Aladdin Review | Better Than The Original?

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 28, 2019
  • Today J and Ben dive into Agrabah, to give their full spoiler review of Disney’s Aladdin and try and answer the question: Is the live-action Aladdin as good as the original?
    Super Carlin Brothers Merch ►► bit.ly/2oDIxOL
    J vs Ben ►► bit.ly/2I5xHee
    Harry Potter Theories ►► bit.ly/2K2Rtru
    Super Carlin Gaming ►► bit.ly/1CRM5Bq
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    BECOME A SUPER CARLIN FRIEND➜ tvclip.biz/user/SuperCarlinBrothers
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    FOLLOW US:
    V L O G➜ tvclip.biz/user/jonathancarlin
    T W I T T E R➜ jonkerlin & SCB_Ben
    I N S T A G R A M➜ jonkerlin & scb_ben
    F A C E B O O K➜ supercarlinbrothers
    G A M I N G ➜ bit.ly/1CRM5Bq
    P A T R E O N ➜ www.patreon.com/SuperCarlinBrothers
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Want to send us something?
    Super Carlin Brothers
    PO Box 4339
    Roanoke, Virginia 24015
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Business Inquiries Only: carlinbrosrtp@gmail.com
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Every time you give us a thumbs up a Narwhal gets its horn! (maybe..)

Comments • 2 672

  • SuperCarlinBrothers
    SuperCarlinBrothers  8 months ago +644

    What did you think of the new Aladdin? Love it? Hate it? Let us know!!

    • DTB 1217
      DTB 1217 20 days ago

      It isn’t that great

    • Emma Spencer
      Emma Spencer 23 days ago

      I like the new one, but the original is better cuz its the one that started it all.

    • Siri M
      Siri M 25 days ago

      I honestly thought it wasnt worth it, like it was okay but it didn't love up to the animated version

    • Kate Puleo
      Kate Puleo 2 months ago

      I miss that in the original Jasmine was actually talented when she jumped with the pole across that Aladdin was a bit impressed, and it shows how she could have been able to escape the palace without the guards knowing. I also wish Abu had more interaction with the others, more character, like the first one, I also miss that the magic carpet had more emotion, like how the first kiss in the original the carpet bumped Aladdin up to kiss Jasmine, instead of just having them kiss. The last things other than how Aladdin outsmarted Genie in the original, were how he had the applause sign when he was done with A Friend like Me, and when he animatedly showed Aladdin the three things he couldn't do, and asked what he wanted first, was not as nicely executed in the new one. I was pleasantly surprised at how much Aladdin sang and sounded a lot like the original, I also loved how Jasmine was not so much of a helpless princess, and how she could rule, rather wait for someone to become the next Sultan.

  • Anna Lacey
    Anna Lacey 4 days ago +1

    I liked how much younger they made Jafar. It was so weird in the original.

  • • Caroline •
    • Caroline • 5 days ago

    J & Ben: "How are you?"
    Me: I just ate a piece of toast and now I'm waiting to see if I can hold it down or -
    J & Ben: "That's awesome!"
    Me:

  • Nicki S
    Nicki S 7 days ago

    Naomi is the best hands down

  • Queenwolf_09
    Queenwolf_09 8 days ago

    Having seen the Broadway show of Aladdin I want to make a note;
    I think this movie did a really good job by keeping it whimsical and light, Will smith did a really good job playing the comedy, I reckon he could have gone further to be honest. However my biggest issue is just that the film looked too pristine, too clean. It felt just like the Broadway show in that aspect. It didn't feel immersive enough. The clothes and sets are just so crisp. It felt a lot like this film was half way between the Broadway and the original animated feature. Which is fine. But I feel like they could have taken it further. Taken it from a different angle. It just seemed too obvious that some things just don't translate from animation to live action without just feeling forced or cheesy. Does anyone else know what I mean?

