Love Simon Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Feb 27, 2018
  • Love Simon Movie Review today! Beyond The Trailer's reaction & review of 2018 movie! Nick Robinson! Greg Berlanti! Teen Romance!
    bit.ly/subscribeBTT
    Love Simon Movie Review today! Beyond The Trailer host Grace Randolph's reaction & review of Love Simon, the 2018 movie from Greg Berlanti, John Hughes style! Nick Robinson stars as Simon! Should you see the full movie? Enjoy Love Simon in 2018 and make Beyond The Trailer your first stop for movie news, trailer and review on TVclip today!
    CHAPTER TIMES
    Intro - 00:00
    100% John Hughes - 00:42
    IMPORTANT - 1:41
    Theater Experience - 3:09
    Cast Standouts - 3:58
    Nick Robinson - 4:48
    Love YOURSELF - 5:50
    About those friends - 6:32
    Only for LGBT? - 7:24
    Greg Berlanti - 8:30
    Conclusion - 9:13
    Interact with host & creator Grace Randolph!
    Facebook: bit.ly/GraceOnFacebook
    Twitter: bit.ly/GraceOnTwitter
    Instagram: instagram.com/gracerandolphbtt
    Google+: bit.ly/HQ6kVs
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 475

  • Lance Barrera
    Lance Barrera 10 days ago

    Love simon tv show is gonna be on disney+! AHHHH so excited!

  • Jlinus
    Jlinus Month ago

    I'm so happy for once that they made a lgbt movie where the main character doesn't have a depressing life. Even we need escapism sometimes

  • Amy Walton
    Amy Walton 3 months ago

    Love Simon is my best film of 2018

  • Jack Fee
    Jack Fee 3 months ago

    Love Simon doesn’t really represent gays at all and most straight people don’t understand that so it’s getting sugarcoated

  • Darren Moore
    Darren Moore 4 months ago

    I finally saw it tonight on HBO Go and I loved it!

  • siriusgray
    siriusgray 4 months ago

    I hope this movie makes it on your top 10 list of the year!

  • jax a
    jax a 4 months ago

    Just finished it, and it was perfect;-)

  • LaMar Finesse
    LaMar Finesse 5 months ago

    Love, Simon and Spiderman: Homecoming share one actor. And he's a cutiepie

  • sanyrub
    sanyrub 5 months ago

    I liked id a lot. It obviously pleases any sane person who wathes it. Not masterpiece of any kind, it is not supposed to be. Serves its purpose. One of my favorite things was the Whitney Houston moment (so unexpected for me lol). The leasing actor is so charismatic. I had already seen him in a indie film like 4 years ago or so and he was already very charismatic there. I don´t remember the name of the film.

  • GJ F
    GJ F 5 months ago

    I came out years ago and it was tough but all is good. Even after all these years this movie had an incredible affect on me. Wonderful.

  • K R
    K R 6 months ago

    Thanks Grace!! xoxo

  • Tumi Mamabolo
    Tumi Mamabolo 7 months ago

    As a blue Madagascan flamingo, I support this film

  • Rachel Rose
    Rachel Rose 8 months ago

    I found it a little odd that they changed the musical being performed from the book to the movie just because of how little significance it has

  • King OceanBlu
    King OceanBlu 8 months ago

    Josh Duhammel Had me in tears when He and Simon have the conversation at the End where he was like "I Should Of Known"

  • mel0dy revealed
    mel0dy revealed 9 months ago +1

    Martin 😒

  • The Murder File
    The Murder File 9 months ago

    I loved this movie but I was so unhappy the theatre near me didn't play it

  • Bruno Roberto
    Bruno Roberto 9 months ago +2

    “I am straight. Am I going to enjoy the movie?”
    Of course you will. LGBT people have been seeing movies featuring straight characters for ages. If you have a little empathy you will have a great time watching this movie.

  • Smileypeacefun
    Smileypeacefun 9 months ago +2

    Thanks for such an amazing movie review. :)

  • Glow Lov
    Glow Lov 9 months ago +1

    Thank you For This Review Grace. This One was Special ;) ;) ;)

  • Greenkai3000
    Greenkai3000 10 months ago

    Great movie and even greater review!!

