Aladdin Review | Better Than The Original?

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 28, 2019
  • Today J and Ben dive into Agrabah, to give their full spoiler review of Disney’s Aladdin and try and answer the question: Is the live-action Aladdin as good as the original?
    Super Carlin Brothers Merch ►► bit.ly/2oDIxOL
    J vs Ben ►► bit.ly/2I5xHee
    Harry Potter Theories ►► bit.ly/2K2Rtru
    Super Carlin Gaming ►► bit.ly/1CRM5Bq
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    BECOME A SUPER CARLIN FRIEND➜ tvclip.biz/user/SuperCarlinBrothers
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    FOLLOW US:
    V L O G➜ tvclip.biz/user/jonathancarlin
    T W I T T E R➜ jonkerlin & SCB_Ben
    I N S T A G R A M➜ jonkerlin & scb_ben
    F A C E B O O K➜ supercarlinbrothers
    G A M I N G ➜ bit.ly/1CRM5Bq
    P A T R E O N ➜ www.patreon.com/SuperCarlinBrothers
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Want to send us something?
    Super Carlin Brothers
    PO Box 4339
    Roanoke, Virginia 24015
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Business Inquiries Only: carlinbrosrtp@gmail.com
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Every time you give us a thumbs up a Narwhal gets its horn! (maybe..)

Comments • 2 611

  • SuperCarlinBrothers
    SuperCarlinBrothers  3 months ago +605

    What did you think of the new Aladdin? Love it? Hate it? Let us know!!

    • Mini Wolfsbane
      Mini Wolfsbane 4 days ago

      3 months late to the party, but I don't care!💖 Shamefully, didn't get to see it in the theater, but been itching for it to go to rent for Amazon prime video and it finally got there, so I watched it. Went in with high expectations and actually loved it with a few big kaveats, but disappointment is a part of life. Didn't like that Iago is now just a parrot. Gilbert Gottfried would be rolling in his grave would that he had one. Genie getting a love interest was cute, but I felt it unecessary and Daliah came off as weird, desperate and a bit creepy for me. Last, I didn't dig Genie becoming human just because he was free. Oh, and very last, Jafar wasn't evil or dramatic enough, not like the original.Loved everything else, especially the costumes, sets and scenery and giving Jasmine much needed character development.

    • Alisha-tenniz life
      Alisha-tenniz life 5 days ago

      Love it

    • Laura Brand
      Laura Brand 15 days ago

      I was genuinely surprised, the original is one the many highlights of my childhood so yeah I was worried but straight from the beginning I loved it there are a few songs where I prefer the original versions but others I love and incorporating genie's story into it I loved
      I do miss iagos character though it's not as likeable as the original which I suppose is the point he is technically a baddie

    • Charlottexx xxx Fenner
      Charlottexx xxx Fenner 17 days ago

      SuperCarlinBrothers I prefer it than beauty and the beast remake because It’s so good remake of Aladdin I love new song speak less. The cast was so great and enjoyable to watch , It is my one of my favourite remake of Disney.

    • Maria Patrício
      Maria Patrício Month ago

      He really became human he says in the beginning '' what i really wanted is to be free, be human, you know...''

  • Everyone's Favourite non-French Baguette

    Hate to be off topic, but Ben, you say you're a Slytherin, not Ravenclaw, MAYBE STOP WEARING BLUE ALL THE TIME?!

  • Everyone's Favourite non-French Baguette

    I actually loved Will Smith's singing in Arabian Nights.
    I was listening to it in a long car ride and fell asleep

  • Gamerschmitt
    Gamerschmitt 3 days ago

    I liked some things and hated some things. As far as making this movie family friendly and not just for kids, 10/10 by far. Adults can enjoy this movie too. Which brings me to entertainment value from the movie, 8/10. As far as effects in the movie which they definitely could have done a much better job on, 6/10. As far as the characters staying true to the originals, 5/10. Jafar's new light voice was not better, and the characters completely changed from how they were originally portrayed. Will Smith did a fantastic job with the genie, and definitely made it his own character which was exactly how to rework Robin Williams' character. Songs in the movie, some good, some bad, but due to nostalgia and having hit the bar on some and exceeding expectations I have to give that a 7/10.

    As far as the movie as a whole I will give it a 7.5/10, around Ben's score. It worked, and I sincerely hope to see a Return of Jafar in the works.

