Solo: A Star Wars Story - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 10 222

  • batshineman
    batshineman 2 days ago

    Personally I though the movie was good it wasn’t ground breaking but it didn’t need to be. I think we got a pretty good Star Wars movie that sadly came way too soon.

  • Mark Caramat
    Mark Caramat 2 days ago

    Movie was great. I really don't see how you thought it was boring.

  • EmmetSparks
    EmmetSparks 2 days ago

    I loved it honestly

  • Josh S5
    Josh S5 3 days ago

    I guess it tried to have heart. But Rogue One was much better sorry. In terms of spinoffs R1 had better music, more emotion, more epicness, better scenery, etc.

  • Bryce Ferguson
    Bryce Ferguson 3 days ago

    Agreed. 1000%. Boring. It was like the fruit cake of movies. Everything thrown in and a lot of hope it was good in the end, but alas, only disappointment. Disney ruins everything. Marvel and star wars are lost relics in the terrible world of the house of mouse.

  • Juanpi Jimenez
    Juanpi Jimenez 4 days ago

    so i have just seen this movie and i liked it a lot! i didnt go to the cinema because i wasnt interested and i thought it was boring the setting (im tired of the empire era). but i loved it a lot. han was played really good (even though the actor doesnt look like him but i didnt mind that) and i loved the criminal world in this film. lets hope they make more of them (which i dont think so based on how it underperformed on the box office)

  • cam wade
    cam wade 4 days ago

    I just watched this film for the first time and i actually really enjoyed it, miles better then Last Jedi

  • vedomedo
    vedomedo 4 days ago

    Agree, movie was boring as hell and all the "oh this is how that happened" moments were sooo heavy handed. The way he got his name was fucking stupid as well. Had to watch the movie in two sittings simply because i couldn't be bothered.

  • BatPierrot
    BatPierrot 4 days ago

    Suprisingly, this was actually a decent movie with an interresting story.

  • themurdo21
    themurdo21 4 days ago

    I just watched this movie and enjoyed it. In short, it was good; quit your bitching, bitch. ;)

  • Yaxez
    Yaxez 5 days ago

    Thank god, im not the only one ..

  • HybridBoss
    HybridBoss 6 days ago

    another shouting youtuber with jerky cut edits.

  • Alex Hero
    Alex Hero 6 days ago

    Normally agree with your reviews but tbh I think good time no alcohol required for me

  • Travis Silcox
    Travis Silcox 6 days ago

    This was literally the worst movie I've ever seen in my life. The script made no sense. The empire doesn't do backround checks, nor does it have a military justice system, or apparently any understanding of how rank structure actually works (could you imagine how quickly your soldiers would revolt if some captain had the authority to have one of his troops torn apart by a wookie with no justification or second opinion?), and even though apparently a captain can have a wookie tear apart a soldier based on opinion, the empire clerk was still willing to take a bribe?
    Oh and the whole "Lets do a Jesse James Train heist" was so sad in it's unoriginality, and they didn't even originally have enough members to pull off the heist so why would they reject Solo's help? You'll also notice that no one cared about the two member of the crew's death after their scenes. Their original plan was so dangerous and stupid that they could never be considered professional Han Solo wasn't even an anti-hero in this movie, he did nothing wrong. They literally took the template for the new Captain Kirk and just framed it on young Solo without any care or concern to the Lore. Every scene was predictable from the beginning "Oh I bet he's going to crash his car after he makes an overconfident statement... oh... wow... Oh... the engine didn't 'punch it' when he wanted it too.... wow..." they might as well just have put "Laugh Now" signs up. In my theatre, no one laughed. Not a single person and the theatre was approx 70% full. It was literally, the worst storytelling, I've ever seen. Oh, and remember when Woody Allen said "i'm not with you on this one" after basically only knowing the guy for a year (acting as if they spent their childhood together), and then he dramatically walks off into... Where? WHERE DOES HE WALK OFF TOO? because it's a small outpost. HE WALKED OFF INTO THE MIDDLE OF THE DESERT. Oh but he made his over dramatized point.
    The only interesting thing about it was seeing the actors struggle to do what they could with the crap that they got.

    • Travis Silcox
      Travis Silcox 6 days ago

      Depression Cherry Remember when Chewbacca solved that problem in the millennium falcon because he’s 300 years old or whatever? How would being 300 years old mean that he would know the electrical / circuit board system of a unique ship like the millennium falcon? These writers have absolutely no critical thinking at all.

