RED Hydrogen One Review: I Wanted this to be Great!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 2, 2018
  • RED Hydrogen One. The RED Media Machine. Is it worth the hype?
    RED Hydrogen One: www.h4v.com/overview
    Full Joe Rogan podcast: tvclip.biz/video/QSGaMUBC4Mc/video.html
    MKBHD Merch: shop.MKBHD.com
    Video Gear I use: kit.com/MKBHD/video-gear#recommendation17959
    Tech I'm using right now: www.amazon.com/shop/MKBHD
    ~
    twitter.com/MKBHD
    snapchat.com/add/MKBHD
    google.com/+MarquesBrownlee
    instagram.com/MKBHD
    facebook.com/MKBHD
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 7 915

  • Gem Iñigo
    Gem Iñigo 21 hour ago +1

    Now you have a reason to spent a $1,300.00 on a *Foldable Phone*

  • 멘토르석사
    멘토르석사 Day ago

    Most horrible phone of the year ever by far

  • Cianawesome Grout

    I saw it on camera.......

  • Lil Indomie
    Lil Indomie 2 days ago

    Finally nintendo releases the *3ds phone*

  • Avrysatos
    Avrysatos 2 days ago

    So is the 3d screen line a Nintendo 3ds style thing?

  • TTV-TwitchgoD-YT
    TTV-TwitchgoD-YT 4 days ago

    I love that he makes the videos wide for the iPhone x

  • Aurélien ETIENNE
    Aurélien ETIENNE 5 days ago

    It would be fun to have a red camera sensor capable of having a big sense lol

  • Joel Chew
    Joel Chew 5 days ago

    6:30 I guess they never miss huh

  • Little Big
    Little Big 6 days ago

    Please review the Mi 9

  • blinkingred
    blinkingred 8 days ago

    so 3ds the phone

  • PORSCHE CAYMAN S JUNGS

    First i was thinking its a motorola mod case

  • Virgil Clinton
    Virgil Clinton 14 days ago

    The HTC evo 3d, to me, was better

  • Ben Laurence
    Ben Laurence 15 days ago +1

    I think the more they work on and improve the phone it will get better (obvious statement I know lol) but the potential is there. I think if Red keeps with it, this phone could be a replacement for vloggers who lug around dslr’s

  • PopularScienceGalaxy
    PopularScienceGalaxy 16 days ago

    G

  • qem
    qem 17 days ago +1

    I'd prefer a 3ds

  • Piper Hayze Media
    Piper Hayze Media 17 days ago

    what makes this pointless is that the only reason anyone would buy this is for the camera..that what the name Red carries..beyond that who cares its just an android phone...and they fucked that one aspect up making it a useless

  • Toasty Volvo
    Toasty Volvo 18 days ago

    A bezel has never bothered me. Market tells us not to want a bezel but what is the problem with a bezel? If you can open your eyes; nothing.

  • Sierra Symone
    Sierra Symone 19 days ago

    I could see the holograms easily

  • Sir John A. Macdonald
    Sir John A. Macdonald 20 days ago

    So basically the same technology as my 6 year old 3DS for 200$...

  • TaKeN_Alpha
    TaKeN_Alpha 20 days ago +1

    The easiest way I found to describe how the screen looks is that it kinda seems like the original Nintendo 3DS screens, to not get a major headache you need to sit in a “sweet spot”

  • Ginpachi-sensei
    Ginpachi-sensei 21 day ago

    Idiots who say an apple logo on the back would've made this phone great should shut up.
    Please, if apple had released this phone, people would know the features are gonna get better. If apple made this phone, it wouldn't be the first phone from a company that doesn't make smartphones in the first place, would it?

    • Ginpachi-sensei
      Ginpachi-sensei 21 day ago

      Oh yes, I should add that I've never used an iPhone. Don't call me a mindless apple fanboy

  • Jennifer Taylor
    Jennifer Taylor 23 days ago

    It's new...

  • T Chowdhury
    T Chowdhury 24 days ago

    can you revisit the phone?

