Mother! - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 15, 2017
  • Darren Aronofsky is back giving us a mind twist of a character story. Layered with metaphor and no image goes to waste. Here's my review of MOTHER!
    See more videos by Jeremy here: tvclip.biz/user/JeremyJahns
    Follow Jeremy on Twitter: twitter.com/JeremyJahns
    Friend Jeremy on Facebook: facebook.com/RealJeremyJahns
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 490

  • Christopher Goodman
    Christopher Goodman 2 days ago

    Jennifer Lawrence is not a good actor I don't care what anybody say

  • Tau Noctua
    Tau Noctua 9 days ago

    It's Midrash, you have to be a Gnostic or a Jew or a fan of allegory to understand it.

  • Codrin Postu
    Codrin Postu 14 days ago

    I loved the movie.

  • Petrichor
    Petrichor 27 days ago

    It does haunt my mind. Haunts asin it’s fucking garbage. I’ve never seen a movie this stupid but funily enough this is the funniest movie. I’ve never laughed so many times in a movie because the scenes are so stupid.

  • diez tormenta
    diez tormenta Month ago

    This movie re watch. Is more than a horror. If you like to read under text. I understand why your critics put this down to the subject.

  • byalmo91
    byalmo91 2 months ago

    Movie was garbage. If you liked it it's because you tried to be too deep to make sense of it. Doesn't require that, it's boring as fuck.

  • Cole Nesper
    Cole Nesper 2 months ago

    No it’s because she sucks she an awful person and a mediocre actress

  • Austin Oney
    Austin Oney 2 months ago +1

    Thought it was a really thought provoking movie the ending disturbed the hell out of me though

  • Broken Tooth
    Broken Tooth 4 months ago +2

    I thought this film was absolutely amazing. I would even go as far as to call it a masterpiece.

  • LuisMa Suárez Gutiérrez

    Fuck this movie. darren is overrated. the movie is for film nerds who like to pretend they understand the subtext. oh and jennifer gets nearly mob raped.

  • Salem Andrada
    Salem Andrada 7 months ago

    Me: reads title
    Also me: just killed a man. Put a gun against his head, pulled my trigger now he's dead

  • Gitarrenfanatiker
    Gitarrenfanatiker 8 months ago

    I went to see the movie having only seen the trailer with a friend and we were so shocked and disappointed that the movie was so far off from the trailer.

  • Jordan Degeling
    Jordan Degeling 8 months ago

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE. Totally get why you were vague. You are on point! It was a good review for the film.

  • Max Brecher
    Max Brecher 8 months ago

    I PRAISE this artistic vision! Pure art! BRILLIANT, but extremely disturbing...especially the last 16 min mark!

  • Kimberly Enriquez
    Kimberly Enriquez 9 months ago

    Did anyone notice that when Him yelled his voice sounded like echo? Very god like

  • jordan bowers
    jordan bowers 9 months ago

    Wow I Just Finish Watching Mother! And I can't believe I understood the whole movie and what it was saying... wow so much bible reference in the movie.

  • YouTuber Anco
    YouTuber Anco 9 months ago

    Stupid movie made by an atheist lol duh 😂😂😂 btw it was really to easy understand

  • Aimopotis 80
    Aimopotis 80 9 months ago

    Is a remake of Rosemary's Baby

  • la patata
    la patata 10 months ago

    the movie will age good.

  • rv rv
    rv rv 11 months ago

    Worst movie ever ,wtf ,and you have to be fucking dumb to like this movie

  • Bad gyal
    Bad gyal 11 months ago

    This movie was stupid, piece of shit film !

  • Noogey Roadrocks
    Noogey Roadrocks 11 months ago

    Motherfucker!

  • KingJustice98
    KingJustice98 11 months ago

    This movie is satanic. If you want proof that there's satanists in Hollywood, this is absolute proof.

  • Kay Kad
    Kay Kad 11 months ago

    Best movie I saw in 2017 hands down!!!!

  • Claudia Vidal
    Claudia Vidal Year ago

    Movie was shittttttttt

  • C Chadwick
    C Chadwick Year ago

    It baffles me how anyone can say Jennifer Lawrence is a good actress. She has absolutely no range and no ability to show complex emotion or conflict. If you want examples of great actresses, look at anything by Michelle Williams, or Marion Cotillard.

