How To Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Feb 20, 2019
  • How To Train Your Dragon is now a trilogy! How does the 3rd chapter stack up? Here's my review of HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON!
    #HTTYD #HTTYD3 #HowToTrainYourDragon
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 368

  • David Smith
    David Smith 7 days ago

    great movie

  • William Nelson
    William Nelson 12 days ago

    My absolute favorite trilogy ever!

  • Kunisake
    Kunisake 26 days ago

    I loved this movie so much. It ends the story of Hiccup and his friends very well. It's a bittersweet ending, but that's good. 9.6/10
    A part of me wants a little more but there really isn't anything else for us to see. We don't need more of How To Train Your Dragon. Three movies and like four shows. I think we're good

  • Jessi
    Jessi Month ago

    Httyd: 10/10
    Httyd 2 : 9.8/ 10
    Httyd 3 : 9/10

  • Vinstinctify1
    Vinstinctify1 Month ago

    Whats great is also the tv series is rly enjoyable. More of toothless...well at least before the this movie came out. What a partly sad ending.

  • Gundamn Mechas
    Gundamn Mechas 2 months ago

    One of my biggest regrets as an animation fan will be not seeing this in theatres; that hidden world scene was _gorgeous!_

  • Jonny Boy
    Jonny Boy 2 months ago

    Don Bluth Movies Rated

    Secret of NIMH-Awesometacular
    An American Tail-A Good Time No Alcohol Required
    The Land Before Time-A Good Time No Alcohol Required
    All Dogs Go to Heaven-It's a Good Time No Alcohol Required (Because it's Worth Buying on Blu-Ray)
    Rock-A-Doodle-A Good Time If You're Drunk
    Thumbelina-DogShit!
    A Troll in Central Park-You're Not Gonna Remember It in T-Minus 5 Minutes
    The Pebble and the Penguin-You're Not Gonna Remember It in T-Minus 1 Day
    Anastasia-Never Saw It
    Titan AE-Never Saw It

  • awesome sauce24
    awesome sauce24 2 months ago

    this movie was a fucking tear jerker

  • Mutio86
    Mutio86 2 months ago

    Gonna say the credits showing the two bond more and more over time really hit me in the feels.. ;_;

  • Andy Han
    Andy Han 3 months ago +1

    Dreamworks poured love into this trilogy
    I think it’s the best trilogy of the 2000’s period. I mean after the the 3rd matrix we were all thinking sequels can be good but not trilogy’s( except for the original Star Wars) but this one knocked it out of the park

  • jerin oommen david
    jerin oommen david 3 months ago

    PERFECT AND EMOTIONAL ENDING

  • LUV. jpg
    LUV. jpg 4 months ago

    I remember watching the first movie so many goddamn times i could probably quote it if you were to put it on. The second one i didnt enjoy as much but it still holds a special place in my heart. The fact that the third one holds up makes me so happy because i refused to watch it for months until today because i just thought animation was getting too bland and boring but this 👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻

  • Zara khan
    Zara khan 4 months ago +1

    This movie was so damn good.... I liked it better than the 2nd one I guess

  • Ben Russell-Gough
    Ben Russell-Gough 4 months ago

    Bottom line is that the HtTYD franchise has written the Twenty-teens book on movie/TV story-telling. Scriptwriters and directors will need to be measured against what this trilogy and its TV spin-offs achieved in creating a single consistent world and let us follow a story from the beginning to the end without ever feeling forced or arbitrary.

  • gameboy
    gameboy 4 months ago +1

    best trilogy ever.

  • James Brolin
    James Brolin 4 months ago +1

    Best review as always!

  • Daddy Feli
    Daddy Feli 4 months ago

    It wasn’t great

  • Channel 9 Games
    Channel 9 Games 4 months ago

    2:03 -2:10. Have you seen Endgame?

  • DAniel Rogers
    DAniel Rogers 5 months ago

    Very solid but sad conclusion

  • John Striker
    John Striker 5 months ago +1

    If the "ERAGON" movie made you angry, this series should satisfy you if you're a fan of that fantasy series.... ;-)

  • Zephyr_ Hofferson
    Zephyr_ Hofferson 5 months ago +10

    Httyd 1:friendship
    Httyd2:family
    Httyd3:letting go of a loved one

    • abby galeon
      abby galeon 4 months ago +1

      Httyd 1:friendship
      Httyd 2:family
      Httyd 3: love
      All three movie :growing up

  • Rusty lad
    Rusty lad 5 months ago

    all i heard where cats puring for 20 mins in these extended scenes

  • Jay Elex
    Jay Elex 5 months ago

    The score for this movie was so moving i almost cried.

