Wonder - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 2, 2017
  • FACEBOOK: ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Wonder, starring Julia Roberts, Owen Wilson, Jacob Tremblay, Mandy Patinkin, Daveed Diggs. Directed by Stephen Chbosky.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 513

  • Halvard Anholt
    Halvard Anholt 25 days ago

    You really are a great film critic, Chris!

  • ERLENDVALLE
    ERLENDVALLE 26 days ago

    I guess Saul got tired of terrorists and stuff.


    Btw, Great movie. I cried, alot

  • Erika
    Erika 2 months ago

    Chris, I love your reviews and your honesty.

  • Darth Revan
    Darth Revan 2 months ago

    We watched this in class and my teacher started crying

  • Mark Wilcox
    Mark Wilcox 2 months ago

    Actually a good movie, and gives younger people a message, I couldn’t tell if the dialogue sucked a bit but it doesn’t really matter.

  • Ben Tyson
    Ben Tyson 2 months ago

    I would give it a Aplus reminded of my past.

  • Jane-Ann Armstrong
    Jane-Ann Armstrong 2 months ago

    I just watched this with my 9 year old so he is the same age as these kids. He really liked it and it gave me a chance to talk to him about how he treats people and bullying. This should be shown in schools!

  • Heather Aggus
    Heather Aggus 3 months ago

    I had no idea it was pronounced "PAH Ten Kin"
    vs Pah TIN kin

  • LIAM TeeVEEE
    LIAM TeeVEEE 3 months ago

    I love his stranger thing shirt

  • Vip- Nerd
    Vip- Nerd 3 months ago

    رايد

  • Vincent Burnett
    Vincent Burnett 3 months ago

    I wished it ended the way it did in the book with Julian

  • Ben Withey
    Ben Withey 6 months ago +1

    I freakin’ love this movie

  • M Mackay
    M Mackay 8 months ago

    I watched this movie yesterday and the ending had me in tears, people finally accepted him and he changed peoples hearts. Amazing film.

  • Francisco Javier Medina Galvan

    The only thing that I need to said "its stupid bully someone else"

  • Dusch Gel
    Dusch Gel 8 months ago +1

    I just watched this Today. It's so sad but very touching and inspiring. 💕💕💕

  • ZSminecraft
    ZSminecraft 8 months ago

    I agree with your score i gave this movie a 9.2/10

  • Katie Parnell
    Katie Parnell 8 months ago

    I know no one asked for my story but my little brother has a facial difference and when we watched wonder and it got to via, the sister's, story he asked "is that how you feel when I get surgeries" and I was kinda sad that he felt guilty but I loved the movie's representation of the people in Augi's life.

  • Trwo and Sassiestink
    Trwo and Sassiestink 9 months ago

    You didn't even mention minecraft

  • The_Big_Niz
    The_Big_Niz 9 months ago

    read the book many of the problems of the movie come from it being an adaptation
    also I loved the part about Miranda it might just be because I watched it right after reading the book but she offered a very grounded view hers and Justin's parts (they go into a lot more detail in the book) there was one thing that stood out in the book that kinda stands out as bad the whole subplot with savanna and Julian wanting to date summer it seems kinda out of place with them being in fifth grade but considering that when i first read it i was the age when you start to think about dating it kinda just made it more relatable

  • Kell Brigan
    Kell Brigan 10 months ago

    Interesting review. We still need the movie that acknowledges that fat kids are not lazy, are not gluttons, live exactly the same way as thinner people, and that fatness is not voluntary. Seeing things from Augie's POV is only socially acceptable because his condition is seen as involuntary. It does nothing to challenge the most important, frequent, and dangerous bigotries against fat people. We are hated, battered, exploited, isolated and denied fair access more than any other group in this society, and, yes, I'm saying even more than race-based hatred. Look at the numbers. I was thinking of going to see this movie, but I'm going to give it a miss. I don't need the frustration. Still waiting for the movie where the fat people are NOT lazy glutton stereotypes. (Even in what thin people think are "compassionate" portrayals, they still always have that obligatory candy bar shot...) Wonder sounds OK, but it's safe to root for Augie. It's never OK to root for a self-accepting, normal, non-compulsive, active, unashamed fat person.

  • king of all nanaes
    king of all nanaes 10 months ago

    My favorite book of whole time get the movie

  • yikes gg
    yikes gg 11 months ago

    I liked that they dealt with Julian's point of view as well.

  • hiru
    hiru 11 months ago

    the message of the film was great, but i felt like it was just reallyyyy cheesy

  • Brian Welty
    Brian Welty 11 months ago

    I am viewing this video on Christmas 2018. I appreciate you extending the message, through film critique, of treating people better. As, we are all human. I'm excited to see this film now. Your objective view of films truly guides me to films that really get to the core of human emotion and expierences. Life is both beautiful and cruel. Thanks for your introspection into film, I truly relate. Connecting to films is one of my favorite life expierences. I'm sure you understand this. Have a happy holiday, to you, and your wife. Catch you next year friend.

  • OzIEL :O
    OzIEL :O Year ago

    Julian’s mom was a bitch in the book and a bitch in the movie I just hated that they did not include Julian’s part I’m the movie

  • Matthew Martn
    Matthew Martn Year ago

    An absolutely beautiful movie I cannot wait to show my son!....

