Sony a9 II & Canon 1DX III predictions, PORTRAITS review, Nerdy stuff (TC LIVE)

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 19, 2019
  • Head to squarespace.com/Chelsea to save 10% off your first website or domain with code “CHELSEA”
    Our Lightroom Presets are special: sdp.io/presets
    Check out Roxy's awesome Instagram rocksea
    Join Chelsea & Tony Northrup every Thursday for the latest photo news and photo reviews. This episode - PORTRAIT photo review, and general nonsense. Submit your best portrait at sdp.io/submit (one photo per episode, please).
    Music provided by affiliate: share.epidemicsound.com/Tony

Comments • 90

  • catherineC0000kie
    catherineC0000kie 9 days ago

    Haha I'm the model on the minute 31 :) if you want to check more of my modeling work check my insta @catarinafoxy

  • Zangeef Fangsteen
    Zangeef Fangsteen 18 days ago +1

    6K30? Are you joking? Sony can't even do 4K 10-bit because A9 II has to be crippled for Sony's FX6 and FX9

  • andrew moung
    andrew moung 19 days ago

    Still waiting on EOS R and RP review on new firmware that supposedly increased a lot on eyeAF distance and AF tracking.

  • Davin Phelps
    Davin Phelps 24 days ago

    Tony! I'm trying to decide between these two cameras, my business is split 50% photo and 50% video. I am heavily invested in Canon glass so I am leaning toward the Canon (do you think Canon glass will look just as good on a Sony with an adapter?) But it seems like mirrorless might be the better option, so maybe I should go with the Sony?

  • Руслан Ахметов

    Canon updated firmware for EOS R. We are expecting your review about it.

  • John NYC ; ]
    John NYC ; ] 25 days ago

    Hey guys when’s the 90D review coming !?! Can’t wait 😊

  • x47plm
    x47plm 25 days ago +1

    Our dog loves to watch TV, she even attacks it when there are aggressive animals on screen.

    • x47plm
      x47plm 24 days ago

      @Tony & Chelsea Northrup She is a black lab/border collie mix .

    • Tony & Chelsea Northrup
      Tony & Chelsea Northrup  24 days ago

      Interesting, what breed of dog?

  • Edward Neuman
    Edward Neuman 25 days ago

    Hopfully that D860 will have dual CF Express slots

  • MuDv4yNe
    MuDv4yNe 25 days ago +1

    Ah number 63 at 11:26 is mine haha. Third time I try to get an assessment from you. Just for the fun. I'm just a guy with a camera.

  • Michael Ogden
    Michael Ogden 25 days ago

    Matt, Chelsea, and Tony on my birthday! How cool!

  • ThothHeart Maat
    ThothHeart Maat 25 days ago

    I just noticed in the new movie ad Astra they frame some headshots with the top of the head cut off and I was like... Wahhaahah?

  • ThothHeart Maat
    ThothHeart Maat 25 days ago

    Tony and I, Chelsea .. Tony and I...

  • Singh’s Things
    Singh’s Things 26 days ago

    I don’t understand why everyone not only you wants to make video on thing, which you people dont even have a clue what is going to be looks and features like. What makes you to thing like this? It makes matter if Nikon, Canon, Sony have asked your opinion for improvement areas.

  • Eric Guel
    Eric Guel 26 days ago

    What's up with Chelsea falling down the trap door at 5:52?

  • Michael Casey On Guitar
    Michael Casey On Guitar 26 days ago +2

    56:01 .Thank you for looking at my photo , and thanks for the kind words. I had to do a lot of editing on that photo. there were a lot of trees and walls being her. i also exposed for the backgrounds so that I could get the blue from the sky in. If anyone wants to see more of those photos I did with her check out my Instagram @jm_photography_25. Thank you :)

  • Anthony Johnston
    Anthony Johnston 26 days ago

    I feel like the green skin comes from the shows/movies we watch. All the netflix shows i watch seem to have a green tint which if im not wrong comes with the cinema cameras like the RED cameras. Maybe we see it so often in TV that we try to re-create those cinematic looks.

