Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 26, 2016
  • FACEBOOK: ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann
    P.O. Box 1028
    Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44223
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, starring Eva Green, Asa Butterfield, Samuel L. Jackson, Chris O'Dowd, Allison Janney, Rupert Everett, Judi Dench, Terence Stamp, Ella Purnell, Lauren McCrostie. Directed by Tim Burton.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 963

  • flufy74
    flufy74 20 days ago

    I loved the books so much, I was so fucking pissed at the movie that we left. Honestly, that’s the first time I’ve ever done that

  • Connie Mitchell
    Connie Mitchell Month ago

    He didnt stumble Into the tunnel. They actually brought him in there.

  • Celine Hatting
    Celine Hatting 2 months ago

    Did he say... Harmoine? 3:35

  • Jaii Rela
    Jaii Rela 2 months ago

    "Demonic version of Don King." 😂😂😂😂

  • a celestial Wonder
    a celestial Wonder 2 months ago

    The books were amazing the movie was horrible

  • MiLaws
    MiLaws 2 months ago

    How sexy is Eva Green?

  • Valkyr_E
    Valkyr_E 2 months ago

    I was really sad about Horace in the movie. He didn’t have ANY character. All we knew was that he liked clothes, and that he can project his dreams/see into the future in his nightmares. No personality, no character development, just THAT. We didn’t get to see him being sassy, petty, a coward, or even a smartalec like he is in the books.

  • Thostayt 08
    Thostayt 08 2 months ago

    I was kind of creeped out by Barron but I realised it’s Samuel l Jackson and I’m laughing

  • joram. tffb
    joram. tffb 2 months ago

    Actually harry potter never used magic in sorcerers stone so theres that :D

  • Ilze Grina
    Ilze Grina 3 months ago

    It was so boring!

  • The Continuing Adventures of Lenny Wanser

    I like Tim Burton films. Especially the ones that have the signature Burton vibe to them such as, Edward Scissorhands, Ed Wood, and Big Fish. This film has the visual appeal but lacks the heart.

  • GoatGanG
    GoatGanG 3 months ago

    I read the whole series when I was locked up loved them so much. Couldnt wait to read them every night. Yeah it starts slow but it does go along wit novel and the novel gets really really excited so part two to movie would be awesome I bet wit tim burton

  • Tom Oliver
    Tom Oliver 3 months ago

    You’re point about “imagine never seeing Harry cast a spell in Harry Potter” is funny cause he doesn’t actually cast a single spell in the first movie.

  • Jacque Renee
    Jacque Renee 5 months ago

    Well Jake didn't have powers like Harry Potter and he was a scrony kid that couldn't fight

  • mr head
    mr head 6 months ago

    like most book adaptations the book is better but if you havnt read the book you'll like it. it is much better than the butcher job they did to ready player one for sure

  • Ken Coleman
    Ken Coleman 6 months ago

    This feels more like Children of the Atom than the X-Men (in a good way). Wilmar Shiras's tales about a school for gifted youths was written in a way much more character driven than any pre-Claremont X-stories.

  • Keesa So
    Keesa So 6 months ago

    I don’t normally read the books first but this one I did and it was one of the most interesting series book I’ve read in a while. (The ending wasn’t sad, but I cried when I finished the book because it was over...) Definitely recommend reading the book! I liked the movie. Preferred the book because it’s one of those books that sucks you in and makes you feel like you are apart of the world.

  • stupreme
    stupreme 6 months ago

    I bought the DVD for $4 on Black Friday. It's worth the $4 👍

  • zerokura
    zerokura 7 months ago

    Toward the end their a girl who like can grow plants...i did not knew she was their.also if they are ex-hallows why they loose the ability to see their hallow bros also why are their so many hallows it seem more than that was shown or killed.

  • Dottie Ndots
    Dottie Ndots 7 months ago

    i was extremely bored. It felt like one of those set-up movies that pave the path for a sequel. It's not a good stand-alone

  • Pickle Rick
    Pickle Rick 7 months ago

    The book is good but extremely confusing. The movie is okay.

  • Haider Zara
    Haider Zara 9 months ago

    Fun movie and good time

  • Harry The Sailor
    Harry The Sailor 9 months ago

    Okay, here's my review:

    The hollows looked like shit
    There were no good characters
    What do you mean he only asks questions? He goes on a FUCKING ADVENTURE
    Sam L Jackson is funny because of how little he's trying
    Who wants more screen time on a girl with a mouth on the back of her head and the twins that did literally did 1 thing the entire movie
    the hollows looked like shit

  • Harry The Sailor
    Harry The Sailor 9 months ago

    1:22 I'm sorry but did you miss the monsters while watching?

  • IantheGamer
    IantheGamer 11 months ago

    I remember really liking this movie

  • Growing Up
    Growing Up 11 months ago

    Not a movie review, it’s more like a character review. You bully

  • Admiral Gamington
    Admiral Gamington 11 months ago

    The strange thing about this movie is: In this movie, Emma is the one that floats, but in the BOOK, Emma is the one that can create fire. I still don't understand why they did this.

  • The Piano Man
    The Piano Man Year ago

    really, i dont think that you can compare books and movies: theyre both different types of art forms and each have their pros and cons- the books were great and i thought the movie was really good - the part about jake going back to his dad was in the book and was explained - id highly recommend it

  • Victoria Hatch
    Victoria Hatch Year ago

    I love that movie so much

  • Lauren Wilson
    Lauren Wilson Year ago

    The books are WAY better. I liked the movie mostly because I got to see what everything looked like but that was it. If you read the Books you'll understand 😂

  • Dani _9539
    Dani _9539 Year ago

    Cheesy and child-like when it was supposed to be dark

  • John Wesley Baker

    she does eventually go back on the walk with here parents right?

