Alien Covenant - movie review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 409

  • Brian C
    Brian C 2 days ago

    alien isolation might be a good idea for an alien movie. a lot of [dumb] people disliked it as a game, but some people might enjoy it in a cinematic form. the next tomb raider movie is basically the tomb raider reboot for ps3/360.

  • JCglitchmaster
    JCglitchmaster 2 days ago

    I watched 1 hour in and turned it off it triggered me so much.

  • Bear Down
    Bear Down 11 days ago

    Is Dwayne The Rock Johnson the greatest actor of all time?
    Edit: Thank you very much for the movie reviews. You guys are very fair about it.
    Edit 2: AvP 2 starts out with the strongest scene. That kid with his dad, that's as
    good as the movie ever gets.

  • NexisFilms
    NexisFilms 24 days ago

    They lost me at "It's better than Alien 3" .
    Every true Alien fan be like "WTF ?!" .

  • pennmaster
    pennmaster 25 days ago +1

    "Correct me if I'm wrong, you know more about the Alien movies than me, but isn't there like an alien or something, something like that?"

  • Funnysterste
    Funnysterste 25 days ago

    One of the dumbest movies of all time.

  • Peter Smith
    Peter Smith 26 days ago

    The one in the glasses, has his head up his curu!

  • mola55e5
    mola55e5 Month ago

    U r right abt the time issue w the face hugger. In Alien John Hurt was in the med deck at least overnight. And then the thing fell off him and he was ok for awhile until dinner when the alien burst from his chest.

  • The Drab Pioneer
    The Drab Pioneer Month ago

    Alien isolation movie

  • Patrick Star
    Patrick Star Month ago

    The second alien movie Aliens is way overrated. It's average at best imo. It's like Michael Bay of the Alien franchise.

  • OutToLaunchPictures

    The scene in the tall grass was great

  • Muhammad al-Khwarizmi

    The novelization handles the idea that the Covenant crew can just breathe the atmosphere of the new planet better because scans were run beforehand but the way they just step out of the ship isn't vastly worse than the same thing happening frequently in various Star Trek series that so many people acclaim
    They should be more consistent

  • sicilianotoronto
    sicilianotoronto Month ago

    This movie was a big rubbish heap

  • Pete Wade
    Pete Wade Month ago

    Your "American Movie"esque "Ko-Van" made me laugh hysterically.
    I actually just watched that movie based on hearing you talk about it. Then Alien Covenant.
    I think the main problem is that they tried to include this in the franchise. Had it been it's own film- maybe better?

  • Burst Your Bubble
    Burst Your Bubble Month ago

    They should have brought Cameron back

  • Jm Fowler
    Jm Fowler Month ago

    I very much doubt the solar sails are ripped from star trek. Besides. Star wars did solar sails too. And its a viable technology

  • Robbie M
    Robbie M Month ago +1

    Alien and Aliens are near perfect. Hard to match up to them.

  • jlebrech
    jlebrech Month ago

    no helmets was for the plot.

  • Phakorn Kijsipongse

    In internet, there is no information about the incubation period after the facehugger hugged the victim.

  • Kyle The Man
    Kyle The Man Month ago

    It’s my 3rd favorite Alien Movie

  • The Hat Man
    The Hat Man 2 months ago

    In my opinion, Prometheus is the more competently made film, despite it being dull as all hell, and Alien: Covenant is more fun as an entertainingly bad film.

  • BlueBadgerGamer
    BlueBadgerGamer 2 months ago

    The novelisation of this film is better.

  • Akatsukileader9
    Akatsukileader9 2 months ago

    Let me guess, the Star Trek thing coming up that James mentioned is about Data and Lore, right?

  • SengirShowsU
    SengirShowsU 2 months ago

    Didnt you say that there were xenomorph wall carvings in prometheus? Wouldnt that be a major plot hole?

  • liquid ocelot
    liquid ocelot 2 months ago

    as an alien fan for years i thought this movie was complete fucking garbage. i hated it. thanks for shitting all over the lore ridley

  • Phoenix Down
    Phoenix Down 2 months ago

    I had wayyy more fun with this film than Prometheus. I swear I'm the only one who honestly had a great time with it :/

  • Dim Nimrod
    Dim Nimrod 2 months ago

    Attack of the Clones also took the solar sail idea from DS9

  • sialvin
    sialvin 2 months ago

    Do blade runner 2049 review..

