Solo: A Star Wars Story - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 10 264

  • Alex Helmin
    Alex Helmin 4 hours ago

    Ya know, just watched it on Netflix. I think it's pretty good, there story was solid, the character dynamics we're actually great. I laughed at fembot wat... It was rocky but solid, not a brick but a nice boulder.

  • Jason Hauser
    Jason Hauser 10 hours ago

    I usually agree with Jeremy, but I thought the pacing of Solo was damn good, and it's the best Star Wars movie since the original trilogy. It's better than all the crappy Prequels, Force Awakens, Last Jedi and Rogue One.

  • Ellipsis10
    Ellipsis10 13 hours ago

    Truth!!

  • Chris Hansen
    Chris Hansen 16 hours ago

    This movie actually kept me entertained from beginning to end unlike The Last Jedi that had me dozing off and just waiting for the movie to end. I really hope they make a part 2

  • Xanider
    Xanider 23 hours ago

    I Legit enjoyed the shit out of this movie. there were a few things that made me roll my eyes but other than that, it was fun.

  • ethan burnside
    ethan burnside Day ago

    Did you really expect anything else? it's Disney filling out lore. It was filler. You expected this as a pure film?

  • Jack Kenny
    Jack Kenny Day ago

    better than the last jedi tbh

  • TheThedot
    TheThedot Day ago

    This movie sucked. They care so much about forcing kids to consume massive properganda on race and brain washing little gilrs to view blacks a parnter. So gross to her a white woman ogel over a black boi. Death to race mix properganda.

  • Luis King
    Luis King Day ago

    Why do you have to be vulgar?

  • Overlay Production
    Overlay Production 2 days ago

    I think this movie was great and well thought out, but I respect your opnion. Still disappointed in THE LAST JEDI

  • BE Unlimited
    BE Unlimited 3 days ago

    Pacing was fine to me. Loved the movie.

  • Mottahead
    Mottahead 3 days ago

    This movie is great.
    That Rogue and Last Jedi crap were boring as hell.
    Not this one.

  • Jamison Montgomery
    Jamison Montgomery 3 days ago

    Dude your fucking wrong it’s an origin story do you know what that means right how Han Solo got to be where he’s at & his story it’s a better movie than tlj & the forces awakens

  • badtemper88
    badtemper88 4 days ago

    Watched it on Netflix January 2019 and it was better thanI thought it would be.

  • gibsoneb3
    gibsoneb3 4 days ago

    It was - not horrible, like TLJ. But not in the same space as Empire or Return - I wanted to like the characters more than I did. And although I enjoy the actor who voiced the feminist robot I thought the character was annoying.

  • Aces
    Aces 5 days ago

    Just saw it. I liked it. It was better than I thought

  • David Anderson
    David Anderson 5 days ago

    Promised I would never spend another dime on a Star Wars movie after The Last Jedi so I finally watched it on Netflix ............. Better than The Last Jedi.

  • The Vision And The Voice

    You're plain wrong. Good movie.

  • Colt Johnson
    Colt Johnson 6 days ago

    Han solo was casted way wrong. He had none of the mannerisms of Han..like zero! Other than that the movie was good.

  • joseph dupuis
    joseph dupuis 12 days ago +1

    It is true, the movie is too talky, the pace is too slow, it becomes boring and there is a problem with the ending the last action scene of the movie is at 30 minutes before the end of the movie. BORING SOLO

  • GODZILLA EARTH
    GODZILLA EARTH 14 days ago +1

    This was a good movie wtf is wrong with everyone are they stupid or just insane

  • Abel Mantor
    Abel Mantor 14 days ago

    "You all look great today" you too , Jeremy.

  • Oscar P
    Oscar P 18 days ago +1

    millenials are creaming themselves over these new star wars movies lol sad

  • Max Nyström
    Max Nyström 18 days ago

    I thought it was ok

  • Beeby8 Reviews
    Beeby8 Reviews 19 days ago

    I hate it when people say “Nobody asked for it.” I’m sorry but that is just not true. When somebody says that, it really means “You didn’t ask for it.”

