Alien: Covenant | Movie Review (Non Spoilers + Spoilers)

Share
Embed

Comments • 571

  • Marina Melinda-Rivera Heacock

    Haha David be like: There’s no sign of intelligent life anywhere!
    Let the experiments begin lol

  • Marina Melinda-Rivera Heacock

    I thought the ending was perfect, I liked how they played with the fact Walter and David were twins and it was David’s coming to terms, I felt sad for Walter but I think the ending is a way of making the bridge for the third installment (in theory)

  • Marina Melinda-Rivera Heacock

    That’s literally how I felt!!! The visuals were amazing lol but Fassbender can’t make a good movie unless Mcavoy is involved lol. I was soooo disappointed by the story, I could tell what they were going for....but the story wasn’t as good as the visuals

  • Theyungcity23
    Theyungcity23 10 days ago

    There's no way they are going to explicitly connect it back to the original. They are essentially a separate set of movies.

  • Wonko Sane
    Wonko Sane Month ago

    Do you like to watch or experience? Oh baby...!

  • DomainofDotArt
    DomainofDotArt Month ago

    You could call the white Xenomorph the "Slendermorph". Also the reason all these crews make so many mistakes is because they only go on one mission their entire lives they don't have any real experience to deal with the issues they face.

  • Blue G
    Blue G Month ago

    Why can't I have both, Hollywood? You can tell this movie was made for today's moviegoers because there's this moment in Covenant when the xenomorph stands still as if it was thinking about taking a selfie.

  • txmoney
    txmoney Month ago

    Based on your review, I would love to watch Alien Covenant again to understand what you were talking about with regards to the visuals. I don’t recall being particularly blown away by the visuals. I mean, it was good but nothing stand out.
    I would love to rewatch, but the movie was so shit, it would be torture for me to rewatch.

  • Co All
    Co All Month ago

    Great review - I have to agree with you. The visuals were amazing. The story was okay. The crew ruined it with their dumb decisions.

  • RETiredGM
    RETiredGM Month ago

    Every alien movie is crewed by red shirts. They are fine UNTIL they go down to the planet. Ridiculous!
    Yeah, this movie broke my heart. I saw Alien in the theater. The "monster" was indeed scary, but the universe was what drew me in. Alien 2 was a great action movie, but didn't give me enough story.
    Prometheus kinda gave me what I wanted but dropped the ball in the last quarter. I wanted Alien Covenant to clean up the faults of Prometheus. Shed some light only to reveal an even bigger universe. Nope. It failed.
    After watching your analysis, I'm thinking how hard it must be to surprise scifi fans. We've come a loooong way since those corny, pre NASA, movies back in the day. I'm not making excuses for the terrible script and plot. Holy crap.
    They should have just gave us more Space Jockey/Engineer, and less psycho David. Maybe the aliens got out of hand, but in a different twist that doesn't tread on old tropes and cliches (Engineer/human live interests, Predators, talking Aliens, the Corporation has been in back channel communications with the Engineers for a few hundred years, the aliens are slaves and just want their civil rights (the aliens are clearly black, the Engineer are clearly... You get the point.
    They could have shed just a little more light on the origins of man, the messages found all over the world, the apparent policy memo changes that earth humans didn't get over the last several million years, that Jesus was a space engineering/human mixtape but he was born black so the engineers, being racist, abandoned earth fearing millions of years of back child support. Stuff like that.
    Seriously, I just think it's damn hard to wow us with all we've seen in damn near 100 years of science fiction.
    It like every year the three point line is pushed back further and further, making a goal that much harder to achieve.

  • SuperN0va
    SuperN0va 2 months ago

    "The Others" is one of those rare horror/suspense/thrillers wherein the characters aren't monumentally stupid, and the story does indeed work without that threadbare cliche.. It would be nice if, in 2018, directors stop relying on well-worn tropes such as idiotic characters constantly making illogical decisions. Someone should hold a meeting about this.

