Blade Runner 2049 reviewed by Mark Kermode

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 549

  • Corpus Mentis
    Corpus Mentis 2 days ago

    I was completely disinterested in Bladerunner until my friend suggested going to see 2049. Harrison Ford, Ryan Gosling? sure but lemme see the story in first.
    I had seen it on TV when younger and even played a PC game based on it I didn't fully understand. in meantime I had become something of a music aficionado/audiophile. thank God for that. because I almost cried watching the original. maybe it was more life experience or just the sound and Rutger Hauer coupled with the themes but wow. a special unique film. Kermode never fails me, its uncanny. I love that man because I can trust his take on ANY film. he truly deserves the position he occupies, able to appreciate popcorn action fare for what it is, and high art.
    how lucky we are to live in such an age of such splendour. drink it in ladies and gentlemen

  • James White-Aldworth

    Is it a spoiler to say people debate whether Deckard is a replicant or not?
    No, it's not a spoiler at all.

  • James White-Aldworth

    I thought BR2019 was good. I disagree with Mark on the visuals though. It looks good but not even a 5th as mindblowing as the original

  • Tihomir Tikulin
    Tihomir Tikulin 13 days ago +1

    Forgetable noncence! Not even close to the original!

  • Gary Bates
    Gary Bates 24 days ago +1

    Rewatched the film on a flight from Mauritius to Dubai last week. Something special about watching this genuinely incredible film at the middle of the night flying over the Indian Ocean. Genius x

  • Edward Swann
    Edward Swann Month ago +1

    Just wondering, did anyone like the score to this. One reason I liked Blade Runner is because the score made me feel immersed in the scenes, with the heavy influence on synths, it gave it a eerie feel. While 2049 I felt didn't do that for me, just wondering if anyone else felt like the music let the film down?

  • Oliver Bull-lifely
    Oliver Bull-lifely Month ago +1

    I thought it was just very boring. More boring than the original. At least the original was 80’s 😒

  • david fraser
    david fraser Month ago +1

    Utterly predictable and boring film. Great visually

  • Lydia Platon
    Lydia Platon Month ago

    Thank you very much for an excellent review of the movie"BLADE RUNNER 2049'. This is the most intelligently reviewed film made by an excellent film reviewer-Mr. Mark Kermode! Thank you a million times..more power to you for good reviews of beautiful films, one is the BLADE 2049! Ryan Gosling is very good in this film, he really is a very veratile actor...we salute him for his charisma, dedication and being an amazing actor, so full of talents. GOD BLESS YOU ALL.

  • Timothy Wilkes
    Timothy Wilkes Month ago

    Their not Androids their biologically created persons with their DNA altered.

  • MaximumMadnessStixon

    I firmly believe that in every way 2049 is equal to and at time even superior to the original. I'd go so far as to say it's one of the greatest sequels ever made. A beautiful, poignant and evocative film.

  • whaleronthemoon
    whaleronthemoon Month ago +1

    Flat and sterile. Fan service porn.
    Mark you disappoint me, but if you liked it good for you.
    I read the book 3 times and watched the original many times.
    Annihilation is an example of how you make a good sci-fi and on a minimal budget.
    Instead of sucking a dick that been oversucked why not give other ideas a shot.

  • Mildly Amusing Channel

    "Leg-eee-tee"? It's "lih-getti", Mark! How dare you disgrace his name! xP

  • Ben Quinney
    Ben Quinney Month ago

    Good fu

  • orazdow
    orazdow Month ago +1

    Director's cut is better than final cut imo

  • jorgepeterbarton
    jorgepeterbarton 2 months ago +1

    I was really excited until you mentioned Arrival. (i still haven't seen it yet, I'd agree the book went over some very different themes.)

  • ArtCreativz
    ArtCreativz 2 months ago +1

    Overall I liked it, but Wallace came across more like a gangster which felt cheap. Tyrell was portrayed so well in the original.

  • Paddy Magenis
    Paddy Magenis 2 months ago +1

    It took me a while to understand and appreciate how great BR 2049 is, because like the original, its a film that takes time to grow on you, and the more you meditate on it, you realise just how special the film is. Like I can't even think about certain scenes from 2049 without welling up, wonderful film!

