Google may have cut too many corners... - Pixel 4 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 21, 2019
  • Check out the Dbrand Grip at dbrand.com/LinusDropTips
    Sign up for Private Internet Access VPN at lmg.gg/pialinus1
    With the Pixel 4 and Pixel 4 XL, Google has managed to innovate with the camera yet again, delivering an experience that's more accurate and creative than the Apple iPhone 11 Pro.
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1115941-apple-should-be-embarrassed-pixel-4-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: lmg.gg/sponsors
    Get a VPN today with PIA at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Get a Displate Metal Print at lmg.gg/displateltt
    Get a 30-day free trial of Amazon Prime at lmg.gg/8KV1v
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: tvclip.biz/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High tvclip.biz/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 7 241

  • Nathan Chojnacki

    your camera comparisons were far more detailed than mkbhd

  • LeVaar Sanchez
    LeVaar Sanchez 2 days ago

    Very MKBHD-like intro u got there

  • Corey B
    Corey B 3 days ago

    The title is "Google may have cut too many corners", but there was hardly a bad thing said lol. Battery size is always mentioned as a downside, yet it'll hold screentime just as long as other flagships. Size doesn't matter if it works just as well...

  • steve molina
    steve molina 3 days ago

    Wooaaahhhhhh that ad transition was soooo smoothhh hahahahahhahaa XDDD

  • Holly Stop
    Holly Stop 4 days ago

    XD 126 for top tier?? I only have 16g ... gosh I need to upgrade

  • Krayz_1 Mitchell
    Krayz_1 Mitchell 4 days ago

    I prefer the swipe up to finalizing the face ID unlock.. I dont want my phone to unlock every time it detects my face

  • Xander Films
    Xander Films 4 days ago

    Honestly I just care for a good camera and good working phone

  • Vinay S
    Vinay S 4 days ago

    Linus wants to check the time on his pixel 4, looks at the time and the phone unlocks and he’s on the home screen. Then locks the phone and puts it down 😂. That’s each time he wants to check the time 😂

  • kasa
    kasa 5 days ago

    Whats up with the top bezel!!! I don't like Google, it's one big invasive privacy compromising ad company. Literally, ads are their main business. But I would like to use stock android.
    I might actually move back to Nokia after a first time after I started using smartphones. They use android one (basically stock) and Nokia 7.2 is decent phone. Nothing special at all but with how high the baseline is it doesn't really matter, and price is low too. I bought top of the line phones till now but I don't really see much point anymore.
    If Samsung had option to buy android one version of their phone I would buy theirs right away. But all the bloat in Samsung phones drives me nuts.

  • Vortex
    Vortex 5 days ago

    waiting on the 7t pro

  • Creativepic by Vishu Mahabir

    Am i the only one who thinks that the iPhone color balance by default is just too warm ..?

    • Creativepic by Vishu Mahabir
      Creativepic by Vishu Mahabir 5 days ago

      Chris W doesn’t sound like a 1000 $ phone solution to me.. I’m still using a 6S and the color looks fine. It’s wrong.

    • Creativepic by Vishu Mahabir
      Creativepic by Vishu Mahabir 5 days ago

      Chris W thanks for clarifying! Isn’t it the truetone function? Very annoying though.

  • The Merg Project
    The Merg Project 5 days ago

    I trusted you Linus... I got the pixel 4 XL anyways. without any thought into the supposedly poor/dated hardware choices. The pixel 4 XL is actually a REALLY REALLY good phone! Don't listen to the BS, the software seems to really excel in this phone. It feels like the fastest Android phone I've ever used. Camera is good. Google Assistant is a beast! STANDBY time is really good on this. It seems like the percentage drops are about 1% maybe 2% at the most per hour!

    There's no other android phone quite as performant as this. I can confidently say this is the BEST ANDROID PHONE OF 2019

  • Leighton Polk
    Leighton Polk 5 days ago

    1:39 he sounds like squidward

  • Steve D'Costa
    Steve D'Costa 6 days ago

    Glad I got the 3a as no big difference. I'm now a fan of Google phones. Camera is shockingly good.

  • Parker Young
    Parker Young 6 days ago

    * hears you say iterative, still hasn't bought a smartphone yet, finally starting my research to jump in the market.

    Been rockin my Samsung Trance wat!

  • Levi Fichman
    Levi Fichman 7 days ago

    amzn.to/2DyZKCd
    BLACK FRIDAY!