  • Josh Winslow
    Josh Winslow 24 days ago

    POS

  • Taaha Tahir
    Taaha Tahir 25 days ago

    fortnite and markass brown lee

  • skuldug12
    skuldug12 26 days ago

    the holographic 3d depth pictures have been around since the nintendo 3ds :/

  • Paul Madsen
    Paul Madsen 27 days ago

    If you'd use it, you'd see that it IS great! The Red H1 runs circles around my boring Note 8 in every way! Did you even turn yours on?

  • Mr. Smith
    Mr. Smith 27 days ago

    1300 for carbon and metal.. yea right

  • HotButtery PopCorn
    HotButtery PopCorn 27 days ago

    I had a phone in 2010 that was called HTC EVO 4g, and the camera on the phone was a 5mp and it had 3d capabilities and I can kind of see the "4 view" function on the phone display although it is slightly visible it reminds me of that phones video and photo visuals while taken/captured in "3d mode." If you haven't heard of this phone before and compared the two I think you should make a video on the two's comparisons so you can see if they're quite the same. Just a bit of useless knowledge for you! Have a good day!

  • TheToxizX
    TheToxizX Month ago

    6:30 I guess they never miss huh

  • Da One
    Da One Month ago

    5:05 oh I'm in the shot

  • Thomas Hansen
    Thomas Hansen Month ago

    Remember the LG p920?

  • Deyvson Moutinho Caliman

    Truth is that phones now reach far beyond we need in every aspect, except cameras. They need to stop producing phones with cameras and start producing cameras with phones.

  • Sharu Tamonud
    Sharu Tamonud Month ago

    reminds me of the 3ds

  • Simon Ambrister
    Simon Ambrister Month ago

    Waste of money ...the battery take hrs to charge...only charge fast with it's special charger

  • andrea bernardini
    andrea bernardini Month ago

    The Terminator phone

  • mishoboy mishoboy
    mishoboy mishoboy Month ago

    Htc made this 20 thousand years ago

  • Stroller Boy
    Stroller Boy Month ago +1

    Do something with that hair bruh!

  • Stroller Boy
    Stroller Boy Month ago

    Get that crop cut.

  • systdow666
    systdow666 Month ago

    so if its not “holographic” why are they advertising shit floating over the display? thats not marketing thats false advertisement not even borderline deceptive it is deceptive

  • DaIeDenton
    DaIeDenton Month ago

    Marques, as much as I like Red and respect the company. You need to stop promoting their shit. This phone was a circus act and a flop.

  • Tuomas Leone
    Tuomas Leone Month ago

    looking forward to the follow-up to this video now that the promised modules are not coming.

  • Mr.Wobbles
    Mr.Wobbles Month ago +1

    the famous camera maker company does not make the camera part of the phone. No sale. Shame on you RED for getting our collective hopes up.

  • ephraimperez1111
    ephraimperez1111 Month ago

    who makes it?

  • jeremiah mendez
    jeremiah mendez Month ago

    3d screen? is like the amazon fire using they 4 cameras in front for the games. The differences here is that Red is using this tech on their photos... This tech have to evolve

  • Areatrance
    Areatrance Month ago

    I really loved everything about this phone the first time I held it in a store, but I have quickly changed my mind after realizing it is not water resistant, nor is the CPU any newer than 2017.
    Red almost had it, they only needed a new CPU to justify the price, and Water Resistance is a must for users like me!

  • Devon
    Devon Month ago +1

    3ds phone

  • Pazelloxu
    Pazelloxu Month ago +1

    New Brand

  • williams milton
    williams milton Month ago

    Phones like thèse cant keep up with the market. So i will never by one. They lack so much and they take to long to get there. And when they get there phones like tge s10 will be doing something new. So its a no for me.😞😞😞

  • Sean Jayson
    Sean Jayson Month ago +2

    A carbon fiber
    WATCH JERRYRIG

  • Harry Kane
    Harry Kane Month ago

    Hal 9000?

