Alien Covenant - movie review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 521

  • Heaven's Night
    Heaven's Night 4 days ago

    It's complete garbage.

  • xMetalx59x
    xMetalx59x 7 days ago

    Anything after Alien 3 takes away from the horror, because they keep trying to explain where the monsters come from.

  • Derek Bauermeister
    Derek Bauermeister 7 days ago

    I liked it. Not an absolute masterpiece, but enjoyable. I like all of them except 3 and resurrection.

  • Jason Bladzinski
    Jason Bladzinski 9 days ago

    Im pretty sure they do have faster than light propulsion technology in the alien universe, its just not as fast as star trek warp drives and no where near as fast as star wars hyperdrives.

  • Max Headshot
    Max Headshot 13 days ago

    It's hard to talk about this movie seriously, it's kind of trash.

  • Kris Clare
    Kris Clare 18 days ago

    Even if the air was breathable who knows what microbes and diseases could be airborne and kill them...
    Turns out all they had to do was sit on a flower

  • Burnsy fishing and outdoors

    the transformers movies make money because kids are idiots lol the new Blade runner was pretty awsome and sad really the only ad thing i can say about the balde runner reboot was the fact it was so deppressing but i can still say i loved it and i felt more emotion watchiing that it wasnt all just sad but it was dark asf . and the new planet of the Apes reboot well i have all the originals loved them since i was a kid watched them all on cable back in the day when i still had cable i think the new reboot trilogy nailed it a moddern retelling of a classic moive series love Woody in war for the planet of the apes. but these new aAliens movies dont get me wrong i dont hate them just feels like they didnt hit the mark close enough to the originals

  • lance lindqvist
    lance lindqvist 26 days ago

    Very dissapointed in covenant

  • Leandro mendonça
    Leandro mendonça 29 days ago

    A certeza de não ter um filme tão bom quanto os dois primeiros já começa nos primeiros minutos. O tema da trilha sonora já começa pelegando...O primeiro filme, com aquela trilha sonora q não tem pretenção nenhuma de ser agradável aos ouvidos, além de ajudar muito na hora de entender o sentimento de estar no espaço, chega até a me dizer uma coisa como "vc não deveria estar aqui!"
    Maaas os caras tranformaram tudo em uma coisa q só tentou ficar muito bonita de se escutar fora do filme, saca?

  • Dwelling Dreams
    Dwelling Dreams Month ago +1

    Do a review on annihilation great movie 🍿

  • Seraphim Valkyrin
    Seraphim Valkyrin Month ago +1

    Oddly enough Prometheus is my favorite "Alien" movie while Covenant is my worst. It was even the worst movie I saw all that year.

  • Chris Kent
    Chris Kent Month ago +1

    I whole-heartedly agree about Transformers.

  • Angus Ng
    Angus Ng Month ago +1

    James watched this instead of Ghostbusters: Answer the Call.

  • Dallas Loghry
    Dallas Loghry 2 months ago +1

    There is plenty of evidence that ships in the Alien universe travel faster than light.
    Ripley's shock at how long she'd been in cryo in Aliens and mourning not seeing her daughter grow up being the most pertinent.
    It would indicate that cryosleep is not used because the trips take so long, but because it saves on supplies that are needed when they are doing their main jobs.
    Just sayin', Mike.

  • trekadam30
    trekadam30 2 months ago +1

    The "Bayformers" movies, is like if the "rock jock" version of the Transformers theme song, that came out when Rodimus joined the cast, spontaneously turned into a movie franchise. Lol.

  • tbirum
    tbirum 2 months ago +1

    For me, the movies (based on a 100 point must scale) it goes.
    Aliens - 100
    Alien - 95
    Prometheus - 80
    Alien VS Predator - 70
    Alien3 - 62
    Alien Resurrection - 40
    Alien VS Predator Requiem - 2
    I get the Aliens VS Predator gets a lot of hate, and Yes it could have been done better, BUT When mashing two different Universes together, while still trying to be faithful to both, I think it did alright.

  • Crazy Eight
    Crazy Eight 2 months ago +1

    These movies piss off my best friend, Stuart!