    • C Chadwick
      C Chadwick 11 months ago

      I'm assuming that? I didn't mention that, but if you only have three different facial expressions as an actress, what I'm saying (and this is what I stated in my comment) is that you have limited range and cannot be considered a great actress. If an actor, or actress, can play a range of different roles, then a signature style is neither here nor there. If all you have is a signature style, then by definition you are limited at your craft and cannot be considered great. Look at Brad Pitt, Stephen Root, Michelle Williams, Marion Cotillard, Margot Robbie etc. They have played multiple different characters in massively different ways. Jennifer Lawrence plays different characters, but always with the same blank expression.

    • Kyle Roberts
      Kyle Roberts 11 months ago

      C Chadwick except this role was different than anything shes done. You're also assuming one can't be a good actress,and have a signature style.

  • 07foxmulder
    07foxmulder Year ago +1

    I finally watched this movie. One thing I noticed is that Lawrence’s character never eats or drinks.

  • Diamond Tello
    Diamond Tello Year ago

    This movie was so frustrating and confusing... 😡😡😡👿👿👿

  • That 15yr old മലയാളി Kid

    This movie was a masterpiece.

  • Zoya Khan
    Zoya Khan Year ago +1

    This movie was something

  • Sean Woods
    Sean Woods Year ago

    Thank you for putting your end of the year top 10 movies appreciation. That made me check it out great movie

  • Jason D
    Jason D Year ago

    I was like "what the fuck“ the entire movie... not scary at all just fucked up

  • TheXypnavasilh
    TheXypnavasilh Year ago

    I watched the film last night. Not for me...

  • Shea Duffney
    Shea Duffney Year ago

    "Brother From Another Mother" 2019

  • Tom Schaffer
    Tom Schaffer Year ago +1

    Biggest piece of shit I’ve ever seen.

  • Sean Duffy
    Sean Duffy Year ago

    Dad!?

  • Charles G.
    Charles G. Year ago +2

    "It's not a Horror movie". For fuck sake, it's absolutely a Horror movie. I'm done with people dismissing a Horror movie being one because they weren't pissing their pants.

  • TheCivildecay
    TheCivildecay Year ago

    God this guy is annoying...

  • w_R Andrs
    w_R Andrs Year ago

    Well i loved Black Swan so i will give this a go.
    Of course i'm confident that people actually understood Black Swan but like i said will give Mother! a shot.

  • Anthony Fagin
    Anthony Fagin Year ago +2

    Just saw Mother! I liked the movie. But I kinda hate people right now. I think some of the people who hate this movie, hate it because it's a helluva treatise on humanity and our relationship with God and Mother Earth...

  • MrAfroknowledge
    MrAfroknowledge Year ago

    This is one of the shittiest movies ever made. There are no metaphors to anything, only nonsense.

  • TeTe Yaw
    TeTe Yaw Year ago

    worst movie ever

  • Brandon M
    Brandon M Year ago

    This movie was so awful in my opinion.

  • rosario lake
    rosario lake Year ago

    The film was Wierd as shit or bat shit

  • kenneth minear
    kenneth minear Year ago

    jennifer lawrence looks superb in this pretentious, dismal, irksome forgetable movie.

  • Edgar Venegas
    Edgar Venegas Year ago

    Stupid movie 🖕🏻🖕🏻🖕🏻🖕🏻🖕🏻

  • Spazzboy911
    Spazzboy911 Year ago

    Blonde in the Belly of the Beast gave a pretty good review of the movie. it's awful.

  • Brush Brush
    Brush Brush Year ago

    Not for everybody?... Anybody more like. Complete joke of a film, only made partially watchable by amazing actors. Pretentious, arty farty load of crap.

  • Veronica K
    Veronica K Year ago

    I hated it

  • Elmo Jedburgh
    Elmo Jedburgh Year ago +1

    finally someone care about NIGHTCRWALER !!!

  • sadetwizelve
    sadetwizelve Year ago

    If you couldn't figure out it was God and mother Earth having relationship problems once people are invited in,you're not as smart as you think you are.

  • Prickly Penguin
    Prickly Penguin Year ago

    This movie just left me SHOOK

  • Hannah BB
    Hannah BB Year ago

    When I first saw the movie, I hated it. It was way too much for me to take in all at once in a theater and I should have waited to watch it at home or something, but it left me thinking and I'm still thinking about it a lot. It's a real work of art and it's grown on me.

