The House with a Clock in Its Walls - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 469

  • nashcameronn
    nashcameronn Day ago

    Blanch-it not Blan-chett

  • Sauga Verse
    Sauga Verse 6 days ago

    This is not usually the type of movie I would watch, but I gave it a try and enjoyed it.
    I'd say it was a fun movie and the production value was very strong.
    It was entertaining from start to finish which is all you can ever expect from a movie.
    Yes, a very good movie for what it is.

  • maomao521521
    maomao521521 22 days ago

    I bought this film from sky movie another day, because it's rated as a PG movie, so I thought it's OK for my 7 years old daughter to watch, she loved Harry Potter films, we watched first 3 of them together, I saw the rating of rest of the Harry Potter films are PG 12 so I didn't push it and decided to wait few more years for her to watch. Long story short, even we stopped to play this film after 40mins watching, this PG rated film still made my daughter very upset and scared, she refused to sleep on her own tonight. I am not saying this is a bad film, but I'm questing the rating, in many ways it should be at least PG 12 film, so parents can decide if it's OK for their children to watch or not.

  • Rubbishyoutuber
    Rubbishyoutuber 22 days ago

    I don't think I've got time for this sort of movie...

  • TEDdotcom
    TEDdotcom Month ago

    Actual movie review starts at 0:49

  • Dino Guy
    Dino Guy Month ago

    I didn't like this movie. Even then it's 1 hour forty min it felt like 3 hours. The C.G.I is bad it's boring and that kid is weird.... Just my opinion guys but in my opinion it deserves a 3 out of 10 😤😤😤

  • Brad Kenneth
    Brad Kenneth Month ago

    Where's Jablinski Games? lol

  • Bastian
    Bastian Month ago +1

    Damn, a B? Really? Waayyy higher than I thought it deserved. This movie was bad. Like eye rolling made for TV in the 90's bad. Watching it with my family I was cringing and struggling to stay awake through the whole thing.
    But for kids under ten, sure, they will likely enjoy it.

  • Marykate Olson
    Marykate Olson Month ago +1

    actors are talented... settings were cool... story was awful.. completely ruined the movie. felt like the film didnt know what it was supposed to be (happy, horror, sad, comedy, thoughtful) ... the story could have used a major assist. it was real dark as well... not something I would show my kids personally. I walked in thinking it would be a nice HP knock off... nope, completely different and sadly not nearly as good as a storyline. Probably one of my least liked movies to come out of theatres in the past year. save the $15 and wait for it to be watch now on Netflix :P

  • swissa85
    swissa85 Month ago +1

    Normally, I agree with your reviews...but you are way off on this one. It was fucking terrible.

  • Lord Remuru
    Lord Remuru Month ago

    Yeah if being unique and strange and weird for a devil worshiper is ok then yeah go for it.

  • yzinventions.co
    yzinventions.co Month ago +1

    the movie is very bad the plot doesn't make any sense because if he turned back time his ancestors would all be dead, if somehow he was dead he would go back to the big bang he would suffocate and die from the explosion and from swallowing his own carbon dioxide when he breathes out in an airtight space

  • Anthony Patronaggio

    why does the license plate at the end of the house with clocks in its walls say water wonderland? I searched it and found out its a realtor company in Michigan and supposedly Jeff Hamilton that purchased the orginial house that the movie portrayed in Michigan is also a realtor!? Also that company is right next to a place called orion & the stone unicorn a metaphysical store which your movie is full of!? Also something creepy is the ladys house across the steet from the cronin house is white with red door!? Dont believe me people heres the address 407 N Madison St, Marshall, MI 49068 !

  • Robert Gross
    Robert Gross 2 months ago +2

    This movie tries to look like a Tim Burton fantasy but its not interesting enough for Adults and too dark for young children. With the useless potty humor and lack of real excitement, Eli Roth really wasted the acting talent and special effects. Could have been a winner but falls flat in the end.

  • Yasmeena Love
    Yasmeena Love 2 months ago

    Oh f***! I forgot about Large Marge! And it’s night time!😭

  • Jalal Dalloul
    Jalal Dalloul 2 months ago +1

    This movie was insulting honestly I wanted to leave throughout the whole thing

  • Moises ibarra 2
    Moises ibarra 2 2 months ago

    Does no one else think that Owen ruined the movie...

  • what is normal?
    what is normal? 2 months ago +1

    The main kid was a bad actor. Script was bad...

  • Anti Petrolhead
    Anti Petrolhead 2 months ago

    What he should have just said was you start the movie with a J.K Rowlings feel and you end up with a Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children feel which to me is awesome if you like eclectic fairytale horror. Definitely not for innocent minded children.

  • TEJAS BM
    TEJAS BM 2 months ago +1

    this movie is trash

  • XWolven
    XWolven 2 months ago +1

    Gosh kids are such Cream Puffs these days. Compare the fear in this to a kids horror like Something Wicked This Way Comes or Poltergeist.