  • Bryan
    Bryan 2 months ago +1

    Also, i wasn't aware that Solar Sails are only allowed to exist in Star Trek

  • Bryan
    Bryan 2 months ago +1

    People need to stop comparing movies to their predecessors so damn much.

  • JohnnyBoy7267
    JohnnyBoy7267 3 months ago +1

    Movie is a piece of shit .. god i hated it

    • Angus Ng
      Angus Ng Month ago

      At least it's better than Ghostbusters: Answer the Call.

  • Michael Jaubert
    Michael Jaubert 3 months ago +1

    What made me appreciate this film was for a lit class I wrote a research paper on Ozymandias, the poem mentioned in the film and the connotations and references from Ozymandias made the film mean alot more

  • Imperator Victix.
    Imperator Victix. 3 months ago +1

    Alien Isolation was better and it wasant even a film.

  • PrPwnage
    PrPwnage 3 months ago +1

    All Ridley Alien films > others

  • MuppetLord1
    MuppetLord1 3 months ago +2

    Why are they raping this franchise so hard? Is it really that hard to make a decent movie either in the style of Alien or Aliens depending if you want to make a more horror or a more action focused movie?!

  • KING GOONCH
    KING GOONCH 3 months ago +1

    I agree with James,it was pretty good

  • Atl Native
    Atl Native 4 months ago +1

    This movie and Prometheus goes over the head of so many people who are not smart enough and care about the story Enough to go deep into it and once you do it’s an incredible story

    • D core
      D core Month ago

      It's freaky good

  • Rei Vs.TheOldies
    Rei Vs.TheOldies 4 months ago +1

    they have to make a movie just like "alien isolation", for me is the perfect sequel

  • Danneh ,
    Danneh , 4 months ago +1

    Prometheus was really good.

  • IntoxicatedGhost1
    IntoxicatedGhost1 4 months ago +1

    so they want something original and different but complain it's not like the original, they
    should really stop watching these movies because they can't stop living from the past

  • Stoic Pragmatist
    Stoic Pragmatist 4 months ago +1

    Ridley Scott is a great director. Yuge fan

  • DeiRaccoon
    DeiRaccoon 4 months ago

    I wholeheartedly disagree with James, this movie IS NOT better than Alien 3, and Alien: Resurrection was at least entertaining (also the AvP movies don't count). You could say that this is AN attempt at an Alien movie since Prometheus, but this movie should have been called... David: Michael Fassbender.

    • D core
      D core Month ago

      Alien 3 was fun.

  • Over Toasted
    Over Toasted 5 months ago

    To revamp the series, they should make a new Alien that ignores it being a created thing. The best part about Alien and Aliens is that no one knew what the alien was and where it came from. I like the idea of it being an invasive pimitive species that came from a distant planet and was foolishly brought to another place. If they go back to that, it brings the suspense aspect back.

  • Nick Rosetti
    Nick Rosetti 5 months ago +1

    I just love Alien and Predator...I wish they would get back to when they were in their prime!!!! The affects are great but the story lines are just awful!!!

  • eLi FILMS
    eLi FILMS 5 months ago +2

    Movie sLucked serious cLocks. Get out, guys

  • Dakks
    Dakks 5 months ago +1

    It was impossible to take this movie seriously when two different characters slip on the same puddle of blood within a minute of each other. The crew is dumber than the teens an your average slasher flick.

  • Ron Moses
    Ron Moses 5 months ago +1

    Fell asleep during Prometheus

  • maestro4202 2
    maestro4202 2 6 months ago +1

    There was a lot when this vid was made that wasn't yet explained but if you watch a newer vid explaining stuff a lot of gaps are filled.

  • DancinDane
    DancinDane 6 months ago +2

    Along with the original, this is my favorite Alien film. It’s a solid horror movie as much as a sci fi- and (at places) action movie. The atmosphere is so unsettling; the way the planet feels both so vast and “alive” yet completely devoid of life - it just gets to me. The awesome soundtrack plays a big part in this as well. David is a great villian with interesting motives; played amazingly by Fassbender. In a lot of ways I find him even scarier than the creatures. Not that it lacking in that department - the infestation/incubation scenes with the crew I found especially unnerving (and repulsive), yet I couldn’t look away. And the final showdown(s) with the xenomorph at the end? Come on - that’s grade A Alien material.