  • The Don DeLuxe
    The Don DeLuxe 26 days ago +1

    Sony sensors make nordic skin tones look green. That was kind of a joke but not really :-)

  • Marion Hinzman
    Marion Hinzman 26 days ago

    PLEASE MAKE A VIDEO ABOUT THE SAMSUNG GALAXY NX CAMERA. This is such a wonderful camera and I love using it. I have all three Samsung Android cameras. I started with the Samsung Galaxy Camera then I bought the Samsung Galaxy Camera 2 and finally I bought the Samsung Galaxy NX Camera. I love all three of these cameras. I even love letting my family and friends use the Galaxy Camera or Galaxy Camera 2 both in auto mode and letting them go off all day or week or however long and letting them just shoot as many photos and videos as they want. I also love that all three of these cameras are android which is how I share my photos and videos with my Google Photos account. I am very simplistic and minimalist and with new features from apple, I have decided to use my iPhone exclusively for color grading and editing videos with my iPhone. I also use Lightroom on my iPhone with a preset that I will create for each new batch of photos, so all they photos from an shoot or event will look the same. The only app outside of my iPhone or Android Samsung Galaxy Camera 1 and 2 as well as my Galaxy NX Camera, is iMovie on my Mac Laptop. I still use iMovie on my iPhone but it is severely limited and much more fully featured on the Computer vs the iPhone. Still usable on the phone though, just want that to be said. Anyway, PLEASE DO A VIDEO ABOUT THE SAMSUNG GALAXY NX AND SAMSUNG GALAXY CAMERA 1 & 2 PLEASE.

  • Rick Green
    Rick Green 27 days ago

    Green cast can come from existing light/reflections. However intentionally making someone green is a choice. I don't believe it is a good choice unless you are raiding area 51 :)

  • Jeff Rendered
    Jeff Rendered 27 days ago

    A9II is going to be a beast!

  • michael p
    michael p 27 days ago

    CFexpress Sony! Please. You're like Apple with their lightning port. Just get with the future man 🎯

  • StevenWayneJones
    StevenWayneJones 27 days ago +1

    I wanted you to know that this episode was on my birthday!! I hope to meet you guys some day. I just bought a Mavic Pro 2 btw. Excited!!!

  • Cam 68
    Cam 68 27 days ago +1

    The A9II would be great with CF Express...perhaps the A7SIII will shed the SD relics.

  • Kirk DiRubio
    Kirk DiRubio 27 days ago

    Tony And Chelsea, Not sure if you can do this because of Square Space? How about making a quick video about about Adobe Portfolio. Is it worth using if you are a Creative Cloud member. Also explain domain names and wether it's worth using their free domain name or buying your own domain name. If you can not make a video, then please reply back with anything useful.

  • Butterfly Lilly ASMR
    Butterfly Lilly ASMR 27 days ago +2

    You can tell Chelsea and her dad have a good back and forth Tony should be proud of her dose Chelsea have her own TVclip channel? Good video new sub

    • Butterfly Lilly ASMR
      Butterfly Lilly ASMR 23 days ago +1

      @JS D you guys are funny one she 30 something and saying that’s so wrong and err no seriously I’m sure married to someone just keeps it private 😊

    • Scott Mathieson
      Scott Mathieson 24 days ago +1

      Pmsl 😂😂😂

    • JS D
      JS D 27 days ago +1

      Husband.

  • Vladislav Boutorine
    Vladislav Boutorine 27 days ago +1

    Green faces, Sony's trade mark

  • The Beard Dream
    The Beard Dream 27 days ago

    I have a pug and he ALWAYS barks at certain things on the TV. He actually knows exactly when dogs are in movies.

  • Dirk van Vegchel
    Dirk van Vegchel 27 days ago +1

    Thank you for your kind words and critique on my photo at 8:35! The doll-look was indeed deliberate. I wanted to change the title of the photo into "The Doll", but I already submitted it. Inspiring to see so many different styles every time!