  • Dean Drake
    Dean Drake 2 months ago

    I agree with you who would go to any planet without testing for biological pathogens or wildlife or even plant life to support a colony ? The first Alien Ripley was the only one who wanted to decontaminate the crew and quarantine ......no other alien movie did that......the thing I tripped on was the spore pod the sopres infecting through the nasal passage and ear canal I thought was different kinda scary.....but no space suits no protection at all kinda bazzar......but better than "the last Jedi" and yeah I hope there is another alien movie

  • Felipe M
    Felipe M 2 months ago

    You have to be insane to enroll of a trip like that.

  • paxwallacejazz
    paxwallacejazz 2 months ago

    I feel no need to drop a dime on this film. Can't believe you didn't love Blade Runner 2049 that kinda pissed me off. Well I didn't unsubscribe.

  • paxwallacejazz
    paxwallacejazz 2 months ago

    You mean it's not the continuation of Prometheus? You know they don't go back to earth. You're right about a well realized space vessel. I was wondering why you were singing that ridiculous song. Yeah the original crew is concerned with possible contamination.

  • paxwallacejazz
    paxwallacejazz 2 months ago

    Have not seen it yet.

  • mudbutton2
    mudbutton2 3 months ago

    This movie was confused. About as confused as Scott seems to be about what's gone on in it. Another disappointing movie that could have been interesting and answered some of the questions raised by others in the series, but which turned into another slasher flick. Yawn....

  • ORVILLE FARTWELL
    ORVILLE FARTWELL 3 months ago

    It was an awful movie, bored the crap out of me.

  • Rak Nay
    Rak Nay 3 months ago

    I hate the ending because I saw an hour before.
    When they are going to scape and David fought Walter I knew exactly everything will happen
    After that was a predictable cliche after another.

  • Daniel DeMayo
    Daniel DeMayo 3 months ago

    Those CGI aliens were horrible though.....Oddly enough my fav. part was the flute scenes lol Why do they keep trying to put in a new "Ripley" just to kill them off or not even come close?

  • Rock-E Oldboy
    Rock-E Oldboy 3 months ago

    subscribed

  • George Murrell
    George Murrell 3 months ago

    Because it is in the script.

  • กรรมตาม คนโกงชาติ

    She look hot. Wow!

  • George Barrett
    George Barrett 5 months ago

    Hi Alachia.. did you do a seperate "Prometheus" review that I can't find?.. (you guess it.. I'm not overly computer proficient)

  • George Barrett
    George Barrett 5 months ago

    Tsk Tsk.. What a shame.. All of that top rate ciematography, wasted.. And I was so sure that it would be even better than "Prometheus".. Don't blame Ridley guys, I think he had somewhere worked with the script writer before and the Prometheus+Alien mix most likely wasn't Scott's agenda (the outcome was just TOO stupid.. unless he was suddenly stricken with a full blown case of Parkinson's+Alzhiemer's 2gether) and he gave Logan too much reign which he now regrets. The Alien parts should've been a film unto it's own, you're all correct.
    The original Prometheus itself could have been masterpiece level if they had given the further attention to the mltiple thematic avenues that the specific ideologies/philosophies being explored needed, more room to breath and fall into a relaxed, more comprehensive order allowing further exploration/development, another 1/2 hr-45'.
    I was really hoping for deeper diving and expansion of the many subject matter introduced in the original.. And I CAN'T believe that Noomi wasn't an integral key if not the lead again here.. I honestly can't imagine anyone else nailing Shaw as did Rapace.. Not Charlize not Jollie not anyone was as fresh and right on as Noomi.. And seeing imagery of her and hearing her voice only served to to irritate me to fullest, recalling the far better show. Consarnit, do they purposely bait you when it comes to the man-God-son-spirit themed circle, and then only to tear it up in your face?

  • Bytemare77
    Bytemare77 5 months ago

    I simply loved both, the story and ofcourse the visuals. Will watch it many more times in the time to come :) If you didn't like the story/script...fine, but everyone has their own opinion and I'm so glad I enjoyed both.