    • Depression Cherry
      Depression Cherry 6 days ago

      "This is literally the worst movie I've ever seen in my life". I can only guess you haven't seen many movies.

  • Voytek Pavlik
    Voytek Pavlik 7 days ago

    Haven't seen it, and will never do.

  • Sauron Merciful
    Sauron Merciful 7 days ago

    I liked this movie the first half was really good, got a bit boring in the second half but picks up in the end. Not sure what Jeremy is talking about here, the first 30 minutes was really fast paced

  • Samus Aran
    Samus Aran 8 days ago

    6.5/10

  • Richard Hawley
    Richard Hawley 8 days ago

    As a casual Star Wars fan, I really didn't think this movie was too bad. I was expecting a lot worse from the panning it got but I was generally entertained throughout. I think saying it was boring was a bit harsh. Watched it with my wife, who has never seen a Star Wars movie and generally doesn't like science fiction - she enjoyed it too! Granted it's not the greatest movie ever but it's still better than episode 1 to 3 combined. My only criticism was I thought the colour grade was a bit dark and if I was to be picky, the story was fairly linear. But over all, I'd give it a 6.5.

  • Beerus
    Beerus 8 days ago

    Teras Kasi

  • Ayman Khan
    Ayman Khan 8 days ago

    Now lets wait for Boba Fett movie which can be better that this Solo movie?

  • bigbabysld
    bigbabysld 9 days ago

    This movie was awesome...and where exactly was it boring?

  • Chenny Boy
    Chenny Boy 9 days ago

    A lot people who say they enjoyed it needed to go back and watch ep5, their standards have been lowered to much by the last jedi

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 10 days ago

    Please Disney no more of these origin stories you are ruining fans Childhood memories of the original Star Wars films

  • Ebun321
    Ebun321 10 days ago

    Jeremy must be getting paid he has been of about a lot of reviews recently

  • TheTrippychixie
    TheTrippychixie 10 days ago

    is this movie worth renting?

  • Time-wont-give-me-time

    I'll just keep watching Rogue One over and over again until another good Star Wars movie comes out! Rogue One is amazing😘

  • Martyn Phillips
    Martyn Phillips 21 day ago

    Solo was great. It’s a shame it was shadowed by the last Jedi’s failure

  • The android with sick coin tricks

    I don't necessarily like Han Solo so I didn't really care about this even coming out. But it's still was a movie no one asked for like it's irrelevant.

  • El El
    El El 25 days ago

    An origin story no one wanted.

  • JediKeyblade
    JediKeyblade Month ago +1

    At least it's not as bad as The Last Jedi it's totally accurate, but Idk about how Han really got his full name I don't think George Lucas wrote it as he got his last name from a recruiter I mean that part I thought was pretty stupid.

  • JediKeyblade
    JediKeyblade Month ago

    Yeah I slightly agree it was ok.

  • M.T.S The Shark Movie Reviews

    Well Solo was great so screw you

    • El El
      El El 25 days ago

      M.T.S The Shark Movie Reviews - it sucked. Take your head out of your ass.

  • Tristian Swift
    Tristian Swift Month ago

    Great review , saw the movie 389 times , I completely agree with your summary .

  • SKYRULE-49
    SKYRULE-49 Month ago

    The actor of Solo would play a great Drake from Uncharted!

  • krustomer
    krustomer Month ago

    I liked it enough. Pacing was so weird sometimes, but I accepted it and moved on. I really enjoyed seeing how Han formed his hard shell.

  • red Cobra X
    red Cobra X Month ago +1

    Bullshit movie tho

  • Roy Simmons
    Roy Simmons 2 months ago

    The real question would be... Is han solo a star wars story BETTER than attack of the clones? I think so.

  • Tonraq Korr
    Tonraq Korr 2 months ago +1

    SjW:Soylo.

  • TheCalucita
    TheCalucita 2 months ago

    Oh, my! Thank you! I do look great today 💜
    Also I enjoyed Solo, but I see yout point. I just expected the worst and was rewarded for it.

