The Circle - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 449

  • Amenadiel Jagger
    Amenadiel Jagger 12 days ago

    I like this movie, it is a big wake up call to remind us of the current situation we are all living now. Of course I am sure many would agree the fictitious 'Circle' is so replica to our reality technology called Google. Tracing us of every location and move and knowing our algorithms to know what kind of news filtered to brainwash society. That and Facebook, and Twitter, and Instagram, and lotsa say TVclip too... Those who said this movie is awful and shit are obviously crowheads working at Google and busy peeping Toms wanting to pry on every single aspect privacy of our lives. Food for thought! Kudos to the producers for reminding technology isn't what is always made to be.

  • READ Comics
    READ Comics 26 days ago

    This movie is so bad

  • Adam Covers
    Adam Covers Month ago

    I liked it

  • Modded ToHell
    Modded ToHell 2 months ago

    R.A. Laffertys Past Master not only lampooned the idea of a utopia where everyone knows what everybody else is thinking (which started as a satire that fools believed an actual idea) he also wrote about suicide booths in 1968. I say this while also saying the circle did a shit job at selling this big brother bullshit. This movie was complete and utter trash.

  • aayaatable
    aayaatable 3 months ago

    It's already here

  • Kcalb Noil
    Kcalb Noil 3 months ago

    Jeremy watches Porn

  • ut561
    ut561 4 months ago

    just couldn't take the hands any more, had to stop watching, sorry

  • James Cameron
    James Cameron 5 months ago

    That was a pretty awesometacular review. I think the film wanted to avoid suggesting Tom Hanks was a cartoon villain, in favour of suggesting that he meant well, but had some very bad ideas. A less kind suggestion is that the Circle is basically a cult, with the members as his groupies/cultists, and him as the (unaccountable) cult leader. The implied question is Plato’s question: “Who guards the guardians ?”; if transparency is total, and no secrecy is possible - who is to prevent all that knowledge becoming a means of totalitarian tyranny ?

  • I'm the Man in Black
    I'm the Man in Black 6 months ago

    That hair tho...

  • suvariboy
    suvariboy 7 months ago

    The reviewer was more annoying than the film.

  • ABreathOfReason
    ABreathOfReason 7 months ago

    All I got from it is that the reason for all bad things happening and the main antagonist of the movie is the protagonist, Emma Watson.

  • ATS/angel777 xD
    ATS/angel777 xD 7 months ago

    1:15 killed me

  • FALSE
    FALSE 7 months ago +1

    Worst movie ever

  • Tobey Muguire
    Tobey Muguire 8 months ago

    Bill Paxton was great in it and deserved more screen time

  • bustedsim
    bustedsim 8 months ago

    On Jeremy not getting Tom Hanks' character. 1st, he's a CEO of a major company through which every personal bit of data flows. He OWNS the cameras everyone is using to monitor the world. He OWNS all the data collected by those cameras. It's not just coincidence that governor who was against the Circle was put under investigation. His cameras and the integration of surveillance into society gave him the power to tank her career right when she was starting to get too nosy.
    The great man, who champions for transparency and accountability has an office to which only a select few are allowed into. All this was shown before he was found out. And what does he do with all the data that is collected? Analyze it for science? No, he probably runs it through algorithms then sells it to advertisers to give them a touchstone on what the common person is into at that moment.
    And what of the scene where Emma Watson's character suggests linking voting into the Circle's social media platform? What, you think he wasn't ever going to look at that data? Employees voted for someone other than his preferred candidate? They may end up fired for mysterious reasons. He could use that data to influence elections. To identify those who did not vote for the winner so that they end up signaled out and ostracized.
    It's basic political economy analysis - "Follow the money" Every media message is constructed, is embedded with meaning, and has a purpose. The key to recognize this in addition to your own interpretation.
    All this depth is there in this weird talky movie, and I haven't even touched on the hypocrisy of the people who work there who are presented as free-spirited all life is precious progressive liberal types, who then first harass someone they judged in the court of public opinion with death threats (because all life is sacred) and then, cheer on a basic manhunt, which if it were outside their technological comfort zone they'd likely be berating.
    This is what I get for being a communications major. Getting freaked out by a bad movie.

  • Seoul
    Seoul 9 months ago

    I thought it was pretty good. Up until the last minute. I thought there would be an epic thing where Emma Watson and Jon went on some epic mission to expose the circle and were chased by Tom hanks and maybe he like used some technology to get to her parents, or literally ANYTHING than some cameras n shit.

  • Shane Heathen
    Shane Heathen 9 months ago

    This film was an abortion of thought. The first 45 minutes was thought provoking and intriguing, like a beautiful new born baby, the rest of the film was spend strangling said baby.

