Love, Simon - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 569

  • Abigail Hansen
    Abigail Hansen Month ago +1

    The scene where Simon is talking to his mom after coming out has never failed to make me cry. This movie is so important to so many people!

  • Zer0Diamonds
    Zer0Diamonds Month ago

    I related to the cringes of the film. Especially to that asshole.

  • kineticraptor
    kineticraptor Month ago

    I'm gay
    for this movie ha gotem fuck y'all suck my skinny white dickhole

  • Hank madafakin' Moody

    Big gay

  • Mark Baker
    Mark Baker Month ago

    LOVED it ! and LOVED your review !! Mark ( Gay ) London

  • Mark Angelo Artagame

    i love that you love love,simon

  • Venny Laturette
    Venny Laturette Month ago

    OMG...seriously you love this movie? your review just make me want to rewatch it..just incase my opinion will switch because this movie for me is kinda sad...especially for greg berlanti...mostly i always love series he made.

  • Mikael B.
    Mikael B. 2 months ago

    Even though I did enjoy the movie and would whole-heartedly recommend it to others there are two things I did not like: 1. The movie is very politically correct, rose-tinted. Everybody is just so nice and loveable and even the villains and bullies are not really a big deal or get redemption easily. In this movie it really feels like being gay is actually not such big of a deal - even though Simon dreads his outing the viewer doesn't really understand why because all of his environment is so understanding and friendly and supportive. 2. The other big thing that most people probably wouldn't notice is the internalised homophobia in this movie. Which is a bit weird that such a movie would promote homophobia but here's why: Simon does really not like feminine behaviour. He looks down on the other gay kid at school who is out and quite flamboyant in his style. He makes a big point about disapproving of effeminate behaviour in gay men which is a huge problem in gay community in real life as it reflects gay people internalising the stereotypes of heteronormative society. So the movie delivers the message that you can be gay but please adhere to the heteronormative stereotype that men have to be masculine, being effeminate is bad.

  • Nereus
    Nereus 2 months ago

    seriously... the movie it's so fake and reactions are fake too, this review is bullshit like the movie

  • Matt Zedell
    Matt Zedell 2 months ago

    I can agree with the people saying this film was mediocre, it wasn't a ramance film with a twist, but it was the first gay romcom I've seen with a main character who wasn't slutty/ had a tragic ending. I literally loved it because it was a gay man who finally got a well deserved love story. And ohmygod I've loved Nicholas Robinson since Melissa and Joey!! He's the cutest man I've seen play a gay character!!!

  • Eric Woodard
    Eric Woodard 2 months ago +1

    I just watched this film and it is one of the first romcoms that I actually cared about the characters in such a long time. I'm not gay, but like Chris says, you can really emphasize with Simon and it feel relevant with being preachy.

  • Julia K
    Julia K 2 months ago

    Personally I think they dealt with the antagonist the best they could. The difficulty is that there are so many situations in real life just like that, where people will out you and then life moves on. I appreciate that at the very least, Simon could give him a piece of his mind for how much that hurt and somewhat ruined his life. It wasn't a moment of triumph per se, but I do think it was an emotional release to at least give Simon time to explain to the antagonist and the audience how absolutely awful it is to be gay and to be outed by someone else, even if you seem to have accepting friends or an understanding family. But that's just me!

  • Sandro Mauro
    Sandro Mauro 2 months ago +1

    Black Panther, Infinity War e Love Simon, best 2018 movies until now.

  • LaDolcevita
    LaDolcevita 3 months ago

    I didn’t like this movie though, I thought it was sort of boring.. and the principle was weird and unrealistic.. and antagonist was really annoying and needed a beat down

  • Almond Kid
    Almond Kid 3 months ago

    I agree with everything you’re saying here. Except I have one more HUGE problem with this film. (Spoilers)


    The ending. OH MY GOD THE ENDING. It ruined this whole movie for me. The development of simon and and blues love for the whole movie was really raw, relatable, and quite beautiful. As soon as the school found out about it the whole thing switched. The way the girls at the school acted around them was gross and fetishizing. I really didn’t like it. The straight girls squealing at them kissing and taking pictures of them just made me really uncomfortable.

  • Rose Dawson
    Rose Dawson 3 months ago

    I relate to Leah in the movie.

