Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 6 917

  • The Senate
    The Senate 3 hours ago

    Do it

  • johnni juul
    johnni juul 23 hours ago

    The presequel wasent that bad

  • Ryan Johnson
    Ryan Johnson 2 days ago

    Should have just skipped the events of episode 1 and 2 and had episode 1 be about Annikan already an adult and gradually turning to the dark side. I wanted to see Vader killing Jedi and fighting Obi-wan again but have Obi-wan flee with the start of the rebellion. Also it would have been better rated R.

  • Kate pro
    Kate pro 2 days ago

    This movie is a synonym to WASTED potential . When i imagine how Great it couldve been .. So so so very Very sad .

  • Bertlee
    Bertlee 2 days ago

    Palpatine used sith magic to change his appearance to mask his deformitys do to his constant use of the dark side

  • Mr Zeus
    Mr Zeus 4 days ago

    Shite

  • Matheus Duarte
    Matheus Duarte 6 days ago

    12:17 fucking got me good..

  • Kris Wright
    Kris Wright 9 days ago

    my face is fucked!

  • Sybil
    Sybil 12 days ago

    This movie sucked, but if you liked it Chris I'm sure many will tune it in...

  • Kylo Ren
    Kylo Ren 13 days ago

    Ian McDiarmid kills it as Sidious/Palpatine in ROTS as well as Ewan as Obi Wan

  • Joseph Maple
    Joseph Maple 13 days ago

    Low key, him quoting all the lines really freaking aggravated me

  • Jmikkels O
    Jmikkels O 15 days ago +1

    The space battle in the beginning of the film is the best space battle in star Wars to date.

  • Fedasses Fooper
    Fedasses Fooper 16 days ago

    i think the palpatine vs windu is a great fight. i like to look at the poorly executed attacks on palpatines end as palpatine taunting mace

  • Gerardo Gonzalez
    Gerardo Gonzalez 17 days ago

    12:50 Actually Chris we heard Yoda's Theme in both Episodes I and II

  • Hollow Guy
    Hollow Guy 19 days ago

    Actually yoda's theme was in attack of the clones when he was teaching the younglings. Very brief but yeah

  • Boats_R_Cool
    Boats_R_Cool 19 days ago

    Palpatine didn't actually like using lightsabers. You could see how powerful he was using the lightning

  • Owen Bradshaw
    Owen Bradshaw 20 days ago

    You didn't go back to the hologram in a second like you said you would

  • Kryten Prime
    Kryten Prime 21 day ago

    4:37 Huh, son of a gun! I never once noticed the Millennium Falcon right there, until I saw this review. Very nicely spotted, Chris. :)

  • XxMd NsrxX
    XxMd NsrxX 21 day ago

    Did you notice that when anakin, obi wan and palpatine was crashing back into the planet after the rescuing palpatine, the was convieniently a landing strip down there for some reason.

  • Jake Santiago
    Jake Santiago 22 days ago

    Why did palpatine have the Vader suit already? Anakin was just burned, but he had the entire vader costume ready to go for this exact moment. Would had made a lot more sense to have a prototype suit first

  • Nels Jorgenson
    Nels Jorgenson 22 days ago

    They could have given Padme some kind of sickness, which would add to Anakin’s motivation to saving her, and would give a more substantial reason for her passing.

  • Laser _
    Laser _ 22 days ago

    Revenge of the Sith > Empire strikes back

  • Matt Schumacher
    Matt Schumacher 22 days ago

    I always thought it would be better if Anakin was the one who killed most of the Jedi Masters instead of the clones. 1. There’s no way six clones can kill a Jedi Master. 2. It would show how powerful Anakin is now that he has tapped into the dark side. 3. It would hold a lot more emotional weight for Anakin to kill his former friends and mentors.

  • Abdulla Mother
    Abdulla Mother 25 days ago

    To be honest the dialogue in the originals sucked ass to. I wanted to punch Luke when he talks.

  • Zorastorm 32
    Zorastorm 32 25 days ago

    The best Star Wars Movie to date!

  • Choke point
    Choke point 26 days ago

    Watching Anikin's beautiful face and hair burn will always give me a tear

  • Captain Jakemerica
    Captain Jakemerica 27 days ago

    14:22 great point about Lucas dialogue gosh so glad I know all his dialogue tropes and how not to write like him

  • Dark Wolf
    Dark Wolf 28 days ago

    Revenge of the Sith is like Attack of the Clones on steroids... Anakin and Obi Wan's duel is so over the top it's absurd.

