Crazy Rich Asians Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 100

  • b
    b 2 months ago +1

    Astrid is so sexy

  • King Effendy
    King Effendy 2 months ago

    Astrid storyline is important, her husband was the opposite of rachel chu.
    He and rachel both came as low level outsiders, but he can’t adept, always insecure, blame his wife due to his weak character. Rachel on the other hand able to seize influence, let nothing discourage her. If rachel didn’t possess good strength, she would end up like the cousins husband

  • Terry Tay
    Terry Tay 3 months ago

    The 'sister' is his COUSIN!!!

  • jim w
    jim w 3 months ago

    You totally don't understand the plot of Astrid. That's why you thinks it's unnecessary. U need to understand Asian values to appreciate it

  • Stay Free
    Stay Free 3 months ago

    Because women dream of hooking up with wealth and women are the majority audience.

  • Fabian Pan
    Fabian Pan 3 months ago

    Astrid character and some other sub characters are important for the sequel. How can you say it’s unnecessary! Only a good movie would bother to show depth in other characters. Would it be boring if the whole damn show is just about the couple???

  • SillyMacy
    SillyMacy 3 months ago

    First of all, it's his cousin, not sister

  • wnose
    wnose 3 months ago +2

    Astrid's side-plot is to show how her husband dealt with her family's wealth (i.e. he couldn't handle it) but Rachel's response was totally different in comparison.
    Akwafina and Ken Jeong are HILARIOUS. Check out their PR interviews - I NEED them to host the oscars!

    • b
      b 2 months ago

      wnose Them hosting the Oscars would actually be hilarious

  • Penis
    Penis 3 months ago +11

    I completely disagree. The cousin (Astrid) played a huge role in the movie (that wasn’t his Sister). She was a mirror character of Nick, but the female version. She was basically the “perfect wife” material. Her character highlighted that just because you are nice, beautiful and rich, life will be easy. Because beyond that beautiful face, she was carrying the biggest emotional pain. She used shopping to temporarily make herself happy, filling the void of loneliness and happiness she was seeking from her husband. She played a very important role.

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago +1

      damn671 agreed. That’s exactly how I took Astrid’s character and I can’t wait to see her story continue in the sequel. She is basically the female version of Nick and it shows that the female being rich in a love story instead is not always as great as the guy being rich.

  • rifyrafi
    rifyrafi 3 months ago +2

    Astrids side story was not a waste of time. It created a friendship bond between Rachel and Astrid at the beach when Astrid needed it most. Both sharing a heartbreak. Watch it again dude. I'm surprised you missed it. You're slipping , Campea.

  • Ben V
    Ben V 3 months ago

    Looks like a check off for diversity and inclusion. There’s way better movies out there.

  • angelpnai13
    angelpnai13 3 months ago +5

    The side story with the female rich cousin was NOT disconnected. It was greatly connected. Please watch it again. Her story line provides a direct opposite of the what could happen with this situation. The cousin provides the female protagonist of the story a connection to the family and to show her that things could be worse with her own relationship but that not the entire family is bad.

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago

      angelpnai13 exactly. I understand this from watching the movie but I can see why John and others think that Astrid’s storyline was disconnected from the rest the main storyline

  • The_other_black_guy
    The_other_black_guy 3 months ago +1

    It was alright. My girlfriend, who's Asian, loved it

  • Sarah lee
    Sarah lee 3 months ago +4

    5 stars movie. I loved it.

  • kotobukiya70
    kotobukiya70 3 months ago +1

    98% on Rotten Tomatoes? I guess it’s safe to say they pulled a Black Panther and just gave them their score too so they wouldn’t look racist to everybody!!!!!

