami
    Gibbypastrami 8 months ago

    although it was sad that richard harris passed away, i feel like, as far as recasting, it was perfect timing, the themes of the first two movies went naturally with the Santa Claus-esque Dumbledore, and the movies after that had a grittier, darker tone, thought this switch in pace and tone may be due to the switch in directors, i mean, you can even see an extreme color palette change between CoS and PoA, its quite drastic, bright colors of red and yellow (CoS had heavy green tones as well, possibly reflecting the very in depth look into the Slytherin house) and then in PoA the color palette had grays and light blues all over the place

  • queendsheena1
    queendsheena1 8 months ago

    The first time I watched it, I liked it. Then I was like, they left out a lot of Quidditch! But with time and maturity, I have forgiven that and the movie's really good.

  • Ken Burke
    Ken Burke 8 months ago

    I remember this film rubbed some people the wrong way. I think its serious, more sinister feeling annoyed some.

  • Alex Pollock
    Alex Pollock 8 months ago

    I had a dream last night about being at hogwarts and It was kind of a mix of prisoner and goblet. So I woke up, watched this review, and I'm about to watch the movie.

  • 24601 Melo Rosegarden
    24601 Melo Rosegarden 8 months ago

    My favorite part:
    "Turn to page 394"

  • Ta'nya Westbrook
    Ta'nya Westbrook 8 months ago

    You forgot the half blood prince

  • Parker Pshebnisky
    Parker Pshebnisky 8 months ago

    Hey Jeremy!,thanks for reviewing one of my all time favorite movies!

  • Parker Peters
    Parker Peters 9 months ago

    I was blown away when I first saw this movie. It really was a few steps up from the first two.

  • Seoul
    Seoul 9 months ago +1

    "DID YAH PUT YA NAME IN THA GOBLET OF FIYA"

  • Rabbit
    Rabbit 9 months ago

    Can anyone imagine Richard Harris in the cave with Harry, whipping a whirlwind of fire around and taking out dozens of inferi?

  • Half-Hazard
    Half-Hazard 9 months ago

    He's got a fucking Overwatch shirt!

  • Mr Norrell
    Mr Norrell 9 months ago

    Such a fanboy.

  • John Morgan
    John Morgan 9 months ago

    Why does everyone act like Prisoner of Azkaban was the first one to go dark? Chamber of Secrets is scary as shit.

  • Laura-Mae James
    Laura-Mae James 9 months ago

    This is my favorite in the series. Generally I'm a fan of werewolf movies and the fight sequence with the werewolf and dog, oh yeah.

  • Chris Kennedy
    Chris Kennedy 9 months ago

    man thats crazy...this was published on june 4th and i legit saw the third movie when it came out on that exact date lol

  • Stephen Dodson
    Stephen Dodson 9 months ago

    This has always been my favorite Harry Potter

  • Flamezy86
    Flamezy86 9 months ago

    Loved it from the start still great

  • Flamezy86
    Flamezy86 9 months ago

    Gam-Bon

  • Elizabeth Ramirez M
    Elizabeth Ramirez M 9 months ago

    my fav movie of the HP franchise

  • CentralMan
    CentralMan 9 months ago

    Chamber of Secrets was scarier than this movie

  • ben larson
    ben larson 9 months ago

    this is my favorite harry potter movie. just rewatched it and it kinda blew my mind too.

  • Kyle Hopkins
    Kyle Hopkins 9 months ago

    My favourite Harry Potter movie.

  • David Blank
    David Blank 9 months ago

    Wow. I kinda just realized that this is the only Harry Potter movie where Voldemort isn't the main villain. That's kinda crazy. Seems kinda weird, but knowing the outcome it makes sense. I like all of the Harry Potter movies. I don't know if I could rank them in order.

  • kemuael
    kemuael 9 months ago

    The second dobbledorf was better he has more energy, the one before looks like he was dying... Irony

  • toonmili03
    toonmili03 9 months ago

    easily my fav of all 8

  • Aaron Legg
    Aaron Legg 9 months ago

    Also, you don't need to worry about spoiling a movie that's over 10 years old.. Seriously if it's over a year since it's been out it's fair game.. unless we're talking a really good thriller with an epic twist, Don't spoiler that shit for people. Like even if it's something older like Fight Club or Primal Fear, The Game, Ussual Suspect or Se7en, Do NOT spoil that for someone who hasn't seen it, that's unfair and robbing them of a great "Fuck Me!" moment, so don't.. don't do that...

  • Aaron Legg
    Aaron Legg 9 months ago

    It was mentioned in the books (don't recall exactly which one) why every year there was a new teacher for DADA. Voldemort wanted the position and Dumbledore refused to hire him so he cursed the job somehow making it so that anyone who took the gig would fail withing the year. Qurriell was the only one to outlast said curse, due to having Voldemort living on the back-side of his skull... Also its the reason Dumbledore waited until Harry's 6th year before he gave the position to Snape (he was anticipating this was the year Snape would have to murder him to gain Voldemort's deepest trust). Fuck, I'm a nerd...