  • Jenkin's Jallopy
    Jenkin's Jallopy 29 days ago

    How come Anakin says that killing Dooku is not the Jedi way? Obi wan killed Darth Maul and Greivous, Mace Windu tried to kill Palpatine and killed Jango Fett, even Yoda killed two clone troopers. Killing was never against the Jedi way, even killing for revenge, because Obi Wan killed Maul for that reason, and he got rewarded by the council.

  • Jenkin's Jallopy
    Jenkin's Jallopy 29 days ago

    I don't really get why people think that Episode 3 is any different than the prequels. Maybe the idea behind it is more interesting than the others, but It's still made under the same bad execution.

  • Guapo Smoke
    Guapo Smoke 29 days ago

    This movie was the best!!

  • Moo Moo Puppy
    Moo Moo Puppy Month ago

    Palpatine has a washboard forehead.

  • marcos laureano
    marcos laureano Month ago

    Sorry lol, but another thing is the reason why Anakin and Obi Wan's fight looked so choreographed at least according to Lucas was because Obi Wan taught Anakin and they had dueled against each other everyday for hours and years of this helped them to know each other's moves inside and out so it kinda makes sense that one move would flow into the next and the next. I liked it better than that broadsword type of lightsaber dueling that Disney has come up with. Ugh, Kylo swings his saber like it weighs as much as Mel Gibsons broadsword in Braveheart. I mean damn it's a LIGHTsaber, the weight is literally in the handle. I love the prequel duels WAY more than anything I 've seen in the new movies and the original trilogy duels were good for their time.

  • marcos laureano
    marcos laureano Month ago

    Also another thing I learned about this movie is that a lot of the dialogue scenes were done in one take. Sam Jackson even said Lucas would film them going through their lines, a rehearsal take I guess, and then he'd yell cut and be like "ok next!". I guess when you have THAT much CGI and effects to take care of, dialogue comes second. Idk if it's true but I saw a video somewhere that showed that the new Disney movies actually have way more CGI and that Lucas did use a LOT of sets and miniatures but would CGI the crap out of them, which is a shame because it made everything look so clean and digital.

  • marcos laureano
    marcos laureano Month ago

    Little piece of lore - Palpatine's face looked like that for YEARS. He'd been masking himself with Sith alchemy for quite a long time. The lightning helped but it wasn't what deformed him. As a Star Wars fan you know that heavy use of the Dark Side messes you up physically - especially when you're the MOST powerful Sith Lord in the GALAXY, so it kinda makes sense that he really wouldn't look like a kindly old man.

  • marcos laureano
    marcos laureano Month ago

    One of the biggest things I loved about ROTS is that it picks up EXACTLY where the Clone Wars micro series left off. The first 20 minutes of this movie is absolutely breath taking for the most parts, some of the dialogue was kinda cringe worthy but for the most part it may be, after Empire, the best first 20-25 minutes of any Star Wars movie. I'm a fan of Phantom Menace and I never understood why so many people hated it even after watching it recently. The original Star Wars was very slow for the most part up until they meet Han Solo. Lots of talking, lots of setting up the second half of the movie. I mean the finale of Phantom Menace was awesome. Darth Maul vs Obi Wan and Quigon was absolutely classic. And I mean, Star Wars movies have never been Tarantino-like when it comes to dialogue anyway. And I loved how the prequels dove deeper into the lore of Star Wars and the Jedi in particular. Great review man. Thanks for another excellent vid dude.

  • Nicholas Whitmer
    Nicholas Whitmer Month ago

    Honestly my favorite. The perfect blend of corny and good

  • Gunsblazin94
    Gunsblazin94 Month ago

    Another great part about that Palpatine scene, is that he is talking about Darth Plagueis, who was his master in the past. Great scene for anyone who knows that specific piece of backstory.

  • verzivull
    verzivull Month ago

    how come episode 7 is better than episode 3 directed by George Lucas???!?
    you guys are faggots which are want to watch modern sjw shit

  • AkMLGHWNT
    AkMLGHWNT Month ago

    OMG I HAVE THAT SAME SHIRT “shingeki no endoa”

  • Gilberto Ignacio Aguirre Vargas

    If I had the opportunity to do a star wars spinoff i would do it about order 66, it would be R rated and when the 501st storms the jedi temple I would have a star wars recreation of the ghetto liquidation in Schindler's List

  • Robert Alan Bryan
    Robert Alan Bryan Month ago

    DECIDED To View all your STAR WARS Vids.... THIS "revenge of the sith" thing keeps making me doze off about half-way thru. It's NOT you, I am just not a Star Wars fan (and I was 17 when it came out -- 58 now). I just wanted to hear someone criticize these films, which you do a good job of...but no matter what...this is my 4th attempt to watch this video and i keep dozing..................