  • Tony Barnes
    Tony Barnes 10 months ago +1

    I really enjoy watching ur channel. I love ur review on this movie. You're great.

  • Rick C
    Rick C 10 months ago +1

    The only character I didn't like was the principal... if you put a bowtie on him... you would confuse him with pee wee herman!! I'm not saying I don't like pee wee..I'm just saying.. he was to extra!!🤔

  • Yana Petruk
    Yana Petruk 10 months ago +1

    I watched it with my boyfriend and we liked it! the movie is so sweet and kind! so this proofs the fact that it's not only for lgbt community.

  • Sofoklis & Nicolas
    Sofoklis & Nicolas 10 months ago +1

    Just came out, here in Greece!! At last... Saw it today and I adored it... Beautiful, amazing movie from every aspect!

  • Amy Clarke
    Amy Clarke 10 months ago

    Obviously there is a sequel book but plot points won’t work due to a few of the changes ie ages, Leah’s; family, appearance, home, etc.

  • Amy Clarke
    Amy Clarke 10 months ago

    Do we need more gay movies? Do we need another straight rom com? I can literally only name this as a gay rom com but every other rom com is about straight people.

  • DJgambit 2099
    DJgambit 2099 10 months ago

    woah! that girl is storm..

  • Abhik Moj
    Abhik Moj 10 months ago

    Just like the movie, I absolutely 💗 this review of yours Grace!

  • Lucus Baine
    Lucus Baine 10 months ago +1

    Love Simon is the worst movie gays are fucking stupid!!!!!!!!!!!

  • WorldOfWinxClub
    WorldOfWinxClub 11 months ago

    I LOVED BLUE!

  • Tessa Flannery
    Tessa Flannery 11 months ago

    Love, Simon FuII Movie [ en.opizo.com/NmI ]

  • Ana Luiza
    Ana Luiza Year ago

    1:53 oh my god you're so right i love you!!

  • Carlos Miguel Ugalde

    shit review

  • Conner J.
    Conner J. Year ago +1

    I love love SIMON moive

  • Lincoln7Echo
    Lincoln7Echo Year ago +1

    This receiving high marks from Gracie says something...her wry mix of wit & truth always inform a good opinion. So, I'm sold!

  • Bill Harris
    Bill Harris Year ago

    One of my favorite movies of all time. It means so much to me

  • Iron-Bran
    Iron-Bran Year ago +1

    2:00 actually me. Luckily I have Simon's life (in terms of his friends and family) I get to live that fantasy. I have a school filled with LGBT community members and most of the straight people aren't that rude anyway (or they aren't open about their feelings) That scene that Simon had with his father- yeah my dad basically said everything that Simon's dad said and my dad hasn't even seen the movie yet lol. And since LGBT members have such a strong presence at my school if anyone were to be rude to me about being Gay then I have my very own Justice League of friends that can take them down in a blink of an eye.
    I'm lucky but I do know there are those out there who aren't as lucky and what she said in the video is rather important. This is a fantasy and not many people get to live it. Be very careful about who you tell if you're closeted and considering coming out because of this movie

  • Tomás Roma
    Tomás Roma Year ago +2

    the films is nice but as a closted gay it hurts
    it did not help having a bunch of homophobes watching and laughing at the end and in the touching moments

  • Brad Sayadsarvari
    Brad Sayadsarvari Year ago +2

    I’m totally straight and I for one really loved. Love,simon! Loved everything about it

  • Mike Hammond
    Mike Hammond Year ago +1

    Jennifer garners speech made me cry hard in the theatre ! ... also there teens, they will get over his betrayal

  • Jess Athenian
    Jess Athenian Year ago

    Love this movie, especially being a bisexual human being. I’m glad you enjoyed it grace!

  • kitty purry
    kitty purry Year ago

    Nobody recognized Nick Rob from Kings of Summer?