  • robert tidwell
    robert tidwell 2 months ago +1

    mediocre film

  • james84 -
    james84 - 3 months ago +1

    as much as I'm disappointed that this bombed at the box office, part of me is still happy that its "ours" and not a mainstream hit

    • james84 -
      james84 - 2 months ago

      TimeLimey makes it more special in a way

    • TimeLimey
      TimeLimey 2 months ago +1

      Agreed.

  • AdognamedOp
    AdognamedOp 3 months ago

    Decards a skin job!?

  • Heronjim
    Heronjim 3 months ago +2

    I rarely see a film these days I want to see twice, but like the original I now want to forget this for a while so I can see it again...and then again and again. A work of art

  • Frank Gütle
    Frank Gütle 3 months ago +1

    I want to kiss Denis for giving me Arrival and Blade Runner! How good can movies be?

    • Luvie1980
      Luvie1980 2 months ago +1

      Frank Gütle you should see prisoners and enemy.

  • Frank Gütle
    Frank Gütle 3 months ago +1

    I sat in the cinema and wanted to scream to express my happiness about how good this film is!

  • Tim Smith
    Tim Smith 3 months ago

    YES!

  • halion9
    halion9 3 months ago +2

    I enjoyed this movie more the second time of viewing than the first and I recommend those on the fence to try watching BR 2049 again. Great movie.

  • Joon Ho Kim
    Joon Ho Kim 4 months ago +3

    Fantastic movie. So many layers and room for multiple interpretations. Strangly, it reminded me of Taxi driver.

  • Valelacerte
    Valelacerte 5 months ago

    I love sci-fi, but the left-wing arts do have an obsession with depressing and hopeless predictions for the future of mankind. They don't like happy and positive themes, they have to be bitter-sweet and poignant; joy must be paid for with tragedy.

    • Luvie1980
      Luvie1980 2 months ago

      Valelacerte enough with the bloody left and right wing....STFU!

  • Seven Ellen
    Seven Ellen 5 months ago

    I thought this film was dull, slow sexist crap. The women were objects and the men were boars.

  • Dean Laffan
    Dean Laffan 5 months ago +1

    The original is one of favourite films of all time. Top Ten.
    When i saw it first time in the cinema I was blown away. Visually, musically, set design, cinemagraphically, .. it's a masterpiece.
    I went a few weeks later and saw it again and was no less stunned, except I cam out realising that not only is it perhaps the greatest sequel of all time (OK, Godfather) and also a truly authentic homage to the original ... but it is ... (gulp) an even BETTER movie than the original.
    How ironic therefore, that like the original, it has underachieved at the box office. Though to be fair that was mainly in the US, it did comparatively much bigger business globally.
    Like the original, in 10 years it will be higher on the 'all time' lists ... and 20 years later, even higher.
    My pick for best movie of 2017 ... with daylight second.

  • Russell Witter
    Russell Witter 5 months ago +2

    It’s nice to know that Las Vegas gets Nuked in the Future!Also...I no longer need a Bucket List because Bladerunner2049 is proper gorgeous!I can die happy now... big sigh of relief!

    • raymondeve
      raymondeve 3 months ago

      Russell Witter It's been SO long since I saw the first film that I can't remember the details. I almost considered your Vegas remark to be a 'spoiler'. That said, I chuckled to myself whilst nodding in agreement so, no harm done, lol! I shall now revisit the original AND watch this one, in quick succession.

  • Russell Witter
    Russell Witter 5 months ago +3

    As regards the idea that Bladerunnner 2049 ‘Flopped’ at the Box Office... heres my 10 Pence worth...Money is Meaningless...Profit keeps getting confused with Quality!Art without Risk isn’t Art at all.The Original Film didn’t do so well at the Box Office but has since become acknowledged as one of the greatest ever Movies through word of mouth.All the best stuff takes time to be properly appreciated. Money devalues everything and Everyone...it’s the worst kind of Poverty. Both Movies are Everything Great Movies should be... Smart, Beautiful & Utterly Immersive!

  • Jamie Darlow
    Jamie Darlow 5 months ago +2

    This review itself is also masterful and a work of art in itself :) I haven't seen Blade Runner 2049 yet but this review really has convinced me I need to watch it and I haven't stopped imagining what the visual beauty of the film may be by the descriptions from this review and the images provided. I also must watch Arrival which I missed also in cinemas; I loved Prisoners though

  • Neil McIntosh
    Neil McIntosh 5 months ago +1

    Terrible movie. It has nothing on the original. Way too long, way too slow, and the plot is diabolical. A better plot and Harrison Ford as the lead character might have made all the difference.

