It Chapter Two - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 6, 2019
  • Chris Stuckmann reviews It Chapter Two, starring Bill Skarsgård, Jessica Chastain, James McAvoy, Bill Hader, Isaiah Mustafa, Jay Ryan, James Ransone, Andy Bean, Jaeden Martell, Wyatt Oleff, Jack Dylan Grazer, Finn Wolfhard, Sophia Lillis, Chosen Jacobs, Jeremy Ray Taylor. Directed by Andy Muschietti.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 5 275

  • Dynamo
    Dynamo 3 hours ago

    Please do some of the old adaptions like christine,graveyard shift & dead zone

  • quacka 1003
    quacka 1003 18 hours ago

    I love the first one but this one was poor. Too many scenes going back to their childhood. They were all called back to defeat Pennywise but the movie kept going off course. I didn't care much for the characters. Not to many scares really. And what happened that little girl taken by Pennywise ? No police looking for her or fuck all ! I saw the first one was so good, i watched it more than once but i'll never watch this one again. 4 out of 10.

  • Horrofan Stanley Uris

    This movie was scary.

  • Paul Knight
    Paul Knight Day ago

    The attempt to try to insert humour in a story which has no comedic elements was a type of fail I've never seen before. The jokes felt completely out of place and only created confusion. It's like they didn't want me to take the film seriously. I'm not sure what they were thinking with that.

  • Eduardo B. R.
    Eduardo B. R. 2 days ago

    On a side note, what the fuck is this about dropping your bike in the middle of the fucking street? is this normal in US? cause it absolutely non existent in my country, small town or big town, that just didn't happen in any time period here, specially not now.

  • wani
    wani 2 days ago

    So many disgusting scene on this movie 😂😂

  • Mike Thompson
    Mike Thompson 4 days ago

    I feel that even though this goes against the movie...pennywise could have saved the drowning gay guy but ripped apart the bullies at the beginning to announce his return ! he also could have helped the little girl with the birth mark on her face but that may be asking too much. lol...but yes the bully thing would have been great

  • Justin Lee
    Justin Lee 4 days ago

    Movie felt so goddamn long and boring. They recapped too much. The first IT was much better.

  • Drax The Destroyer
    Drax The Destroyer 7 days ago

    I nearly fell asleep twice. I'm not against long movies I've sat through Blade Runner 2049, Avengers Endgame and Titanic more times than once. It was a bit sloppy in terms of pace.

  • Jay Gee
    Jay Gee 7 days ago

    Jessica Chastain was my wish for playing Beverly. I was so happy when she was cast.

  • Rafael Sirens
    Rafael Sirens 9 days ago

    The fucking start of this movie lost my gay ass immediately,but I stayed watching and it’s a meh

  • Jam Garbanzo
    Jam Garbanzo 10 days ago

    I'm very very hard to disappoint, and like pretty much every movie I see, especially horror movies. These two new IT movies are by far the worst movies I've seen at least in theatres. There's not a single scary scene in either movie, every bit of dialogue is cookie cutter and predictable, and people are so unrealistically cruel and have no believable motivations to me. I honestly am curious as to how anyone found these movies scary. The story with the kids is really good and great acting for kids as well, but there's no scary scenes I've found as of yet.

  • K. Santiago
    K. Santiago 12 days ago

    It's annoying when people say a film it's long but wtf was Joker?! 90 min?!

  • Rodney Jean Baptiste
    Rodney Jean Baptiste 12 days ago

    I just saw it and it was enjoying. I would watch it with the first movie.

  • c kerouac
    c kerouac 13 days ago

    For me, a big mistake from both of the movies was removing the weirdly creepy scenes what weren't really about monsters, like pennywise kissing eddie's mom at the hospital, the turtle and the spider, richie and mike seeing it's birth, and everytime pennywise started talking weird shit to bevvie. Those things made me actually uncomfortable when I was reading the book and scared me more than a pomeranian dog and an old lady suddenly transforming into monsters.

  • Richard Flacid
    Richard Flacid 13 days ago

    so much better than the original. that non linear crap was painful to watch. I like actors with charisma, thank you

  • Alex Playz
    Alex Playz 14 days ago

    Well I thought it was a good movie and great cast and I see a lot of people who didn't like the way pennywise died but... I see no problem with it I like the way he died

  • DOOMSRAGE
    DOOMSRAGE 14 days ago

    wasnt scary

  • Ali Taimur
    Ali Taimur 16 days ago

    This films problems most likely come from the fact that Cary Fukunaga is not screenwriter like the first film

  • Dark Justice
    Dark Justice 17 days ago

    ehh the movie wasnt scary at all the cgi was garbage and the hole movie felt like a fking comedy show :/ unlike the first masterpiece movie

  • Matthew Pierce
    Matthew Pierce 17 days ago

    I like the idea of watching a movie twice before I give a review I'm not talking any smack I'm just saying personally