  • Ryann Navin
    Ryann Navin 3 months ago

    I dislike pretty much all Michael Bay movies lol. Am I the only one that liked the AVP movies? I like the lore mostly, mostly.

  • Tuff Gong
    Tuff Gong 3 months ago

    Alien 3 was far, far better!

  • scottieman2
    scottieman2 3 months ago

    If you have to look up a video to get any information about any movie or read a book or comic then it's not worth getting just put it in the movie.

  • scottieman2
    scottieman2 3 months ago

    I think it would have been interesting if they found that planet and then they go down there and bring the alien board and then that's when everything hits the fan.

  • UttR Concrete
    UttR Concrete 3 months ago

    The cgi on the movie is passable but in about 5 years it’s going to look outdated like Alien 3.

  • Fily Blunt
    Fily Blunt 3 months ago

    Didn't mind this one, but the "shock" ending was so obviously coming from about half way through, and they kinda set up the survivor chick from Prometheus to be the next Ripley type character but than it was just like oh yeh she's dead.

  • MrTact1
    MrTact1 3 months ago

    mm, because of the end, it doesn't want you to see the movie again. The end is too predictable for me and I really hate ends like this.

  • TronChris Vs Gaming
    TronChris Vs Gaming 3 months ago

    No tf the aliens were stupid looking and twig skinny

  • TronChris Vs Gaming
    TronChris Vs Gaming 3 months ago

    Why tf do people say AVP is bad tf the bad one is AVPR

  • Alien Xenomorph
    Alien Xenomorph 3 months ago

    Can you do a review on the predator series?

  • Leo 80
    Leo 80 3 months ago

    From best to worst: Aliens, Alien, Alien 3, Prometheus, Alien Covenant, Alien Resurrection, AVP, AVP 2.

  • James T
    James T 4 months ago

    I've never seen the original Alien(s) movies but I saw prometheus and coveant and they were both great movies. Maybe If I saw the original movies I would think differently, but as their own stand alone movies they were both amazing.

  • LadyRavencide13
    LadyRavencide13 4 months ago

    I love how these guys get distracted talking about other movie trailers

  • Ryan Scherbluk
    Ryan Scherbluk 4 months ago

    Lol I like how they start talking about Alien Covenant and turns into Dwayne Johnson and Michael Bays Transformers.

  • Gregory Heinz
    Gregory Heinz 4 months ago

    I never watched alien or aliens as a kid but i saw prometheus when it came out. then for a few years i thought the alien movies were terrible. then i watched them and they were amazing.

  • Brian Martinez
    Brian Martinez 4 months ago

    I shouldn’t see Alien Covenant at the Mexico

  • Swagshoes68
    Swagshoes68 4 months ago

    If alien 3 was better the entire series would have been completely different.

  • Ira Gershwin
    Ira Gershwin 4 months ago

    Nice to see Mike off the gluten again.

  • hankheavy
    hankheavy 4 months ago

    Better than Alien 3? No fucking way. Seriously, Alien 3 is a masterpiece and no, I'm not even joking. It closes the Alien trilogy perfectley! It's dark, depressing and it doesn't end with Ripley, Newt and Hicks flying off to La La Land to live happily ever after. Fuck that. Ripley had to give her own life to end the Alien race which is like one of the most ultimate sacrifices I've ever seen. Stop giving this movie shit cuz it doesn't deserve it. Give it another watch and try to be a bit more open-minded. And if you haven't seen the extended cut I highly suggest you do that now.

  • Shawn Murphy
    Shawn Murphy 4 months ago

    Why in love of fuck is mike doing movie reviews with james now? Skip

  • metalgamer 817
    metalgamer 817 4 months ago

    This movie still annoys me, it just felt like all the humans were too carelessly moronic in that sense it reminded me of a slasher flick

  • Darel
    Darel 4 months ago

    This movie is not even close to Alien 3. Alien3 is a masterpiece compared to this.

  • markwing1975
    markwing1975 5 months ago

    Great movie you guys are idiots

  • pootnannies
    pootnannies 5 months ago

    this movie was garbage. Alien 3 and Resurrection were better. this movie lacks character arcs, logic, protagonist, story, and it's just overall really dumb.