  • Dung Nguyen
    Dung Nguyen Year ago

    So we aren't going to talk about how the trailer, writing and movie itself is literally geared at the general public with a "straight acting white male" as a default? Like have you looked around the Queer community? We don't need anymore straight acting white guys getting the accolades. Remember Stonewall (the movie not the movement) and how it felt the need to make a straight acting white male the lead?

  • Jacob Lackey
    Jacob Lackey Year ago +1

    This is a perfect movie. Grace wasn't wrong.

  • Fernando Rueda
    Fernando Rueda Year ago +3

    I will never be able to express how much this movie means to me through words, but I can try. As a gay teen who had come out on multiple occasions I have to say that every coming out scene was captured perfectly. Nick Robinson blew me away with the acting work that he did for this movie. This is the first movie that I've seen in a while where the main character was not overshadowed by the supporting cast. I cried so much in this movie and I am very happy that it is getting the attention it deserves. Hopefully people in the industry will make note of the success of this movie, it's brilliance, and how Simon is portrayed because it's about damn time there are mainstream movie characters that move away from stereotypes. This movie is an instant classic, and everyone should give this movie a shot because it is (as Grace said) a perfect movie.

  • arslan imdad
    arslan imdad Year ago +1

    I am from Pakistan but studying in Turkey. I would have loved to watch it on screen but unfortunately it will not be screened here.

  • Dinah Laurel Merlin

    This movie was so beautiful

  • Kat Pettibone
    Kat Pettibone Year ago +1

    Won't disagree with you about Riverdale, but Berlanti was show runner for one of the most perfect seasons of YA TV, S3 of Dawsons Creek. He's not SR on Riverdale

  • enothing
    enothing Year ago

    Saw this with my Str8 best friend and he loved it more than me.
    And I must agree the cast was great, so much so I would have loved it as a TV series to get more if their chemistry. S/N I love you Grace I been following for years but rarely ever comment :) cause reasons

  • SmasherBoy
    SmasherBoy Year ago +1

    I really enjoyed the film and I am glad you loved it to.
    I really enjoyed the portrayal of a gay male character, it was so relatable. As a pansexual, this film gave me the courage to come out to my mum and brother, and they were so supportive. Thank you Love, Simon! Thank you.

  • Tony Barnes
    Tony Barnes Year ago +1

    Just wanted to thank u for reviewing this movie. I was really happy when I saw your video for this movie review. Before I see any movie I always check your channel to see if u reviewed it.

  • Tony Barnes
    Tony Barnes Year ago

    I can't get enough of this movie. I've seen it 7 times now. It's such a good feel movie. U get to experience so much emotion and it was so intense at times. Loved the background music during the special moments etc.

  • Ben Daniels
    Ben Daniels Year ago +3

    You absolutely hit the nail on the head when you were saying that you should seek help when coming out, rather than be inspired by a work of fiction. I couldn’t agree more. I’m still trying to think of how to come out. The film helps, but I need assistance and guidance so I know what to say.

  • tsengkokoko
    tsengkokoko Year ago

    Grace, I'm going to watch this movie because of your recommendation! I hope it's good!!

  • Precious Bradford

    It was great ❤
    Even with the changes from the book.

  • Brittany Disney/Teacher’s Pet Fan Davis

    I just saw this movie and loved it as much as you did! When you were talking an the audience cheering and clapping at the end, the audience at my screening did that too! Like you said, this is Nick Robinson’s movie. He did a GREAT job making Simon likeable and relatable! This is a great movie, and like you said, it’s not just for LGBT 🏳️‍🌈 people, just like “Call Me By Your Name” and “Moonlight”.

  • unicornonthecob
    unicornonthecob Year ago

    Barf.