  • Xystem 4
    Xystem 4 7 days ago +2

    As a consumer, I don’t really care about the entire front being one flush screen, and I’m glad they opted to go without a notch. Looks more professional to me, not “last gen”

  • myHuge249
    myHuge249 7 days ago

    am i the only one who still couldn't give a shit about what the camera on a phone is like
    as a photographer myself the only time i use the camera on the phone is to send a quick and dirty selfie or to just snap a shot out of a car window of where i am gonna shoot

  • Wade Epperson
    Wade Epperson 8 days ago

    I have the hand motions off because I just don't use them that much. The face unlock speed to me hasn't really dropped since lift to wake is on anyways. I didn't have many issues of the radar not picking up movements of my hand for Spotify I found not waving at the forehead for the gestures to work make them work more. Basically just aiming directly at the center of the phone seems to get them and also the speed at which you move. Within 2 days I had about an 80% success rate with the gestures but it still wasn't useful enough to keep on .

  • Furry is Kinda Cool 2

    Android video quality really sucks.

  • Sandy BoleYT
    Sandy BoleYT 9 days ago +1

    Unlimited photo storage gone
    Wtf that was literally the only reason I liked pixel

  • Pako Tone
    Pako Tone 9 days ago

    8:56 I had experienced some serious nopes when the guy approached Linus like it was some bad alien zombie. I was frightened.

  • Lawrence Adjei
    Lawrence Adjei 9 days ago

    Great review. May buy the pixel 4 xl instead of the one plus 7 pro or iPhone because I feel the radar and speech to text features actually feel like an upgrade on how I use my phone where as other phones are just adding specs and aesthetics.

  • Audio Fun
    Audio Fun 9 days ago

    That title change is just wrong tbh! Kind of puts the integrity of the reviewer into question... I know the video is still the same but to use it to click bait is just wrong.

  • Remy
    Remy 9 days ago

    i’d rather have to swipe up than someone accessing my phone while im asleep

  • Evan You
    Evan You 9 days ago

    The pixel 4 phone is excellent. So glad I got it. It's not perfect, I shut motion sensor and smooth scrolling off. But the rest of the phone is fabulous. Also, battery life is fine.

  • nikolas adm
    nikolas adm 10 days ago

    Shit battery, low brightness screen, no sd cart, no hradphone jack, ugly design and huge asking price
    Now who the fuck would buy this garbage?

  • L S
    L S 11 days ago

    I already have the 2TB google cloud option. I guess I see Googles point for excluding the so called unlimited storage option. Maybe I'm wrong.

  • David Lawman
    David Lawman 11 days ago

    Why would you go to home screen directly when unlocked with face?

    • David Lawman
      David Lawman 10 days ago

      @Eric Albitz No, I meant why directly into the phone, instead of one more swipe like iPhone. What if you have your notifications setup with hidden details? A face unlock will take you into the phone but all you want to do is glance through the notifications.

    • Eric Albitz
      Eric Albitz 10 days ago

      I think it goes to whatever you were doing last, Linus was just on the home screen in the example

  • reydiation1
    reydiation1 11 days ago

    And I was actually thinking of finally leaving Apple for the Pixel...might just have to wait until next year :/

  • mukhtar jugger
    mukhtar jugger 12 days ago +1

    Honestly Linus, I love that you touched on the video recording when compared to iPhone. Other reviewer's just say "oh the video is were pixel is lacking" but then they don't give a very good comparison.

  • Anthony Crisci
    Anthony Crisci 12 days ago

    the iphone camera looked better just my opinion

    • ConnectedR
      ConnectedR 11 days ago

      @Leo The Pixel relies almost entirely on software processing.

    • Leo
      Leo 11 days ago

      In my opinion iPhone "photoshops" things. Pixel seems to show you what things actually look like in real life. It ends up being a matter of application rather than which is better.
      An ugly girl will love iPhone selfies...a beautiful girl will love Pixel.

  • Anthony Crisci
    Anthony Crisci 12 days ago

    the iphone camera looked better just my opinion

  • sleepiinqq
    sleepiinqq 13 days ago

    I like the forehead, and I think 128gb is enough.

  • Martin Gonzalez
    Martin Gonzalez 13 days ago

    Try lg phones

  • GreenArt4
    GreenArt4 14 days ago

    I've owned a Pixel 2XL since a little bit after launch. I like a lot of things about this phone (Night Sight and the Portrait modes are still amazing), but there's so many little bugs and inconsistencies between updates that I don't think I'll buy another Pixel when the time comes to switch. Based on this video, it seems like my probelms weren't solved :S

  • ★ Korbi CSGO
    ★ Korbi CSGO 15 days ago

    LINUS YOU DIDNT EVEN TALK ABOUT THE BATTERY LIFE LOL. Wtf dude!! It’s horrible! What kind of review is this, title leads me to believe that it didn’t do well, and all you do for the whole review is praise it.
    Christ.

  • ★ Korbi CSGO
    ★ Korbi CSGO 15 days ago

    Linus your confusing me with this review. The iPhone shoots 4K at 60 FPS, how is the pixel video better?
    Also the brightness on this piece of shit pixel is less then 500 nits? Lol. My watch is brighter then that.
    And google used to shit on Apple for having two cameras, but now.. it’s okay for them to have two?
    So much hypocritical bs. I don’t get it.

