Ghostbusters - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 9 371

  • Mitch Dolenic
    Mitch Dolenic 17 hours ago

    Chris, I love your reviews but I had to watch this one twice before posting because I was about to lay into you. I was expecting this movie to end up with it's own Hilariocity but I will give you a pass for not seeing the original as a child. The original has almost the same influence on me as Back to the Future and the Nolan Batman movies. The reboot Ghostbusters storyline, horrible dialog and song and dance finale does not earn this movie a "C" in my opinion. It caters to idiots who can't follow a plot or live without a fart, dick or vagina joke every two seconds. Every interaction seams forced and it felt more like a sequel to Scooby Doo 2002 than ever being connected to the original. The original was not a tongue in cheek or slapstick movie. The CGI in the first film was more realistic to me too. That ghost in the library will forever haunt me. Like you I really enjoy the all the actors, but not in this movie. And the hatred toward a specific gender you pointed out is almost disgusting to see in a movie made in this century. This movie deserves a big fat "F". I'd love to see it redone even with the same actors. Better storytelling and less stupid humor.
    You still rock so I won't be unsubscribing anytime soon. I'd actually like to watch you do more in depth on the technical aspects of a movie or even full length commentaries.

  • carl hiller
    carl hiller 4 days ago

    Not.
    A.
    Good.
    Movie.
    An.
    Fucking.
    Insult.

  • Mario Fernandez
    Mario Fernandez 5 days ago

    you cant say more screen time for the receptionist is an improvement if all the screen time is full shit and the less screen time the original receptionist is way better , and NO it is not better then part 2

  • Sam Fisher
    Sam Fisher 5 days ago

    You were far too kind- that movie sucked so much it made bill Murray cry

  • Alien Fat alien
    Alien Fat alien 5 days ago

    To me this movie is very bland and stupid and sexist.

  • Timeless Shirts
    Timeless Shirts 9 days ago

    Your review is better than the movie.

  • Dillon Krueger
    Dillon Krueger 10 days ago

    How can you hate this movie without being sexist 🤔 but come on be original. Sadly there will always be a double Standard, if women want to make movies that aren’t romantic comedies or chick flicks I think that’s great . But come on stop rebooting movies like the oceans movie, be original for fuck sake !

  • Smoke Alarm
    Smoke Alarm 13 days ago

    What I don't get is who's funding them in the movie!? In the original they sell Ray's parents house... And then it's mentioned that their eating the last of the petty cash... 🤔 In this movie not one of them is getting paid yet they somehow afford all the stuff to make new weapons and travel, rent, food and! Bloody hire someone! 😂 This movie is a mess and unfunny

  • the Greatest American Negro

    Essentially you said they were man bashing in the film. Giving the appearance that men are idiots or pussies. Sounds like the movie deserves some hate to me.
    Peace

  • Alvin Halim
    Alvin Halim 20 days ago

    0:59 slow down

  • Theofanis Greek
    Theofanis Greek 21 day ago

    He is the ultimate cuck "ghostbusters 2 is worse"
    Dislike

  • erich84502ify
    erich84502ify 22 days ago

    GB 2 wasnt perfect but was okay

  • Joe Sycamore
    Joe Sycamore 24 days ago

    It's nice to see him admit that the film is anti-men

  • Disambiguation144
    Disambiguation144 28 days ago

    Good review man. Leslie Jones is hilarious. Watch her Problem Child stand up special if you haven't yet. I remember hearing when she got casted for Ghostbusters, made me happy.
    Peace from Ohio

  • Lee Gannon
    Lee Gannon Month ago

    It was OK but not as good as the original 2 films, the Real Ghostbusters or Extreme Ghostbusters.

  • James O'Connor
    James O'Connor Month ago

    no

  • MrCcragg27
    MrCcragg27 Month ago

    i dont consider computer graphics to be an improvement. i see computer graphics as cheap and lazy. so i therefore think of movies that use computer graphics as trash. i do like some movies that have computer graphics obvioulsy. but in these times when catch glimpse of computer graphics i either put it back on the shelf or click the back button on my netflix. after playing online games all day the last thing you wanna do is watch a movie with cheesy cheap computer graphics. i throw my money at people that build REAL things.

