Solo: A Star Wars Story - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 10 221

  • travis illerbrun
    travis illerbrun 7 hours ago

    Haven’t seen it yet. Read the spoilers, doesn’t seem like a bad film. However I’m not seeing it in theatres because I’m not given kathleen kennedy money until she starts to respect the fans and not call them racist mysoginists because we don’t like a film. If your not gonna respect the people who are the reason for the success of a franchise, you don’t deserve our support.

  • Armidas
    Armidas 22 hours ago

    Wait! You remebered your score for Attack of the Clones, so that means you remember the movie. So either you watched it just yesterday, or you haven't forgotten it in T- 1 Day. EXPOSED! xD

  • Meme Guy
    Meme Guy Day ago

    Why do I have the feeling that Jeremy is gonna dogshit a Star Wars movie one year?

    *Looks at the Rian Johnson trilogy.*

  • Communist Bear
    Communist Bear 2 days ago

    The main threat of this movie is the fucking Galactic Empire you dolt

  • Canaan's Photography

    Loved it. Great film, good acting and quite a well made film. I really enjoyed it.

  • Tinker Sbg
    Tinker Sbg 5 days ago

    I liked Solo. I don't know how anyone could dislike this star wars movie more then the Last Jedi. The Last Jedi was garbage. Solo was a lot more fun to watch.

  • bkaa18
    bkaa18 5 days ago

    I enjoyed the film. Much more than I thought I would. But I 100% agree that it wasn't a movie we needed at all. They should have just made a book.

  • deerjerkydave
    deerjerkydave 7 days ago +1

    Finally saw it. Went in with low expectations. Good thing. I'd give it a C. The Star Wars universe lately seems to be struggling like the DCEU. People love these characters but the stories being created around them seem thrown together and not well developed. Disney and Lucasfilm need to spend twice as long in the writing and development phase which should produce better cohesive stories and fewer retakes. This is not a franchise and brand they should be skimping on!

  • The Boost Cave
    The Boost Cave 7 days ago

    According to Donald “dipshit” Glover, if America is so racist, how come they didn’t just cast a white guy in blackface to play lando?

  • Mighty Martin
    Mighty Martin 8 days ago

    I respect your opinion but I thought it was good and it answered some questions like: what happened to Han before a new hope, what happened to Darth maul. By the way you successfully pissed off most of The Star Wars nerds!

  • Husni Abugosh
    Husni Abugosh 9 days ago

    honestly i thought this movie was better than episode 1 and 2,rogue one,and tlj

  • A
    A 10 days ago

    Jeremy rulez!

  • Julianna Fletcher
    Julianna Fletcher 14 days ago

    Usually I'm pretty much on the same page as Jeremy but I REALLY liked this movie. I've actually seen it twice. I like the twists and not being able to know who to trust and the sets idk I just really really enjoyed this film.

  • Mike Walton
    Mike Walton 16 days ago

    How do you fuck up a Han Solo movie smh!

  • Danymite hazard
    Danymite hazard 16 days ago

    I can tell that’s a cheap jacket

  • Tommy Boman
    Tommy Boman 16 days ago

    Sure it is not as bad as Force Awakens, nor is it as horribly shitty as The Last Jedi, it is however not a more than a bad movie. Solo also have the worst character of all of Star Wars, perhaps in all of movie history, which alone destroys all smudges of credibility that Disney still had. Solo is simply another SJW idiocy from the office of the evil Darth Kennedy.

  • Rare Armor
    Rare Armor 16 days ago

    The actor playing Solo sucks . Don't like him.

  • Ken Cousins
    Ken Cousins 17 days ago

    100 percent agreed, Mr. Jahns. Dreadful film. I walked out after 90 minutes.

  • Snoop Frogg
    Snoop Frogg 17 days ago

    I don’t know how people don’t like the movie. I loved it and I think it’s way too under appreciated. I think the only reason people don’t like it is because all the kids who are new to Star Wars are so used to seeing 20-30 minutes of lightsaber battles that they don’t recognize it as a Star Wars movie. I bet the same people who are hating this movie would pry throw up after watching the original trilogy. It had a great story with great characters, and I would love to see a second

  • SithSpit Rick
    SithSpit Rick 17 days ago

    Yeah movie sucked better than last jedi but still felt like a generic sci-fi film .