    • Mike Noir
      Mike Noir 3 months ago

      +kotobukiya70 You're embarassing us. Please stop
      I do agree that the person you're speaking to is asinine though

    • kotobukiya70
      kotobukiya70 3 months ago

      kay jay You must be a dumb blonde because that sounds exactly like something that would come out of the mouth of an ignorant ass dumb blonde!!!! I ask you to show me where exactly in my post that I even IMPLIED that we have any kind of philosophical solidarity!!!!! We don’t have shit!!!!! Race has nothing to do with it for you but it has everything to do with it for me and my people after we had to hear about all the stupid ass racist shit these yellow bastards said about Black Panther! It wasn’t that long ago!!! It was all over the fucking news!!!! You must have been living under a damn rock!!! But that’s typical of a white bastard! That’s why I don’t even bat an eye when shit happens to you guys! In fact, I laugh! Fuck Mulan!!!!

    • BLACK ALIEN MUSINGS
      BLACK ALIEN MUSINGS 3 months ago

      kotobukiya70 Race has NOTHING to do with my distaste for this movie. I will be FIRST IN LINE to watch Mulan. Please don't think we have any sort of philosophical solidarity.

    • kotobukiya70
      kotobukiya70 3 months ago +1

      kay jay I don’t doubt that at all! That why I say keep your racist shitty outlook out of it! Black Panther was a game changer for not only my people but other minorities as well! Instead of embracing it and joining us in celebration of it, the Asian community decided to seize the opportunity to degrade us with a bunch of stupid ass racial insults! I mean we could be joining them in celebrating the success of Crazy Rich Asians were it not for how they reacted to Black Panther! Now I gotta pay it forward! Now it’s my turn to be the racist! It’s just another way to boycott! Hopefully if every Black person or other minority that was offended by what they said about Black Panther doesn’t go out to support Crazy Rich Asians, maybe they’ll think twice before they say stupid shit like that again! Feels good seeing them having to depend on us for support with our Black dollars, white dollars, brown dollars, etc.

    • BLACK ALIEN MUSINGS
      BLACK ALIEN MUSINGS 3 months ago

      kotobukiya70 The same movie with an all white cast would be slammed as a vulgar display of materialism and white privilege. Apparently the people in the film never do any charity or address their servants as equal human beings. I am a democratic socialist and will slam vulagar, excessive Asian capitalism just as I slam vulgar, excessive Western(white) capitalism.
      I felt the same way about the bullshit tribalism and monarchical nonsense in Black Panther. Just because I'm black doesn't mean I am going to cheer notions in film which I despise in real life.

  • Ryan Sumayo
    Ryan Sumayo 3 months ago +1

    Just hoping Hollywood won't white wash Asian roles like Tilda Swinton playing the Ancient One in Dr. Strange

    • Mike Noir
      Mike Noir 3 months ago

      Let it go. Please, just let it go.

  • jrad410
    jrad410 3 months ago +1

    Wouldn’t say it’s great but very fun film

  • Sherwin Lui
    Sherwin Lui 3 months ago +1

    Hope that this movie help expand the roles, topics, and budget that Asian Americans can make in Hollywood. Seen too much of topic done in Asian movies and tv shows. (Or romantic comedy movie in general.)
    Not a big fan of the topic. Would of prefer it if they did something like Butterfly Lovers, Legend of the Madam White Snake, Empress Wu(the only female royal ruler of China), The Cowherd and the Weaver Girl, etc. They can even put a modern twist on these stories.
    Now if they really had a budget, I would of love to seen Jin Yong Novel(they are like more traditional Game of Thrones type show) done in Hollywood budget. Legend of Condor Heroes, Demi-Gods and Semi-Devils, The Heaven Sword and Dragon Saber, & The Smiling, Proud Wanderer, etc. They are historical, fantasy, action, and have some romantic type show.

  • astrooak
    astrooak 3 months ago +1

    That side plot you are talking about is obviously setup for the sequel. Why are there no criticism when marvel setups for the next film?

  • Stephanie Mitchell
    Stephanie Mitchell 3 months ago +1

    She's his cousin lol

    • Kyle Roberts
      Kyle Roberts 3 months ago

      Yeah,I have to question how much he was paying attention,because it's made clear that Astrid is his cousin. Not sister.

  • jayakrishnan r
    jayakrishnan r 3 months ago +5

    They make a rather rudimentary romantic comedy movie that is all in for materialism and critics are raving over it just because it ticks the boxes of representation, I feel the same vibe from that Oceans 8 film.

