Call Me By Your Name - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 215

  • Ajax SlamGoody
    Ajax SlamGoody 5 days ago

    Sick...hopefully kids don't see it

  • ichatterbot
    ichatterbot 8 days ago

    Worst poster for a film this year?

  • Annicka Pollack
    Annicka Pollack 12 days ago

    the movie had no need for forced obstacles as means for a more "engaging" or "dramatic" story line because the precise point of their story was the total immersion in one another, regardless of external forces. to add struggles with their sexuality--be that internal or external--would have taken away from their story. while that may have worked for moonlight, it would have been totally out-of-place here; this story is not one about sexuality, it's about an experience and the nuances within said experience. similarly, in god's own country, the story is about the two falling in love and the influence one has on the other; in GOC, though, they do end up having a falling out, which worked quite well for that story, but would feel distorted for the style and intentions of cmbyn. oliver's and elio's story carries its own weight and does not need pinpointed events of exposition to create its own sense of devastation, it does that quite well on its own.

  • Tim Treakle
    Tim Treakle 17 days ago

    I loved this movie. the 2 lead performances were excellent. the cinematography, writing and directing are on point. A+

  • YA PLAYA HATERS YOU SHOULD LOVE YOURSELF BRR

    I was really excited to see that it was a movie focused on a romance between two guys, but it wasn't everything I hoped it to be. I didn't really like how one guy was a grown man and the other a teenager. I prefer young teenage love between boys. On top of that it was boring to me. It was realistic and chill, but I guess I either don't prefer something too calm or I just wasn't in the mood. Aside of my preferences, it is a very nice movie. Great cinematography, characters, acting, romance, everything was exceptional.

  • Roxy love
    Roxy love 22 days ago

    What's with all the Flies can somebody explain that to me please???

  • Panterlo Art
    Panterlo Art 26 days ago

    The book did have more obstacles. Mainly Elios conflicted feelings about his desires (wich in the book is more of an obsession) and the fact that he always felt ashamed every time he would sleep with Oliver. The movie does explore those things, but to a lesser degree. The main obstacle in the movie's Oliver being afraid to tarnish Elio.

  • Oscar Ayala
    Oscar Ayala 28 days ago +1

    If you compare this review with all the 2018 reviews of Chris, you can tell how 2017 was way much better than 2018. 2018 just simply sucked.

  • some one
    some one Month ago

    A beautiful story of a young man and his statutory rapist

  • Charles Dickerson
    Charles Dickerson Month ago

    I love this movie and your review. Can you please check out (if you haven't seen it) and review Brokeback Mountain.

  • CrxNightCore123
    CrxNightCore123 Month ago

    I personally found the movie to be fairly boring for the most part but who am I to judge.... I guess if so many people liked it there must be something about it just not my cup of tea.

  • Lively Bubbs
    Lively Bubbs Month ago

    My one criticism is the age gap. Makes it creepy as shit for me, other than that it was aight

  • Evan Tomiko
    Evan Tomiko Month ago

    I didn't like it. I found it strange a grown up man with a kid.

  • fire danzer
    fire danzer Month ago +1

    Deserved an A+ tbh

  • Diabolical Butler
    Diabolical Butler 2 months ago

    your review sucks. the movie was flawless in every single aspect

  • Gavin Dransfield
    Gavin Dransfield 2 months ago

    “Discovering things about himself” = Chris’s code for “He’s gay” 😂

  • Flynn Tavish Wilbur
    Flynn Tavish Wilbur 2 months ago

    I actually really liked the lack of conflict in Call Me by Your Name. I feel like the vast majority of movies about LGBTQ people are about suffering, and that can be hard to watch after a while. I remember when I watched this movie, there was this lingering, anxious expectation that something bad was going to happen, and then it just didn't. It was really refreshing to just watch a story about to men that was...*just* a love story and nothing else, if that makes sense

  • FORREST GUMP
    FORREST GUMP 2 months ago

    This movie is disgusting!