  • Phil S
    Phil S 2 months ago

    Ratings dont mean anything anymore...

  • Areeb Qureshi
    Areeb Qureshi 2 months ago +1

    I had the same opinion ,it didn't feel like a movie but more like an episode of a TV series....

  • Jr Woodson
    Jr Woodson 2 months ago

    He just like me

  • sousuke Sagara
    sousuke Sagara 2 months ago +1

    This movie isn't for adults, I should have known that before watching it, I found it very stupid and the kid was very annoying

  • A random YouTube channel Loll

    “It’s the nuts that make it interesting” 😏 that’s my fav quote I don’t think she thought about what she was saying when she said it 😂

  • Mátravölgyi Zoltán
    Mátravölgyi Zoltán 2 months ago

    I love this movie, one of my favorites this year!!

  • Strange Imagination
    Strange Imagination 2 months ago

    I didn’t like the poop jokes. I liked it for once, and then it was repetitive and annoying. The baby body was disturbing and a bit funny at first but then it was just...it felt a bit like a waste of screen time? But it was still a great film! Another thing, the main character, the boy, should practice fake crying? Idk, it felt too plastic and false like he was trying not to laugh? It didn’t impact the film in any bad way, it just felt a rough and I couldn’t help noticing it in each scene he was forced to cry in (it felt like that; forced)

  • Scho0rschi
    Scho0rschi 2 months ago +2

    Unbearable movie to watch. Main character is a dipshit useless nerd doing retarded shit all day. Does anyone remember, when kids used to watch power rangers, "teenagers with attitude" like Zordon would say and not fucking useless nerds? Do a horror movie with a strong character, not a movie, that is scary just because the character is a fucking scared nerd.
    Jack Black was the only good part in that movie.

  • asyr4f
    asyr4f 2 months ago

    I'm 11 and this movie is one of my top 5 probably top 3

  • Chock Cuevas
    Chock Cuevas 2 months ago +1

    Just find the kid incredibly annoying, sorry not sorry.

  • Lord Zephyros
    Lord Zephyros 2 months ago

    As someone who studies and dables on the occult ... There was stuff here that it was too much for weak-minded kids. If your kids get scared easily dont watch it, but if your kids can take it, its ok to watch

    Also the occult aspect (symbols) are surprisingly advanced for a movie

  • Khaled Sulliman
    Khaled Sulliman 2 months ago +2

    tattoo is awful btw

  • Spiffydigs
    Spiffydigs 2 months ago

    refreshingly honest review

  • cantbeleveitsnotnaru
    cantbeleveitsnotnaru 2 months ago

    As an adult who cant deal with horror movies, I really appreciated this "dip your toes in" kind of movie. I went to see it specifically because it looked like it played that line. And alone. As an adult. And there were some creepy uncomfortable parts that didnt make me feel like a complete wimp.
    I would also have to agree that the humour really pulled me out of the experience.
    But it was a fun film. I have been enjoying Jack Black in his more calm roles.

  • Matthew Persaud
    Matthew Persaud 2 months ago

    In witchcraft they dabble in poop. Sick but its true. Can't expect better from a movie that promotes witchcraft

  • Perla G
    Perla G 2 months ago

    To much demonic shit for children

  • SparklyShadow17 Supernatural warrior

    I also don't understand why anybody found this movie scary. The dolls and the Necromantic act of bringing the antagonist back to life was the only scary part about this movie. Other than that, nobody complained about any of Tim Burton's movies. Those were just creepy.

  • SparklyShadow17 Supernatural warrior

    I wish someone did a theological review on this movie... There are many allusions to Paganism...and the dark arts and the ideology of real sorcery.

  • dontmindmejustadork :P
    dontmindmejustadork :P 3 months ago

    i was taken on my first "date" to this movie

  • Prachet Agarwal
    Prachet Agarwal 3 months ago +1

    the trailer of this movie so bad so I didn't watch it!

  • Potage Potage
    Potage Potage 3 months ago

    The movie had a nice concept but i felt that it was abit rushed.

  • Halane
    Halane 3 months ago

    American kids must have come a bit soft, because I've watched it yesterday here in Spain and yes, one kid jumped a bit in a jumo scare moment, but the others were laughing and excited and having a great time, and none of them were scared, much less scared to tears!

  • Sickle
    Sickle 3 months ago +1

    I really didn't like this movie. The second half especially.

  • Stetson Clement
    Stetson Clement 3 months ago

    I've never hated a character in a movie as much as I did Lewis.