  • Jeff Motsinger
    Jeff Motsinger 5 months ago +1

    Same director as Arrival? Count me out.

  • Hugo Hugo
    Hugo Hugo 5 months ago +1

    Bought the DVD on Saturday. It is so slow and boring. It seems to have the same plot as the first one. I’ve had to watch it in three bits as it sent me to sleep.

  • nobody special
    nobody special 5 months ago

    doesn't hollywood understand what JOI stands for here in youtubeland?

  • noIMspartacus
    noIMspartacus 5 months ago +1

    Finally got round to watching Blade Runner 2049 and was pleasantly disappointed.
    Obviously it was inevitable that comparisons would be made with the original and the first for me was the music, which only went to reaffirm the crucial role music plays in film.
    It seems that there was a falling out between Ridley Scott and Vangelis, largely because Scott was frustrated and annoyed at how long Vangelis took and his insistence on getting it right. Now it is rather clear he should have been more patient as the new sound track showed how perfect the original was in relation to the imagery. It was also very telling for me that the only time there was any really emotional experience, was when 'K' was dying(?) on the steps and a version of the original "tears in rain" music was used.
    For all the 'big' drum beats and synthesizer sounds, it lacked any emotional impact largely due to the lack of any evocative theme. The original on the other hand which, apart from the very evocative piano and saxophone themes, was also virtually all synthesizers and yet was full of rich melodic and harmonic structure which soared into ethereal symphonies.
    As for the visuals, there is no denying some were very impressive - even beautiful - but for me this also added to the paradoxical nature of the sequel. Because despite some stunning cinematography and stunning CG environments, the often conflicting colour palettes and moods and some over ambitious imitation of the flashing lights and reflections, again, for me, only undermined the future time frame and setting of the story - unlike the overall gritty continuity of the original.
    Last but not least, the script and story. Overall it was fairly engaging and had some good ideas which linked it to the original, but it seemed they were trying too hard to match - let alone out do - the original which led to some vagueness and unnecessary length in getting the story across. This was not helped by an imprecision in pace and editing which weakened the set ups and pay offs.
    One major "criticism" of the original was that it was more "art direction" than direction, sadly, that is something which is far more appropriate to the sequel. You only had to compare the introduction in both films of Rachael and Gaf or especially the antagonists and of course the death scenes of 'K' and Roy Batty, to see how far short the sequel has fallen.
    So, while not a bad sequel or film in it's own right, it did not quite live up to my expectations and I still hear all those distant voices cautioning that for some films, sequels should not be made as unfortunately, apart from a very few notable exceptions, Hollywood and history has all too often shown.

  • Robert Stevenson
    Robert Stevenson 5 months ago

    The best review Mark has ever done . Just seen The Film and he describes it beautifully....

  • MrSnickster
    MrSnickster 5 months ago

    I didn't quite understand the Bee's. Was that to portray the emergence of life returning to the earth? There weren't any flowers or crops I saw that they could pollinate, so I don't know how they could survive, much less bring back the eco system. If you can theorize on that I'd appreciate it

  • Vinny H.
    Vinny H. 5 months ago +1

    Mark Kermode is the only youtube personality who I consider an actual film critic.

    • Luvie1980
      Luvie1980 2 months ago +1

      Vinny H. Thank you...he is the last great film critic in my opinion.
      Tell that to all the fanboys who cream themselves over these TVclip hacks!

  • David Streader
    David Streader 5 months ago

    I like long films, I like slowly paced films, but this film bored me senseless.

  • no hassle
    no hassle 5 months ago

    I just saw the movie. I think it is on par with the original. It is that good.

  • gary abbot
    gary abbot 5 months ago

    Started well. Got stale. Got boring. Should never have been made.

    • MegaBoeboe
      MegaBoeboe 5 months ago

      I'm sorry your life turned out that way.

  • Ben Quinney
    Ben Quinney 5 months ago

    The joy of joi

  • Dave Lister
    Dave Lister 5 months ago

    Kermode does a great job here, despite Mayo !

  • Graham Birch
    Graham Birch 5 months ago

    90% Cinematography, 10% story and acting

  • Mark Morales
    Mark Morales 5 months ago +2

    Blade Runner is an important film to me. To see that vision change my perspective of science fiction, to see a future that is so believable that it is literally becoming our world today, holy smokes. This sequel nailed it, the vision, the questions, the atmosphere, everything. Even if the movie doesn't do so well it is immortal, just like the original film and the book.