  • ANTI-SATAN PRO-LIFE
    ANTI-SATAN PRO-LIFE Month ago +1

    You are a horrible reviewer... you know shit. This movie was garbage. Wake up

  • Jace in Tan
    Jace in Tan Month ago

    Why are you sugarcoating? This movie was a cancerous piece of garbage that shat on everything I held dear about Ghostbusters.

  • MPT1983
    MPT1983 Month ago

    Wow, I know this is all opinion but your really liked this more than GB 2 and Kevin more than Janine?? Thats kinda hard to process lol.

  • Adam Duffield
    Adam Duffield Month ago

    Hahaha this movie flopped harder than Melissa Mcarthy jumping off a diving board!!!!

  • dantheman z
    dantheman z Month ago

    Slap a Disney logo on the cover and this moron would love the movie.

  • UziFoo
    UziFoo Month ago

    can you kiss the actors' asses harder?

  • Ezzynah1
    Ezzynah1 Month ago

    Better than Ghostbusters 2??? Jesus Christ.

  • Albe Beltrami
    Albe Beltrami Month ago

    Well as a big fan of the original movie, I think it' s a cult for many people, I think I will never see this one. It is not about sexism, I think those actress are very talented but not for a movie that is like something very special in my mind. As a big fan ( I saw the movie in the 80s when I was a child, born in 1984 ) I wanted to see something different. I hoped to watch something like this: a movie with Aykroyd, Murray and Hudson involved in the project, probably with Eddie Murphy ( he was choose also for the first ) maybe other good commedians like Ben Stiller, a good director and a new story connected with the original and Weaver. The second movie was not the same level of the first, but with those great actors was still funny. Everything about the first Ghostbuster is a cult in my mind. I still hope someone will make a movie like that.

  • WINTERS-_-WRATH
    WINTERS-_-WRATH Month ago

    It 2018 and i still will not waste my time and see this Dumpster fire of a movie no way and by the way fanny farts are still not funny what was u thinking

  • Corey Bradley
    Corey Bradley Month ago

    i think angry joe was the only one honest in his Ghostbusters reboot review

  • Alan Alban
    Alan Alban Month ago

    This movie has a better Rotten Tomatoes score than Venom. WTF is life?

  • Jurassic Lion
    Jurassic Lion Month ago

    I finally watched Ghostbusters... and I dont get how Chris Hemsworth was offensive to men. Im a man and the film was just a good comedy like the first film. New ghostbusters go through a lot of the same arcs except its more friendshiped themed while Ghostbusters 84 kinda just went with the gears.

  • jamesgmcbain
    jamesgmcbain Month ago

    The film is an insult

  • daniel dunbar
    daniel dunbar 2 months ago

    this movie wasn't funny at all, it fell completely flat. Therefore, ghostbusters 2 is way better.

  • Kae Hud
    Kae Hud 2 months ago +1

    Chris talks about the ghost busters 2016 is better than 1 and 2

    • Tara Mahoney
      Tara Mahoney Month ago

      No...Just being better than Ghostbusters 2! Too much muddied story in that!!!

  • Sentinel 777
    Sentinel 777 2 months ago

    Ghostbusters 2 is way better than this film!

  • Dominic Giorgi
    Dominic Giorgi 2 months ago

    Chris maybe? you can give me some better insight here? I had just watched another video on this movie just before I watched yours. And in the video they made a point to mention the fact about the hot blonde chic from SNL being gay? What the hell? Can you tell me whats up with this with her and this film? Aside from just some trolls gay bashing? WOW! Peace Out!

