Tesla Model X 2018 electric SUV review | Mat Watson Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 11, 2017
  • Nothing on the road looks quite like a Tesla Model X. It's not just imposing, its falcon wing doors are downright stunning, but what's it like once you get underneath its all-electric skin? I take an in-depth look at this futuristic seven-seater to see if it's the way forward or just a diversion.
    NOTE You can now fold the down middle seats - whoopee!
    SSubscribe - tvclip.biz/user/Carwow?sub_c...
    Save - www.carwow.co.uk

    Facebook - facebook.com/carwowuk/

    Insta - instagram.com/carwow_uk

    Twitter - twitter.com/carwowuk
    Read our full Tesla Model X review -
    www.carwow.co.uk/tesla/model-x?utm_source=TVclip&utm_medium=description&utm_campaign=Make-Volvo-Model-V90-Type-review
    See the best new car deals -
    www.carwow.co.uk/new-car-deals
    Awkward haggling is a thing of the past with carwow. Choose your perfect car with our configurator tool and let the country’s best dealers compete over you. Compare the five best offers by price, location and dealer ratings and choose the one that’s right for you - no hassle, no haggling, just a great deal.
    Visit our site to save money on your new car - www.carwow.co.uk/
  • Autos & VehiclesAutos & Vehicles

Comments • 2 021

  • Philip Collier
    Philip Collier Day ago

    I saw one of these in a supermarket car park earlier. I didn’t realise how big the damn thing is! It’s vast! Like a massive old shape Prius. Yeah, I said it. Fight me 🥊🤫

  • Mir world cricket Dude xaina Rajbanshi

    proud of Elon musk and his team.

  • Bhawna Singhal
    Bhawna Singhal 2 days ago

    Cool

  • DanieI Joseph
    DanieI Joseph 2 days ago +1

    Tesla P100D & German: tvclip.biz/video/WTKhWeYCGPY/video.html

  • shams mughal
    shams mughal 2 days ago

    nice car

  • antonio volpe
    antonio volpe 3 days ago +1

    different size tires front and rear was a deal breaker for me

  • Eeshachandra P
    Eeshachandra P 3 days ago

    OMG Tesla

  • Deep Dutta
    Deep Dutta 5 days ago

    I love this guy's reviews.

  • Ollie Ollie
    Ollie Ollie 7 days ago

    Those gulwing doors would get fucked up on the first trip to Morrisons 😂 or... If you can afford one of these Waitrose!

  • Genius Marc Says
    Genius Marc Says 9 days ago

    that's not an SUV

  • CJ official
    CJ official 9 days ago +1

    peace of crap, very plasticy . after 4 years the car will start need sooooo much repair than a normal car... and I live in the UAE(worm) so the car battery is getting bad after 2 years. it lost it's value more than any other car.

  • Bibin Baby
    Bibin Baby 10 days ago

    Where is this place?

  • Cameron Hollis
    Cameron Hollis 12 days ago

    Ugly vehicle line. Excellent technology. And I agree it's not an SUV. But the false use of the SUV label is helping sales.
    Now if Karma Automotive can invest in a SUV and merge with WorkForce to create an all electric car company with an entire vehicle lineup, Tesla would be forced to improve their looks, finish quality, and possibly price themselves into reality. But that's just me. I'm not an Apple fan. As such, excluded from the cool kids. Perhaps that's why I see Tesla as a hyped up, overpriced fad. Once I see the new roaster, in the flesh, I may have a change of heart. As it is now the bland, stale styling expired years ago.
    Cheers!

  • Iwo
    Iwo 14 days ago

    X3 m40i is propably the best Bmw in their lineup right now. It just hits all the boxes

  • Dezel
    Dezel 15 days ago

    Doors no good in the rain

  • gs032009
    gs032009 15 days ago

    The funniest car review videos!:-)

  • Parker Rappoport
    Parker Rappoport 16 days ago

    I like it, even being an American. Starting it, getting straight to the video!

  • Han Hui Tan
    Han Hui Tan 16 days ago

    Four attempts to close the front trunk, also four attempts for Elon Musk to launch his SpaceX Falcon I rocket. So shutting up a Model X's front trunk is actually as difficult as launching a rocket lol.

  • Lost Child
    Lost Child 16 days ago

    It should of been a left hand drive instead of right hand.

  • SAAD Vlogs
    SAAD Vlogs 18 days ago

    When he said within eleven inches and then suddenly Tesla X tries to hit him 😝😂 Elon musk moments

  • Daniel belousov
    Daniel belousov 18 days ago

    In one word tesla is apple in cars.