  • travis illerbrun
    travis illerbrun 2 months ago +1

    Haven’t seen it yet. Read the spoilers, doesn’t seem like a bad film. However I’m not seeing it in theatres because I’m not given kathleen kennedy money until she starts to respect the fans and not call them racist mysoginists because we don’t like a film. If your not gonna respect the people who are the reason for the success of a franchise, you don’t deserve our support.

  • Armidas
    Armidas 2 months ago

    Wait! You remebered your score for Attack of the Clones, so that means you remember the movie. So either you watched it just yesterday, or you haven't forgotten it in T- 1 Day. EXPOSED! xD

  • Meme Guy
    Meme Guy 2 months ago +1

    Why do I have the feeling that Jeremy is gonna dogshit a Star Wars movie one year?

    *Looks at the Rian Johnson trilogy.*

  • Communist Bear
    Communist Bear 2 months ago

    The main threat of this movie is the fucking Galactic Empire you dolt

  • Canaan's Photography
    Canaan's Photography 2 months ago

    Loved it. Great film, good acting and quite a well made film. I really enjoyed it.

  • Tinker Sbg
    Tinker Sbg 2 months ago

    I liked Solo. I don't know how anyone could dislike this star wars movie more then the Last Jedi. The Last Jedi was garbage. Solo was a lot more fun to watch.

  • bkaa18
    bkaa18 2 months ago

    I enjoyed the film. Much more than I thought I would. But I 100% agree that it wasn't a movie we needed at all. They should have just made a book.

  • deerjerkydave
    deerjerkydave 2 months ago +1

    Finally saw it. Went in with low expectations. Good thing. I'd give it a C. The Star Wars universe lately seems to be struggling like the DCEU. People love these characters but the stories being created around them seem thrown together and not well developed. Disney and Lucasfilm need to spend twice as long in the writing and development phase which should produce better cohesive stories and fewer retakes. This is not a franchise and brand they should be skimping on!

  • The Boost Cave
    The Boost Cave 2 months ago

    According to Donald “dipshit” Glover, if America is so racist, how come they didn’t just cast a white guy in blackface to play lando?

  • Mighty Martin
    Mighty Martin 2 months ago

    I respect your opinion but I thought it was good and it answered some questions like: what happened to Han before a new hope, what happened to Darth maul. By the way you successfully pissed off most of The Star Wars nerds!

  • Husni Abugosh
    Husni Abugosh 2 months ago

    honestly i thought this movie was better than episode 1 and 2,rogue one,and tlj

  • A
    A 2 months ago

    Jeremy rulez!

  • Julianna Fletcher
    Julianna Fletcher 2 months ago

    Usually I'm pretty much on the same page as Jeremy but I REALLY liked this movie. I've actually seen it twice. I like the twists and not being able to know who to trust and the sets idk I just really really enjoyed this film.

  • Mike Walton
    Mike Walton 2 months ago

    How do you fuck up a Han Solo movie smh!

  • Danymite hazard
    Danymite hazard 2 months ago

    I can tell that’s a cheap jacket

  • Tommy Boman
    Tommy Boman 2 months ago

    Sure it is not as bad as Force Awakens, nor is it as horribly shitty as The Last Jedi, it is however not a more than a bad movie. Solo also have the worst character of all of Star Wars, perhaps in all of movie history, which alone destroys all smudges of credibility that Disney still had. Solo is simply another SJW idiocy from the office of the evil Darth Kennedy.

  • Rare Armor
    Rare Armor 2 months ago

    The actor playing Solo sucks . Don't like him.

  • Ken Cousins
    Ken Cousins 2 months ago

    100 percent agreed, Mr. Jahns. Dreadful film. I walked out after 90 minutes.

  • Snoop Frogg
    Snoop Frogg 2 months ago

    I don’t know how people don’t like the movie. I loved it and I think it’s way too under appreciated. I think the only reason people don’t like it is because all the kids who are new to Star Wars are so used to seeing 20-30 minutes of lightsaber battles that they don’t recognize it as a Star Wars movie. I bet the same people who are hating this movie would pry throw up after watching the original trilogy. It had a great story with great characters, and I would love to see a second

  • SithSpit Rick
    SithSpit Rick 2 months ago

    Yeah movie sucked better than last jedi but still felt like a generic sci-fi film .