  • Straight Pride
    Straight Pride 2 months ago

    thought it was shit

  • Imke Salz
    Imke Salz 2 months ago

    Love the metaphor about the flies and your verbal essay about it

  • Josue2018
    Josue2018 2 months ago

    Everything came together flawlessly. The novel adapted to a brilliant screenplay, which deserved its oscar. The vision and leadership of the director. The non-traditional storyline. The sensual cinematography and amazing editing. The lack of a score, and just using music/songs. And last but not least, the actors (their chemistry, their performance brought everything to life). Just an amazing combination. I give it an A (no minus, but no A+ either). The only stretch for me was believing Oliver was 24. Armie def looks and acts like a 30 year old. But that's a minor critique. 👏🏽 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

  • Rosie W
    Rosie W 3 months ago

    I cringed so many times during this slow- moving movie.

  • António Costa Amaral
    António Costa Amaral 3 months ago

    the story may be lazy, the direction needs not to be

  • Josh Weaver
    Josh Weaver 3 months ago

    More obstacles? Give me a break. That would have been antithetical to the entire movie.

  • Carly A
    Carly A 3 months ago

    it's so weird because this movie is like so real life. Like they don't even act like there's a script. They make you feel like you're actually with them. It's not even about them being gay. It never morphed into that typical gay movie where the parents are shocked and mad but then they accept them and the kid is worried about coming out. It's never that. It's almost like, it could've been two straight people and it wouldn't have made a difference. Its not ever about them being gay. It's about the love.

  • Jamey Collins
    Jamey Collins 3 months ago

    Just watched it. I give it a solid A+. In most of Europe, the age of consent is 15, so I don't have a problem with a 30 year old or twenty something with a 16 year old and neither does anyone else.

  • Reggie Lynch
    Reggie Lynch 3 months ago

    White people don’t have obstacles
    Black people do
    Both movies are accurate to how hard it would most likely be for that race

  • Yonttely Dominguez
    Yonttely Dominguez 4 months ago

    I love how he says "characters discovering stuff about themselves" and doesn't labels them as "gay" or this or that. Amazing not having to put a label on people

  • M. Benstein
    M. Benstein 4 months ago +1

    Movie is actually very average. Dialogues are very poor. Interesting aesthetics though

    • Gui Adrião
      Gui Adrião 16 days ago

      dialogues are poor?r u sure u watched it

  • Ahmed Hossain
    Ahmed Hossain 4 months ago

    This is my love story

  • anoyuksha singh
    anoyuksha singh 4 months ago

    I was liking this review till the point he said he needed more obstacles! Not at all agreeable! This is a beautiful movie, a beautiful adaptation of the essence of an amazingly beautiful book, and it just didn't need any sort of antagonist at all. Anything else apart from time, would be such a distraction from the heartbreak that this movie makes its viewers feel. In real life, there are not always too harsh obstacles, except time! So this movie captures that and it's amazing

  • Amz Nay
    Amz Nay 4 months ago +1

    The story has been done to death. It's very cliché gay love story. I think the cinematography is good, acting is average, there's scenes which I think lack connection to the audience. I would give it a B+

  • Liam Doc Reviews
    Liam Doc Reviews 4 months ago

    It's not a gay film, they're not gay. I'd argue they're not bisexual either.
    They don't fall in love with men, they fall in love with each other.

  • Artsy Fartsy
    Artsy Fartsy 4 months ago

    Flies probably symbolized memories. It's there throughout their relationship and at the end it flies on Elio's shoulder, this one thing from the past. I feel like it's a symbol for Elio's memories over his shoulder that he thinks of in the end.

  • w_R Andrs
    w_R Andrs 4 months ago

    This novel took me down memory lane and I felt every inch of it

  • amit nagpal
    amit nagpal 4 months ago

    Was anyone left just devastated by this movie? Just questioning things in your own life. Just ripped my freakin heart out.