  • AssRamming FatPeople
    AssRamming FatPeople 19 days ago

    this car looks amazing, until you get to the rear half, which looks hideous, like a giant sat on a normal, square SUV, and turned it into this. However, the third row of seats looks fine, until you want to look outside, which you could do better in the second row of a Mustang.

  • billie dharmajaya
    billie dharmajaya 20 days ago

    The beautiful electric vehicles ever

  • sandip ghoshal
    sandip ghoshal 22 days ago

    It's not going to pollute the environment. Where r u going to drive ur bio fuel driven car if there's no earth. Great work.

  • HeadingForTomorrow
    HeadingForTomorrow 22 days ago

    Why is the infotainment and navigation so slow?

  • sony hardi
    sony hardi 24 days ago

    just make old fashion car

  • Ninooooo
    Ninooooo 26 days ago +1

    Don’t really like this car at all. It’s like they put no thought in to the design of the interior or exterior.

  • Martin Evans
    Martin Evans 27 days ago

    Cheaply made car

  • piperbob2
    piperbob2 28 days ago

    Are young children safe in the car ? Does the car give off electro-magnetic microwaves ?

  • Sakru100
    Sakru100 Month ago

    This is my dream car 😄

  • Rahma Abkanu
    Rahma Abkanu Month ago

    I love it my dad has one

  • Wolf Reviewing
    Wolf Reviewing Month ago

    sop beacuse its electric if you happen to be taller it would forcefull shut on your head and also the seats will FORcefully go back on you beacuse its automatic .... thats safe

  • OrthodoxTrueFaith
    OrthodoxTrueFaith Month ago

    Tesla best car manufacturer ever!

  • Cesc Fabregas
    Cesc Fabregas Month ago +1

    i really dont like the form of the car its just looks ugly and even like a very old design. like the first hybrids that came toyota or something.. at 7:58 it looks soo weird and ugly

  • DoubleDeckerAnton
    DoubleDeckerAnton Month ago

    Those Falcon doors are amazing...!!! 😁👍

  • prankster gangster
    prankster gangster Month ago

    the design is futuristic perfect for singapore

  • LulzRoyce
    LulzRoyce Month ago +2

    Gotta say, great vehicles but those camry looking cheap wheels/rims need to go. That ridge in the back two seats also could be a serious problem lol, imagine getting in a car accident and your head going straight into that ridge and snapping your neck in half lol

    • Henri Bergeron
      Henri Bergeron 6 days ago

      I have a beautiful 2002 Toyota Camry with only 174,000 miles on it.

  • Iby Amir
    Iby Amir Month ago +1

    Idiot u need a cup holder at the back door as well use ur brain when the doors goes up will the bottle stay in it dumb

  • Osama Bukhari
    Osama Bukhari Month ago

    tell me the price of this one

  • eritrep9a petros
    eritrep9a petros Month ago +1

    klos yur maus Koreans

  • john john
    john john Month ago +1

    Stupid SUV of the future.

  • Abhishek Dev
    Abhishek Dev Month ago

    5:19 jus like da... jus like da
    So he spends half his day drinking tea and other half ignoring them??

  • Ollie Ollie
    Ollie Ollie Month ago

    Those gulwing back doors will be amazing in Morrisons car park 🤣

  • Dinesh Kumar
    Dinesh Kumar Month ago

    100k for fancy doors, nothing more

  • Peteto Chibs
    Peteto Chibs Month ago

    The towing capacity is 2268 kg! Do your homework!

  • Simon's Games
    Simon's Games Month ago

    U don't say anything about the transmission...

  • Josh Pizarro
    Josh Pizarro Month ago

    Tennis

  • Aaron Dbs
    Aaron Dbs 2 months ago

    This guy is to the point if you know what I mean

  • Vlad Afan
    Vlad Afan 2 months ago

    The falcon doors can open with only 11 inches of clearance- jumps out of the 3 feet when the door opens lol

  • Hannes van der Merwe
    Hannes van der Merwe 2 months ago

    Hi Mat
    I general I always like your videos, but it is clear you do not know Tesla and all it stands for. You say in the video that Tesla has a minimal design, but what you do not say is that Tesla did this so that your car ALWAYS look like the newest model inside, because they update that. Of all the cars in the world Tesla is the only people that fixes issues on the go. Do you know that only something like 30 Tesla's where ever stolen and only 3 was not recovered.
    I do think you are always fair with the things you say, but I also think that there is so much more to the Tesla experience and tech that to compare it with any other cars is simply not on. It is the MOST SAVE car on the road, so perhaps the guy in the Merc can save his money or even have a better interior, but he might loose his life.
    We can really go on and on.
    Watch this channel to stay up to date with all EV news. tvclip.biz/channel/UCMFmrcGuFNu_59L0pHcR0OA
    Have a good Day

