1999-2000 MRE Marathon 3 in 1 US Military Ration Pack Review Lime Skittles Y2K M&Ms Vintage Pt 2

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 27, 2016
  • *Quick Note*
    Wanna see someone eat something totally nasty and hilarious?
    Check out dingo7055's newest video - I endorse this as what is literally one of the most hilarious food review videos ever made!
    tvclip.biz/video/0SyEvyi_v9c/video.html
    Part 2 of the MRE Marathon - the two 1999's came from Dominic, and the year 2000 was from Grizzly Adam. Thanks so much for making this one happen, guys!
    Interesting to see the transitional differences in these relatively "vintage" MRE's. These menus are no longer in production and we get a slightly rare glimpse into these discontinued entrees.
    Check it out!
    Hope you folks enjoy the video and stay tuned, got some really cool projects and rare items coming up for review!
    www.mremarketplace.com/
    www.mreinfo.com/
    www.patreon.com/user?u=2821334&ty=h
    And thank you everyone for watching & subscribing - hope
    you enjoyed this one, as I certainly did making it!
    -Steve
    ** All Music By: Steve1989 MREinfo **
    Check out the other awesome YT reviewers:
    stickyfingaz745:
    tvclip.biz/channel/UChEqR37txqYozXbbitVDd7A
    RC Gusto:
    tvclip.biz/channel/UCfBEYgWflPKsDI_i6AmD5sA
    gschultz9:
    tvclip.biz/user/gschultz9
    gundog4314:
    tvclip.biz/channel/UC7dAKknI_zWUNcz36T0Lp6w
    Kiwi Dude:
    tvclip.biz/channel/UCIUTBxBxmMMY2bUJqYITJxw

    Alex Jackson:
    tvclip.biz/channel/UCE9M38cP7ZujpevWn5YKCgg
    Paul Buikema:
    tvclip.biz/channel/UCQ51mn3lFHIyMYxX74ViCPg
    Craigm94 MREinfo:
    tvclip.biz/channel/UC4cL-jOPx-nSnuyUYSOEFFA
    Elandil:
    tvclip.biz/channel/UCspVo4xdz9JPpPV6d6jp9wQ
    MrBrowningm1911
    tvclip.biz/channel/UCVoA8_rDsAcMF2UkfCO4n4A
    Bush Master:
    tvclip.biz/channel/UCu0HgxXKhszjd3L_Y8wkt3g
    dingo7055:
    tvclip.biz/channel/UCU8dvHS5J4Kqn79p6ScmWqw
    SparrowMedicine
    tvclip.biz/channel/UC8TnFxqRz-PTS-yowf6S5kw
    No East Too Far:
    tvclip.biz/channel/UCVVggbIzNl23NIYFUYqXWUg
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 683

  • Shawn Beckmann1
    Shawn Beckmann1 19 days ago

    I just bought 2 cases of MRE's from 2013 A and B all 24 menus for 100 bucks Nice! Now I wish I had a Tray

  • Michael's Explorations

    The skittles and M&ms looked good

  • Gavin Ehlert
    Gavin Ehlert 25 days ago

    "Ugh ... It still wasn't bad"

  • Craig Corsini
    Craig Corsini Month ago

    Stay away from mold. Mold can produce toxins.

  • Yuri Kyosov
    Yuri Kyosov Month ago

    I remember having peanut m&ms and they had an overwhelming metallic flavor

  • DedXyl
    DedXyl Month ago

    Green Skittles are still lime flavor here in the UK :)

  • J du Pre
    J du Pre Month ago

    Your Pound cake for my skittles

  • YessaBub1
    YessaBub1 Month ago

    blackberry jam on crackers oh yea

  • Sionna Dehr
    Sionna Dehr Month ago +1

    I'm looking forward to the day when you find the 2002-2004 MRE's because those were the MRE's I ate with my dad after he came back from Operation Iraqi Freedom ^_^! I want to see if I recognize any of them!

  • Emperor Beaducwealm

    My father would always store MREs in "the old proverbial hot shed", only for rats to get into them.

  • TheFamilyDogs
    TheFamilyDogs Month ago

    @steve1989MREInfo Next time you have a main in a box like that you can take all your heated items and put them in the box and stick the heater in the middle of them. It will heat them all the same. I use to do that with my MREs.

  • John R
    John R 2 months ago

    These are the MREs I remember from OCS in late 1999. Ah, the memories!