  • GrimL0gic
    GrimL0gic 6 months ago

    only at one point did I realize how long the movie was.. and that was only because I had to shift the way I was sitting. Even then, I didn't want it to end.

  • Wayne Shields
    Wayne Shields 6 months ago

    Okay I'm late with it only just saw it on dvd tonight for the first time but a thoroughly brilliant movie. I wish some major game company can develop a massive free world exploring blade runner game. Would be brilliant just to semi exist in that world.

  • SolusBatty
    SolusBatty 6 months ago

    First time I see this Mark Kemode guy. He is an excellent critic. Respectful and insightful. :)

  • Craig Arnold
    Craig Arnold 6 months ago

    It was an unspeakably awful movie. Made by people who had clearly never read any science fiction and understood nothing about the original and probably never even knew there was a book. Blade Runner is one of my favourite films. This was a pile of stupid nonsense. None of it made any sense. I've never seen Mark Kermode get a review so horribly wrong.

  • iL0veHayleyWilliams
    iL0veHayleyWilliams 6 months ago +1

    Sex and the city 2 has made more money worldwide than this film. I really don't care for this world any more.

  • Mark Williams
    Mark Williams 6 months ago +1

    Terrible film

  • LyingCunt
    LyingCunt 6 months ago

    We have 2 movies. Both are from Ridley Scott. A few decades later those movies get their sequel. But only one is done by Ridley Scott again. Now, which one is better, which is done with more love & care? And which one of those is done by Ridley Scott? Or let me rephrase this question: which one is done by a alcoholic narcissist?

  • Craig Wright
    Craig Wright 6 months ago +1

    Mr. Kermode, we absolutely share - on every single point - the Blade Runner / Blade Runner 2049 experience. So often I watch or listen to a review or analysis of a film, and find myself wishing I could interject my own points into the conversation. Like you, I saw Blade Runner 2049 twice within a week of its release - and I can relate to the exact emotions of which you speak. Thank you for your impassioned and articulate presentation. I feel as though I were speaking through you!

  • Gabriel Choi
    Gabriel Choi 6 months ago +1

    wow this review was like poetry / absol agree

  • Pedjo Gt
    Pedjo Gt 6 months ago +2

    Finally great Noar SF...tnx god that Blade Runner not ruined like Alien prequels

  • Dirk Hoeppner
    Dirk Hoeppner 6 months ago

    "androids"

  • Jamie Saker
    Jamie Saker 6 months ago

    Genius and utterly spot on. Kermode nails it.

  • old silas
    old silas 6 months ago

    the overwhelming positivity for this film baffles me. It felt like a like two hour aftershave ad.

  • Carl Santon
    Carl Santon 6 months ago

    amen.

  • 123puta3
    123puta3 6 months ago

    20 year old voice

  • Jackson DeCourcy
    Jackson DeCourcy 6 months ago

    this guy is incredibly articulate. Bravo!

  • G fae Dundee
    G fae Dundee 6 months ago

    Blade Runner 2049 is how you do a sequel properly IMO.

  • Krafthaus
    Krafthaus 6 months ago

    Made it sound so much more interesting than the actual film, which was very disappointing if you're a fan of the original.

  • Fly Beep
    Fly Beep 6 months ago +1

    I've never seen Mark be this passionate about a movie other than the original Blade Runner.

  • Stephane Lefort
    Stephane Lefort 6 months ago

    In my opinion Deckard is human. I refer at the 1982 movie and I thing that the duality of been more human than human take all it's sense when the Replicant Roy Batty save the life of Deckard. The Replicant save the life of the human Deckard, forgiving him for killing is friends. What would be the point if a replicant save life to another replicant? What makes it extraordinary is that a replicant can see the gift of living more than the human. The "slave" who save the life of the "master" is what makes that moment so emotional.

  • Ben Jammin
    Ben Jammin 6 months ago

    Such a kind review. Considerate. A real film lover's critic this dude.

  • leocmen
    leocmen 7 months ago +4

    +kermodeandmayo This was one of the most introspective experiences I ever had in a movie session. In the end, all the people in the theater, in absolute silence, digesting the emotional load of what they just watched and experienced. They stood in their seats for a few minutes, quiet, and left in complete silence. Very impressive, and unique.