  • PapaDry
    PapaDry 2 months ago +1

    Now the hype is over and dust has settled its evident just how crap these cars are. Rock bottom in reliability and you always have range anxiety. The second hand market for these will soon be a joke. Also the owner is a total douche who was jealous that some British divers found those kids in that Thai cave yet he came out with a useless submarine for the rescue that didn’t work. The guy now thinks he’s going to the moon but if the rocket is anything like the cars or submarine it’s got no chance of getting there

  • super Jenius11
    super Jenius11 2 months ago

    5:39 Tessa sounds like a very smart person

  • alexander takele
    alexander takele 2 months ago

    You must be a short man because that middle seat and 3rd row is for kids, not for a tall person (6ft)

  • R W
    R W 2 months ago

    How safe are those silly doors in a crash if you roll over. No silly answers please. Don't say it doesn't roll over. In a crash anything can roll over.

  • sili doyom
    sili doyom 2 months ago

    7 seater is Unnecessary,5 seater is enough.....

  • Nathan Morse
    Nathan Morse 2 months ago

    Not sure i approve of you sticking your finger in my 12v socket. .

  • Charles Brenchley
    Charles Brenchley 2 months ago

    The towing capacity is *officially* 1.6 tonnes. In reality it can even tow a 737.

  • Jason Gardner
    Jason Gardner 2 months ago +2

    "...stung by a bee and swollen up" lol

  • AMULET72
    AMULET72 2 months ago

    This fella and Doug the yank are the best car men on you tube.

  • sajad ghorbani
    sajad ghorbani 2 months ago

    Your shirt is great!

  • neeraj sharma
    neeraj sharma 2 months ago +1

    I call then pigeon wing doors
    😅😅

  • Rick Hustwick
    Rick Hustwick 2 months ago +2

    Good news! If Elon Musk continues his meltdowns, these things will be dirt cheap in a couple of years.

    • Peteto Chibs
      Peteto Chibs Month ago

      No, he won't. He got a hard smack for his Twitter blurps.
      They'll release Model Y which will be an affordable SUV like the Model 3. They are working on a complete refresh of the Model S and X with all-new interior. They hired the interior lead engineer from Volvo a couple years ago, so all new cars will have much better interior. If you have ever sat in the XC90 or S90, you know he's the real deal. The interior and the fit and finish has improved recently in all models. They also made premium options standard. You already got a lot more for you money with more range.

  • R W
    R W 2 months ago

    How easy is it to use that touchscreen when you are driving? You always mention it on other cars, but not in this one Mat. Why?

  • R W
    R W 2 months ago

    The interior certainly doesn't live up to its price. And in Mat's own word it's blumming ugly.

  • Hunter Of Liars
    Hunter Of Liars 2 months ago

    Petrol producing countries must be shuddering with electric cars becoming the norm.

  • horrnett
    horrnett 2 months ago

    why not include solar panels to self charge, the car is gonna be outside under the sun most of the time.

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago

      There's a large panoramic glass roof. No space for solar panels

  • A Miah
    A Miah 2 months ago +1

    Count your days smelly Petrol and Diesel cars, well come to the future.

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago

      Electric cars were built before petrol and diesel cars. They are not a new invention.

  • Juggernaut Pro
    Juggernaut Pro 2 months ago

    Does it not have a solar roof ??

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago +1

      +Juggernaut Pro yes

    • Juggernaut Pro
      Juggernaut Pro 2 months ago

      +R W sounds like wasted potential

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago

      It has a glass roof

  • Mike Lucas
    Mike Lucas 2 months ago

    Stop whispering to your self during commenting...idiot!

  • Lohith Ashwa
    Lohith Ashwa 2 months ago

    Wait...Which country was the video shot in? It has got right handed steering!

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago

      UK

  • The Doofus Channel
    The Doofus Channel 2 months ago

    4:15 that battery is to charge the car with. Sponsored by Duracell.

  • Jose Ornelas
    Jose Ornelas 3 months ago

    I like it 😎

  • Rian O Luasa
    Rian O Luasa 3 months ago +1

    The doors didn't open in sync

    DISSAPOINTED!!!!

  • madbrendan
    madbrendan 3 months ago

    where did the tesla model x rank in my top 10 list of electric cars? view here and let me know if you agree or not in the comments! tvclip.biz/video/JikFCcXsxKo/video.html

  • melville michael
    melville michael 3 months ago

    Hi am looking at the model x but i am not sure about the seating, five or seven seating to get, i do have a large family, but my wife have, so wuld say a seven seater would be better to get

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago

      A mini van is much better value for money.