  • Sendy Sess
    Sendy Sess 17 days ago

    love it

  • Peter Garcia
    Peter Garcia 17 days ago

    It sucked. So boring and pointless

  • Hi Daßer
    Hi Daßer 17 days ago

    -Too much one liners killed the movie character and actually turned most of the scary scenes into funny cause of their funny over the top reactions
    -the sound track made it like a Christmas family movie
    -the bully was revived for no reason he just escaped and died

  • ElderWest
    ElderWest 18 days ago

    Honestly had few complaints with the movie and thought it was incredible. I suppose I can understand if he didn't find it scary or terrifying, but I certainly did. I also felt the sense of dread, just like the first. Definitely going to get this one in physical form with the first.

  • Adam Douthat
    Adam Douthat 19 days ago

    This is a character driven movie and for its length the pacing did not bother me 👌

  • Pite B Gallows
    Pite B Gallows 19 days ago

    Neither of them were particularly faithful to the book, good nonetheless if you forget you read the book. I one day hope for a faithful adaptation.

  • Tai AG
    Tai AG 20 days ago

    I'd love to see a movie with Bill Hader and James Ransone as protagonists and be the exact same kind of character they play in It 2

  • aidilconsult
    aidilconsult 20 days ago

    Love the the scene that those filthy gay got beaten

  • youatemyavacados
    youatemyavacados 21 day ago

    My thoughts on this movie : *BORING*

  • Kevin Falaniko
    Kevin Falaniko 21 day ago

    Your uuuugggllly

  • TheDark Nite
    TheDark Nite 21 day ago

    Disagree, i got a free ticket and still feel ripped off: too PC, CGI, poor ending, not scary...Like 2 of 5. Max!

  • TheLeah2344
    TheLeah2344 21 day ago

    The beginning scene was so stupid. I don’t care if it happened in the book it was still stupid. The movie was also wayy too long. I actually fell asleep and I had to rewatch the last part of the movie again. I’m so glad I didn’t go to the movies and I found it online. ( It’s on 123 movies online ) Also I thought the movie was over the top and funny as well.

  • Jake Hose
    Jake Hose 21 day ago

    I thought this movie was fantastic...

  • TheIlluminatiparty
    TheIlluminatiparty 22 days ago +1

    didnt you realise it was STEPHEN KING in the 'unnecessary shop scene' ...........SMH

  • Hugh Mungus
    Hugh Mungus 22 days ago

    I really liked this movie. It could've been way worse. I think expectations were too high in my opinion.

  • laurie gallant
    laurie gallant 23 days ago

    yea just like the lord of the rings is just some short people taking a ring to a fire hole . you can sum up the best movies in history ,and make it seem like they could have ended it quicker. i liked !, how they showed stuff that the kids did alone . stuff that didnt actually exist in the first movie ,but they made it seem like it did . and they showed more depth to the characters. like the girl remained broken from her father so she dated someone just like him . and how richy was always gay and struggling. i think the movie was great . it had the feeling of terror as they barely escape there doom ,and the love as they come together after so long. i think a good horror needs all the emotions. not just all senseless gore. or all jump scares. or all sappiness . it needs a dash of them all. it gave me the same feeling as the original did . i felt for the characters .

  • Valkyria Lylatte
    Valkyria Lylatte 23 days ago

    *Was waiting all of chapter 1 for the reference to the shining*
    Chpater 2: "Heere's johnny"
    YES, FUCKING YES!!! IT FINALLY HAPPENED!

  • debzilla
    debzilla 23 days ago

    Whew! Sure is a good thing to know how to take Pennywise down FINALLY! Nope forget the clever ingenious book that Stephen King wrote and the not-so-greatly acted yet beloved mini-series in the 80s. Nope, this is it! To take Pennywise down, who is godlike and alien..ready?..... Mildly insult him!! Im surprised there wasn't a "your mama" joke in there.

  • potato 4eva
    potato 4eva 24 days ago

    Why does no one else think that Pennywise is shit in this adaption :(
    I feel like they Hobbited the IT franchise .. Curry's was SCARY because he was a man in make up A CLOWN.
    As good as Skarsgard is as an actor, the Pennywise he was given is just massively CGI'd and its not scary at all. IT's goofy.

  • Jay Maverick
    Jay Maverick 24 days ago

    Gawd this movie was so boring. It would've been much better if it was just a story about Bill Hader. That dude rocked in this movie. Everyone else was completely forgettable.