  • Captain Yasopp
    Captain Yasopp 3 months ago

    gayyyyyyy

  • Nate DS
    Nate DS 3 months ago

    I really did not think this premise would sell. Well not to me. Is it good? I feel like its a bit..gimicky. if you know what I mean.

  • Ariel Arusy
    Ariel Arusy 3 months ago

    A good question this movie asks is, why is straight the default? .......................................................................................................................... it’s called nature. If no one were straight there would be no people period. Not that I’m against gay people or anything they do and understand that they go through things that I don’t, this question is just stupid. Not saying you should be ashamed, just understand why the majority of people are straight.

  • Charlie Harris
    Charlie Harris 4 months ago

    The whole time I was thinking: "What the hell is so dramatic about being gay in highschool?" Such a cliche teeny movie.

  • Tim Treakle
    Tim Treakle 4 months ago

    just watched this today and it was amazing.the story, director and cast were great. A+ is my grade.

  • Katie Johnson
    Katie Johnson 4 months ago

    I think it's my favorite movie that isn't Disney or animated. And it's even better than most of those, lol. There were moments when I cringed and LOTS of moments when I laughed, and the speech his mom gives to him about how he's still himself; just freer to be MORE of himself made me burst into tears. That was something I'd needed to hear when I was struggling with my sexuality and it hit me really hard in the best way possible.

  • SayFuzzyPickles
    SayFuzzyPickles 4 months ago

    Thank you for what you said about Martin. He got pardoned so much and it bugged me. I was just waiting for Simon to beat the shit out of him.

  • Jakob Froberg
    Jakob Froberg 4 months ago

    I have been up all night because i told my best friend that i like her. I then watched this movie and related too much to it and i realised that i have been up all night because of here, and that felt really relateable to me. I liked this movie, i did notice the things you noticed about black mailing and your right. They should have put a bit more focus on that, and i understand your point. Very fair rating and I liked the movie. She hasn't responsed yet, I hope that she feels the same way as I do.

  • Bwonsamdi
    Bwonsamdi 4 months ago

    The fact of the giant house and the comment of my house is not like that is very relatable

  • Lia Day
    Lia Day 5 months ago

    I think when he is talking about "my life is just like yours" its more about how he has a normal life, with a loving family and good friends. The protagonist in most movies have a shitty life or some sad life story. His family seems very loving and he has good friends, this reminds me of my life and family. So I guess different people relate to different things.

  • JoséMouraTV
    JoséMouraTV 5 months ago

    Yep I am going through the same thing as Simon being a bi 13 year old

  • Magalí I. B.
    Magalí I. B. 5 months ago

    i liked it but some of the humor fell flat, every time the viceprincipal was onscreen i wanted to punch him just because of how painfully unfunny he is

  • Marco Candra
    Marco Candra 5 months ago

    Hannah Baker is alive?

  • Saki Matsuura
    Saki Matsuura 5 months ago

    I'm going to watch this movie sunday !

  • Exculplate The blaster
    Exculplate The blaster 5 months ago

    I just saw the movie it was amazing,one time I thought I was gay,now I don’t know what I am but I can always go back and find who I meant to be

  • E.t
    E.t 5 months ago

    Trip Cambell from im in the band

  • FJ Nemo
    FJ Nemo 5 months ago

    Hannah Baker was a THOT

  • big kahuna burger
    big kahuna burger 5 months ago

    Love this movie so much gotta see it again

  • Anything. Lucy
    Anything. Lucy 5 months ago

    Simon is best gay character in a movie that I’ve seen

  • tripeboi
    tripeboi 5 months ago

    Let me guess the antagonist is the other gay boy Simon has been talking to online?

  • Ultimate Simmer
    Ultimate Simmer 6 months ago

    Really wanted someone to die. Ending was too cheesy.

    • Ultimate Simmer
      Ultimate Simmer 5 months ago

      I still wanted one of them to get hit by a car or something.

  • Why
    Why 6 months ago

    I avoided this one because I thought it was going to be another formulaic teenage romance. Glad to see here I was mistaken, and I'm frankly, figuratively, smashing my head against the wall about judging the movie for its poster. Will make sure to check it out soon.

    • Why
      Why 5 months ago

      Quite true. And that in itself would be a positive development.

