Spider-Man - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 13, 2016
  • FACEBOOK: ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Spider-Man, starring Tobey Maguire, James Franco, Willem Dafoe, Kirsten Dunst, Rosemary Harris, Cliff Robertson, J.K. Simmons. Directed by Sam Raimi.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 5 030

  • Ahmed Bassiouny
    Ahmed Bassiouny Day ago

    Don't tell harry !

  • Coss4 Vaee8
    Coss4 Vaee8 Day ago

    Originally he was suppost to create the Web Shooters but for some reason they changed it, If you watch the first trailers you can see it.

  • Caroline
    Caroline 3 days ago

    I just rewatched this for the first time since seeing it in the theatre when it first came out, and just like back then, I find this movie... meh. The only thing really great about it in my opinion is JJJ. I suspect this is partly because I had no nostalgic connection to spider man prior to 2002, so all I see watching it is average acting, a cheesy villain and sets (not in a good way), whiny lead characters, too much screaming, and a boring script. Sorry to all who love this, but I just cannot!

  • The Big One
    The Big One 3 days ago

    Chris Stuckman is a natural ginger. As in, he’s soulless and super gross

  • Gurjinder Singh
    Gurjinder Singh 4 days ago

    If it wasn't for Spiderman (2002), movies like The Amazing Spiderman (2012) would feel the need to properly show how Peter Parker explores his Powers.

  • Gurjinder Singh
    Gurjinder Singh 4 days ago

    Spiderman *A-*
    Spiderman 2 *A*
    Spiderman 3 *C+*
    The Amazing Spiderman *B-*
    The Amazing Spiderman 2 *D+*
    Spiderman: Homecoming *B+*
    Spiderman: Far from Home *B*

  • Allan Marshall
    Allan Marshall 4 days ago

    really ... yas all gunna get upset bout his cool shiit.....im sad for yas all

  • Randall Reiter
    Randall Reiter 4 days ago +1

    Good review man. Spider man rami trilogy is my favorite Spider-Man movies. Tobey is my favorite Spider-Man. I even like spider man 3 especially the edit version I made.

  • A is for America
    A is for America 7 days ago

    i lost it at FACE HERPES

  • A is for America
    A is for America 7 days ago

    Go watch HiTop Film's Spider-Man: The Perfect Origin Part 1. perfect representation about how much I love this movie...

  • Johannas Kontoes
    Johannas Kontoes 8 days ago

    Christmas meat

  • Justin Cruz
    Justin Cruz 9 days ago

    0:37 Literally me.

  • J Run talks movies
    J Run talks movies 11 days ago +1

    Dang I miss sam Rami's spiderman films

  • AriseOS
    AriseOS 14 days ago

    Spiderman: B+
    Spiderman 2: A+
    Spiderman 3: C-
    The Amazing Spiderman: C
    TASM2: D
    Homecoming: B-
    PS4(I consider this a movie IMO): A
    Into the Spiderverse: A+
    Venom: F
    Far From Home: A-

  • Alek Toledo
    Alek Toledo 14 days ago

    It’s just like salty fan boys that thought Toriyama made Goku the main character of the buu saga over Gohan; people just love to be gullible and just join the crowd

  • Shane Pfannmuller
    Shane Pfannmuller 14 days ago

    Sorry Chris, but this movie was a bit boring, especially the ending. Fan boy is showing through too much again.

  • Amber133 Xo
    Amber133 Xo 15 days ago +1

    (at around 22 mins) The scene in which Peter Parker catches Mary Jane's lunch on the tray involved no CGI. With the help of a sticky substance to keep the tray planted on his hand, eventually, after 156 takes, he performed the stunt exactly as seen.
    (at around 26 mins) When Peter Parker is testing out his webbing for the first time, he says several classic DC Comics (archrival of Marvel Comics) catchphrases, most notably "Up, up and away, Web!" (Superman) and "Shazam!" (DC's Captain Marvel, not to be confused with a same named Marvel Comics character). Tobey Maguire ad-libbed these lines, which were not in the original script.
    James Franco's hair was dyed brown to give him some resemblance to Willem Dafoe, his screen father. This decision was only made after filming had begun. Indeed, in the scene where Harry visits Aunt May in hospital, you can see that Franco's hair is his usual black.
    Spider-Man's webbing in the film is made out of foam materials and fishing line. It was also enhanced with CGI.
    (at around 16 mins) The smoke in the lab during Norman Osborn's transformation scene was originally white but was then digitally altered to green. Director Sam Raimi wanted to use real green smoke, but went with the CG effect when prop designers could not create a colored smoke that was non-toxic.
    During the fight between the Green Goblin and Spider-Man near the end, Willem Dafoe accidentally clipped Tobey Maguire on the chin with one blow.
    Zach Hudson, the stunt double for Tobey Maguire, fractured his leg after a stunt went wrong and he slammed in to a brick wall.

