Tesla Model 3 Review: The TRUTH After 26,000 Miles

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 26, 2019
  • Tesla Model 3 Review after 1 year & 26,000 miles! Still the best car or was it a mistake?
    Get your first audiobook for free when you try Audible for 30 days at Audible.com/andyslye or text andyslye to 500500
    Get FREE Supercharging when you order a #Tesla #Model3 geni.us/t3sla
    Almost a year ago I took delivery of my Tesla Model 3 and since then I've driven it over 26,000 miles. Is it still the best car I've ever driven or was it a $50,000 mistake? Let's find out.
    In my original Tesla Model 3 review I mainly went over the features of the car but in this video I'm going to go over my experience of owning a #TeslaModel3 and focus on the 3 most important factors:
    Reliability:
    When I first got my Model 3 I was skeptical on how reliable it would be since it was a first generation of its kind, and there were a few horror stories online from early adopters who were experiencing software & hardware issues.
    I can honestly say my Model 3 has been 100% reliable for me so far, and yes even though that should be expected for a brand new car, it’s still a nice surprise how reliable it has been since Tesla is still relatively so young & since Model 3 is a very unique car. Range anxiety does exist, but the Model 3’s energy graph is extremely accurate in predicting the estimated range left when driving so as long as you pay attention to that and plan ahead you’ll be fine and shouldn’t ever have to worry about running out of battery.
    For how heavily it’s integrated with software I’m actually surprised my Model 3 has worked this well, and I’ve been extremely satisfied with it over my first 26,000 miles.
    Cost:
    Out of all those things during the first 25,000 miles in a Model 3 you only need to do tire rotations and I know this isn’t the norm but luckily for me there’s a local tire shop that gives free tire rotations to Tesla owners, just one of the many perks of going all-electric I guess.
    The only thing that has cost me money to drive my Model 3 this far is electricity from either at home or a Tesla Supercharger. My city is one of the best locations to put the Model 3 range efficiency to the test and with an average of 248 Wh/mile through all the seasons means the LR Model 3 is one of, if not the most efficient electric car out right now.
    It took 6,457 kWh to drive just over 26,000 miles, and since the Model 3 gets about 80% efficiency it actually took about 8,071 kWh and at my current electricity rate of 6.8 cents per kWh that comes to $549 that I’ve spent on electricity to drive my Model 3 over 26,000 miles. I’ve also charged for free at hotels, parking garages, and family members houses so my total cost to drive over 26,000 miles in my Model 3 is less than $600. My monthly electricity costs have only increased by an average of $36. To put it in perspective, a car that gets 30 mpg at $2.75/gallon would cost $2,383 to drive 26,000 miles and if you add a $50 oil change every 4,000 miles that would be an additional $325. This shows how much a person can save in fuel & oil by going all-electric, especially a Model 3.
    Enjoyment:
    It’s no surprise that the Tesla Model 3 is a joy to drive but I’ll quickly go over a few things that I don’t like because nothing is perfect. The windshield and windows fog up more than any other car I’ve ever driven. Fortunately I got some fog reducer that helps. I wish the frunk had a better closing mechanism or was able to close automatically because I hate leaving hand prints on the hood from closing it. I also wish the driver profiles would save the lumbar setting. Luckily that can be fixed with a software update which is one of my favorite things about the Model 3.
    Now moving along to the other things that I enjoy most about my Model 3: How a car can be this simple & minimalist yet pack so much power and torque is something I’ll always be impressed with.
    Yes there are times when it phantom brakes but if you're using it as it's designed you will always have a hand on the wheel ready to take over and I love knowing each time I use it it's getting better through the neural network.
    It charges overnight while I sleep, it stops charging when it reaches whatever limit I have set, and I wake up to an 80% charge every day or 100% charge if I'm about to take a road trip - no more stopping at gas stations. I can tell it to drive somewhere and it gives me real-time step-by-step directions on the beautiful responsive 15” touch screen which is the best screen in any vehicle out right now in my opinion.
    Now after a free software update and even after any battery degradation from driving 26,000 miles, my Model 3 now gets 320 rated miles on a full charge.
    Subscribe! goo.gl/RqU0nl
    Twitter slye
    Instagram slye
    Facebook Facebook.com/MyTechMethods
    Website MyTechMethods.com
    Share this video! tvclip.biz/video/g6r5SRM2H3A/video.html
    Thanks for watching my video:
    Tesla Model 3 Review: The TRUTH After 26,000 Miles
  • Autos & VehiclesAutos & Vehicles

Comments • 6 575

  • Andy Slye
    Andy Slye  7 months ago +372

    *Ordering a Model 3? Get FREE Supercharging* ➡️ geni.us/t3sla
    Check out my favorite Model 3 accessories on Amazon: geni.us/tV1EvF

    • BannedPlayer
      BannedPlayer Month ago

      Nah I'm good

    • dthao227
      dthao227 2 months ago

      Why ordering a new one when you can just buy one of the ones in stock?