  • Super Kawaii
    Super Kawaii 10 days ago +1

    I love the newer alladin

  • Corey Peters
    Corey Peters 12 days ago

    IT'S NOT BETTER IT SHOULDN'T EVEN EXIST

  • J2 Productions
    J2 Productions 13 days ago +1

    This is suuuuper late because I only just watched the movie tonight but here we go:
    I agree with a lot of the points made by you guys on the movie but overall, I think I would say I like the movie better than the original. Will Smith was not Robin Williams, yes, but holy hamburgers he did as phenomenal of a job as anyone could have in filling such legendary shoes. His singing chops were a little lacking but only on very minor technical levels that only trained vocalists would be able to pinpoint I believe.
    I also have to say I disagreed on everything you guys said about the music. Speechless was a good song but it didn't seem to fit the movie at all. Visually it looked like it could have been in a separate music video than incorporated into a Disney musical. I also think that the actor that played Aladdin was really really good even compared to the actress that played Jasmine. The run at the end of "wonder by wonder" in A Whole New World is not easy to cleanly execute and he pulled it off very well. The only issue I noticed with Will Smith was that in Arabian Nights, he was shaping his vowels with a little too much intent in maintaining his American-Philadelphian-Urban accent.

  • Malia Estrada
    Malia Estrada 15 days ago +1

    Honestly, I love seeing these new live action movies and seeing what they did differently. Why do people complain about this? You get TWO VERSIONS of an amazing story!!!!

  • Trader
    Trader 16 days ago

    I don’t like the remake or if I did it doesn’t live up to the original

  • imAmethyst
    imAmethyst 19 days ago

    This Movie is my favorite Movie RN, I just think this amazing

  • soph b
    soph b 20 days ago

    the jam scene broke me

  • Irish Dancer28
    Irish Dancer28 22 days ago +1

    Anyone else listen to these reviews like podcasts??

  • 6099 Willa Philby Chagnon

    I actually found the movie more than a darker tone from the original, but the original does have some dark scenes but not as much as the live-action. Also in my opinion, I think that Friend Like Me was better in the original than live-action, because what you guys said about the energy of it, however, I do love the opening song as it delivers a bit more of the darker tone of the movie. I love both movies. Naomi Scott for me was amazing! I got chills hearing her original song. For me I rate the movie an 8 out of 10. I mean, its really good, but as good as the original. I do like the darker and serious tones that the live-action had compared to the happy cheerful original.

  • deirdre jacobs
    deirdre jacobs 27 days ago

    4:40 Yeah, you can... In Harry Potter Deathly Hallows Part 2 in Bellatrix's vault, all that duplicate treasure easily filled that room... I know it's not to scale and I'm comparing a small vault to a cave, but the concept is there! You can do that effect!

  • Labinzel 3712
    Labinzel 3712 28 days ago

    I know it's not her but at 20:5 the handmaiden really looks like the actress who played Ruby on Supernatural (Ruby 2)

  • Sofia Camarena Sánchez

    You liked better The Beauty and the Beast than Aladdin live action?!?!

  • ReyTheJediLady ViaJakku

    I liked what they did with jasmine and her maid/bestie was hilarious plus they updated the sultan really well

  • Joshua Desautels
    Joshua Desautels Month ago +1

    Naomi Scott was amazing. The teal outfit in particular looked incredible on her.

  • KAST96
    KAST96 Month ago

    The Alladin tricking Jaffar into becoming a Genie in this movie read to me like this:
    Aladdin comes up with the idea, and tells Jaffar to think bigger. Genie doesn’t get it at first, and is scared of the possibility of a more powerful Jaffar, signals he would have to do it if Jaffar wished it. But then Aladdin starts comparing Jaffar to the Genie and implies becoming more powerful, at which point Genie gets the point, where a wish to become the most powerful being in the universe can be interpreted as becoming a god, or just a powerful genie. At no point in this movie is it stated that power has to come with shackles, so there is “a lot of grey area in that wish”. So Genie didn’t come up with the plan, but he had to understand it in order for it to work.