  • ServantoftheKing
    ServantoftheKing 10 months ago

    I wish he threw in some nitpicks. Like why the heck did they let hermionie granger control TIME for her SCHOOL WORK of all things??

  • Jose Cruz
    Jose Cruz 10 months ago

    I like your Overwatch shirt, Jeremy :P
    And I loved every Harry Potter movie, but this one has a more special part in my heart

  • SpectreTheHorseman
    SpectreTheHorseman 10 months ago

    this one was the best, with all the time travel stuff it really added some visceral intellectual layers.

  • Michael Newman
    Michael Newman 10 months ago

    Definitely still my least favourite hp movie

  • Monkey
    Monkey 10 months ago

    I remember liking the first 2, loved this one, enjoyed the next one. Then after that I just wasnt enjoying them. Happy to see so many people agree this one was awesome!

  • Rozza
    Rozza 10 months ago

    My favourite

  • Cary Gundlach
    Cary Gundlach 10 months ago

    I was the opposite, I didn't really enjoy the first two, but POA blew me away and I wanted more.

  • Jason Keller
    Jason Keller 10 months ago

    Pre-occupied with life shit?! NOT AN EXCUSE!!!!!

  • Luqman Sidek
    Luqman Sidek 10 months ago

    Loved it since i was a kid, been my favorite since then... none of the HP movie could surpass Couran's work with azkaban

  • Samantha Sany
    Samantha Sany 10 months ago

    Remus Lupin hands down is my favorite character in the whole Harry Potter series

  • Farnoosh Tavakkoli
    Farnoosh Tavakkoli 10 months ago

    expecto petronam

  • Dylan Kaiser
    Dylan Kaiser 10 months ago

    i loved this movie so much that i saw it twice in theaters

  • Jake Tibbs
    Jake Tibbs 10 months ago

    this is my favorite of the series.

  • rx7what
    rx7what 10 months ago

    Gam-bon not gam-bin

  • sincerestfall
    sincerestfall 10 months ago

    at this point you could make these full on spoiler talk I think.

  • Shane Roberts
    Shane Roberts 10 months ago

    Favourite HP movie. Favourite part would be the entire last act of this film, the time turner sequence is done so well!

  • CodeDarkBlue
    CodeDarkBlue 10 months ago

    Favorite Harry Potter movie by far!!

  • Full Comic Alchemist
    Full Comic Alchemist 10 months ago

    I remember this movie is were I realised how hot hermoinie was

  • Kyle Campbell
    Kyle Campbell 10 months ago +1

    Alfonso Cuaron is the best director the franchise ever had

  • Shashank Laur
    Shashank Laur 10 months ago +4

    Harry Potter and the growth of Hermione granger. That should've been the title.

  • kenllix
    kenllix 10 months ago

    The detail of the whomping willow changing season is brilliiant and extra touch of Alfonso.

  • Darrell Money
    Darrell Money 10 months ago

    I agree, the darker tone was a great touch and definitely made the franchise more appealing as i got older. only flaw to it really is the cartoonish beginning. Don't don't want to spoil anything but a lady turns into a balloon(basically) and talking shrunken Jamaican voodoo heads). everything else was great in unison. really paved the way for fours atmosphere. 7/10

  • razorwireclouds
    razorwireclouds 10 months ago

    liked for the Soul Reaver plug

  • existenceisrelative
    existenceisrelative 10 months ago

    This one is maybe the strongest of them all.

  • Jigsaw407
    Jigsaw407 10 months ago

    At first I didn't want to watch the Harry Potter movies, because I thought they were silly, but then a ladyfriend dragged me into Prisoner of Azkaban and it was surprisingly good. After that I actually watched the other ones and also read the books. Unfortunately the last book sucked monkey balls and I've never even watched Deathly Hallows Part Two yet...

  • enishi4ty5
    enishi4ty5 10 months ago

    Azkaban is the most important book in the series. I picked up on this in middle school. I watched the first 2 in theaters having never read the books, then read the 4th book. Realized i skipped one, went and watched the 3rd movie, then read the book and watched the movie again.
    1. Minimal changes from book to movie. Like only real loss is for the die hard quidditch fans i guess?
    2. The heroes turn 13 in this movie, which is a stepping stone to adulthood, which ties into harry coming to terms with his family. He gets 2 father figures to help shape him from this point forward, and we really see how dark his world is. What was fun and fantasy suddenly become horror when your fathers best friend is a rabid werewolf trying to eat you and his other best friend fended off grim reapers for weeks before STARVING himself so as a dog he can slip through bars his hand couldnt even get through when he realized harry was in danger.
    3. Peter pettigrew. Biggest f*ckboi in history. Hes responsible for every death from this point forward, he brought voldy back to life.
    This movie and book are equally 10/10.
    After this not one of the movies ever lived up to this standard. The books sure, with Order and Halfblood both bein 9's imo but their movies werent able to match the books quality. The down to earthness of this story made it the easiest to translate and it shows