  • Ashley Moses
    Ashley Moses 7 months ago

    This movie was made for Blade Runner fans, simple as. I went with two friends and they both fell asleep. 2/3 people left halfway through. There's a reason this movie was a flop, and no, it's because everyone "lacks intelligence" as I've heard too often. My friends are 2 of the smartest people I know, and they simply represented the majority out there in finding it boring. The repressed Ryan Gosling thing is getting super old. It's why he's a box office flump. Deakins will win the Oscar for his work, but everyone else won't even be nominated, for good reason, with the exception of a few other visual awards. This story does not warrant 3 hours of screen time, no matter how nice it looks. Especially when the director has reigned in almost every performance. Overall, I'm glad Blade Runner fanatics got the film they wanted, it's just a pity it came at the price of a film everyone else didn't want.

  • Craig Stowers
    Craig Stowers 7 months ago

    good review. I feel the same

  • Komo Lee Ray
    Komo Lee Ray 7 months ago +1

    Best film of the year and one of the best films of the last 25 years. A genuine classic like the Ridley Scott directed first film. Beautiful, profound, frightening, powerful. Deserved a bigger audience than it got but its greatness will be recognised in years to come. And if you appreciate it now , well " it's because you've never seen a miracle...."

  • liquid cyberpunk
    liquid cyberpunk 7 months ago

    I still come back to this interview and it's December 2017.Im gonna come back until 2049.

  • Olly Marshall
    Olly Marshall 7 months ago

    Mar Kermode is brilliant! Thank you for your amazing insight... My film STREET EYES takes huge inspiration from blade runner. The city of Los Angeles... if it wasn't for films like blade runner it would have never been made. www.streeteyesmovie.com

  • Justyburger
    Justyburger 7 months ago

    Bladerunner 2049 was highly anticipated for me, having grown up with the first movie and been a huge fan of it. The opening sequence of 2049 was stunning, but i wanted it to be longer and capture a lot more of the scope of the city environment, showing huge vistas and giving us a sense of the true scale of a city which in theory has over 100 Million inhabitants. That's almost 4 Tokyo's rolled into one. Even if this opening scene being too long would risk becoming boring to some, i wanted the scope of the city more woven into the storyline. In other words, more travelling around the environment than we saw. What we did see, was absolutely stunning and i felt it could have easily been expanded upon. Apart from the opening scene, probably my favourite scene was when they went hunting for Deckard in the Orange haze of an old city. It felt very realistic and very atmospheric. The whole movie was atmospheric, which is exactly what i wanted to see. Only more of it. The single scene i felt should have been cut out of the movie was the strange clip where the two Women were merging together. I'm picky and fussy about details, but regardless, this movie was a masterpiece and i am now waiting to buy it on DVD in late January. I hope we do not have to wait another 30+ years for the next one.

  • Ricky St Quinton
    Ricky St Quinton 7 months ago

    Terrible film which no one wanted that bombed at the box office but critics love because it's directed by a critics favourite director. Critics are so fickle and irrelevant.

  • Colm Watkins
    Colm Watkins 7 months ago

    There's no doubt this film perfectly respects and reflects the original. The sounds, the cinematography, the visual references, it's stunning. But the slowediting and unecessary length and oversaturated product placement are teethgrindingly annoying.

  • Bálint Szollár
    Bálint Szollár 7 months ago

    If I'd be this well spoken, this is exactly how I'd describe my experience with this film.
    Whats more trippy for me watching this review, is that I only just saw the documentary on blade runner for the first time after I've seen BR2049.

  • ZINCOVIX8754.
    ZINCOVIX8754. 7 months ago

    Perfect film.

  • John Charlton
    John Charlton 7 months ago +1

    CELLS

  • Maximilian Neumann
    Maximilian Neumann 7 months ago

    It is rare I digress from Mark's point of view but in this case, I'm afraid I have to.
    I love the original Blade Runner exactly for it's philosophical and existentialist themes. But almost even more for the subtle, subversive and engaging presentation of the movie. The lingering question of humanity and its emotional consequence possibly best captured in Roy Batty's final monologue. However, as excited as I was for 2049, I found not a lot of that love in it.
    The character's constantly explain the plot and it feels overall very dumbed down. The plot in now way as clever and subversive. To me, the whole film feels like Hollywood pretends to make a film with substance and slaps the Blade Runner label on it so it sells. The action element introduced to it, felt unnecessarily blockbustery, and on several occasion the movie clearly demonstrates that it doesn't trust any of it's audience. I found it a huge disappointment and really not in line with the original.
    Plus, at points disturbingly unnecessary over sexualised.
    However so many people experiencing it as 'brilliant' is still an interesting thing.