  • sprudelgolem
    sprudelgolem 6 months ago

    I liked that moment when she realized Walter was actually David but there's nothing she can do because she's about to go into hypersleep and he will probably do terrible things to everybody. That was a good horror moment, but it was an isolated spot in a sea of bad writing.
    Something I didn't like was that David had the same scar from the fight between the two androids that Walter had, bad nobody had seen them fight, so he had the scar just for the audience. I don't know, that kinda stood out to me.

  • Mike Shepard
    Mike Shepard 6 months ago

    ruined ... Scott pulls a G Lucas now... .-(

  • Rob's Hobbys
    Rob's Hobbys 7 months ago +1

    Alachia Queen - You give a solid review! Ridley Scott really did forget the Science in the Fiction. A perfect planet they know nothing about, "lets go without space suits!" "Ya, step on mushrooms and ahhhh who cares"!! 200k dead Engineers deep fried or extra crispy, ehh forget about that and creepy long haired David's room of horror's? Still no questions? Stasis pods with their own BBQ units right inside?WTF?WHY?
    True the visuals are great and on par with the Hobbit/LOTR's and the new Star Wars movie's, but those aren't enough for me to watch this blood bath. If I want visuals I'll look at the stars or watch fireworks. I come to a Sci-Fi movie expecting smart, intelligent choices and a story with questions. For example the movies (Moon, Sunshine, [insert more] can't think right now) Sci-fi movies should keep you thinking and not put your brain to sleep. BTW: If you've not seen either movies mentioned above, go do so! They are intelligent, great visuals, and just all around good.
    Alien movies have a tradition of STRONG female leads, Ripley, Shaw, Daniels..... wait scratch that last one. She was so mousey and frankly quite stupid in her decision making. They killed off Ripley in Aliens III( IMO:the worst movie in the Alien's movie EVER). Before Alien III you had 2 great movies where people are making smart choices and not just walking into closed doors left and right. In Aliens Ripley conquers her fear of the Xenomorph's and is filled with motherly instinct to kick butt and save Newt. Shaw loses her lover, has an Alien baby cut out of her body and she still goes on. Despite all she has lost she doesn't fold over and cry. She wants to know WHY damnit :)
    I really liked Prometheus and it did take me a bit to warm to it, but Alien: Covenant I never will. Having a strong female to step in when the guys drop the ball is something that is insulting to think that in the future 200 years every women isn't going to be on the same level with Men? That's just plain silly to think gender inequality will live on more than another generation. However, we have Mousey Daniels playing the weakly female part perfectly.
    This movie isn't even really about her or anyone else except David, Walter, and the messed up Aliens David created. Micheal Fassbender is one stand out saving grace in this chamber pot of a movie. He jumps from Walter to David and back again flawlessly and without a hitch. It's just to bad that he really won't get much credit for it. I think this should of been called Alien V: A No Hope. Brainless, bloodbath. I give the movie a D+
    Sorry if I got a little TLDR. I just feel so let down by this movie. Maybe I should make my own review? I really liked your's and I like your channel so I Sub'ed. Till next time "_:

  • Matadorstudio
    Matadorstudio 7 months ago

    I don't know why people hated this movie, I thought it was good.

  • Aaron A
    Aaron A 7 months ago

    These days, its very easy to make a movie that is visually spectacular. But the challenge remains when it comes to writing a good script. You need to have a good script and then make a movie out of it. If you just decide "we're going to make an Alien movie, so write us a script now", the results are unlikely to be anything great. If a movie is going to be made without a script first, it is most likely to end up like Alien Covenant… empty and stupid.

  • swordplusone
    swordplusone 7 months ago

    If the crew of the USS Enterprise beamed down to the surface of an unknown planet without environmental suits on, moviegoers wouldn't complain about the crew's stupidity. No one would even raise an eyebrow. Y'all should cut the Covenant's crew some slack. I mean, c'mon, they don't know they're in an Alien movie.

    • Alachia Queen
      Alachia Queen  7 months ago

      The Enterprise is an exploration vehicle. Its purpose is to seek out other life forms.. not to create a viable colony for other humans to inhabit. That's a pretty big difference.