    • evildonkey
      evildonkey 5 months ago +1

      Even if it had been, having a gay mainstream gay version would still have been an achievement.

  • Enosh Starcrod
    Enosh Starcrod 6 months ago

    Nice to have a movie about this kind of thing without going too over the top. Unfortunately in my case I cannot tell my parents how I really feel since it leads to arguing and anger.

  • Luke Carter
    Luke Carter 6 months ago

    Great review! I loved this movie and I think it's such an important film!

  • Chief Little Rex
    Chief Little Rex 6 months ago

    Although we don’t know your views, thank you for not being biased about the movie I really appreciate it

  • Nicky PALKA
    Nicky PALKA 6 months ago +1

    If you read the book, you’ll realize that the movie could’ve been so much better

  • Keppy’s Diner
    Keppy’s Diner 6 months ago

    I have a game now we’re i try to guess the rating basked on everything he says throughout the video

  • Marija
    Marija 6 months ago

    The eng of the movie is AMAZING

  • Iron Hulk1
    Iron Hulk1 6 months ago

    Worst movie ever

    • Iron Hulk1
      Iron Hulk1 6 months ago

      Maybe not the worst movie ever but we all share different opinions

  • AlexMeow bleufeline
    AlexMeow bleufeline 6 months ago

    I do a thing now where immediately after I've watched a movie, old or new, I go to your channel to see if you've reviewed it.
    I really enjoy hearing your views and analyses.

  • Jake Filmfreak
    Jake Filmfreak 7 months ago

    Is he talking about the guy that blackmails Simon or the ones that mock him in the hall acc I think it's the first one

  • Papa Boat
    Papa Boat 7 months ago

    Hey Chris so far out of the tens and thousands of film critics online you’re my favorite one. I have no idea why but you just don’t get me triggered LOL. I usually watch or read reviews online after I watch the film and I get triggered usually, idk maybe cause they have bad point of views? Oh well you’re pretty damn good at this so keep it up! Sorry if my comment made no sense

  • Toon Linkie
    Toon Linkie 7 months ago +1

    PC Bullshit. The only reason people give it good reviews is because it's about being gay lmao

    • B R
      B R 6 months ago +1

      Toon Linkie lol

  • Leticia
    Leticia 7 months ago +1

    I just watched the movie and I LOVED it 💞💞💞

  • AnaSofia Morales
    AnaSofia Morales 7 months ago +1

    How come Chris is not wearing his wedding ring?

  • Steph's Vids
    Steph's Vids 7 months ago +1

    Same we had no idea what it was about and it was amazing 😉

  • Steph's Vids
    Steph's Vids 7 months ago +1

    I saw it on Friday and it’s amazing made me cry but it’s so so good

  • SALMAN VENTHOL
    SALMAN VENTHOL 7 months ago +1

    Damn, Greg Berlanti finally made a good product.

  • rheanne sabinske
    rheanne sabinske 7 months ago +1

    This is the first movie in a long time that made me cry, not sad cry, but happy cry. And I agree the antagonist didn’t get the right amount of attention but that’s probably due to the fact that in the book his character is southern and they probably didn’t want to a fend anyone due to the actions of his character. They took out a lot from the book but it still felt the same and that is very hard to do. Overall I think this is one of my all time favorite movies. Plus, it helps that beebo got some love.

  • Reinaldo Quintão
    Reinaldo Quintão 7 months ago +1

    O like how the poster says "COMING OUT 2018"

  • isabella salles
    isabella salles 7 months ago

    your voice is so freaking soothing I wish you were my meditation guide lol

  • Tori F.
    Tori F. 7 months ago

    Okay so I have a question. I've read the book or listen to the book on audio so I know most of their text messages emails that are shared between the two. I know in the movie you know he Simon receives those in the movie but how much reading is involved or are there voice overs for these messages? Please I would hope somebody could answer this for me cuz I really want to go see the movie but I don't want to see it if I'm going to have to have somebody there reading to me the entire time.

    • Ethan Jones
      Ethan Jones 7 months ago +1

      They transfer a lot of the emails to actual events, and emails that are directly shown are read out loud as Simon's thoughts.

  • Tim Drake
    Tim Drake 7 months ago +1

    Love the review, had the same issues that you brought up!

