Life - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 932

  • SB TMS
    SB TMS 26 days ago +1

    I just watched it and omg this is such a good movie!!!!!

  • K. Le Animateur
    K. Le Animateur 2 months ago

    Don't know why the thing would attack him. He just poking it. Sure poking someone is irritating, but not lethal. Chill the f out

  • Captain Raz
    Captain Raz 2 months ago

    lame script that needs stupid scientists doing stupid shit. As always.
    great mistakes:
    - bringing the cell to life. why? there are tons of papers to be published with just the dead cell
    - not stopping its growth after it grows REALLY REALLY FAST, together with the fact that it was only one cell in the samples, WITH ONLY ONE SPECIES. This is clearly strange and spells doom.
    - not having all scientists aboard knowing about the "firewall 3" protocol.

  • odin andre
    odin andre 2 months ago

    I mean I agree and disagree. Yeah the first half of the movie was better and the seccond half.. What did you expect its a space horror movie.
    (spoiler)
    but the freaking end just pulled it back up. Like for real. It was a Dearing move but for me it hit the spot. One thing im tired of are these invincible characters that you know cant die. And I taught it ended like that but boi was I wrong and it was amazing.

  • John von Shepard
    John von Shepard 3 months ago

    Dat ending tho, Scary af.

  • DJ 2fst
    DJ 2fst 4 months ago

    is there going to be a Life 2?

  • ACID 87
    ACID 87 4 months ago

    i fall asleep during most movies today they are such shit..but this was dope, it kept me interested the whole time, the actors were great, well worth watching.

  • Ghost Ninja 10
    Ghost Ninja 10 4 months ago

    In a way the Life movie sounded like the 1979 Alien movie.

  • PSYCHO PATH
    PSYCHO PATH 4 months ago

    "The first half of life looked like what I wanted life to be" fucking same man

  • PSYCHO PATH
    PSYCHO PATH 4 months ago

    I loved this movie, I was actually pretty creeped out during this movie.

  • Craig Calder
    Craig Calder 4 months ago

    John carpenters the thing is the best movie in this genre by a mile.

  • K. Le Animateur
    K. Le Animateur 4 months ago

    I love Gyllenhaal!
    Although I think I've only seen him in Nightcrawler. I need to watch more of his stuff

  • Zoids Zu
    Zoids Zu 4 months ago

    I liked it.

  • Mogatroll EU
    Mogatroll EU 5 months ago

    Honestly, the movie sucked... it was predictable, inaccurate and they killed the best character first... I'll agree that the first half was decent (at best) but it all went downhill from there. I won't even mention the awful ending.

  • Chris Corley
    Chris Corley 5 months ago

    LIFE (2917) was cool. Pretty good. Great ending, but first half of the movie was much better. Worth watching over again.

  • carls adventures
    carls adventures 5 months ago

    Watch it to day

  • gbdeck200
    gbdeck200 5 months ago

    Saw it
    The Gore on point, really gives the thing, alien vibe to the suspense


    But the end is just that
    Sure it's surprising and sad for her but no sequel so it feels unfinished, I can easily believe they'd remove it as long as it doesn't reproduce and even then just flee earth and go to Mars(lol)

  • JKnifeXXX
    JKnifeXXX 5 months ago

    Calvin

  • Tony M
    Tony M 5 months ago

    Fucking LOVED this movie. Seen it 3 times already.

  • Peter D
    Peter D 5 months ago

    Life has the most stupid group of characters since prometheus. Utter knobs

  • Ashlee Thompson
    Ashlee Thompson 5 months ago

    Why’d they have to do Deadpool like that..... But that ending though. 👽

  • SoldieMAN
    SoldieMAN 6 months ago

    When Ryan Reynolds character's died


    I cried so much

  • Marco Gavin
    Marco Gavin 6 months ago

    I was more freaked out in this movie then i expected to be probably cause its the most realistic sci fi horror ive seen

  • Jake Tibbs
    Jake Tibbs 6 months ago

    Tell that to Zod's snapped Life.