  • Doni Amer
    Doni Amer 2 months ago

    i think they casted Naomi Scott only for the voice, her voice is unbelievable, and Mena for Aladdin was perfect

  • Kate Puleo
    Kate Puleo 2 months ago

    I miss that in the original Jasmine was actually talented when she jumped with the pole across that Aladdin was a bit impressed, and it shows how she could have been able to escape the palace without the guards knowing. I also wish Abu had more interaction with the others, more character, like the first one, I also miss that the magic carpet had more emotion, like how the first kiss in the original the carpet bumped Aladdin up to kiss Jasmine, instead of just having them kiss. The last things other than how Aladdin outsmarted Genie in the original, were how he had the applause sign when he was done with A Friend like Me, and when he animatedly showed Aladdin the three things he couldn't do, and asked what he wanted first, was not as nicely executed in the new one. I was pleasantly surprised at how much Aladdin sang and sounded a lot like the original, I also loved how Jasmine was not so much of a helpless princess, and how she could rule, rather wait for someone to become the next Sultan.

  • Chibi Girl
    Chibi Girl 2 months ago

    nostalgia critics conclusion "missed oppertunity"

  • Rebecca Madsen
    Rebecca Madsen 2 months ago

    J and Ben!
    I realize there are a lot o theory videos on youtube but is there a reason why you don't theorize or make reviews about game of thrones? Maybe you're not huge fans but gosh would I love to hear your point of views on it!
    Love u guys!

  • Sheyla Anderson
    Sheyla Anderson 2 months ago

    to me the movie was not bad but i didnt feel anything special about it. i did like Jasmin tho. but Jafar was utterly disappointing. this live-actions keep ruining iconic villains. definitely not better than/as good as the original. not as bad as The Lion King tho.

  • Kriegsman
    Kriegsman 2 months ago

    You dare throw my honor into question?

  • Amit Barabi
    Amit Barabi 2 months ago

    the remake is definitely better than the original, I liked it so much better and it means a lot because I love the original a lot.
    edit: 10 out of 10.

  • Aaron James
    Aaron James 2 months ago

    I wasn’t a fan of the casting choice for jafar, he wasn’t creepy enough

  • animemenga125
    animemenga125 2 months ago

    we don't really know jafars origin but what if the reason he wants to invade the queens country and probably the reason he killed her is because he's from there and grew up as a street rat there and everyone was looking down on him and now he wants to go conquer that country and be like "bow down all people who were mean and made my life hard mwahahahahaaaaa" u know. like villans do

  • Rose Striedl
    Rose Striedl 2 months ago

    Ben: People are going to say "don't compare Will Smith to Robin Willams- immediately compare Will Smith to Robin Williams."

    Everyone watching: 😐

  • Rose Striedl
    Rose Striedl 2 months ago

    Ben! I thought the same thing about the Genies! As Jafar was being pulled into the lamp I was thinking about how now HE'LL be the one to be trapped for thousands of years, and I suddenly wondered if that's how it always happens.
    But then I thought about how Jafar's "genie color" was gray- like evil- while Genie's color was bright blue. but maybe Genie was like Jafar at one point, but his time granting wishes made him see how awful having power usually goes for people. So then his color changed.
    Like if you look back on the scene where Genie is telling Aladdin about how people's first wish is always money and power, his appearance changes and he turns gray.

  • Sherry Jones
    Sherry Jones 2 months ago

    ALADDIN DIDN'T SING, HE SPOKE HIS WORDS!!!

  • Sean Kruger
    Sean Kruger 2 months ago +1

    I’d never seen the original and enjoyed the reveal

  • Tiago Leivas
    Tiago Leivas 2 months ago

    Despite the name of the channel, for a long time I thought they were the same guy

  • Kayleigh O’Donnell
    Kayleigh O’Donnell 3 months ago

    When the genie motions to Aladdin with the cuffs, I think he is saying he can’t do anything because while Aladdin is telling jafar that he should become a genie, genie is looking very confused like “why are u telling him this”

  • Jackson
    Jackson 3 months ago

    Remember how the cave AND Jefar say to Take nothing but the lamp, so you can touch, but only if you don’t have the intent to steal it.

  • Jenny Shull
    Jenny Shull 3 months ago

    I wish they wold make a movie of the book version because it would make for a great movie.