  • Ryan Toth
    Ryan Toth 3 months ago

    OK BUDDY its actually PG-13 film

  • Tysen Steffler
    Tysen Steffler 3 months ago +1

    I know its a kids movie but the parts at school were really aweful and i think i would have this same opinion as a kid watching this because it takes all the originality it had and just locks it up so we can have a scene at his school where suprise suprise he gets bullied and is made fun of for being a nerd and he makes friends with the popular kid and suprise suprise the kid exploites him ive seen this done so many times and if i was a kid id probably feel similar because of how overused this plot is especially with other movies being competely based on this. other than that it was a good kids movie

  • Roos
    Roos 3 months ago

    I did not really like the film that much, maybe because i am too old, but i believed the end was a bit rattled off. The acting was great and the storyline too, but the story was build to the end and then the end was quick over and a bit disappointing.

  • callum logan
    callum logan 3 months ago +1

    I didn’t really like this one at all. I feel like the main characters performance was complete cat tree poop.

  • Warren Buitendag
    Warren Buitendag 4 months ago

    are you gonna review the haunting of hill house? really wanna hear your thoughts on it!

  • Martin Georgiev
    Martin Georgiev 4 months ago +3

    I feel like you're talking about a completely different movie. I saw it last night and my two cents are: what a mess! Amazing sets though :)

  • Annabella Patton
    Annabella Patton 4 months ago +1

    boring boring boring just an old boring video

  • REED COLES
    REED COLES 4 months ago

    I feel like this is one of the better book adaptations there was more Eli could bring upon from a small children's book and put on the big screen by the way the book's pretty good.

  • ashley hawkins
    ashley hawkins 4 months ago

    Can’t wait to see

  • zohanrock
    zohanrock 4 months ago

    4 kids came out of that theatre crying....i'm sold.

  • Xialite
    Xialite 4 months ago +3

    Found it ok, but the crying scenes were SO painful (as in the kids bad acting)

    • _PlanetOMars_
      _PlanetOMars_ Month ago +1

      Xialite Really?? I thought he did really well! Even though the crying was over the top, it still felt like he was deeply hurt and had emotion behind it. I’ve seen worse, I think the bully was super cringey myself but I loved the actor for Lewis!

  • InvictuZ
    InvictuZ 4 months ago

    I feel sooo bad for all the 5 year old kids watching in my theatre. That saturn devil shit might as well have been from films like Sinister.

  • omnispork
    omnispork 4 months ago

    Loved the books as a child, started the movie ok until the acid kicked in...

  • Brian Sparrow
    Brian Sparrow 4 months ago

    I'm so glad to hear that the movie is good; the book was one of my favorites when I was growing up. John Bellairs was writing top notch horror stories for kids before Goosebumps & Are You Afraid of the Dark? even existed. I really hope that the success of this film means that we'll see more of his stories on the big screen; I've always wanted to watch the film version of The Curse of the Blue Figurine.

  • Erma Gerhd
    Erma Gerhd 4 months ago

    Was it just me or did anyone else notice the movie had very subtle foreshadowing? In the beginning of the film when the kid gets off the bus with his uncle, in the background there’s a sign mentioning the eclipse that later became a huge part of the ending. Then somewhere in the middle when the boy was walking down the hall with the flashlight looking at the pictures on the walls, there were images of demons tricking people as well as a rat and a lady

  • Videokidmaker
    Videokidmaker 4 months ago

    So most of your cons are it was a bit to child like

  • Crushenator500
    Crushenator500 4 months ago

    I just watched this and I can't believe how much I loved it. Best kid's movie in a long, long time. Some fun little easter eggs in it too (jack humming to a tenacious d tune, some other stuff I'm already forgetting)

  • KYASIG
    KYASIG 4 months ago

    i thought it was going to be bad

  • Anna 9538
    Anna 9538 4 months ago

    This is rated FREAKING PG? Not PG13? This is a KID’S MOVIE?
    KID MOVIES SHOULD NOT HAVE HAVE BLOOD SACRIFICES AND DEMONS!

  • Steven C
    Steven C 4 months ago

    My buddy the poop jokes are ment for kids not for you. You got to remember this movie was not made only for adults but mostly for kids. Why is it the reviewers don't understand that? 😒

  • Carmen Dooms
    Carmen Dooms 4 months ago

    You gave Venom a C-, and yet you give this a B? I'm the exact opposite of your opinion, I'd give this movie a C- and Venom a B rating. House begins interesting enough but I got bored Midway into the movie and the ending was a snore. I loved the action in Venom and while some parts were choppy, overall I think Venom was a worth going to see film. I don't want to give away any spoilers so I won't explain what caught my attention most in the storyline of Venom but it's truth in plain sight. The House is encouraging others to get into the occult, and is basically saying that it's okay to be a little weird if you want to try dark magic spell's go for it and just do it! Not exactly the message I'd want my children to receive.