  • Samantha Ball
    Samantha Ball 5 days ago

    can you drink ANY louder!!!!

  • Eva Simmonds
    Eva Simmonds 9 days ago

    Even if u haven’t seen the original u will still know the main plot

  • hurricanejay17
    hurricanejay17 10 days ago

    I really was only disappointed by the way Aladdin tricks Genie the first time. I love love love both Mena Massoud and Naomi Scott. I think my favorite part is that they kept Aladdin as a huge puppy dog of a boyfriend who just absolutely adores Jasmine. She does anything and he's like "yeah she's perfect she's so amazing I'm so lucky to even be in her presence" I love it.

  • Mallika Banerjee
    Mallika Banerjee 10 days ago

    I think you should do a full theory video on how Hitch is Genie.

  • Mallika Banerjee
    Mallika Banerjee 10 days ago

    I was surprised by how much I loved Mena Massoud as Aladdin. His voice sounds so much like the original. I wish he had more dancing scenes because he was really good at it.
    The movie overall is fun but feels really underwhelming compared to the original. My favorite song was "Speechless".
    I would say liked it but Jafar was such a disappointment and it really dragged the movie down for me.

  • ettaex
    ettaex 11 days ago

    I loved it, though not as much as Beauty and the Beast. My friends and I laughed through the first half, the jam scene had one friend and I in tears.
    I personally thought it was better than the original, mostly because of Jasmine. In the animation I feel like while Jasmine was stronger than the classic princesses with a lot of spark, she still didn’t have fight like Belle or Mulan. While in this one she definitely has that fight. Speechless is just incredible, one thing I thought was cool was normally the reprise is shorter, but here it was longer. Also the costumes were stunning.
    My dad and brother didn’t really like it though.

  • Sara Bush
    Sara Bush 11 days ago

    I agree that Will Smith could not be Robin Williams. However, nobody could have done that. Unfortunately, Robin Williams is unable to be around for this movie. That being said, I wasn't ready to like this movie. I can't ever bring myself to love it as much as the original because of the lack of the best character, being Robin Williams, but I like this move alot for what it is. It was the best they could have done, short of making Jafar more Jafar-like. I'm not mad. I'll watch it again.

  • ArtGirl ASMR
    ArtGirl ASMR 12 days ago +2

    J and Ben: How r u? *pause*
    Me: pretty awful actually, had a horrible anxiety attack.
    J and Ben: That’s great!

  • Dee Childs
    Dee Childs 13 days ago

    I’m super late but I’ll tell my thoughts anyway. Since I’ve only seen the animation once and I literally mean once seeing this live action I wasn’t comparing as much so saying will smith was holding back I have to disagree I think he gave a good amount of will smith but at the same time I didn’t want to see will smith if that makes sense I wanted to see him be the genie which I feel like I did see…

  • killer king
    killer king 14 days ago +1

    I wish that geni said "10 THOUSAND YEARS WILL GIVE YOU SUCH A CRIK IN THE NECK!"

  • Taktive
    Taktive 14 days ago

    I didn't like the big Jasmine song where she Thanos guards out of existence. I grant you that as a solo song it's not bad, but it felt completely out of left field. It completely took me out of the movie and felt kinda silly. I like her speech to the guards and think the whole scene would've worked better without her metaphorically driving a pickup truck into the movie while blasting her demo tape. As an aside her high pitch singing hurt my ears. That's just me though.

  • Sean F
    Sean F 15 days ago +1

    Loved the new Aladdin but, why didn’t Aladdin just take the carpet up to retrieve the lamp?

  • Zala Potter
    Zala Potter 15 days ago

    Mena is PERFECT 🙈💖🤩😘

  • Brittany SmartCookie
    Brittany SmartCookie 15 days ago

    The treasure is cursed. In the sense of it can put a spell on you to make you take it. If you can't resist the spell. Boom, done. That's why the cave is looking for the diamond in the rough. He has a choice in the cave, where he doesn't in life. Just my opinion. Abu is allowed in the cave because Aladdin brought him along. Otherwise it would've been the same sand eating scene with all the others. What Aladdin doesn't know is he's responsible for Abu since he brought him. Explaining why they both got stuck there to begin with. It works the same in both movies 😃
    Also I always thought the opening narrator in the cartoon was the genie anyways. So the real life opening makes sense. The personalities and exaggerating are the same between narrator and genie.