  • CloneTroopr
    CloneTroopr 18 days ago

    Probably one of the only reviews I can remember where I strongly disagree with you. 🤷‍♂️ I'm bummed that it didn't work for you 😥

  • C Rizzy
    C Rizzy 18 days ago

    This is by far my favorite Disney Lucas film. It figures that it would bomb. I also loved Blade Runner 2049 and that bombed.

  • Ethan Collins
    Ethan Collins 19 days ago

    I didn't think it was boring at all I was engaged the entire time

  • Mifter Baples
    Mifter Baples 19 days ago

    I’ve been watching you for 5 years Jeremy and this is one of those rare instances where I have to disagree with you. I love Solo just as much as I love Rogue One I would put these two movies above Episode 7 & 8. I cant believe you weren’t able to like it and no it was not boring the last Jedi was boring.

  • KPlechPerez
    KPlechPerez 21 day ago

    That was a great movie, I don't know what everyone else watched! Pacing was not bad at all... Worst SW movie would probably be The Last Jedi, dang that was awful!

  • 55batmanandjoker
    55batmanandjoker 22 days ago

    This movie was pretty good actually, i was really pleasantly suprised, and the actor was very good as young Solo, i think i defenently liked it bether than last jedi , maybe bether than force awakens and maaaybe bether than rogue one, and i really like rouge one but not sure about that, i would first have to see Solo atleast once more.

  • string1414
    string1414 22 days ago

    I really strongly disagree with you man. Glover was fine, and I love ya boi CG, but everyone did a great job imo. Better than TFA and TLJ. Really liked it

  • Philip English
    Philip English 22 days ago

    I though Solo was great, better than the sequel and prequel films. It’s my 4th favourite after the original trilogy, with Empire being my absolute favourite

  • Keep Calm and Build Bots

    I thought it was good, and so was the pacing. Idk what this guy means when he claims the pacing is bad because he doesn't explain himself once. He also talks so fast I can't think of my opinion before he changes the subject. Edit: He also makes a bunch of generalisations.

  • Saith Feed
    Saith Feed 23 days ago

    the movie was ok, please tell me that I'm not the only person who didn't like Alden as Solo, sure he did fine as behaving like Han but he sounds and looked nothing like Han. Donald Glover was great though, he did something that Alden couldn't do.

  • Rohan Jay
    Rohan Jay 24 days ago

    Becoming fashionable just to say all new SW is shit, by default. That's what is really boring, not the movies themselves necessarily! Solo was actually pretty good, pacing was fine I thought. Take your point about the lack of a true main antagonist, but that wasn't what the movie was ever going to focus upon. It is Solo, his story, how he became who he was. He pisses plenty of villains off along the way as we know, not just one shit eater at the beginning! I'd give the movie a solid 7.5, not necessarily massively memorable to be true, but I'd certainly see it again and enjoy it.

  • Jack Fletcher
    Jack Fletcher 24 days ago

    Just saw it and in my opinion solo was my favorite disney star wars movie so far. Really hope they make a trilogy!

  • SephirothSuperKool
    SephirothSuperKool 24 days ago +2

    OMG, BORING is exactly the way I've been thinking it sounds. Not BAD, but BORING. That's why I'm not planning on seeing Solo in theaters. Besides, it breaks my heart to call any Star Wars film boring because even the prequels and TLJ at least elicited reactions from me, I actually had opinions on those movies.

  • Jack Kehrli
    Jack Kehrli 24 days ago

    Everyone is gonna be mad but i thought lando was a bad character. I thought Donald Glover did fine but he was written terrible. He was such a coward and a weasel. He didn’t do any real fighting and he cheated his way success. In the originals he wasn’t a weasel he turned them in because he had no choice.

  • Holden Berryman
    Holden Berryman 25 days ago

    Don’t agree I like the movie! A lot!

  • Joe Snaffer
    Joe Snaffer 26 days ago

    Honestly, I loved this movie. It does have its flaws, but its a good time.

  • Default TM
    Default TM 26 days ago +1

    Disney Movies ranked (from best to worst):
    *1)Rogue One*
    *2)Solo*
    *3)The Force Awakens*
    *4)The Last Jedi*

  • Jam Lutz
    Jam Lutz 26 days ago

    Tried watching it at a drive in last night. I left early because it was boring, poor dialogue/ acting. It was dog shit. First one I have disliked since prequel trilogy.

