Tesla Model X 2018 electric SUV review | Mat Watson Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 11, 2017
  • Nothing on the road looks quite like a Tesla Model X. It's not just imposing, its falcon wing doors are downright stunning, but what's it like once you get underneath its all-electric skin? I take an in-depth look at this futuristic seven-seater to see if it's the way forward or just a diversion.
    NOTE You can now fold the down middle seats - whoopee!
    SSubscribe - tvclip.biz/user/Carwow?sub_c...
    Save - www.carwow.co.uk

    Facebook - facebook.com/carwowuk/

    Insta - instagram.com/carwow_uk

    Twitter - twitter.com/carwowuk
    Read our full Tesla Model X review -
    www.carwow.co.uk/tesla/model-x?utm_source=TVclip&utm_medium=description&utm_campaign=Make-Volvo-Model-V90-Type-review
    See the best new car deals -
    www.carwow.co.uk/new-car-deals
    Awkward haggling is a thing of the past with carwow. Choose your perfect car with our configurator tool and let the country’s best dealers compete over you. Compare the five best offers by price, location and dealer ratings and choose the one that’s right for you - no hassle, no haggling, just a great deal.
    Visit our site to save money on your new car - www.carwow.co.uk/
  • Autos & VehiclesAutos & Vehicles

Comments • 2 110

  • Dorian Marquié
    Dorian Marquié 8 hours ago

    7.50 X) Matt your a genious

  • Chris Mod
    Chris Mod 9 hours ago

    It’s so ugly ...
    But nice quality car

  • Charlie K
    Charlie K 9 hours ago

    This is a 5 door's car?

  • supersport16
    supersport16 Day ago

    this guy is such a bad liar

  • ADEL RAAD
    ADEL RAAD Day ago

    It's ugly

  • Lee Ryan
    Lee Ryan Day ago

    Not worth the dough

  • James Meyer
    James Meyer Day ago

    Such an ugly car though

  • R Han
    R Han 2 days ago +1

    They do have 5 seaters i did not realise

  • Naor L
    Naor L 3 days ago

    Most futuristic car you can('t) buy .. look like a Prototype from 2000 that everyone dream about. and now when you have full electric car with crazy doors and huge screen, people still find on what to complain.

  • 2010axlslash
    2010axlslash 4 days ago

    Awful British accent

  • Astraeus Cro
    Astraeus Cro 6 days ago

    Great job , save Earth , move those oil cars away and drawn those people in oil

  • Robert Blackford
    Robert Blackford 7 days ago

    It’s not an SUV. It has very little ground clearance and would be totally useless for serious off-roading.

  • The Hollow Heart
    The Hollow Heart 8 days ago

    7:51😂😂

  • Dylan Lickteig
    Dylan Lickteig 8 days ago

    Hopefully they don’t park in a tight spot cause it looks like those falcon doors would hit a car when opening.

    • Dylan Lickteig
      Dylan Lickteig Day ago

      So you have to do that every time you park. Hmm sounds time efficient

    • Thomas Sittidang
      Thomas Sittidang 7 days ago

      Did you see the ghost riding feature at the end? The car can be move without you in the car.

  • baotran
    baotran 8 days ago

    Someone please send me background music at 7:37. Thank a lot!

  • Anton Markov
    Anton Markov 9 days ago

    There’s someone in the driver seat when the car is driving in circles. Autopilot is an aid! The car is not autonomous so don’t lie to people. I don’t know why you would do that just for the shot. You could even hear the car complaining about the doors being open telling that asshole behind the wheel not to drive. You could have bent the doors.

    • Anton Markov
      Anton Markov 6 days ago

      Thomas Sittidang Yes, forward and backward. It’s called summon. But only works at really slow speeds and never with open doors.

    • Thomas Sittidang
      Thomas Sittidang 7 days ago

      The car can be move without you in the car.

