Alien Covenant - movie review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 453

  • MuricaMottoRider
    MuricaMottoRider 6 hours ago

    Prometheus was better.

  • thtkidfrmvab
    thtkidfrmvab 11 hours ago +1

    Prometheus > Alien 3 > Covenant

  • Cinematic Anime Trailers

    I can't stand your friend. You try too hard to appease his views. You should just fight and have your different views.

  • Robert Fyfe
    Robert Fyfe 14 days ago

    Was good wtf do folks want get a grip

  • Norman 4515
    Norman 4515 15 days ago

    I didn't like Prometheus and I didn't like Alien Covenant.

  • Andrew Hawthorne
    Andrew Hawthorne 17 days ago

    Michael Bay is the Destroyer of Films. Bay is absolutely horrible as a director. Anything he touches falls to complete shit.

  • LeadCounsel
    LeadCounsel 27 days ago

    Just popped in to say that Covenant is illogical and ruins the whole series by over-explaining in a terrible way the origination of the xenos. So much wrong with this film from plot, story, acting, nonsense character behavior, silly fighting scenes, etc. Just a really really stink bomb of a film.

  • Ross Irving
    Ross Irving Month ago

    jesus what a pair of f*cukheds !!! Covenant better than Alien 3 . WTF are you guys smoking?

    • Ross Irving
      Ross Irving Month ago

      Americans and their guns thats the only reason you liked Covenant, the only film in the timeline after Prometheus that makes no sense at all.

  • Tim Crowley
    Tim Crowley Month ago

    The journey too and attack of the Engineers' planet feels like a missing chapter to me. It was far too glossed over.

  • djchristian82
    djchristian82 Month ago

    How come they could kill hundreds of aliens in Aliens, Ressurection but not a single Xenomorph in Alien and Alien 3?

  • StuUngar
    StuUngar Month ago

    Michael Fassbener is the fucking man

  • ELKFILMZ
    ELKFILMZ Month ago

    I think the reason the planet looked like Rome, was the tie in to David being more than human and being a God just like in those Roman mythologies.

  • Sundaydish1
    Sundaydish1 Month ago

    The 2 best films were 1 & 2. I would like to see an Alien film written by Cameron and directed by Ridley. Stop with this arty farty bullshit and make a visceral action gore fest already.

  • Mattie G
    Mattie G Month ago

    I agree Mike. This film was a mess. If u don't feel anything for the characters these films don't work. Alien had tense scenes because they were all bitter sigourney was leading the cast. Aliens the cast were made to hang out before the shoot, Predator the cast were all highly competitive off set. Also the use of SFX was greatly reduced making directors think out of the box to achieve a scene usually resulting in the audience feeling what the characters were going through. I feel detached from the film with all this CG. The one time I've seen it handled perfectly is planet of the apes. That's the exception to the rule, I forgot it was CG and was completely invested in the characters.

  • Matthew Walton
    Matthew Walton Month ago

    You're more forgiving of this movie than I am and I'm usually pretty forgiving of movies. I was pretty much done with this movie when we got the mini-xenomorph instead of a proper chestburster. Besides, does anyone else talk about the massive continuity problem this film introduces?

  • Lloyd Christmas
    Lloyd Christmas 2 months ago

    Two of the last movies are about an evil android slapped with the word "Alien" on it. We expected it to be about the engineers and aliens, not about an evil android and some overly stupid humans. What a terrible waste of opportunity.

  • VogtTD
    VogtTD 2 months ago

    DS9 didn't invent solar sails.

    • djchristian82
      djchristian82 Month ago

      VogtTD That's true but I think Mike connected it to that DS9 episode where Cisco flew a solar ship not that he think they stole that idea.

  • dm md
    dm md 2 months ago

    I don't usually see these two in such light clothing.

  • sub pump
    sub pump 2 months ago

    I'm a little bit shocked to hear you say that this movie was all over the place but Wonder Woman was in all over the place and overusing on the slow motion. I've put this as my number one alien movie followed by alien then Alien 3 then you got aliens. Everything els is about the same for me.

    • sub pump
      sub pump Month ago

      Oh yeah. The building to the universe is great while keeping to the psychological suspense. There's too many Alien films that went for the action over the horror and suspense.

    • TieFighter34
      TieFighter34 Month ago

      Alien Covenant is number 1 for you? That's just sad.

  • Wildman Samurai
    Wildman Samurai 2 months ago

    Fantastic movie

  • Michael Izzard
    Michael Izzard 2 months ago

    I’ve just watched this film and I respect you guys so much for all the videos you out, but this film is absolutely shocking!!! Terminator Genisys, (however you spell it) and this have a lot in common. They go out of their way to ruin the timeline and origins of the franchise. The crew make absolutely ridiculous decisions, too many to go into. This film is utter tripe, no two ways about it

  • Robert Mattison
    Robert Mattison 2 months ago

    Hey you guys are great, love cinemassacre.

