The House with a Clock in Its Walls - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 441

  • what is normal?
    what is normal? 3 days ago

    The main kid was a bad actor. Script was bad...

  • Anti Petrolhead
    Anti Petrolhead 4 days ago

    What he should have just said was you start the movie with a J.K Rowlings feel and you end up with a Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children feel which to me is awesome if you like eclectic fairytale horror. Definitely not for innocent minded children.

  • TEJAS BM
    TEJAS BM 6 days ago

    this movie is trash

  • XWolven
    XWolven 7 days ago

    Gosh kids are such Cream Puffs these days. Compare the fear in this to a kids horror like Something Wicked This Way Comes or Poltergeist.

  • Phil S
    Phil S 9 days ago

    Ratings dont mean anything anymore...

  • Areeb Qureshi
    Areeb Qureshi 9 days ago

    I had the same opinion ,it didn't feel like a movie but more like an episode of a TV series....

  • Jr Woodson
    Jr Woodson 9 days ago

    He just like me

  • sousuke Sagara
    sousuke Sagara 9 days ago

    This movie isn't for adults, I should have known that before watching it, I found it very stupid and the kid was very annoying

  • A random YouTube channel Loll

    “It’s the nuts that make it interesting” 😏 that’s my fav quote I don’t think she thought about what she was saying when she said it 😂

  • Mátravölgyi Zoltán
    Mátravölgyi Zoltán 10 days ago

    I love this movie, one of my favorites this year!!

  • Strange Imagination
    Strange Imagination 11 days ago

    I didn’t like the poop jokes. I liked it for once, and then it was repetitive and annoying. The baby body was disturbing and a bit funny at first but then it was just...it felt a bit like a waste of screen time? But it was still a great film! Another thing, the main character, the boy, should practice fake crying? Idk, it felt too plastic and false like he was trying not to laugh? It didn’t impact the film in any bad way, it just felt a rough and I couldn’t help noticing it in each scene he was forced to cry in (it felt like that; forced)

  • Scho0rschi
    Scho0rschi 11 days ago +1

    Unbearable movie to watch. Main character is a dipshit useless nerd doing retarded shit all day. Does anyone remember, when kids used to watch power rangers, "teenagers with attitude" like Zordon would say and not fucking useless nerds? Do a horror movie with a strong character, not a movie, that is scary just because the character is a fucking scared nerd.
    Jack Black was the only good part in that movie.

  • asyr4f
    asyr4f 11 days ago

    I'm 11 and this movie is one of my top 5 probably top 3

  • Chock Cuevas
    Chock Cuevas 12 days ago

    Just find the kid incredibly annoying, sorry not sorry.

  • Lord Zephyros
    Lord Zephyros 13 days ago

    As someone who studies and dables on the occult ... There was stuff here that it was too much for weak-minded kids. If your kids get scared easily dont watch it, but if your kids can take it, its ok to watch

    Also the occult aspect (symbols) are surprisingly advanced for a movie

  • Khaled Sulliman
    Khaled Sulliman 15 days ago +1

    tattoo is awful btw

  • Spiffydigs
    Spiffydigs 16 days ago

    refreshingly honest review

  • cantbeleveitsnotnaru
    cantbeleveitsnotnaru 17 days ago

    As an adult who cant deal with horror movies, I really appreciated this "dip your toes in" kind of movie. I went to see it specifically because it looked like it played that line. And alone. As an adult. And there were some creepy uncomfortable parts that didnt make me feel like a complete wimp.
    I would also have to agree that the humour really pulled me out of the experience.
    But it was a fun film. I have been enjoying Jack Black in his more calm roles.

  • Matthew Persaud
    Matthew Persaud 17 days ago

    In witchcraft they dabble in poop. Sick but its true. Can't expect better from a movie that promotes witchcraft

  • Perla G
    Perla G 17 days ago

    To much demonic shit for children

  • Traumatias0
    Traumatias0 18 days ago

    Yay! I loved this film. Great fun, went with my nephew, 12 years old, he was jumping up and down when we left the theatre, loved it!

  • SparklyShadow17 Supernatural warrior

    I also don't understand why anybody found this movie scary. The dolls and the Necromantic act of bringing the antagonist back to life was the only scary part about this movie. Other than that, nobody complained about any of Tim Burton's movies. Those were just creepy.