  • Dominic Giorgi
    Dominic Giorgi 2 months ago

    I can only hope and pray at this point that if down the road they make a second film. I so! really hope they make certain the second film is a hell! of a lot better over all. lastly yes I liked how all! the ghosts looked. And yes I feel all of the acting was just fine. Ill even go as far as to say good. Now from the other side of things yes my heart did and still does go out to all whom made and was is rather in this film. All of them whom were trolled to death over this film. And just plain bashed and smashed on line. come on guys. No matter how you may feel about one or some of the actors in this film. Or the director etc. In the end guys its just a movie. And if you happen to think its total shit! Then guess what you don't watch it again or buy it or its merch. Now one last thing here please! why do some people seem to give a flying fuck if the blonde on in the new crew is gay? What the hell does that matter or have anything to do with anything? Unless your just a straight up gay hater or woman hater or black woman dumb ass haters? What the hell's wrong with some people? ILL tell you what that blonde woman is still hot as fuck top me and can be very funny and seems to be and come across as a smart woman. And yes! to me shes smokin! hot in my book. In plenty more ways than just her look. Sorry I don't remember Her name right now off the top of my head. All I can do or say is as a major! Ghostbusters fan long! time fan and long! time major! collector. On behalf of myself and others like minded. So very sorry Ladies you had to deal with some some mind you major low life and has no life troll ass holes.

  • Karla Straight
    Karla Straight 2 months ago

    It was just a boring bad movie, but yeah Hemsworth was funny

  • Jerry Jerri
    Jerry Jerri 2 months ago

    Snl ghostbusters skit

  • Joe Bob Tarheel
    Joe Bob Tarheel 2 months ago

    try tell ramboraph4life that shit!! he'll block you within 12-24 hours!! LOL

  • Kenridge_Koala
    Kenridge_Koala 2 months ago

    I agree that this movie wasn't great, but was underrated.

  • T 21199
    T 21199 2 months ago

    It’s his opinion guys fuck off lol

  • Matt Young
    Matt Young 2 months ago

    Disagree, this movie sucked and disgraced the original. Shamefull

  • Darth Poptart
    Darth Poptart 2 months ago

    Chris: BUT, it is better than Ghostbusters ll.
    Me: UNSUBSCRIBING

  • Davide Lombardo
    Davide Lombardo 2 months ago

    This film isn't better than Ghostbuster 2 because in Ghostbuster 2 there are the real ghostbuster

  • Sammuel Hayden
    Sammuel Hayden 2 months ago

    Id give it a fucking F

  • Rikard Stromberg
    Rikard Stromberg 2 months ago

    Why do you call the women in this film "girls" when they clearly are over 18 and way older than you? Would you ever refer to the cast of Ocean's Eleven as "boys"?

  • C.C. Neal
    C.C. Neal 2 months ago

    Chris Stuckmann, I like your reviews, they are good, but this movie was trash. I actually like all these actors in most things, but this movie was a disgrace.

  • Chris Braz
    Chris Braz 2 months ago

    I saw Ghostbusters in the theater in 84.....yup.... Showing my age.

  • Liam Bye
    Liam Bye 2 months ago

    i have to disagree with you on the chris hemsworth character. The 1980s version was awesome! Annie Potts was hilarous.

  • Triton 23
    Triton 23 2 months ago

    I like 'Spy' and 'The Heat' in the background. Nice touch Chris, nice touch.

  • Silverclaimer808
    Silverclaimer808 2 months ago

    It sucked. The movie was a joke. They should be ashamed of what they did.

  • Dax Bradley
    Dax Bradley 2 months ago

    Wow, this movie is almost as divisive as Star Wars 8. Almost.
    On the receptionist being funnier this time, I agree with Stuckman. Hemsworth stole every scene he was in. The original receptionist was not written the same way, as the butt of a joke. Here they get away with it by reversing the old trope of hiring a bimbo based solely on looks. We are allowed to laugh because of the gender role reversal.
    Double standard? Yes. But I don't care, funny is funny.

  • Muamer Mujevic
    Muamer Mujevic 2 months ago

    Wow. The movie was not that bad? It was funny? And you give it a C? You also rated Solo: A Star Wars Story with C and I can agree with that, but Solo is a far superior movie then GhostBusters. This was a terrible politically correct review.

  • Tom Pratz
    Tom Pratz 2 months ago

    Another ME TOO movement bullshit Hollywood down with men attempt to cash in on the new wave of bitchy twats that SOMEHOW ....matter to somebody. This was total shit and you should say so.

  • Dmitriy Levitskiy
    Dmitriy Levitskiy 2 months ago

    Stop calling them actresses

  • Suicidal Tree
    Suicidal Tree 3 months ago +1

    I hate when they change the original characters for the sake of diversity or SJWism. For example the new doom GUY might be a female in the new film. Motherfucker what? The name is literally doom GUY. It’s retarded, keep SJW’s out of all forms of media lmao.

