Outdoor Pantry Smoked Pork with Salsa and Beans - Camper's Cafe Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 18, 2019
  • This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
    Support TOGR with Patreon : www.patreon.com/TOGR
    Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have Smoked Pork with Salsa and Beans from Outdoor Pantry.
    Link : outdoorpantry.com/products/smoked-pulled-pork-with-salsa-black-beans
    ....
    Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.
    www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/
    ...
    Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:
    Facebook: pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229
    Twitter: OutdoorGearRev
    .....
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 96

  • TheOutdoorGearReview
    TheOutdoorGearReview  6 months ago +10

    Next week the Forgotten Trail 3 Day Adventure is going live and I can't wait to share that with you all.
    - Luke

    • james20k50
      james20k50 6 months ago

      Thanks to the videos from your Channel this winter, my wife and I are both spending more time together. More specifically in the wilderness, going for hikes to enjoy each other's company with peace and quiet surrounding us :-) Please keep in mind the fact you inspire a lot of people! Great work to you and your family.
      Kind regards,
      James and Krissy

  • joseph brown
    joseph brown 4 months ago

    Looks like it needs chips to eat with instead of sporks

  • Brad Hassler
    Brad Hassler 5 months ago

    Really enjoy you reviews, have eaten a lot of crappy ones over the years. This looks like a keeper. Thanks for the lead on Outdoor Pantry, going to give them a try.

  • Patrick Leary
    Patrick Leary 5 months ago

    Black beans must be pre-cooked and vacuum sealed.Outdoor Pantry.com.Huya.

  • Phil Ward
    Phil Ward 6 months ago

    put it in a tortilla. I always eat a whole 2 person mountain house. Don't think single serving would be enough.

  • jkvalk
    jkvalk 6 months ago

    Thank you for sharing with me products and companies I may not have found for myself. I appreciate the intended honesty of this channel greatly

  • Judd Videos
    Judd Videos 6 months ago +1

    Nice. Looks good! I just ordered biscuits and gravy and spicy beaf! Watched this and thought i would give some a try! Thanks

  • Jim Rodgers
    Jim Rodgers 6 months ago

    Did you two feel there was enough nutrients for both of you from this outdoor pantry single serving? It appeared to be enough for the healthy average two party hike meal.

  • Fyrst Waffen
    Fyrst Waffen 6 months ago

    Awesome review Susie, you two make an excellent team. Thanks for the review on the new meals, I will be trying them out. ATB Von

  • Almonte Paolilli
    Almonte Paolilli 6 months ago

    Another great video. Like the comparison with another company.

  • Bobo
    Bobo 6 months ago

    You yankidoodles are obsessed with Sodium. Sure it might not be great, but it's damn tasty :D

  • Scott Hill
    Scott Hill 6 months ago

    I don't recall Luke and Susie giving such a good review on any other Freeze-Dried meal. I may have to try these. Thanks for the review. How come Susie never uses the Pink Snow Peak spork Luke got her?

  • Coolwheelz
    Coolwheelz 6 months ago

    A big nope when I heard pulled pork.....over rated.......they added a lot of smoke for flavor since pulled pork has none.......sounds like too much from you comments.

  • G F
    G F 6 months ago

    Sodium city..... somehow I felt a hesitation on Susieโ€™s part..... definitely was not the reaction of a โ€œ9โ€ .... just my opinion.

  • Gary Poche
    Gary Poche 6 months ago

    Ive had it with these meals, buy MRE's in bulk, just got a 24 two box deal, a little less than $5 a pack on amazon, they are great!

  • jay mullen
    jay mullen 6 months ago

    just order'ed 2 thanks guys

    • jay mullen
      jay mullen 5 months ago

      Not bad but wont get it again

    • TheOutdoorGearReview
      TheOutdoorGearReview  6 months ago

      Let us know what you think Jay, it's completely different than anything that I have ever had.
      - Luke

  • Brian Szabo
    Brian Szabo 6 months ago

    It looks like something the Dog left behind...

  • Drifus
    Drifus 6 months ago

    I agree, blended meals might as well come in an IV bag. We do pack eating utensils for gosh sakes.

  • Pack Mule
    Pack Mule 6 months ago

    That does look delish! Surprised you said Backpackers Pantry is gross. The Phad Thai is great and way better than any other one I've had.

  • Brian Szabo
    Brian Szabo 6 months ago

    Are you ever going to cook some real food?? for a change?

  • Jonathan Rogers
    Jonathan Rogers 6 months ago

    biscuits and gravy are always a go to for me. as well as a breakfast egg dish

    • Jonathan Rogers
      Jonathan Rogers 6 months ago

      @TheOutdoorGearReview the mountain house was ok, im gonna order one of theirs. my go to meal if i'm cold, wet, and tired.