    Willem Dafoe's own face bears an uncanny resemblance to the original Green Goblin mask from the comics, designed almost 40 years before he was cast in the role.

    (at around 10 mins) The spider that bites Peter is red and blue, the colors of Spider-Man's suit.
    Willem Dafoe's last name sounds like "the foe," which is interesting because he is the foe (villain) in this film.
    (at around 6 mins) The jumping spider that Peter attempts to take a picture of is an Avondale Spider, the same type used in Arachnophobia (1990).
    In the final battle between Spider-Man and the Goblin, the CGI artists had to change the color of the blood pouring from Spider-Man's mouth to a clear liquid, indicating spit. This was to ensure a PG-13 rating.
    One of the reasons why Sam Raimi was a popular choice with Sony for the director's gig was because he is an avid comic book collector in his private life, with a collection of over 25,000.
    One of the chief difficulties that Tobey Maguire experienced in the now-famous upside-down kissing scene was that his sinuses kept filling up with water as it was performed in driving rain.
    The first film to gross $100 million in its opening weekend alone. At the time, no movie had done so, even when adjusted for inflation.
    The first Marvel movie to showcase the flipping pages Marvel logo.
    Tobey Maguire said he had never read a Spider-Man comic book but took the role because he liked the script.

  • David Minor
    David Minor 17 days ago

    Tobey McGuire was the better Spiderman.
    But, ironically, Andrew Garfield is the better actor.

  • Rex
    Rex 19 days ago +1

    That final hand to hand combat scene holds up today, its absolutely ruthless. I still remember seeing that scene as a kid with the grenade blowing up in the reflection of spider-mans eyes and being blown away..

  • Don Foley
    Don Foley 22 days ago

    Spider-Man: Perfect casting and plot!
    Spider-Man 2: This. Was. Perfect.
    Spider-Man 3: It used to be my favorite Spider-Man. No joke.
    The Amazing Spider-Man: Not amazing, but not bad
    The Amazing Spider-Man 2: I refused to see this and just wanted Tobey Maguire back.
    Homecoming: Who the hell are you. I want Tobey back.
    Far From Home: You REALLY think you're Spider-Man? Your version has Aunt May as a sex toy and Uncle Ben got decimated before Thanos showed up. I want Tobey back.
    I only seen Hoco and Far From Home because my sister dragged me to them. And I figured they'd be handy for ranting.

  • Yunior Gamboa
    Yunior Gamboa 29 days ago

    I would never forget the scene where Peter crawls the wall for the 1st time
    When Peter goes after Uncle Ben killer and the web swinging at the end.
    That blew my mind

  • Tim Sawyer
    Tim Sawyer Month ago

    1:43 I would like your parents contact info, please... Let's see if they tell me that!

  • James Steiniger
    James Steiniger Month ago

    Scooby Doo skeletons? Put it in. CGI can't get better than this. I mean look at how good that Scorpion King was.
    -Sam Rami, 2001

  • Jack Torrance
    Jack Torrance Month ago +4

    You can only truly love Spider-Man if you've seen it as a child.

  • Penny O'Radical
    Penny O'Radical Month ago

    I think your mom just had something in her eye.

  • Kunisake
    Kunisake 2 months ago

    Great movie. I actually like it more than Spider-Man 2

  • Peterthespidey
    Peterthespidey 2 months ago +1

    Spiderman&Batman >>>>> rest of superheroes

  • Patrick Robie
    Patrick Robie 2 months ago +1

    I like this version of Spiderman, because it follows the comics; he’s not selfish, he’s just a guy that’s trying to do the right thing and just has bad luck that in essence is what Spiderman is

  • Patrick Robie
    Patrick Robie 2 months ago

    Spiderman is what got me interested but I think it was underworld that started my filming education

  • Sup Dawgy
    Sup Dawgy 2 months ago

    Green Goblin turning people into skeletons is silly because it's Sam Raimi lol

  • A C
    A C 2 months ago

    @ 4:25 you got me rolling 😂

  • Varmando Varuso
    Varmando Varuso 2 months ago

    Re-watching this review in 2019. Still, this is my favourite Spider-Man film.