  • Christian_Patriot
    Christian_Patriot 5 months ago

    its a gay pedo movie, sorry but its a revolting premise!
    surprised this is even being reviewed.
    unsubscribed.

  • Felipedl11
    Felipedl11 5 months ago

    time is the obstacle.

  • FelixMerivel
    FelixMerivel 5 months ago

    I have absolutely no problem with slow, meandering, atmospheric movies, I love them, but this one did nothing for me. None of the characters was likable in the slightest, so I couldn't sympathise with them, I felt no chemistry between them. Both of them were pretentious jerks. What was fairly obvious was Elio's frustration, but blue balls does not equal love. And what completely blew my mind was how chill the dad was with a stranger coming into his home, living there, sharing his bread, and fucking his child under his roof. I don't care if the age of consent is 15 or 55, it's just. Ugh.

  • dietsnails
    dietsnails 5 months ago

    Nah dude. Italy just has a shit ton of flies.

  • Nikolas Serratorubio
    Nikolas Serratorubio 5 months ago

    A solid review, definitely interested in checking out the movie some time. It reminds me of a 2016 animated film called Doukyuusei (classmates) with follows the story of two high schoolers, i don't remember their being a major focus on drama and the movie took time to show the characters relationship grow

  • Cornelius Sublette
    Cornelius Sublette 5 months ago

    There’s also a lot of symbolism with water!

  • Muhamad Dakota
    Muhamad Dakota 5 months ago +1

    its not boring its beautiful, but its gross like shit. i tried tho.

  • hirman 11
    hirman 11 6 months ago

    This gay movie is so trashy compared to Borkeback moutain

  • Korreena Baptiste
    Korreena Baptiste 6 months ago

    I LOVED THIS MOVIE SM

  • CarmenPHE
    CarmenPHE 6 months ago +1

    I am now reading the book and yeah, in the book too, you, as a reader, don't get to know much about the characters, you don't get to know things about their past or what they do when they are not in Italy, what they do when their lives go back to "normal". And I guess the author wanted to do that, maybe it's somehow related to that San Clemente Syndrome. The characters are in that small world of their and you don't get to know how they are when they aren't there, especially when it comes to Oliver. Even Elio says that Oliver won't talk about his past.

  • Leslie Rosado
    Leslie Rosado 6 months ago

    That movie is A +

  • Thoschei
    Thoschei 6 months ago

    This is one of my favourite movies I've seen. And look, I don't like romance movies, so this was a first one for me. ^^'

  • Leon Kennedy
    Leon Kennedy 6 months ago +1

    The lack of obstacles or antagonist/villain makes this movie even more beautiful. It's like a breath of fresh air. This movie makes us witness what true love really means. Love knows no gender. Love is unconditional. Love wins.

  • Fer.Chairez
    Fer.Chairez 7 months ago

    wow thank you for the recommandation i love gay movies like this...

  • robert elder
    robert elder 7 months ago

    The movie was perfection to me as a gay man! First love omg so many tears. The music just perfection! I must say I have so much faith that Luca Guadagnino vision for his upcoming release, November 2nd, Suspiria will be nothing less then a masterpiece. Luca will bring all new meaning to the term remake! Call Me By Your Name should have won all the awards at the Oscars! Gems like this are very rare now days. Love your review!! And I subscribed to your channel!

  • shaun
    shaun 7 months ago

    CMBYN has this perception in which you feel as though you’re absorbed and immersed in the film. Hammer and Chalamet’s portrayal of the characters was extremely captivating that it felt authentic and not just simple acting. Additionally, I happen to believe that there were faint obstacles involved in this film- which was Elio’s reluctance of admitting to his feelings towards Oliver prior to confessing them later on. Overall, this movie was prominent in such a way that as a result, the audience will feel attached to not only the timeline and the setting, but also the characters.

    Both actors deserve an oscar.