  • CloneTroopr
    CloneTroopr 2 months ago

    Probably one of the only reviews I can remember where I strongly disagree with you. 🤷‍♂️ I'm bummed that it didn't work for you 😥

  • Ethan Collins
    Ethan Collins 2 months ago

    I didn't think it was boring at all I was engaged the entire time

  • Mifter Baples
    Mifter Baples 2 months ago

    I’ve been watching you for 5 years Jeremy and this is one of those rare instances where I have to disagree with you. I love Solo just as much as I love Rogue One I would put these two movies above Episode 7 & 8. I cant believe you weren’t able to like it and no it was not boring the last Jedi was boring.

  • KPlechPerez
    KPlechPerez 2 months ago

    That was a great movie, I don't know what everyone else watched! Pacing was not bad at all... Worst SW movie would probably be The Last Jedi, dang that was awful!

  • 55batmanandjoker
    55batmanandjoker 2 months ago

    This movie was pretty good actually, i was really pleasantly suprised, and the actor was very good as young Solo, i think i defenently liked it bether than last jedi , maybe bether than force awakens and maaaybe bether than rogue one, and i really like rouge one but not sure about that, i would first have to see Solo atleast once more.

  • string1414
    string1414 2 months ago

    I really strongly disagree with you man. Glover was fine, and I love ya boi CG, but everyone did a great job imo. Better than TFA and TLJ. Really liked it

  • Philip English
    Philip English 2 months ago

    I though Solo was great, better than the sequel and prequel films. It’s my 4th favourite after the original trilogy, with Empire being my absolute favourite

  • Keep Calm and Build Bots

    I thought it was good, and so was the pacing. Idk what this guy means when he claims the pacing is bad because he doesn't explain himself once. He also talks so fast I can't think of my opinion before he changes the subject. Edit: He also makes a bunch of generalisations.

  • Saith Feed
    Saith Feed 2 months ago

    the movie was ok, please tell me that I'm not the only person who didn't like Alden as Solo, sure he did fine as behaving like Han but he sounds and looked nothing like Han. Donald Glover was great though, he did something that Alden couldn't do.

  • Rohan Jay
    Rohan Jay 2 months ago

    Becoming fashionable just to say all new SW is shit, by default. That's what is really boring, not the movies themselves necessarily! Solo was actually pretty good, pacing was fine I thought. Take your point about the lack of a true main antagonist, but that wasn't what the movie was ever going to focus upon. It is Solo, his story, how he became who he was. He pisses plenty of villains off along the way as we know, not just one shit eater at the beginning! I'd give the movie a solid 7.5, not necessarily massively memorable to be true, but I'd certainly see it again and enjoy it.

  • Jack Fletcher
    Jack Fletcher 2 months ago

    Just saw it and in my opinion solo was my favorite disney star wars movie so far. Really hope they make a trilogy!

  • SephirothSuperKool
    SephirothSuperKool 2 months ago +11

    OMG, BORING is exactly the way I've been thinking it sounds. Not BAD, but BORING. That's why I'm not planning on seeing Solo in theaters. Besides, it breaks my heart to call any Star Wars film boring because even the prequels and TLJ at least elicited reactions from me, I actually had opinions on those movies.

  • Jack Kehrli
    Jack Kehrli 2 months ago

    Everyone is gonna be mad but i thought lando was a bad character. I thought Donald Glover did fine but he was written terrible. He was such a coward and a weasel. He didn’t do any real fighting and he cheated his way success. In the originals he wasn’t a weasel he turned them in because he had no choice.

  • Holden Berryman
    Holden Berryman 2 months ago

    Don’t agree I like the movie! A lot!

  • Joe Snaffer
    Joe Snaffer 2 months ago

    Honestly, I loved this movie. It does have its flaws, but its a good time.

  • Default TM
    Default TM 3 months ago +1

    Disney Movies ranked (from best to worst):
    *1)Rogue One*
    *2)Solo*
    *3)The Force Awakens*
    *4)The Last Jedi*

  • Jam Lutz
    Jam Lutz 3 months ago

    Tried watching it at a drive in last night. I left early because it was boring, poor dialogue/ acting. It was dog shit. First one I have disliked since prequel trilogy.

  • WhitnAle01
    WhitnAle01 3 months ago

    I really like this movie.

  • Amund Bisgaard
    Amund Bisgaard 3 months ago

    Han Solo got captured. I like Star Wars heroes that weren't captured.