  • Stuart Sisler
    Stuart Sisler 16 days ago

    Animated version: 10/10
    Live-action version: 7.5/10
    I loved both, but the level of epicness in the original animated one was lacking throughout the remake, but I think it's understandable because in order for it to live up to the original, the writing and dialogue would practically have to be completely different. I think we got the best possible result we could in that respect. I think they did well.

  • iambug19
    iambug19 17 days ago

    Love it! My new favorite

  • Lherween Lynx Garcia
    Lherween Lynx Garcia 17 days ago

    Then we find out in Aladdin 2 that Dahlia is an oracle (from king of thieves). Would you wanna see that movie? Casim being Aladdin's dad and the 40 thieves.

  • 00juls00
    00juls00 20 days ago

    16:20 I think Ben in on to something there. I've seen in twice now and I think that's what they were going for. Because as Aladdin is talking to Jafar, Genie is shaking his head/looking confused, until a moment when it dawns on him what Aladdin must be doing. Then we can see Genie have a look of recognition. So I don't think they were trying to suggest that Genie came up with the idea.

  • 00juls00
    00juls00 20 days ago

    The "Genie as Hitch" reference is spot on. I thought the same thing after seeing it.

  • Britten Moshkosky
    Britten Moshkosky 21 day ago

    So... if genie found a lamp and made a wish to be powerful and got turned into a genie himself. You think that for a couple centuries when he had a master wish for power his response was "I wished for power too so here ya go pal a lifetime of imprisonment and servitude". If so, that'd be so salty, savage and hilarious

  • Dulce Maria N.
    Dulce Maria N. 24 days ago

    Better remake ever. That it

  • Meg Willsher
    Meg Willsher 25 days ago

    I loved it so much more than I thought! And I agree pretty much with everything you said about Jasmine. I love Jasmine so much. BUT if you want a really good live action Aladdin? The broadway musical hands down in the best. ^_^ BUT that being said, I really loved this movie.

  • Zain Hartono
    Zain Hartono 25 days ago

    I really want a sequel, maybe a live action version of King of Thieves. In my opinion it’s a better story than Return of Jaffar. King of Thieves actually feels like a tale from the Arabian Nights.

  • YasminAmer
    YasminAmer 25 days ago

    Tbh Will Smith did a great job but the cgi was bad. The motion caption seemed to be off constantly. The whole movie felt like bollywood and not Arabien. I was sad to see that Jafar wasn't more evil and I hate that everything has to be more "kid friendly". I mean we survived! Overall it was okay. Prolly not gonna watch it again but it wasn't bad.

  • Natalia Błaszczyk
    Natalia Błaszczyk 28 days ago

    I liked it. It definitely wasn’t better than the original, but I also don’t think that it was worse. It was good in its own way. It was different, but very enjoyable and fun to watch. Also I don’t have the issue of comparing Will Smith to Robin Williams, because I’m from Poland and I’ve only watched the original animated version with Polish voiceover so I actually have no clue of how Robin Williams did the whole Genie thing. Guess that’s actually better, cause I was able to just appreciate Will Smith for who he is and I think that he did a great job at playing Genie.

  • R
    R Month ago

    The jasmine actress looks like jynx maze, I have tbh

  • Reeses Neko19
    Reeses Neko19 Month ago

    I feel like alot of the reasons why will smith couldn't be" like. The genie" from the original Aladdin is because of Disney's promise to Robin Williams. We all know will smith can be hilarious but i feel like yea it could have been better in some departments but i felt like its more out of respect for Robin that he kinda held himself back. I kinda also liked the loopholes and grey areas that was created because in the animated one many people complained about him not getting a wish so they fixed that by making his first wish as a prince, then the second being the contract that saved his life , and finally him being set free. So overall i liked both equally , and both were creative in their own right 😺

  • Tom Travels
    Tom Travels Month ago

    So people thought this movie was fairly good. I thought it was average and in many cases a poor movie. The movie didn’t flow like the original. The changing of the order of the scenes especially made the movie not flow at all. There are many other issues I had with the film too, including the very poor portrayal of Jafar, Abu and at times Aladdin. The whole love interest thing too with the genie was really odd, as well as the lack of anything too dramatic and that exciting at the end when Jafar takes power. There were just other little things I picked up on that irritated me too. Overall, an average film. 6/10.

  • Mario Aguilar
    Mario Aguilar Month ago

    how many times can you possibly say the word "like"? i could only, like, stand 5 minutes of this...