  • Demonic Wolf
    Demonic Wolf 5 months ago

    Very emotional, beautiful end to the trilogy!

  • subzero
    subzero 5 months ago +4

    Idk why people say the villain isnt interesting, he's like a dark reflection of hiccup, showing us a version of hiccup if he had killed toothless in the first film and went the traditional way of the viking. His contraptions and cleverness also match hiccups, except he uses them to kill dragons instead of save them. Its like hiccup was fighting the darkest version of what could have been and idk that was pretty interesting.

    • Un Known
      Un Known 4 months ago

      Holy crap! I actually never thought of it like that.

  • TheNapski
    TheNapski 5 months ago

    This is exactly like the original Star Wars trilogy where we see Hiccup, like Luke Skywalker, truly evolve to become the person he needed to be by the end of the story.
    Also like Star Wars for me, the best one was the second movie, just like Empire Strikes Back....BOOM, just blew your mind bro.
    This trilogy is amazing and will always have a place in my home. Thanks for the awesome review Jeremy!

  • Kremit
    Kremit 5 months ago +1

    Anyone else coming here to recoup after watching Hidden World?

  • imicca
    imicca 5 months ago

    good ending to trilogy. i liked it

  • Ataraxia
    Ataraxia 6 months ago +1

    Surprisingly good trilogy

  • TheZeldaDragon
    TheZeldaDragon 6 months ago

    The second movie was *a lot* better than the third one (in my opinion) the third one just wasn’t as good to me. Still cried like a baby tho

  • Chris Martian
    Chris Martian 6 months ago

    Sadly I'm on the opposite side of this review, what I felt with this trilogy, is exactly the same I felt about The Dark Knight Trilogy, it started with a good and enjoyable movie (ending with a bang and expectations for the adventures to come).
    Then it blew me away with the second one, with an epic villain (or villains), and with the death of an important character, that hits you in the gut, and an ending so tense and exciting...
    And finally, the last one, the one that should be the most epic of the trilogy, the one that should close the circle and fulfill all of our expectations and leave us in awe and with our expectations fulfilled, ends up with a dull villain, a plot filled with dumb decisions, resulting in a movie that fell short compared with the previous ones, and failed to surpass (or even reach) the epicness of the second movie, and with an ending that is totally forgetable and felt empty, so dissapointed :/

  • HansJacob Østerø
    HansJacob Østerø 6 months ago

    for me, the first one was a classic, the second one an epic, the third one was... OK... but the ending ! totally saved it ! perfect ! :)

  • Chinedu Opara
    Chinedu Opara 6 months ago +1

    I cried over the end credits of this movie... starting when the 2 families reunited. Got me right in the feels.

  • Alucard, More Awesome Than Chuck Norris!

    The villain in this is supposed to be like an evil Hiccup.

  • Jullian Ducut
    Jullian Ducut 7 months ago +2

    2 is better in terms of action
    3 is better for the character of Toothless

    • Master Herobrine
      Master Herobrine 6 months ago

      @Jullian Ducut well even if he was a very close friend,they should keep just a little part of his instinct.

    • Jullian Ducut
      Jullian Ducut 6 months ago

      @Master Herobrine but was toothless supposed to be a pet or companion?

    • Master Herobrine
      Master Herobrine 6 months ago

      no ,the best toothless character was in the first movie,you feel that he is an animal ,but in the third,you feel it is a human inside a dragon skin

  • Kyme513
    Kyme513 7 months ago +1

    Probably the best animation trilogy of all time...

  • KashimusPrime
    KashimusPrime 7 months ago

    The Hidden World in 4D MX was an experience.

  • jonathan lopez
    jonathan lopez 7 months ago

    after watching all three. They make a bold move making Hiccup the actual "antagonist" in the story. Then again if you look closely 1st movie hiccups dad is actually the bad guy not that Red death. Think about it...

  • realsmashmouth
    realsmashmouth 7 months ago +2

    Im in love with this trilogy, Hiccup and Toothless taught me what love is and by the end of this movie i was in tears, it was so satisfyingly ended. One of the best trilogies of all time.

  • Ninyl
    Ninyl 7 months ago +1

    When they said a great waterfall at the end of the world, I instantly thought that they were living in the paradise of the flat earthers.