  • micheal john
    micheal john 10 months ago

    you look like keanu reeves

  • Al Ciucci
    Al Ciucci 10 months ago

    exactly, Emma s got potential but she's systematically working on poor scripts in the last year. Sadly she became the British version of Kristen Stewart, trying very hard but not getting there quite yet.

  • A Mish
    A Mish 10 months ago

    found it boring and very slow,and emma waston very cold and emotionless!

  • Sandro Di Marco
    Sandro Di Marco 10 months ago

    And this pedantic, pathetic "film review" (???) gets 200,000 views? Jesus!

  • Lucy Heartfilia
    Lucy Heartfilia 10 months ago

    This movie was okay and it seemed like it was going somewhere but then it's like "we outed all of your secrets" but like what secrets? The ending was really weird because I thought the point was going to be "we need privacy" but then Emma's character gave some weird philosophical cryptic monologue about being open and shit and they completely lost me....idk what they were going for. It seemed like it was supposed to be okay being open and social is good we can catch bad guys and find lost children and all of the other good stuff. But you know there's always a catch and the main character starts to become skeptical if it's the right thing to do, and tries to stop it before anyone else can get hurt or whatever. And then the big company tries to stop her and there's a thrilling chase scene. But it never really goes there....it kind of just falls flat...

  • kill3r5000
    kill3r5000 10 months ago

    This movie was some shit

  • iblis009
    iblis009 10 months ago

    You need a haircut dude.....

  • Saketh Vempati
    Saketh Vempati 10 months ago

    What happened to you hair dude?

  • James Wise Magic
    James Wise Magic 10 months ago

    I actually rather enjoyed it. It could have much better and I wish it went the extra mile but it did surprise me, I wasn't expecting much out of it. Glad I watched it.

  • ideotek
    ideotek 11 months ago

    I really freaking hate how they used boyega's character, might as well have never been there, they did nothing with his character - if your going to hang a gun on the wall use it ... like honestly no conflict no big reveal just nothing

  • Alexander Beer
    Alexander Beer 11 months ago

    But ask yourself. Do you want to sit through 30 minutes of Mae becoming big in the company, or do you want to ENJOY THE MOVIE FOR WHAT IT IS. The point, is to just observe. You question yourself, you're like "Oh yeah, dang, I never noticed how some people could feel that way". If you wanted the new Marvel action movie, or same thrill that you get EVERY FRIGGEN TIME... Watch one of the thousands already out. This movie is unique, watch it again, and try to forget you know anything about movies, then just, observe. It's supposed to drive conflict between you and the movie concept, until, finally, you rise above the concept and can go live your life. It's unique, it takes some imagination, it deserves at least a 9

  • Geeky Fanatic
    Geeky Fanatic 11 months ago

    I honestly hated the movie. I pretty much fell asleep halfway through and every time I thought there was finally going to be conflict, it quickly fell flat.

  • Nicholas Kazantzidis
    Nicholas Kazantzidis 11 months ago

    This movie is bad. I promise you, just skip it. You will not miss out.

  • Ethan Powell
    Ethan Powell 11 months ago

    Most disappointing movie of 2017 BY FAR

  • Joe Bro
    Joe Bro 11 months ago

    Got it from RedBox and watched it last night.. I thought it was awful. I feel like Emma Watson's character arch did not flow logically. It seemed like it was trying to build a case for the problem of big data and the importance of privacy but then she seems to decide at the end that what we need is more surveillance but "done right". It feels like it is trying to build to this big reveal of the nefarious side/potential of the circle (and they kinda do with the SPOILER..............................................................death of her friend, but it really doesn't really land) but nothing is really said at the end. She's just gonna be the next guy she just took down. I agree it tried to ask a philosophically interesting and important question for this day and age and handle it in a nuanced way but they just.... missed. Bad. I would recommend not watching it, I wish I could get the time back I put into it.

  • freddie jones
    freddie jones 11 months ago

    totally agree, fantastic 2.5/3 hours movie and a great concept with good acting, just a shame they didnt develop it enough, could have been blockbuster, even the trailer was cool and somewhat spooky

  • ReisRays
    ReisRays 11 months ago

    One of the worst movies I saw in my entire life... argh!

  • Francis Vincent Ong
    Francis Vincent Ong 11 months ago

    Meow meow beans

  • Fine Lines
    Fine Lines 11 months ago

    The book was kind of boring as well.