  • harrylover531
    harrylover531 3 months ago

    I think with will smith as genie when he got to be himself as genie he was good, but when he tried to pull off the stuff you knew was written to be robinish he fell short. But then again the genie was litterally created with robin in mind robin made genie. So you have the challange of taking a character made for someone else and fitting it to a new actor

  • katherine reeves kroff
    katherine reeves kroff 3 months ago

    WAS THE TALKING BIRD INCLUDED

  • Ele Wright
    Ele Wright 3 months ago +1

    Did anyone else spend most of the 45 minutes reading the comments

  • Ele Wright
    Ele Wright 3 months ago +2

    In my opinion the only person that could have played genie even remotely close to Robin Williams was Will Smith

  • X- Hunter
    X- Hunter 3 months ago

    he just kept agreeing even tho he doesn't agree dnt know about that srry i never remember the names but the one at the left was impressed but he wasnt confident ta say it and kept agreeing on points that couldve easily been explained

  • The Raven's Nest
    The Raven's Nest 3 months ago

    Personally, I wish there would have been more Anders from Skanland. I laughed out loud every time he opened his mouth. 😂

  • Noneofyour Buisness
    Noneofyour Buisness 3 months ago +1

    I will never forgive them for getting rid of Jafar's "Your Eternal Reward" line, and Jafar's Prince Ali reprise.

  • Megan Kelland
    Megan Kelland 3 months ago

    I did not like Jasmine's new song. It felt too modern and didn't fit in with the feel of the film. Felt very Elsa and the song just didn't have a middle east feel like the rest of the songs. It pulled me straight out of the film and I made the comment that it was definitely a more modern song. It just didn't hit it for me. Loved the film though.

  • Snowarrior _
    Snowarrior _ 3 months ago

    Really, my only complaint is that the Sultan didn't seem like... the Sultan
    He wasn't a doughball, is what I'm trying to say

  • H Cruz
    H Cruz 3 months ago

    make a like to this comment if you like robern williams (the genie in the origanal

  • H Cruz
    H Cruz 3 months ago

    Jafar did not turn into a cobra.How sssssssssssssnake like I can be

  • Lahly Bird
    Lahly Bird 3 months ago

    It's been so long sense I watched Alladin

  • Jacey Neubauer
    Jacey Neubauer 4 months ago

    Aladin is not as intellegent in this one thats for sure

  • Jacey Neubauer
    Jacey Neubauer 4 months ago

    I have low expectations

  • Gemstone Rose
    Gemstone Rose 4 months ago

    Honestly I loved this movie. Aadding is one of my all tiem faves since I was a kid.(top 3) I was worried watching this, but I genuinely enjoyed it.
    I never watched beatuy and the beast as a kid I only read the book so when I finally saw that it was so "meh" and the live action was such a mess... From the actual movie to all the surrounding stuff (*cough* lefou)

  • Joseph Limarzi
    Joseph Limarzi 4 months ago +1

    why was Iago not in it as much

    also you guys forgot about the yam jams

  • Annika Forrest
    Annika Forrest 4 months ago

    I think when the genie signaled his cuffs, I think he was trying to tell Aladdin that he couldn't rebel because he was trapped

  • Sky Porter
    Sky Porter 4 months ago

    When you make a remake you have to compare the performances unfortunately will isn't put in a fair spot. It's just how things are

  • Opal Owl
    Opal Owl 4 months ago

    Jafar said don't take anything.. Not don't touch.. So yeah.. The cave of wonders makes sense now

  • Jordan Sweet
    Jordan Sweet 4 months ago

    I liked it a bit more than you guys but yeah,it's a good timr with some solid ideas. It's nice to have one channel that's just some good guys talking about movies and not controversial. That feels so good.

  • conflict
    conflict 4 months ago +1

    "I can't be number 2 EVER. you're either the most powerful man in the room, or you're nothing!"
    you could say he's....
    only second rate

  • MarcyBat
    MarcyBat 4 months ago

    I think the thing I hated most about the movie was how Jasmine’s song took me out of it. For the rest of the songs things are still happening. Like Aladdin running from the guards or Jasmine and him traveling the world. But with Speachless it did that weird thing where time seemed to pause as she sung and the people disappeared. I think it would have been much stronger if it was done like the rest.

  • Everyone's Favourite non-French Baguette

    Hate to be off topic, but Ben, you say you're a Slytherin, not Ravenclaw, MAYBE STOP WEARING BLUE ALL THE TIME?!