  • John Kiely
    John Kiely 7 months ago +1

    I went to see on opening night, I was relieved and amazed. 2-3 people walked out I just thought poor poor people you're missing a masterpiece...

    • Daniel Plainview
      Daniel Plainview 6 months ago +1

      Same at the showing I went too and some idiot sighing 'thank god for that' when the credits came up. Unbelievable.

  • MartinBergnerGuitar
    MartinBergnerGuitar 7 months ago

    blade runner 2049 is the best thing that ive ever seen in cinema
    the first blade runner came far before i was born and was hard for me to appreciate as much it should be because i'm so used to the movies of today... but with 2049 i now understand how people felt when they saw the first movie back in 1982... the best experience that i ever had in cinema ive seen it 4 times now and dont regret it at all! bravo!

  • Crazy Dude
    Crazy Dude 7 months ago

    I hated this movie 😭😥😕😲😟😱😵😦😒😫🤒🤕😦😨😱😰😠😡👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎

  • DoubleFeatureRipOff
    DoubleFeatureRipOff 8 months ago

    This reviewer is doing such a great job and stays very on point while talking with great passion. Then this host is just being a total dick to him, over and over again. So unprofessional...

  • Daniel Rosa
    Daniel Rosa 8 months ago

    Even better than a review about what this movie is or what it is not: This is a review driven by feelings. ^^

  • MrKunt
    MrKunt 8 months ago

    It doesn't surprise me that it could make a loss. Fans of the original (as I am) and nostalgia junkies are more likely to fall for this, but it just didn't do anything for me. I didn't care about Ryan Gosling's character, I didn't care about the plight of replicants, I didn't care about anything that happened. It looked nice and the music was great, but that was it for me.
    The film is so unnecessarily long that I nodded off a few times in the middle, and came out of it feeling "meh".

  • Simon Hodge
    Simon Hodge 8 months ago

    Easily my favorite film of the year

  • Mick DeVille
    Mick DeVille 8 months ago

    He has a way with words, a manner f which I can only envy. Loved the film ,Cannot wait to see it again.

  • Mark U
    Mark U 8 months ago

    I lost interest after 5 minutes, and was thoroughly bored for the next 8 hours of the film (as that's what it felt like). Boring, pretentious dirge. I noticed a few people give up and leave after the 1st hour.

  • Neil Taylor
    Neil Taylor 8 months ago

    I really respect Mark Kermode and his knowledge of films and his reviews are brilliant and often with more substance than the film itself. I’m really not qualified to comment on this as I have not seen Blade Runner 2049 and am not ever likely to. I am a Science Fiction fan and a film fan and often they come together brilliantly but I did not like Blade Runner (the original and all of its reincarnations). I did not like it for the following fundamental reasons that I just can’t park and enjoy what is good about the film (and there are some good aspects).


    Its technically flawed in so many ways and beyond the freedom that science fiction can allow. For example its always dark so has the earth stopped revolving in 2018? It’s always raining etc. etc.
    Even allowing for the fact that its 35 years old the effects are terrible and it reminds me a bit of Captain Pugwash - I remember thinking that even when I first saw it.


    The plot is weak and juvenile with very little in the way of sub plots and yes I’m aware of the “what is Decker” but the audience is trying to read in too much.
    Decker is a paid legal hitman and chosen for the purposes of the film because he is allegedly good at it. However as the film shows he is hopeless in so much as he always puts himself in danger in every encounter with the replicants that he is employed to retire. Its like Benny Hill fights the robots. In every encounter he could have (should have) been killed or injured or even scratched but no miraculously he survives for the next scene unscathed with his 1940’s gun with a couple of LEDs on the barrel - just what a 2018 hitman would choose in the dark dystopian LA, firing it off in a crowded street at one he let get away like a true professional.


    In a previous Kermode review (Geostorm I think) he talks about dumbing down to enjoy the film. I just couldn’t dumb down enough to enjoy Blade Runner 1 and from the review it sounds like it’d be the same for Blade Runner 2049 so I’m going to give it a miss.


    I know I’m in the minority here but its my opinion.