  • Michael Hovsomething
    Michael Hovsomething 24 days ago

    You’re a great reviewer of movies and respect you observations but gotta disagree. I was shocked how good a movie was Solo. It looked like a bomb from the first trailer. Firing the directors is a panic move based on test audiences. Rumor was Erhenreicht couldn’t act and needed an acting coach against all odds it was a fun watch. Even with the prequelover explanation of every aspect of the Solo backstory. And the injection of flavor of the month actors Vision guy and Game of Thrones girl. The movie was entertaining

  • Pedro Rosario
    Pedro Rosario 26 days ago +1

    So I'm a little late. Just put the movie on at 10p last night. After running all around all day I expected to fall asleep watching this movie. I didn't. This movie was interesting and fun to watch. Young Han was so cool. Meeting Chewbacca was awesome. Lando was great. The Millennium Falcon intro was great. Ok so now I think there is something wrong with me. I loved this movie. 10x better then the Last Jedi.

  • Daniel Aptekar
    Daniel Aptekar 28 days ago

    Your review sucks. I think This movie was very good. I feel that Alden Ehrenreich as Solo did a great Job.
    The story was on point as well directed.

  • Jeffrey Golladay
    Jeffrey Golladay Month ago +1

    I actually really liked this movie. It felt like Star Wars.

  • beau jacobs
    beau jacobs Month ago +1

    I love that Jeremy is clearly not a shill.
    He’s got loads more subscribers then schmoes and campea(who suck Disney’s dick) but he’s real. It’s rare that I disagree with him

  • Maycifer
    Maycifer Month ago

    i can't believe i totally forgot about this movie! A movie about HAN SOLO whom i love and i was so uninterested i forgot it existed

  • Ian Workman
    Ian Workman Month ago

    Said it exactly right. Turned it off after an hour and felt like playing the originals to get the bad taste out of my mouth. Quite simply,no bad guy,no motivation,no revenge,no story.

  • GoddessOfWhim2003
    GoddessOfWhim2003 Month ago

    yeah, i waited a long time to see it. wasn't impressed at all. so glad i didn't spend money on it

  • Alex
    Alex Month ago

    Im surprised to read in the comments that you actually liked it. The movie was a complete cringe-show with the worst dialogues ive seen in my life. On a very good day its an average movie and on a bad day its garbage. They could have done so many things in this movie and yet they delivered this.
    I was never planning to watch it after i saw last jedi and the first reviews that came in but after reading comments around like in this video i said meh lets give it a shot. And imagine i had very low expectations and it still dissappointed me.
    The only way i could enjoy the movie is if i was 13 years old. Thats it i will never trust the reviews in comment sections.

  • João Carriço
    João Carriço Month ago

    Something about the duality of men sir

  • Pretentious Username

    I feel Alden was the second best part of thr movie. First, Paul Betany

  • deathshere4u
    deathshere4u Month ago

    hey u described what captain phasma did in the force awakens

  • It's all good man!
    It's all good man! Month ago

    Love your jacket...oh and I'm tired of the dilution, and milking of the Stars Wars galaxy. I was late to the Star Wars party, born in '81 but I've grown to love the 1st trilogy and now I'm not caring anymore...saddened and depressed by it all. JJ's jacket though...Awesometacular!!

  • minners71
    minners71 Month ago

    What an awful reviewer talk about pacing try pacing your voice.

  • Drunken Busker
    Drunken Busker Month ago

    Poor movie by Star Wars standards. I think people have got used to watching bad movies and feel positive about anything remotely better than the last Jedi.

  • Spence Mundorf
    Spence Mundorf Month ago

    Honestly I liked it. It certainly wasn't a great movie but it's was good for sure. The main cast was pretty fun, there was an unclear villain thing going on although it came off as if it was done on purpose. Now that's not to say that it worked perfectly but it was certainly made to be that way. I liked the scenes with the Empire but we didn't get much of that. Mostly small crime organizations. They were alright but none was shown in a way that made them super badass. Even the most badass characters weren't all the way there. They were just pretty good at what they do. I liked the jokes and Lando was a wonderful time. When it comes down to it, I actually place it at #2 best Disney star wars movie

  • IFM
    IFM Month ago

    I enjoyed this movie

  • Mike French
    Mike French 2 months ago

    I finally got around to seeing Solo. Gradually got better. 1st act was slow, 2nd act got better, 3rd act was great. Hope they make the trilogy like they were intending

  • Stacy Stableton
    Stacy Stableton 2 months ago +1

    Great movie. At least Darth Vader was not crying again & butch lesbians bashing all the guys up. Glover was not very good. Get serious.