  • rhoadnaroahs
    rhoadnaroahs 2 months ago

    No, it is NOT better than 3 or Resurrection. It was awful. Ruins the franchise. Like an 80's slasher flick with stupid characters just waiting to be killed by the monster.

  • Brian C
    Brian C 2 months ago

    alien isolation might be a good idea for an alien movie. a lot of [dumb] people disliked it as a game, but some people might enjoy it in a cinematic form. the next tomb raider movie is basically the tomb raider reboot for ps3/360.

  • JCglitchmaster
    JCglitchmaster 2 months ago

    I watched 1 hour in and turned it off it triggered me so much.

  • Bear Down
    Bear Down 3 months ago

    Is Dwayne The Rock Johnson the greatest actor of all time?
    Edit: Thank you very much for the movie reviews. You guys are very fair about it.
    Edit 2: AvP 2 starts out with the strongest scene. That kid with his dad, that's as
    good as the movie ever gets.

  • NexisFilms
    NexisFilms 3 months ago +1

    They lost me at "It's better than Alien 3" .
    Every true Alien fan be like "WTF ?!" .

  • pennmaster
    pennmaster 3 months ago +1

    "Correct me if I'm wrong, you know more about the Alien movies than me, but isn't there like an alien or something, something like that?"

  • Funnysterste
    Funnysterste 3 months ago +1

    One of the dumbest movies of all time.

  • Peter Smith
    Peter Smith 3 months ago

    The one in the glasses, has his head up his curu!

  • mola55e5
    mola55e5 3 months ago

    U r right abt the time issue w the face hugger. In Alien John Hurt was in the med deck at least overnight. And then the thing fell off him and he was ok for awhile until dinner when the alien burst from his chest.

  • Lucas Pistek
    Lucas Pistek 4 months ago

    Alien isolation movie

  • Patrick Star
    Patrick Star 4 months ago +1

    The second alien movie Aliens is way overrated. It's average at best imo. It's like Michael Bay of the Alien franchise.

  • OutToLaunchPictures
    OutToLaunchPictures 4 months ago

    The scene in the tall grass was great

  • Muhammad al-Khwarizmi
    Muhammad al-Khwarizmi 4 months ago

    The novelization handles the idea that the Covenant crew can just breathe the atmosphere of the new planet better because scans were run beforehand but the way they just step out of the ship isn't vastly worse than the same thing happening frequently in various Star Trek series that so many people acclaim
    They should be more consistent

  • sicilianotoronto
    sicilianotoronto 4 months ago

    This movie was a big rubbish heap

  • Pete Wade
    Pete Wade 4 months ago

    Your "American Movie"esque "Ko-Van" made me laugh hysterically.
    I actually just watched that movie based on hearing you talk about it. Then Alien Covenant.
    I think the main problem is that they tried to include this in the franchise. Had it been it's own film- maybe better?

  • Burst Your Bubble
    Burst Your Bubble 4 months ago

    They should have brought Cameron back

  • Jm Fowler
    Jm Fowler 4 months ago

    I very much doubt the solar sails are ripped from star trek. Besides. Star wars did solar sails too. And its a viable technology

  • Robbie M
    Robbie M 4 months ago +1

    Alien and Aliens are near perfect. Hard to match up to them.

  • jlebrech
    jlebrech 4 months ago

    no helmets was for the plot.

  • Phakorn Kijsipongse
    Phakorn Kijsipongse 4 months ago

    In internet, there is no information about the incubation period after the facehugger hugged the victim.

  • BUQUEEFIUS GUY
    BUQUEEFIUS GUY 4 months ago

    It’s my 3rd favorite Alien Movie

  • The Hat Man
    The Hat Man 4 months ago

    In my opinion, Prometheus is the more competently made film, despite it being dull as all hell, and Alien: Covenant is more fun as an entertainingly bad film.

  • BlueBadgerGamer
    BlueBadgerGamer 4 months ago

    The novelisation of this film is better.

  • Akatsukileader9
    Akatsukileader9 5 months ago

    Let me guess, the Star Trek thing coming up that James mentioned is about Data and Lore, right?

  • SengirShowsU
    SengirShowsU 5 months ago

    Didnt you say that there were xenomorph wall carvings in prometheus? Wouldnt that be a major plot hole?

