Apple HomePod Review: The Dumbest Smart Speaker?

Share
Embed

Comments • 6 770

  • makingsenses
    makingsenses 6 hours ago

    hey marques. you with the audience power and opportunity should get a training on AI, sensory revolution and dangers (of our devices being able to distinguish humans)

  • Bape Ape88
    Bape Ape88 7 hours ago

    It will get much smarter over time.

  • Baleur
    Baleur Day ago

    Who would want that horrible beehive in their home? Imagine how dirty its gonna become, dust and hair is gonna wedge in there so easily, creating a nice healthy ball of of filth and hairs in your home. Seriously who thought this design was a good idea.
    Does Apple not realize that this kind of fabric design is literally a static electricity magnet for dust and grime?
    There's a reason people rarely buy pillows and couches with that kinda fabric anymore.
    Feels bad, electrically sucks dust and shit from the air to adhere to its surface.

  • Abinash Rath
    Abinash Rath Day ago

    I likes this speaker but if I ever buy any speaker I will go for SONY

  • Ksar Oner
    Ksar Oner 3 days ago

    Idk man, I love Spotify, been using it for years since I quit Pandora. Can’t really see myself changing it for Apple Music. Maybe the next home pods will be better.

  • Jerald James Capao
    Jerald James Capao 4 days ago

    So that's it. I am not buying this. hehehehe

  • kult_deyo_DHA
    kult_deyo_DHA 5 days ago +1

    A $400 speaker that can't do what a $40 speaker can do LMAO

  • Bhava Ram
    Bhava Ram 5 days ago

    Love this video. You are so intelligent Marquez. Thanks.

  • Haeseung Jeon
    Haeseung Jeon 6 days ago

    I have a $29.99 (black friday) google home mini and it can do everything this can, but with slightly worse sound quality, but with far better accessability.

  • Emmanuel Safure
    Emmanuel Safure 6 days ago

    seems like google home speaker is better though i like apple

  • simon wendeborn
    simon wendeborn 8 days ago

    It is NOT supposed to be a smart speaker

  • Matthew
    Matthew 9 days ago

    I don’t quite understand this smart home craze. Why would I pay $100 for device to turn my lights off and on when I could just flip a switch?

  • crazycar16
    crazycar16 11 days ago

    YOU STOP TRIGGERING MY HOMEPOD PLZ WHEN YOU TOLD IT THE QUESTIONS MY HOMEPOD ANSWERED

  • Yasmine Bourhil
    Yasmine Bourhil 12 days ago

    Very good explanation about the product, good job 👏🏻

  • Shadenfroid1
    Shadenfroid1 12 days ago

    What’s the name of the song being played on the Alltta station?

  • Enrico Costa
    Enrico Costa 12 days ago +1

    Google home is the best I have one and I love it

  • Stefan Scrivener
    Stefan Scrivener 13 days ago +1

    Your not being picky at all, half the reason we buy into Apple is for the aesthetically pleasing image of the products along with quality, speed and reliability, pointing out that seam is something I feel will be appreciated by many buyers, me included. The AI seems far from on point even on the release date of this video. I think this is a product Apple have fallen far too behind on and they would be wise to work closely with Amazon to improve Alexa before google steal the show, bare in mind Google own or have owned to use patents pretty much every robotics or AI company globally. Best just to focus on those current monopoly rather than become a copy cat attempter

  • Karan Choubey
    Karan Choubey 14 days ago

    useless piece of shit

  • Noalie The Goalie
    Noalie The Goalie 15 days ago

    That’s sick wdym

  • Lio Alvarez
    Lio Alvarez 16 days ago

    I should of watched this video before buying this piece of shit

  • Finley jg
    Finley jg 17 days ago

    Was the 9:41 intended?

  • Frince Cornista
    Frince Cornista 19 days ago

    Apple-y???