  • Logan Rundle
    Logan Rundle 10 days ago

    A f*** Lamborghini faster

  • Root6532
    Root6532 10 days ago

    Few things have changed since Aug 2017
    1. Middle seats are foldable.
    2. The supercharging network is huge and the car only needs 15-25min top up to get 80% charge. Not 45 mins.
    3. The car's onboard navigation and range estimation is very accurate and will tell you exactly where to stop for charging. (Route planner)
    4. The falcon wings are practical and work just fine. I own a car and I'm telling you. (Ignore the 13-year-olds commenting here)
    5. The fit and finish have improved significantly.
    6. The car has Autopilot Version 9 (Car sees with 8 camera's, Radar and Ultrasonics) and autopilot works great. (Requires full supervision of the driver)
    7. Tesla is upgrading its Autopilot HW suite to version 3 soon with a super-powerful computer that can handle their super neural network. (Means level 4 self-driving is close to reality) and any cars built with hardware suite 2.5 is easy to upgrade with a small chip plug and play.
    8. The car's onboard cameras can be used as a dashcam.
    9. Remote Tesla app is improved and can heat the car remotely (Even seats, steering wheel)
    10. If you install a level 2 charger at home you can 100% charge the car in under 4hrs.
    11. Version 9.0 firmware has activated all cameras and the car has blind spot detection, vehicle type recognition, pedestrian, cyclist recognition.
    12. New update enables "Nav on autopilot" feature which enables automatic overtaking slow vehicles and intelligent driving)
    13. The car UI is improved significantly and much pleasant to use.
    14. EU Tesla owners get Spotify premium lifetime to stream as much music as they want. (US users get Slacker I think)
    15. The supercharging network is massive and you can drive from north Norway to South Portugal)
    Few not so good things.
    1. No 360' parking view so still some blind spots when parking.
    2. The over the air updates can create bugs and sometimes cause error messages.
    3. Autopilot is still not 100% safe on normal roads but works perfectly fine on motorways. (Auto lane change is amazing)
    4. Nav on Autopilot is great but still need a lot of work.
    5. If you damage the car it can take forever to get it fixed due to slow parts supply chain.
    6. Customer service is OK and could be improved.
    7. The car's interior quality is still not that great compared to some other ICE vehicles like Audi Q7. (Nowhere near in my opinion)

  • Jay
    Jay 10 days ago

    With the Falcon wings up, this car looks like it’s about to take off on a runway.

  • steve turpin
    steve turpin 11 days ago

    I'm 6'2" and those door corners would hit me about middle forehead I think!

  • ron marninks
    ron marninks 12 days ago

    Thx to Tesla i can see the future at my age.

  • Aruna Solanki
    Aruna Solanki 16 days ago

    It looks like an SUV but gay.

  • Saint Etienne
    Saint Etienne 16 days ago

    Full charge = 180miles (if you're not careful). Recharge at home (with optional high power charge) = 6 hrs minimum. So that's 180miles and then a 6hr wait, somewhere . . .

  • Tikus Keriting
    Tikus Keriting 16 days ago

    Perfect car for serial killer...

  • Laska Hami
    Laska Hami 18 days ago

    BMW i3 looks better than this

    • Thomas Sittidang
      Thomas Sittidang 7 days ago

      LOL..the car look like storm trooper helmet. Sorry to tell you BMW will discontinue due to poor sale.

  • Laska Hami
    Laska Hami 18 days ago

    It looks ugly

  • Shabnam0786 Talib
    Shabnam0786 Talib 18 days ago

    It's a Tesla not a tezla

  • Sith/Adrian0
    Sith/Adrian0 19 days ago

    is this video sponsert by duracell?

  • Rizwan Syed
    Rizwan Syed 20 days ago

    Jaguar's electric car is awesome ..

  • Luka Steć
    Luka Steć 21 day ago

    Ale to brzydkie

  • Syed Mohammed ABDUS SABŪR ALI KHAN

    In India due to bad roads one sitting on the last seat of TESLA MODEL X.7 SEATER can die as he/she would bang his/ her head in that rear glass wind shield resulting death.

  • The Gaming Norwegian

    All these people in this comment section... Like oh my god... All the hate just cause its electric... This is the most innivative car since the start of this year thousands. Most of the people complaining cant afford it anyways... Stick with ur diesel or petrol car, see how far thats gonna get u. They will be banned by 2042, time for u idiots to realize electric cars and espeically Tesla has come to stay. I know that hurts ur heart, but its the truth. People like u cried when cars took over for horse and wagons aswell, didnt help them much. So it wont help with u crying either.