  • technologic21
    technologic21 5 months ago

    Fox and Scott fucked it up. They should've adapted Isolation into a movie, and had a new trilogy with Amanda Ripley.
    Isolation did what Prometheus and Covenant could never do.

  • DFCZ
    DFCZ 5 months ago +2

    Oh cmon, Alien 3 wasn't that bad, nor was Resurrection.

  • malmstring
    malmstring 5 months ago

    I did not enjoy the movie at all. Surprised to hear James Cameron was involved with it. I thought he was better than this. The casting in this movie was not very successful. I did not like any of the crew. Just as well most of them died lol

  • anti exploiter
    anti exploiter 5 months ago +1

    Also serious comment: I feel like there is a lot more Giger in the prequels though. People are not talking about about the Geiger. Shawls dead body was a Giger panting. The art on the walls were Giger. They are giving us the Giger. That you have to respect that about the newer films.

  • anti exploiter
    anti exploiter 5 months ago +2

    Maybe Prometheus and Covenant are good but the people who don't like them suck.

  • syntaxed2
    syntaxed2 5 months ago

    Covenant is the worst 100million production budget movie ever released - toppling even good ole Waterworld.
    The entire production pipeline should get reprimanded, hopefully in the form of anal penetration by David's flute.

  • Génesis Becerra
    Génesis Becerra 5 months ago

    The characters in this film are so stupid xc

  • Existential//Struggle
    Existential//Struggle 5 months ago

    Alien3 is the best, but even if you don't feel that, thinking this garbage was better than 3,... insanity.

  • Chris Zimmer
    Chris Zimmer 5 months ago

    Have you guys seen "Life" yet? I'd love to see a review on that. Keep up the good work guys. Great stuff😎

  • stanz3x
    stanz3x 5 months ago

    Aliens covenant is basically Ridley Scott trying to turn the movie series into something it' not.

  • stanz3x
    stanz3x 5 months ago

    Time is relative Mike time is relative

  • Thiago Coura
    Thiago Coura 5 months ago

    Alian game is the only thing best close to Aliens (2nd one) movie

  • kev3d
    kev3d 5 months ago

    I'm pretty sure they do have warp technology in the Alien universe, it's just not as fast as Star Trek or Star Wars warp/hyperdrive.
    According to the Alien Wikia page (canon? I don't know), LV-223 is located in or near the Zeta Reticuli system, which is 39 light years from earth, yet we are told that the crew of the Prometheus was in cryosleep for less than 4 years, meaning they are traveling around 10x the speed of light.

  • TheDeadlyAvenger
    TheDeadlyAvenger 5 months ago

    “I’ll do the fingering” - ‘nuff said

  • boldbearings
    boldbearings 5 months ago

    The CGI was overused, it wasn't a horror film, the characters were too dumb to be allowed to have a driver's license, let alone space traveling...but my biggest beef was copping out of the Engineer arc. That suddenly pissed off titan kicking the cast's ass is what saved Prometheus for me, and Covenant just hand-waved it, like "Fuck your answers: Evil Android."

  • Tyo Syrchenko
    Tyo Syrchenko 5 months ago

    I really enjoyed to watch a new alien, I still think that it is much deeper than original. Also, It is a prequel so it is a not a xenomorph and IMHO CG is really bad as well as the fact of killing the main character from past movie beyond the screen.

  • Itay Bashan
    Itay Bashan 5 months ago

    Hey James and Mike, any chance you'll review 'Blade Runner 2049'? I know it came out one month ago, but still. You did expressed your excitement about its trailer in this review

  • The Ultimate Rage
    The Ultimate Rage 5 months ago +1

    The movie was decent, but the ending was EXTREMELY predictable!

  • Douglas Quaid
    Douglas Quaid 5 months ago

    I wasted money on this

  • Justin Smith
    Justin Smith 5 months ago

    James always looks annoyed with Mike

  • Dixie
    Dixie 5 months ago +2

    There aren't any Xenomorphs in this movie. Neomorphs and a Protomorph, why doesnt anyone get this? It's not the perfect organism yet.

  • Maka Place
    Maka Place 5 months ago

    make a review of 1980s little shop of horrors. I found it really disappointing, I wonder what
    you think.