  • SparklyShadow17 Supernatural warrior

    I wish someone did a theological review on this movie... There are many allusions to Paganism...and the dark arts and the ideology of real sorcery.

  • dontmindmejustadork :P

    i was taken on my first "date" to this movie

  • Prachet Agarwal
    Prachet Agarwal Month ago

    the trailer of this movie so bad so I didn't watch it!

  • Dillon Ow
    Dillon Ow Month ago

    The movie had a nice concept but i felt that it was abit rushed.

  • Halane
    Halane Month ago

    American kids must have come a bit soft, because I've watched it yesterday here in Spain and yes, one kid jumped a bit in a jumo scare moment, but the others were laughing and excited and having a great time, and none of them were scared, much less scared to tears!

  • Sickle
    Sickle Month ago

    I really didn't like this movie. The second half especially.

  • Stetson Clement
    Stetson Clement Month ago

    I've never hated a character in a movie as much as I did Lewis.

  • Ryan Toth
    Ryan Toth Month ago

    OK BUDDY its actually PG-13 film

  • Tysen Steffler
    Tysen Steffler Month ago

    I know its a kids movie but the parts at school were really aweful and i think i would have this same opinion as a kid watching this because it takes all the originality it had and just locks it up so we can have a scene at his school where suprise suprise he gets bullied and is made fun of for being a nerd and he makes friends with the popular kid and suprise suprise the kid exploites him ive seen this done so many times and if i was a kid id probably feel similar because of how overused this plot is especially with other movies being competely based on this. other than that it was a good kids movie

  • Roos
    Roos Month ago

    I did not really like the film that much, maybe because i am too old, but i believed the end was a bit rattled off. The acting was great and the storyline too, but the story was build to the end and then the end was quick over and a bit disappointing.

  • callum logan
    callum logan Month ago

    I didn’t really like this one at all. I feel like the main characters performance was complete cat tree poop.

  • ANTI-SATAN PRO-LIFE

    Satanic garbage

  • Warren Buitendag
    Warren Buitendag Month ago

    are you gonna review the haunting of hill house? really wanna hear your thoughts on it!

  • Martin Georgiev
    Martin Georgiev Month ago +1

    I feel like you're talking about a completely different movie. I saw it last night and my two cents are: what a mess! Amazing sets though :)

  • Annabella Patton
    Annabella Patton Month ago

    boring boring boring just an old boring video

  • REED COLES
    REED COLES Month ago

    I feel like this is one of the better book adaptations there was more Eli could bring upon from a small children's book and put on the big screen by the way the book's pretty good.

  • ashley hawkins
    ashley hawkins Month ago

    Can’t wait to see

  • zohanrock
    zohanrock Month ago

    4 kids came out of that theatre crying....i'm sold.

  • Xialite
    Xialite Month ago +1

    Found it ok, but the crying scenes were SO painful (as in the kids bad acting)

  • InvictuZ
    InvictuZ Month ago

    I feel sooo bad for all the 5 year old kids watching in my theatre. That saturn devil shit might as well have been from films like Sinister.

  • omnispork
    omnispork 2 months ago

    Loved the books as a child, started the movie ok until the acid kicked in...

  • Brian Sparrow
    Brian Sparrow 2 months ago

    I'm so glad to hear that the movie is good; the book was one of my favorites when I was growing up. John Bellairs was writing top notch horror stories for kids before Goosebumps & Are You Afraid of the Dark? even existed. I really hope that the success of this film means that we'll see more of his stories on the big screen; I've always wanted to watch the film version of The Curse of the Blue Figurine.

  • Erma Gerhd
    Erma Gerhd 2 months ago

    Was it just me or did anyone else notice the movie had very subtle foreshadowing? In the beginning of the film when the kid gets off the bus with his uncle, in the background there’s a sign mentioning the eclipse that later became a huge part of the ending. Then somewhere in the middle when the boy was walking down the hall with the flashlight looking at the pictures on the walls, there were images of demons tricking people as well as a rat and a lady

  • Videokidmaker
    Videokidmaker 2 months ago

    So most of your cons are it was a bit to child like

  • Crushenator500
    Crushenator500 2 months ago

    I just watched this and I can't believe how much I loved it. Best kid's movie in a long, long time. Some fun little easter eggs in it too (jack humming to a tenacious d tune, some other stuff I'm already forgetting)

  • KYASIG
    KYASIG 2 months ago

    i thought it was going to be bad

  • Anna 9538
    Anna 9538 2 months ago

    This is rated FREAKING PG? Not PG13? This is a KID’S MOVIE?
    KID MOVIES SHOULD NOT HAVE HAVE BLOOD SACRIFICES AND DEMONS!