  • ventolin63
    ventolin63 21 day ago

    Hey, at least they gave you a sticker with the Apple logo! Be grateful and.....and....Alexa play piano Despacito !

  • Alan MacPherson
    Alan MacPherson 22 days ago

    I'll stick to my Amazon Alexa hmmm apple homepod 400 dollars Amazon echo dot 70 dollars for 400 dollars you could but lots of Amazon echo dots and put one in each room of your house and have a cheap smart home

  • It’s Brocraft
    It’s Brocraft 22 days ago

    Title makes no sense😆

  • papinbala
    papinbala 22 days ago

    a seem? hmmm never heard that before, seem. seam?

  • TQ
    TQ 23 days ago

    Considering all the top engineers working for Apple, this could’ve been *THE* speaker for everyone. So disappointing. Thanks for the great review.

  • Joe Glostershire
    Joe Glostershire 23 days ago

    Apple has been bad here. If you let people play spotify they will buy it. If you can join 2 of them up to make stereo speakers some people would buy 2. If you put a headphone jack on it , people will buy it as a small, powerful speaker. By closing doors, apple has prevented so many more sales of it

  • Kinky Suuu
    Kinky Suuu 24 days ago

    classic apple

  • Ashton Henson
    Ashton Henson 24 days ago +1

    Coming from an apple fan this product is sad

  • Nicholas Coffey
    Nicholas Coffey 28 days ago

    Wow this thing has a lot of can’ts...

  • szs voc
    szs voc 28 days ago

    apple spokesperson is 1 ugly moron. of course we can separate the 6pct usleful tech from 94 pct which is usless and harmful, like new phones w useless features

  • amirali m
    amirali m 29 days ago

    Useless the best smart speaker is google home mini

  • Saif Chowdhury
    Saif Chowdhury 29 days ago

    First IHome and now HomePod? Wow..

  • FishBoy_Fry
    FishBoy_Fry Month ago

    Idrc. Looks cool sounds cool is cool.

  • Veack
    Veack Month ago

    Your editing and all is just so good its just so nice to watch

  • 47crazed
    47crazed Month ago

    i love mine, i don't recommend getting two of these. the speakers and microphones are way better than any smart speakers out there.

    • Don Shue
      Don Shue 25 days ago

      Wrong. The Lenovo Smart Display with Google Assistant speakers is probably the best speakers for a smart home device. Works just as good as my harman/kardon Onyx speakers!

  • Sean Millar
    Sean Millar Month ago +1

    Basically a poor featured Google home for the price of a Google home Max ... Usual from apple

  • DengrayKai211
    DengrayKai211 Month ago

    I like to see this guy go from professional to Ghetto lol jk

  • Richard Durie
    Richard Durie Month ago

    Apple perhaps used to innovate, but they certainly never manage to nowadays.

  • Robert Frank
    Robert Frank Month ago

    Just bought Home Pod today and it is absolutely awesome!
    I was honestly first looking at Amazons and Googles offerings first and was so disgusted with the sound quality. I could not believe they would totally ignore the speaker part of smart speaker.
    That’s why the Home Pod is the only option for me. The sound quality is critical. It’s primary function is to play music and podcasts. So sounding great is non negotiable. Apple seems to be the only one that gets that.
    I get that it’s smart capabilities are behind. But I can’t see myself quizzing it or trying to shop off of it. What for. Google and Amazon work great on my IPhone. Not that big of a deal.

  • robert atcheson
    robert atcheson Month ago

    I hate apple but I keep buying their products.

  • FaZe Churro
    FaZe Churro Month ago

    So basically you need an Apple Music subscription to listen to music on the home pod?

  • LadyM777
    LadyM777 Month ago

    Really appreciate your quality reviews. I was going to purchase this pod but I think I will continue looking around for now. Thanks again!

  • Brandon Bisnette
    Brandon Bisnette Month ago

    In conclusion it sucks because of software. Apple is not "boss" at software.