  • Hashi-san
    Hashi-san 7 months ago

    Everything you said I felt, the idea that his life was 'just like mine' wasn't correct in the slightest and the idea of how dangerous what the antagonist did was completely underrated, I keep on imagining some straight teen looking at this movie and outing someone and I get chills.

  • Matts
    Matts 7 months ago +1

    I was blown away by this film. Very funny, and quite emotional. I don't think you have to be gay to relate to Simon, it's not that one dimensional.

  • Denis Desmond
    Denis Desmond 7 months ago

    For me, this was an extremely dangerous movie in that it was too lovie/dovie in your face gay friendly sending the message to young people that its ok to be gay without even remotely touching on the homophobic aspect of it. There are young males out there who may think they`re gay and this movie might push them to come out and then be subjected to grotesque vulgar homophobia where they`d end up becoming depressed because of it and feel suicidal because of the hellish existence homophobes have made their lives and then the realization that they`re not gay but misdiagnosed as gay because of an inadequate sex education but the damage is now done and they had to live with a gay label forever. This movie is extremely reckless and careless in not at least touching on the homophobe aspect of being gay which homophobia is a harsh reality and whether I or anyone else doesn`t like it, it does exist.

    • AdvancedHoe
      AdvancedHoe 6 months ago

      You*

    • AdvancedHoe
      AdvancedHoe 6 months ago

      okamilover99999 from someone that is gay, I do agree with the other guy... if you are gay and still live with your family and they are homophobic, DO NOT come out. Any other gay person will say the same thing, do it when you are safe and know you have people that will love and support touc

    • Denis Desmond
      Denis Desmond 7 months ago

      Did you not read the part of the comment where I say ...... homophobia is a harsh reality and whether I or anyone else doesn`t like it, it does exist. ...? So please explain to me why I`m part of the problem? plus what part of my comment makes you *think* I`m homophobic?

  • Joe Coverage
    Joe Coverage 7 months ago +1

    I love this movie, I relate so much to his story, my coming out story was similar, everything I feel is this movie, love it so much xxx

  • brob ratyius
    brob ratyius 7 months ago

    Hannah Baker comes back to life y'all

  • Yeah man J P
    Yeah man J P 7 months ago +1

    Oooh a film about someone who’s gay, we’re not allowed to say it’s bad

    • Alle Rose
      Alle Rose 7 months ago +2

      Of course you can say it’s bad if you didn’t enjoy it. Is you think it was badly written, badly shot, badly acted or any of the sort, of course you can say it’s a bad film.

    • Yeah man J P
      Yeah man J P 7 months ago

      Cheers for the back up Daphne

    • Millie
      Millie 7 months ago

      I liked em

    • Yeah man J P
      Yeah man J P 7 months ago

      I didn’t you fuck

    • Yeah man J P
      Yeah man J P 7 months ago +1

      Listen you turd, why is you aggy! I do ufc I’ll fuck you up

  • Disney65Fan
    Disney65Fan 7 months ago

    I am a fan of Jennifer Garner and I like Josh Duhmel too. I was going to see this in the weekend as I heard its suppose to be a good film

  • Iron-Bran
    Iron-Bran 7 months ago +1

    (paraphrase) seems very realistic and relatable except for one character
    My guess: probably the counseler

    Edit: guess not lol

  • Elijah Miniuk
    Elijah Miniuk 7 months ago

    That movie is so gay.

  • Acid Trungpa
    Acid Trungpa 7 months ago +2

    That movie is a completely trash.

  • Zoe Senpaiuwu
    Zoe Senpaiuwu 7 months ago +5

    THANK YOI CHRIS for the last part. Even though I think this is a great movie, I was also annoyed how casual "outing" someone without their consent was taken in this movie. The author, a straight woman, apologised for that I think because it's something that's actually really serious and possibly dangerous so I got annoyed how they kinda just brushed those actions off. Good movie though

  • Ice Fish
    Ice Fish 7 months ago

    A homo gay so

  • Jthan41
    Jthan41 7 months ago

    What camera do you use, Chris? Really like your composition and depth of field.

  • Jarom Anderson
    Jarom Anderson 7 months ago

    Some nitpicks... His perspective was unrealistically privileged, his friends were unforgiving when he was blackmailed, the antagonist was obviously socially impared and acted realistically out of retaliation. some scenes the lighting was wrong on the faces so they edited it lighter and it SHOWS, there is a halo of light around them its strange. Average movie.