  • Libby Smith-Hughes and Man-Made Unicorn Man

    You mention that no one asked for this movie. Well nobody asked for Star Wars back in 77'. So there is something the two films have in common.
    Also both surprisingly good. Two for two.
    Also I liked the fact that the villain isn't in your face. Enigmatic right?
    You are going to remember this movie cause it's Star Wars.

  • Joe Snaffer
    Joe Snaffer 2 months ago

    I actually liked the movie, but I can understand why some people found it boring

  • Cow Poke
    Cow Poke 2 months ago +1

    it is boring i got baked to watch it and still couldn't i gave up in the beginning of the movie

  • Rae_of_Fashion
    Rae_of_Fashion 2 months ago +1

    Literally until I watched this review I had completely forgotten I saw it. 🤕 Hans is one of my fave characters and this movie was too sprinkled with great actors😍 carrying un-great characters🙄 giving the best performances they could with the material they had. 🤦🏾‍♀️💔

  • enishi4ty5
    enishi4ty5 2 months ago

    Idk, i finally got convinced to watch it and honestly its imo a good movie. Granted, i only watched the first of the original SW, and i grew up on the prequels, my only real knowledge of Han was lore knowledge, and tfa.. for anyone who’s first starwars movie was tfa, the solo movie made Hans death even more impactful. Also they pretty much shut up the who shot first problem. Hand wouldve because its how he was raised to survive. Rogue one did somethings better but the cast was super forgettable. Vader scene alone upstaged every aspect of that movie. I thought this one stood well by itself. Decent amount of issues tho

  • DADventureTV
    DADventureTV 2 months ago

    Haha. Spot on

  • LIGER ZERO
    LIGER ZERO 2 months ago +1

    I fell asleep TWICE during the movie, meaning had to watch it over several sessions. Movie was boring and the guy who plays han is literally nothing like him and more like the whiny kid luke skywalker.
    Not against the guy in the star wars verse...but not as Han solo
    Anthony ingruber would have been so much better

  • cornedbeefz ok
    cornedbeefz ok 2 months ago

    fuk your annoying

  • Commander Wolffe
    Commander Wolffe 2 months ago +1

    I heard that it totally bombed in the box office.

  • Nefff
    Nefff 2 months ago

    First of all, this movie sucks. The SJW shit is back again and it's bad. The movie doesn't tell anything about about Han Solo and his past. And the is boring.

  • Libby Smith-Hughes and Man-Made Unicorn Man

    You are fast talking for sure. But right about this movie you are not. For me personally, didn't like it much at the cinema but in repeat viewings on bl u ray, it's actually a really good star wars movie. Better than the prequels, better than SWLJ and as good as Force Awakens.

  • M.T.S The Shark Movie Reviews

    Really enjoyed this one

  • sheek1982
    sheek1982 2 months ago

    Definitely not a Star Wars fan, and went in expecting it to be pretty bland, but i must say i actually enjoyed this film, and may even get into the series after this.

  • MrWeareone777
    MrWeareone777 2 months ago

    Dude your on your own. I personally loved this movie along with many others. Watching it again on DVD.

  • Chris Browning
    Chris Browning 2 months ago +1

    Y'all need to relax this was his opinion on the movie I get some of y'all enjoyed and im gonna be watching it tonight I know I'm late to the party lol but point being is that he reviews movies based of the knowledge he seen in the movies and add it in there and then he gives his opinion of the movie

  • Alexander Mayes
    Alexander Mayes 2 months ago

    Pmsl, so many people getting triggered.
    Yep, Jeremy was pretty much spot on here, about most things.
    The movie was pointless and redundant from the get go.
    The firing of Lord and Miller only exacerbated that fact.
    Plus, every single thing - every . . . . Single. . . . . Thing . . . we know about such an iconic character is shoehorned into one
    Short timeframe, in this one film.
    Casino Royale is how you examine the prequel backstory of a character.
    Solo really, really isn't.
    It's sadly bland, and irrelevant.

  • Zulzon80
    Zulzon80 3 months ago

    I think this is the first time I completely disagree with everything Jeremy thought about a movie. These new Star Wars movies are creating such a schism between fans, it's annoying as fuck.