  • WhitnAle01
    WhitnAle01 27 days ago

    I really like this movie.

  • Amund Bisgaard
    Amund Bisgaard 27 days ago

    Han Solo got captured. I like Star Wars heroes that weren't captured.

  • Amund Bisgaard
    Amund Bisgaard 27 days ago

    Main problem: They're milking the franchise by telling the story of a character who is already known. We know from the start that he'll come through, and that he'll get script-killed later.
    Predictable shit. No surprises. Not at all interesting. You created nothing. You ruined Han Solo.

  • SAGE XX
    SAGE XX 27 days ago

    Man JJ I hope they have not compromised your channel dude, everyone loves this movie except you?!?

  • SAGE XX
    SAGE XX 27 days ago

    DO NOT TRUST JJ ON THIS ONE!!! The movie is good for some reason it’s getting a whole lot of undeserved hate. GO SEE IT FOR YOURSELVES.

  • Iwillone
    Iwillone 27 days ago

    Finally saw it and actually liked it a lot it despite the only question way back at this movie's announcement "Why are they making a Han Solo film" still standing since we met him young in A New Hope unlike Obi-Wan for the prequel. The new dude did a good job and came across as the character quite well at times to near mirror Harrison Ford (- ^ )

  • IntentChief
    IntentChief 27 days ago +2

    I saw it last night and was pleasantly surprised

  • Jeopardy Dexter
    Jeopardy Dexter 28 days ago +2

    Damn, did we see different movies? Had a fun time at this. The first act is admittedly clunky but it settled into its groove once that train heist happens.

  • elliot campbell
    elliot campbell 28 days ago

    I really liked this movie was a proper surprise it was fun enjoyable and kinda witty and has some heart to it . Why the fuck do people hate this movie I was actually so shocked at how much I liked it

  • Legion
    Legion 29 days ago

    The one thing that still pisses me off is that Anthony Ingruber didn't play a younger Han Solo in this movie I mena the man literally played a young Harrison Ford in Age of Adaline, has the same voice, mannerisms everything, movie would have been almost perfect if he had played Solo.

  • lilbrothaaa
    lilbrothaaa 29 days ago

    I had a couple of anti-Han moments especially when he expressed that his motivation for earning money was to get his girl away from Corelia or when he tried to protect the poor and the feeble without any personal profit.

  • Nis
    Nis 29 days ago

    Jeremy I agree with 90% of you're reviews but this is one we don't see eye to eye on. Sorry you had a different experience than me man.

  • Arc Throne
    Arc Throne 29 days ago

    *SPOILERS AHEAD*
    Isn‘t it obvious that Dryden Vos was the final villain? At first, the villain is unclear and Han just wants to get money, but then decides to do what‘s right, which is helping Enfys and that‘s where Dryden becomes the villain.

  • Cameron Mitchell
    Cameron Mitchell Month ago

    Saw it twice. See the slight pacing issues the 2nd time but still better than TLJ and the embarrassing Star Wars porn that was rouge one. L3 was less annoying the second time. Overall enjoyed it tho. Wasn’t the second coming but definitely better than Jeremy’s giving it credit for. Also the music which people seem to look over, was considerably better than rouge one. Remember that cheesy ass rouge one title screen.

  • Linguini Star
    Linguini Star Month ago

    Well with the antagonist problem, the movie explores Han's past as well as the smuggling world. It seemed to come across more as everyone is the enemy, also considering what Becket said to not trust anyone.

  • klutz395
    klutz395 Month ago

    TBH, I really liked this movie. The characters had a lot of chemistry and the action was excited. Best of all, there was no SJW bullshit!

  • funkygirlkathryn
    funkygirlkathryn Month ago

    Omg that captain America meme popping up on screen made me laugh so hard

  • Nightwing775 _
    Nightwing775 _ Month ago

    My fav character was L3....... I nearly cried when she died. 😭👌

  • Joels_Creed141
    Joels_Creed141 Month ago

    Spoiler Talk?

  • The Wolverine
    The Wolverine Month ago

    God I hated L3-37 and the Last Jedi

  • John Malins
    John Malins Month ago

    You do realize that Star Wars fans hate this movie and it is the final nail in the coffin for the reboot of the franchise.