  • Nilo Fido
    Nilo Fido 27 days ago

    Hi T&C...
    Having had a look at Roxy's instagram, great feed by the way, I am not sure that you undrstand the difference between soft focus and light control; Roxy's feed has exceptional lighting control and the portraits are full of details that are rendered kind of smooth by the lighting; whilst soft focus aims at addressing the same issue of skin smooting also looses details. In the old days some particular lenses were used, maily low quality optics, some filters were used to introduce some kind of diffraction like effect, vaseline as mentioned and the old trick of streching a silk tight in front of the lens.
    If you have the time have a look at my submission No 97 in the feed titled Nancy, it is a full res jpeg 10Mb at 300dpi, start zooming in and you will see every single hair, every single skin pore as well as every bit of make up imperfection; however when you look at the full image it appears to be soft; the lighting used was a 10 inch fresnel box as key light, a 20x60 inch floor softbox at an angle of 40 degrees from the floor(more or less) and a strib box as backgrond light. A mix of hard and soft light, the hard one to give definition and details and the soft light to smooth the transitions; if I would have used a soft focus technique I would have softened the image but lost details.

  • Anthony M
    Anthony M 27 days ago +4

    Not everyone is an American. 💕🇺🇸🇺🇸

  • GapBahnDirk
    GapBahnDirk 27 days ago

    When using a mirror, IBIS does not show up in real time, so that is probably why we are not seeing IBIS in DSLRs.

  • simianinc
    simianinc 27 days ago

    The first game of the Rugby World Cup starts in 90 minutes. It’s a shame that the Sony A9 II wasn’t ready, as it’s probably the first and only time a second-tier rugby nation like Japan hosts. It would have been a auspicious occassion for Sony’s launch, although maybe none of the pros would want to be a guinea pig for the new hardware

  • Trevor Ker-Lewis
    Trevor Ker-Lewis 27 days ago +2

    Could be the photographer is red and green colour blind, not noticing the green in the shot.

  • Marcus Brown
    Marcus Brown 27 days ago

    Speaking of camera prices. I plan to upgrade my camera this fall, are there pretty damn good camera deals on black friday/cyber monday usually?

  • Predrag Milasinovic
    Predrag Milasinovic 27 days ago +1

    Mr. Tony Northrup looks like young Charlie Chaplin. :)

  • Derek Watson
    Derek Watson 27 days ago

    where is the chit chat ? ? ?

  • Pete Magnussen
    Pete Magnussen 27 days ago +2

    I think they corrected the rumor and Sony said that they will be there - just will appear later in the list or something?
    nice video again! :) love to watch you! :)

  • TimberGeek
    TimberGeek 28 days ago +1

    Portraits is always a bit of a challenge for me, I work in a no photography zone and live in the middle of nowhere. I really need to get a mannequin.

  • Saul Calderon
    Saul Calderon 28 days ago +1

    Square space, Square space, Square space, Square space, Square space, Square space, Square space, Square space, Square space

  • William Borges
    William Borges 28 days ago +1

    Green skin? Isn't it possible that there are a lot of uncalibrated monitors out there?

  • Nestor Camacho
    Nestor Camacho 28 days ago

    Chelse's new Lightroom Preset is going to be called "GTGOOP - Get The Green Out Of People" LOL

  • Nestor Camacho
    Nestor Camacho 28 days ago

    Matt Granger? wasn't there anyone else available LOL Just kidding, love Matt and he is such a great educator :-) Been following him since he was That Nikon Guy, even though I always have shot with Canon hahaha

  • william neuman
    william neuman 28 days ago

    So close. The second photo picked was right next to mine. At least I got to see it in the mix so that's a start. Hopefully one day my photo will get reviewed.