  • Animaniac
    Animaniac 7 months ago

    Just searched review for this movie and was so fucking excited to see you did one!!

  • Gisselle Ellington
    Gisselle Ellington 7 months ago

    I disagree with the "more obstacles" thing because that would just make it any average movie or book. I haven't seen the movie yet, but I have heard the reviews and almost everybody explains how they felt like they were there in the movie, and if they added more information about the characters and more obstacles that'd just be ripping that away and taking away the uniqueness of the film.

  • Lawrence Gonzales
    Lawrence Gonzales 7 months ago

    But the heartache in the end is thousand folds heavier than obstacles!

  • B Scott
    B Scott 7 months ago

    Good movie overall, but the ending left me feeling sort of empty. I would’ve preferred if the last scene was the train scene, and Elio said something like “don’t forget me” then Oliver said “like I could”

  • tyler jackson
    tyler jackson 7 months ago

    A truly incredible film, the reason what makes this film very different to others and so special, is that it has nothing to do with being gay. This movie gets the point across that sexuality and gender doesn’t matter in the slightest, it’s just about love, two men, two people who fell in love.

  • Movie Reviews
    Movie Reviews 7 months ago

    Such a beautiful movie...

  • Yana Petruk
    Yana Petruk 8 months ago +4

    People talking about pedophilia. google the word pedophilia. Literary that’s what’s said there - Pedophilia, or paedophilia, is a psychiatric disorder in which an adult or older adolescent experiences a primary or exclusive sexual attraction to prepubescent children. Wikipedia
    Then google a prepubescent child. prepubescent (and sometimes child) is a term for boys and girls who have not developed secondary sex characteristics, while preadolescent is generally defined as those ranging from age 10 to 13 years. Preadolescence may also be defined as the period from 9 to 14 years.
    Elio is 17 !!!!!!!!!, and fucked girls so he’s sexually active. The age of consent in Italy is 14. Oliver is 24. The actors are 22 and 31. What is your problem with that??? Nobody forces anyone in the movie. The problem is just in your heads. You don’t see any problems with the characters from Dirty Dancing, and still the character of Baby is 16, but the guy who is with her is 24.

  • Hammad B.
    Hammad B. 8 months ago

    Dude do a review of Brokeback Mountain... it a a beautiful movie

  • James McGee
    James McGee 8 months ago

    Marius and Armand(vampire chronicles)

  • Meggy15
    Meggy15 8 months ago +2

    There aren't supposed to be hardships beyong time and historical context. It's just a story about two people who fall in love over the summer and grew because of it.
    By the way, that simplicity is what took the script so long to be produced. People wanted a ''bay guy'' and ''obstacles''. I think some producers wanted the mom to be against it (which would have been cheap as fuck), or something, but thankfully they remained loyal to the story they wanted to tell. And honestly, it is that simplicity that remainded me that I need to make a pause on Hollywood movies for a while and watch other stuff.

  • FrizFroz
    FrizFroz 9 months ago

    Elio's dad's speech at the end of the movie bumped it up an entire grade for me. Perhaps the most heartfelt, poignant and important monologue in film in 2017.

  • suzycreamcheesez
    suzycreamcheesez 9 months ago

    TC should've won the Golden Globe and the Oscar

  • Book and Movie Impressions

    Chiagneva Sempe ca durmeva sola,
    Mo dorme co´ li muorte accompagnata
    She always wept because she slept alone
    Now she sleeps among the dead.
    I can, from the distance of years now , still think I´m hearing the voices of two young men singing these words in Neapolitan toward daybreak, neither realizing, as they held each other and kiss each other again and again on the dark lanes of old Rome, that this was the last night they would ever make love again,
    “tomorrow lets go to San Clemente” I said
    “tomorrow is Today “ he replied
    ………………… from the most heart breaking lines from the Book call me by your Name by Andre Aciman
    one should watch the film first before buying the book because part 2 was in the book. chapter 4 ghost spots

    • Grebanche
      Grebanche 8 months ago

      Yes, I agree Movie First before book.