  • David Evans
    David Evans 7 months ago

    What?? No suspension of disbelief for idiotic colonist? 20th Century Fox will let you review Prometheus 3 script, it will be delivered in a pulsating alien egg, stoop over and take a look. :)

  • Aristotelis Papageorgiou

    I believe that "Pandorum" is a SciFi movie where protocol is followed and yet catastrophe occurs...

  • Rain Winberg
    Rain Winberg 7 months ago

    In much of the review I will agree with Alachia. Watching the movie my biggest beef was the human stupidity and how forgettable they were, in one scene we see a picture of the whole crew smiling and I actually had to stop and try to figure out who the different characters were.
    However, though most people complain about that all (or almost all) the crew are married, it is actually a bit clever to me. If they were going to colonize a planet married couples will probably procreate sooner.
    The sheer amount of "twists" I was able to guess was also a bit disappointing, Oram is captain now? Well he's gonna overrule everyone else, ignore the original mission and be a bit of a dick. Married couple talk about seeing each other soon? well, she's a goner then. David cuts his hair to look like Walter? I bet he's gonna take his place and kill the other.
    It is not that I dislike that David turned out to kill Walter, but I had been waiting for that reveal for what felt like hours at that point. They could have skipped some of the scenes basically pointing an arrow at David blinking and glowing "THIS IS THE BAD GUY".

  • SuperBrokenFingers
    SuperBrokenFingers 7 months ago

    Even tho the movies she picks to sucker, are sucker ass movies with bad stories.

  • SuperBrokenFingers
    SuperBrokenFingers 7 months ago

    You look like a Power Rangers fan from 1996 more than a queen of "paying for my lunch" slave! Why do you talk about...ANYTHING?

  • SuperBrokenFingers
    SuperBrokenFingers 7 months ago

    Hey, sooooo....who gave you the title of Queen????????

  • Raiken Xion
    Raiken Xion 8 months ago

    great visuals, great music, great review

  • Mojokilljoy ricklesmits

    A little late but I think Pandorum does a great job showing a competent crew up against a madman, imo it's the one of the best sci fi horror films since event horizon but they make some defenantly questionable decisions in that movie.

  • konroth rec.
    konroth rec. 8 months ago

    you cant have both because hey cant deliver . simple as that .

  • Ian P
    Ian P 8 months ago

    All a willing audience member requires is a vague excuse to suspend disbelief so that they can enjoy the movie. Something this stupid simply makes it impossible. Ridley seems to think that he has actually invented the very concept of bacteria, ladles on pointless biblical allusions, cannot create a character arc, understand basic good humor... the full Lucas. Drives me crazy. Good writers seem to get absolutely no respect in the industry.

  • Pris Stratton Fam
    Pris Stratton Fam 8 months ago

    Alien Poop xD

  • Henrik Rothen
    Henrik Rothen 8 months ago

    Good summary. Great visuals, extremely disappointing script.

  • jocko11111
    jocko11111 8 months ago

    Hey QUEEN ALACHIA!......You did not understand Alien Covenant at all, it was a throw back to the Hammer films...think about it.
    It was Vincent Price meets DR Mengele in his evil castle. That is why the people and the script seemed like they did to you.
    The film you were hoping for would have been boring and flat and depressed.

  • Gustavo #TeamRaza
    Gustavo #TeamRaza 8 months ago

    Hello Alachia, I recently just watched the movie with my 14 year old niece, and I agree with you a lot, the part where they come down to the planet without protective clothing is so stupid that one can not avoid telling the movie "why they do that? " Because they do not send a zonda or robot first ? Why the captain goes to the planet? could not the others alone? So many mistakes !!! Even my niece already wanted them all to die for idiots, lol! But I must add that we then came to youtube to see some theories and we found the scenes deleted and many of them should have been in the movie, there are several where Walter interacts with the protagonist and there he sees that he cared for her, something that In the film is not seen at all, that's why when David tells Walter "you care about her" for me it did not make sense, if you can look for those scenes and also it seems that with the Bluray will leave some scenes before and after the Film, that if it is as some TVcliprs say, David will give a speech or message to Weyland companies and that will join more the film to what comes, apparently this video is called Alien Covenant Advient, sounds interesting, the wig was entertaining but without any compassion With most of the crew and everyone would have died nobody would mind that for me is a big mistake.