  • Arthur Johnson
    Arthur Johnson 28 days ago

    Chelsea, I love you - who doesn’t?- but watching you agonize over Sony vs. (possible) Nikon devotion is so, well, frustrating? Dramatic? Endless? Suggestion: “Why can’t you go on as three?”

  • Maria Mag
    Maria Mag 28 days ago +6

    Thank you so much for picking my portrait 16:15, I've learned so much from watching so many of your videos and books!

  • deer hunter
    deer hunter 28 days ago

    so many dutchies ... look at the names ... i like that :)

  • deer hunter
    deer hunter 28 days ago

    The feel of the Nikon bodies are the best from the D3 and up ... that they never put the D850 in a D3 kind of body i never understood ... a mirrorless in a D3 kind of body ... the ergonomics , that would be the best ..the quality feel is just awesome ... i am waiting to switch back to Nikon from Sony ... as soon they have a 60MP or 80MP Z8 ...especially the 16 bit I like, (Hassy quality)

  • The Long Haul
    The Long Haul 28 days ago

    you guys sound sick, so sorry, i been battling a severe chest cold for almost three weeks, get better soon guys

  • Cine Decodificado
    Cine Decodificado 28 days ago

    What is the topic for the next submission?

  • C F
    C F 28 days ago

    What I would really like to know is what type of cards the a9II will be taking.

  • Zaid Alamiri
    Zaid Alamiri 28 days ago

    Can you guys do the photo critique without crop crop crop crop crop crop crop
    Great show thu

  • Andrew
    Andrew 28 days ago

    That was interesting and fun 😁

  • Gordon Pilcher
    Gordon Pilcher 28 days ago +1

    Hi FROM Australia

  • thisaccountisfake
    thisaccountisfake 28 days ago

    All I want is a great 5D5

  • Andrew
    Andrew 28 days ago

    I like the one pixel you have running around 🐶

  • mikewinburn
    mikewinburn 28 days ago +2

    Not sure I'm excited about the 1dx3... seems incremental upgrade at best.

  • Momchil Yordanov
    Momchil Yordanov 28 days ago

    Why $5000? Sony a9 is $3500. Why would they release the new model like 50% more expensive? Companies rarely do that, right?

  • Paul Fujita
    Paul Fujita 28 days ago

    omg I have the Canon 135mm f/2.8 "soft focus" lens - I'm shooting fujifilm now but I can adapt it - maybe I'll do a series of "people after fights" but with the Canon "soft focus" set to MAX. haaaaa

  • papaya
    papaya 28 days ago +11

    Let's wait how canon will disappoint us again

    • DIY Astro
      DIY Astro 27 days ago

      @Cine Decodificado Yeah, I don't get why they removed 24fps, other than to differentiate from their cini line cameras perhaps. Other brands are including 24fps though, so it's kind of like shooting themselves in the foot. Having said this, from a practical point of view, can you really tell 24fps footage from 25fps footage? I shot some footage of waves at both setting and couldn't tell the difference.

    • Cine Decodificado
      Cine Decodificado 27 days ago

      @DIY Astro I agree, I hated the Fuji system, too much settings... Canon is reliable and easy to use at least, but removing 24fps and that 4k video crop is another level.

    • Cine Decodificado
      Cine Decodificado 27 days ago

      Maybe the next one will come in Black and White

    • papaya
      papaya 27 days ago +1

      @Southern Charity yeah, you have amazing skills at name calling random netizens on the net...

    • Southern Charity
      Southern Charity 27 days ago +1

      You sound like an Indian employee of a Pro-Sony wave marketing company. Is that about right?

  • Paul Fujita
    Paul Fujita 28 days ago

    It's interesting re: the "MILC" vs. "DSLR" debate - maybe the BigCamCo.'s should be using slicker marketing like "hybrid Mirrorless/DSLR" (serious). Bc as the stats show, DSLRs aren't going anywhere, responsible for SO MANY sales. Yet when Nikon updates a DSLR everyone goes "YAWN!" and it's not right. I get it, from a marketing POV, but in reality... it's a punch of a pertinent camera still...