  • Justice Magagane
    Justice Magagane 6 months ago

    Im sorry u suck u cant review

  • Jared uchiha
    Jared uchiha 6 months ago

    THIS movie was trash trash trash it was predictable plane ahh I expected more totally dissapointed

  • baby turtle
    baby turtle 6 months ago

    It's the venom movie

  • Jesus Gonzalez
    Jesus Gonzalez 6 months ago

    It was cliche the entire movie but the ending was good

  • Tyre Wallace
    Tyre Wallace 8 months ago

    Just saw it. Not a bad movie but the ending was too predictable

  • resistnzisfutl
    resistnzisfutl 8 months ago

    So, biologists know well, or should know, that when you're introduced to a new ecosystem, or a new factor from another ecosystem is introduced into yours, destruction and mayhem occurs. One or the other ecosystem that has not evolved along with the invading lifeform tends to suffer greatly because it never developed resistances in response to the aggressive lifeforms. We've observed this and have been aware of it as basic biology for a couple hundred years, perhaps more.
    So when it comes to dealing with a lifeform that even potentially developed on another world, what do they think would happen? I think any biologist worth their salt would have accounted for that. That being said, a space program based on typical government spending would inexplicably spend far too much on people who are the lowest common denominators, the ones who don't have the mental capacities to consider such aspects, and therefore would end up in situations like this.
    To take an unknown and Earth-alien lifeform onto a spacestation that is pre-programmed to re-enter Earth's orbit, with no idea how that lifeform would react with the indigenous life and due to history would likely wipe it out, yet still takes it onto said space station out of, what, personal curiosity?
    It's stupid science, but maybe the indelible human nature that many have speculated would be the end of us all.

    • Nox
      Nox 6 months ago

      resistnzisfutl I don’t think Humans would make a mistake such as this one in reality and there would definitely be a lot more safety precautions before letting an unknown alien organism in Earths orbit. However, I think it’s realistic to assume we could bring alien life from Mars via contamination on returning Astronauts. Probably would have made a more interesting storyline too

  • ChanCeNecK
    ChanCeNecK 8 months ago

    Just watched it yesterday! Thanks brother, for buying me the Blu-Ray for my 32nd birthday! I thought it was awesome, if it WOULD HAVE BEEN a Venom prequel, I would have been disappointed! And that ending got us jaw dropping!

  • MasterPlanPenguin
    MasterPlanPenguin 8 months ago

    Movie relief to much of deus ex machinas to move the plot. Guy is blast a flamethrower inside that space, no extinguishers go off. Then it perfectly floats near one with a tiny flame and they go off. They then can't just be shut down all st once has to be one by one. Then the creature is lucky enough to attach itself to the one guy in space who can't feel his legs. They then finally trap it and are going to kill it, but oh wait turns out another shuttle thing has come and it's going to connect to the dock they trapped it in. And oh now the Asian guy will rush there thinking it's a rescue because information about standard firewall protocols was kept secret. Then right at the end the alien gets lucky and is in the right shuttle to land of earth and what do you know they land right near some fisherman who don't speak English. It could have been so much better but it was just dumb luck after dumb luck that pushed this movie forward rather than actual well thought out story.

    • MasterPlanPenguin
      MasterPlanPenguin 6 months ago

      Exactly. Not to mention you look in and see someone like covered by something weird looking. Your first instinct ins't going to be to open the door. More like "Oh shit wtf screw that".

    • Nox
      Nox 6 months ago

      MasterPlanPenguin haha well summed up. I’m pretty 99% of the Human population understands Yes and No. It’s not even English at that point. Even a head shake should be understood by fishermen lol

  • Little luke
    Little luke 8 months ago

    I just watched it and couldn't shake the anger of soft tissue monster that is so strong and idiotic moves by crew. Well moves were only few. I just wanted to rip that little precious see through bullshit apart and couldn't finish it. Too much bullshit.
    Alien was somehow little believable in it's essence.

    • MasterPlanPenguin
      MasterPlanPenguin 8 months ago

      Little luke the most annoying thing. For all the "firewall" protocols. No one thought "hey you know the box we plan on keeping it in, how about instead of gloves we make it machanical with small robotic arms we can use to study it" there was no reason to have him use his actual hands. Everything he did could easily have been done with robotics. Which would have prevented its escape from the box as no gloves to cut through.