  • Sukhbir Sekhon
    Sukhbir Sekhon 8 months ago

    How come in Alien they have freighters that bring minerals from other planets to Earth but in the past as in prequels they send people to other planets. If Earth is failing why not move everybody to another planet.

  • Cyberdactyl
    Cyberdactyl 8 months ago

    First, wow, that is a most excellent review. I agree with 98% of your opinion.
    The only thing I disagree with is your objection to them going to the 'mystery plant'. No one went to Origae 6. They remotely evaluated it, most likely from the Sol system, so their evaluation is tentative at best. The black navigator said the 'mystery planet' was "square in the habitable zone, with 0.96g, land masses, oceans, high likelihood of biosphere" AND most importantly, "It's Beyond your most optimistic projections for Origae 6". Add to that, it was only a "few weeks" out of their way. A complete no-brainer to at least take a closer look.
    However, I couldn't agree more, the deal breaker and loss of immersion for me is when they stepped off the ship with out environmental protection. The film changed completely for me at that point.

  • takeshibeat
    takeshibeat 8 months ago

    Just watched it and had to come and check in with you straight away!! Hahaha! You confirmed everything I thought about it. Visually stunning, potentially interesting continuation of parts of Prometheus. All that though being completely ruined by terrible storytelling and hilariously stupid characters. It very rarely happens but this movie actually made me scream in anger in a couple of parts. I agree that it would be kinda interesting to see how they would link this all up to Alien but to be honest I would much prefer to see a Blomkamp take on Aliens! Which we came close to getting.

  • Mr. Donutman
    Mr. Donutman 8 months ago

    So I dig the channel, but I always feel like you're about to burst into tears when you're talking.

  • Donald Schumacher
    Donald Schumacher 8 months ago

    C+ no way I would be pressed to give it a D. Like you said how in the would did these STUPID people get get picked to run this ship. I could not get past that. I stayed away from anything about this movie so when i watched it I knew very little about it. It played out just like I thought same movie as Alien with a little different ending.

  • Adrian Conlon - Editor
    Adrian Conlon - Editor 8 months ago

    I loved the film in many ways but I 100% agree with you. This is probably my favourite review of the film. Highly critical but entirely constructive and fair. Perhaps you will do another review in a couple of years time. I would be interested to hear you thoughts again.

  • Arthur Leung
    Arthur Leung 8 months ago

    this movie was so frustrating to watch. i totally agree, the script sucked, the characters just made horrendously stupid decisions.

  • Bender Rodriguez
    Bender Rodriguez 8 months ago

    story

  • sommer camp
    sommer camp 8 months ago

    ...And the covenant looks like 200 years more advanced than, for example, the sulaco (witch is actually 200 years more advanced)

  • sommer camp
    sommer camp 8 months ago

    ...And there's just one good alien prequel: Alien: Isolation (videogame)!

  • sommer camp
    sommer camp 8 months ago

    And the terrible looking creatures (in Prometheus)!

  • sommer camp
    sommer camp 8 months ago

    They should rename all movies: David, Davids, David III and David: Resurraction!

  • Zatzzo
    Zatzzo 8 months ago

    Do you think they should wear helmets on every planet they visit in star trek? what about starship troopers? what about contact? what about pretty much the entire sci fi genre? also going back into the pods would be no big deal? you noticed many people on the ship just died right?

  • theflywho
    theflywho 8 months ago

    Bless you for this review. I'm all "what Alachia said"

  • 22grena
    22grena 8 months ago

    This film was even shittier than Prometheus and I didn't think that was possible. The scriptwriter needs to pick a new profession.

