The Double Screen Laptop Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 15, 2019
  • Dave2D review of the ZenBook Pro Duo UX581. Is a Dual Screen Laptop ACTUALLY useful?
    Available Here - amzn.to/2ZzUFGD
    With a 9980HK and an RTX 2060, this can be used as a powerful gaming laptop but it's main focus for creative work. Can be equipped with up to 32 gigs of ram. Pricing TBA.
    Background Music Fili - Pressing Forward
    If you want to support the channel, consider a Dave2D membership by clicking the “Join” button above!
    Dave2D
    Dave2D
    discord.gg/Dave2D
    Purchases made from store links may give me some money.
    (It doesn’t cost you extra, so please buy everything)
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 834

  • Dave Lee
    Dave Lee  4 months ago +1137

    This is by far the best implementation of a double screen we've seen. If the bottom panel could tilt up a bit, I think this thing would a lot better. Do you want to see more devices with double displays like this?

    • Awny Shaheen
      Awny Shaheen 6 days ago

      Is it worthy for programming? If not can you please suggest another?
      Thnx.

    • Jakob
      Jakob 15 days ago

      This laptop aint for you Dave, you need your normal pube-gaming laptop filled with RGB and tacky plastic-symbols and schemes that you often adore and think are sick and looks wicked and get your juices going.
      this laptop is a daytrader & stocktraders wet dream and from here, Asus nailed it from a first attempt..really like what they are doing and it is perfect that it is a tone down powerfull laptop as most laptop with potent specs, looks idiotic to an adult with all this pube-bling and RGB dragons and crap.
      Keep going down this path Asus.. without a doubt the most interesting laptop i have seen for many years, though I just went for a Porsche Book, though obvious not as a workstation, more like a extreme big 13.3" 500nits 3200x1800 7mm thunderbolt3 windows10 pro tablet with Wacom stylus but as a daily workstation this Pro Duo is ideal.. could have all my 3 secondary screen below with tradeticker, newsfeed, stockdeepths and keep the main screen for an complete stockqoute-marketoverview.(amazing laptop Asus, well done)
      .

    • Joel Lawry
      Joel Lawry 2 months ago

      What angle can you open the main display to? Can you get a good viewing angle on both screens by raising the rear edge of the laptop and using external peripherals?

    • Mouneem Talhaoui
      Mouneem Talhaoui 3 months ago

      Earn money from herr come on
      share.cloutbucks.com/Mouneem

    • Chris Enitan
      Chris Enitan 4 months ago

      Dave, 3 weeks ago you said this laptop was super awesome but I can't help but notice now you're killing everything about it. What happened??! Good stuff though, I mean at least you're not lying to us

  • TEj Maximus
    TEj Maximus Minute ago

    Everyone : cool
    Literally Everyone : cool
    Left hand people ( like me) : fuck !! Fuck !! fuck !!

  • Navid Azimi
    Navid Azimi Day ago

    Unnecessary

  • Brad Allison
    Brad Allison 2 days ago

    I am going to buy a new gaming laptop in December and want something that is going to replace my AMD gaming PC. This keeps coming to mind, even at $2500-3000. But now I just saw your review of that Helios. So what would you get if you did have the money? This or the Helios, or something else? And outside of gaming, I am a programmer where the second screen would really come in handy

  • Yashwant Garud
    Yashwant Garud 2 days ago

    you seem to be the only one with a negative review. did you use it long after june. how does it perform?

  • Bradley Matthews
    Bradley Matthews 3 days ago

    I’m considering getting the Duo, not the pro one, for the specs and gimmick I think it’s a pretty good deal for 2,200 AUD. I never use laptop touch screens and I don’t need 4k, is there any other differences apart from the specs?

  • Dude Trust Me
    Dude Trust Me 5 days ago

    I went into the ASUS shop and tried it. Did not see any problem with the viewing angles, at least not enough to have it mentioned multiple times.. O well.

  • JavaScript Evangelist
    JavaScript Evangelist 10 days ago

    can you recommend this for programming (ASUS ZenBook Duo UX481 14inch)? web development. I'm in Swiss, can I order this from amazon uk ?

  • Thy Huynh
    Thy Huynh 10 days ago

    I think as a concept artist who constantly have to split my screen into 2 to fit in reference and a drawing application this will help tremendously 0_0. Sometimes i even use 3 application just because i wanna watch a video will i draw and looking at references. Ill wait till its cheaper 😂

  • Maximilian Pütz
    Maximilian Pütz 12 days ago

    I have it... Don't buy it. The audio is so low you can't watch a movie on it.. Even sitting directly in front of it... Sending it back.. sadly...I don't know why no reviewer seems to recognize how flawed it is...

  • Lam Par
    Lam Par 16 days ago +1

    Not much of a functionality of this additional feature ( screen) , except burn a bigger hole in my pocket book.

