Wonder - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 2, 2017
  • FACEBOOK: facebook.com/ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: twitter.com/Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Wonder, starring Julia Roberts, Owen Wilson, Jacob Tremblay, Mandy Patinkin, Daveed Diggs. Directed by Stephen Chbosky.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 522

  • Vip- Nerd
    Vip- Nerd 6 days ago

    رايد

  • Samuel Brune
    Samuel Brune 8 days ago

    I wished it ended the way it did in the book with Julian

  • Ben Withey
    Ben Withey 2 months ago +1

    I freakin’ love this movie

  • M Mackay
    M Mackay 4 months ago

    I watched this movie yesterday and the ending had me in tears, people finally accepted him and he changed peoples hearts. Amazing film.

  • Francisco Javier Medina Galvan

    The only thing that I need to said "its stupid bully someone else"

  • Dusch Gel
    Dusch Gel 4 months ago +1

    I just watched this Today. It's so sad but very touching and inspiring. 💕💕💕

  • ZSMinecraft
    ZSMinecraft 4 months ago

    I agree with your score i gave this movie a 9.2/10

  • Katie Parnell
    Katie Parnell 5 months ago

    I know no one asked for my story but my little brother has a facial difference and when we watched wonder and it got to via, the sister's, story he asked "is that how you feel when I get surgeries" and I was kinda sad that he felt guilty but I loved the movie's representation of the people in Augi's life.

  • Trwo and Sassiestink
    Trwo and Sassiestink 5 months ago

    You didn't even mention minecraft

  • The_Big_Niz
    The_Big_Niz 6 months ago

    read the book many of the problems of the movie come from it being an adaptation
    also I loved the part about Miranda it might just be because I watched it right after reading the book but she offered a very grounded view hers and Justin's parts (they go into a lot more detail in the book) there was one thing that stood out in the book that kinda stands out as bad the whole subplot with savanna and Julian wanting to date summer it seems kinda out of place with them being in fifth grade but considering that when i first read it i was the age when you start to think about dating it kinda just made it more relatable

  • Kell Brigan
    Kell Brigan 6 months ago

    Interesting review. We still need the movie that acknowledges that fat kids are not lazy, are not gluttons, live exactly the same way as thinner people, and that fatness is not voluntary. Seeing things from Augie's POV is only socially acceptable because his condition is seen as involuntary. It does nothing to challenge the most important, frequent, and dangerous bigotries against fat people. We are hated, battered, exploited, isolated and denied fair access more than any other group in this society, and, yes, I'm saying even more than race-based hatred. Look at the numbers. I was thinking of going to see this movie, but I'm going to give it a miss. I don't need the frustration. Still waiting for the movie where the fat people are NOT lazy glutton stereotypes. (Even in what thin people think are "compassionate" portrayals, they still always have that obligatory candy bar shot...) Wonder sounds OK, but it's safe to root for Augie. It's never OK to root for a self-accepting, normal, non-compulsive, active, unashamed fat person.

  • king of all nanaes
    king of all nanaes 6 months ago

    My favorite book of whole time get the movie

  • yikes gg
    yikes gg 7 months ago

    I liked that they dealt with Julian's point of view as well.

  • hiru
    hiru 7 months ago

    the message of the film was great, but i felt like it was just reallyyyy cheesy

  • Brian Welty
    Brian Welty 7 months ago

    I am viewing this video on Christmas 2018. I appreciate you extending the message, through film critique, of treating people better. As, we are all human. I'm excited to see this film now. Your objective view of films truly guides me to films that really get to the core of human emotion and expierences. Life is both beautiful and cruel. Thanks for your introspection into film, I truly relate. Connecting to films is one of my favorite life expierences. I'm sure you understand this. Have a happy holiday, to you, and your wife. Catch you next year friend.

  • OzIEL :O
    OzIEL :O 8 months ago

    Julian’s mom was a bitch in the book and a bitch in the movie I just hated that they did not include Julian’s part I’m the movie

  • Matthew Martn
    Matthew Martn 9 months ago

    An absolutely beautiful movie I cannot wait to show my son!....

  • L F102
    L F102 9 months ago

    Great review i can relate to this as back in primary school in spain. I got bullied for not fitting in as i didn't speak the langauge. However i had one close friend who happened to be learning English and knew small amounts but unfortuantly when i moved to England and started secondary i lost contact with her. Even the first year of college people viewed me differently because i messed up a bit but i had close friends as well who understood me. Everyone gets bullied, is a bully, both, has their own problems but everyone eventually learns to deal with it and get through it.

  • Idan Winter
    Idan Winter 9 months ago

    This film was honestly horrible. So many scenes with actors overreacting, annoying and manipulative music, the script was also fucking awful. There are so many better films which talk about this message that are miles better than this. Personally couldn't stand this and actually left before it ended. Really disappointing because I actually like Jacob Tremblay.

  • Kamila Redźko
    Kamila Redźko 9 months ago

    In my opinion the book is better than the movie.