  • Cemal Gokce
    Cemal Gokce 8 months ago

    Jeremy your reviews have been really bad these days

  • Alex Hilbert
    Alex Hilbert 8 months ago

    Way better than Alien Covenant

  • Majorbeige
    Majorbeige 8 months ago

    ending of this film fucked me over so much, i so wanted her to live.

  • shayla sapphire
    shayla sapphire 9 months ago

    I thought Life was an excellent movie. 10,000 times better than Aliens.

  • Black Titan
    Black Titan 9 months ago +1

    the ending was foolish

  • UnILoVeFoReVeR OK
    UnILoVeFoReVeR OK 9 months ago

    'Life' is a OK movie... something doesn't add up... but it's at least watchable...

  • David Smith
    David Smith 9 months ago

    i liked it

  • Lil’ SuperSoaker
    Lil’ SuperSoaker 9 months ago

    THE ENDING EFFED ME UP

  • Solid Sorensen
    Solid Sorensen 9 months ago

    Love Ryan and Jake, and most of this cast actually! But, this movie never made me feel anything. It's pretty bleh for a thrilling space horror flick.

  • asus380
    asus380 9 months ago

    didnt like it

  • D Y S P H O R I A
    D Y S P H O R I A 9 months ago

    Are we just NOT going to talk about how spontaneous the ending was? The ending was fucking amazing and super unpredictable! It was more spontaneous than when your girlfriend put her finger in your butt while you were boning her down in missionary position!

    • MasterPlanPenguin
      MasterPlanPenguin 8 months ago

      Man the ending was super predictable. It's classic horror 101. "Oh we have defeated the big bad" "oh know we didn't and now it's back". It honestly would have been more unpredictable to have it that the girl survived and jakes character did sacrifice himself. You see that way less in these type of movies.

    • ivanlagrossemoule
      ivanlagrossemoule 9 months ago

      Right below your comment there's someone saying the ending was predictable as hell. Funny.

  • Leo T
    Leo T 9 months ago

    Very enjoyable and fun even though it is not difficult to guess the ending. However, why do alien creatures grow so fast in all the alien movies. lol

  • CRinGE CLaN
    CRinGE CLaN 10 months ago

    The next one is gonna be called DEATH

  • Roy Poud
    Roy Poud 10 months ago

    if you can read or write,, this movie is much to dumb for you to waste your time with.

  • Retrotoon
    Retrotoon 10 months ago

    Awesome movie!! I feel like this movie was overlooked!! Not advertised enough. Both the first and second halves of The movie were great!!! Especially the plot twist at the very end!! The wrong escape pod lands to Earth. Don't F with alien life.

    • MasterPlanPenguin
      MasterPlanPenguin 8 months ago

      It's not a plot twist. It's horror 101. Thinking the heroes won but the big bad is still alive. Hell that it became obvious the moment the chick hit that debris. Until then it could have gone either way. Soon as it happened it was "oh ok so she will spin off and die and the alien makes it to earth". Add in the fact jakes character never wanted to leave earth and just wanted to stay in space and yeah it's obvious they were going to give us one last kick in the teeth.

    • ivanlagrossemoule
      ivanlagrossemoule 9 months ago

      The plot was advanced by the sheer force of the stupidity of the characters. It was utterly retarded and I wish I had never seen it.

  • Obsidian1392
    Obsidian1392 10 months ago +2

    Dumb movie
    Logic was ridiculous
    Creature should have died 5 minutes after escaping

  • 99troubledminds
    99troubledminds 10 months ago

    My favorite science fiction horror film is Event Horizon. Its to scary because lord only knows if that could really happen. Space, ghosts, hell, and horrific images scarred me for life.

  • Danny C.
    Danny C. 10 months ago

    Why the end of this film look like the beginning of Cloverfield with the unknown object crashing in the ocean?!!

  • Josiah Yanes
    Josiah Yanes 10 months ago

    It was tight .

  • Carl HIRST
    Carl HIRST 10 months ago

    took a MONTH for me to forget 1 scene in that film,
    Why didnt he grithis teeth? my mind keeps going back to that scene n thinking about what Happened!

  • Ahmad Blair-Brown
    Ahmad Blair-Brown 10 months ago

    Necronomicon movie.... The Great Old Ones have returned.

