Samsung Galaxy Fold review: after the break

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 19, 2019
  • Samsung is still launching the Galaxy Fold on April 26th, despite reports about problems with the screen. Despite those issues, our review answers the most important questions: does the screen, camera, performance, and software experience hold up?
    UPDATE: Samsung is delaying the Galaxy Fold release due to issues with review units that technology reporters have revealed: bit.ly/2ZreZqx
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Listen to our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TVclip, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 022

  • The Verge
    The Verge  2 months ago +970

    Hi friends, I see some of you are commenting about how we used a bit of clay to shoot some footage of the phone. To be super clear, we cleaned it off very rigorously. In my original article (bit.ly/2PiOhMi), I just said it MIGHT be what caused the screen to break, just because it’s important to me to be very transparent and honest. But the truth is that:

    1. No fewer than five review units have been broken so far.

    2. I don’t really think it was the clay, but I might be wrong!

    3. No matter what, it is VERY troubling to worry that anything could get inside the device. Just like Lew said: “I’m fairly confident that some substance on this hinge component could possibly work its way into the device. ... Maybe you have to baby it.”

    Nobody wants to have to baby a phone!

    - Dieter

    • Kaloyan Vladimirov
      Kaloyan Vladimirov 2 months ago

      Why out of five hundred devices all “broke down” only in one country of the world, one can only guess... :D

    • david park
      david park 2 months ago

      ​@Brian The fact that he wasn't being honest was the point. Clear difference between reviews looking for headlines and honest reviews. If a disclaimer gets lost in the headlines... pretty obvious what kind of review it is.

  • Aerial
    Aerial 26 days ago

    Did this clown really say "SUPER NOPE?"

  • Elmir Azimov
    Elmir Azimov Month ago

    This thing reminds me San Andreas Fault

  • rahman niggs
    rahman niggs Month ago

    i dont really like the way he reviews but i guess i like the way he reviews... basically

  • Tech: Down to Earth
    Tech: Down to Earth Month ago +1

    Song at 2:10?

  • Ian Wong
    Ian Wong Month ago

    Anyone know what watch he is wearing?

  • Albert Wesker
    Albert Wesker Month ago

    I'm going to get This.

  • Albert Wesker
    Albert Wesker Month ago

    I want to get this.

  • Hector Alvarado
    Hector Alvarado Month ago

    MKBHD?

  • Mateo Valdes
    Mateo Valdes Month ago +1

    Me, I don't have the device myself but if I did the reason I would really like it is that it replaces the tablet that Cant call that can now Call, (i will still probably ONLY use the tablet layout mode) but I am Really Disappointed that there isn't water resistance on this phone, and I really don't think it is a risk I am willing to take to buy myself that phone with a chance the screen will break till they fix the issue.

  • Charles Simpson
    Charles Simpson Month ago

    That opening song is so nice. Any one have a link? Seems like a cool alarm or ringtone.

  • SACY VACHHAR
    SACY VACHHAR Month ago

    So who’s here after MKBHD dope tech

  • victor555117
    victor555117 2 months ago +4

    2:10 for the Probe lens shot

  • Fares Djebbar
    Fares Djebbar 2 months ago +62

    Came here after mkbhd dope tech probe lens video :)

    • Ping
      Ping 13 days ago +1

      Fares Djebbar same

  • Derrick Feng
    Derrick Feng 2 months ago

    The intro shot is dope!

  • SDU-Tango
    SDU-Tango 2 months ago

    I like how he presentation.

  • Ayoub Faisal
    Ayoub Faisal 2 months ago

    The most professional entertaining video I have ever watched. Please, please and please use the black background as usual as shown in this video. Thank you.

  • Ivan Hekli
    Ivan Hekli 2 months ago

    😂😂🤣🤣🤣

  • Wilson Wijaya
    Wilson Wijaya 2 months ago

    Great, a 4:3 ratio. I can get to see VHS movies on a road trip. Thanks Samsung.