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago

      The movie was a well made/shot movie which is probably why the critics gave it good ratings/reviews. It’s a textbook, generic romantic comedy like John said and it worked. I do wonder if this movie would have gotten bad ratings then would have the same amount of folks have gone to go see it. The Asian/ Asian American would have shown up in the US to see but would everybody else?

    • Ezio Auditore
      Ezio Auditore 3 months ago +1

      You're right and thank you for being honest. Asians deserved better than this affirmative action of a movie.

  • WaqarDepp
    WaqarDepp 3 months ago +1

    Great movie!

  • JonnySuite13
    JonnySuite13 3 months ago

    That is the stupidest name in Hollywood. Sounds like a brand of water; Awkwafina.

    • Ezio Auditore
      Ezio Auditore 3 months ago

      The only possible way her name not as stupid if she got brand deal with that company

  • Nella J
    Nella J 3 months ago +1

    I saw Crazy Rich Asians when it opened in the US 2 days ago and I also enjoyed it. :) I had a good time

  • Derek Knight
    Derek Knight 3 months ago +3

    On the contrary of your comment about the side story of the sister marriage has nothing to do with the main story, The cheating husband is a opposite reflection of the main actress. Instead of brave up and face the reality that he isn’t rich he coward out to cheat while the main stress fights.

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago +1

      Derek Knight true. The comparisons between the cheating husband character and the main female character were noticeable to me :) 👏🏽💯

  • Hafiz Mat Saberi
    Hafiz Mat Saberi 3 months ago +1

    This movie supposed to be in Netflix lol, not in cinema.

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago

      Mohd Amerul Aidil exactly. It was meant to be in theaters and I’m glad that the sequel will too. :) I can’t wait for other movies like this to be made also.

    • Mohd Amerul Aidil
      Mohd Amerul Aidil 3 months ago +1

      Hafiz Mat Saberi it's the first Hollywood that feature all Asian cast and you want it to be in Netflix?! The hell is wrong with you?!

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago +1

      The writers and director was offered a Netflix deal but they turned it down so that it could be released on the big screen and I’m glad that it happened this way

  • Kyle Roberts
    Kyle Roberts 3 months ago +4

    But these characters are written as so in the book. So, they kind of have no choice to make the guy super wealthy..
    Also,what sister are you referring to?

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago

      Kyle Roberts Agreed. I can understand where James is coming from because her storyline did seem disconnected from the rest of the film but I also like the actress’ acting performance at the end. That final scene of them together was so good that i said “amen” out loud and my best friend looked at me and started laughing. Lol I also love the scene of them before the wedding in the limo. It’s not a bad thing that her side storyline seemed out of place from the main storyline so that minor flaw can be forgiven by me and others. Even John said he still likes the movie and he recommended that folks go to see it. Also, based on comments on social media, the movie seems to be setting up a possible sequel since the cousin is in the 2nd book with a more focused storyline.

    • Kyle Roberts
      Kyle Roberts 3 months ago +2

      +Nella J weird. I loved her storyline.

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago +1

      Kyle Roberts I think he means the female cousin with the husband who was also a commoner just like Rachel, the main female character, is

  • ImJaredRoss
    ImJaredRoss 3 months ago +6

    It’s my 4th favorite movie of the year right now I just had such a great time with this movie and for it doing everything in the book of a rom com it did it well 8/10

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago

      ImJaredRoss agreed 💯👏🏽

  • Max Jerome
    Max Jerome 3 months ago +3

    What about that Country movie with Reese Witherspoon where she ends up with her broke childhood friend

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago +1

      Exactly. I love that movie.

  • Gordon Devore
    Gordon Devore 3 months ago +2

    you're complaining that she ended up with a rich billionaire?? are you serious dude? What movie were you watching?!

  • Hunter Rina
    Hunter Rina 3 months ago +12

    The side Plot is for the sequel. They are setting up. It’s adapted from a book

  • BLACK ALIEN MUSINGS
    BLACK ALIEN MUSINGS 3 months ago +13

    Materialism on steroids. It looks as deep as a puddle. I would rather pull my teeth out.