    • dthao227
      dthao227 2 months ago

      I thought supercharging is not free for models 3?

    • Bea F.
      Bea F. 2 months ago

      Jay O I also live in apartment so having three super chargers near home and work is a life saver. I tinted all my windows including sunroof because I live in sunny San Diego so it keeps it cool and I get the sun protection. Spent an extra 5k on the tint and the ceramic coating but it’s well worth it in the end

  • Michael
    Michael 2 hours ago

    Stopped watching at 7:50

  • Zef Zakaveli
    Zef Zakaveli Day ago

    Reloaded let’s go!!👊🏾💯🅱️🅱️

  • AlohaMD
    AlohaMD 2 days ago

    Love your reviews. Getting me so excited for my new Tesla! Also nerding out.

  • Oldestries
    Oldestries 2 days ago

    Fogging up is condensation. Level up inside temp a bit with outside. In the winter, u need to vent the heat out when u driving.

  • GT Kona
    GT Kona 3 days ago

    Where is electricity under 7 cents per kWh?

  • Van's Best Friend
    Van's Best Friend 3 days ago

    You didn't mention anything about the leagues of children found in the Congo digging for Cobalt, Rhodium, and Lithium in the mines. Nor did you mention the hundreds of million tons of Earth that needs to be strip mined for only a few hundred pounds of the noble and rare metals for the manufacture of the batteries. And, of course, you didn't mention any REAL WORLD usage like in temps less than 20 degrees F where there's less than half the battery power available! You have low criteria for a vehicle and are young, so it's to be expected. But I can tell my experience... even though I haven't owned one, the two people in my complex that did couldn't wait to get rid of them and buy/lease gas engine cars once again. What about THAT? When you look at the big picture, electric cars are the worst thing to ever happen to humanity and our environment since the gas and diesel engine! But, just like holocausts happen out of ignorance, so will the proliferation of electric cars - until it's too late.

  • Brandon Sanchez Rojas

    Hey! I'm Just a TVclip Comment asking for people to come Visit my Channel!

  • JJ
    JJ 5 days ago

    Wow how comprehensive ! I''ve always enjoyed the drives but exciting to hear your take :o)

  • Dawn Hardin
    Dawn Hardin 6 days ago

    Thank you, Andy! I just had my first visit to Tesla to begin my research for a new car. I learned more about the model 3 from your video and am so appreciative for your perspective. I will be leaving a little fast, flashy BMW, but I’m convinced I’ll enjoy the change. The dog mode SOLD me immediately! Thank you!

  • John Stapleton
    John Stapleton 7 days ago

    You sure Elon isn't sponsoring this???
    Oil change every 4k miles... Come on geezer.
    Not keen on the vid.
    still cynical
    maybe that is my age and i aint fooled by trump type hype.
    Tyme will tell.

    Firkin UK...

  • lavanyalea
    lavanyalea 8 days ago

    Hi Andy, I started following your account after I placed my M3 model on 1st May and guess what! I'm waiting for its delivery in less than 2 weeks! It's finally coming together now. I think your reviews are excellent and I can't wait to start driving my Tesla!

  • Johnny Walker
    Johnny Walker 9 days ago

    the Scion xB ruined other cars for me. The only thing likely to replace it is a Rav 4 Hybrid or a Tesla

  • Alexander N
    Alexander N 10 days ago

    Picking up deep blue long rage model 3 in a week, it's like a child waiting for Christmas! :D

  • Brool Whath
    Brool Whath 11 days ago

    Watched one tesla video, now I can't sleep because in the near future I can't even afford a used car :(

  • Ferruzzicati
    Ferruzzicati 11 days ago

    Saw one of these today, what a bland, plastic, badly screwed together pile of shit. Tesla is going to get killed when the proper car manufacturers start releasing their electric models. Just like all US built cars it’s shit.

  • Ray Habenicht
    Ray Habenicht 12 days ago

    Really curious what is with these biased reviews. Looks like neat tech and fun to drive, but you are only attempting to fool yourself when you talk about how much money you saved. Are you trying to justify the purchase? Real costs of ownership do not only take into account the amount spent over one year. You can't compare something to a 'Corolla' (without any specs or price) without also taking into account initial costs. I'll be looking forward to your review in another 4 or 5 years, sir.