  • Nolan the dab king
    Nolan the dab king 22 days ago

    thats the UK so you guys drive on the right side but im in the USA so we drive on the left side so when i go to the UK I'll drive like you guys when im 16

  • WealthisoftheMind
    WealthisoftheMind 23 days ago

    Those doors would be useless in an emergency.

  • nouroz mehdi
    nouroz mehdi 25 days ago

    we have 2 teslas

  • Eng siciid
    Eng siciid 27 days ago

    Dream car I wish one day I will puy this car

  • Ichigo
    Ichigo Month ago

    it's so feline like, love it

  • Yvng Jayce Grxms
    Yvng Jayce Grxms Month ago

    Need to get a tesla falcon x from jaden smith for christmas that would be dope. Never gonna happen though.

  • Aziz The real one
    Aziz The real one Month ago

    Hype car nothing to like about it

  • davidhindu
    davidhindu Month ago

    Great car but not worth the price tag. For 60k USD this would have been a steal

  • WOJ3 _PL
    WOJ3 _PL Month ago +1

    What about the front trunk?

  • Warzed Arcanist
    Warzed Arcanist Month ago

    Tesla was a new company who weren't the experts in what they were doing. But slowly they have built better and cheaper cars. Model 3 is amazing. Has the highest safety rating of a production car. Better quality interior. Lower price.
    They have slowly found their footing. Can only expect great things from tesla now.

  • Warzed Arcanist
    Warzed Arcanist Month ago

    Those doors are not super unique. Meecedes benz sl300 gullwing launched in 1955 had them.
    Nothing against tesla. Love what they are doing. Just pointing out the mistake on the reviewers part.

  • Callum Burns
    Callum Burns Month ago +31

    4:15 ..... a sneak peak into the secret of Tesla Batteries

  • khushmeet singh
    khushmeet singh Month ago

    V GOOD

  • Kelvin Ham
    Kelvin Ham Month ago

    i like the look of rhe car, clean simple shape. This is the future.

  • NTH THN
    NTH THN Month ago

    Is it really an SUV when it's so low?

  • David Drake
    David Drake Month ago

    But it rides and drives like a truck! My Bolt has that fast whoosh acceleration too for 1/3 the price.

  • Lewis Hamilton
    Lewis Hamilton Month ago

    MAT WATSON,,,ALL LIKE BE LIKE TESLA MODEL X 2019 IMAGINATION IS NOT WILL WHEN SEE TESLA IS THE BEST TECH EVERYONE MADES ALMOT THE SAME CARS RIGHT OR TOTAL WRONG,,,,,VERY SIMILIAR BUT GREAT DIFFERNCES BETWEEN OPONENTS URUS TESLA Q8 EQC ETC EQC ETC ALL ALL GREAT GOES ITSELF ALL OF THEM,NO COMENT WHAT TICA PUPIN AND NIKOLA TESLA.TICA TESLA/PUPIN NEVEROVATNO DETE BRE I STA DECKO OKEJ STA OCE O=D MENE DA SLUSAM MA VEC SAM SLUSAO SAMO STAN DA ZAKLJUCAVAMBOZE SACUVAJ I INTERNET I KOMPJUTER TO JUEDINO I TO DA PRODAJU NEDOBIJU ZA CEO MOJ STAN 500 1000 EVRA ZA SVE U STANU NI 1000 EVRA.IU MENE DA PLJACKAJU A STA DA RADIMMJA SA HILJADU EVRA STA NISTA.

  • Lewis Hamilton
    Lewis Hamilton Month ago

    KAZE NAMESTENO NECE BITII A NAJLEPSA ILI NAJLEPSI BICES TII TI TIII TI TI TII ZNACI SVI SVE SVE SVI SAMO IZBOR U DIZAJNU OSTALO SVE TOP PEDANTNO I KVALITETNO ZA LJUDE KOJI IMAJU SITNICA CENA ZA AUDI TESLI=U CHEVROLET ZA HYUNDAJU ITD SEAT MA SVE CE SUPER DA BUDE I NISAM OPUSTEN SAM CEKAM SAD 6 I 55.