  • SpyengoEen
    SpyengoEen 10 months ago

    This was way better than Alien: Covenant.

  • Hayden Arnold
    Hayden Arnold 10 months ago

    My favorite sci-fi horror was sunshine, with cillian murphy, idk if it's classified as a horror but it was creepy at some points

  • Trump's Dingleberries
    Trump's Dingleberries 10 months ago

    I watched a salesman.

  • Joseph Archer
    Joseph Archer 10 months ago

    Yea, Life was scary. Ryan's character got it the worst. SECQUEL!!

  • Fat Gleesh_112
    Fat Gleesh_112 10 months ago

    The BLOB!!! 😂

  • akatgn
    akatgn 11 months ago

    Its spongebob real life horror....the thing look like patrick :/

  • Chams Ghom
    Chams Ghom 11 months ago

    I really liked the movie, it was well shot, the main music theme was good and that ending twist was horrifying.

  • The Aspired Spark
    The Aspired Spark 11 months ago

    Seriously, i just watched the film, and if that was the symbiote in the MCU I would be fucking terrified of it!!!

  • 4E JNY
    4E JNY 11 months ago +2

    This movie pissed me off

  • Monstar 4419
    Monstar 4419 11 months ago

    this movie is dogshit💩

  • Alice Alice
    Alice Alice 11 months ago +2

    I didn't like that movie at all

  • M Smith
    M Smith 11 months ago

    Life Lesson 101 - Never trust the opinion of a man wearing a short sleeved T-shirt under a business jacket.

  • Lawrence Sensei
    Lawrence Sensei 11 months ago

    better than Prometheus 2

  • Khalid Alshehri
    Khalid Alshehri 11 months ago +2

    I hated this movie so much, probably the worst movie I've seen this year !

  • totally not grim
    totally not grim 11 months ago

    Conspiracy: Wade Wilson was also an astronaut. Make it happen Marvel!
    Lol

  • anthrogend
    anthrogend 11 months ago

    If they want it to be a venom prequel, I'd root it with all my heart. I think it'll be awesome. Highly potential.

  • Steven Wortham
    Steven Wortham 11 months ago

    The clear gloves, the glass box not having fire or electric defensives built in? The containment room just wasn't believable for CDC members. HAL, I've seen enough at that point and turned the film off.

    • Steven Wortham
      Steven Wortham 8 months ago

      Nah...I haven't but sounds foolish enough. Once Ryan kept missing with the flamethrower, I thought to myself, that whole room should be able to set the air on fire. I've seen CDC movies before. Even Walking Dead has done this.

    • ivanlagrossemoule
      ivanlagrossemoule 8 months ago

      You haven't seen the scene where the black guy intentionally saves that creature, when it controls a lander somehow or when the random fishermen find the lander, look through the small window to see a man being devoured by a creature in a huge mess, and decide that the logical thing to do is to open it. And there are many more too.
      Fuck that movie.

    • Steven Wortham
      Steven Wortham 8 months ago

      Michael Crichton has done better with space germs. The human errors were kid errors. Couldn't believe they let the black man trade places. It was Kubrick-ish showing earth watching the discovery back home, and how the title was slightly introduce, but that is all. I knew this film was riding on star power rather than story.

    • ivanlagrossemoule
      ivanlagrossemoule 9 months ago

      Actually that was still acceptable, and you're lucky you turned it off.
      The whole movie is people doing dumb shit because the plot needs it until the creature wins. Fuck that movie was shit.

  • Metal
    Metal 11 months ago

    I enjoyed the movie. I think the major problem I had was that some of the decisions that the characters make seemed too comfortable just for the sake of storyline making them look like amateurs instead of highly qualified space scientists. Even in the ending , Jake reads the book and an idea clicks on using the escape pods. However, these are among the smartest brains on earth, they wouldn't take that long to figure the best solution out. Maybe it can be given a pass that they were afraid but overall it doesn't stop it from being entertaining.

  • YamboGAME
    YamboGAME 11 months ago

    that ending tho.