  • Jew Dyke
    Jew Dyke Month ago +1

    Just get a 3DS lmao

  • Angel Snowflakes
    Angel Snowflakes Month ago

    I wouldn't waste a 100 bucks to get it. Lol.

  • Nikole Powell
    Nikole Powell Month ago

    it's a 3DS screen on steroids basically

  • D D
    D D Month ago

    Is it like the 3ds?

  • Ronin Sanati
    Ronin Sanati Month ago

    Sounds like my Nintendo 3ds

  • Arturo Marroquin
    Arturo Marroquin Month ago

    Good And Honest Review, Thank you 👍

  • Petr Turek
    Petr Turek Month ago

    I guess they -never- sometimes miss, huh

  • Daniel Shaw
    Daniel Shaw 2 months ago

    yeh wont be buying this

  • Eine kleine Nachtmusik
    Eine kleine Nachtmusik 2 months ago

    Dude... it's straight up butt ugly. Any other description of it's art style is wrong.

  • Networte
    Networte 2 months ago

    Cool video but.. what's the damn intro song called?!

  • PkwyDrive13
    PkwyDrive13 2 months ago +2

    I honestly love the look, I like the look more than my s9+ and others

  • Clarence So
    Clarence So 2 months ago

    Oh i see 3D

  • Clarence So
    Clarence So 2 months ago

    Built for the military
    Soldier:oh shit my phone got shot
    Other soldier:don't forget that phones a tank
    Soldier:oh thank god

  • Begone instagram normie

    Ummm... excuse me, you just knocked off the nintendo 3ds it can take 3d photo and video, and literally play 100s of games in 3d
    If only the 3ds dual cameras weren’t 0.3 (not a typo) megapixels...

  • Mark Pedzinski
    Mark Pedzinski 2 months ago

    OMG you all paying these dudes toys

  • FamousNATE187
    FamousNATE187 2 months ago

    I Had this on my HTC EVO 3D 4G......🧓

  • SKILD SKREAM
    SKILD SKREAM 2 months ago

    i love you so much for making your videos the ratio you do they work perfect on my s9+ your fuckin awesome bro, n have the best advice on tech

  • Abel Salaz
    Abel Salaz 2 months ago

    I had it for a month , the 3d gets old really quick , i hardly used this. Sold it bougth me a s9+

    • Rodney McFadden
      Rodney McFadden Month ago

      Are there any movies, shows you can watch with it in 3d?

  • David Baker
    David Baker 2 months ago

    You make a great video in general, I appreciate watching them.
    Smart, straight forward, unbiased, and my source of frustration with other video makers...no excessive cuts and edits.

  • Muhammad Ayyad
    Muhammad Ayyad 2 months ago

    Just got the phone today without any knowledge of it, bought it impulsively lol. But I checked out the camera and speakers and I think they're great tbh. There are some let downs, mainly software related. Compared to my old s8 it just feels very very basic. But it seems to me like this phone can have some really good potential, or just utterly fail. I'm not yet ready to accept that I wasted my money lol.

  • Joe Russo
    Joe Russo 2 months ago

    They probably just took an off the shelf phone and tried to pass it off as a red camera in a phone.

  • SVTStrikesback
    SVTStrikesback 2 months ago

    I can see the 3d effect from the phone on my phone. I’m sure it’s much more dramatic in real life, but I can definitely see a little of it from what’s in the foreground vs the background.

  • Creepy Gaming
    Creepy Gaming 2 months ago

    11:55 ouuuuh... yikes!

  • Beast
    Beast 2 months ago +5

    6:31 Hit or miss I guess they never miss.. HUH?

  • Sami askari
    Sami askari 2 months ago

    Anybody remember HTC 3D from 7/8 years ago?

  • shinra358
    shinra358 2 months ago

    but is the battery removable???

  • starsunderer
    starsunderer 2 months ago

    they want to appear to be high end and charge high end prices and use low end parts. So why is it any better red? Make us a great platform to attach lenses to ( which no one has done well btw) that also happens to be a smartphone / computer. I feel like they have to fix this with modules or they'll loose their red reputation.