  • barberswagg
    barberswagg 2 months ago +1

    Steve makes me want to try some

  • Peta Death
    Peta Death 2 months ago

    Hit or Miss guess they never miss huh
    You got a boyfriend but he don't wanna kiss ya 😂

  • K
    K 2 months ago

    Chip clip may hold the heat bag

  • Chris 5401
    Chris 5401 2 months ago +1

    26:09 THIS IS AWKWARD

  • Engineer Morningstar
    Engineer Morningstar 2 months ago

    Lol i got a entire box of MRE jam and jelly none of it came with peanut butter i just save it for occasional pb&j's

  • Jack Jones
    Jack Jones 3 months ago

    Maybe one in the pouch but the 2nd in the box while heating.

  • Ronnie Alvarez
    Ronnie Alvarez 3 months ago

    I remember when the PS2 came out

  • Mainer Man
    Mainer Man 3 months ago

    I put both heated meal items in one box, one in the heater and the other on the outside of the bag placed inside the box. Tight but works

  • Chris
    Chris 3 months ago

    I bet those limited edition millennium M&Ms were worth a bit.

  • cartbuilder 61
    cartbuilder 61 4 months ago

    Cutting the rice with your spoon sounded like you were cutting carrots!

  • cartbuilder 61
    cartbuilder 61 4 months ago

    From my perspective the mains looks like hell.but you're right I've had the chicken cavatelli before and it's pretty good.

  • Aaaa Jaaa
    Aaaa Jaaa 4 months ago

    Opens M&M's and sees 'Congratulations you've won 10 million dollars' and then reads the terms and conditions... claims must be made by 31st Dec 2000!

  • John Rife
    John Rife 4 months ago

    You can heat the stuff on the outside of the bag too.

  • Jimmi Padge
    Jimmi Padge 4 months ago

    Disregard the food and these videos are just some of the coolest time capsules from around the world.

  • poetic justice
    poetic justice 4 months ago

    Report of the weeks older brother or what ????

  • Paul Johansson
    Paul Johansson 4 months ago

    Neon green gross.

  • Mike Gee
    Mike Gee 4 months ago +1

    Please, please tell us Steve you get your regular physicals! Bro some of your subscribers worry....

  • Thelegitwin
    Thelegitwin 4 months ago

    22:21 I heard the sass, Steve

  • Carl Clark
    Carl Clark 4 months ago

    *22:43* when everyone leaves the house and i whip my dick out and beat it vigorously to porn

  • MrBugatii12
    MrBugatii12 5 months ago

    I'm the same age as this MRE

  • tacomahnster
    tacomahnster 5 months ago

    Go figure the food from WW2 rations with few/no preservatives lasts longer than the food from 1999 with a million preservatives

  • Rom Kom
    Rom Kom 5 months ago

    What do you mean "when you were a kid" have you been eating mres your whole life!??

  • Anthony Miller
    Anthony Miller 5 months ago

    Love watching these. it is like watching a Bob Ross painting lesson.....so soothing

  • Ralph Payton
    Ralph Payton 5 months ago

    You take your knife to the inside mesh and cut the heater out.

  • Newman64
    Newman64 5 months ago

    The US govenment spent somethin like $150 billion on Y2K prep but cant use $25 billion to make the Southern boarder secure? Logic.

  • VDL Kidsdramaclub
    VDL Kidsdramaclub 6 months ago

    that chicken with cavatelli looked like semi warm pork chops a chunky

  • Clinton Champney
    Clinton Champney 6 months ago

    I miss those small bottle of tabasco sauce.

  • 00MaTTaTtack00
    00MaTTaTtack00 6 months ago

    Oh hey those are the ones we have in our garage!

  • Ralph Reagan
    Ralph Reagan 6 months ago

    Bummer about the coffee

  • bentley4l
    bentley4l 6 months ago

    When the crap did they get rid of lime skittles??!!

  • Calumn McCluskey
    Calumn McCluskey 6 months ago

    That lemon/lime looks like really thin OX40 hydraulic oil, hopefully it lubricated you well enough Steve 👍🏻

  • Clarence Neal
    Clarence Neal 6 months ago

    I was at Ft Bragg back in the 90's and watched someone open a bag of contest MM's that won for some stupid amount of money, like 5 grand or something like that. He was crazy hyped until I pointed out that the contest expired several years before he even joined the Army.....we laughed at him for weeks!

  • Laura Ochoa
    Laura Ochoa 6 months ago +1

    I love your videos are so relaxing 🙂

  • Yurei
    Yurei 7 months ago

    Ngl old steve sounds grumpy as hell lol

  • Big Snake Glock fanboy
    Big Snake Glock fanboy 7 months ago

    Mmm that song opening.... 10/10
    Seconds please

  • Aylisha Brown
    Aylisha Brown 7 months ago

    My favorite mre reviewer.