  • John Hood
    John Hood 8 months ago +1

    1:23 Blade Runner 2049 𝐅𝐮𝐥𝐥-𝐌𝐨𝐯𝐢𝐞[𝐇𝐃] is available at
    plus.google.com/+AudreyPortal/posts/X22z9E5oa5T

  • Kweni Art Festival
    Kweni Art Festival 8 months ago +2

    23:13 Blade Runner 2049 𝐅𝐮𝐥𝐥-𝐌𝐨𝐯𝐢𝐞[𝐇𝐃]
    i'm watch at plus.google.com/+AudreyPortal/posts/X22z9E5oa5T

  • John Arkady
    John Arkady 8 months ago

    Villaneuve somehow did the impossible....followed up one of the best science fiction films of all time while not ruining it or copying it while paying homage to it while extending the story....Villaneuve is a genius....I wonder what his next stunt will be....drawing Excalibur from the stone?

  • polyannamoonbeam
    polyannamoonbeam 8 months ago

    The pacing gives it tremendous atmospheric weight.Gosling s journey unfolds slowly through memory flashbacks that have an unexpected twist but it still ends on a note of hope..it is masterful ,visually reminiscent of old comic book sci fi drawings...some truly beautiful landscapes and fine character performances. Goslings girl robot is a triumph:)

  • Sandy Gallop
    Sandy Gallop 8 months ago

    My sentiments exactly!!!! Had to immediately watch BR 2049 twice in its first week and I had virtually the same reaction as expressed by Mark. My 35 year love affair with BR has resulted in me viewing it more than 20 times as my Number 1 all time favorite film. That it has now been displaced to number 2 position is no sad affair. In fact, I am actually deeply proud of my emotional attachment to the BR cult and have met very very few like minded individuals over the years. It is a somewhat private intellectual pleasure that has significantly informed my overall appreciation of cinema. As well, I own both soundtracks since, as a musician I was simply stunned by the sheer beauty of the Vangelis themes some of which were respectfully echoed in the breathtaking Hans Zimmer soundscapes. To feel such engagement with this highest expression of the art form is deeply fulfilling.

  • schizoidboy
    schizoidboy 8 months ago

    When it comes to whether or not Decker is a replicant I think it really isn't as important as how the line between human and replicant are rather thin. Decker might question his own existence as to whether or not he's a human being, but the question itself is more important than his being a replicant.

  • ThePhunboy
    ThePhunboy 8 months ago

    Lacking an interesting antagonist. A lot in the plot that seemed very unoriginal: evil genius tycoon/tyrant, rag-tag resistance against, the generational theme with obligatory father figure bit (ideally played by Harrison Ford). It was pointed out in a recent video by Rob Ager that Bladerunner 2049 fails to capitalise on elements of the literary source material ('Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep'), which hadn't been exhausted or even used at all in the original film. In particular elements involving the matter of how to perceive empathy in replicants- and how much was at stake on that very point. The strange soulfulness of the replicants is established in the classic Rutger Hauer soliloquy in the first film. However the question remains of how reliably can we expect or even observe the empathetic or 'human' in the still potentially dangerous replicants and what else is different about how they think and feel (Gosling is laconically Gosling, so he doesn't give much away) . The new film largely dispenses with this crucial philosophical and potentially very dramatic idea . SPOILER! The other key Bladerunner idea of imprinted memories is incorporated dramatically in the main plot twist, but that just reminds me that the plot was thin and that the last three hour long film I watched was 'Lawrence Of Arabia' and how by the end of that I felt I had participated in a long military adventure across the expanse of Arabia. The idea of an empathetic, recognisably living artificial consciousness is nicely developed in the romantic relationship between replicant Gosling and his hologram girlfriend and is easily the most interesting part of the movie. So not enough sense of threat or curiosity regarding the replicants consciousness or soulfulness, a bit of a rush to make them simply 'the good guys' so it threatened to feel like a typical sci-fi uprising/family saga story rather than concentrating on the perplexity that a machine is not a man.

    • ThePhunboy
      ThePhunboy 8 months ago

      Sorry if I'm being a hater. I loved Arrival and am excited that Denis Villeneuve is doing Dune. Bladerunner 2049 was just an ok Bladerunner sequel. It looks nice but it didn't land it. In my opinion.

  • dija suhada
    dija suhada 8 months ago

    Watch Blade Runner 2049 Full Movies (2017) Online Free HD =>> [ t.co/JiBIwz9mFr ]