  • RVL480 Van
    RVL480 Van 8 months ago

    Officially, this movie is the Fan4stic of the Alien series! Just fucking atrocious!

  • Foe SemOneThree
    Foe SemOneThree 9 months ago

    Should only liked the ending because she hated the characters. That's not how it should work lol. That movie was so fucking stupid.

  • TrevRockOne
    TrevRockOne 9 months ago

    I haven't seen the film, but I'm impressed that you know your Wagner

  • Robots In Boxes
    Robots In Boxes 9 months ago

    The Aliens always had a quick gestation and growth cycle but in this "film" they gestated and grew to adult in like 5 fucking minutes- and why did they change the growth cycle of the zenomorph, its suppose to be a snake thing when it first comes out---LAME

  • thanos naclor
    thanos naclor 9 months ago

    When i ask people why they didn't like alien:covenant, they always say that the crew was a bunch of idiots that took the most foolish decision just like you, Alachia Queen, say. I cant stand it man. That's not a reason not to like a movie because even if they were idiots they were genuine and realistic idiots. In other words, i dont have a problem with decision make process if it is not right or silly as far as it remains realistic. I believe that the actors transfered the right feeling when they took their foolish decisions. Secondly, i wanna say that this foolish human profile added to the philosophical argument of the existence of superior beings. People seemed more helpless and naive confonting the higher existence of the absolute evil, just like it happens at lovecraft's writings, because of this depiction that you disagree with.

  • Jester123ish
    Jester123ish 9 months ago

    Thank you very much for your great review, and kudos for not blaming Ridley Scott for the script, people seem to think he does the entire movie by himself.
    Welcome to the world of modern movie making where the story exists to connect the scenes they want to have.....too bad if as an audience it doesn't make sense.

  • Rangatiratūmeke
    Rangatiratūmeke 9 months ago

    Aye girl, a terrible script it has. Shame.

  • Simba Tre
    Simba Tre 9 months ago

    just subbed the film crew members stupidity pissed me off aswell

  • the evil shed
    the evil shed 9 months ago

    they should cut there loses. just scrap the past 2 films and have will smith wake up (everything in the past 2 movies was just a dtream) then jump out the window.

  • Jeb Jub
    Jeb Jub 9 months ago

    i don't understand where the second xenomorph came from? The first came from the captain who got lured into the basement by David. Was another crewmember facehugged?

  • Viv W
    Viv W 9 months ago

    you are a babe, but stop cutting your own fringe :) Alien: Covenant 'In space, no-one can hear you scream...for a refund'.

  • clifford terrell
    clifford terrell 9 months ago

    hey have you seen orphan black I love it what do think

  • Chun-Bonn Tang
    Chun-Bonn Tang 9 months ago

    you are cute and into sci fi horror movies, which is rare and cool :)
    ok, back to your review. I fully agree that most hollywood movies either offer a visual manifest or a good story without much happening visually.
    though in terms of visuals, several scenes of the Xenomorph and the Neomorph looked like cheap CGI. i mean this is supposed to be a block buster movie and there were several scenes where i thought we have CGI from 1990s standards.
    they should have gone for puppets and suits more and showing the beasts where they are is not scary at all. The characters are not likeable but onedimensipnal like in most cheap b movies.

  • Angus Young
    Angus Young 10 months ago

    Wrong. It was incredibly dull to look at.

  • James Valt
    James Valt 10 months ago

    What piss me off about these movies is how stupid human beings still are even in the future.like the scene where the first encounter somethings wrong and they cant formulate the obvious.. alien fuckingh planet? Hello. I know this is a mechanism to help the thriller aspect but l think its an insult to this eras movie goer.

  • WJValente
    WJValente 10 months ago

    You are gorgeous!

  • New Rule Media
    New Rule Media 10 months ago

    FAILien Covenant...?

  • LaBass666
    LaBass666 10 months ago

    One thing I didn't like about prometheus/covenant visuals is that it seems soooo futuristic and high-fi, if you remember the original 2 movies it really shows this low-fi, analog screen, big buttons kind of consoles and just overall less technologically developed tech, which kind of jars me!