  • Daddy L P
    Daddy L P 7 months ago

    RIP Steve's toilet

  • Charles Henry
    Charles Henry 7 months ago

    That's MY era, bro.

  • Jay Craig
    Jay Craig 7 months ago

    Would love if you could find a 2001 menu 2, boneless pork chop; the menu featured in fallout new vegas.

  • Clutch Nixon
    Clutch Nixon 7 months ago

    *CHEF BOYARDEE*

  • Jeremy Hanson
    Jeremy Hanson 7 months ago

    The red packet curse strikes.

  • Idtelos
    Idtelos 8 months ago

    This brings back memories first eating these in bootcamp fall of 1999....can't believe it's almost been 20 years...wow. Getting candy like skittles or M&M was like winning the lottery when opening these MREs.

  • ThomasGrillo
    ThomasGrillo 8 months ago +1

    It really is interesting how the younger meals aren't holding up as well as the pre-2k meals. Isn't it? Thanks for the video.

  • HARLEEN QUINZEL
    HARLEEN QUINZEL 8 months ago

    Oh yaaa

  • chris kapernick
    chris kapernick 8 months ago

    Strange that rations of today can't last anywhere near as long as 50+ years like the ones 50 or 100 years ago.

  • regina
    regina 8 months ago

    My brother in law was an army drill sergeant. He would bring home boxes of these. I was just a kid, so he would let us kiddos take the ones we wanted. It was great for camp outs in our tree house. I loved the lasagna.

  • Kenny Tai
    Kenny Tai 8 months ago

    Lol grape drink. Dave Chappelle would be proud

  • SHADOW BANNED
    SHADOW BANNED 8 months ago

    I Hate Jam and Deserts /// I would probably start Cross Dressing to be drafted out /

  • Larry Jinxx
    Larry Jinxx 8 months ago

    Drinks antifreeze

  • Naz F
    Naz F 8 months ago +1

    Steve you ARE awesome- that's smells weird- I kinda like it LOL

  • overtall
    overtall 8 months ago

    You’ve clearly not had to live on those things for weeks at a time after a hurricane. I lived on MREs for three hurricanes, Katrina, Rita, and Gustav. I can promise you, they were a God-send. I think you’re a lot more critical of them than the people receiving them.

  • Chrinik
    Chrinik 9 months ago +2

    You are supposed to put the rice on the outside of the heater by the heating element and stuff them both in the same carton....atleast that's how I did it.

  • Tim Moquin
    Tim Moquin 9 months ago

    This music intro is definitely the most Zappa influenced one I've heard so far! I love it!

  • Roadblock
    Roadblock 9 months ago

    Unfortunate about the last MRE from 2000. 😣

  • Sam Williamson
    Sam Williamson 9 months ago

    Why not just warm up the rice in your mess kit pan or canteen cup on an Esbit? I was curious as to how buttery it might've turned out.

  • Kevin Mosley
    Kevin Mosley 9 months ago +1

    Put against rock or something 😀

  • adamalberts2
    adamalberts2 9 months ago

    Anyone else not allowed to use the heaters in BCT? I learned to eat these partially frozen if need be, didn't know if that was a common practice or not.

    • Sam Williamson
      Sam Williamson 9 months ago

      They won't let you use the heaters in basic now? Wtf not? They didn't even have FRH's when I was in.

  • Tom F
    Tom F 9 months ago

    19:24 was that puked already ?

  • Rojac
    Rojac 9 months ago +1

    Much as I appreciate the professional style of the new 2018 videos, I really miss the emotion, fun and casual nature of circa 2016 surfer Steve,

  • Chris Green
    Chris Green 10 months ago

    Steve I'm sorry to say in my 6 short years in the army i hardly ever used the heater and sny accessories to improve the food.
    Blease forgib.

  • Johnny Goldendong
    Johnny Goldendong 10 months ago +3

    Awwww snaapp! those lemon poppyseed poundcakes were the best back in the day. and the heater,..seemed like we had to kinda pull it up from the outside and center it with your fingertips or fingernails to get it placed just right..there was sort of a little touch to get it right lol. Ate those alot in basic and AIT 2000/2001

  • redneck rebel
    redneck rebel 10 months ago

    The first time ive ever seen him pissed off

  • John Jordan
    John Jordan 10 months ago

    Really enjoy watching these videos, particularly the rations from nations other than the US. In thinking about it, though, I can't remember ever eating an entire MRE at a single sitting. We usually field stripped them to discard undesirable items (the vomlet and potatoes au rotten, and you really only need one spoon) and ate them one or two items at a time in brief bursts. Usually cold. The heater was put to other uses if you bothered to bring it.