  • Kamson 321
    Kamson 321 Month ago

    Dude u didn't understood shit from thouse movies and star wars ingeneral, just stop your Job there

  • Cobus Le roux
    Cobus Le roux Month ago

    episode 3 was the first star wars movie i ever watched, so i never understood the problems people have with it.

  • Jerbsinator
    Jerbsinator Month ago

    Holy crap! My face is FUCKED!
    OH MY GOD! WHAT'S WRONG WITH YOUR FAAAAAAAAAAAAAACCCCCCCCCEEEEEEEEE!?!?!?!

  • metalman5
    metalman5 Month ago

    Star Wars
    I- C-
    II- C+
    III- A-
    RO- A-
    NH- B+
    ESB- A
    ROTJ- B-
    TFA- C+ (first 3/4 is A+ than after rey gets her powers D-
    TLJ- C

  • Dwight Schrute
    Dwight Schrute Month ago

    I’m not sure if it’s canon but I’m pretty sure sheev Palpatine made padme die to make Darth Vader feel hatred and anger, making him a stronger sith and user of the dark side of the force.

  • AlecIsCool P
    AlecIsCool P Month ago

    11:40
    Star Wars need: achually

  • Spike Rankin
    Spike Rankin Month ago

    There's no reason for her to be dying? You do realize people have actually died from childbirth.

  • Ethan Barnett •
    Ethan Barnett • Month ago

    He reminds me of Ben whiette

  • Two Rivers Longbow Champion

    I've never bought the whole Padme losing the will to live BS. I'd rather think that Palpatine somehow used the Force to drain her life force just so he could blame her death on Anakin, to cement his conversion. Although I would've preferred that Padme survived but had to fake her death to protect her children from Darth Vader, and secretly lived under Bail Organa's protection; it would be more in line with how Leia had memories of her mother (I can't buy that Leia could remember Padme from within the womb or right as she was born, too much of a stretch)

  • Reynik Namyrion
    Reynik Namyrion Month ago

    To be fair, the Palpatine/Windu confrontation was HEAVILY rushed in production. They had initially wanted something grander involving all of the Jedi Masters there but at the last minute Lucas decided he wanted Ian McDiarmid to do all of the fight scene on his own, to 'enhance the performance' or whatever nonsense. He didn't want no stunt double. Nuh-uh.
    McDiarmid had to learn to do the whole thing on his own in a very short span of time, not to mention the incredible strain on the rest of the crew. As a result, instead of a brilliant fight scene we got... this.

  • Favored
    Favored Month ago

    1. New Hope 2. The Empire Strikes Back (Equally good as New Hope) 3. The Force Awakens 4. Return of The Jedi 5. The Last Jedi 6. Revenge of The Sith 7. Attack of The Clones 8. Phantom Menace (Equally bad as attack of the clones)

  • Oddball Skull
    Oddball Skull Month ago

    Obi wan cheated.

  • WillToNihilsm
    WillToNihilsm Month ago

    So are Jedi immune to toxic fumes from lava? Did George Lucas not even think of this shit? I seriously think he was doing to much drugs.

  • WillToNihilsm
    WillToNihilsm Month ago

    Im not trying to be an ableist asshole, but does anyone else think George Lucas might be autistic?

  • Danlore
    Danlore Month ago

    Actually, it wasn't the lightning deforming his face. It's actually just a facade of his younger self to cover up how the darkside has deformed him from that point. That face IS his real face.

  • Sulaymaan Kingseed
    Sulaymaan Kingseed Month ago

    I hate to say it when it comes to the choreography light saber fighting scenes- those actors are white men, they are not dancers, they have very little dancing experience or flare- they're regular white dudes and we all know regular white dudes are not this most rhythmic or your elk.
    So the choreography is going to be very apparent. I think they did a good job for two rhyme-less white boys. Had it been Justin Bieber and Justin Timberlake it wouldve been 100 percent better cause those two white boys got it...