    • Jarom Anderson
      Jarom Anderson 7 months ago

      And as someone who isnt straight I just want to say it's a rare situation to have everyone in your circle INClucing your school accepting of you coming out... other than the token bullies (who really did nothing to show they were truly homophobic, just immature). There was only a surface level understanding of the gay experience and that was frustrating to watch. Still appreciate the baby steps hollywood is taking.

  • Luke Tanton
    Luke Tanton 7 months ago

    :( more LGBT stuff... great...this is getting worse

    • Luke Tanton
      Luke Tanton 7 months ago

      okamilover99999 being gay is immoral and evil not the gays themselves, it's like trying to say theft is good

    • Luke Tanton
      Luke Tanton 7 months ago

      okamilover99999 no but it isn't theirs either, it's another human beings body which is why they shouldn't kill it, the baby isn't the mothers body, it's in their body but it is its own body

    • Luke Tanton
      Luke Tanton 7 months ago

      okamilover99999 not very common at all really if you consider the number of abortions very few are for good reason

    • Luke Tanton
      Luke Tanton 7 months ago

      also rape is very rare and more babies have been killed than people in the holocaust so it's not all rape , most are just murderers murdering their babies

    • Luke Tanton
      Luke Tanton 7 months ago

      firstly, look it up and do your own research as you are wrong, search up pictures of babies fighting back the pain, but it is disgusting it makes me sick watching the murder but go ahead. Yh it's unnatural and not how we were designed to live so gays can't have kids

  • arslan imdad
    arslan imdad 7 months ago +1

    I am from Pakistan but studying in Turkey. I would have loved to watch it on screen but unfortunately it will not be screened here.

  • Naša djeca
    Naša djeca 7 months ago

    nobody dares to criticize a gay movie, no way. just give every gay movie an oscar.

    • KiW33d
      KiW33d 7 months ago +1

      dude just quit talking to them, theyre an obvious homophobe and im really getting tired of the narrative that all homophobes are just closeted

    • Naša djeca
      Naša djeca 7 months ago

      youre so stupid. im sayin clear - i cant stand faggots and everything about them including films, but you are pressuring me to search for homo movies and watch as much as possible. your kind is becoming more and more extreme. now please f off and go watch some gay porn.

    • Naša djeca
      Naša djeca 7 months ago

      who the f you think you are you frustrated heterofobic jerk. f off i was talking to Chris anyway.

    • Naša djeca
      Naša djeca 7 months ago

      actually i did, but it doesnt matter, u dont have to go to war and c it to be against the war. theese years we face tsunami of homo films and just because it is IN in Hollywood we have to agree. nope, not me. you r free to enjoy

    • Wokkem
      Wokkem 7 months ago +1

      Naša djeca Have you watched the movie?

  • sexy girl bot
    sexy girl bot 7 months ago +1

    i could relate to this movie. i haven't come out to my parents or my friends and A LOT of things in this movie have happened to me. seeing this movie makes me want to come out but i have the same worries simon did before he came out. id definitely see this movie again.

  • Jonathan Fitzharris
    Jonathan Fitzharris 7 months ago +1

    Just finished the book, sadly not out in the UK till the 6th so just waiting for the film. The book is great, so relatable and Simon is just so likeable.
    P.S review the Greatest Showman!!!

  • Dy Ev
    Dy Ev 7 months ago +4

    People hate Martin but the truth is I've known a few guys like this in my life. Guys who weren't necessarity bad guys but they were irritating, had a big mouth and were not trustworthy with secrets. I think what's interesting is how dorky he is, to the point that you're almost not afraid of this guy, as opposed to some evil homophobic jock that could have been blackmailing Simon instead. People are upset that Martin didn't get comeuppance, but by the end of the film he already had a lot of screen time so they focused more on Simon's story.

    • Tibor Vrh
      Tibor Vrh 5 months ago +1

      I tough Martin was the best part(besides the lead) everybody else felt pretty empty, especially all the romance between the black friends.( that guy had 0 development and the chemistry was not there)

    • Ethan Jones
      Ethan Jones 7 months ago +1

      I think there is a difference with not being able to hold a secret, and then snooping through someone's emails, photographing private information, blackmailing said person into acting against their friends, acting stupid to the point everyone laughs at you so you then out that person just to save your own skin. THAT is why I hate the little weasel.