  • Arkadi Danielyan
    Arkadi Danielyan 2 months ago

    When i read red hydro chydro shit and that it is 1300 dollars i thought they finally made a camera that can show clothed girls naked.

  • Krish Hiranandani
    Krish Hiranandani 2 months ago

    You watch monsters vs aliens

  • TheBlinkerdelux
    TheBlinkerdelux 2 months ago

    what is the name of song at start the video???

  • CAMPER_KILLA_TR
    CAMPER_KILLA_TR 2 months ago

    it's like the old htc and lg 3d phones

  • M1HX1L 1400
    M1HX1L 1400 2 months ago

    Ясно, на моей 3дс круче

  • constantinos schinas
    constantinos schinas 2 months ago

    guys in red are hugely retarded morrons. instead of making no phone or at least the absolute high tech raw video enabled smartphone with exchangeable mini lens system, a phone-red camera monitor with 5G streaming or other phography related stuff, they focus on whatever design and whatever trendy trash stereoscopic viewing that makes up for a horrdndous experience. but it is the same guys promising 18K cinemascope modular video sensor back in 2007, remember? ;)

  • constantinos schinas
    constantinos schinas 2 months ago

    really. did you ever expect by the red team idiots to be any good? it smelled like a sea rat from second one.

  • Jordan Thistle
    Jordan Thistle 2 months ago

    I would say buy it, even if it's just for the investment. If red nails it with the modular systems and it becomes the next generation of phones and you have the very first production phone. You will have something like what the original iPhone in original box. Then you just made a solid investment.

  • Saloni Desai
    Saloni Desai 2 months ago

    from where did u get that mkbhd light made ? i really need for my brand..

  • HOLAR 474
    HOLAR 474 2 months ago

    Yo

  • zack phy
    zack phy 2 months ago

    Why the hell would one of the most respected and best high end camera makers make a phone where ppl are gonna expect GREAT picture quality and change an extreme amount and then stick an off the shelf sensor in it? Doesnt make any since.

  • zack phy
    zack phy 2 months ago

    Ohhhh its like me beloved Evo 3d that I got like 8 years ago and still dig out from time to time to take 3d pics cause of the novelty of it, I want it lol, but as a backup-toy. FYI the evo 3d also had to use a separate app store for its 3d content also, but they even got gameloft to partner and make 3d ports of their other big mobile games specifically for the phone. This was when gameloft made the best mobile games(though they were knockoffs of popular AAA console games at the time) with no microtransactions or timers or anything. I have Modern Combat on mine and its baiscally like a 3ds, an old 3ds without the fact tracking though.

  • TMC
    TMC 2 months ago

    Stay woke people lol

  • Yodaba 710
    Yodaba 710 2 months ago

    Remember the htc evo 3D

  • Neiman Skywalka
    Neiman Skywalka 3 months ago

    Waste of money.

  • Tracy Thompson
    Tracy Thompson 3 months ago

    Marques, Since this review has your thoughts on this phone changed? I read another review that said these negative reviews were before the updates fixed a lot of the problems.

  • ShamsulPlayz
    ShamsulPlayz 3 months ago

    people say the red hydrogen is the 2nd phone that can display 3D photo but its not.the 2nd phone that can display 3D photo is a chinese phone called DingDing.i use to own that phone but i forgot the name but its really.....nice....

  • Dan
    Dan 3 months ago

    12:04 I guess they never miss huh?

  • Faddn
    Faddn 3 months ago

    This phone is the ultimate click bate, it's not a hydrogen phone..

  • No thankyou
    No thankyou 3 months ago

    Really impressed with this review. Hit all my questions and MB convey's an open honesty which i find appealing af. 10/10

  • Michael Schoener
    Michael Schoener 3 months ago

    So it's a better version of a three ds that can make calls lol

  • CruddyGraze
    CruddyGraze 3 months ago

    Is this what you wanted