Arrival - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 218

  • Mikeyvike
    Mikeyvike 10 hours ago +1

    went with 0 expectations and it was good

  • Wendy Brooks
    Wendy Brooks 2 months ago

    If we taped his hands down, could he speak at all?

  • VeryEvilPettingZoo
    VeryEvilPettingZoo 3 months ago

    The movie has one flaw only, but it's a big one. The central sci-fi element that everything rests on is ridiculous.
    Ignore that, since otherwise, this borders on being a _perfect_ movie. It's one of the best sci-fi movies ever made. Ever.

  • Frederick X.
    Frederick X. 3 months ago

    Great cinematography, a simple concept (in theory) that allows the average viewer to understand the implications and follow along but enough complexity for tons of theorycraft, and overall well-paced. Excellent piece in my opinion, definitely worth a watch.

  • Alexandros Mograine
    Alexandros Mograine 4 months ago

    its well done, i mean when/if aliens ever come to earth, communicating with them would probably be very very hard, which is something many people dont think about

  • youhan younen
    youhan younen 5 months ago

    I'm late to the party but ill throw my opinion out cus why not?
    I study a STEM major. I say this because, in my opinion, majors like English, psychology, sociology are pointless. there is no real need for them. I study mechanical engineering with a strong background in math and physics.
    this movie completely ignores THAT side of the story. there is a scene in this movie where Amy Adams erases a board full of mathematical equation to explain a sentence. That was a cringy, eye-rolling scene. The purpose of this movie is to say that STEM majors aren't the only important ones.

  • MAnuscript421
    MAnuscript421 5 months ago

    Alright. Alright phone.

  • Vivek Acharya
    Vivek Acharya 6 months ago

    I love you, Jeremy for giving this movie Awesometacular rating.

  • james johnstone
    james johnstone 6 months ago

    That final act blew my mind, was getting ready to be disappointed but oh my days complete mind blow

  • Agent Ziq
    Agent Ziq 6 months ago

    Speaking of Shyamalan, this movie reminded me of Signs.

  • steve perez
    steve perez 6 months ago

    It was a GREAT movie !! Wow can’t believe it took me 2 years to watch it. You know what kind of people hate this movie ? The ones that love to watch shit movies 😂

  • music cliche
    music cliche 7 months ago

    The suspence drama reminds me of Dan Brown's Diception Point.

  • Hays Collins
    Hays Collins 8 months ago

    I freaking love that movie infact Arrival is my favorite movie movie. Meaning not counting comic book movies or animates movies

  • OnyCirja
    OnyCirja 9 months ago

    How could you not give Interstellar an awesometacular since you gave this movie one? These two are basically the same movies.

  • Bowser115
    Bowser115 9 months ago

    Incredible movie

  • Mario the Plumber
    Mario the Plumber 10 months ago +1

    This movie is fucking beautiful... I am finally about to watch the new Bladerunner so I am very excited

  • Filip Bachta
    Filip Bachta 10 months ago

    Actually I'm disappointed that 500k viewed it just like most other videos where you literally sit one spot and just ramble on about nonesense. It's pretty obvious most fan base here on something I mean everyone just discussing how you look in video wtf.

  • Filip Bachta
    Filip Bachta 10 months ago

    It sounds like you just did coke and keep being vague... This not even a review

  • StoneHouse Tales
    StoneHouse Tales 10 months ago

    Damn, Jeremy. You need to keep that stubble and haircut...

  • DrabeLord
    DrabeLord 10 months ago

    Just watched it, Great movie! Would watch again.

  • Shy Bry
    Shy Bry 11 months ago

    For some reason, i like this camera angle. It reminds me of Theneedledrop.

  • Kymberli Shea
    Kymberli Shea 11 months ago +1

    Just watched it. AMAZING. Beautiful I gotta go watch it again...

  • Awful Walful
    Awful Walful Year ago

    This movie is dildos...

  • Nunya Business
    Nunya Business Year ago

    You were so right. Damn.

  • Spange
    Spange Year ago

    unreal that this gets a higher grade than suicide squad lol

  • Des Morga
    Des Morga Year ago

    SPOILER:




    Just watched it. Seems really inspired by Slaughterhouse-Five's aliens and even the books structure. Could be wrong.
    Edit: Holy sh*t Kermode agrees.