  • Amund Bisgaard
    Amund Bisgaard 3 months ago

    Main problem: They're milking the franchise by telling the story of a character who is already known. We know from the start that he'll come through, and that he'll get script-killed later.
    Predictable shit. No surprises. Not at all interesting. You created nothing. You ruined Han Solo.

  • SAGE XX
    SAGE XX 3 months ago

    Man JJ I hope they have not compromised your channel dude, everyone loves this movie except you?!?

  • SAGE XX
    SAGE XX 3 months ago

    DO NOT TRUST JJ ON THIS ONE!!! The movie is good for some reason it’s getting a whole lot of undeserved hate. GO SEE IT FOR YOURSELVES.

  • Iwillone
    Iwillone 3 months ago

    Finally saw it and actually liked it a lot it despite the only question way back at this movie's announcement "Why are they making a Han Solo film" still standing since we met him young in A New Hope unlike Obi-Wan for the prequel. The new dude did a good job and came across as the character quite well at times to near mirror Harrison Ford (- ^ )

  • IntentChief
    IntentChief 3 months ago +2

    I saw it last night and was pleasantly surprised

  • Jeopardy Dexter
    Jeopardy Dexter 3 months ago +2

    Damn, did we see different movies? Had a fun time at this. The first act is admittedly clunky but it settled into its groove once that train heist happens.

  • elliot campbell
    elliot campbell 3 months ago

    I really liked this movie was a proper surprise it was fun enjoyable and kinda witty and has some heart to it . Why the fuck do people hate this movie I was actually so shocked at how much I liked it

  • Legion
    Legion 3 months ago

    The one thing that still pisses me off is that Anthony Ingruber didn't play a younger Han Solo in this movie I mena the man literally played a young Harrison Ford in Age of Adaline, has the same voice, mannerisms everything, movie would have been almost perfect if he had played Solo.

  • lilbrothaaa
    lilbrothaaa 3 months ago

    I had a couple of anti-Han moments especially when he expressed that his motivation for earning money was to get his girl away from Corelia or when he tried to protect the poor and the feeble without any personal profit.

  • Nis
    Nis 3 months ago

    Jeremy I agree with 90% of you're reviews but this is one we don't see eye to eye on. Sorry you had a different experience than me man.

  • Arc Throne
    Arc Throne 3 months ago

    *SPOILERS AHEAD*
    Isn‘t it obvious that Dryden Vos was the final villain? At first, the villain is unclear and Han just wants to get money, but then decides to do what‘s right, which is helping Enfys and that‘s where Dryden becomes the villain.

  • Cameron Mitchell
    Cameron Mitchell 3 months ago

    Saw it twice. See the slight pacing issues the 2nd time but still better than TLJ and the embarrassing Star Wars porn that was rouge one. L3 was less annoying the second time. Overall enjoyed it tho. Wasn’t the second coming but definitely better than Jeremy’s giving it credit for. Also the music which people seem to look over, was considerably better than rouge one. Remember that cheesy ass rouge one title screen.

  • Linguini Star
    Linguini Star 3 months ago

    Well with the antagonist problem, the movie explores Han's past as well as the smuggling world. It seemed to come across more as everyone is the enemy, also considering what Becket said to not trust anyone.

  • klutz395
    klutz395 3 months ago

    TBH, I really liked this movie. The characters had a lot of chemistry and the action was excited. Best of all, there was no SJW bullshit!

  • funkygirlkathryn
    funkygirlkathryn 3 months ago

    Omg that captain America meme popping up on screen made me laugh so hard

  • Nightwing775 _
    Nightwing775 _ 3 months ago

    My fav character was L3....... I nearly cried when she died. 😭👌

  • Joels_Creed141
    Joels_Creed141 3 months ago

    Spoiler Talk?

  • The Wolverine
    The Wolverine 3 months ago

    God I hated L3-37 and the Last Jedi

  • Shawn DC
    Shawn DC 3 months ago +1

    I haven't watched it yet but I have a feeling he's son will kill him...

  • Martin Renner
    Martin Renner 3 months ago

    Saw it yesterday (free tickets! No way Disney's getting any more money from me) and today I barely remember it. It was so... bland.

  • M.T.S The Shark Movie Reviews

    Oh, I had a lot of fun with this

  • kenny312162
    kenny312162 3 months ago

    Wanker