  • Mega
    Mega 7 months ago

    I just watched this movie and I'm super surprised I waited a month to watch it because I fucking love this movie and i grew up with the first and second one. Honestly I'm not going to lie I am a male who gets very emotional and the part Hiccup told Toothless to go I started crying. I love both of them and at the end I wasn't sure what was going to happen but when I saw them going to the pit I was happy. They ended the movie perfect. I'm so happy they reunited and was able to see Toothless with kids and Hiccup getting married. One of my favorite movies next to Avatar. I really hope everyone enjoyed and I hope something sparks up in the future.

  • Diane Hynd
    Diane Hynd 7 months ago

    would be helpful if the Watford Observer mentioned that the work was funded by The Arts Society Rickmansworth - part of The Arts Society which has charitable aims including the provision of funds to support young people in developing their education in all aspects of the visual and performing arts. (This can always be shortened if nexessary.)

  • Пламен Варимезов

    The ending reminded me of Return of the king

  • RandomMindz
    RandomMindz 7 months ago

    OUTSTANDING! Go See The Movie

  • João Varanda
    João Varanda 7 months ago

    Just finished watching it. I swear to god, in the scene where (SPOILERS:) toothless is in the dragon land or whatever its called and the dragons bow down to him, in the crowd there is another light fury and baby ones! Am i the only one who saw that? Its never addressed. Movies great btw

  • Barry Villacarillo
    Barry Villacarillo 7 months ago +2

    The movie is a good conclusion, but i totally agree that it could've been longer since it's the third and final chapter in the Dragon trilogy, and also to develop other characters especially the villain (He's useless and disposable in the movie. I don't even know his name. And the tension between hero and villain was meh).
    That being said, them freaking sands tho 😲

  • Brennan Hearn
    Brennan Hearn 7 months ago +1

    This movie is absolutely wonderful. The ending...It tore my heart out and ate it, and that's not a bad thing. Spoilers and a sappy personal story below.




    When I was four, I got my first cat. Over the years, that wonderful flat faced punk became like a second brother to me. Sixteen years later, I was twenty, almost twenty one, and the cat's body just...started giving up on him. He could barely move one day, stopped being able to open his mouth to eat...Couldn't purr...And we had to put him down. I couldn't even get out of bed for a week. I spent whole hours crying, because that cat really was like a second brother to me. And this movie, when Hiccup and the people of Berk say goodbye to their dragons, even with them not dying, all that grief came rushing back to me. I spent about an hour crying after it was over, remembering my cat like it'd just happened...This movie is, to me, what God of War was to Zivalene, and I don't think I don't even want to think of a world where it doesn't exist.

  • Linda Heeringa
    Linda Heeringa 7 months ago

    I saw it just now and i'm not kidding I sobbed like a child. Loudly. Gasping. Holy bejeezus this was beautiful!!! The animation. Is beyond stunning, the details, the colors..it took my breath away! And when the climax of the movie came i had to think of the pet i once had to leave behind to create a better life for both of us and thats when i curled myself up in a ball on the couch because that hit hard... Too hard...
    Bravo dreamworks! This one goes down in history!

  • Battle Born
    Battle Born 7 months ago +1

    This trilogy is one of the greatest of all time. This movie almost made me cry, but it made me smile more. So damn good

  • Abdo Khaial
    Abdo Khaial 7 months ago

    You are fast talker😒

  • Max
    Max 7 months ago +1

    the only thing that would've made this movie better was if his voice was just a bit deeper,

  • Ashish verma
    Ashish verma 7 months ago

    the movie sucked ass

  • Movie User
    Movie User 7 months ago

    I liked the first 2. 3 was bland until the last 15 minutes. Sidenote, how were the darts penetrating the dragon scales? I may have to go watch the first 2 again.

  • batman
    batman 7 months ago

    I don't want this series to end:/

  • INDIFFERENT OBSERVER
    INDIFFERENT OBSERVER 7 months ago

    So who read the books this was based on and who watched the entire tv series?

  • Owen Willicome
    Owen Willicome 7 months ago

    I think the best part might have been the end. Idk, I grew up with this and the very last sequence was just perfect to me

  • Yas Olivia
    Yas Olivia 7 months ago

    As a fan of the first 2 movies and the tv show I also felt very fulfilled at the ending

  • shreyas philip
    shreyas philip 7 months ago

    this one was pretty bad, no real story to tell tbh....maybe the ending and the animation were the only positives from this
    compare this to the first - which was great, it's really disappointing...

  • Pranay Sawant
    Pranay Sawant 7 months ago

    The first of of movie was comedic and interesting. Second half was meh....villan does not feel threat as much as 2part eren friend trying to hit on eren's mom was very creepy to watch with children

  • Off the Cuff
    Off the Cuff 7 months ago

    First movie that ever made me cry in the cinema