  • DeathCreationist
    DeathCreationist 9 months ago

    A brilliant movie. The ending scene is just brilliantly shot.

  • URCHIN SAM
    URCHIN SAM 9 months ago

    Very disappointing review. This movie really sucks for me as a gay guy

    • URCHIN SAM
      URCHIN SAM 9 months ago

      Only if Chris asked me himself

    • AkizaVesper
      AkizaVesper 9 months ago

      Would you care to elaborate?

  • Ethan J. Cagney
    Ethan J. Cagney 9 months ago +2

    Anybody care for a peach?

  • rcloud
    rcloud 9 months ago +2

    Sounds like you want to change this beautiful, unique movie to a boring, predicable ones we have seen thousand times! - faster, more obstacles and know everything about Oliver.??.. a typical Hollywood film with no feelings!

  • Laura Rodriguez
    Laura Rodriguez 9 months ago +2

    I feel that many people are uncomfartable with the slow pace of some movies because we are used to a particular structure, a fast pace and stereotipical characters

  • Jose Gomez
    Jose Gomez 9 months ago

    It felt real that's why I didn't think it was boring

  • James Foster
    James Foster 9 months ago

    Great movie and the father talking to his son without forcing him to reveal anything was very powerful.

  • tuhin shaikh
    tuhin shaikh 10 months ago

    A would be better

  • Andy Fischer - NOAA Federal

    Nice review.
    The lack of a so-called obstacle is one of many reasons I loved the movie. No homophobia, and no sexual self-doubt to speak of aside from that a typical adolescent like Elio might experience; we have enough gay films with those obstacles as is... and it was refreshing to see one, esp set nearly 35 years ago, without any of that as per Moonlight, Brokeback mountain, Soldiers girl, etc etc.
    The only obstacle was time. It was a love story, particularly one told involving the viewpoint of someone falling in love for the first time ever--part of what makes it so universal. (And as a bonus, the openness of Elio's parents, and accordingly the wisdom/sweetness Mr. Pearlman's closing monologue, was an absolute treat; I'm sure plenty of LGBT viewers wished they had grown up with such "liberal" parents). It was perfect.

  • 5850terry
    5850terry 10 months ago

    They said the flies had no meaning just that the flies had been thick all the time they were there.

  • I'm Oh' Sam
    I'm Oh' Sam 10 months ago

    That's why indie film like this looks so much realistic. So excited for the sequels though. 2020! :'(

  • I'm Oh' Sam
    I'm Oh' Sam 10 months ago

    Is it me or this guy in the video looks a bit of Chris Pratt?

  • Michael Cain
    Michael Cain 10 months ago +1

    Call Me By Your Name is a romantic dream-over in a summer. Moonlight is a real, horrifying telling of like twenty years of a man’s life. Loved them both, do not think Call Me needs conflict. And don’t forget the gorgeous music! 🎶

    • Grebanche
      Grebanche 8 months ago +1

      Michael Cain Futile Devices

  • Aaron Osborne
    Aaron Osborne 10 months ago

    After watching this film, my support for LGBT has went above and beyond.

  • John Hubschmitt
    John Hubschmitt 10 months ago

    there is a lot of airiculture there ..lUCA FINALLY SAID AT ONE OF HIS INTERVEIWS THAT THERE A lOT OF FIELDS COVERED WITH Manure ergo flies...in winter they try to get into warmer houses androom

  • SoldierofPeace
    SoldierofPeace 10 months ago

    Excellent review!!

  • Joohee Lee
    Joohee Lee 10 months ago

    Great review. But i thought you talk about fly means. i know the director refused talk about the fly. But the fly shows up in many scenes.
    I think what the fly means is that Elio thinks of Oliver. For people the fly is a nuisance and unwanted thing. I dont know he ignore or didnt recognized about fly. But when the fly show up, elio is alone and think about oliver. Like when you love someone, you’ll only think about someone. I think the fly is object to show elio’s thinking. That thinking is oliver.