  • Samira Chammas
    Samira Chammas Year ago

    Loved your review! I'm so pissed this movie will probably not hit theaters in my country (Venezuela)... :/

  • Mel Hyde
    Mel Hyde Year ago

    It made me cry hahaha. I really liked this movie and I love the cast and of course Nick. :)

  • Serma Symonds
    Serma Symonds Year ago

    Love, Simon 2018 |f u L L M o v i e : en.opizo.com/KSg

  • Medraut
    Medraut Year ago

    thanks for this review and upfront manner with it. i agree with your points. some parents are not accepting of their Lgbt kids. which is sad. i found it a beautiful coming of age/coming out moive

  • Cristina F
    Cristina F Year ago

    I really want to see this movie (I read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda), but it's not being shown at the theater near my college, and I'd have drive out an hour to get to a movie theater that does. I'm hoping to watch it when I go home during the upcoming spring break.

  • MIKETHONY
    MIKETHONY Year ago

    It was one of my favorite movie experiences ever everyone was applauding 24/7 at the end and crying. There was a member of the LGBT community across from me and she was so incredibly happy and proud by this movie and couldn't stop crying. It was that good of a movie.

  • Michael Videz
    Michael Videz Year ago

    Spoiler possible ?! The ending brought me back to the final scene from “never been kissed”

  • Josh B
    Josh B Year ago

    JUST SAW THIS MOVIE AND IT WAS A BEAUTIFUL EMOTIONAL EXPERIENCE. I WISH ALL THE SUCCESS FOR THIS MOVIE

  • Kenny Velazquez
    Kenny Velazquez Year ago

    I haven't cried in the theater in a very long time, but this movie got me. Loved it!

  • A. Lorraine Crittendon

    I don’t think the dialogue between the black characters was realistic or genuine. It felt forced and unnatural. I’d prefer they ad lib. It was the only parts of the movie where it took me out of the mood because it was obvious they were reading from lines. Whereas the other teens had very real speaking parts for their age and demographic. The black kids, only when interacting with each other in the car scene, didn’t fit well with their personalities as the movie set them.

  • ragingbrawler
    ragingbrawler Year ago

    Seems like this film kind of came out of nowhere. I didn’t see any promotion for it.

  • Jack Bittner
    Jack Bittner Year ago

    Please do a spoiler review

  • Spyro lover 1234
    Spyro lover 1234 Year ago

    I can't wait to see this movie sadly in the part of Missouri I live in all my theaters are not playing it. I guess because its to progressive for people here. It makes me sad... I feel like I'm being discriminated against

    • Fullmoon Phantom1412
      Fullmoon Phantom1412 Year ago +1

      wow really? i saw it where i live (nebraska which is also pretty conservative) though i guess i do live in the city. there weren't many people in the theater though and this time i went to the one people go to. though it was sunday.

  • Tiffany Courtney
    Tiffany Courtney Year ago

    When I saw this movie my theater was also squealing at the end. Me and my friend included.

  • corvus13
    corvus13 Year ago

    The older lady sitting next to me sniffled through the second half and talked to herself about how much she loved it.

  • Olivia Wink
    Olivia Wink Year ago

    I’m really confused, I thought the movie came out yesterday ( March 16th ) at least where I live that was the opening day...?

  • zeekified
    zeekified Year ago

    just saw the movie, and I agree it is a perfect movie

  • Ricardo Espinoza
    Ricardo Espinoza Year ago

    I saw it last night. I thought they did a really good job with the movie. Everyone should go see it.

  • ThePeppazmint
    ThePeppazmint Year ago

    They aren't showing it here where I'm at :/ I live in a very conservative area

  • Bruja
    Bruja Year ago

    I just saw this movie. I have to say, it was perfect. It stayed true to the book, for the most part, and made me nearly cry at four separate occasions. The only thing I would change about this movie is to elongate the sad/emotional scenes because had they been 10 seconds longer, I would have been sobbing on the floor. And I want to cry!!!

  • Draco Aeris
    Draco Aeris Year ago

    Love, Simon is the movie to see this weekend! This is a really good movie! Definitely one of my favorite films this year! Go see it whenever you get the chance.

  • Tony Barnes
    Tony Barnes Year ago

    Seen this movie 4 times now. I love your channel. I always watch your reviews before I see a movie. Your awesome

  • Selia Baxter
    Selia Baxter Year ago

    Saw it a few days ago and it was SO. GOOD. One of the the funniest movies I've seen in forever, and I adored Simon.