  • enishi4ty5
    enishi4ty5 10 months ago

    Jeremy, you wearing an overwatch shirt from loot crate? I got that same exact shirt.. just wondering

  • Carly San Miguel
    Carly San Miguel 10 months ago

    um DUH this is THE best Harry Potter movie ever made I remember going to see it at least 3 times when it came out kinda upset that your just now realizing its brilliance! alfonso cauron really understood the abstract and how to balance this world out and give it depth and realism! I wish he would have directed the other Harry Potter films but no JK Rowling wanted someone British but she admits this was one of the closest adaptions to her book.

  • Jd Toledo
    Jd Toledo 10 months ago

    best of the bunch i think.

  • MsNorringtonSims
    MsNorringtonSims 10 months ago

    absolutely love this movie and think it's a visual marvel. I liked it right away and have only grown to appreciate it more through the years. My favorite thing about it is how Cuaron makes magic feel like a logical part of our world. It really seems like it could exist just outside our periphery. I enjoy the pragmatism in how the wizards employ magic in their everyday lives. My favorite scene is probably the Leaky Cauldron which is full of amazing imagery. Simply things like wizards using magic to stir their drinks and bus tables. This was the first film in the series that made magic seem scientifically possible and I wanted to walk through the screen to experience it for myself :D

  • smallypuppy22
    smallypuppy22 10 months ago

    It's certainly the best HP movie, the tone, the music, the cinematography is just......I have the buckbeak scene ingrained into my brain forever.

  • David Nikao
    David Nikao 10 months ago +1

    Where's the order of the Phoenix review?? Let's not wait for the grass to grow..

  • Gavin Acevedo
    Gavin Acevedo 10 months ago

    OVVVEEERRRRWWWWAAATTTCCHHH!

  • Tyler Peacock
    Tyler Peacock 10 months ago

    You look like an alcoholic movie reviewer.

  • MightyManotaur22
    MightyManotaur22 10 months ago

    I liked this movie for how different it felt from the others. Definitely the funniest HP movie.

  • Josiah Bradley
    Josiah Bradley 10 months ago

    First time I saw it it became my favorite, and I Love the Patronus sequence at the end. The time travel is neat too... if memory serves haha

  • Gabriel Dufour
    Gabriel Dufour 10 months ago

    Best Harry Potter movie for me

  • John Sinclair
    John Sinclair 10 months ago

    my favorite

  • Veloziraptor111
    Veloziraptor111 10 months ago

    Hmm... maybe I should rewatch this. On my first viewing, much like you, Jeremy, I considered this to be the worst of Harry Potter movies. It wasn't bad, I don't hold anything against it... but something just wasn't there. Maybe it was change. I probably should do a full Harry Potter viewing someday. It has been a while. I'm interested to see how they would look from an adult perspective.
    Oh and my favorite parts from the movie were Harry's one on one talks with Lupin. Beautiful, deep, subtle. And the score, oh god, the score. While the latter movies certainly were no slouches with the music, it's just hard to go toe to toe with John Williams.

  • hinxlinx
    hinxlinx 10 months ago

    It is the best Harry Potter movie first time I watched it in the theater, and still is after watched all 8 movies. Why? Time travel is magical!

  • Visemar Raellaeris
    Visemar Raellaeris 10 months ago

    I love the computer game narrated by Stephen Fry. (The fat guy from V for Vendetta.)

  • Paulo Gabriel
    Paulo Gabriel 10 months ago

    The time travel part blew me away when I saw it for the fisrt time

  • matthew tonna
    matthew tonna 10 months ago

    can yu review all the pirates of the Caribbean please?

  • Roman
    Roman 10 months ago

    I loved Azkaban when it came out.The change in tone was a shock but it made it so much better than the child detective-adventure stories that it was.
    Importantly Azkaban was good because it was also sentimental. Professor Lupine actually caring about Harry like true family, the whooping willow being playful or Hermione being less snobbish and instead starting to empathize with Harry's isolation. All these little pieces built a counter-balance against the grim. Importantly this is why I didn't like the dark tone so much in the later movies, they lost that counter balance. Future plots wouldn't have an undo button, everything would become more serious without the whimsy. But that is why the series is a modern classic, it holds that bittersweet transition from wanting to grow up to doing so but only to look back fondly at the innocence lost. Azkaban for me is the best in the series because it shows the repercussions of that change with nuance.
    Also professor Lupine will always be my favorite defense against the dark arts teacher.