  • Lewis Hamilton
    Lewis Hamilton Month ago

    AND AMERICA S TOP MODEL FOR TOP RESPECT LIKE EVRY OTHER NATION AND HUMANITY AND PEOPLE DELETES EVERY EVIL FROM THE PAST AND STAR NEW CHAMPION CAREER EVERYONE ALL ALL EVERYONE.THANKS MAT THANKS FOR THE VIDEO,,,IMAGINATION IT WILL NOT BE FOR 99.99 PERCENT OF THE WORLD,,,SALE RENT CARS WILL BE HALF-NEW CARS IN SERBIA TONES OF METAL AND STEL.OOO YES OU YES IT WILL BE ALL BETTER TAKES 500 YEARS TO CHAGE MADES BUT EFFECTIVE IN INFINTES ALL QIALITUES AND GOODS.

  • amethyst
    amethyst Month ago

    Just li tha

  • Ranjeet sharma
    Ranjeet sharma Month ago

    Duracell inside a big cell.

  • rupin kanet
    rupin kanet Month ago

    Wish Tesla product looked more cyberpunk than atompunk.

  • 20sentryboy
    20sentryboy Month ago

    Really really hate the look of the white seats in the Tesla’s,

  • Tesla Official Channel

    tvclip.biz/video/sDlfq6wnWII/video.html&t=15s Tesla is giving away 100 Tesla Model 3 to a 100 people who will be chosen from the first 5000 members to join by subscribing to this TVclip Channel. BE AMONG THE FIRST 5000 MEMBERS. www.tesla.com/models

  • Philip Collier
    Philip Collier 2 months ago

    I saw one of these in a supermarket car park earlier. I didn’t realise how big the damn thing is! It’s vast! Like a massive old shape Prius. Yeah, I said it. Fight me 🥊🤫

  • Mir world cricket Dude xaina Rajbanshi

    proud of Elon musk and his team.

  • Bhawna Singhal
    Bhawna Singhal 2 months ago

    Cool

  • DanieI Joseph
    DanieI Joseph 2 months ago +1

    Tesla P100D & German: tvclip.biz/video/WTKhWeYCGPY/video.html

  • shams mughal
    shams mughal 2 months ago

    nice car

  • antonio volpe
    antonio volpe 2 months ago +1

    different size tires front and rear was a deal breaker for me

  • Eeshachandra P
    Eeshachandra P 2 months ago

    OMG Tesla

  • Deep Dutta
    Deep Dutta 2 months ago

    I love this guy's reviews.

  • Ollie Ollie
    Ollie Ollie 2 months ago

    Those gulwing doors would get fucked up on the first trip to Morrisons 😂 or... If you can afford one of these Waitrose!

  • Genius Marc Says
    Genius Marc Says 2 months ago

    that's not an SUV

  • CJ official
    CJ official 2 months ago +1

    peace of crap, very plasticy . after 4 years the car will start need sooooo much repair than a normal car... and I live in the UAE(worm) so the car battery is getting bad after 2 years. it lost it's value more than any other car.

  • Bibin Baby
    Bibin Baby 2 months ago

    Where is this place?

  • Cameron Hollis
    Cameron Hollis 2 months ago

    Ugly vehicle line. Excellent technology. And I agree it's not an SUV. But the false use of the SUV label is helping sales.
    Now if Karma Automotive can invest in a SUV and merge with WorkForce to create an all electric car company with an entire vehicle lineup, Tesla would be forced to improve their looks, finish quality, and possibly price themselves into reality. But that's just me. I'm not an Apple fan. As such, excluded from the cool kids. Perhaps that's why I see Tesla as a hyped up, overpriced fad. Once I see the new roaster, in the flesh, I may have a change of heart. As it is now the bland, stale styling expired years ago.
    Cheers!

  • Iwo
    Iwo 2 months ago

    X3 m40i is propably the best Bmw in their lineup right now. It just hits all the boxes

  • Dezel
    Dezel 2 months ago

    Doors no good in the rain

  • gs032009
    gs032009 2 months ago

    The funniest car review videos!:-)

  • Parker Rappoport
    Parker Rappoport 2 months ago

    I like it, even being an American. Starting it, getting straight to the video!