  • Paukah Kah
    Paukah Kah Month ago

    I love the fact that Jasmine is Mo from Lemonade Mouth,
    A MOVIE I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE

  • Hiba M Khalbous
    Hiba M Khalbous Month ago

    26:46 I KNOW RIGHT
    And the point at 39:56 is freaking brilliant!

  • Enternet Fun
    Enternet Fun Month ago

    12:14 that's me! Just seen the movie. I've haven't watched any of the movies from the Renaissance (except for the lion king). And grew up on Soviet films and some newer Disney films my dad used to download.

  • Roffa 5311
    Roffa 5311 Month ago

    CarlinBrothers: Like how are you?
    Me: i’m in the hospital i almost died.
    Carlin Brothers: That’s awesome!!!
    😂😂😂

  • Laura Álvarez
    Laura Álvarez Month ago

    I think that Rajah might be the Princess mother....look what happened to Merida and her mother.

  • Jessica Emmas
    Jessica Emmas Month ago

    The main this I had an issue with was the placing of Alladin's 'One Jump' song and the backing track to 'Speechless' (it kinda stood out like a sore thumb. Sounded amazing, just not part of the movie. It sounded like those modern covers of an in film song they'd stick with the credits)

  • A-Mina
    A-Mina Month ago

    I loved the movie also this vid is basically a podcast with video

  • kylee brubaker
    kylee brubaker Month ago

    I thought it was kind of...boring? I found myself playing with my hair and my mom even leaned over and asked if I was bored because of it. I lied and said no. I even checked my phone for the time. I have never done that during a movie! I went to the bathroom when realistically I could have held it and didn't rush either. There was just nothing really notable to make it different from the original. I really think that the only disney movies that should get live action remakes are the ones that didn't do very well (like Atlantis) or classics that younger kids haven't seen (like Cinderella). But that's never gonna happen because of, ya know, money.

  • B.안나
    B.안나 Month ago

    Can we please talk about the prince that Genie just left in the desert? O.o.
    After finally watching the movie today I can also watch your review (that's why I'm late :D). And I have to admit... I loved the movie so much. In my opinion (out of all the disney live action movies) my favorite. Of course classic is classic so it can't quite reach the original (but that's for a fact.). I already enjoyed "The Beauty and the Beast" live action (more than I thought). But "Aladdin" is so much better. (Maybe because the animated "The Beauty and the Beast" is my favorite Disney movie of all time and therefore for me personally it has a much higher standard. Don't get me wrong... Aladdin is also one of my top-disney-movies).
    Maybe I'm not too tough on the Gnie because I grew up with the german version of the movie. And while I watched the original English with iconic Robin Williams later on I didn't mind it as much (as you mentioned... No one can expect someone to be as the original). I really, really like Will Smith... You are probably right about the 70-80 % (I also felt that) but overall I loved how he pulled it off and even got his own happy ending.
    There's much on my mind about this movie. And I've got a few points that have been missing (like sassy Iago... I still loved him though) or how they changed the point how Genie helped them out of the cave.... But these are minor things.
    Yes. I pretty much enjoyed watching it

  • Deana Ferretti
    Deana Ferretti Month ago +1

    Hi guys, I totally loved a Aladdin! Saw it Twice in the theater can't wait to buy it even with the little imperfections! I also bought the soundtrack. I also loved Beauty and the Beast and brought it! Thanks for all the great videos

  • SwedlePOP
    SwedlePOP Month ago

    IT TOTALLY BEATS THE ORIGINAL

  • Nahla Aly
    Nahla Aly Month ago

    I honestly really loved the remake. It's not without faults, but it's still a great movie.
    My biggest critique is the fact that as usual Disney mixed up Arab, Persian, and Indian cultures. Like no!

  • Aksh Son
    Aksh Son Month ago

    J and I own the same t shirt! Except it looks much better on J. I don’t rock it too well

  • Raspberry Jam
    Raspberry Jam Month ago

    Allow me to word this very carefully because I do not want anyone to think that I am sexist and what I am going to say could be misconstrued as sexist. I swear by my mother, God rest her soul, that I am not sexist and if this seems sexist, I am sorry. I one hundred percent do not mean it like that.