  • ATV STUDIOS
    ATV STUDIOS Year ago

    This movie bothered me to the point where I felt sick.

  • The Big Thicc
    The Big Thicc Year ago

    It deserves a hard F

  • williep2445
    williep2445 Year ago

    Terrible movie, great review.

  • Aeternuss
    Aeternuss Year ago

    It is not a movie I would watch often but like you I think it is going to age well. I have always love Aronofsky work and I consider The Fountain as one of my favorite movie. I think Mother! is a Good movie and if you are a writer you will like it even more. You have to be an artist to understand. It's all about the Muse and the process of creation. The Mother of all creation.

  • Richard Hodsdon
    Richard Hodsdon Year ago

    This film wasn't allegory for any particular reason. It wasn't artistic. It wasn't thrilling. It wasn't trippy or even particularly weird. It wasn't deep or methodical. It didn't have a suprise ending that explained everything. No "Ah ha!!!" moment. It wasnt interesting. It was just stupid.

  • Lamashtar
    Lamashtar Year ago

    Lawrence is arrogant. She yelled at a journalist for using his phone while talking to her and he was using it to translate because he didn't speak English well.

    • Lamashtar
      Lamashtar Year ago

      You must be joking. We have to tell people "I have a disability (can't speak English)"? Why couldn't she just be tolerant and nice? She is paid to talk to the press. Its not a difficult job compared to most people's jobs.

    • Kyle Roberts
      Kyle Roberts Year ago

      Lamashtar then he really should have told her ahead of time.

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald Year ago

    Darren Aronofsky’s movies have never been for me personally

  • ALAS TEATRO Compañía Independiente

    Hey Jeremy! I I really like your point of view on this movie. It really shows you are a good movie watcher beyond just liking comercial films. I won't deny sometimes I disagree with you on some reviews but I think that's what makes watching movies interesting: having different opinions and sharing them with other fans. Most of the time we are on the same page. Congratulations for your channel. Keep going!!!

  • Talan
    Talan Year ago

    MotherFucker!

  • shamlix
    shamlix Year ago

    i dont understand this movie. totally

  • Angel Chairez
    Angel Chairez Year ago +1

    This movie was sick not sick cool but just plain out sick

  • Fragile*Paradox
    Fragile*Paradox Year ago

    This film made me sick.

  • Yokoso Chan ツ
    Yokoso Chan ツ Year ago

    Critics will inhale any rotten fart that brands itself as art and say
    its 'complex' and 'unique' these days. It wasn't complex, it was
    predictable and cliché. The story writing was so sloppy it frequently forced illogical character behavior and circumstances to occur. The movie was
    unsatisfying and not worth spending even a minute watching. Overall it
    was a pretentious steamy hot shart and should not be viewed by anyone
    under any circumstances.

  • Yokoso Chan ツ
    Yokoso Chan ツ Year ago

    Good acting, but hooly shit was this movie a stinker

  • Raptur Jragon Producing

    Love when movies piss off the bible thumping, religitard pieces of shit.
    I feel like this movie is so good that its pathetic to hate on it. Shows how sheepish you are listening to all the critics. Pathetic.

  • Lou Dozer241
    Lou Dozer241 Year ago

    Motherfucker!!!, it fucking sucked balls... the worst movie I've ever seen.

  • Josiah Baughman
    Josiah Baughman Year ago

    Unbelievable!!!

  • Keith Marcus
    Keith Marcus Year ago

    I think Jeremy still owes us the verdict of Dunkirk

    • Vulgar Viewer
      Vulgar Viewer Year ago

      Keith Marcus I first watched it drunk, I loved it, I watched it again sober, it would have been a better time if I were drunk

  • Ashyblubear
    Ashyblubear Year ago +1

    Mother was such a powerful film! I just watched it and wow!!!! You’ll either love it or you’ll hate it

  • Natsters46
    Natsters46 Year ago

    This was by far the worst movie I’ve seen this year. The third act was the exact same thing over and over again for an hour. It was unbearable.

  • Elleon Ken
    Elleon Ken Year ago +3

    I have two things to say about this movie. First, Javier and Jennifer both delivered some solid performances. Second, Jennifer was part of the audience (at least in my opinion), because she and I had the same look on our faces throughout the movie, just wondering WTF is going!!!

  • TP12 SHML
    TP12 SHML Year ago +1

    My favourite movie of the year !!!!