  • Han Hui Tan
    Han Hui Tan 2 months ago

    Four attempts to close the front trunk, also four attempts for Elon Musk to launch his SpaceX Falcon I rocket. So shutting up a Model X's front trunk is actually as difficult as launching a rocket lol.

  • Lost Child
    Lost Child 2 months ago

    It should of been a left hand drive instead of right hand.

  • SAAD Vlogs
    SAAD Vlogs 2 months ago

    When he said within eleven inches and then suddenly Tesla X tries to hit him 😝😂 Elon musk moments

  • Daniel belousov
    Daniel belousov 2 months ago

    In one word tesla is apple in cars.

  • AssRamming FatPeople
    AssRamming FatPeople 2 months ago

    this car looks amazing, until you get to the rear half, which looks hideous, like a giant sat on a normal, square SUV, and turned it into this. However, the third row of seats looks fine, until you want to look outside, which you could do better in the second row of a Mustang.

  • billie dharmajaya
    billie dharmajaya 2 months ago

    The beautiful electric vehicles ever

  • sandip ghoshal
    sandip ghoshal 2 months ago

    It's not going to pollute the environment. Where r u going to drive ur bio fuel driven car if there's no earth. Great work.

  • HeadingForTomorrow
    HeadingForTomorrow 2 months ago

    Why is the infotainment and navigation so slow?

  • sony hardi
    sony hardi 2 months ago

    just make old fashion car

  • Ninooooo
    Ninooooo 2 months ago +1

    Don’t really like this car at all. It’s like they put no thought in to the design of the interior or exterior.

  • Martin Evans
    Martin Evans 2 months ago

    Cheaply made car

  • piperbob2
    piperbob2 2 months ago

    Are young children safe in the car ? Does the car give off electro-magnetic microwaves ?

  • Sakru100
    Sakru100 3 months ago

    This is my dream car 😄

  • Rahma Abkanu
    Rahma Abkanu 3 months ago

    I love it my dad has one

  • Wolf Reviewing
    Wolf Reviewing 3 months ago

    sop beacuse its electric if you happen to be taller it would forcefull shut on your head and also the seats will FORcefully go back on you beacuse its automatic .... thats safe

  • OrthodoxTrueFaith
    OrthodoxTrueFaith 3 months ago

    Tesla best car manufacturer ever!

  • Cesc Fabregas
    Cesc Fabregas 3 months ago +1

    i really dont like the form of the car its just looks ugly and even like a very old design. like the first hybrids that came toyota or something.. at 7:58 it looks soo weird and ugly

  • DoubleDeckerAnton
    DoubleDeckerAnton 3 months ago

    Those Falcon doors are amazing...!!! 😁👍

  • prankster gangster
    prankster gangster 3 months ago

    the design is futuristic perfect for singapore

  • LulzRoyce
    LulzRoyce 3 months ago +2

    Gotta say, great vehicles but those camry looking cheap wheels/rims need to go. That ridge in the back two seats also could be a serious problem lol, imagine getting in a car accident and your head going straight into that ridge and snapping your neck in half lol

    • Henri Bergeron
      Henri Bergeron 2 months ago

      I have a beautiful 2002 Toyota Camry with only 174,000 miles on it.

  • Iby Amir
    Iby Amir 3 months ago +1

    Idiot u need a cup holder at the back door as well use ur brain when the doors goes up will the bottle stay in it dumb

  • Osama Bukhari
    Osama Bukhari 3 months ago

    tell me the price of this one

  • eritrep9a petros
    eritrep9a petros 3 months ago +1

    klos yur maus Koreans

  • john john
    john john 3 months ago +1

    Stupid SUV of the future.

  • Abhishek Dev
    Abhishek Dev 3 months ago

    5:19 jus like da... jus like da
    So he spends half his day drinking tea and other half ignoring them??

  • Ollie Ollie
    Ollie Ollie 3 months ago

    Those gulwing back doors will be amazing in Morrisons car park 🤣