  • Kymera Lynn
    Kymera Lynn Year ago

    I was so disappointed by the movie. The way they traded the Powers of Olive and Emma. The way they ended the movie. The way they screwed up Jake.

  • Yobama Jr.
    Yobama Jr. Year ago

    The book was so damn good.

  • Jay Hailey
    Jay Hailey Year ago

    The part where Jake might have been interesting is thrown away as a toss off line in the end of the film.

  • Karen Brakefield
    Karen Brakefield Year ago

    I was disappointed. And I love Eva Green. I agree with Chris on this one I was bored very quickly.

  • zak jaggs
    zak jaggs Year ago

    Seen it once and it was one of my favourite films because I assumed it would suck and loved it

  • Darragh Clarke
    Darragh Clarke Year ago +1

    I loved this movie until the midway point, then it fell to shit

  • Elliot Behr
    Elliot Behr Year ago

    The actual novel series WOULD translate into a great movie series, if Tim Burton would have stuck to the source material without turning it into this clusterfuck. He changed one detail (amongst a lot of other questionable choices) from the book and thus ruined any chance of actually making it a movie series. Unless he decides to add more useless nonsense onto it and thus change the entire point of the books.

  • Sebastian Melmoth

    The casting of Miss Peregrine was AWFUL. She was utterly unconvincing and self-consciously out of sync with the character. Remarkable how you did not pick this up.

  • YEONWOO MA
    YEONWOO MA Year ago

    I can sense your desire for a Spirited Away 2 :)
    As for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, I'd give a B. Tim Burton is more of a artsy-driven director, not toward a good story. And I think the movie brought up the tension to the half of its running time. The music and the situation was growing more creepy, and we were just starting to know about the threat upon the main characters. But... the final battle & ending ruined all. (SPOILER!!)
    I was so interested by the fact the hallowgasts' origin backstories, and the fact they were searching for eternal life by fasting on Peculiar children. However, in the end it just muddled clumsily into a group fight. All the nostalgia left me, and I didn't even felt surprised by the reveal of the twins' powers. Also, I can't understand WHY there was a Enoch & Olive shipping!!!
    I believe this film would have done so well, if given more time to stretch its world and concept. At least give it a sequel, for film's sake! I really thought this was gonna be another masterpiece of Tim Burton... (i still enjoy it, though)

  • Sashizakura
    Sashizakura Year ago

    This movie sadly sounds like garbage in, garbage out. The book was a disappointment, and is just as disjointed as you made the movie sound. If you didn't like the main character in the movie, you probably would've hated him in the book. I was more interested in the life of his grandpa. Too bad they killed him off right away in the book.

  • Panos Provts
    Panos Provts Year ago

    It would be cool if you did a Sweeney Todd review Chris!

  • Daniel Velker
    Daniel Velker Year ago

    Besides this being a Tim Burton film I want to see this movie because of Eva Green. I’ve been watching Penny Dreadful lately and she is fantastic in that show..

  • Lus _
    Lus _ Year ago

    There is like 40 times where the line delivery is horribly bad!
    I actually laughed while watching this movie several times (not the comedic parts).

  • Philip Dabbs
    Philip Dabbs Year ago

    in the book Jake is way more action packed

  • Pathfinder0708962

    First, I think the only major problem was the ending. It just didn’t make any sense how Jake’s grandfather came back. Another thing is that I highly doubt that they’ll make another one because they went in a completely different direction than the books. (Spoiler alert if you haven’t read the first book) In the first one, Jake leaves his Dad when he finds out the kids are in danger from a Hollowgast and tries to help. In the end, Ms. Peregrine isn’t rescued and her whereabouts are unknown. The loop is destroyed and the kids along with Jake try to find her and that’s the end of the first book.

  • Rose Rubinoff
    Rose Rubinoff Year ago

    You should red in the book I love then love Jacob is not Pouring in the book. The only time he asked questions is when he first meets with peregrine.

  • Rose Rubinoff
    Rose Rubinoff Year ago

    You should book 📖

  • Rose Rubinoff
    Rose Rubinoff Year ago

    In book he is not like they book in really good

  • cupofdisappointment
    cupofdisappointment Year ago +1

    I've already watched the movie a while ago and only just read the book. What the fuck Tim Burton

  • I am A glass window

    I’m being Enoch for our schools character day

  • Dylann Torres
    Dylann Torres Year ago

    I’m a huge fan of the book, and I hated the movie. They changed WAY too much, and added some things that didn’t work. Hopefully the next movie is better.

  • Rose Rubinoff
    Rose Rubinoff Year ago

    IN THE BOOK JAKE STAY 'S WITH EMMMA

  • Rose Rubinoff
    Rose Rubinoff Year ago

    THE BOOK IS BETTER

  • Ebony Steventon
    Ebony Steventon Year ago

    If a had $5 every time you pronounced something wrong I’d be loaded.

  • TheOwlReviewer
    TheOwlReviewer Year ago

    For me this film now that you're describing it should've been like the anime "Demi Chan" which I actually saw last year and I loved. The character of Jake could be like Takahashi who's incredibly interested in these Demis and develops strong connections with them while learning about them. Honestly Chris you should give that anime a look it's really good

  • Mina
    Mina Year ago

    The movie fucking sucked in my opinion. The books are so much better, filled with incredible mystery, and utilize a lot of character development. I was so disappointed in the movie. It was hardly anything like the book.

  • Alex R.
    Alex R. Year ago

    You can very much tell the screenplay was adapted from a book... like, they go over plot points that would probably take two page or three to explain in the book over a dialogue exchange no more than two lines long.... by the third act it seemed like they were just doing things just because since the explanations where so damn vague!

  • X. podz
    X. podz Year ago

    The little boy looks like Tom Riddle (lol)