  • FLASHFOTO
    FLASHFOTO Year ago

    Saw the movie and I’ll be damned, it was perfect!!

  • Jack Tilley
    Jack Tilley Year ago

    Am I the only one who felt this was very badly directed?

  • abigol
    abigol Year ago

    it was a great movie, worth watching for sure.

  • Marquis Douglas
    Marquis Douglas Year ago

    I saw an advanced screening 2 days ago with my friend (who's gay) and we really enjoyed it!! I hope people support the film.

  • sofia
    sofia Year ago

    it doesn't come out until june here :(

  • HealingUnicornuwu
    HealingUnicornuwu Year ago +2

    I'm taking my younger siblings with me to see this movie Friday. Since I live with a family of homophobes I'm deciding to not tell them what the movie is about. Though I really am curious about what my siblings think of it

    • Flash 314
      Flash 314 Year ago

      That’s so great! It so nice to know that you get generations are more openminded and accepting than older generations. Glad they enjoyed it😊
      My friend and I are planning to see it this weekend

    • HealingUnicornuwu
      HealingUnicornuwu Year ago

      Flash 314 they loved it! They enjoyed it a lot and saw it as any other coming of age story and thought of it as a very unique film with a uplifting message. I'm so proud of them 😁

    • Flash 314
      Flash 314 Year ago

      What did they think? I’m curious

  • Edher
    Edher Year ago

    Honestly, i dont care if the main plot is that he is gay. The movie seemed good and funny, which made me want to watch it

  • Michael Prescott, Jr.

    Did Simon get a pair of Sennheiser Urbanites from his parents 4 Christmas? They're my headphones!

  • Serban Capraru
    Serban Capraru Year ago

    Okay, when you said it was a perfect movie I thought you were exagerating. But I've just seen it and I must say I'm really freaking impressed. I LOVED it. Such an identity affirming film, this is more than just a teen romance.

  • Persan Calilung
    Persan Calilung Year ago

    Need to see this movie so bad... love the review by the way...

  • Jay Wolin
    Jay Wolin Year ago

    it's sooooooooo good. best time I've had at the movies in a long time

  • Eric Burkheimer
    Eric Burkheimer Year ago +2

    :34 "Do we really need another one of these?" We gay people feel like the answer should be "yes." Straight people may feel they are being inundated with LGBT centric movies, but that's how many gay people feel about being inundated with heterosexual centric or primarily heterosexual centric films. And we gay people can't really avoid them, and don't have many other options.

  • Da Movie Lover
    Da Movie Lover Year ago

    I just saw Love, Simon and Grace was right, when she said it was a perfect movie my exceptions were SKY HIGH and it still exceeded them!

  • Jose R
    Jose R Year ago

    I watched this movie last week. And I have to it is definitely a 10/10.

  • Bryant Corona
    Bryant Corona Year ago

    GRACE! You need to check out Insecure on HBO! Also give a Season to Season review! You're Amazing!

  • Z
    Z Year ago

    I've heard the author is writing a sequel atm, this time it's about the character of Leah played by Katherine Langford. Leah is claimed to be a bisexual.

  • Ramon C
    Ramon C Year ago

    Grace....I admire the heck out of you! Thank you for your important cautionary thoughts on this subject. This movie will be a joy!

  • alealejo78
    alealejo78 Year ago

    Riverdale has redeemed itself in the latest episode The Hills Have Eyes. You should return to it , i hope it stays in that direction because it was that good! It had a very strong LGBT+ scene with "Cheryl" it made a lot of people cry and identify with her. Anyways , thanks for promoting Love Simon, we need more movies like this one!

  • Nicky PALKA
    Nicky PALKA Year ago

    hmm I loved the book. I wonder how the movie will be in comparison

  • JesusSavedJoshua
    JesusSavedJoshua Year ago

    Yet another film about a deluded lost soul embracing abomination and unholy worship of the tolerance god.