  • Moto Gizmo
    Moto Gizmo 12 days ago +1

    50 thousand is a lot of money, I want to hear from you when your range has diminished to the point of requiring a new battery ! Talk about your average cost per mile when you do ! I really hope you will be as enthusiastic then !

    • Dermot O'leary
      Dermot O'leary 8 days ago +1

      Moto Gizmo these are not cheap batteries in the Tesla, you will lose around 4% battery capacity every 100,000 miles, Elon musk said new batteries will cost $5-$7k, these cars can do 1 million miles easily.

  • Patrick P
    Patrick P 12 days ago

    Hopefully Tesla will have some incentives end of year, can't wait!

  • FranksDD15
    FranksDD15 13 days ago

    So let’s go on a road trip to Dallas Texas. I bet I’ll get there first lol

  • Chuck CTS-V
    Chuck CTS-V 13 days ago

    Enjoyed your review, Model 3 seems like a great vehicle. Try this on closing the frunk lid. It might not be heavy enough. The way to close a Corvette hood is to hold it about 6 to 8 inches above the closed position and drop it, might work on the Model 3. Or give it a push at 6 to 8 inches. If it has a gas strut on it this might not work.

  • Johnney Foster
    Johnney Foster 14 days ago +2

    I can recognize those shipping containers anywhere (Ft Knox) lol! Nice to see a fellow Kentuckian on TVclip.

  • Marcus Svensson
    Marcus Svensson 14 days ago

    Ok charding batteries.....but changing diskbreakes, breakpads, electrick window motor? Chanding the touchscreen if some pixels don´t work? wheelbarings, suspension? New front screen, or if a led rear lamp stop working???

  • ElectroBreamer Streamer

    the Audi e-tron is better

  • Taunter Atwill
    Taunter Atwill 15 days ago

    To 'earn' it back you only have to drive it for 25 years. . . . right? :-))

  • mpg20011
    mpg20011 15 days ago

    did he cover the paint problems in the first video.

  • Ray
    Ray 15 days ago

    Oh yeah - when you compare the cost of gs vs electricity - don't forget to include the price of a small car when you replace the battery.

  • Ray
    Ray 15 days ago +1

    Next to useless for long cross-country drives. My normal 12 hour to Halifax trip became a 20 hour trip . Imagine when I do the trip at night in -20' weather in a snowstorm......

  • Michael Stanton
    Michael Stanton 16 days ago

    Really nice reporting. Nice presentation. Can't wait to buy the car.

  • Hans Schweikert
    Hans Schweikert 16 days ago

    Well done

  • Metalgear SolidSnake
    Metalgear SolidSnake 17 days ago

    50000 $!!!! wow you have been cheated!

  • boomshine7
    boomshine7 17 days ago

    300^$ oil changes... plz

  • Agostinho Matos
    Agostinho Matos 18 days ago

    Fantastic 5-star presentation, however I don't foresee great longevity to current electric car model. It does not make sense to increase the weight of a car by almost 50 percent, and fill the bottom of the car with so many costly batteries. I believe that electric cars with much less batteries and a generator of electricity will be the future, it makes more sense and it will be more environmental friendly.

  • Ryan
    Ryan 18 days ago

    What you didn't mention is the motor will last 1,000,000 miles. The battery lasts only 500,000 miles, but will cost less than $4000 for a new pack. Also the brakes last much longer because they use regenerative breaking. So you can buy 6 cars and drive them each to 150,000+ miles or you can buy one Tesla. Hmmm. Why anyone buys anything else beats me.

  • ross Tolley
    ross Tolley 18 days ago

    iwant apickup give me 200 miles

  • AdoreMiyabear
    AdoreMiyabear 18 days ago

    Tesla never check inspection the car and alignment, shipping out to customers and let them become inspection.
    Tesla car do needs maintenance and oil lubes too, especially the battery. Elon Musk makes sure the car warranty are over, soon you’ll needs to change the new battery...heee...haa..
    People should ask Elon Musk when the Tesla car got on the NASCAR, you’ll see how the Tesla performance and process :)

  • Mark Collins
    Mark Collins 18 days ago

    Spend $50,000 and save $2000/year or spend $35,000 on a petrol & save $15,000 + interest. Degradation is 2%/year compound which. Then there is resale value which gets very bad over time - sell in 7 years and find how much you get

  • JohnPaulie
    JohnPaulie 18 days ago

    r/13or30

  • 991 911S
    991 911S 18 days ago

    Great video. So informative. Very entertaining. Enjoyed it very much. I’m almost sold....