  • TheCritterhead
    TheCritterhead Month ago

    Not liking that seam

  • Just Luis
    Just Luis Month ago

    just get alexa lol

  • Tech-N- Malayalam
    Tech-N- Malayalam Month ago

    Super video Bro

  • Noah 61
    Noah 61 Month ago +1

    Hardware : *AWSOME*
    softeare : my *cat* is smarter than this toilet speaker

  • Ren
    Ren Month ago

    Great Video; you saved me from an immediately regrettable purchase. I can't use this with my MacBook Pro, can't connect through bluetooth OR cable, and anyone can send and read my texts while in my home. . . for $350. . .No thanks.

    • Walls A
      Walls A Month ago

      Ren you can connect your MacBook to it (I do it all the time), you can choose to turn off personal requests or have it require authentication from your phone first. Also, Apple are about to unleash her more things with iOS 12 like direct calls from it, multiple timers, find my iPhone, and an improved Siri with the shortcuts app.

  • Mr. Glass
    Mr. Glass Month ago

    Keep up the good work, I like you videos, there in depth

  • Mimiyo
    Mimiyo Month ago +1

    Noooooo you put it on a wood

  • Matthew Gilfillan
    Matthew Gilfillan Month ago

    This is an excellent and in depth review. Well done!

  • Lbj 23
    Lbj 23 Month ago

    Piece of shit.

  • YeetMode
    YeetMode Month ago +33

    It fits perfectly in my trash can!

  • •Finn•
    •Finn• Month ago

    Barely usable outside of Apple Music, can't connect to any non-iPhone device (even Macbooks), doesn't do ANY smart home control, barely has any integration with functions in your phone (reminders, calendar, timers, phone calls), no voice identification, no speaker pairing, etc.
    So basically its another useless brick of an Apple device? Drink that Kool Aid ya'll.

  • Ricardo Rios
    Ricardo Rios Month ago

    Great review! Helped me a lot. Thanks.

  • Viz muñiz
    Viz muñiz Month ago

    how dumb is the cable conector. For what do I need the "smart space analysis" I f I only can place it near a plug. really dumb

  • Ericz34
    Ericz34 Month ago

    Haha when you said “hey Siri” it activated Siri on my phone.. dam Apple.

  • Kitchguy
    Kitchguy Month ago

    So basically you’re just paying for a speaker. :)

  • davocreative
    davocreative Month ago +1

    Cute speaker. Thats all. Too overpriced.

  • Kemar Prince Of A Nation

    Apple suck period

  • Ryan 7149
    Ryan 7149 Month ago

    Doesn't a speaker with a cord look weird on the table or in the middle of the room? I mean maybe it's me, but why didn't they use a rechargeable one, Because, in my home, I don't have an outlet on the floor other than the walls, and I don't want to get an outlet extender for the HomePod. And I don't like using Siri. The google assistant is way better. So honestly, I would just buy some good quality speakers instead of buying the HomePod

  • Liam Kismatali
    Liam Kismatali Month ago

    Every time this guy said hey Siri it triggered my phone to open siri

  • Elias Estus
    Elias Estus Month ago

    You can use it on Mac... use a AirPlay duuuuh

  • Atriel Hudson
    Atriel Hudson Month ago

    Can you do a review of the new Lenovo Google Home Display? I'm interested in how the new OS helps with the foibles of the other Google Home speakers.

  • Toughsams
    Toughsams Month ago

    I just got an ad with the Teen Titans Go! movie and the first thing it said was "Google Play My Favorite Song."

  • Saieed Alam
    Saieed Alam Month ago

    I use mine as a speaker for my iMac

  • Diamond Lightning
    Diamond Lightning 2 months ago

    Do I have to have music purchased if I ask Siri to play some?

  • Samuel Orr
    Samuel Orr 2 months ago

    You made my HomePod play music. Well played Marques. Well played.

  • wax empire
    wax empire 2 months ago

    flawless presentation and production, I enjoy your good choices in style.