  • Sean Reed
    Sean Reed 24 days ago

    I stopped watching Midway it just didn't grab me..the corny jump scares and bad cgi 😒

  • TK Kirkland
    TK Kirkland 26 days ago +1

    The movie barely showed pennywise and when they did he wasn't even in the form of a clown

  • I hope So
    I hope So 26 days ago

    It was a terrible movie

  • Rachel M
    Rachel M 26 days ago +1

    I watched the film last night and found myself laughing tremendously and invested. It was good, however, I wish that they would have spent more time on the characters (especially Mike) and how they have developed over the years. I still enjoyed it, but I felt like it was really rushed in some parts (for it to be almost 3 hours!)

  • Sebastian m
    Sebastian m 26 days ago

    Ben-hur (1959) is only 212 minutes long.
    Dayumn, IT pt.2 is a long ass movie. This is where the saying "shit or get off the pot" came from.

  • Aaron Lowe
    Aaron Lowe 27 days ago

    The first bit that didn't make sense to me was why they blamed Mikey for bringing them back together, saying he shouldn't have lied. Seems like a scene was cut out.

    • Aaron Lowe
      Aaron Lowe 27 days ago

      Next problem. They all turn up at the townhall at the same time after saying they weren't staying.

  • Jed Jade
    Jed Jade 27 days ago

    I think the movie was pretty good, but not as good as the first. The biggest issue I have with the movie though is just straight up Pennywise. Sadly Tim Curry just did such an incredible job, and it has stuck with me my entire life. It had the humor that fit his "clown" character, while showing that he was also otherworldly, and also showing that he was clearly very evil, but in these films he just feels very... fake. He doesn't feel like he could be a real clown, but something's off with him, and he's actually an evil creature, like he does during the miniseries. He's a cool character, I like the actor, I like the take on the character, but it just doesn't hold up to me and that kinda sucks. The child actors did a great job, and I never felt like the adults in the miniseries were all that great so the new stuff is better in that regard, but Tim Curry is hard to beat here and it REALLY stands out to me. You could watch the originals just for him, and that's not the case here.

    I could say a lot more, but the adults stood out more, did a much better job, while Pennywise felt shoved to the back a lot, and didn't stand out anymore, and it made the movie worse for me. I'd definitely watch it again with people who hadn't seen it, but I wouldn't give it an amazing score.

  • emil engen
    emil engen 27 days ago

    They shouldn't have de-aged them. These scenes should've taken place a while after the first movie. that way they wouldn't need to de-age them.

  • mark Moynihan
    mark Moynihan 28 days ago

    I thought Jeremy Ray Taylor's De-aging was worse than Finn's

  • Toby De Nardi
    Toby De Nardi 28 days ago

    nice bebop shirt!

  • Jcab89 Boogie
    Jcab89 Boogie 28 days ago

    Bill Skarsgard is a HORRIBLE pennywise!!!! His voice sounds so forced. The dumbass director looked at what Tim Curry did and tried to make pennywise more dark and edgy. Just like every fucking remake lately. This shit fools dumbasses who enjoy Marvel movies, not me!

    • Daemonnoob
      Daemonnoob 5 days ago +1

      Jcab89 Boogie yeah, he was horrible. no idea why everyone likes his performance.

  • john doig
    john doig 29 days ago

    terrible terrible terrible boring boring boring

  • Phillip Bob John
    Phillip Bob John 29 days ago

    Revisiting IT vids to remember when this was a big deal until joker came out. Both were great movies no doubt

  • Kenneth Anthony Mckenna

    If you mr stuckmann would like to point that out.. from s fan.

  • Kenneth Anthony Mckenna

    Chris. I am very very surprised that you didn't notice the change when they jump into the sewers.. eddies bandage on his face is suddenly on this right cheek after being on his left, from getting stabbed.. the just minutes later .. Eddie.... no bandage on right.. just back to before his left cheek

  • Austin Becht
    Austin Becht Month ago

    IT is so much more than a horror story. I don't really care that I wasn't exactly "scared". The story has always hit me in very very many ways. And the movie was awesome. All in all, it's a great story. Enjoy it for what it is, we could have never had it to begin with.

  • Jeppe Dalgaard
    Jeppe Dalgaard Month ago +1

    I liked the fact it was long.

  • Pat K
    Pat K Month ago

    I completely disagree with you on how the perspective is not as good as an adult when they interact with Pennywise. Maybe it is not as impactful as it is when they were kids but Billy's fear as an adult was the gear of alloeing another Georgie to once again die from Pennywise. I empathized with the character because it was a feeling of hopelessness as you knew Billy could not help the kid. As for some characters maimtaining the same fears as when they were twelve, I think that is still realistic. Yes those fears can adapt as one ages but ut was nice to see a constrast where some of the characters had the same fears as they had when they were younger. Although I agree it was too long and if you simpliied the plot details to a few sentences it should not be 3 hours long, I think it was good that the film really didn't have a direction because IT is unpredictable and in reality it is more likely for characters to improvise on the spot rather than knowing what they were going to do

  • Anton chigurh
    Anton chigurh Month ago

    This movie was just awful