  • liquid ocelot
    liquid ocelot 5 months ago +1

    as an alien fan for years i thought this movie was complete fucking garbage. i hated it. thanks for shitting all over the lore ridley

  • Phoenix Down
    Phoenix Down 5 months ago

    I had wayyy more fun with this film than Prometheus. I swear I'm the only one who honestly had a great time with it :/

  • Dim Nimrod
    Dim Nimrod 5 months ago

    Attack of the Clones also took the solar sail idea from DS9

    • djchristian82
      djchristian82 Month ago

      Solat sails wasn't a new thing when Star trek made it. That technology was made prior that DS9 episode.

  • sialvin
    sialvin 5 months ago

    Do blade runner 2049 review..

  • Ryan Navin
    Ryan Navin 5 months ago

    I dislike pretty much all Michael Bay movies lol. Am I the only one that liked the AVP movies? I like the lore mostly, mostly.

  • Tuff Gong
    Tuff Gong 6 months ago

    Alien 3 was far, far better!

  • scottieman2
    scottieman2 6 months ago

    If you have to look up a video to get any information about any movie or read a book or comic then it's not worth getting just put it in the movie.

  • scottieman2
    scottieman2 6 months ago

    I think it would have been interesting if they found that planet and then they go down there and bring the alien board and then that's when everything hits the fan.

  • UttR Concrete
    UttR Concrete 6 months ago

    The cgi on the movie is passable but in about 5 years it’s going to look outdated like Alien 3.

  • Fily Blunt
    Fily Blunt 6 months ago

    Didn't mind this one, but the "shock" ending was so obviously coming from about half way through, and they kinda set up the survivor chick from Prometheus to be the next Ripley type character but than it was just like oh yeh she's dead.

  • MrTact1
    MrTact1 6 months ago

    mm, because of the end, it doesn't want you to see the movie again. The end is too predictable for me and I really hate ends like this.

  • TronChris Vs Gaming
    TronChris Vs Gaming 6 months ago

    No tf the aliens were stupid looking and twig skinny

  • TronChris Vs Gaming
    TronChris Vs Gaming 6 months ago

    Why tf do people say AVP is bad tf the bad one is AVPR

  • Perfect Cell
    Perfect Cell 6 months ago

    Can you do a review on the predator series?

  • Leo 80
    Leo 80 6 months ago

    From best to worst: Aliens, Alien, Alien 3, Prometheus, Alien Covenant, Alien Resurrection, AVP, AVP 2.

  • James T
    James T 6 months ago

    I've never seen the original Alien(s) movies but I saw prometheus and coveant and they were both great movies. Maybe If I saw the original movies I would think differently, but as their own stand alone movies they were both amazing.

  • LadyRavencide13
    LadyRavencide13 6 months ago

    I love how these guys get distracted talking about other movie trailers

  • Ryan Scherbluk
    Ryan Scherbluk 7 months ago

    Lol I like how they start talking about Alien Covenant and turns into Dwayne Johnson and Michael Bays Transformers.

  • Gregory Heinz
    Gregory Heinz 7 months ago

    I never watched alien or aliens as a kid but i saw prometheus when it came out. then for a few years i thought the alien movies were terrible. then i watched them and they were amazing.

  • Brian Martinez
    Brian Martinez 7 months ago

    I shouldn’t see Alien Covenant at the Mexico

  • Swagshoes68
    Swagshoes68 7 months ago

    If alien 3 was better the entire series would have been completely different.

  • Ira Gershwin
    Ira Gershwin 7 months ago

    Nice to see Mike off the gluten again.

  • hankheavy
    hankheavy 7 months ago

    Better than Alien 3? No fucking way. Seriously, Alien 3 is a masterpiece and no, I'm not even joking. It closes the Alien trilogy perfectley! It's dark, depressing and it doesn't end with Ripley, Newt and Hicks flying off to La La Land to live happily ever after. Fuck that. Ripley had to give her own life to end the Alien race which is like one of the most ultimate sacrifices I've ever seen. Stop giving this movie shit cuz it doesn't deserve it. Give it another watch and try to be a bit more open-minded. And if you haven't seen the extended cut I highly suggest you do that now.

  • Shawn Murphy
    Shawn Murphy 7 months ago

    Why in love of fuck is mike doing movie reviews with james now? Skip

  • metalgamer 817
    metalgamer 817 7 months ago

    This movie still annoys me, it just felt like all the humans were too carelessly moronic in that sense it reminded me of a slasher flick

  • Darel
    Darel 7 months ago

    This movie is not even close to Alien 3. Alien3 is a masterpiece compared to this.

  • markwing1975
    markwing1975 7 months ago

    Great movie you guys are idiots

  • pootnannies
    pootnannies 7 months ago

    this movie was garbage. Alien 3 and Resurrection were better. this movie lacks character arcs, logic, protagonist, story, and it's just overall really dumb.