  • IRYL
    IRYL 2 months ago

    it aint it chief

  • Richard McKenna
    Richard McKenna 2 months ago

    Well that just made my mind up not to get it and to wait and see what else comes out. Thank you

  • Kaloyan Vladimirov
    Kaloyan Vladimirov 2 months ago

    In the US, four journalists “broke down” Galaxy Fold, in three cases, the top layer of the display was deliberately torn off, one had something under the screen, but the smartphone continued to work. Why out of five hundred devices all “broke down” only in one country of the world, one can only guess. :D

  • Vasee karan
    Vasee karan 2 months ago

    Apple: *REMOVES THE HEADPHONE JACK*
    The internet: OMG! APPLE REMOVED THE HEADPHONE JACK! IPHONES ARE TOO PRICEY! THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE!
    Samsung: Releases a phone that bursts into flames, releases a $2000 prototype foldable phone that breaks easily.
    The internet: oh well, they tried..
    BIASED MUCH?

  • Pankaj Rai
    Pankaj Rai 2 months ago

    Sponsored by samsung

  • Zi jie Lim
    Zi jie Lim 2 months ago

    It’s like the perfect own for iPhone SE uses and tablet users

  • rahman baig
    rahman baig 2 months ago

    Here because of mkbhd's live stream

  • jspeaks
    jspeaks 2 months ago

    Who is here after marques live stream?

  • HIGHLIGHTS INC.
    HIGHLIGHTS INC. 2 months ago +99

    Who is here after mkbhd's intStagram live

  • Jay J
    Jay J 2 months ago

    Why ordinary users got no issues, and never heard from their complaining for such problem? only called "tech reviewers" normally have paid from other tech companies and sponsors bash Samsung galaxy fold. It is this clear LOL

  • Arriaga Two
    Arriaga Two 2 months ago

    Just buy a tablet, goddammit

  • jack sjsjs
    jack sjsjs 2 months ago

    Yeah I dont buy the excuse that it's some protective layer problem, anyone else buy it?

  • Yuhara
    Yuhara 2 months ago

    No headphone jack lol

  • Kay Hud
    Kay Hud 2 months ago

    "Android isn't where it should be in tablet mode" bro that goes for every platform out right now! Have you ever used an iPad? 😒

  • Terry Olay
    Terry Olay 2 months ago

    Samsung really screwed up by releasing or attempting to release an unfinished product.

    • Terry Olay
      Terry Olay 2 months ago

      @Sarah Dohring They were delusional. The thing is more fragile than a raw eggs.

    • Sarah Dohring
      Sarah Dohring 2 months ago

      They spent 8 years on it and thought it was finished.

  • Adrienne McCue
    Adrienne McCue 2 months ago +1

    Great review on the Galaxy Fold... some great things coming out of Samsung!

  • Seung Hyun Kim
    Seung Hyun Kim 2 months ago

    Dear verge. The top layer of galaxy fold is a cpi film. U shldnt tear it or mess with it. Lmao tho. Pretty sure they would come back w better stuff. Samsung doubtless, has one of the top quality stuff in this industry for now. So i guess we have to believe them?

  • Suzy Siviter
    Suzy Siviter 2 months ago

    Will samsung fold after this product?

  • Manuel Mihajlovic
    Manuel Mihajlovic 2 months ago

    wait wtf? no headphoness??? can i use earpots or something?

  • Nildo Oliveira
    Nildo Oliveira 2 months ago

    the wallpaper lives up to the screen

  • Debra Dukes
    Debra Dukes 2 months ago

    Dieter Excellent Review. And I'm with you will definitely be thinking about it. And so hope they Correct it all. Because I love the whole Concept and if they fix the issues then maybe I won't think about it and just might get one.Thanks so much for sharing Deb.😉👍✌

  • GamingTV
    GamingTV 2 months ago +1

    the verge really should stop reviewing things, they're bad at it

  • Pnuttz Clark
    Pnuttz Clark 2 months ago

    It would drive me crazy having to “baby” this device Everyday. I work outside in a shop with a lot of dust, there’s no way I could get the fold.

  • Marnette Todd
    Marnette Todd 2 months ago

    These seem like very small issues they will fix it like every phone the first release brings about changes. Im still in for it

  • JenC
    JenC 2 months ago

    boo ya samsung sell the fail product ....