    • TheOutdoorGearReview
      TheOutdoorGearReview  6 months ago

      I love some biscuits and gravy!
      - Luke

  • don devorss
    don devorss 6 months ago

    I would like you to do a review on Outdoor Pantry FREEZE DRIED FIESTA HAM&EGG SCRAMBLE breakfast.

  • Adam Longhunters270
    Adam Longhunters270 6 months ago +1

    This made me so hungry I went out and got a pulled pork sandwich lol.

    • Adam Longhunters270
      Adam Longhunters270 6 months ago

      @TheOutdoorGearReview having seizure problems and my liver is having problems so I'm taking meds a lot for that so I'm stuck inside for a long while.

    • TheOutdoorGearReview
      TheOutdoorGearReview  6 months ago

      Doing really good brother, been busy. I hope that you have been doing good too.
      - Luke

    • Adam Longhunters270
      Adam Longhunters270 6 months ago

      @TheOutdoorGearReview it was amazing. How have you been.

    • TheOutdoorGearReview
      TheOutdoorGearReview  6 months ago

      hahah How was it brother? - Luke

  • Roy Morris
    Roy Morris 6 months ago

    You two didn't clean your plate there was to much grave on your plates. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

  • Ib Erik Sรถderblom
    Ib Erik Sรถderblom 6 months ago

    I'm not using many of those freezedried meal-in-bag things.
    Because bringing my own ingredients are so easy and so much cheaper.
    In the winterseason its cold enough that I can bring anything I want !
    Or/and I steal a turnip from a field and eat it. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Would you maybe do a summer-test, how long vacuumpacked bacon can last ?
    I've carried bacon around for up to 5 days, but it tends to get a bit slimy in the end.
    Now I need more coffee.
    Thanks for the video to both of you.

  • cycle life travel
    cycle life travel 6 months ago

    can they be purchased in england.

    • Kimberly G.
      Kimberly G. 6 months ago

      US only, I'm afraid. outdoorpantry.com/pages/shipping-info-1

  • Rocky Mountain
    Rocky Mountain 6 months ago

    Looks good. Way too much salt. But if you are using it on a packing trip thatโ€™s ok.

  • A&B OUTDOORS
    A&B OUTDOORS 6 months ago +1

    can you do a review of the alps mountaineering lynx 1

  • Redsorgum
    Redsorgum 6 months ago +6

    The seven thumbs down, are ISIS members who are stuck in the desert, eating their camel manure and sand paties, with a side dish of sand.

  • Brian M
    Brian M 6 months ago

    Hello Susie ๐Ÿ˜.......... Oh? Hello Luke.

  • Cindy neely
    Cindy neely 6 months ago +1

    2 thumbs up 4 both of u ๐Ÿ˜Šo man that's A lot of salt

  • Kobkfighter
    Kobkfighter 6 months ago +3

    Approximately $40.00 to supply enough calories for the day. Add in about 3000 mg of sodium and this is a 'recipe' for disaster. A jar of peanut butter, bread, mixed nuts would be much better.

  • Bill Seay
    Bill Seay 6 months ago +1

    Hey Thanks looks good. Like to try one

  • OutdoorPantry, Inc. Debbie Cyros

    Hi Luke and Susie thank you for the great video and review of our food. Glad you liked our Smoked pulled pork meal!

    • melis silem
      melis silem 6 months ago

      @NotConvinced Smith ouch. mean. this is not a mean You Tube site. Boo.

    • NotConvinced Smith
      NotConvinced Smith 6 months ago +1

      You guys are a rip-off. I will NEVER buy your products.

  • Bert Kelly
    Bert Kelly 6 months ago

    Looks like something I regurgitated.....

  • Jalandarah
    Jalandarah 6 months ago

    you lost me at "salsa and black beans", how about a review of the beef stew or any of the chicken and rice meals they do?

  • EarlyMist
    EarlyMist 6 months ago +1

    They wont ship to Australia. Bummer.

  • Wood Knock Survival
    Wood Knock Survival 6 months ago +1

    Awesome review !!!! You are going to pay for quality than quantity with this company I will check them out!!!

  • yindyamarra
    yindyamarra 6 months ago +1

    And please take the wrapping home with you to dispose of properly, only leave footprints

  • kevin elton
    kevin elton 6 months ago

    not for me

  • moto2kx2
    moto2kx2 6 months ago +1

    Thanks for the review, please run down their other products next time.

  • Orion Fixr
    Orion Fixr 6 months ago +2

    This is good info. as I'm intending to start hiking and solo tent camping again . At 67 years of age I know I won't be able to pack the load I could 30-40 years ago. Also if I may , has the tech. on hiking and camping gear advanced enough to the point to where the gear I used 20 years ago be in need of replacement ? After I stopped hiking I used to overnight camp at full facility family camp grounds with a temp. range Down to 32' F to plus + 80's F and was for the most part comfortable . Thanks for the channel.