  • Steven C
    Steven C 2 months ago

    My buddy the poop jokes are ment for kids not for you. You got to remember this movie was not made only for adults but mostly for kids. Why is it the reviewers don't understand that? 😒

  • Carmen Dooms
    Carmen Dooms 2 months ago

    You gave Venom a C-, and yet you give this a B? I'm the exact opposite of your opinion, I'd give this movie a C- and Venom a B rating. House begins interesting enough but I got bored Midway into the movie and the ending was a snore. I loved the action in Venom and while some parts were choppy, overall I think Venom was a worth going to see film. I don't want to give away any spoilers so I won't explain what caught my attention most in the storyline of Venom but it's truth in plain sight. The House is encouraging others to get into the occult, and is basically saying that it's okay to be a little weird if you want to try dark magic spell's go for it and just do it! Not exactly the message I'd want my children to receive.

  • Jaeger Elite
    Jaeger Elite 2 months ago +1

    This movie was very bad

  • david pascual
    david pascual 2 months ago

    Review blazing saddles

  • Mark Sneddon
    Mark Sneddon 2 months ago

    I had NO fucking idea that Eli Roth was even involved in this! Good to see him do something different.

  • Myles Coyne
    Myles Coyne 2 months ago +2

    I saw it and thought it was safe bore of a flick. Kid actor sucked.

  • Matt Eldon
    Matt Eldon 2 months ago

    I think I'd like to see Eli Roth's take on poop jokes. One please :)

  • Nintendotank
    Nintendotank 2 months ago

    The worst movie I’ve ever seen.

  • Kai Chen
    Kai Chen 2 months ago

    Why did Chris say he came in with a stack of tissues? Edit: Oh yeah he was sick I remember.

  • Weston Everett Clements
    Weston Everett Clements 2 months ago +1

    Happy anniversary!!!!!

  • Matt J
    Matt J 2 months ago +1

    When I was little Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland 2010 scared me. It made me cry with the way Johnny Depp looked.

  • Bushwick Bill
    Bushwick Bill 2 months ago +1

    The main little boy is an atrocious actor

  • singertobe13
    singertobe13 2 months ago

    I'm sorry you were sick! Would really LOVE to hear a review of a simple favor tho!

  • Chern69
    Chern69 2 months ago

    awful movie, terrible at best

    • Kai Chen
      Kai Chen 2 months ago

      Chern69 damn. I liked it....

  • Andy Benji
    Andy Benji 2 months ago

    Listen to 0:37 without context.

  • Raggedy Monkey
    Raggedy Monkey 2 months ago

    the hound with a cock between his balls

  • courageous Christian
    courageous Christian 2 months ago +1

    Why so low rating

  • Elisa Mastromarino
    Elisa Mastromarino 2 months ago +1

    A Simple Favour. I loved it. Where's the review?

  • Achyuth Thouta
    Achyuth Thouta 2 months ago +1

    Christopher Nolan Vs James Cameron . Like = Nolan
    Comment= Titanic's director.

  • TheRead
    TheRead 2 months ago +1

    This film lacked focus. The story was poorly told. You just sit in the theater noting everything that happens in the film without wanting or rooting for any of the characters to go on this surreal journey. The comedy almost keeps you involved until the ending which is just weird, but not in an interesting way, just stupid and obscure. I left the film thinking their could have been an interesting film here, but it felt like the story process was rushed and didn’t connect any of the characters to the adventure. Because of this it failed to keep me entertained.

  • Ethan P
    Ethan P 2 months ago

    That Louis kid was annoying AS FUCK. uNClE JhOnaThAn was literally the only line that kid said.

  • Andrew Wood
    Andrew Wood 2 months ago

    Paranorman for the win.

  • Alex g
    Alex g 2 months ago +1

    I never got scare.