    • Tara Mahoney
      Tara Mahoney Month ago

      So what??? Don't watch it if it is!!! Stop your Belly Aching man!!!

  • Saint Macintosh Reviews

    Everyone was expecting this movie to be a giant pile of shit, but it's ended up okay.

  • Suneish Basu
    Suneish Basu 3 months ago

    It's extremely irritating.

  • Pissed off Alpha male
    Pissed off Alpha male 3 months ago

    This movie sucked ass!!!!!

  • Arthur Morgan
    Arthur Morgan 3 months ago

    This movies is a disgraced
    The original is the awesome

  • Aaron Birtig
    Aaron Birtig 3 months ago

    Chris you're waaay too kind and missing the points in terms of all the hate.
    To begin with the characters were all way too over the top apart from a totally understated and missed Kirsten Weig. You make comments about Chris Hemsworths character being better than his counterpart from the original played by Annie Potts; completely disagree..Hemsworth with all his additional screen time played an embarrassingly stupid idiot for the girls to both laugh at and fawn over whereas Annie Potts played just normal chick trying to hold down a receptionist gig carrying a cerebral tone which garnered more understated laughs more in line with someone in her position. Kirsten Weig, hands down the most talented of the bunch was totally miscast to how her character was written and completely wasted in the movie. Leslie Jones wasn't bad however the direction and editing could have greatly improved her character/performance, whereas Melissa McCarthy and McKinnon were left to let loose with improv with results of being way too over the top cutting one another off, not letting jokes just sit to hit a mark, ultimately just not being at all funny and completely annoying beyond belief to point of just wishing they'd shut up. Andy Garcia as the mayor was another waste of talent as character written just to make another man look like an idiot; anyone could have played that role. The cameos were also nothing more than an absurd fan service distraction ultimately making me wish it were them I was watching in the jumpsuits...
    The plot lacked any originality whatsoever and the tone in which it was shot was just over colored saturation product placement vomit. Paul Feig is also a total narcissistic, over rated SJW crusader, without any sense of what makes real comedy and had no business writing and directing this POS movie that never needed to be made in the first place...
    "C+"?! Try a solid "F".. as in fuck this movie...

  • Jerry Vong
    Jerry Vong 3 months ago

    Masculinism is just as shitty as feminism

  • Mikael Cedergren
    Mikael Cedergren 3 months ago

    Imagine a movie that was with only female cast, that was remade with entire male cast. Where every woman was either dumb, a slut or trashy and then where the director says that everyone that has an opinion on it that is opposite of what she thinks is an idiot.... then say that it didn't deserve the hate. To me, it deserves the shit it's gotten.

  • V4Now
    V4Now 3 months ago

    So this movie is sexist? That's a shame.

  • nickthemusicnerd27
    nickthemusicnerd27 3 months ago

    Ghostbusters > Ghostbusters 2 > The Amazing Spider-Man 2 > Batman and Robin > being anally raped by six jewish preists > death by bazooka > Suicide Squad > Xmen Origins > Ghostbusters (2016)