  • elnubnub
    elnubnub 10 months ago

    i love the fact that she don't need to use one of those ''mic'' vlogger use.... like if a mic could make you sound smarter

  • Mikheal Sierra
    Mikheal Sierra 10 months ago

    I can kinda see it as a setup for an aliens esk sequel thing. I pray it ain't awful

  • Chuckles Helicopter Wigwam Jones

    I thoroughly enjoyed most aspects of this movie. That being said, it was kind of a disappointment, and all of the criticisms you brought up are most certainly valid. I wouldn't say it's a great movie, but there are things there to appreciate.

  • Peter Haywood
    Peter Haywood 10 months ago

    In spite of all of its flaws, I really loved Covenant. To me it's a stark comment on the amorality of nature and very low place that humankind occupies in the universe. To me the film is an accurate prediction as the fate which will befall mankind -we will likely create machines which will overtake us. We will not have dominion over nature, we will not have dominion over our own machines, we will not have dominion over other species, and we will not have dominion over ourselves. Ultimately, we will be just one minor, relatively insignificant link in an evolutionary chain which will ultimately amount to nothing. To me, this is the strongest theme in the movie. Utterly bleak, but satisfying. Yes, it would have been even better if the humans had a bit more intelligence, or if the humans had displayed some sense of a good reason why they would be good candidates to survive and flourish going forward. Then, the same case of our ultimate evolutionary dead end would have been even stronger. Or, the movie might have been even more compelling if, by some quirk of fate (supernova, gamma ray burst or whatever) that might have (temporarily) stayed their execution, in spite of their having little merit for this.
    What I'm now waiting for, in the next movie, is to find some compelling counterpoint when David and Walter meet again -though I expect to be disappointed.
    Lastly, I was hoping that Covenant would have tied in the theme of corporate control over the actions of the synthetics -which was an interesting aspect of Alien. We are all just pawns in a game of corporate control (yet another them which is ripe for exploration).

  • Amiga Wolf
    Amiga Wolf 10 months ago

    It was a shit movie, it was awful, he (Ridley Scott) destroys mythology of the Aliens, and acting was NOT top notch, all the people were morons in this movie.
    And why if you find the movie shit, why do you want to see it again?
    Sorry i do not want to see a movie again if i really do not like it, and who gives a **** about great visuals in a movie, if it's a bad made movie?
    If i want to see great visuals, i gone see a good nature movie, and not this movie.

    • Amiga Wolf
      Amiga Wolf 10 months ago

      There are more then enough movies in space that are MUCH better then this crap of a movie, why waist your time with a shitty movie when there are better one's.

    • Alachia Queen
      Alachia Queen  10 months ago

      why do I want to see it again? ...because I like being in space. :)

  • Zatzzo
    Zatzzo 10 months ago

    Alien Covenant is AWESOME

  • Psimple Gamer
    Psimple Gamer 10 months ago

    Sounds like it's yet another science fiction movie about the evils of creating artificial intelligence which computer scientists will ignore until robots kill us all.

  • Christopher Joseph
    Christopher Joseph 10 months ago +1

    It's people with your view point that ruined this new series of movies. You stated that it took you a few years to come around to Prometheus, and it will take you some time to appreciate Covenant. Most people who felt that way about Prometheus complained so much about it and criticized it for not being an Alien movie with too much story, which caused Scott to abandon his original intent for these movies and completely cut out "Prometheus 2" and jump to "Prometheus 3 (Covenant)" and throw in Alien horror elements. So all this negativity about Covenant will destroy any possibility of having a quality Alien movie in the future and you won't get a movie connecting these back to Alien.
    Side note: of course Weyland would employ the stupidest crew because as indicated in Alien (remember Ash's true mission was to bring back the alien life form at all costs including the crew) Weyland corporation is solely concerned with bringing an alien life form back to Earth. Much easier to accomplish that is you have a stupid crew.
    Also, I'm pretty sure that Maggie didn't open the door after getting the gun, the alien busted through the glass
    The couple in the shower weren't down on the planet so why would they be in quarantine?