  • joseph hillyard
    joseph hillyard 11 months ago

    Watch Black Mirror on Netflix

  • Samantha Ryan
    Samantha Ryan 11 months ago

    Haven't seen it yet but just finished the book. The book goes into the a-b-c-d....z way better than I imagine the movie could in the time frame. There are a lot more layers to Mae, although the book definitely rushes her sudden superstar status within the company (within three months of working there). If you get a chance to read it, I highly recommend it. Cheers!

  • Bird Fleck
    Bird Fleck Year ago

    Thanks for the review! I may just rent this one :)

  • wolverineiscool
    wolverineiscool Year ago

    The movie wasn't as bad as people make it out to be, emma watson isn't the problem in this movie, her acting was neither bad or great, it was just okay...the thing is it had a couple of problems:
    1. The ending felt flat, out of place, quick and weak
    2. john boyega's talent wasted, literally anyone could have been in that role, waste of an actor
    3. bill paxton didn't need to be in a wheelchair, it didn't add anything to the movie
    4. emma's character progression is too fast, like she was an intern yesterday and before u knew it she is having lunch with the ceo and giving speeches and making ideas
    the good things are
    1. tom hanks
    2. tom hanks
    3. tom hanks
    4. set design was awesome
    5. funny comments from viewers
    5. tom hanks

  • James F
    James F Year ago

    This movie came to netflix within 4 weeks of it being released in cinema's here. That's how hard it flopped here. 😂😂😂

  • Sanjay Raju
    Sanjay Raju Year ago

    X4106X X23 X19

  • Loels Pengu
    Loels Pengu Year ago

    One of the shitties movies i've ever seen.
    Had potential with the characters but such a shitty execution.

  • No Username
    No Username Year ago

    It would be better as a series, so they can do more in it.

  • Sloatch
    Sloatch Year ago

    They should make another movie about controlling comment sections

  • Matthew Topping
    Matthew Topping Year ago

    This movie was not "...eh, alright", it was downright terrible.

  • 17M views
    17M views Year ago

    this movie begs the defining question of our society:
    what do you want more, do you want to live or do you want to be comfortable?

  • dombower
    dombower Year ago

    Alllllll the poooooooooorrrrnnnn

  • Loot Goblin69
    Loot Goblin69 Year ago

    His hair🤢

  • General CelestialFury

    the secret services can track everything

  • Bonifilio Soto
    Bonifilio Soto Year ago

    The ending is misleading, I thought they were taking down the Circle but instead she literally took over the company...exact opposite of what the other founder wanted, so What? did she completely disregard him after he helped her take down the other two founders? It's just doesn't sit well with me

  • Stankin' Thankin'

    The Circle was just a very badly executed Black Mirror promotional video...

  • Juan Inchauspe
    Juan Inchauspe Year ago

    1:15 was that a Dr Cox impression?

  • Darksky1001able
    Darksky1001able Year ago

    Dude, Attack on the Block. Nuff said.

  • Ben Schumacher
    Ben Schumacher Year ago

    I forgot I had watched it until I saw this review.

  • Mich Washington
    Mich Washington Year ago

    All of the porn! - J. Jahns LoL

  • Sophia H
    Sophia H Year ago

    Have you seen emma watson in colonia? Can't forget about that film!!

  • Andrew Keyes
    Andrew Keyes Year ago

    the movie that makes me question things is Shawshank redemption

  • Me Catalin
    Me Catalin Year ago

    ive seen lots of low budget movies with no name actors that are better than this crap, i don't even know how the fuck did pple think this is a good story and why the fuck did pple buy the book, even if its better its a waste of time to read

  • John Duckworth
    John Duckworth Year ago

    You should do a review of Twister!

  • FellOffTree
    FellOffTree Year ago

    Funny you say that, because a friend drank one beer in the movie theater and fell asleep during this movie :D

  • Prodgaming
    Prodgaming Year ago +1

    DO THE WALL WITH JOHN CENAAAAAAAAA

  • John Casey
    John Casey Year ago

    So this is basically Watch Dogs minus the hacking and hacker groups.

  • Philadelphia Whovian

    from what people who have read the book tell me, emma Watson's performance is EXACTLY what the character was like in the book. also, I thought she was excellent in Noah, like award winning performance. but I guess i'm alone there.

  • no
    no Year ago +1

    but the porn, think about the porn

  • Martinho Ramos
    Martinho Ramos Year ago

    what an asswhipe of a movie

  • John Barrigón Staton

    What is the song of the concert that happen in the movie?

  • chriram97
    chriram97 Year ago

    Just watched the movie. The premise was really interesting and i thought the story was pretty good, but the ending was so rushed that it ruined the entire movie...