  • Achyuth Thouta
    Achyuth Thouta 2 months ago +1

    Clocks on wall, honestly.

  • Achyuth Thouta
    Achyuth Thouta 2 months ago +2

    Such a weird name for a movie.

  • Midnight Ninja
    Midnight Ninja 2 months ago

    House with the clock within it's walls? More like movie with homosexual undertones lol

  • Zaturn Nep
    Zaturn Nep 2 months ago

    The return of OZ, movie came to mind (^v^)

  • dustin villarreal
    dustin villarreal 2 months ago

    PLEASE REVIEW MANDY
    PLEASE REVIEW MANDY
    PLEASE REVIEW MANDY
    PLEASE REVIEW MANDY
    PLEASE REVIEW MANDY

  • issac flores
    issac flores 2 months ago

    I hated this movie. So much. This was a disappointing film and I hope it never gets a sequel.

  • Vortex Cut
    Vortex Cut 2 months ago

    were is the venom review, Chris?

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 2 months ago

    Well this is one disturbing kids film

  • 1M views
    1M views 2 months ago

    just been to the cinema with my 9 year old. she lovd it .. wasnt bad actually

  • manu M
    manu M 2 months ago

    what a bull crap the movie is i wouldnot watch for a million.

  • Lanky
    Lanky 2 months ago

    Pls review 8 mile, fucking fantastic film

  • Kristine Ford
    Kristine Ford 2 months ago

    I know how you feel, Chris, I had to pick up a ton of tissues from last night!😎😎

  • Kristine Ford
    Kristine Ford 2 months ago

    Just the title of this movie, probably based on a book, makes me laugh!!

  • lajeandom
    lajeandom 2 months ago

    this movie was so fucking bad... 2/10 for me.

  • ? ?
    ? ? 2 months ago

    Eli Roth is all about poop jokes

  • DEAD END DRIVE-IN
    DEAD END DRIVE-IN 2 months ago

    "Mandy" review DAWG!

  • TheMoonchinKing
    TheMoonchinKing 2 months ago

    I don’t even remember any POOP jokes lol

  • Titansfan08
    Titansfan08 2 months ago

    Happy anniversary Chris!

  • Katetanic
    Katetanic 2 months ago

    Ever think of reviewing movies from shudder?

  • A Ramirez
    A Ramirez 2 months ago

    I really really want to watch this. I wanted to watch this with my three year old (in the theater) because she loves spooky stuff and never seems to get tired of it. But after that children leaving screaming and crying comment maybe I'll wait till it comes out on DVD to have her watch it.

  • Midas Seinfeld
    Midas Seinfeld 2 months ago

    lol, I actually had a "wait, what?" moment during the transformation scene. I was asking myself how he got away with it and kept his PG rating. There was only one family with kids in my theater and as soon as that scene happened they picked up and left.

  • kemuael
    kemuael 2 months ago

    Now Chris is a big strange adult. Lol

  • Jaymib
    Jaymib 2 months ago

    was a good movie kind of reminded me of hocus pocus and Addams Family, i think if this director and writes did a new Addams family be quite good. I really enjoy this m9vie, the ending let's it down alittle.

  • Ancestral Mage
    Ancestral Mage 2 months ago +1

    The movie contains black magic and occultic themes if you want to teach your kids it's ok to stray from god for power, take them to see this. Only a mature person can watch it and not be influenced.

  • Lachlan Jansen
    Lachlan Jansen 2 months ago

    Happy anniversary 🤗🤗

  • TheBrownTown007
    TheBrownTown007 2 months ago

    I honestly didn't like this movie, the horror elements for kids I thought were great but the story, the jokes and some characters made me give this movie a C.

  • Rhi Rhi
    Rhi Rhi 2 months ago

    I'm sorry you're feeling sick that sucks. YOU ARE THE ONLY MOVIE REVIEWER I WATCH. I DONT KNOW WHAT I WOULD DO WITHOUT YOU. YOU ARE SO ACCURATE. I LOVE YOU 😍❤🤩

  • Michael Mayhem
    Michael Mayhem 2 months ago

    I really enjoy your reviews, Stuckmann. One of the best on TVclip. Always well thought out reviews, and I almost always agree with you. Generally spot on. I guess we have the same opinion on most subjects. Congratulations on a job well done.