  • NIG NUG
    NIG NUG 9 months ago

    The book is garbage.

  • Kamra Mann
    Kamra Mann 10 months ago +1

    This was filmed at my high school and literally in my neighborhood

  • TripleThugs
    TripleThugs 10 months ago +3

    Movie made me cry.... it was great. I’m going to read the book as well.

  • qadrik
    qadrik 10 months ago

    Am I the only one that felt that Chris was holding back tears? In any case, excellent review, as always!

  • Декстар Мик
    Декстар Мик 11 months ago

    B-

  • Sana'a H. Ali
    Sana'a H. Ali 11 months ago

    Also, I think the Dushman character is great!
    He has such a nice attitude for a headmaster to be!
    And I believe, the bullying that he got due his name has a dominant effect on his reaction towards August suffering.

  • Xyah Girl Amberx
    Xyah Girl Amberx Year ago

    OHHhHHH A-!!’

  • Adam LetsPlaze
    Adam LetsPlaze Year ago

    The wonder movie sucked (DONT HATE ME)

  • Gilberto Ignacio Aguirre Vargas

    The principal looks like Marx

  • Fauzan Baharuddin

    I just watched this movie and it was awesome!
    The only disappointment in this movie was Owen Wilson didnt say WOW!

  • robo tube
    robo tube Year ago

    Wonder was great

  • beloved marmot
    beloved marmot Year ago

    i would have loved if the film humanized julian more because if you read the special edition julian gets iced out by everybody which is exactly what was done to auggie so in way

  • Fahad Nazir
    Fahad Nazir Year ago +1

    Who's here right after watching the movie ?

  • Yotess
    Yotess Year ago

    Wonder was not a good movie.

  • Christopher Dones

    I actually liked the sister’s friend story line. Maybe you’re right it was a bit rushed, but maybe it’s because it was the very last story line for a character the film explored

  • Christopher Dones

    I just watched this on a plane ride home from London to Orlando and I was crying on the damn plane lol

  • Fred the fish from Spongebob

    In the book, it's revealed thst August literally does not have a face.

  • Elias White
    Elias White Year ago

    like if you read the book

  • space nerd
    space nerd Year ago

    I haven't seen the movie but I read the book twice and I really disliked it. I did not like Auggie at all. He really took what he had for granted and I couldn't feel bad for him very much. Everything in the book just felt really fake and unreal ( plus all the grammatical mistakes like I understand it's supposed to be like a kid who was writing but it got really annoying and the different personalities should have been conveyed through emotion and writing styles) The only character I enjoyed at all was the sister. The book probably would have been better if it was just focused on her TBH. I don't understand how people could take this book seriously it just uses cheap tricks to make you feel something but actually doesn't carry a very unique message at all

  • Knarksafari
    Knarksafari Year ago

    This movie was really good, but I felt that some dialogue and actions that characters take were a bit too unbelieveable.

  • Fan 52
    Fan 52 Year ago

    Love the shirt 😄

  • Philip Zamora
    Philip Zamora Year ago

    I feel like this movie would have been better served as a Netflix series. The filmmakers had a lot of ambition, tackling all these different characters and giving them their own segments so that we understand their plights. Unfortunately, the two hour running time makes it impossible to go in as much depth as I would have liked, and the final act feels cliched and too neatly wrapped up. It's a good film but it could have been a great series.

  • Carlie Covert
    Carlie Covert Year ago

    I want Chris's shirt

  • JUXE
    JUXE Year ago

    Who else saw Steve from stranger things in this video

  • Nick Meale
    Nick Meale Year ago

    Fantastic video, very nice review. I always watch your videos after I watch a movie. It helps clear my own thoughts.

  • Jeanne Evans
    Jeanne Evans Year ago

    I have heard of Wonder a lot because I work at a library. So I finally looked into it. I have to say that I could tell Jack Will was going to be super nice from the first day when they showed Auggie around the school. And of course I could tell Jillian was going to be the villian. But I agree that it was super nice that they told the story of a lot of the characters. I did notice they never told anything about Jillian, but you could tell very easily by the end that it was the influence of his parents and he was actually a good kid. I also will say that I thought Jack Will was the best of the best. Since he was the first in a Middle School setting to actually become friends with someone who was different. I had to think during the movie 'I sure hope I've never been like those rude kids.' I guess even being like the girls who felt bad for Auggie but wouldn't talk to him was about as bad as being like the bullies. But it really makes you think 'oh seriously I hope that I never have been like that in any shape or form.' Life changing movie is for sure!

  • massive nut
    massive nut Year ago

    shitty acting tho

  • Chris Emiya
    Chris Emiya Year ago

    An A - what the heck I would given it an A + !?

  • UncleBigKid
    UncleBigKid Year ago

    Why A - ?

  • KarltoonTV
    KarltoonTV Year ago

    Great review, dude. I loved the film.