    • wnose
      wnose 3 months ago

      Go see it - I promise you'll change your mind

    • Ezio Auditore
      Ezio Auditore 3 months ago

      How??? Care to explain???

    • Cole Jordan
      Cole Jordan 3 months ago +2

      The books are quite deep too, because Kevin Kwan showcases the dark side of the absurd wealth: the younger generation is MISERABLE, is hungry for more meaningful and fulfilling pursuits than money because they have enough money to last for centuries, and is at odds with parents and grandparents wholly consumed by insatiable greed. Kwan SAVAGELY SATIRIZES the absurdity of the materialism and the fact the elders pay lip-service to meaningful pursuits like spiritual fulfillment through Christianity while criticizing their progenies for wanting things worth more than money. His trilogy is a razor sharp commentary of the hypocritical tendencies of the godly-rich.

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago

      Lol

    • sayjai bao
      sayjai bao 3 months ago

      kay jay lol it cuts deeper than the shallow materialism

  • ViperChief117
    ViperChief117 3 months ago +13

    Crazy Broke Asians is the sequel.

    • az21bob666
      az21bob666 3 months ago

      NO rich man loses billion on devoice, form his new wife.

    • Emily Lu
      Emily Lu 3 months ago +2

      ViperChief117 that movie was good tho just watched it a few hours ago, I cried. 😂

    • Emily Lu
      Emily Lu 3 months ago +2

      ViperChief117 not trying to start a cat fight

    • Emily Lu
      Emily Lu 3 months ago +2

      ViperChief117 Ok just making sure

    • ViperChief117
      ViperChief117 3 months ago +1

      Emilu Kangaroo I’m not I’m making fun of the title of this movie. Stop getting your panties in a knot.

  • Try Not To
    Try Not To 3 months ago

    I imagine john's wife standing behind the camera with a baseball bat in her hand, in case he talks shit about the movie

  • BushidoBrownSama
    BushidoBrownSama 3 months ago +13

    Saw it last Wednesday I'm glad I skipped the trailer I was pretty happy with it and nothing got spoiled for me

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago +1

      BushidoBrownSama cool

  • Delboy0
    Delboy0 3 months ago +5

    I am noticing a clear pattern in the reviews. Asians reviewers saying it is amazing and non-Asians saying it is okay to good. RomComs are my least favourite movie genre and I only like them when they are extremely funny. If this movie is only charming, amusing and paint by numbers, I am going to give this movie a miss. The trailer looked extremely bland too. It is a shame because I wanted this movie to be a hit but looking at reviews the movie seems to have no crossover appeal because it is too safe and bland for non-Asians audiences

    • Angela C
      Angela C 3 months ago

      Ezio Auditore First, there’s nothing wrong with rom-coms. They’re entertaining, and most aren’t meant to be deep. Second, even if you don’t like the genre, non-white rom-coms in Hollywood are like unicorns, and Crazy Rich Asians filled a gaping hole in terms of diversity and representation. Third, this movie isn’t supposed to solely represent the movement towards Asian inclusion in Hollywood. The idea is that more non-stereotypical Asian-dominated movies will be produced, partly due to the box office success of this movie. And hopefully those films will include many different genres and that some will be just as good, if not better than Crazy Rich Asians.

    • Ezio Auditore
      Ezio Auditore 3 months ago +1

      Are Asian Americans are really that desperate for representation in the media so they've to settle with this trashy rom-com filled with one dimensional characters ???? This movie is like the affirmative action movie for asians. Basically just a lip service instead of true progressive cause which should be on the movie merits.Btw I'm Asian and I personally don't hate this movie on it's own but I'm just so disappointed that this movie tries to represent our movement. To whoever reading this, if you're not asian nor "woke" you may not know that there's a problem with Asian communities in the west just like how others POC communities are with very similar and unique problems. We can do much better than this.

    • Kyle Roberts
      Kyle Roberts 3 months ago +3

      I don't see that pattern. I've seen many white critics saying they loved this film. And a few asians that say they didn't like it.