  • ★ Korbi CSGO
    ★ Korbi CSGO 15 days ago

    Brighter then ever? This phones brightness is pathetic. Not even close to apples brightness.

  • Robert S
    Robert S 15 days ago

    The HECK was that advert

  • Captn RAMBO
    Captn RAMBO 16 days ago

    100 Gigabytes GOOGLE ASSISTANT crammed to 50 Megabytes ¿🤔?

  • Captn RAMBO
    Captn RAMBO 16 days ago

    I’ll stay with my iPhone 11 Pro Max 🙃

  • Captn RAMBO
    Captn RAMBO 16 days ago

    The Pixel 4 doesn’t make calls??

  • Wild Chris
    Wild Chris 16 days ago

    what the hell you guyz have on smarphone, for me it's hard to use more than 20 gb on my smartphone how you use all of 256gb? even on my computer i got 250 gb of storage and i got like windows, witcher3 and some more games, wtf you play on phone ? XD

  • Nathan Knoblach
    Nathan Knoblach 16 days ago

    I've had that burn in problem on my pixel 2 xl with youtube music, must be software

  • burcu urundul
    burcu urundul 16 days ago

    Good review Linus. Tried the new Google Pixel 4 but decided to send it back as it just didn't wow me compared to my Pixel 2 which just feels a much better phone. The Google Pixel 4 has a very cheap build quality to it. Such a shame. What are Google doing? This is not the way to go. Shame

  • Philip
    Philip 17 days ago +1

    128gb is way more than enough

  • My Email
    My Email 17 days ago

    I dont get alot of these review channels on the pixel 4xl. We have them for our work phones and I tell you what it's one of the best phones I've ever had everything about it works perfectly I'm a big fan. It's crisp it's fast and The camera is a lot better than the reviews say. I'm not sure where a lot of people are coming up with a lot of the negative parts of this phone they must either be iPhone lovers or dont want to admit it because it isnt all screen like other phones.

  • Nick Lim
    Nick Lim 17 days ago

    lmao you think that this hardware design is better than Apple. Google is struggling hard!

  • J Halkoski
    J Halkoski 18 days ago

    Not going to lie nothing about the 4 convinces me to get rid of my 3. Maybe the 5 will.

  • Android Robot
    Android Robot 19 days ago

    And trust me... the Pixel 5 lineup is going to be GREAT. It's kind of like the Sonic movie trailer, where Google fixes their mistakes in fear of the media

  • Bryce Chapman
    Bryce Chapman 19 days ago

    Video looked grainy and the camera didn’t pick up the rain/snow very well. So Linus in my honest opinion (since you asked for it) no it’s not very good for video.

  • whiteandnerdytuba
    whiteandnerdytuba 19 days ago

    Still a good camera on a shit phone

  • Mike Nichols
    Mike Nichols 20 days ago

    Just wanted to add something i haven't seen in a vid posting or in written reviews. They all mention the radar gesture system used in the device. What they don't mention is that it didn't come from Google but rather Motorola.

    The "Motion Sense" radar gesture system came about due to patented technology acquired elsewhere. Google purchased Motorola several years ago (then sold it later) and had access to all of Motorola's patents. Ironically many wrote after Google sold Motorola that there would only be minimum benefit from Motorola's patent catalog. As said one of those patents being the radar technology which goes all the way back to the Moto X 1st gen 2013.

    So the technology isn’t so new and innovative as Google makes it sound with the Pixel 4. They may have made improvements on the tech but they weren’t the originating source. As said they did later sell Motorola to Lenovo however the benefits seem to keep on coming from Motorola's patents.

    Just trivia more than anything else.

  • Matthew Fonseca
    Matthew Fonseca 20 days ago

    This review was definitely biased. Linus barely talked about the battery life which has to be the worst thing about it. Didn’t mention the lack of a fingerprint sensor. And why not include the Note 10+ in the comparisons, another flagship? I get it, he hates Apple but damn this lesbian needs to make it more subtle.

  • Fernando S
    Fernando S 20 days ago +6

    I take forehead over notch over "full screen" content anyday

  • Jay Zee
    Jay Zee 21 day ago

    As someone sits on one in their back pocket and it bends at the antenna joins on the frame (bendy Iphone 6/6s flashback lol) - good phone but bad mechanical design of the frame this time around... Waiting for the Pixel 5...

  • SHADOWS GAMING CHANEL
    SHADOWS GAMING CHANEL 23 days ago

    100gbs? That's wrong. Right?

  • chillgreeko
    chillgreeko 24 days ago

    Delete your channel please!

  • Nathan St.Marie
    Nathan St.Marie 24 days ago

    Google might not be pushing phones with the most available storage since they benefit most from your use of their cloud products.