  • koolR.J.
    koolR.J. 3 months ago

    Jeremy I unsubscribed

  • AllowIllaoi
    AllowIllaoi 3 months ago

    i really, really enjoyed this movie.

  • xiomara guzman
    xiomara guzman 3 months ago

    Jeremy I respect you man I do, but come on Solo is way better than Rogue one.

  • No name
    No name 3 months ago

    I thought it was pretty good (kind of boring) but just didn’t feel like a Star Wars movie...

  • HELL'S HITMAN
    HELL'S HITMAN 3 months ago

    It's a film that didn't deserve the hate it got. It was ok but could it of been better and did we need it?
    When it was first announced people were hyped up for it but they were over it before it came out. Unfortunately Last Jedi put most off and this just wasn't good enough to get people in for it.
    The only backstory that could work now would be for Yoda, the rest aren't worth doing but I bet Disney still made money off Solo.

  • Oliver Wise
    Oliver Wise 3 months ago

    Bro I typically agree with you but I think you’re way off this time. You should rewatch it and dismiss your previous biases, change Han Solos name in your head and you might like it more

  • Craxin01
    Craxin01 3 months ago

    You know, I think your review made me enjoy the film more. I was expecting it to be pathetic, but I really enjoyed it. Tp be fair, I think a lot of critics over-watch films. Looking at the pacing, character development, framing, and they are important parts, but they aren't the movie. They're ingredients in a cake. Maybe it's not going to be the best cake, but it's still a decent cake if a few parts aren't there or aren't the highest quality.

  • Benjamin Perez
    Benjamin Perez 3 months ago

    Expectations were bad... 2 different directors, chaos in the production, but that was a pretty good movie for me. I enjoyed it.

  • Cameron Brown
    Cameron Brown 3 months ago

    I just finished watching this film and as soon as the credits rolled i was like to myself "welp Attack of the clones isnt my least favourite anymore"

  • OStarzFilmz
    OStarzFilmz 3 months ago +1

    I'm gonna have to disagree with you there Jeremy Jahns, after seeing this movie in blu-ray. I gotta say that I enjoy this movie & I cannot wait for other standalone Star Wars movies. Although, The Last Jedi is what destroyed Solo: A Star Wars Story by box office numbers. This movie felt a lot like Rouge One, a mixer to it. I really enjoy watching Solo, I thought it was gonna be pretty bad despite we didn't want Solo movie, but it was really good. My overall rating with it is 8/10, it had some Star Wars vibe to it. It was trying to be different & I enjoy that, as much I hate The Last Jedi. I hope Star Wars will have a chance to be revived what it use to be.

    • MG3
      MG3 3 months ago

      rogue not rouge

  • Hector Arredondo
    Hector Arredondo 3 months ago

    I didn't like the droid she was unbearable for some reason the idea of drones beong slaves came out of now where

  • Eddie Costa
    Eddie Costa 3 months ago +2

    Just saw it and it’s not bad it’s more like filler… An origin story which was cool....plus it was great to see Han shoots first lol

  • NickBigsmoke
    NickBigsmoke 3 months ago

    The first act was definitely slow and meanders a lot. Although the rest of the movie was great and I was thoroughly entertained. I personally think this is the best star wars movie of the new 4 that have been made

  • Lee Smith
    Lee Smith 3 months ago

    I loved Solo. Hated last Jedi

  • JohnnyCabrera26
    JohnnyCabrera26 3 months ago +1

    Sorry JJ got to disagree with you on this one. I found it entertaining and that scene when Solo and Chew meets and the friendship that they develop it’s a great. You understand Chewbaca’s scream when Kylo kills Solo.

  • John Roby
    John Roby 3 months ago +1

    I finally watched the movie and I gotta say apart from how he got his name and the “villain” of the movie....it’s really not a bad movie...I don’t personally see why the people who hate it hate it....like you had some big expectations for Han Solos past or something....the guy who plays Han had no easy task according to some people but he made the role his own instead of doing a Harrison Ford Impersonation...Donald Glover was entertaining as Lando....The Kessel heist was interesting...the kessel run was the best part of the movie to me...it’s like a 6.5 out of 10

  • George Paxson
    George Paxson 3 months ago +1

    Did not read any reviews and waited for red box. Was a heist movie. Was boring with the bonus SJW character punishment. Then the children from Mad Max Thunder Dome show up at the end.