  • Cian
    Cian Year ago

    I read the book for English class it was pretty good

  • John Martyn
    John Martyn Year ago

    I hope theres a sequel for this film

  • Luvneet Singh
    Luvneet Singh Year ago

    You should try and review Jacob's best performance to date, in my humble opinion, in the movie "room." One of the best movies I've ever seen.

  • Conjoint Oates
    Conjoint Oates Year ago

    I found every kids performance god awful. that kinda just ruined a movie for me

  • Unforgivableslytherin -

    This movie has terrible acting.

  • David Smith
    David Smith Year ago

    good movie

  • Alexandria Hill
    Alexandria Hill Year ago +2

    I didn't know that you were an Aide for children with Special Needs. I went to see this movie in the theatre with my Mom. I had read the book the movie is based on but my Mom did not- I have loaned it to her to read though- and 'Wonder' really struck a chord with me. I was bullied in school for many years for being different and seeing the struggles Auggie goes through brought back my own struggles. It is a fantastic movie and I strongly suggest everyone see it and/or read the book its based on.

  • Scrublord853
    Scrublord853 Year ago

    The movie is stupid they ruined almost all the characters in the book is way better

  • beeman2075
    beeman2075 Year ago

    Chris, I'm a big fan of your reviews. My single (and only) criticism of this review is that I think Wonder deserves an A+, instead of an A-. It's one of the best family films I've seen in a long time. Keep up with the great reviews.

  • Sam Saad
    Sam Saad Year ago

    I just got around to watching the movie and I love how the separate storylines can target different types of people. I really related to the sister since I am the eldest daughter in my family and my parents attention went mainly to my little sister who had learning/developmental issues. Especially the Halloween screen where the sister was pissed at the August for "stealing her day with mom"

  • Nellie Warren
    Nellie Warren Year ago

    I hate to be this person, but as somebody who read the book I was overall dissapointed. On it's own, the film does a good job! It gets the message across, and I know from others who didn't read the book that it's good from their perspective. Performances were great. And yet the way it strayed from the source material irked me. It flipped Via and Justin's personalities around in a way that wasn't nessicary, left out some important scenes, unnessicarily changed some things, felt too cheesy, and almost completely erased a major character: Summer.
    It's true that from the book, it seemed annoyingly off, but I'm glad that it's enjoyable from the perspective of somebody who hasn't read it!
    Though please do read it, it's very good.
    Edit: They also seriously toned down Auggie's face.

    • The FirstBourne
      The FirstBourne Year ago

      +Nellie Warren I saw an interview video online talking about Wonder and it was also a kid with Treacher Collin's Syndrome. He talked just as fine as Auggie, and his scars are even less apparent. If anything, they did take it up a notch in many places.

  • Ryan Jarvis
    Ryan Jarvis Year ago

    The movie was inspiring that instead of blending in, you can do something good to stand out.

  • Knock /Da Deathstroke

    That movie is beautfiul

  • DictatorSenpai
    DictatorSenpai Year ago

    I read the book lol

  • Octavianti Shanna

    I think Wonder is a boring movie. Sure, the message was beautiful, but as a form of entertainment it's meh. Not deep enough for me to feel relatable to any of the characters. Not auggie, not his sister, not his mom, not even to the dog. Trembly was also a lot better in Room.

  • Aaron Osborne
    Aaron Osborne Year ago

    Reading the book right now, I love it so much.

  • xxKungFuManx 1
    xxKungFuManx 1 Year ago

    wonder the book is amazing my library teacher read it to my class in 6th grade and I really loved it

  • Kai H
    Kai H Year ago

    I haven’t watched the movie yet but it was a great book.

  • Fidel Prudente
    Fidel Prudente Year ago

    Did ayone else say this movie was WONDERful?

  • syakirsuhaimi56
    syakirsuhaimi56 Year ago

    Just watched this on a plane, so glad I picked this I have no idea why I did

  • Horror Fan 4 Life

    loved this film Jacob tremblay was excellent.I gave it a A+.

  • E B
    E B Year ago

    You should review mask NOT THE JIM CAREY ONE another one that was sadder than this and it had the same plot and was made a long time ago.

  • Osama bin Llama
    Osama bin Llama Year ago

    Minor spoiler below...
    Personally didn't like this film as much as other people it seems, felt like they used the dog's death to pull on our heartstrings and elicit an emotional response from us, which, although it succeeded at that point in the film (because dogs are wonderful), it cheapened the rest of the film for me; I didn't really feel particularly sad or happy for any of the characters for any of the events otherwise.
    It also felt really generic, which although not always a bad thing, I don't think this film offered anything much other than cliches of films similar to this one.
    Acting was good though and I did like how they showed the perspective of those around him, his sister's POV especially

  • Super films 100
    Super films 100 Year ago

    WTF does stuckmatized mean

  • Metalsnake
    Metalsnake Year ago

    I can see Owen playing the dad because his nose is as fucked up as the kid's face. Gives that sense of some type of Heretic deformity. Anyways... This looks like something they recycled from Mask.