  • Jaeger Elite
    Jaeger Elite 4 months ago +1

    This movie was very bad

  • david pascual
    david pascual 4 months ago

    Review blazing saddles

  • Mark Sneddon
    Mark Sneddon 4 months ago

    I had NO fucking idea that Eli Roth was even involved in this! Good to see him do something different.

  • Myles Coyne
    Myles Coyne 4 months ago +3

    I saw it and thought it was safe bore of a flick. Kid actor sucked.

  • Matt Eldon
    Matt Eldon 4 months ago

    I think I'd like to see Eli Roth's take on poop jokes. One please :)

  • TenderTank
    TenderTank 4 months ago

    The worst movie I’ve ever seen.

  • Kai Chen
    Kai Chen 4 months ago

    Why did Chris say he came in with a stack of tissues? Edit: Oh yeah he was sick I remember.

  • Hazardous Kiwi
    Hazardous Kiwi 4 months ago +1

    Happy anniversary!!!!!

  • Matt J
    Matt J 4 months ago +1

    When I was little Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland 2010 scared me. It made me cry with the way Johnny Depp looked.

  • Bushwick Bill
    Bushwick Bill 4 months ago +1

    The main little boy is an atrocious actor

  • singertobe13
    singertobe13 4 months ago

    I'm sorry you were sick! Would really LOVE to hear a review of a simple favor tho!

  • Chern69
    Chern69 4 months ago

    awful movie, terrible at best

    • Kai Chen
      Kai Chen 4 months ago

      Chern69 damn. I liked it....

  • Andy Benji
    Andy Benji 4 months ago

    Listen to 0:37 without context.

  • Raggedy Monkey
    Raggedy Monkey 4 months ago

    the hound with a cock between his balls

  • Sour patch Kids
    Sour patch Kids 4 months ago +1

    Why so low rating

  • Elisa Mastromarino
    Elisa Mastromarino 4 months ago +1

    A Simple Favour. I loved it. Where's the review?

  • Achyuth Thouta
    Achyuth Thouta 4 months ago +1

    Christopher Nolan Vs James Cameron . Like = Nolan
    Comment= Titanic's director.

  • TheRead
    TheRead 4 months ago +1

    This film lacked focus. The story was poorly told. You just sit in the theater noting everything that happens in the film without wanting or rooting for any of the characters to go on this surreal journey. The comedy almost keeps you involved until the ending which is just weird, but not in an interesting way, just stupid and obscure. I left the film thinking their could have been an interesting film here, but it felt like the story process was rushed and didn’t connect any of the characters to the adventure. Because of this it failed to keep me entertained.

    • _PlanetOMars_
      _PlanetOMars_ Month ago

      TheRead To each their own I suppose. Me and my brothers were completely focused on the movie. We loved it! It was simple but not dumbed down. It was light and fun, towards the end a little creepy but nothing that made us not want to continue. It’s a fun family movie. I really loved the main trio, the little kid did a really good job I think!

  • Ethan P
    Ethan P 4 months ago

    That Louis kid was annoying AS FUCK. uNClE JhOnaThAn was literally the only line that kid said.

  • Andrew Wood
    Andrew Wood 4 months ago

    Paranorman for the win.

  • Alex g
    Alex g 4 months ago +1

    I never got scare.

  • Achyuth Thouta
    Achyuth Thouta 4 months ago +1

    Clocks on wall, honestly.

  • Achyuth Thouta
    Achyuth Thouta 4 months ago +2

    Such a weird name for a movie.

  • Midnight Ninja
    Midnight Ninja 4 months ago

    House with the clock within it's walls? More like movie with homosexual undertones lol

  • Zaturn Nep
    Zaturn Nep 4 months ago

    The return of OZ, movie came to mind (^v^)

  • dustin villarreal
    dustin villarreal 4 months ago

    PLEASE REVIEW MANDY
    PLEASE REVIEW MANDY
    PLEASE REVIEW MANDY
    PLEASE REVIEW MANDY
    PLEASE REVIEW MANDY

  • issac flores
    issac flores 4 months ago

    I hated this movie. So much. This was a disappointing film and I hope it never gets a sequel.

  • Vortex Cut
    Vortex Cut 4 months ago

    were is the venom review, Chris?

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 4 months ago

    Well this is one disturbing kids film

  • 1M views
    1M views 4 months ago

    just been to the cinema with my 9 year old. she lovd it .. wasnt bad actually

  • manu M
    manu M 4 months ago

    what a bull crap the movie is i wouldnot watch for a million.

  • Lanky
    Lanky 4 months ago

    Pls review 8 mile, fucking fantastic film

  • Kristine Ford
    Kristine Ford 4 months ago

    I know how you feel, Chris, I had to pick up a ton of tissues from last night!😎😎

  • Kristine Ford
    Kristine Ford 4 months ago

    Just the title of this movie, probably based on a book, makes me laugh!!