  • Alex A
    Alex A 3 months ago

    It doesn't deserve the hate that it got, but it doesn't deserve the passes you give it or the money it made in my opinion either. For me, movies are something very important that should be done properly. Now tell me 1 thing this movie does well. 1 thing. Because NOTHING THIS MOVIE PROVIDES IS DIFFERENT THAN THE MODERN REBOOTS OF LITERALLY ANYTHING. It's, for the 1038483rd time, the most generic, bland, forgettable, unfunny garbage I spent hours on that results in nothing.
    The worst part is that nobody tried to make this movie be good as well, because that's not the point. The point is to make money. And this is why it stinks and doesn't deserve to take the treatment of other, actually good movies because it wuld just be sad throwing this thing in the bag alongside, let's say, Jurassic Park. That's just an insult to me, all of modern garbage cgi generic clusterfucks apply to this and I'm not going to go easy on such movies, just because of what they truly are made for.
    The same things Transformers: The Last Knight suffers from, this movie suffers as well. Big blockbusters based on a big title are just copy pasted products that either have the same cons or the same pros, with few exceptions when it comes to style, because big studios have the same damn goals and most of them, with some exceptions, just blow it. Sony is a prime example of that and Sony was behind this movie so behold, another trainwreck thanks to a big company in the movie industry.
    Now I do really respect your opinion and your way of viewing reboots because you're one of my favourite movie reviewers (and my favourite movie reviewers are like 2 so yeah), but I have to dissagree that this movie is better than Ghostbusters 2. Ghostbusters 2 has a critical and major difference: The people making it cared for Ghostbusters, not for the money. Not entirely at least. The outcome was far better, despite the similarities the script shares with the first movie. This movie suffers from the exact same mistakes as Ghostbusters 2, including the script being similar, plus more mistakes and poor overall scenes, plus all of this trying to hold a movie together by playing it safe and involving famous actors and family friendly pg clean fun that has nothing interesting.
    This is clearly another "Transformers defence" on a movie, it's just that Transformers fans were a lot more.

  • bigbaba1111
    bigbaba1111 3 months ago

    when socialists, snowflakes and lgbt..whatever dudes make a movie... and chris tip toeing to avoid insulting the militant gender fascists,

  • LakkThereof
    LakkThereof 3 months ago

    You're wrong. It deserves all the hate.

  • Cody Guzman
    Cody Guzman 3 months ago

    I honestly don't know how you can praise this movie even a little bit because it was so bland, boring and nonsensical, just white noise that it's not even worth talking about. Sure it's not as bad as Dragonball evolution or anything like that but at least there was something there to talk about, here everyone is just so boring all the jokes fall flat and the script is some Frankenstein amalgamation of just complete shit. Not to mention that it's just a product of these hyper political sjw reactionary corporate Stooges let's see everyone flying about women's rights on the news and start thinking oh hey let's just f*** everything into Oblivion and make that all women. Didn't mean to get angry but I stand by it. It's just a product of the studio wanting to cash in on what they think is a massive movement that will make them fucktons of money

  • b sos
    b sos 3 months ago

    holy shit this guy is a massive simpleton

  • Joe D'Amico
    Joe D'Amico 3 months ago

    This movie is an abomination to cinema.

  • Broncos Stampede
    Broncos Stampede 3 months ago

    Movie Making 101!?!?.....NEVER LOSE THE ORIGNAL CAST!!!!

  • Leonardo Garcia
    Leonardo Garcia 3 months ago

    I just saw this and all I can say is the reviewer must get fucked by John Campea.

  • jack2000 shewan
    jack2000 shewan 4 months ago

    Ghostbusters 1 a+
    Ghostbusters 2 b+
    Ghostbusters 2016 d+
    Chris hemsworth was the only great thing in the remake

  • S1nwar
    S1nwar 4 months ago

    was there any joke in this movie you remember afterwards?

  • The Late NPC Show
    The Late NPC Show 4 months ago

    Sjw are gathering together in the comments to spread some anti-male equality

  • Gentleman Peach
    Gentleman Peach 4 months ago

    Just subscribed, because every review I've seen you do I've agreed with. I just watched ghostbusters because it was put on Netflix (Canadian) and had graded it at about a 6.5/10 for basically all of the reasons you listed. Thank you for this fair assessment

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald 4 months ago

    Don't you just hate all the whiny little assholes in every review of this movie that didn't say they hated it making excuses about it cause God forbid someone actually has an opinion different than yours

  • Hyper Sonic
    Hyper Sonic 4 months ago

    I like how the people are calling males sexist despite the film not really being a male franchise. I like how they say males say females can’t be leading roles but males acknowledge Wonder Woman. Kill Bill, Underworld, Lara Croft:Tomb Raider, Charles Angels, and most likely Captain Marvel (Along with others people can name).

  • Barris 26
    Barris 26 4 months ago

    This is probably your worst and most inaccurate review

  • steven simpson
    steven simpson 4 months ago

    Agree to disagree...