  • JabberCT
    JabberCT Year ago

    If you have Amazon Prime, its available. Saw it last night. Great movie.

  • Antoine Obeid
    Antoine Obeid Year ago

    but i didn't like how they explained the twist at the end, in the climax of the movie we understand everything, thus showing us in the end what we understand in the climax made me feel the director think we are dumb and could not understand the movie just from the climax

  • Seven Ellen
    Seven Ellen Year ago

    It would have made sense if the aliens had opposable thumbs, as you need them to hold anything.

  • Mc Panik
    Mc Panik Year ago

    Are you all on meth? This movie sucked ...why ? The ending!

  • justun chan
    justun chan Year ago

    I think Jeremy Jahn's personality has reached its entertaining potential.

  • yugobepu
    yugobepu Year ago

    If you find this movie retarded then you are not smart enough to watch something like this :(

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald Year ago

    I loved it, my second favorite movie of the year behind Hacksaw Ridge, i can't stand all the people giving it shit because they were expecting Independence Day 3 or something, cause for fucks sake people, not every alien movie needs to be a big budget sci-fi war movie

  • Gravuuna
    Gravuuna Year ago

    I watched it literally just now, and I was bored out of my mind. Also the movie isn't as smart as it thinks it is.

  • moderndudeman
    moderndudeman Year ago

    mind blowing captivating movie.

  • ma403
    ma403 Year ago

    First you r blown away by this movie but the more you think about it, the more dumb it gets exactly like interstellar. sending scientists to raise entire humanity on their own my ass.

  • Cody
    Cody Year ago

    Arrival was a great movie! I can see this becoming a cult classic.

  • LightningRay Ray
    LightningRay Ray Year ago

    It was kinda boring tbh

  • Saucy Hitz
    Saucy Hitz Year ago +1

    The lighting in this video is so weird

  • Special Bear
    Special Bear Year ago

    You can't review your way out of a paper bag. This film is a pile of shit.. Christopher Nolan rip off

  • Special Bear
    Special Bear Year ago

    This is a fucking shit film. Absolutely bollocks

  • Darksider95
    Darksider95 Year ago

    This film is overrated af. It was boring, slow and Amy Adams character revelation was just cringe inducing plus the two leads talk like they were whispering the whole time. Throw in some cliches and it really isn't this masterpiece everyone's making out to be. I'd give it 3 out of stars max...

  • yagnesh ravi teja yrt

    Short simple and no spoilers 🤸

  • Movie Man Reviews

    Really? You thought Arrival portrayed humans and human nature accurately. Yeah maybe in the first 2 acts when they showed humans being scared, crazy, violent, distrusting, and stupid but then when she just calls some Chinese military leader says some crap about his dead wife and viola problem solved, some time later humanity is united and working in harmony bra blah blah... yeah no that's not a realistic portrayal of humans. Its actually quite unrealistic and illogical which is exactly what this movie was.

  • Cameron Bailey
    Cameron Bailey Year ago

    Abbott is death process...
    The real MVP.

  • TMONEY
    TMONEY Year ago

    hated it

  • Chlarence  Yu
    Chlarence Yu Year ago

    Really wished you'd do a spoiler talk on Arrival because imo it's a very close to a masterpiece

  • Sean Eredia
    Sean Eredia Year ago

    People was saying this movie is really good and I was underwhelmed when I saw it :/

  • (((Soundafek)))
    (((Soundafek))) Year ago

    You (humans) didn't evolve, you were created and perfect was your activity in the day of your being created until unrighteousness was found in you.

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald Year ago +1

    The people who keep saying this movie sucks are probably just little kids who were pissed that this isn't an action movie

  • David Smith
    David Smith Year ago

    i liked it

  • The Danj
    The Danj Year ago

    I've been checking out this channel for some years now, Jeremy doesn't seem to age, I bet he's Keanu's long lost brother.

  • Stablemable2
    Stablemable2 Year ago

    Its like "Close Encounters" but with the style of "Signs".
    The alien interaction had to be inspired by indoor aquarium/sanctuaries.

  • Vincent Bédard
    Vincent Bédard Year ago

    Just finished watching this movie and it blew my mind !