  • Shawn DC
    Shawn DC Month ago +1

    I haven't watched it yet but I have a feeling he's son will kill him...

  • Martin Renner
    Martin Renner Month ago

    Saw it yesterday (free tickets! No way Disney's getting any more money from me) and today I barely remember it. It was so... bland.

  • M.T.S The Shark Movie Reviews

    Oh, I had a lot of fun with this

  • kenny312162
    kenny312162 Month ago

    Wanker

  • poop dolla
    poop dolla Month ago

    Kira is savage ventits

  • Samuel Kung
    Samuel Kung Month ago

    congrats you just lost a sub because you are trying to say this movie was okay. I get it you cant bite the hand that feeds you. But i could almost predict what your review was going to be like. it was fun. Laters

  • Cowboy Cowboy
    Cowboy Cowboy Month ago

    Ewok battle for endor was better..

  • alfstolenable
    alfstolenable Month ago

    I saw solo and I think the critics were way too harsh. Solo was a fun movie with a simple narrative. By the end I felt like I knew the character a little more and understood why he did what he did in a new hope. In a new hope Han left the rebels but changed his mind and came back to help Luke blow up the death star. Han's reaction of joy, to see Luke successfully destroy the death star, takes on new meaning. His joy wasn't only because he accomplished a difficult mission. His joy was because he had found a family and become part of something bigger. It gives me the feels to think that's what he had always wanted. A family💕💕

  • Ruben Beltrandelrio

    You freaking nailed it my brother Capital B, boring.

  • Dylan Romero
    Dylan Romero Month ago

    I fucking loved this movie to Death!!!! I'm buying it on BLU-RAY

  • WinterCity Knight
    WinterCity Knight Month ago

    you really are annoying! and your review is crap,also you know nothing about and are not a Star Wars fan...very easy to tell that.
    you
    are
    not
    funny
    loser

  • liaison dangereuse
    liaison dangereuse Month ago

    you fucker made the hype for this kind of movies so now shut the hell up and stop talking you didn't ask for this. jahns is a retard and an opportunist

  • Daniel August
    Daniel August Month ago

    I really liked the movie

  • supermariofan03
    supermariofan03 Month ago

    Of all the Ron Howard movies, you brought up In the Heart of the Sea?

  • Mr Me
    Mr Me Month ago

    Well I would tell you what I thought about it, but you just crapped on people who call it a "fun space adventure" by saying "NO ITS NOT!". Seriously, it's OK to not like the film but don't be so obnoxious.

  • Jack Wickham
    Jack Wickham Month ago

    I personally found it quite fast paced, never dragged for me. I do agree about the predictability though. And yes I did find it to be a fun summer movie...sue me.

  • Daniel B
    Daniel B Month ago

    This movie pushed the limit of how long you can miss with a laser gun when it is your only job to shoot things.

    Spoiler?
    Also, this movie has the most cringy "You are the MC so we will talk to you instead of killing you.

  • Ignacio Borges
    Ignacio Borges Month ago

    Couldn't disagree more with you. I thought the movie was fantastic, and actually the best of the new Disney era.
    But hey, to each their own, I guess. But to me it seems like you're being cynical for the sake of being cynical.

    • eg13000
      eg13000 Month ago +1

      This review lower my expectations. Ended up enjoying the movie a lot when I finally watched it. I'm a simple man, give me likable characters, beautiful special effects, and a plot I can follow and I will have a good time.

  • Nexis siempreaqui
    Nexis siempreaqui Month ago

    in tge first scene with Paul Bettany I was just like =.= is that Vision
    and I couldnt see him differently for the rest of the movie rip

  • Ben quadinaros
    Ben quadinaros Month ago

    I loved Solo i was great in my opinion.

  • LordZorg
    LordZorg Month ago

    I hated TFA and TLJ, but this movie was a pleasent surprise. I really enjoyed it.

  • The Green Devil
    The Green Devil Month ago

    Which action scene is he comparing to the conveyor belt scene?

  • Cube
    Cube Month ago

    I went in there expecting to hate it but actually really enjoyed it. I don't feel that it was boring or badly paced at all, whatsoever.