  • stephen gill
    stephen gill 4 months ago

    It was alright but cgi was terrible and the script was boring Leslie Jones for me steals the show . It's a shame there couldn't make it darker

  • Sokhan Corlerone Hyouga

    The best part about this movie was Thor being in it

  • sommer camp
    sommer camp 4 months ago

    It was bad, but it had one of the funniest lines in that year! "You are worse than the mayor in jaws!" I lought my ass off!

  • Camel Lover Lover
    Camel Lover Lover 4 months ago

    Honestly I wouldn't mind if this was a solo movie about the receptionist, Chris Hemsworth was the only good thing in this movie.

  • SMC01ful
    SMC01ful 4 months ago

    It's not quite as bad as people say, as it makes for an okay kids movie. I can see little girls liking it. However, it's still pretty lame and is devoid of the frights and laugh's which would hold older audience members. I also think it's slightly worse than GB II. I didn't really see the chemistry between the characters. I got a feeling there were a lot of ego's on set. It also pushed a lame "Girl Power" agenda. The special effects weren't even that good.

  • アイス・クリーム
    アイス・クリーム 4 months ago +3

    Just the new SJW-trend blend with reboots and there you go. Same thing happend to Star Wars. Feminists and SJW diversity bullshit no normal person cares about. jeez

  • grumpy old man
    grumpy old man 4 months ago +1

    So next episode can you show you're virtue signaling card? This movie was the garbage no one asked for. And it was just a way to push pc culture in Ghostbusters.

    • Tara Mahoney
      Tara Mahoney Month ago

      No...I found it interesting, I do not believe that there was anything P.c. about it!!! Proves that Chris Hemsley can do comedy!

  • Teeny TV
    Teeny TV 4 months ago

    Everything gets rebooted except for firefly season 2

  • Rory Whelan
    Rory Whelan 4 months ago +2

    Fuck You feminism

  • Mohd Aamir
    Mohd Aamir 4 months ago

    chris H totally ****ed up
    none of them those chics are funny and evry joke is so lame that i choked myself
    the last scene was full of shitt
    they killed the ghost & then chris comes in like a douche
    they ask him wher he's been and he says he went to buy a sandwitch
    wtff!!!!! i literally ran out of the theater sooo lamee

  • Lilly Beckham
    Lilly Beckham 4 months ago

    You forgot to mention that only one of the original two creators of the Ghostbuster movies was willing to make this movie The Other thought till his dying day to keep this moving from being made actually tried to make it for 10 years but one Creator refuse to sell his rights said he would worried that they would shame the Ghostbusters franchise and I think you was right and his family should never sold the right so they can make the movie

  • DK Dempcey Knight DK
    DK Dempcey Knight DK 4 months ago +2

    All of this butt puckering "feminism" and other irrational agendas are sweeping into things we should not allow such as entertainment, in this case films. This tells me that studios are attempting to make profit even off of the mental cases, which is as I said butt puckering to folks such as myself that are still sadly sane. I say sadly because at this point I think I much rather be insane rather than have to be continually bombarded with stupid OR worse turn my brain off to be able to cope. As a woman I found this movie to SUCK cheese and corn. The OG was fun and humorous, this was pure trash.

  • Omari Walker
    Omari Walker 4 months ago

    I'm happy someone had the guts to address the portrayal of men in this movie. Women.. 🙄

  • horroraddict
    horroraddict 4 months ago

    New young people don't get it. Ghostbusters 1 and 2 are amazing films

    • Brody Vargas
      Brody Vargas 4 months ago +1

      I’m 12. Ghostbusters (1984) and Empire strikes back are my favorite movies

  • horroraddict
    horroraddict 4 months ago

    Won't watch new one, watching Ghostbusters 2 on Netflix now.

  • Ultragamer
    Ultragamer 5 months ago

    way better

  • Ultragamer
    Ultragamer 5 months ago

    Ghost busters 2 was better than Ghost busters 2016

  • Santiago Poncé
    Santiago Poncé 5 months ago

    I hated this movie cuz I'm a misogynist....... Lol jk its just garbage😂😂😂

  • Captain Michael J. Caboose

    Ghostbusters is meh

  • Anthony Anguiano
    Anthony Anguiano 5 months ago

    At least Ghostbusters II made money so there that is.