  • technologic21
    technologic21 8 months ago

    Fox and Scott fucked it up. They should've adapted Isolation into a movie, and had a new trilogy with Amanda Ripley.
    Isolation did what Prometheus and Covenant could never do.

  • DFCZ
    DFCZ 8 months ago +3

    Oh cmon, Alien 3 wasn't that bad, nor was Resurrection.

    • Mckenzie Spencer
      Mckenzie Spencer 15 days ago

      There a little silly and stupid but entertaining and thats all that matters

  • malmstring
    malmstring 8 months ago

    I did not enjoy the movie at all. Surprised to hear James Cameron was involved with it. I thought he was better than this. The casting in this movie was not very successful. I did not like any of the crew. Just as well most of them died lol

  • anti exploiter
    anti exploiter 8 months ago +1

    Also serious comment: I feel like there is a lot more Giger in the prequels though. People are not talking about about the Geiger. Shawls dead body was a Giger panting. The art on the walls were Giger. They are giving us the Giger. That you have to respect that about the newer films.

  • anti exploiter
    anti exploiter 8 months ago +2

    Maybe Prometheus and Covenant are good but the people who don't like them suck.

  • syntaxed2
    syntaxed2 8 months ago

    Covenant is the worst 100million production budget movie ever released - toppling even good ole Waterworld.
    The entire production pipeline should get reprimanded, hopefully in the form of anal penetration by David's flute.

  • Génesis Becerra
    Génesis Becerra 8 months ago

    The characters in this film are so stupid xc

  • Existential//Struggle
    Existential//Struggle 8 months ago

    Alien3 is the best, but even if you don't feel that, thinking this garbage was better than 3,... insanity.

  • Chris Zimmer
    Chris Zimmer 8 months ago

    Have you guys seen "Life" yet? I'd love to see a review on that. Keep up the good work guys. Great stuff😎

  • stanz3x
    stanz3x 8 months ago

    Aliens covenant is basically Ridley Scott trying to turn the movie series into something it' not.

  • stanz3x
    stanz3x 8 months ago

    Time is relative Mike time is relative

  • Thiago Coura
    Thiago Coura 8 months ago

    Alian game is the only thing best close to Aliens (2nd one) movie

  • kev3d
    kev3d 8 months ago

    I'm pretty sure they do have warp technology in the Alien universe, it's just not as fast as Star Trek or Star Wars warp/hyperdrive.
    According to the Alien Wikia page (canon? I don't know), LV-223 is located in or near the Zeta Reticuli system, which is 39 light years from earth, yet we are told that the crew of the Prometheus was in cryosleep for less than 4 years, meaning they are traveling around 10x the speed of light.

  • TheDeadlyAvenger
    TheDeadlyAvenger 8 months ago

    “I’ll do the fingering” - ‘nuff said

  • boldbearings
    boldbearings 8 months ago

    The CGI was overused, it wasn't a horror film, the characters were too dumb to be allowed to have a driver's license, let alone space traveling...but my biggest beef was copping out of the Engineer arc. That suddenly pissed off titan kicking the cast's ass is what saved Prometheus for me, and Covenant just hand-waved it, like "Fuck your answers: Evil Android."

  • Tyo Syrchenko
    Tyo Syrchenko 8 months ago

    I really enjoyed to watch a new alien, I still think that it is much deeper than original. Also, It is a prequel so it is a not a xenomorph and IMHO CG is really bad as well as the fact of killing the main character from past movie beyond the screen.

  • Itay Bashan
    Itay Bashan 8 months ago

    Hey James and Mike, any chance you'll review 'Blade Runner 2049'? I know it came out one month ago, but still. You did expressed your excitement about its trailer in this review

  • The Ultimate Rage
    The Ultimate Rage 8 months ago +1

    The movie was decent, but the ending was EXTREMELY predictable!

  • Douglas Quaid
    Douglas Quaid 8 months ago

    I wasted money on this

  • Justin Smith
    Justin Smith 8 months ago

    James always looks annoyed with Mike

  • Dixie
    Dixie 8 months ago +2

    There aren't any Xenomorphs in this movie. Neomorphs and a Protomorph, why doesnt anyone get this? It's not the perfect organism yet.

  • Maka Place
    Maka Place 8 months ago

    make a review of 1980s little shop of horrors. I found it really disappointing, I wonder what
    you think.

  • gokaury
    gokaury 8 months ago

    Well, they are thinking of making another Alien movie with Ripley as played by Weaver that totally ignores the movies from Alien 3 onward. So there's that.

  • KaijuFanatic2001
    KaijuFanatic2001 8 months ago +12

    I actually liked this movie

  • S M
    S M 8 months ago

    This movie wasn't even better than 3 wtf are you on.