    • Zatzzo
      Zatzzo 5 months ago

      couldn't agree with you more

  • Konstantin Malyugin
    Konstantin Malyugin 6 months ago +2

    The guy on the left keeps trying to please and be agreeable. Get a pair.

  • Anthony G
    Anthony G 6 months ago +1

    Why don't you let James speak???????

  • Barely Protestant
    Barely Protestant 6 months ago +1

    "I think they were on a cargo ship or something..." Did you even pay attention to the movie?

  • Simon Bannow
    Simon Bannow 6 months ago +1

    Prometheus got ruined by horrid editing, Alien Covenant is just all bad. Doesn't even come close to Alien 3(Cast was fantastic in that)

  • Bran Greene
    Bran Greene 6 months ago +1

    they are rebooting transformers, bumblebee is a punch buggy, and starscream is the classic white and red jet, not sure how its going to turn out but I am actually interested to see it, not excited, but interested

  • Jeff Hensley
    Jeff Hensley 7 months ago +1

    I appreciate your efforts, but, wow, learn how to stick to points at hand,... Try writing down your thoughts ahead of time. I assume you want to convey a relaxed general sci-fi fan perspective, but making broad comparisons to other entirely different scenarios,... Somehow it’s relevant in a review of an Alien movie to discuss how slowly space travel is compared to Star Trek??? I hit the stop button right there,...

    • D core
      D core Month ago

      I appreciate your our efforts, but if you want all that.....make your own video👍

  • PorkFrog
    PorkFrog 7 months ago +1

    'face hugger' is such a cutesy euphemism for what's really happening there...like the little bugger should get reported to human resources instead of SVU

  • AlisterShufflebottom
    AlisterShufflebottom 7 months ago +1

    Transscript from a leaked conversation with R. Scott:"[...]well you can do it that way Ridley........but then it´s shit"

  • nyood mono
    nyood mono 7 months ago +1

    nunchuckfuck! >( i love alien so much, i can´t watch the newer sequels

  • Char Aznable
    Char Aznable 7 months ago +1

    Deep space 9 stole it from real world science. From the 60's. Carl Sagen.

  • III III
    III III 7 months ago +1

    Least favorite alien move by far

  • Maximum Productions - Games Legos And More!

    Alien Covenant is not as bad as Requiem. But Alien 3, AVP 1, Resurrection and even Prometheus were a lot better movies than this mess.

    • D core
      D core Month ago

      Avp I was fan service and nothing more. The Prometheus/Cov are some of the most interesting continuation of a series I've ever seen. Prometheus was such a great tribute to H.R.s unused art from the aliens. Most solid series ever. 3 was even good, actually ok CG for its time.

  • Javier S
    Javier S 7 months ago +1

    The androids were great, but Fassbender alone can't save the film.
    There is no single great action scene in the movie, and no single interesting character besides the androids.
    The explanations of the alien universe were not interesting either.

    • D core
      D core Month ago

      Terrible criticism. Not that you criticized anything, just don't explain why. I can say that about anything.

  • MuricaMottoRider
    MuricaMottoRider 8 months ago +1

    Prometheus was better.

  • thtkidfrmvab
    thtkidfrmvab 8 months ago +3

    Prometheus > Alien 3 > Covenant

  • Cinematic Anime Trailers

    I can't stand your friend. You try too hard to appease his views. You should just fight and have your different views.

  • Big Boab
    Big Boab 8 months ago

    Was good wtf do folks want get a grip

  • Darth Vader
    Darth Vader 8 months ago

    I didn't like Prometheus and I didn't like Alien Covenant.

  • Andrew Hawthorne
    Andrew Hawthorne 8 months ago

    Michael Bay is the Destroyer of Films. Bay is absolutely horrible as a director. Anything he touches falls to complete shit.