  • VFX Todd
    VFX Todd Month ago

    The scene where Anakin makes the turn to the Dark Side RUINED the movie for me. When Palpatine/Sith Lord is lying on the ground and whimpering as he begs Anakin to kill Mace Windu is the worst moment in film history. Suddenly, Anakin throws Windu out the window? In my view, that did not represent someone turning to the Dark Side. It showed me someone who wimped out out of fear, not out of some influence from the Dark Side. The rest of the movie didn't matter to me at that point. I disagree, I don't think the movie is as good as you say. It was ruined by the "turning scene". Which, for me, just meant the entire beginning trilogy was trash.
    Episode I had the scene, that was clearly inspired by the Obi Wan / Darth Vader fight where Obi Wan "dies", in which Young Obi Wan, the Sith warrior guy, and Qui Gon Jinn fight and Qui Gon is killed. And there were many other moments throughout the film that just seemed derivative of past Star Wars movies. AND that kid!! The WORST casting choice ever! The kid was horrible.
    Episode II, The Attack of the Clones was OK, but, mostly forgettable.
    Episode III, again, had the crappy scene where Anakin "turns". So, in my view, Episode I-III were basically garbage. I give it a D-.

  • Keemstar 2.0 chode
    Keemstar 2.0 chode Month ago

    Ya’know anakin technically fulfilled the prophesy by destroying the sith in ep 6

  • Jacob Black
    Jacob Black Month ago

    Order 66 on Ray.

  • Jacob Black
    Jacob Black Month ago

    Darth plegice is Jesus that was gorge moking Gods son.

  • Slaiden Radtke
    Slaiden Radtke Month ago

    You should do the clone wars abridged series

  • Chimaera
    Chimaera Month ago

    It should have been anakin with the high ground and then this film references Phantom Menace

  • Adrian Saldana
    Adrian Saldana Month ago

    the beginning was fucking perfect lol

  • allluckyseven
    allluckyseven Month ago

    I just can't stand Hayden Christensen. Every time he's on screen I cringe. He's either delivering bad dialogue or rave dancing with Obi Wan.

  • Thomas Annulis
    Thomas Annulis Month ago

    OMG The intro 😂🤣😂

  • Ryan Parks
    Ryan Parks Month ago

    God damnit. I never have and never will understand how the turn is abrupt. Like, if you paid attention to the dialogue him killing mace windu makes sense and after that he can't turn back. Like, he just killed a fucking Jedi master, that's it. He can't be a Jedi anymore. He now has the choice to go to prison or die and let that be for nothing and let padme die, or he can embrace what just happened and try to complete his objective.

  • xavier ostolaza
    xavier ostolaza Month ago

    Obi Wan is the high ground

  • Andy Han
    Andy Han Month ago

    Hey Chris I have been wondering why grievous had a cough for the longest time ty u for finally revealing that mystery for me

  • MKCFenix
    MKCFenix Month ago

    Your Palpatine impression for the lightsaber duel was Spot-On LOL! I'm done

  • Jeffrey Riley
    Jeffrey Riley Month ago +1

    Wookies can't beat Clone Troopers but Ewoks can beat Stormtroopers? Ugh. They did that backwards. Ewoks should have been in Revenge of the Sith and Wookies in Jedi.

  • Rev7X9 Ben Kittle
    Rev7X9 Ben Kittle Month ago

    The main reason why I watch Star Wars is for the Battles, I think they did a good job with Qui Gonn Jinn and Obi-Wan vs Darth Maul, A good job with telling the story of the clones in Star Wars 2 Attack of the Clones, the Battle of Geonosis is one of my favorite Battles in Star Wars, to come to a close, I don't like Star Wars because of the Plot, I like it because of the Battles, lastly, I like all the star wars movies because of the Battles.

  • Luigi Nastro
    Luigi Nastro 2 months ago

    The Phantom Menace: 4/10
    Attack of the Clones: 5/10
    The Clone Wars (movie): 5/10
    The Clone Wars (CGI show): 7/10
    I haven't watched the CN animated show, so shut up.
    Revenge of the Sith: 6/10
    Rogue One: 7.5/10
    Solo: 5/10
    A New Hope: 9.5/10
    The Empire Strikes Back: 10/10
    Return of the Jedi: 8/10
    Rebels (it's canon and I'm a completionist): 5.5/10
    The Force Awakens: 8/10
    The Last Jedi: 7/10

  • ScotchMcCoy
    ScotchMcCoy 2 months ago

    That intro killed me

  • Octavi8
    Octavi8 2 months ago

    That intro was still better than the first two films

  • michael preller
    michael preller 2 months ago

    Hate on the first two all you want...but this one kicked ass.