  • Artemiy Spiridonov
    Artemiy Spiridonov 2 months ago

    I love the action scenes in this movie. I know they are cheesy, the cgi isn’t that good, but Sam Rami makes that all go away. I love this movie ❤️

  • MISTADOBALINA69 Hickey
    MISTADOBALINA69 Hickey 2 months ago

    235689
    124578

  • MISTADOBALINA69 Hickey
    MISTADOBALINA69 Hickey 2 months ago

    1234567890
    0987654321
    1234567890
    0987654321
    1234567890

  • MISTADOBALINA69 Hickey
    MISTADOBALINA69 Hickey 2 months ago

    2002
    2004
    2007
    2012
    2014
    2017
    2019
    2019

  • Alonzo Dodson
    Alonzo Dodson 2 months ago

    Bro do reviews on Tv show impulse

  • Eduardo Renteria
    Eduardo Renteria 2 months ago +1

    Love that you have Goldeneye in your Nintendo 64! ❤️❤️

  • Tiki80
    Tiki80 2 months ago

    I remember willem dafoe being terrifying as goblin.. I was like 8 when I watched it and had it on dvd and watched multiple times

  • Mitch Bray
    Mitch Bray 3 months ago +1

    This my favorite movie of all time. Thank you for reviewing it. I loved how it was a superhero film and did not apologize for being so. I loved the acting, the fights, the special effects. Awesome. And Return of The Jedi is my favorite Star Wars film.

  • Jordi Danen
    Jordi Danen 3 months ago

    Tom Holland is spidey how i pictured him in my head...perfect. But i can not describe the feeling i had watching this movie as a 7 year old back in 2002

  • Joshua Logan
    Joshua Logan 3 months ago +1

    There was actual clapping at the end of this movie in my theatre and not just by me.

  • Jason J
    Jason J 3 months ago

    So you're ok w/ whimpy spidey, Garfield was the best Peter Parker

  • Cherry Soda
    Cherry Soda 3 months ago

    Really? spider man 1,2,3 is the reason why I hate spider man when i was a kid.

  • Superior 06
    Superior 06 3 months ago

    I LIKE SPIDER-MAN 1

  • Stephen King
    Stephen King 3 months ago

    The best Spider-Man, and the best director. Back then movies had a sense of purpose, they had adult content, they were moving and full of love, on screen and in the making.
    MCU is just autoreferential and diversity-based and worst of all *unmemorable* stuff now, made just to cash-in on the too many casual viewers just looking for a laugh. It's sad that they can decide for us who respected these movies.

  • J's Watch
    J's Watch 3 months ago

    I would love to see power rangers zeo teamup with Spider-Man to fight against the green goblin.
    What do u think of that please tell me

  • DJ CUNNIE
    DJ CUNNIE 3 months ago +1

    Some bus drivers would.

  • Jyniguunx yz
    Jyniguunx yz 4 months ago +1

    Am I the only one who has a huge crush on Kirsten Dunst?

  • Scarabyte
    Scarabyte 4 months ago

    I was kind of avoiding this guy for a bit because I figured he was one of those annoying/boring movie reviewers. I misclicked onto this video. Now I think I might subscribe.

  • Batman
    Batman 4 months ago

    Do Punisher (2004)

  • VJ Phillips
    VJ Phillips 4 months ago

    Yet again, nobody realizes that the webs come through his wrist, but there is no way for it to come out through his suit. 🤭

  • pringelsthegamefreak
    pringelsthegamefreak 4 months ago +1

    I agree with everything you said! It's truly an amazing movie. Sam Raimi is a complete genius. As a kid, he was my favorite superhero so when this came out, it was huge for me too! He still is my favorite superhero.

  • MIKE2111ful
    MIKE2111ful 4 months ago +1

    The green goblin suit never bothered me until people started bringing it up

  • Yash Raj
    Yash Raj 4 months ago +1

    This was the first movie I went to see in theaters with my father.

  • Captain Aniki
    Captain Aniki 4 months ago

    10:38 SHAZAM! Opss.. wrong movie!

  • Tyler Kloster
    Tyler Kloster 4 months ago

    I went to a drive in for the first time to see this

  • Bhavik Parekh
    Bhavik Parekh 4 months ago +2

    I was 5 when this movie came out and it blew my mind. My first superhero movie

  • Randy Randleman
    Randy Randleman 4 months ago

    Thank you I thought I was only one I love Spider-Man to death

  • Kyle Engelmann
    Kyle Engelmann 4 months ago

    This was my childhood.