  • Max Schmerz
    Max Schmerz Year ago

    Great review.

  • Tin
    Tin Year ago

    One of the best movies I've ever seen

  • The T-Dawg
    The T-Dawg Year ago

    You spoil in ur reviews alot lol

  • Kevin Schart
    Kevin Schart Year ago

    not that good. all amy adams did was breath heavy through the whole movie.

  • meteora maidan
    meteora maidan Year ago

    From the poster of the film, I expected it to be surrounded by war but was presently delighted, more please.

  • Linda Heeringa
    Linda Heeringa Year ago +1

    i just saw it and i never seen a movie with more questions raised than answered. I get the movie is trying to show how humans would handle such a situation, but it's done in the most vague way possible. Why is abbot dying? where from? How exactly did they decipher the alien language? Do aliens read english all of the sudden? What did she say in Mandarin over the phone to the chinese general? was hannah her past or her future? or both? How did she suddenly see into the future? What was the aliens purpose? What do they need human help for every 3000 years? Why did the ships eerily tilt over for no apparent reason? Why did they leave again while NOTHING was solved? .... imma quit now because honestly.. why do i care? this movie gave me nothing to care for and my god it was sllloooooooowwwww. (kay i'll stop, for real)

  • Lucas Mroczynski
    Lucas Mroczynski Year ago

    This movie is mind numbingly stupid. It just expects you to drool all the way through... STUPID

  • duckster181
    duckster181 Year ago

    This was a TRUE Sci-Fi film, on par with the best like 2001 a Space Odyssey, Blade Runner, Gattaca, Day the Earth Stood Still (1950's one), The Planet of the Apes (1960's one) where its actual Science used to create a fiction that is Scientifically/realistically possible. One of the best movies to come out in decads

  • Robert Vazquez
    Robert Vazquez Year ago

    This film is a Masterpiece. Saw it 3 times! It reminds you of how Great films are Wonderful art! Enjoyed the review.

  • Stop the Philosophical Zombies

    This movie blew chunks.

  • Citizen Peng
    Citizen Peng Year ago

    this is no review, this is promotion. so dumb.

  • Tsumefan2
    Tsumefan2 Year ago

    this is better than watching the entire movie

  • Derrick Nichols
    Derrick Nichols Year ago

    she needs to quite doing Lois lane. She needs to start doing movies like

  • Caleb Gregory
    Caleb Gregory Year ago

    that phone going off looked like it pissed him off

  • Moses
    Moses Year ago

    It's the sort of high concept film that either you understand it and get mind blown like 99% of professional film critics, or you completely don't and label it pretentious.

  • Frank Griffin
    Frank Griffin Year ago

    I love this movie!!!

  • pdanderspetea
    pdanderspetea Year ago +1

    It was an interesting movie.... but I feel pretty overrated. The ridiculous time-travel magic language is just silly in a feature length film. I feel like it would have been better as something like a twilight zone episode. The whole military/china plot was just stupid (and supposedly not in the short story... which I'm guessing is actually pretty good since this is a really cool concept for a short story).
    I feel the same way about Arrival as I do about Interstellar. Both movies that pitched themselves as "hard science fiction" films that ultimately devolved into stilly magical nonsense at the end. I don't think either film was terrible, but neither were they the "super smart and scientific" films they were portrayed as.
    The Martian on the other hand, that was an excellent film with "mostly" solid science.
    If you want to go more into the fantastical then Contact is another film that does what these two films are aiming at better.

  • Narang g
    Narang g Year ago

    AAArrivaaaal mоvieее heееree => twitter.com/2907c432376879f08/status/859227530015920128

  • brofirst games the weirdy perrt

    Тhis mooviее is nооw аvaaааilааааblе to wаtссh hеre => twitter.com/78f5b60e613706e4f/status/849079421701115905

  • lopfi lottfi
    lopfi lottfi Year ago

    humans are so selfish !

  • barbara akey
    barbara akey Year ago

    This movie was a mishmash of crap , it was full of some sort of meaning that did not really impress me at all, the movie was dull and the ship was even duller, cmon let's get some close encounter ships with lights and some music,Bare clay walls don't really do it for me.