  • Adi Bra
    Adi Bra 10 months ago

    pretty decent review ... well done

  • CursedMonkey
    CursedMonkey 10 months ago

    Hi everyone.
    I personally hated the movie. I hated it for the reasons Alachia mentioned and also because of my personal feels which I acknowledge are preferences rather than a fair critiqe of the movie. But I HATED the origins of the beloved xenomorph. I disliked the way numerous people were killed, slaughtered like animals rather than there being some kind of fight, and I hated the ending because it was too much of a bummer. It means that Daniels is probably doomed, Walters probably dead and all those people will be used as incubators for the aliens.
    I often wonder also why we can't have the great visuals and the story and script. I'm often amazed that with all the talent available in the US film industry, and all the money that they could want there is still so much mediocrity. Why is the quality of a script given such a low priority? Why would anyone let the guy who wrote Green Lantern write a movie? I thought the same thing about the Great Wall and all the money that was spent on that, and they base it all on a script written by two guys with such a questionable history.

  • DarthYuYevon
    DarthYuYevon 10 months ago

    So many people reviewing this movie say so similar things that I wonder if these are their real opinions, or are they just regurgitating other peoples views for the most part and repackaging them by speaking about it from their mouths.

  • DarthYuYevon
    DarthYuYevon 10 months ago

    Alachia - I will never come around to this movie, as it's a David movie, not an Alien movie. If I want to watch a Sky Net type movie, I'll watch The Terminator, or Ex Machina. When I go for an Alien movie, that's what I want, and Alien movie. And if I want to watch a sexuality movie where it's about LGBTQ issues and people getting it on, I'll watch Empire, or OITNB, but homoerotic robots and random sex scenes in the shower is not what I'm asking for when I'm going for an Alien movie.
    .
    Alien 1 and 2 did it right. Alien 3 would have been good in my opinion if there was an Alien movie between 2 and 3 that gave us what we wanted, which was to see a story with Newt, Ripely, Bishop, and Hicks, versus the Alien.

  • Brandon Christopher
    Brandon Christopher 10 months ago

    I'm posting this before watching your review....I fucking hated this movie... every fucking character is a fucking idiot... especially the lady on the ship who won't open the door before the alien comes out of the guys back...but then...opens it after it's running around!!!?!??? WTF!?!?! FUCK THIS MOVIE.

  • TheDarthVader77
    TheDarthVader77 10 months ago

    Prometheus looked more beautyfull, so it's a worse movie in every way. And the Alienpoop is called "Dreamcatcher";-)

  • Doctor Craptonicus
    Doctor Craptonicus 10 months ago

    I love the way they turned the alien-looking Geiger world into something that resembles a trip to the Lake district. - the space jockey? turns out he takes his hat off & it's the singer from Right Said Fred.

  • Bluehawk2008
    Bluehawk2008 10 months ago

    To be fair, almost every creature on Earth that hatches from an egg can barely lift its own head in its first hours, let alone leap out and kill something.

  • Tim Baxter
    Tim Baxter 10 months ago

    Couldn't agree more

  • Tim Baxter
    Tim Baxter 10 months ago

    Alachiaaa

  • Mike Philbin
    Mike Philbin 10 months ago

    Plus, the other real-bullshit aspect of these Planetary Colonists is, "They're all 2,000+ of them on a spaceship that's not structural designed to enter an atmosphere."
    Nor, like Titanic, did it house enough shuttle pods to transport them safely planet-ward.
    How are they supposed to dis-embark the planetary colonists onto Orgae6? Drop them in their life pods from altitude?

  • Cheerful Pessimist
    Cheerful Pessimist 10 months ago

    A good story can overcome bad visuals, but good visuals can't overcome a bad story.

  • The Triggerati
    The Triggerati 10 months ago

    This whole franchise needs to be renamed from Alien to *Retards in Space.*