  • Peter Cahill
    Peter Cahill 7 months ago

    I'm going to get shit for saying this, but I was not a fan of Love, Simon. Now, let me preface by saying I really did wanted to like this movie. I was by no means going into this movie to trash it or whine about gay people being represented in mainstream media, quite the opposite. Hell, I'm biromantic myself. I also know there are likely plenty of lgbt+ people who like this movie, and I don't want to take away your enjoyment of the film, but I think it doesn't really work as a good representation of gay issues.
    There are a lot of minor annoyances that add up like the excessive obnoxiousness of Martin(the antagonist) and the principal that could easily fit in a bad Disney sitcom, the sloppy attempt at a twist ending, the obligatory liar revealed/misunderstanding trope that leads from the 2nd act to the 3rd, the lame soundtrack, etc. However, what ultimately kills this movie for me is how despite the movie touting itself to be relatable, it's ultimately surface level in a lot of ways.
    There are a lot of plot contrivances that breaks the illusion of relatability and authenticity, but what truly broke it is how otherwise problem-free Simon is. I'm sorry, but if you think that a conventionally attractive white kid in a nice suburban neighborhood with a loving, stable, liberal family and has had the same best friends since elementary school, and is simply accepted by everyone for being gay is the best that can be done with making a relatable gay character, then I can only conclude you've lived a pretty sheltered life. There are many gay people with different economic, racial, gender-based, etc backgrounds with stories involving much more greater struggle that I would argue can double as not only relatable but challenging as to how we may perceive gay issues. There are a lot of directions that can be taken and they chose the safe, milktoast route.

    • Teebo
      Teebo 7 months ago

      I related to Love, Simon much more than I did with any other LGBT movie I've seen. My coming out experience was similar to Simons so maybe that's why. I don't understand why people get so hung up on his economic and social situation though. I didn't grow up in the best situation either, but just because me and Simon were different on that regard doesn't upset me because I have the critical thinking skills to understand that Simon is just another person who just lives a different life than me.
      Why do you feel like we need more movies talking about how terrible it is to be gay, and other-ing homosexual people even more? Is the ultimate goal to show that we all aren't as different as we think? Is it not enough to just tell a simple coming-out/love story?
      Your opinion is valid, but that doesn't mean it's logical in any way, shape, or form.

  • Ian Pitchford
    Ian Pitchford 7 months ago +2

    I saw Robinson in ‘Being Charlie’ last week and he’s really developed as an actor since his forgettable role in ‘Jurassic World’. You’ve convinced me to see this one Chris.

  • Carlos Miguel Ugalde
    Carlos Miguel Ugalde 7 months ago

    "this is a main stream... teen romance... told from the perspective of a gay man. .... thats very uncommon, thats not something we get a lot....." ........................... MOON LIGHT! .... another sold out review.

    • Carlos Miguel Ugalde
      Carlos Miguel Ugalde 7 months ago

      looks like youtube hides comments with links now. just google list of gay teen romance movies. first result imdb.

    • Carlos Miguel Ugalde
      Carlos Miguel Ugalde 7 months ago

      anytime sweety. it's in this thread.

    • Carlos Miguel Ugalde
      Carlos Miguel Ugalde 7 months ago

      youre an idiot. you obviously saw it on this thread and suck at trolling, or you really are that dumb.

    • Carlos Miguel Ugalde
      Carlos Miguel Ugalde 7 months ago

      okamilover99999 click on view all replies, dumbass. xD

  • leonardo899
    leonardo899 7 months ago

    Is this an 80s movie? Why would a movie about a guy in-the-closet be a thing nowadays?

    • Ethan Jones
      Ethan Jones 7 months ago

      It's both common and very hard for some people.

    • Dy Ev
      Dy Ev 7 months ago

      Especially high school students are still in the closet, probably the worst time to come out.