  • Jacob M
    Jacob M 2 months ago

    palpatine vs windu is not bad

  • Dan Lewis
    Dan Lewis 2 months ago

    George Lucas has legitimately good ideas. All of the moments in the prequels that work are clearly due to that. He also needs people around him raining him in and pointing out garbage (editors in other words but in real life) to let the brilliant stuff come through.

  • cal995
    cal995 2 months ago

    "Holy crap! My face is fucked!" LOL

  • Dr. Gonzo
    Dr. Gonzo 2 months ago +1

    That opening was fucking epic! Nice Anakin Skywalker voice work bro 🤘

  • The Modern Day Gamer
    The Modern Day Gamer 2 months ago

    Haydens facial acting and body language acting in this film is so amazing. My big issue is that the middle 3rd of the movie is not great compared to the beginning and end thirds

  • Nick Jackson
    Nick Jackson 2 months ago

    This bitch complained about the most amazing fight scene ever

  • Ike Urban
    Ike Urban 2 months ago +1

    Out of 10...
    1- 6.9
    2- 6.0
    3- 8.0
    Solo- 7.0
    R1- 7.9
    4- 8.7
    5- 9.1
    6- 8.1
    7- 7.9
    8- 6.1

    • nba73
      nba73 2 months ago

      Ike Urban good ratings!

  • Otto Von Bismarck
    Otto Von Bismarck 2 months ago

    I feel like a C is too high for this. Personally, I'd give a 5/10 (a C), for the flaws that it has are still atrocious. I agree that it's the best out of the prequels (which isn't at all saying much) and that it is bearable to a degree. However, the poor sets, writing, dialogue, etc still make it unworthy of a B in my opinion. To be honest, I thought A New Hope is a B worthy movie (not saying it's bad, but it it isn't as good as some think).

  • 林奇賢
    林奇賢 2 months ago

    The yoda voice he imitates is authentic!

  • Infinite Mixer
    Infinite Mixer 2 months ago

    this is the best film out of all star wars!

  • ED 209
    ED 209 2 months ago

    Anakin in the player select screen was hilarious

  • jcoronet2000
    jcoronet2000 2 months ago

    high ground is not just a physical location. its a state of mind?

  • Raul Rojas
    Raul Rojas 2 months ago

    hmm so this is why i like the prequels....because this damm movie....ok i understand now why many people say that the prequels are bad, because Ep 1 and 2 are terrible

  • Captain Michael J. Caboose
    Captain Michael J. Caboose 2 months ago +29

    I liked Revenge Of The Sith

    • Hamlet Reynoso
      Hamlet Reynoso 3 days ago

      fun fact, force lighting is basically pure hate being thrown out, so Palpitene had his pure anger and hatred reflected back at him.

    • thekidfiddler11
      thekidfiddler11 Month ago

      Captain Michael J. Caboose Don't ever go backwards

  • PoorlySkydiving
    PoorlySkydiving 2 months ago

    That palpatine voice reminds me of Benedict Cumberbatch as Kahn or Smaug a tiny bit.

  • Boba Fett
    Boba Fett 2 months ago

    I didn’t like the r2 scene way too much

  • gnc623
    gnc623 2 months ago

    "The fight between Anakin and Obi-Wan just doesn't have the intensity the fight between Vader and Luke in Empire Strikes Back." Uh, what are you smoking? This fight was way better.

  • Nodz Wy
    Nodz Wy 2 months ago

    Good review 👍🏻

  • Maurice White
    Maurice White 2 months ago

    i feel like people who hate on this trilogy jump on the bandwagon of hate from butt-hurt old star wars fans who wanted nothing but nostalgia. And wanted to hate it to begin with and started nitpicking the film haha. What they should really hate is the new trilogy episodes 7, 8, and eventually 9; but really 7 because it's a carbon copy of episode 4 and nostalgia fans loved My GOD. Plus Anikan v Obi-wan is the best and longest fight i have ever seen.

  • blood_ _money
    blood_ _money 2 months ago

    This was the only decent one from the trilogy... Still a 6/10

  • Jerry Hensley
    Jerry Hensley 2 months ago

    Fan theory for you what if that was Darth Sidious true face and he was happy not to conceal it anymore

  • jvdv
    jvdv 2 months ago

    Everyone should read the revenge of the sith book form matteh stover it's really incredibell