    • planescaped
      planescaped 7 months ago

      The U.S. ones are often the most entertaining, because they're quite often, terrible. XD

  • Peter Denardo
    Peter Denardo 10 months ago

    The chicken cavatelli wasn't good new. First time I had that at basic made me almost vomit

  • Mittens FastPaw
    Mittens FastPaw 10 months ago

    You know how your grandparents and parents felt when you see items like this and know much has changed in how it is made, size and packaging.

  • me me
    me me 10 months ago

    Mre #3 is still good.... its jist how it is. Eat it!!!! Lol

  • Vince Dibona
    Vince Dibona 10 months ago

    @15:35 - beverage base powder, squid ink

  • Mari ZenSoul
    Mari ZenSoul 10 months ago

    That cheese packet looked like it was giving birth to an alien.

  • try testing
    try testing 10 months ago

    watching your videos definitely brought back some memories... lol
    you can actually fit both the rice and mushroom pouch in one heater. just have to flatten them out a bit and sandwich the heat pad in the middle

  • Swaggy Kitty
    Swaggy Kitty 10 months ago

    In all honesty , Kool aid cheap gas station brownies and insta coffee from star bucks can be a MRE 😂

  • John Lee Pettimore III
    John Lee Pettimore III 10 months ago

    Put one of the pouches IN the FRH, and the other NEXT to the FRH inside the cardboard sleeve so the heating element is between them.

  • Diannika Starr
    Diannika Starr 10 months ago

    lol listening to you about the first heater was hilarious. Thats what it was like in training in the 2000s. Those things usually took forever to get half heated food
    When you cant fit both in the heater, you put the other outside the heater, under it.

  • Lou Rock
    Lou Rock 10 months ago

    I may be mistaken but I don’t think there’s brown skittles either any more but yer more versed in this then I ever could be !

  • Brennan Money
    Brennan Money 10 months ago

    Why didn’t you just boil the rice

  • Rick Duff
    Rick Duff 10 months ago

    Lime Skittles are the best, they need to get rid of the green apple.
    I don't think you stirred the Grape drink enough in the second MRE.

  • Randall Kelley
    Randall Kelley 10 months ago

    So what ever happened to speggetti, hot dogs and burgers. Dang who makes these meals. I ate K rations, in cans, pretty bad except for speggitti.

  • BBB H
    BBB H 11 months ago

    Wow! With that main, I though Steve (of the iron gut) was gonna puke!
    I can't imagine what it would do to me!

  • Christian Abeel
    Christian Abeel 11 months ago +4

    Is it not lost on you that you ate a chicken filet older than most of TVclip's audience?
    That's so amazing.

  • Jason Gutt
    Jason Gutt 11 months ago

    14oz pack of old lime skittles sells on eBay for about $30 😦

  • Shotgun Sherman
    Shotgun Sherman 11 months ago

    I wish I knew of this channel 3yrs ago when I found an old case of mres from the late 80s in my grandfathers gun room. The box was trashamd I opened the box and said oh hell no. Man knowing what I know now I would have totally sent them in to Steve and prolly ate one or two myself.

    • Shotgun Sherman
      Shotgun Sherman 11 months ago

      Oh and they came from my uncle who was a helicopter pilot in the air force. they were military issue very legit. I messed up.

  • ladycplum
    ladycplum 11 months ago

    After watching the videos for so long, it's almost like you can smell the rot and rancidity and mold and sourness like he does!

  • CastleDoctrine87
    CastleDoctrine87 11 months ago

    When you have nothing this meal means everything which is why he takes it as serious as he does. For those that don't understand.

  • AMITABHO DAS
    AMITABHO DAS 11 months ago

    Del Monte ADVT.pls. just theMILD ad. like TOMATO JUICE& ORANGE & APLLE etc. like that....that lasts only few seconds..theUOUNG GIRL with BLUSH FACE& shap nose..thank you.

  • Will Loomis
    Will Loomis 11 months ago

    While watching this series I've noticed that every other country has better MRE's than us, even the Bellarussian rations are better than U.S. rations!

  • Dr. Science 5252
    Dr. Science 5252 11 months ago

    The flavors ofM.R.E.'s were blured so foodies wouldn't set andeat all of them at once.

  • NowI'mMe
    NowI'mMe Year ago

    I'm hungry...why am I always hungry when I watch these? LOL.

  • NowI'mMe
    NowI'mMe Year ago

    What if...what if these MRE's are ALL this guy ever eats?!!!