    My one problem with the live action Aladdin is that they sort of shifted the focus away from Aladdin and toward Jasmine. I like Jasmine, and obviously she's a very important character in the movie, but let's not forget that Aladdin is the main character here. The movie itself is named after him, and in the original the beggar said, "this lamp once changed a young man's life." Not a young woman's life or even a young couple's life, but a young man's life. This is Aladdin's story, and Jasmine is just a supporting character, albeit a very important supporting character. The way they gave Jasmine a new song and made her sultan in the end, it just feels to me like they're trying to make the movie more about Jasmine than Aladdin, and that's not how it should be. It's not about Jasmine, or Jafar, or Iago, or Jasmine's father or Abu or even the genie. It's all about Aladdin. I'm not saying I don't like that they gave more depth to Jasmine. Not at all. I'm just saying, to me, it feels like they tried to sort of shift the movie to where it focuses on Jasmine, and that's what I don't like. She's a supporting character, not the main character. That's Aladdin's job.
    Once again, I'd like to say I am not saying anything against Jasmine. I love her character and I know that she is a very important character to the story. I mean, there wouldn't be much of a story without her, right? But she is still only the second most important character. After all, there wouldn't be a story at all without Aladdin.

  • Julia Hildebrand
    Julia Hildebrand Month ago +1

    So I did think it was better than the original

  • Julia Hildebrand
    Julia Hildebrand Month ago +1

    1. I thought the cuff thing meant him saying he couldn’t help personally
    2. Also I liked the genie having a love interest I think he would find interest in a human cause all he’s ever wanted is to be human

  • Khanh Linh Holden
    Khanh Linh Holden Month ago +1

    Tell me i'm not the only one that knows Naomi Scott acted in lemonade mouth. And sang a bunch of times.

  • From The Westside With Love

    I swear to God I thought you were 1 guy that kept growing and shaving his facial hair

  • TouchingYouOnTheInsidePart

    Iago had no personality at all.😂
    They just zoomed in on the cave of wonder's eyes when he was talking.😂

  • Wild Wolf
    Wild Wolf Month ago

    I loved the New take on Aladdin. It was really good and I love Will Smith as the Genie. I hated return of Jafar so hopefully they don't make it. Hopefully they leave it as just Aladdin. And I am annoyed with there going to be a Maleficent 2.

  • T.J. Armendariz
    T.J. Armendariz Month ago

    Co-sultan? Maybe he gives her equal use of power, so that on his death she gains it all?

  • Gailyn Lee
    Gailyn Lee Month ago +1

    Jasmine did know that you have to pay for things, it was more of how could something that is so obviously the right thing to do possibly be stealing and against the law

  • musicals4thesoul
    musicals4thesoul Month ago

    Jasmine was wonderful ... Except for the fact that her empowering song ends with her relying on someone else to interfere for her. If she had taken get previous submission and shoved it back in Jafar's face, jumped at him with a stolen sword and Raja, and THEN the guards don't stand by and let her be killed then it would have been so much better.

  • Samuel Flynn
    Samuel Flynn Month ago

    I think that in this version because they made Jafaar more clever it makes sense that he wouldn't be dumb enough to wish to be a Genie because he knows about them and their obvious restrictions. It makes more sense for him to be taunted into wishing to be the most powerful being, which presumably only Alladin and Genie knew from an earlier conversation would have to be another Genie. So it was foreshadowed similarly to the previous movie with the "itty bitty living space" line but also that Jafaar would have done his research. Do you think Genie could have made him more powerful without making him a genie? I feel like he pulled a traditional evil genie move and intentionally gave his wish the worst outcome like a monkey paw cautionary tale.

  • TheGoddessvesta
    TheGoddessvesta Month ago

    I think Jaafar killed the queen and wants to destroy her country because that is where he is from. Maybe she could recognize him and call out his scam.

  • Abbie Carleton
    Abbie Carleton Month ago +1

    I finally saw the movie and personally I absolutely LOVED it! It was a million times better than I was expecting it to be, I thought the whole cast were wonderful. I really enjoyed the addition of Dalia and the love story with Genie, I just thought it was very cute. Personally I think its the best live-action remake Disney has made so far.
    On another note, I'm so into Ben's theory that all genies were normal people who wished to be powerful and got trapped, I think that makes so much sense, you should delve deeper into that.

  • Arty Zara
    Arty Zara Month ago

    So... about Speechless: I really like the fact that they gave Jasmine more power and depth in thet song - and don’t get me wrong, I love Pasek and Paul - but the style of the song really didn’t match the other songs. I just felt like it was very disconnected from the movie. Please don’t attack me.