  • L F102
    L F102 Year ago

    Great review i can relate to this as back in primary school in spain. I got bullied for not fitting in as i didn't speak the langauge. However i had one close friend who happened to be learning English and knew small amounts but unfortuantly when i moved to England and started secondary i lost contact with her. Even the first year of college people viewed me differently because i messed up a bit but i had close friends as well who understood me. Everyone gets bullied, is a bully, both, has their own problems but everyone eventually learns to deal with it and get through it.

  • Idan Winter
    Idan Winter Year ago

    This film was honestly horrible. So many scenes with actors overreacting, annoying and manipulative music, the script was also fucking awful. There are so many better films which talk about this message that are miles better than this. Personally couldn't stand this and actually left before it ended. Really disappointing because I actually like Jacob Tremblay.

  • Kamila Redźko
    Kamila Redźko Year ago

    In my opinion the book is better than the movie.

  • NIG NUG
    NIG NUG Year ago

    The book is garbage.

  • Kamra Mann
    Kamra Mann Year ago +1

    This was filmed at my high school and literally in my neighborhood

  • TripleThugs
    TripleThugs Year ago +3

    Movie made me cry.... it was great. I’m going to read the book as well.

  • qadrik
    qadrik Year ago

    Am I the only one that felt that Chris was holding back tears? In any case, excellent review, as always!

  • Sana'a H. Ali
    Sana'a H. Ali Year ago

    Also, I think the Dushman character is great!
    He has such a nice attitude for a headmaster to be!
    And I believe, the bullying that he got due his name has a dominant effect on his reaction towards August suffering.

  • 🖤xHøly Nøødlesx🖤

    OHHhHHH A-!!’

  • Pikachu Videos&Vlogs

    The wonder movie sucked (DONT HATE ME)

  • Gilberto Ignacio Aguirre Vargas

    The principal looks like Marx

  • Fauzan Baharuddin

    I just watched this movie and it was awesome!
    The only disappointment in this movie was Owen Wilson didnt say WOW!

  • robo tube
    robo tube Year ago

    Wonder was great

  • beloved marmot
    beloved marmot Year ago

    i would have loved if the film humanized julian more because if you read the special edition julian gets iced out by everybody which is exactly what was done to auggie so in way

  • Fahad Nazir
    Fahad Nazir Year ago +1

    Who's here right after watching the movie ?

  • Christopher Dones

    I actually liked the sister’s friend story line. Maybe you’re right it was a bit rushed, but maybe it’s because it was the very last story line for a character the film explored

  • Christopher Dones

    I just watched this on a plane ride home from London to Orlando and I was crying on the damn plane lol

  • Fred the fish from Spongebob

    In the book, it's revealed thst August literally does not have a face.

  • Elias White
    Elias White Year ago

    like if you read the book

  • space nerd
    space nerd Year ago

    I haven't seen the movie but I read the book twice and I really disliked it. I did not like Auggie at all. He really took what he had for granted and I couldn't feel bad for him very much. Everything in the book just felt really fake and unreal ( plus all the grammatical mistakes like I understand it's supposed to be like a kid who was writing but it got really annoying and the different personalities should have been conveyed through emotion and writing styles) The only character I enjoyed at all was the sister. The book probably would have been better if it was just focused on her TBH. I don't understand how people could take this book seriously it just uses cheap tricks to make you feel something but actually doesn't carry a very unique message at all

  • Knarksafari
    Knarksafari Year ago

    This movie was really good, but I felt that some dialogue and actions that characters take were a bit too unbelieveable.

  • Fan 52
    Fan 52 Year ago

    Love the shirt 😄

  • Philip Zamora
    Philip Zamora Year ago

    I feel like this movie would have been better served as a Netflix series. The filmmakers had a lot of ambition, tackling all these different characters and giving them their own segments so that we understand their plights. Unfortunately, the two hour running time makes it impossible to go in as much depth as I would have liked, and the final act feels cliched and too neatly wrapped up. It's a good film but it could have been a great series.

  • Carlie Covert
    Carlie Covert Year ago

    I want Chris's shirt

  • JUXE
    JUXE Year ago

    Who else saw Steve from stranger things in this video

  • Nick Meale
    Nick Meale Year ago

    Fantastic video, very nice review. I always watch your videos after I watch a movie. It helps clear my own thoughts.

  • Jeanne Evans
    Jeanne Evans Year ago

    I have heard of Wonder a lot because I work at a library. So I finally looked into it. I have to say that I could tell Jack Will was going to be super nice from the first day when they showed Auggie around the school. And of course I could tell Jillian was going to be the villian. But I agree that it was super nice that they told the story of a lot of the characters. I did notice they never told anything about Jillian, but you could tell very easily by the end that it was the influence of his parents and he was actually a good kid. I also will say that I thought Jack Will was the best of the best. Since he was the first in a Middle School setting to actually become friends with someone who was different. I had to think during the movie 'I sure hope I've never been like those rude kids.' I guess even being like the girls who felt bad for Auggie but wouldn't talk to him was about as bad as being like the bullies. But it really makes you think 'oh seriously I hope that I never have been like that in any shape or form.' Life changing movie is for sure!

  • massive nut
    massive nut Year ago

    shitty acting tho

  • Chris Emiya
    Chris Emiya Year ago

    An A - what the heck I would given it an A + !?

  • UncleBigKid
    UncleBigKid Year ago

    Why A - ?

  • KarltoonTV
    KarltoonTV Year ago

    Great review, dude. I loved the film.

  • Cian
    Cian Year ago

    I read the book for English class it was pretty good

  • John Martyn
    John Martyn Year ago

    I hope theres a sequel for this film