  • LeadCounsel
    LeadCounsel 9 months ago

    Just popped in to say that Covenant is illogical and ruins the whole series by over-explaining in a terrible way the origination of the xenos. So much wrong with this film from plot, story, acting, nonsense character behavior, silly fighting scenes, etc. Just a really really stink bomb of a film.

  • Ross Irving
    Ross Irving 9 months ago

    jesus what a pair of f*cukheds !!! Covenant better than Alien 3 . WTF are you guys smoking?

    • Ross Irving
      Ross Irving 9 months ago

      Americans and their guns thats the only reason you liked Covenant, the only film in the timeline after Prometheus that makes no sense at all.

  • Tim Crowley
    Tim Crowley 9 months ago

    The journey too and attack of the Engineers' planet feels like a missing chapter to me. It was far too glossed over.

  • StuUngar
    StuUngar 9 months ago

    Michael Fassbener is the fucking man

  • ELKFILMZ
    ELKFILMZ 10 months ago

    I think the reason the planet looked like Rome, was the tie in to David being more than human and being a God just like in those Roman mythologies.

  • Sundaydish1
    Sundaydish1 10 months ago

    The 2 best films were 1 & 2. I would like to see an Alien film written by Cameron and directed by Ridley. Stop with this arty farty bullshit and make a visceral action gore fest already.

  • Mattie G
    Mattie G 10 months ago

    I agree Mike. This film was a mess. If u don't feel anything for the characters these films don't work. Alien had tense scenes because they were all bitter sigourney was leading the cast. Aliens the cast were made to hang out before the shoot, Predator the cast were all highly competitive off set. Also the use of SFX was greatly reduced making directors think out of the box to achieve a scene usually resulting in the audience feeling what the characters were going through. I feel detached from the film with all this CG. The one time I've seen it handled perfectly is planet of the apes. That's the exception to the rule, I forgot it was CG and was completely invested in the characters.

  • Matthew Walton
    Matthew Walton 10 months ago

    You're more forgiving of this movie than I am and I'm usually pretty forgiving of movies. I was pretty much done with this movie when we got the mini-xenomorph instead of a proper chestburster. Besides, does anyone else talk about the massive continuity problem this film introduces?

  • Lloyd Christmas
    Lloyd Christmas 10 months ago

    Two of the last movies are about an evil android slapped with the word "Alien" on it. We expected it to be about the engineers and aliens, not about an evil android and some overly stupid humans. What a terrible waste of opportunity.

  • VogtTD
    VogtTD 10 months ago

    DS9 didn't invent solar sails.

    • djchristian82
      djchristian82 9 months ago

      VogtTD That's true but I think Mike connected it to that DS9 episode where Cisco flew a solar ship not that he think they stole that idea.

  • Marshomon
    Marshomon 10 months ago

    I don't usually see these two in such light clothing.

  • sub pump
    sub pump 10 months ago

    I'm a little bit shocked to hear you say that this movie was all over the place but Wonder Woman was in all over the place and overusing on the slow motion. I've put this as my number one alien movie followed by alien then Alien 3 then you got aliens. Everything els is about the same for me.

    • sub pump
      sub pump 9 months ago

      Oh yeah. The building to the universe is great while keeping to the psychological suspense. There's too many Alien films that went for the action over the horror and suspense.

    • TieFighter34
      TieFighter34 9 months ago

      Alien Covenant is number 1 for you? That's just sad.

  • Wildman Samurai
    Wildman Samurai 10 months ago

    Fantastic movie

  • Michael Izzard
    Michael Izzard 10 months ago

    I’ve just watched this film and I respect you guys so much for all the videos you out, but this film is absolutely shocking!!! Terminator Genisys, (however you spell it) and this have a lot in common. They go out of their way to ruin the timeline and origins of the franchise. The crew make absolutely ridiculous decisions, too many to go into. This film is utter tripe, no two ways about it

  • Robsan
    Robsan 10 months ago

    Hey you guys are great, love cinemassacre.

  • rhoadnaroahs
    rhoadnaroahs 11 months ago

    No, it is NOT better than 3 or Resurrection. It was awful. Ruins the franchise. Like an 80's slasher flick with stupid characters just waiting to be killed by the monster.