  • Joseph Archer
    Joseph Archer 11 months ago

    Life was No Joke! Horrifying!! Poor Ryan. ;-(

  • Eliecer Hernández
    Eliecer Hernández 11 months ago

    The ending got me nightmares, for reallll!

  • RidinDutch
    RidinDutch 11 months ago

    was kankoe goed man

  • bodus
    bodus 11 months ago

    Meet the robertsons. very dark movie.

  • deanc2000
    deanc2000 11 months ago

    I just saw it. CGI was bad. the end was bad. I can retitle it "alien octopus with 100 lives".

  • chrishdk
    chrishdk Year ago

    I thought it was going to be a sci fi movie. If you understand biology, the astronauts explain that it's this prokaryote organism that expands into a multicellular-somatic being where each cell simultaneously communicates with one another. Any astronaut would immediately kill the thing. It's a great idea for a villain alien but the script made the actors look like complete idiots.

  • justin johns
    justin johns Year ago

    hey jeremy, youre spelling your last name wrong bro ;)

  • Ryan Howe
    Ryan Howe Year ago

    fuck the ending. oh wait I'm sorry I meant to say, FUCK. THE. ENDING!!!!!!

  • Leon Davis
    Leon Davis Year ago

    Why are so many people bashing this movie. It wasn't that bad. How can you say it's a Alien's knockoff. Every movie made is similar to some book, movie, comic and so on. This is why Hollywood doesn't take risk and we keep getting reboots and prequels. Not every movie going to be the god of film. See kids, this is why we can't have nice things.

  • jessie brown
    jessie brown Year ago

    This movie sucked huge donkey balls.

  • kevin meza
    kevin meza Year ago

    haven't seen a good movie since Logan n hacksawridge

  • GibsonGaming
    GibsonGaming Year ago

    1986 Critters :)

  • Alien Soup
    Alien Soup Year ago

    Your hands talk more than your mouth. Can you talk without your hands?

  • Dancerama6
    Dancerama6 Year ago

    Please don't compare this to Covenant. At least this movie tried to be original and lucid.

  • I'm gonna pre
    I'm gonna pre Year ago

    this movie sucked

  • LoneWolf
    LoneWolf Year ago

    Very underwhelming and dizzy movie, i'm usually very open minded and forgiving but it got boring really fast. You can Predict almost anything and the creature looks like a typical cliche squid alien.
    T-1 day for me

  • Micah John
    Micah John Year ago

    The directors just confirmed the sequel to Life is called Venom, sooooooo

  • FatalFist
    FatalFist Year ago +12

    Just bugs me how some small creature can have more strength than a full grown human despite being no bigger than a rat, even smaller. Like wtf, no. It doesn't have the muscle fiber to really put any kind of force.

    • SurTurd Furgison
      SurTurd Furgison 10 months ago +1

      its stated just minutes prior that the entire thing is made of cells that act as muscles, nerves and photo receptors. its strong because the whole thing is basically a muscle.

  • Mikeyvike
    Mikeyvike Year ago +1

    lets think about that alien he is trying to survive actually 😜

  • EElectric_M
    EElectric_M Year ago

    Movies like these me think how small and how petty our problems are.

  • EliteInferno
    EliteInferno Year ago +1

    Predicted the twist at the end, was still surprised that the movie went through with it.

  • Chris Wincek
    Chris Wincek Year ago

    I didn't care for the movie

  • Leonardo Domonik
    Leonardo Domonik Year ago

    This movie was soooo DUMB

  • Joshua Belo
    Joshua Belo Year ago

    I hated this movie so much. why couldnt he just have made it to deep space.

  • Jack Kraken
    Jack Kraken Year ago

    Some underrated horror movies include The Descent (2005) and Event Horizon (1997) both hold up well even in 2017.

  • A Alberto
    A Alberto Year ago

    Just watched this movie, went on the basis of your review. If it weren't for the inappropriately out of place, boring, and borderline annoying SLOW DRAMA SCENES following some intense moments, I think It would have been "okay"; those feel to me like filler material to break 1:45min, this movie could have been a lot shorter but better. After halfway through the movie I couldn't stand anymore of the annoying characters and was happy the alien was picking them off horrifying; it would have been perfect if they got attacked during a slow drama scene. LOL. Don't get me started on the ending: I saw that coming from space.