  • Cristian Zainea
    Cristian Zainea Year ago

    You guys never watched Black Mirror. I am dissapoint. This video is Black Mirror with it's claws cut. Black Mirror does this concept SOOO GOOD.

  • PopDisplay1
    PopDisplay1 Year ago

    Terrible editing. Stupidly animated. 1960's radio disc jockey.

  • Cindy Fawkes
    Cindy Fawkes Year ago

    I hope this movie will make a lot of people aware that you have to take measures to protect your privacy. First get a good VPN like NordVPN or Cryptostorm. Install a privacy friendly browser like Brave, that automatically blocks ads and trackers. And last, use a search engine that doesn't track you, like Startpage.com or Ixquick. Please share this message with your friends!

  • Skoop
    Skoop Year ago +1

    R.I.P Bill Paxton
    "Somebody ring The Dinkster?"

  • Robert Eli
    Robert Eli Year ago

    My thoughts exactly.

  • Quinn the Pisces
    Quinn the Pisces Year ago

    I actually hated it. The only good thing about it is when it ended. Finding Mae's friend was done horribly. He crashes because...I don't know

  • Adolfo Pena
    Adolfo Pena Year ago

    I have a feeling John will be British in Pacific Rim 2.

  • Vladimir Strigunov
    Vladimir Strigunov Year ago +1

    Why all the youtubers yell?

  • sabian630
    sabian630 Year ago

    I've been digging your reviews for a long time now. I'd say 90% + I'm with you the whole way. In saying that, you stating " The concept and all is great, but after 2 days I'd need my own space, you know, because all of the Porn"
    Straight up fucking hilarious.

  • Fesa Wild
    Fesa Wild Year ago

    FullMOvie 2017 The Circle
    Stream Now plus.google.com/+McQuinGanesStaringDika/posts/fddTKJ3HiCf

  • shyang huei
    shyang huei Year ago

    fml

  • shyang huei
    shyang huei Year ago

    transformer age of extinct! why tis movie exist.....

  • Nikita Lane
    Nikita Lane Year ago

    Might go and see just for Tom Hanks.

  • Alehector R
    Alehector R Year ago

    Perks of being a wallflower was good

  • Mr.SmithGNR Smith

    these brainwashed liberal assholes would love to just roll over and give up their rights...sad

  • Mr.SmithGNR Smith

    a movie about the satanic cowards...

  • Aaron Ventura
    Aaron Ventura Year ago

    sequel: the triangle.

  • James Davis
    James Davis Year ago

    Jon Boyega doesn't have an English accent in a movie? What about "Attack the Block"?

  • nicolae cosmin
    nicolae cosmin Year ago

    I liked the character of Tom Haks and Karen Gillian. She was great in here.

  • Jaycie Victory
    Jaycie Victory Year ago +1

    I thought Emma was very good in Perks of Being a Wallflower, but I know what you mean. She's on the cusp of something awesome *crosses fingers* Come on, Emma.

  • Lee Jorge
    Lee Jorge Year ago

    The only part I liked was the comments around Emma when she was Transparent. They were so funny! Straight out of a crazy TVclip comment section.

    • Torey
      Torey 10 months ago

      Spot on mate. Stay connected.

  • Buck Rogers
    Buck Rogers Year ago

    The dude needs a haircut!

  • EATeezey
    EATeezey Year ago

    It's hard to take Tom Hanks as being a bad guy in general. Like in Road to Perdition he was most certainly not a good person (a dark gray) but you still rooted for him.

  • Rishabh Dixit
    Rishabh Dixit Year ago

    please review "BAHUBAALI 2" a foreign language movie from india buts it's a kickass war epic drama.

  • m73jaredII
    m73jaredII Year ago

    The circle is skynet

  • messynate
    messynate Year ago +1

    I hope there's a sequel. The ending can lead to an uprising

  • iamyarita
    iamyarita Year ago

    aaaaaa

  • ty2005_92
    ty2005_92 Year ago

    Your hair looks like a bad helmet

  • bernardoferreira89

    Minority Report - free will dilemma

  • The Spectacular Gonzo

    I don't want people watching me when I beat off.

  • dubugga
    dubugga Year ago

    "Not only because of all of the PORN.." We need a man like this in the senate. Telling it how it is.

  • Sarah Walter
    Sarah Walter Year ago +1

    Can everyone please stop sucking emma Watson dick? WE GET IT SHE WAS HERMIONE
    I am a massive Harry Potter fan but I don't let that blind me from her shitty performances

    • Robert Eli
      Robert Eli Year ago

      Sarah Walter "Sucking Emma Watson's dick." lmao what?