  • Pati
    Pati 17 days ago

    I want to buy this laptop, but very worried about the OLED panel. Paying 3000$ to get a burn-in after 1 year :-/. Also on Asus official page they say about the OLED panel :" this is normal behavior for OLED panels" . They don't even give warranty for it. Do you still suggest to buy laptops with oled panels?

  • team admin
    team admin 22 days ago

    Some people report that its max. 2hrs on a battery with only ONE OLED SCREEN TURNED ON ! Can you please confirm or comment on that ? That would be ridiculous to pay US$ 2.5 thousands not be able to use it at the airplane, or at the uni/college and taking notes. ps. also seems like this laptop does not have a camera but nobody commented on it... Thank you for your feedback

  • Highway 1
    Highway 1 22 days ago

    Nice light sabers in the background dude!😄

  • Tamur Qutab
    Tamur Qutab 24 days ago

    Great vid

  • Whistleblower
    Whistleblower 25 days ago

    GTA 5 & CNN😎👍

  • Chris B.
    Chris B. 25 days ago

    The screen is 100% DCI-p3 rated which is a huge deal.

  • Reel.Marketing
    Reel.Marketing 26 days ago +1

    Thought Dave2D have more love for this - seemed a resounding: definitely maybe.

  • Minje Kim
    Minje Kim 27 days ago

    Is it a 17inch?

  • vyrot 38
    vyrot 38 27 days ago

    0:07 can someone tell me where I can get that Skull wallpaper ? I really like it.

    • M C
      M C 23 days ago

      Just found it here: www.artstation.com/artwork/W26knQ

  • Yadira Soriano
    Yadira Soriano 29 days ago

    is this out yet??

  • Enzo Pulido
    Enzo Pulido Month ago

    Can you turn off the second screen??

  • Helen
    Helen Month ago

    Gutes Video.
    Klasse! Ganz Prima! Meine Augen schmerzen nicht mehr von den Bildschirmen. Ich habe den Grund entfernt. Mehr Infos hier: mitralicht.de/led-monitor/

  • noodle_ ship
    noodle_ ship Month ago

    So, when are they gonna slap that folding screen tech on this?

  • Damien J
    Damien J Month ago

    Where do you get these desktop backgrounds?

  • Nick Nicomedes
    Nick Nicomedes Month ago

    Not a good Review by Dave on this Epic Laptop...

  • Robert Long
    Robert Long Month ago

    How well would it run EVE? I'm asking there are some extra windows in the EVE client that I can see would be better down on the bottom screen allowing a cleaner game screen.

  • Joey
    Joey Month ago

    Do you think the 2060 is enough for gaming cause there’s razer that comes with 2080 Max Q. This one comes with an 9gen CPU so I’m wondering if that balances it out.

  • DinosaurOnesie
    DinosaurOnesie Month ago

    This is hands

  • Shakv3
    Shakv3 Month ago

    What is that blue device at 7:19? does anybody know?

    • aloxx
      aloxx Month ago +1

      @Shakv3 probably idk

    • Shakv3
      Shakv3 Month ago

      aloxx I thought either a SSD or powerbank.
      So added power bank in video for aesthetics?

    • aloxx
      aloxx Month ago +1

      looks like a power bank

  • eric Igbinosun
    eric Igbinosun Month ago

    a laptop stand would solve all these issues you mentioned with the second screen

  • Esby
    Esby Month ago

    Best way is to stream. Chat on the touchscreen and game on the screen

  • Okay Mico
    Okay Mico Month ago

    Top Screen: Game
    Bottom Screen: OBS and Chat?
    Thoughts? Just an idea. :)

  • Florian Schweiz
    Florian Schweiz Month ago

    Hello! In fact, I was just about to buy it as a Gaming Laptop.. I know that a Asus ROG is actually better with a 140Hz IPS Screen... but, in fact, I Play mmo-rpg and I think I don’t Need a high refresh rate or 140 Hz (better for shooters ?). The Second screen of the pro Duo could be usefull for quest helping Websites or.. you See what I mean.
    So if you had, for the same price, the Choice between Asus Zenbook pro Duo (15,3“) or the Asus ROG Zephyrus S gx502gx to Play FF14, Wow... which one would you choose?

  • donaldtheditto
    donaldtheditto Month ago

    my wallet will literally thinner than teh macbook air now

  • Hamza Shiban
    Hamza Shiban Month ago

    So is it worth it for filmmakers? Even though the graphics card is not rtx 2070?

  • Akshay Gautam
    Akshay Gautam Month ago

    Gentleman's review. 👍

  • Makta972
    Makta972 Month ago

    Gimmick.

  • MananaMan
    MananaMan Month ago

    No one is gonna mention the abrupt vomit at 2:00
    Laughed pretty hard when i saw it

  • PRO Gaming
    PRO Gaming Month ago

    U can probably use the bottom as a graphic tablet if ur into drawings and such, if im planning to buy this dat might be the reason why im considering buying it since i dont really wanna buy a grpahic tablet since i only do drawings as a hobby,😊

    • PRO Gaming
      PRO Gaming Month ago

      Only problem is the keyboard when using it as a graphic tablet🤣🤣

  • Coopbase Solutions
    Coopbase Solutions Month ago +1

    For a programmer, like me, I code a lot and I need more screens, this is my dream laptop, but that is. So expensive for my wallet.