  • Robert Couchman
    Robert Couchman 3 months ago

    Finally got to watch this... didnt hate it tbh. But it could be the origin references

  • erasmussen14
    erasmussen14 3 months ago

    Movie was streaming hot trash. Watched the review and saw a ton of comments defending the movie. Glad you liked it.
    To each their own, but for me, it was a waste of time.

  • James Hubball
    James Hubball 3 months ago

    Baffling that this gets a lower rating than the last jedi... even though solo, is by farrrr a much better movie

  • DavZ NoT HerE
    DavZ NoT HerE 3 months ago

    I'd love to see the movie you were hoping to see.. But I don't think you were going to get that with Han Solo.. as a character he's really not interesting enough to pull off more than what this movie did.

  • Connor Williams
    Connor Williams 3 months ago

    This was a fantastic movie that looked at an otherwise one sided universe in a different way giving it dimension

  • Kevin Schmevin
    Kevin Schmevin 3 months ago

    I didn't think the pacing was the problem, for me it was all the stupid and illogical decisions they made. All the sjw stuff seriously made me want to puke.

  • The Last Starfighter
    The Last Starfighter 3 months ago

    For you, it was boring. like for me suicide squad was a piece of shit...

  • Derek Sutton
    Derek Sutton 3 months ago

    This dude thinks he's a lot funnier than he actually is

  • dj monkey
    dj monkey 3 months ago

    Thanks for the comment, but I liked the movie

  • Kush kingOnyx
    Kush kingOnyx 3 months ago

    The movie wasnt bad...its better then the last jedi I can say that

  • Sammy D'Onofrio
    Sammy D'Onofrio 3 months ago

    I just saw SOLO for the first time last night. On the DVD. Took me this long because of all the haters that are so-called Star Wars fans. And I wish I never listen to anybody on the internet, on TVclip, or word of mouth I LIKED IT. AND I ALSO REALLY LIKED ROGUE ONE. I mean how stupid do you have to be to be so narrow-minded, to think that every story has to involve the Skywalkers. Take the movie for what it is, and it's a fun Western /movie Heist. And I thought there was really good chemistry between all the actors.

  • cas grafx
    cas grafx 3 months ago +1

    It was better than I thought

  • King's
    King's 3 months ago

    This was good movie...u r uptight..7.5% dislikes..hmmm

  • Gingrnut
    Gingrnut 3 months ago

    I actually really liked it. I went into it with low expectations, but I really really liked it!

  • Bubba Booey
    Bubba Booey 3 months ago

    I wasn't bored at all...Like it wasn't great but wasn't bad at all....Put it this way we didnt gain anything from solo but we didnt get anything ruined and nothing was lost so it was a Push

  • Felipe Carvalho
    Felipe Carvalho 3 months ago

    Harrison was great in it

  • Felipe Carvalho
    Felipe Carvalho 3 months ago

    This movie is not that bad. Starts fine, the ending sucks.

  • Lawrence Yang
    Lawrence Yang 3 months ago

    Well I like the pacing of Solo; it is better than Rogue One. I like the story in Rogue One, but I almost fell asleep in the theatre. I was kind of surprised that people can complain about the flaws in Solo even after watching The Last Jedi, that one was...disgusting. I don't care about the critics out there; I think Solo was not too bad, and I liked prequels.

  • AWF
    AWF 3 months ago

    Most boring star wars film yet, I agree with you Jeremy. Disney killed Star Wars. Didn't see the Last Jedi though because I heard it was terrible and that Luke's character was destroyed (literally in every way).

  • Andrew Catallo
    Andrew Catallo 3 months ago

    Ya I waited till today to buy it and watch it happy to have it happy I watched it but idk it’s not bad but its off maybe they should of made it grittier or something idk

  • Ron Wylie
    Ron Wylie 3 months ago

    I didnt want to like it but I have to say, after bottling up pure HATE since the bloody awful The Last Jedi, this was really quite good, it had some great moments.
    See it yourself and make your own mind up {I didnt pay to see it, I wont see another one in a cinema either, I didnt appreciate being called a fanboy}

  • Fotze Gaming and Media
    Fotze Gaming and Media 3 months ago

    This is the biggest pussified copout I think I've seen yet from a reviewer. Oh, I'm not talking about THIS video in particular, but the one you did prior with the links giving different opinions depending on what the VIEWER WANTED to hear