  • Manoj Ramesh Shastri
    Manoj Ramesh Shastri 2 months ago +1

    Lighting on this video is nailed to its fullest. The best lighting i have ever seen in any TVclip video.

  • MFORCE1
    MFORCE1 2 months ago

    2 grand is a complete joke these won't sell well

  • Vincent F Yue
    Vincent F Yue 2 months ago +1

    Samsung tried to copy Apple on applying cutting edge technology but failed

  • Zylice Liddell
    Zylice Liddell 2 months ago +1

    Samsung are stupid for releasing this product so soon. Delays would have been better so that they could test it!

  • bersem tech
    bersem tech 2 months ago

    I always worry about it folds by itself when I using . Maybe that is my problem ,heheh e

  • MickyAvStickyHands
    MickyAvStickyHands 2 months ago +1

    Stacking two phones together is not innovation. Apple put the damn smart phone in your pocket 12 years ago and that was our gen's version of the car innovation. We'll know it if it happens again, but this ain't it.

  • Doc Johnson
    Doc Johnson 2 months ago +2

    Crease and Dings ..mmkay Samjunk

  • Sean Verso
    Sean Verso 2 months ago

    Wait it will be standard in 2 years

  • TJ T
    TJ T 2 months ago +1

    Honestly, the Huawei fold design is much smarter.

  • kcb5150
    kcb5150 2 months ago

    I love how the thickness of this when closed is all good but they won't make a thicker normal phone and dump in a massive battery.

  • RageJ
    RageJ 2 months ago +20

    I think it would be cool if you guys tried building a computer

  • 3 8
    3 8 2 months ago

    How do you review a product like this and ignore the problems of the screen? Isn't that just giving it a free pass.....

  • Nathan Johnson
    Nathan Johnson 2 months ago

    so basically he’s saying he wishes apple made it

  • Black Condor
    Black Condor 2 months ago

    C'mon man,this phone is a joke

  • Claude Crevecoeur
    Claude Crevecoeur 2 months ago +1

    I'll pass on this device 🤔🤔🤔 too expensive

  • Emanuele Barbato
    Emanuele Barbato 2 months ago

    Recent Dieter reviews need a “hold on” moment because of issues of any kind. Poor Dieter.

  • Shifu Matt
    Shifu Matt 2 months ago +7

    A review on a recalled product... Hmmmm. I guess its a beta review then 😂

  • Timo
    Timo 2 months ago

    Don't get me wrong, I also think it was a horrible mistake of Samsung to push that device to marked without proper testing, however your argument that the multi tasking is worse than on an iPad ( 7:40) is a poor comparision because if you fold your iPad it doesn't restore the multi tasking layout either ;)

  • Arched Phoenix
    Arched Phoenix 2 months ago +2

    You want to know what I'm angry about? Those damn GALAXY FOLD phones. Hazardous, unreliable, cheap materials, rip off phones. Yes, I said it. Boom!😂

  • Kaio -Sama
    Kaio -Sama 2 months ago +8

    Everyone: "Thank you for keeping the headphone jack."
    Samsung: "What's that? Remove it and add another two cameras? Done."

  • Cassie
    Cassie 2 months ago

    china is the solution for your bird scooters 😂👍💩 to be cheap and cheerful

  • VideoPine
    VideoPine 2 months ago

    They put clay on the back of the phone to stand it up for pictures. Avarage users dont do that.

    • ADC Bot
      ADC Bot Month ago

      If a piece of clay can get in the back of the phone, what stops pocket lint and dust from getting in the phone? Are people not supposed to put it in their pocket?

  • Walter White
    Walter White 2 months ago

    Im going back to the zack morris phone

  • Malc180s
    Malc180s 2 months ago

    This is a gimmick phone. In 2 or 3 years when it's half the thickness and actually durable then sure, but right now I genuinely can't see the point. The Huawei offering looks far more interesting as an idea anyway, and when durability is so poor on the Samsung the fact that the screen is on the outside doesn't seem like the big problem some made it out to be.

  • lex luthor
    lex luthor 2 months ago

    i feel like i live in the future

  • Joshadowolf
    Joshadowolf 2 months ago

    I don’t trust Galaxy Fold. 🤨