    • Orion Fixr
      Orion Fixr 6 months ago +2

      @TheOutdoorGearReview; I wish to thank all of you who have taken the time and effort to advise me in what seems like I'm starting from scratch once again. I've got a lot to catch up on . Tip toe is right , as I will go the route of the full service camp ground to begin this adventure to test equipment and my own endurance. Once again , Thank You All .

    • TheOutdoorGearReview
      TheOutdoorGearReview  6 months ago +1

      Orion, congrats for getting back out on the trail! As far as gear goes, there have been some major advancements over the last 20 years; stronger materials and lighter weight being the two big areas of betterment.

      You can continue to use your older gear but I would recommend tip-toeing into your adventures to ensure that it still functions correctly and can take care of you in the ways that you need.

      If you have any further questions, feel free to email me;

      theoutdoorgearreview@gmail.com

      Also, thank you to the other viewers for their help.
      - Luke

    • Kimberly G.
      Kimberly G. 6 months ago

      @Orion Fixr Ah, since price is a big factor, be sure to check the two-part that Luke put out on how to save on gear. You can find some really good deals. Here are the links, so you don't have to hunt for them:
      Used gear: tvclip.biz/video/2hzI_Xpjp-Q/video.html
      New gear: tvclip.biz/video/7mXMHCgFFjA/video.html

    • Orion Fixr
      Orion Fixr 6 months ago

      @Kimberly G.; Thank you for the info and advice. I sure would like to go ultra light weight but being retired on a fixed income is going to make that real hard ! HAHA . The proverbial Rock and a Hard Place ! I will check out the sights you have recommended . Thanks again .

    • Orion Fixr
      Orion Fixr 6 months ago

      @kindersir; Thank you and to you as well !!

  • Righteous1
    Righteous1 6 months ago

    looks good

  • Life on the trail
    Life on the trail 6 months ago +1

    That looks good! Ill definately be checking this companies products out and totally agree with your assessment of the backpackers pantry.....nasty stuff!

  • DropForgedSurvival
    DropForgedSurvival 6 months ago

    *We Noticed in the bush.. for extended periods in the heat... on a high fat low carb diet.. sodium isn't much of an issue... but in a meal like that.. ouch!*

  • willy p00
    willy p00 6 months ago

    Is the mystery flavor cilantro from the salsa?

    • Orion Fixr
      Orion Fixr 6 months ago

      I thought the same thing immediately ! Great minds think alike ! HAHAHA !

  • M. Redleg
    M. Redleg 6 months ago +5

    Just give me a chicken and rice MRE any day over this fancy "gourmet" stuff.

    • TheOutdoorGearReview
      TheOutdoorGearReview  6 months ago

      I hear ya! I'm an equal opportunity eater; I'll eat anything! :D
      - Luke

  • Dave Stelling
    Dave Stelling 6 months ago +4

    Looks good, yet I'm still partial mostly to the good 'ol "Chili Mac."
    YUMMM........!

  • R R
    R R 6 months ago +5

    666 that's a lot of Satan...I mean sodium.

  • wydwst100
    wydwst100 6 months ago

    Great Job. Luke you better watch out.

  • Bada B1ng
    Bada B1ng 6 months ago

    I've had plenty of MRE's that were mystery meals as well lol

  • Ronald Rose
    Ronald Rose 6 months ago

    Hello Luke and Susie, thank you for the great review. I am looking forward to place an order and give it a try. You folks take care out there. ๐Ÿค—

  • Iridium242
    Iridium242 6 months ago

    it looked pretty good, I like trying out new different freeze dried stuff

  • missingremote
    missingremote 6 months ago

    Kind of looks like an italian dish; grilled bell peppers with capers and olive oil and bread crumbs.

  • MilitaryPack Junkie
    MilitaryPack Junkie 6 months ago

    Wow finally new intro! A new host! Im glad Susie took over Outdoor gear review!! Hold on...Luke again!!! LOL just joking Love you guys all :-D

    • melis silem
      melis silem 6 months ago

      They are a nice couple and you can tell he loves his wife. Very nice to see.

  • Larry Kramer
    Larry Kramer 6 months ago +5

    Are beans expensive? Why aren't there more beans. I like to have beans with my beans-- lots of them. You cannot have too many beans in a dish. Start with beans and end with beans, and put beans in the middle. Keep the beans coming. Bean it up.

  • Tom Davis
    Tom Davis 6 months ago +1

    Hey Suzie , does it give an expiration date? I would guess most of the outdoor camping food does have a shelf life date. right?

  • Schmeat
    Schmeat 6 months ago +1

    He says "at all" alot in his reviews... she seems so serious and to the point meticulously,

  • Kaylynn Strain
    Kaylynn Strain 6 months ago

    definitely some items on their site that other companies don't care to mess with

  • Wally Taggart
    Wally Taggart 6 months ago +12

    I'm prolly in the minority here but, I think at the prices that all these companies charge, beans are a copout and ripoff as a protein source...add more meat! appreciate the review guys!