  • Julia
    Julia 7 months ago

    I really like this movie. I went and saw it with my friends. Im bi but my parents dont know lol and theyre extremely homophobic. So the movie was something i related to. It was a good movie with a good story BUT i have to disagree with you on something. You said the acting and dialouge was very realistic. It wasnt, they didnt act like teenagers, they acted like adults trying to be teenagers and it was really kinda cringy sometimes. (Coming from the perspective of a teen). Also the characters of the vice principle and principle were absolutely rediculous. And the bullying/lunch fiasco was not accurate to high school life. Bullying like that doesnt happen anymore. But other than that, the movie was amazing and i cried like a fuckin baby lmao

  • Angel Tamashī
    Angel Tamashī 7 months ago

    i cried during this movie but i loved it, it was amazing but now im going to read the book xd

  • cooza
    cooza 7 months ago

    Couldn’t agree more with this review, so perfectly described and reviewed with fairness. Great video.

  • Steph Piano
    Steph Piano 7 months ago

    I love this film so damn much oh my god. Although now that you mention it, they didn't really penalise Martin enough for the awful things he did, however that's kind of not the point of this film, and I really appreciate it for that. It only focuses on the happy ending and honestly that's something the gays need a lot more of in cinema. Also that house burn has me cackling, it's so ridiculously on point

  • Joe Schmoe
    Joe Schmoe 7 months ago

    I saw the movie and it was just more garbage. Someone explain to me why gay people feel the need that they need to "come out"? Are there still people discriminating or bashing gay people that I don't know about. I think more people bash the excessive celebration that gay people need to accept their gayness. It's like, if no one celebrates, they don't get reinforcement for their behavior. No one cares.

    • Teebo
      Teebo 7 months ago

      Coming out helps clarify for other people, so this way there isn't any confusion later on. Most coming out between friends plays out like when Simon came out to Abby. Nobody cares too much, it's just a good idea to clarify.
      And yes, discrimination and bashing still happens especially in high school. Whether it's subtle or not it definitely happens and trust me, it sucks.
      And no people don't bash the celebration. Sure it can be obnoxious at times (pride is fucking disgusting) but any bashing that actually happens in the real world is directed at the individual on their orientation.
      I get you want to be edgy and hate the movie for the sake of hating it, but if you're going to do that at least think of some better points that you didn't pull out of your ass.

  • Grobee
    Grobee 7 months ago +1

    Chris grew up being gay

    • Grobee
      Grobee 7 months ago

      He turned straight when he became an adult. It works both ways.

  • Ryan Hovland
    Ryan Hovland 7 months ago

    Saw this movie, certainly not an A-

  • la miki minach
    la miki minach 7 months ago

    I LOVED the movie. It’s only major flaw is the nerdy/theater guy character (lol idk his name) but yeah he was trash and really was used as a way to drive the plot, at the expense of acting in a way that felt like it made sense.

  • Rank Baloney
    Rank Baloney 7 months ago

    I thought this movie was hot trash

  • Steven Weiss
    Steven Weiss 7 months ago

    chris grew up with a substantially less bangin' house than simon

  • Connor Noiles
    Connor Noiles 7 months ago

    If by antagonist, you meant Martin... I didn't feel like he was reallt an antagonist.. He just doesn't think things though

    • Ethan Jones
      Ethan Jones 7 months ago

      He's still a dick that I hate

  • BadaBingg
    BadaBingg 7 months ago

    Another Triumph of the LGBTQAAIP 2 Spirited community!

    • BadaBingg
      BadaBingg 6 months ago

      I don't know what it mean, but it represents Insanity.

    • Davi Bavaro
      Davi Bavaro 6 months ago

      BadaBingg
      What does those tree As, this I and that P mean?

    • la miki minach
      la miki minach 7 months ago

      Stay pressed

  • Landon Bangerter
    Landon Bangerter 7 months ago

    Ha! Gay!

  • Alyssa Corrigan
    Alyssa Corrigan 7 months ago +2

    If this isn't on your best movies of 2018 list I'ma sue

    • Ethan Jones
      Ethan Jones 7 months ago

      It'll certainly be on mine(its #1 at the moment) but the film is only 1/3 the way through, and a helluva lot of films are gonna come out between now and then.

  • KnightRaymund
    KnightRaymund 7 months ago

    I really enjoyed this movie. I'm so glad we have something like this.

  • Brittany Disney and Hotel Transylvania Fan Davis

    I give this movie an A-, too.

  • Riley M
    Riley M 7 months ago

    I’m glad it was good, the trailers just SUCKED