  • zoriaty
    zoriaty Month ago

    Why do all content creator link the performance of notebooks with their Job? I want to see other performance examples as developing or music editing, sth like that for example the it or buisness world. Not only content creating. But to tilt the aspect on this Notebook. I believe second screen is nice to have, but not so effective as an external Monitor for example. Your eyes are always concentrated on the big screen and the small screen will distract you from the main job of your task. Applications need to use it to make it effective

  • Brighty McBrightface

    seems like they missed a few basic design iterations and brought this to market without sufficient R&D
    1) the idea of making the secondary screen movable -- this would improve viewing angle, allow "bezel-less" placement below the main screen, far better airflow for cooling, even detachable
    2) ertainly should have its own set of power management and fully off settings
    3) touchpad should be a display (like the other Asus where the touchpad is a display) not just a num-pad.
    4) touchscreen mode -- if you're paying for a 4K touchscreen, the laptop has to be a 2-in-1 or convertible or detachable keyboard, preferably with a great hinge design
    5) no dock/charge/"garage" for the pen (?)
    6) not USB-C charging (?) ... great that it has fast-charge, but much more useful to have charging from USB-C (I assume it does, it's just not noted)
    7) 1 USB-C TB3 is underwhelming for a 5lb lump of a desktop replacement
    8) should have a bespoke mouse in the box (preferably with preprogrammed keys to control the screen functions
    9) first versions are "expensive" and "very expensive" with no option to choose storage, memory or graphics ... I guess they're trying for a Tesla-like cash-grab on early adopter gotta-have-it first-kid-on-the-block status-conscious types
    10) the Pro Duo proves a second display is very useful (I'm using one now ... an iPad ... wireless, also still an iPad ...) so I think this is not a game-changer, but if/when they address items 1 thru 9, it could become a real "wow" that creates its own segment in the market and people become accustomed to finding the laptop they like, then deciding "one display, or two?" as part of the build spec.

  • NS Gaming
    NS Gaming Month ago

    This year is my first year in the university in physical education and sport ! This laptop will be worth it for me ! Ps: i like video games and i never had a laptop before so i will try to learn photoshop , word and other skills on pc !

  • Daisy
    Daisy Month ago

    It beats MacBook Pro in so many ways not to mention it's $1500 less compared at the top spec models. www.asus.com/us/Laptops/ZenBook-Pro-Duo-UX581GV/

  • Steven Wang
    Steven Wang Month ago +1

    Not laptop related but ... am I the only one who would absolutely DIG a dave2d gaming channel?

  • Nicole Ricciardi
    Nicole Ricciardi Month ago

    I think this laptop was built for me XD I have very bad vision so tend to hold my computer with one hand on my chest tilted up so I can see the keyboard. Now with the second screen I can do multitasking and put a typing app at the bottom above the keyboard, so ergonomically it fits XD

  • lisa sha
    lisa sha Month ago

    but actually , i don't really need second screen on the laptop

  • Kuma Bear
    Kuma Bear Month ago

    handsome man

  • Jackie Cheng
    Jackie Cheng Month ago

    @Dave Lee - off topic, but where did you get those light stick lamps?

  • pc doctor סוואנשים

    how pc works:
    tvclip.biz/video/kUv7JtkpN8g/video.html

  • Dumitrascu Claudiu
    Dumitrascu Claudiu 2 months ago

    Excelent!
    Thank You Dave!

  • Chris H
    Chris H 2 months ago

    Why didn't they make it folding instead of two separate screens..

  • Shaun Lyu
    Shaun Lyu 2 months ago

    I think I really wanna buy this one. I truly like the design. I’m not a programmer or a content creator. I only do web surfing and game playing. I think the i9 and 2080 GPU is totally enough for that. Don’t tell me about other gaming laptops. Those design don’t seem attractive to me.

  • Sophie's life
    Sophie's life 2 months ago +3

    So I have a computer for gaming and then one for editing and then one for social media and one for Minecraft




    Joking I just have a Kindle Amazon tablet

  • zahra amralla
    zahra amralla 2 months ago

    Can I ask about it’s price approximately?

  • David Wynn
    David Wynn 2 months ago

    That Amazon link made me so excited until I clicked it .... UGHH!!!! i want ths

  • Dante DeCarli
    Dante DeCarli 2 months ago

    where do I get that background?? It's sick

  • Jays M
    Jays M 2 months ago

    this compared to the Intel Honeycomb Glacier, I go with the Intel one just because the second screen is brighter and much more lifted so you can use both screen on a easy way. Sad enough it's still a prototype and it can take a while before it is on the market

  • George Adusei
    George Adusei 2 months ago

    I personally like the Duo, but you may like Intel’s Honeycomb Glacier more.