    • eg13000
      eg13000 Month ago +1

      me too, had the same experience

  • JDMC Music Aus
    JDMC Music Aus Month ago

    Han Solo sucked so much, so boring, lame action sequences, poor acting, storyline was a mess, no light sabers, one of the villains had stupid light saber knives things, this literally did nothing for the franchise, nothing new or nothing we didn't know before, the only likeable character for me was Woody's character, just a mediocre film at best

  • Joe Kresl
    Joe Kresl Month ago

    Was shocked I really liked this movie. Hell, the Kessel Run sequence should be considered one of the best Star Wars sequences ever

  • Kevin Davis
    Kevin Davis Month ago

    You Star Wars fans are so bitter and salty at Disney and Kathleen Kennedy that you *can't* enjoy this movie. 'Solo' was easily one of the better Star Wars movies to come out since the prequels. It was at least on par with 'Rogue One' (possibly *more* enjoyable even, to me). I watched episodes IV-VI in the theater when they were first released, so I'm a long time Star Wars fan and I *really* enjoyed 'Solo'. I just don't get all the hate for the movie itself.

  • Rusty Shackleford
    Rusty Shackleford Month ago

    Solo wasn't a terrible movie but it wasn't a great movie. L3 was so blatant and annoying it almost felt like a parody of the SJW crap they've been pulling in the previous films.The man playing Han Solo is forgettable.
    Tl;dr You'll forget the movie in a week.

  • Thomas Bludis
    Thomas Bludis Month ago

    My opinion (with Jeremy ratings and with the clone wars movie)
    11. Clone wars t-minus 1 day
    10. Attack of the clones, better time if drunk
    9. The phantom menace, good time no alcohol required
    8. Revenge of the sith, good time no alcohol required
    7. Rouge one, good time no alcohol required
    6. Solo, worth watching and worth buying on blu-ray
    5. Return of the Jedi, worth watching and worth buying on blu-ray
    4. The force awakens, awesometacular
    3. A new hope, awesometacular
    2. The last Jedi, awesometacular
    1. Empire strikes back, awesometacular

  • Randy Gopaoco
    Randy Gopaoco Month ago

    Me and my wife just saw the movie. We really enjoyed it!

  • carmine-james guglielmucci

    This was a hundred times better than episode 8

  • Sarah Jarvis
    Sarah Jarvis Month ago

    The set up for an antagonist was like that of a thriller. Dont need one til the third act right near the pay off!

  • captcorajus
    captcorajus Month ago

    Boring? Really? Sorry, I like your channel, but this movie was great. This review sucks. You're basically just jumping on the 'Solo hate' band wagon for views.

  • DoItWithADance
    DoItWithADance Month ago

    Totally agree with you Jeremy. I almost fell asleep watching it. The forced SJW lines were totally out of place and just ruined the experience. The pacing and random action scenes that led to nothing was just meh... it felt tacked on just to create some 'excitement'. I rank this one close to the prequels..!

  • TheManofDew
    TheManofDew Month ago

    Better than the Last Jedi but just ‘meh’. Had some decent moments but felt a bit on the nose with references & character quotes/sayings that were simply out of place.
    Lando was really good, Han a little rocky but believable, droid was just odd, others seemed flat to me. Woody H. didn’t have much depth for a mentor & didn’t teach Han anything that I saw.
    Regardless it seems some will like this but after reading some of the old Han stories I was hoping for something better.

  • Celebi734
    Celebi734 Month ago

    I thought it was pretty good. It's not Rogue One, but I still liked it.

  • RRoJ
    RRoJ Month ago

    Childish Gambino is the 🐐

  • FireMan
    FireMan Month ago

    I think Solo A Star Wars Story Is a Pretty good movie but at parts it lacks action

  • OmegaUltraLord Gibson

    Couldn't disagree more and I find myself typically disagreeing with majority of Jeremy's opinion on star wars films...

  • jakedogg2001
    jakedogg2001 Month ago

    wow..... ridiculously harsh...

  • PSYCHO PATH
    PSYCHO PATH Month ago

    This movie isn't bad but it isn't like great, I went into not expecting much. I left just kinda like ok, I didn't feel like I wasted my time watching it but I wasn't like impressed

  • Nathaniel White
    Nathaniel White Month ago

    I genuinely enjoyed this movie more than any of the other new ones (and I'm one of the few that liked all of them). It was a lot of fun.