  • gokaury
    gokaury 5 months ago

    Well, they are thinking of making another Alien movie with Ripley as played by Weaver that totally ignores the movies from Alien 3 onward. So there's that.

  • KaijuFanatic2001
    KaijuFanatic2001 6 months ago +5

    I actually liked this movie

  • S M
    S M 6 months ago

    This movie wasn't even better than 3 wtf are you on.

  • Pukki34
    Pukki34 6 months ago

    Honestly, I'd much rather watch the new ghostbusters than this turd of a movie

  • GizmoMaltese
    GizmoMaltese 6 months ago +1

    Wow, this a brilliant film about the relationship between creators and their creations. And you guys are like, "I was bored with it because it's not like Star wars." LOL

  • Alex Kerley
    Alex Kerley 6 months ago

    Alien Covenant was garbo

  • Michael Lester
    Michael Lester 6 months ago

    I wish they'd have a followed through with what they were doing with Dr. Shaw and the Prometheus thread. I hate when Studios drop a concept because there were a group of people who didn't like what they were doing. When you try to please everyone you end up with a train wreck of a movie that doesn't know what it wants to be. Which is what this ended up being.

  • ICallsEmLikeISeesEm
    ICallsEmLikeISeesEm 6 months ago +10

    I adored Prometheus. I guess I'm in the minority on that one.

  • grizzlywhisker
    grizzlywhisker 6 months ago

    god mike shut up and let james talk.

  • grizzlywhisker
    grizzlywhisker 6 months ago

    i don't know why it's so trendy to hate this movie and prometheus. i enjoyed both movies. i would have liked to see the ripley/hicks/newt movie come out instead, but i'll take what i can get and i enjoyed both of the new ones.

  • Ketunloikka
    Ketunloikka 6 months ago

    Better than Alien 3 or Resurrection? Fuck no. I dont know what people hhave against those movies, i like em. They are not perfect but easily better than prometheus or whatever this covenant shit was.

  • d. allen spencer
    d. allen spencer 6 months ago

    Prometheus was not good, this kept horror the on the front, just too many stupid people like Prometheus

  • j p
    j p 6 months ago

    Alien vs star wars. Imagine the xenomorph you would get with facehugger on Yoda or Chewbacca.

  • Warrior Princess Gaming

    Mike please let james talk

  • Jimmy Coffin
    Jimmy Coffin 6 months ago

    shittiest Movie ever made

  • BIGWORM 510
    BIGWORM 510 6 months ago

    For once I agree with Mike. Alien Covenant sucked.

  • MarshmallowMadnesss
    MarshmallowMadnesss 6 months ago

    The facehugger insta-burst bothered me a lot.

  • darragh browne
    darragh browne 6 months ago

    I thought that the CGI looked like dogshit in it.anyone else agree?

  • Eskalial
    Eskalial 6 months ago

    This movie left me completely disappointed ... why on earth is the main crew of a vital colonial ship made of complete idiots ?!!! They seem to have no brain, no experience, no formation... WHY ?! And for the rest of the movie, I'm quite on the same trend as James and Mike.
    This was definitely not a good movie. It was not shit, but man did they miss the gold by a landslide !

  • Giran 0
    Giran 0 6 months ago

    I wanted a Prometheus sequel instead of this but you know whatever

  • Titus Veridius
    Titus Veridius 6 months ago

    This review is very white.

  • lars fenin
    lars fenin 6 months ago

    too much cgi and story is way too confusing, and stupid..... i consider this one as the worst

  • Russell Armstrong
    Russell Armstrong 6 months ago

    Mike hates everything

  • alak58
    alak58 6 months ago

    1-Alien
    2-Aliens
    3-Prometheus
    4-Alien Resurrection
    5-Alien Covenant
    6-Alien 3

  • Downsider
    Downsider 6 months ago

    Alien 3 was bad. Alien 3 Assembly Cut? Pretty damn good, for what it is. Covenant and Prometheus share the same faults, stupid ass fucking crew members, excluding two or three, everyone else is so painfully cliche in stupidity - ALIEN did not have this problem, so why does it need to be today?

  • opaz79
    opaz79 6 months ago

    i wouldnt even call it a movie. it was more like an unfinished project with actors walking around alien props. very confusing and terrible