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago +1

      卌laila agreed

    • Kenttheclark
      Kenttheclark 3 months ago +3

      The movie has extra value if you recognize how groundbreaking it is in terms of setting and representation. it's like black panther, except if black people never got major roles in the past two decades.

  • ookoshi
    ookoshi 3 months ago +29

    The character with the cheating husband is introduced in this movie because it's in the book and a critical part of the 2nd book in the series. Those scenes are setting up a sequel.

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago

      Monte P exactly lol. I also thought Astrid’s side story was good and well spaced throughout the film and it got the message across in those like 4 or 5 scenes. The mid credit scene after the end of movie shows that her story will be continuing:)

    • Monte P
      Monte P 3 months ago +1

      Never a problem when there are side plots in superhero movies setting up sequels, but god forbid you get a side plot in an unfamiliar story 😏

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago +1

      Kyle Roberts She was a good character but even I felt like it was a side story and it felt disconnected from the rest of the film. I did like the scenes when they were in the limo and when she dissed him at the end. Lol

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago +2

      Cool. I hope that they do a sequel too because Crazy Rich Asians is a good movie.

    • Kyle Roberts
      Kyle Roberts 3 months ago +5

      And I believe it's Nick's cousin,not sister. And I am surprised he didn't like her. She was one of my favorite performances.

  • Mr Ken No
    Mr Ken No 3 months ago +3

    Glad to see asians in a non-martial arts films. I'm gonna pass on this one since I dont like romcoms. Seems too girly for me. But i wish it success in hopes to see asians in another genre in the US.

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago

      Cool

    • Delboy0
      Delboy0 3 months ago +2

      I would argue the cinematography and acting elevated Creed to one of the best Rocky films. Girls Trip was far more raunchy and laugh out loud funny than a normal chick flick movie. Look up John Campea where he said he was crying with laughter at Girls Trip but for this movie he said he had a few giggles. When Nolan, Spielberg, Hemsworth, and Feige all say Black Panther is the best made marvel movie that tells you a lot about the movie. I think maybe Asian film makers think being bland makes more people want to see the movie when it is the reverse. People want to see something new they haven't seen before like Get Out, Straight Outta Compton or Black Panther.

    • Mr Ken No
      Mr Ken No 3 months ago +1

      Delboy0 well. I dont think it looks good. I dont like romcoms so i wont watch it. But if it does well it could open doors to new things. So im OK with the film.

    • Delboy0
      Delboy0 3 months ago +4

      Mr Ken No True but is it any better making a bland cookie cutter Asian led Maid In Manhattan? Black movies like Get Out, Black Panther, Creed, and Girls Trip had massive cross over appeal because they were excellent movies that broke the mould. Making an Asian Tyler Perry movie isn't going to make people want to see more Asian lead movies. Hope it is successful, rom com is too much of a bland genre. People forget the Last Emperor was an Asian led movie that made the equivalent of 350 million in the US box office in 1985. The reason why is it was an excellent movie. The answer to more Asian led movies is make excellent movies not bland romcoms

  • Factual Opinion
    Factual Opinion 3 months ago +3

    The only rom com that ain't a raunchy R rating that I will eventually check out.

  • Official Filmilen
    Official Filmilen 3 months ago +2

    I love this review

  • Factual Opinion
    Factual Opinion 3 months ago +3

    Cool, cant wait to catch it on bluray

  • Trey
    Trey 3 months ago +25

    Awkwafina was a delight. Hope she gets more roles where she gets to shine. Maybe she’ll eventually drop the moniker and just go by Nora Lum.

    • Nella J
      Nella J 3 months ago +1

      Agreed. Her character was funny in the movie and Awkwafina played her well

    • RawbThatPunk
      RawbThatPunk 3 months ago +1

      I believe she will go by her stage name if she goes for roles as the wacky person.

  • roodtube
    roodtube 3 months ago +8

    Pretty good : )

  • Joe Blast
    Joe Blast 3 months ago

    You didn't give this an absolutely amazing so it sounds to me like this will be on your worst films of 2018 list.

  • Elizabeth Bellatrix - Lestrange

    Imagine Zhang Ziyi playing Hela in Thor 3