  • tremann salh
    tremann salh 3 months ago +1

    kia sorento is way better and has more features

    • tremann salh
      tremann salh 9 days ago +1

      Jaimann we all no Tesla is a waste of money if you want more features you have to pay extra for that in Kia Sorento it comes in it

    • Jaimann Salh
      Jaimann Salh 9 days ago

      True i agree better than the model x it does not even has lane keeping assist

    • tremann salh
      tremann salh 24 days ago +1

      +R W true

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago

      And it's much better looking than the tesla

  • Loui Coleman
    Loui Coleman 3 months ago

    The Model X can actually pull a big-ass plane. How’s that for towing capacity?

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago

      +Loui Coleman lol. Whatever you say dude. Try towing a plane in your tesla and see what happens.
      And please don't reply. I don't like to waste time with tesla fanboys. No offense

    • Loui Coleman
      Loui Coleman 2 months ago

      What world do you think they did it in? Mars?
      It was a real-world example of the Model X’s huge towing capacity, regardless of it being a PR stunt. That car genuinely towed a plane. I’m pretty sure that counts.

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago

      PR stunts doesn't count in the real world

  • lostn65
    lostn65 3 months ago

    Why does he repeatedly stress that the car is expensive but didn't mention German luxury cars, jaguar or porches being expensive in their reviews?

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago

      Because unlike the tesla they are much better built and has much better quality

  • richie p
    richie p 3 months ago +1

    My father who is 80 waited three years for this model. Lots of problems with the touch screen and being locked out of the vehicle. When sitting in the front seat the ride is fine; the second and third row is terrible. Less than 300 miles on a charge is a joke for 108,000 dollars.

  • nattsurfaren
    nattsurfaren 3 months ago

    4:14 I see that Tesla put in an extra battery there in case you run out of juice. Very thoughtful of them :)

  • Hazzy-G
    Hazzy-G 3 months ago +2

    If you take this on the motorway can it overheat and go boom?

  • DANIEL 69
    DANIEL 69 3 months ago +1

    The doors are impractical

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago

      I wonder how they would open if the car went upside down.

  • Anton Eckert
    Anton Eckert 3 months ago

    What’s up with the random Duracell 😂

  • SizzlingStorm75
    SizzlingStorm75 3 months ago

    Well I like this car purely because it is simple and easy to use. It’s not complicated like some other competitors can be, it’s all just easy to use.

  • Lusio Çala
    Lusio Çala 3 months ago +1

    I wouldnt feel secure during an axident on that car

  • Karlito Bergkamp
    Karlito Bergkamp 3 months ago

    Bet it’s cheap to service 🤣🤣🤣🤣

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago

      You are joking right? It's definitely not.

  • Kelvo 69
    Kelvo 69 3 months ago +1

    3:23 The Mercedes S Class is a lot nicer not just a bit nicer

  • Meh I’m Bored
    Meh I’m Bored 3 months ago

    Which is better? Model X or S?

    • R W
      R W 2 months ago

      Don't like both. But at least the S looks nicer. X is FUGLY

  • chinqalicious
    chinqalicious 3 months ago

    DAMNIITT DAVIDDD

  • iLiketigerz101
    iLiketigerz101 3 months ago +2

    It’s the Tesla Aztek

  • G Howard
    G Howard 3 months ago

    Super technology, super fast, super convenient but for $100 Grand would I prefer a Mercedes S Class? That is the question bc after five years, I wouldn’t want either!

  • foxfam 99
    foxfam 99 3 months ago

    What if the front trunk opens while you're on the higjway? I didnt see anything holding it down if you accidentally press open..

  • Cannabis Research Ltd
    Cannabis Research Ltd 3 months ago +1

    100k are people that mad. Another reason that proves to me, that electric car will not become the main mode of transport in the U.K. for at least 50 years. Impossible.

  • liangxian wu
    liangxian wu 3 months ago

    How much p90

  • Teodor Kuběna
    Teodor Kuběna 3 months ago

    These guys are getting the real range of the car like insanely wrong.

  • Levis. H
    Levis. H 3 months ago +1

    I still prefere my Ford F150 V8. or the Raptor.

  • Ben Pegley
    Ben Pegley 4 months ago

    "The falcon doors can open with just 11 inches of space.....and smash you in the face unless you hop backwards a bit" - lol

  • Symlex Brn
    Symlex Brn 4 months ago +1

    Ridiculously expensive

  • Xinming Chen
    Xinming Chen 4 months ago

    Use this link to get unlimited free charge on Tesla super charger
    ts.la/xinming17543

  • ISURU THIWANKA
    ISURU THIWANKA 4 months ago +1

    I dont like it.. Look how advanced the Byton suv.. It is better than tesla...very smarter