  • Viola Ren
    Viola Ren 10 months ago

    I love that there weren't many obstacles, it made the movie so light and nice to watch. Finally, a movie that isn't too dramatic. I feel like with the lgbt thing as well it's important to show that being gay doesn't need to be hard. Every movie that has a lgbtq+ person is always dramatic and stuff, which does portray reality for many, if not most queer people, but it's good to show that it can and should be very normal too. I feel like the movie would have been almost exactly the same with any relationship, because although the characters are confronting their sexuality, they are mostly just trying to tell each other how they feel, as in any relationship. This might be my favourite movie yet, I love it and I'll probably re-watch it whenever I have the chance.

  • emaxjane
    emaxjane 10 months ago

    Plz the death cure

  • Yvonne Kramer
    Yvonne Kramer 10 months ago +1

    This movie is disgusting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I don't celebrate padophilia like all of you here do (maybe, I just read the comments)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    The 17-year old boy (maybe just turned 17 a day before; we don't know) and this 35 year-old man????
    No way I can accept this movie for one second...
    All this love and power games Oliver is playing with the feelings of that boy...
    Like 'see you later' and than he stays away the hole day (and night) without sayind a word..
    The clothes of the boy are always too big, so that we can see HE IS REALLY YOUNG..
    I can talk for hours over this topic, but I don't have all the english words to explain it!!!
    Mark: F-
    THIS FILM HAS TO BE BANNED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • rain73ful
    rain73ful 10 months ago

    It was a wonderful movie. I'm glad I got to see it!

  • Samantha Hart
    Samantha Hart 10 months ago

    I love this film so much

  • Luis Pérez
    Luis Pérez 10 months ago

    What does the fly mean?

  • C G
    C G 10 months ago

    hype hype hype....worlds most boring movie.

  • Valen Tini
    Valen Tini 10 months ago

    Yes, it's a bit a slow and there's not much dialogue which is not very common. I feel like that's what makes you feel like you're in the story and, to me, it made me feel like I was in Elio's head.

  • Dayemon Blackfyre
    Dayemon Blackfyre 10 months ago

    In this movie, like in life, the only real villain is time.

  • DebrisGrant
    DebrisGrant 10 months ago

    no, Chris, it's not the film's problem, it's yours.

  • DebrisGrant
    DebrisGrant 10 months ago

    stop. didn't you just said it was boring? omg that was the most beautiful movie probably of the year! I think Chris is just not as into deep stuff as he wants to seem

  • Dylan Defrain
    Dylan Defrain 11 months ago

    Finally saw it, I love it, This movie made me extremely happy for some reason...it’s not even that uplifting of a movie but it just put me in a great mood

  • Antonio Yazzie
    Antonio Yazzie 11 months ago

    an A *MINUS*???

  • Nikolas Harris
    Nikolas Harris 11 months ago

    please change that damned intro

  • Max Samulka
    Max Samulka 11 months ago

    Call me by OUR name because we’re in communist Russia

  • Nana Sakvarelidze
    Nana Sakvarelidze 11 months ago +1

    This movie is not about obstacles. It does not need drama. And this movie is A+

  • Christopher Kendel
    Christopher Kendel 11 months ago

    I just thought the presence of the flies was due to Elio being a sweaty, horny teenager during a damp summer in northern Italy. Makes sense to me.
    I went to see this movie today and I’ve gotta say; This movie is an sensual treat. It’s as erotic as it is moving. There is nothing wrong with calling it a gay-themed movie because it is. The characters’ sexuality might be fluid and ambiguous but the movie definitely speaks in defense of having homoerotic urges and that indulging in them is a blessing.

  • Ocean Water
    Ocean Water 11 months ago

    Wait...a movie about statutory rape that was lauded by Hollywood during the Kevin Spacey scandal? Ironic.