  • JCglitchmaster
    JCglitchmaster 11 months ago

    I watched 1 hour in and turned it off it triggered me so much.

  • NexisFilms
    NexisFilms 11 months ago +2

    They lost me at "It's better than Alien 3" .
    Every true Alien fan be like "WTF ?!" .

  • pennmaster
    pennmaster 11 months ago +1

    "Correct me if I'm wrong, you know more about the Alien movies than me, but isn't there like an alien or something, something like that?"

  • Funnysterste
    Funnysterste 11 months ago +1

    One of the dumbest movies of all time.

  • Peter Smith
    Peter Smith 11 months ago

    The one in the glasses, has his head up his curu!

  • mola55e5
    mola55e5 Year ago

    U r right abt the time issue w the face hugger. In Alien John Hurt was in the med deck at least overnight. And then the thing fell off him and he was ok for awhile until dinner when the alien burst from his chest.

  • Lucas Pistek
    Lucas Pistek Year ago

    Alien isolation movie

  • J. Doe
    J. Doe Year ago +1

    The second alien movie Aliens is way overrated. It's average at best imo. It's like Michael Bay of the Alien franchise.

  • OutToLaunchPictures

    The scene in the tall grass was great

  • Muhammad al-Khwarizmi

    The novelization handles the idea that the Covenant crew can just breathe the atmosphere of the new planet better because scans were run beforehand but the way they just step out of the ship isn't vastly worse than the same thing happening frequently in various Star Trek series that so many people acclaim
    They should be more consistent

  • sicilianotoronto
    sicilianotoronto Year ago

    This movie was a big rubbish heap

  • Pete Wade
    Pete Wade Year ago

    Your "American Movie"esque "Ko-Van" made me laugh hysterically.
    I actually just watched that movie based on hearing you talk about it. Then Alien Covenant.
    I think the main problem is that they tried to include this in the franchise. Had it been it's own film- maybe better?

  • Burst Your Bubble

    They should have brought Cameron back

  • Jm Fowler
    Jm Fowler Year ago

    I very much doubt the solar sails are ripped from star trek. Besides. Star wars did solar sails too. And its a viable technology

  • Robbie
    Robbie Year ago +3

    Alien and Aliens are near perfect. Hard to match up to them.

  • jlebrech
    jlebrech Year ago

    no helmets was for the plot.

  • Phakorn Kijsipongse

    In internet, there is no information about the incubation period after the facehugger hugged the victim.

  • FamilyGuyFan360 Productions

    It’s my 3rd favorite Alien Movie

  • psycho_dog33
    psycho_dog33 Year ago

    In my opinion, Prometheus is the more competently made film, despite it being dull as all hell, and Alien: Covenant is more fun as an entertainingly bad film.

  • Th3lonef0x
    Th3lonef0x Year ago

    The novelisation of this film is better.

  • Akatsukileader9
    Akatsukileader9 Year ago

    Let me guess, the Star Trek thing coming up that James mentioned is about Data and Lore, right?

  • SengirShowsU
    SengirShowsU Year ago

    Didnt you say that there were xenomorph wall carvings in prometheus? Wouldnt that be a major plot hole?

  • liquid ocelot
    liquid ocelot Year ago +1

    as an alien fan for years i thought this movie was complete fucking garbage. i hated it. thanks for shitting all over the lore ridley

  • Phoenix Down
    Phoenix Down Year ago

    I had wayyy more fun with this film than Prometheus. I swear I'm the only one who honestly had a great time with it :/

  • Dim Nimrod
    Dim Nimrod Year ago

    Attack of the Clones also took the solar sail idea from DS9

    • djchristian82
      djchristian82 9 months ago

      Solat sails wasn't a new thing when Star trek made it. That technology was made prior that DS9 episode.

  • sialvin
    sialvin Year ago

    Do blade runner 2049 review..

  • Ryan Navin
    Ryan Navin Year ago

    I dislike pretty much all Michael Bay movies lol. Am I the only one that liked the AVP movies? I like the lore mostly, mostly.