  • PRiMENuVaL
    PRiMENuVaL 2 months ago

    "Oh well, Classic Apple"

  • The Techrrangerr
    The Techrrangerr 2 months ago

    U triggered my echo plus 🤣🤣🤣

  • Diana Garrido
    Diana Garrido 2 months ago

    Where did you get that coffee table. Love it

  • Kaushik Ray Chowdhury
    Kaushik Ray Chowdhury 2 months ago

    Dumbest smart.... ????? . Is that a compliment.. 😂😂😂

  • Abhinay Dumpa
    Abhinay Dumpa 2 months ago

    why does he sound like he hates apple

    • Daniel P
      Daniel P Month ago +1

      Abhinay Dumpa cuz he’s an android fanboy haha

  • Jesse
    Jesse 2 months ago

    Apple Insider says that the Homepod works with Apple TV and Apple Computers but Marques Brownlee says that it can only be used with an iPhone. Can someone please tell me who is correct and who is wrong?

  • wind waker
    wind waker 2 months ago

    The can and can`t thing in an american accent just sound the same. Unimportan yet still bothers me. XD

  • James Taylor-Shaw
    James Taylor-Shaw 2 months ago

    nice delica

  • tony rondone
    tony rondone 2 months ago

    Awesome review.....I was on the fence because I can get it for $245....but too limited in use.
    Thanks.

  • Glazed Donut
    Glazed Donut 2 months ago

    Great for lazy people

  • RyanSneaks
    RyanSneaks 2 months ago

    Neither of my homepods have that seam

  • Scott Chalker
    Scott Chalker 2 months ago

    So much it CANT do. Just a 350$ speaker. What a waste.

  • The Astrophysicist
    The Astrophysicist 2 months ago

    Sorry, WHAT? It doesn’t work as a Bluetooth speaker? What’s the point of a speaker that doesn’t do Bluetooth? I can’t believe I was about to click the “Buy” button...
    Edit: Wait... can’t I stream my local iPhone music library to the HomePod through AirPlay then? I’m so confused. It would really help if Apple was more clear about these things.

  • E L
    E L 2 months ago

    There are way too many cant’s

  • _Jarod182_
    _Jarod182_ 2 months ago

    If it does the same thing as Siri does then just use Siri

  • Brian's Late Night Whatever

    God damn it. He keeps activating my Siri on my HomePod.

  • thesteveoge
    thesteveoge 2 months ago

    You did trigger mine haha

  • Revolution Benton
    Revolution Benton 2 months ago +1

    The apple marshmallow

  • Logan Emery
    Logan Emery 2 months ago

    adidas zne hoodie 2 I think, nice man

  • E M1
    E M1 2 months ago

    Just wait for HomePod 2. Like everything else it will be smaller and smarter.

  • Andrew Kim
    Andrew Kim 2 months ago

    custom mkbhd poker table 10/10

  • jeff b
    jeff b 2 months ago

    Excellent review!

  • Knut N Skår
    Knut N Skår 2 months ago

    Definitely not worth the money. Typical Apple. Overpriced and restricted. PS ! I have an Iphone 😜

  • Billy Foley
    Billy Foley 2 months ago

    i like how the unboxing song is called “i got one”

  • Freddirick Ana
    Freddirick Ana 2 months ago

    Basically that's not a real Smart Speaker. It's just an ORDINARY SPEAKER. LOL

  • bharat Kumar
    bharat Kumar 2 months ago

    Is Panasonic SC UA7 worth to buy.?

  • Samuel Chandool
    Samuel Chandool 2 months ago

    I was able to get it to show as an audio source on iMac

  • Benedict Cumberbatch
    Benedict Cumberbatch 2 months ago

    It is made for turning on lights and opening doors and playing music

  • aviralmittal89
    aviralmittal89 2 months ago

    The smartest speaker is the one with best sound quality. Have some taste guys.