  • Strangerer69
    Strangerer69 Year ago +1

    Only people who like procedures and technicality likes this movie because it meets all the check boxes. But if you're actually trying to enjoy a movie, it sucks!

  • Arthur Schlecht
    Arthur Schlecht Year ago

    should of done a spoiler review

  • Catboys are Trad!

    Everybody is saying this movie is a "masterpiece" because it dabbles with the thought of non-linear time. I didn't find the movie to be particularly good, I mean it was alright, but far from a masterpiece.

    • F To
      F To Year ago

      Right. Just an ok movie. Calling this a masterpiece is ridiculous...

  • Dark Knight
    Dark Knight Year ago

    Finaaaallyyy I'veeee found full Arrival mooovie hereeee => twitter.com/1b17b07d42c4368f3/status/849079421701115905

  • Robert Sopin2772
    Robert Sopin2772 Year ago

    I hate this movie I mean the first half is good but the second half is bad

  • Bijit Thakuria
    Bijit Thakuria Year ago

    Watched it.. Little bit confusing.. Loved it though after I understood it.

  • Hulk Gamer
    Hulk Gamer Year ago

    Saw ratings and just watched it... just boring. Interesting idea, but too boring to ever watch again and really not worth spending the time the first time.

  • Comander
    Comander Year ago

    2. nest movie of 2016 hacksaw rigde was better.

  • Andres Cujia
    Andres Cujia Year ago

    This guy is annoying as shit

  • Ragin Redhead
    Ragin Redhead Year ago

    Check out my review for Arrival on my channel here!

  • Satvik Chethan
    Satvik Chethan Year ago

    Undeniably an awesome movie!!!

  • honeyhotsauce
    honeyhotsauce Year ago

    Omg!!!! I literally watch this movie right after seeing Doctor Strange back to back. And he mention it. Freakish coincidence.

  • Paddy McGrew
    Paddy McGrew Year ago

    facebook.com/Wibbly-Wobbly-Time-215035265642989/

  • George Diaz
    George Diaz Year ago

    how a random annoying dumb guy on a red background has more subs than Chris Stuckmann ?? i dont get it. He even says the same but dumbed down... and the video comes out one day later that Stuckman´s....

  • TILLEYJS
    TILLEYJS Year ago

    this was a shit turd of a film. so slow. the premise is dumb. It's a love story with aliens and some sciency stuff in it. so very unimpressed with this film.

  • Hathor Gaia
    Hathor Gaia Year ago

    I have to agree that it is awesometacular, my favorite movie of 2016 hands down...

  • malice
    malice Year ago

    Loved this movie.... until it ended. Because I never felt it really ended. Unless I know everything the aliens are up to, I'll never have closure and that disturbs me.

  • Cosmic Aurelius
    Cosmic Aurelius Year ago

    Am I the only that cheers a bit when he says awesometacular? No? Ok..

  • Hector Jiminez
    Hector Jiminez Year ago

    While I'm semi watching Arrival I've a Lil' bored with it obviously, so far Adams is also a lil' dull as the linguist...Just wanted to see JJ thought!? I'll suffer through the rest of this red box rental I guess:/

  • C.S. Daniel
    C.S. Daniel Year ago

    yes. it was great.

  • J.R. Ewing
    J.R. Ewing Year ago

    it was ok, I didn't see any love interest between Louise and Ian through the movie so it was kinda odd to see them just fall in love and end up together in the end

  • Daniella Sullivan

    I adored this movie. I definitely felt that the "twist" in the third act totally worked tonally.

  • Captain Cold
    Captain Cold Year ago

    Are the Chinese really that stupid? I mean common, we'd be like ants ants challenging a kid with a magnifying glass to a fight at high noon, if we ever do plan to strike first. Good luck with that... Stupid Chinese, hehe...
    But all kidding aside, good thing China didn't get offended by this movie on how stupidly they were portrayed or we might've had ourselves a China vs the World shit going on...

  • chrizbie
    chrizbie Year ago

    good movie but I almost fell asleep, I watched 10 Cloverfield Lane just before it so I guess that didn't help but I just found it very very slow and a bit boring, but not bad

  • newsjunkie3000
    newsjunkie3000 Year ago

    arrivals sucks don't waste your time.