  • Mihai Baciucu
    Mihai Baciucu 19 days ago

    I want a Tesla really bad 😫😫
    I do enjoy my bmw but spending 500 £ ( 600 $ - 700 $ ) a month on fuel is not funny ...
    I really like tesla even with them defects

  • The Thrawn Scotsman
    The Thrawn Scotsman 19 days ago

    I think the biggest shock here is $2.75 a gallon! Doing a conversion it is $6 a (US) gallon at the cheapest in Scotland!

  • Sintre Tizer
    Sintre Tizer 19 days ago

    I would call the Tesla the car that everyone who has to do with the polluter oil hates , shareholders and well owners , gas stations owners ,etc
    electric is the future , the countries of the world are increasingly getting filled with cars that work with petroleum derivatives , the world cannot support only cars that work with oil without affecting it destroy it , the first world countries have to be salvation for the planet , you can't count on third world countries they do not care ! .

  • autobri1
    autobri1 20 days ago

    Sorry software won’t fix the lumbar. There is no sensor in it. So your stuck.

  • Ben Vriezen
    Ben Vriezen 20 days ago +1

    If it's all so great, why doesn't Tesla give a lifetime warranty?
    What does a new set of batteries cost? 40,000 euros and two children's lives?

  • AD 2385
    AD 2385 20 days ago

    Did you calculate how much others paid for you electricity. You left that out. Also, when you were low on electrons, not battery, how long does it take to complete top off the battery, and what is your recommended percentage before heading out on your journey. BTW, my friend with a Model X gave me a demo of 0-infinity mph. I still have a headache from that. Never have I accelerated that fast since childbirth.

  • Cheefus Smith
    Cheefus Smith 20 days ago

    Almost all new cars come with at least 1 year of maintenance...which includes the things you mentioned, including under-warranty repairs. I wouldn't tease you about not rotating your own tires...but you did brag about going to the gym so, you know... your fault ;-p

    that being said - i love this review! very helpful! early-adopters pave the way for the rest of us :-)

  • Mustbe RC: Crawling / Scale /Race / Bashing

    that is all nice but until government change, the rules lower the prices this is shit and not worth the$$$$ sorry but not sorry, you want to change things make them possible

  • Wilfred Zweverink
    Wilfred Zweverink 20 days ago

    Thanks Andy, more interesting than the average car journalist review, I'm glad I ordered mine a month ago.

  • Aplocatips
    Aplocatips 20 days ago +1

    Here's how much my X5 cost me on electricity thus far 0

  • Mr. Mark
    Mr. Mark 21 day ago

    Really good practical review. My buddy bought an X and his insurance went up over $3600 but not sure what he replaced it with...wonder how long its going to before the govt starts to charge us for miles driven?...not trying to find reasons to not buy...just always expect it. I'd really like a solar panel that would be part of an integrated system, in fact, the new tile roof, a storage pack and car all together. It is almost Nov 2019 and Tesla just posted some super good numbers so they are going to make it..it was nip/tuck there for a while. What do you think about resale value when you trade? and what would you get...pickup/??

  • Seyhmus Inci
    Seyhmus Inci 21 day ago +3

    You did not account for the deprecation in battery, I am curious how deprecation in general compares to a combustion engine car

    • chargermopar
      chargermopar 18 days ago

      Since I never bought a new car or a used car less than 18 years old, the Tesla is not for me. Now if some affordable aftermarket battery packs become available and open source software I could see buying a cheap tesla to customize or use for parts to electrify a classic car.

  • C.J. Perron
    C.J. Perron 21 day ago

    Let us know at 30K, 40K, 50K and 70K. Let's not forget about power outages that would prevent a recharge. May not have happened...yet!

  • J O
    J O 21 day ago

    Drives Tesla, charges on coal plant. Am I right? I hope not....

  • Smith
    Smith 22 days ago

    Dude, you are saving A LOT of MONEY on fuel costs..

  • Smith
    Smith 22 days ago

    You put 26,000 miles on your car in one year.. wow..

  • Vanessa Schlick
    Vanessa Schlick 22 days ago

    Where did he get an average of 30mpg from? Even most old cars get about 45mpg

  • Bill MASE
    Bill MASE 22 days ago

    So Andy is arguing that not paying attention to the road while operating a moving vehicle has made him feel safer. I'll argue that you're less safe.

  • infoowetrust
    infoowetrust 22 days ago

    50k? Lolol

  • W M C
    W M C 22 days ago +1

    Great report.

  • yameng wa
    yameng wa 23 days ago

    May I ask, why do you charge 80% instead of 100% every time?

    • Jacob Little
      Jacob Little 21 day ago

      its for battery integrity, it is better for rechargeable batteries to only be charged to about 80% and it actually makes them last longer.