  • Krys
    Krys Year ago +2

    Though a great movie, I knew it would flop in the box office, because you know there are a lot of people who hold their religious beliefs dearly, and can't even entertain the idea of their religion in bad light.
    That's what got from it - Javier Bardem is god and Jennifer Lawrence is mother earth, Adam and Eve, Cain and Able, etc... However, I knew with it's accurate portrayal of the bible, too many people would be too offended and/or too stupid to comprehend it; especially when they're indoctrinated to never question their own religion... So, of course, if someone tells you it's not all sunshine and rainbows, therein lies the conflict; many people will not be happy, but that doesn't discount the truth of this movie.
    This is just another case that not all great movies reflect in the box office; I've seen shitty movies rake in the cash, and great movies go completely unnoticed... So what? Contrary to the box office and people's religious beliefs, Mother! is a solid portrayal of the bible.
    I dig it.

  • Sanchit Varma
    Sanchit Varma Year ago +1

    Whew. That was a bloody powerful movie. Hits you body hard and makes you think. Movies like this need to be given a chance- or else we are left with cookie cutter blockbusters or pretentious Oscar baits.

  • Zac Forbes
    Zac Forbes Year ago

    Shook

  • croseille pongparnsana

    This movie was a waste of two hours of my life

  • Baliram Jha
    Baliram Jha Year ago

    Fuck u.... What is this movie.?? Fuck every one who liked it without understanding a damn thing......

  • Mediawatcher
    Mediawatcher Year ago

    It’s a good movie, but it’s near the end where I feel it sort of falls apart, it’s certainly a film that is worth seeing at least once

  • George Human
    George Human Year ago

    How funny no one mentions 'Fountain' talking about Arranofsky :D

  • Andrea Ferguson
    Andrea Ferguson Year ago

    It’s a good movie but kind off started to piss me off towards the middle of the movie, I mean their reactions were not real, I know it a movie but nobody in this world will react all nicely and do nothing if u have a lot of people fucking up your house. I was expecting more realistic reactions from her!

  • God I Want To Die

    Actually Jennifer Lawrence is pretty much the new Kristen Steward-brick emotionless face

  • veranya2074
    veranya2074 Year ago +1

    I adore Jen. So I watched this disturbing movie but I've seen worse.

  • Luis Campanella
    Luis Campanella Year ago

    Best movie of the year.

  • Sim z
    Sim z Year ago

    one of the most retarded movies I've ever seen. Don't waste your time. Jeremy Jahns is wrong on this one...

    • Owen B.
      Owen B. Year ago

      Sim z Jeremy isn't wrong, he just has an opinion.

  • Trevor Reznik
    Trevor Reznik Year ago

    I loved this movie.

  • ALMIR
    ALMIR Year ago

    this movie is for rich people and pimple them want to live normal live you ken see how it is

  • aditorium1
    aditorium1 Year ago +1

    I loved it. NEVER WANT TO WATCH IT AGAIN.

  • Tiempo Negro
    Tiempo Negro Year ago

    Best movie from this year

  • Popa Ciprian
    Popa Ciprian Year ago

    Carla Gugino would have been better fit for the role that J.La played.

  • Mrs. DivaStar
    Mrs. DivaStar Year ago

    THIS MOVIE IS SOOOOO STUPID WORST MOVIE OF 2017!!!!🙄😠

  • Grubiantoll
    Grubiantoll Year ago

    OH God I was gona pass the movie because of the trailer, then again great director and great actors,but the trailer almoust turned me of

  • Transcendent HD
    Transcendent HD Year ago

    That’s the most fucked up movie I ever seen

  • ABZ7ZZ
    ABZ7ZZ Year ago

    Did he say Ed Harrison ?

  • W B
    W B Year ago

    Movie sucked the bag!

  • Ashley Morales
    Ashley Morales Year ago

    Psssssst! Spoiler alert! It's biblical

  • Jordan Fernandez
    Jordan Fernandez Year ago

    this got reviews so bad that Jennifer Lawrence is taking a two year break on acting

  • fuzzydunlop0507
    fuzzydunlop0507 Year ago

    I know everyone has different opinions and tastes in movies. But it's still shocking to me that no one's mentions the fountain? Everyone mentions requim, Noah and Black swan. Not saying it's wrong but just curious why it didn't catch on. The fountain is definitely one of my favorites of all time.