Galaxy S8 & S8+ Review - A PC Guy's Perspective

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 26, 2017
  • dbrand sponsor link: dbrand.com/s8tips
    Can the S8 bring Android back into Linus' pocket on a daily basis?
    Intel sponsor link: Check out HP's Omen X featuring Intel's 7th Generation Core i7 7700K processor on Newegg: geni.us/8j8j
    Buy Samsung Galaxy S8 on Amazon: geni.us/zdBguWU
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/771711-samsung-galaxy-s8-s8-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Linus Tech Tips Merchandise: www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips Posters: crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    linustech
    LinusTech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: tvclip.biz/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High tvclip.biz/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 8 754

  • Christian Blakely
    Christian Blakely 3 days ago

    You can fucking optimize dumbass

  • Panayiotis Toumazou
    Panayiotis Toumazou 5 days ago

    A70 Samsung or s8 plus is better in 2019?

    • The FBI
      The FBI 5 days ago +1

      A70 seems to be more practical.

  • Monta Tracy
    Monta Tracy 9 days ago

    u just a hater

  • Franz Darren Tantoco

    1:18 "Samsung may have lacked the courage to remove the 3.5mm headphone jack."
    Hello from 2019. Thanks for jinxing it. -_-

  • ITron Legend gaming
    ITron Legend gaming 13 days ago

    Bomb bomb bomb

  • Snapdragon 855
    Snapdragon 855 15 days ago

    Try Xiaomi. They are the BEST

  • the Pomarva
    the Pomarva Month ago

    This is a paid review to degrade a powerful and beautiful smartphone like s8

  • saqib ijaz
    saqib ijaz Month ago +1

    Excellent effort and elaborated very well... Keep it up......

  • Foxy
    Foxy Month ago

    Hey linus on the note 8 you CAN make swiping down bring the notifications instead of the app drawer you'll just have to enable it

  • Tim Suh
    Tim Suh Month ago +2

    Linus: you can hard press the hidden home button to go home
    Me: hard pressed the home while watching the video
    M I N D B L O W N

    • Leo Landi
      Leo Landi 10 days ago

      Just discovered it too... I was using swipe gestures this is nice

  • Bailey Hernandez
    Bailey Hernandez Month ago

    Voice cracked

  • George4All
    George4All Month ago

    Not anymore, the Jack is gone now on the Note 10 RIP, I'll miss you

  • Supurs
    Supurs Month ago

    the audio at the begining

  • Shango
    Shango Month ago

    Always On Display useless? Speak for yourself. It's very useful to me and a feature that I won't do without.

  • Grown Talk
    Grown Talk Month ago +1

    S8 plus is beast.Just as good in 2019 as it was when I bought it in 2017.I don't have any desire whatsoever to upgrade to s10 plus anytime soon.

  • Voltage
    Voltage Month ago

    I'm watching on an s8+ 2 years later

  • Ts Ts
    Ts Ts Month ago

    ill stick with my s12+, thanks though.

    • alex wileman
      alex wileman 26 days ago

      @Djgman6 I said that next week too.
      You need to get into time travel.

    • Djgman6
      Djgman6 Month ago

      Ts Ts that doesn’t even exist...

  • Keegan
    Keegan Month ago

    running an s8 in 2019 (exynos) wooo

  • FBI :
    FBI : Month ago +1

    Until this thing is the hottest thing in my pants when my wife walks in the room. Ouch.

  • Darksider95
    Darksider95 Month ago +2

    3:43 " a handful of apps and basically no friends." Same...

  • David Shryock
    David Shryock Month ago

    I hate camera obsessed people

  • Taj Callender
    Taj Callender Month ago +1

    It’s called the S8 “Plus”? Apple, sue them!!!!!

  • Jaden Minter
    Jaden Minter Month ago

    Who still using s8 me

  • Ingus Podnieks
    Ingus Podnieks Month ago +1

    If that was iphone 7 not plus, then maaan, hes got tiny hands

    • Definitely flusha
      Definitely flusha Month ago

      Ingus Podnieks that was the standard one, I have even smaller hands I struggle to reach the top of my non plus 6s

  • Code Slurpie
    Code Slurpie Month ago

    this is only a phase

  • George SIBUSISO
    George SIBUSISO Month ago

    😂😂😂😂😉😂😂😉

  • Aashish Bharat
    Aashish Bharat Month ago

    I'm still using this beast of a phone

  • Christopher Martinez
    Christopher Martinez Month ago +2

    S8 plus has a better battery then the S8

  • prakaash misaal
    prakaash misaal 2 months ago +6

    whoever using s8 or s8plus in 2019 , hit like here

    • Bob
      Bob Month ago

      nope

  • Nathan Liskey
    Nathan Liskey 2 months ago

    I got water I'm mine

  • I know Cause I'm BatMan.

    Fast forward in 2019, Now he is Android guy. & Apple hater.
    Times fly by. 😏

  • Ayoub Tagui
    Ayoub Tagui 2 months ago

    please don't steal my dog

  • Haramasch Abrasir
    Haramasch Abrasir 2 months ago

    I got one three days ago after bricking my S5 Neo.
    Love it already. Still a very good phone in 2019.

    • I like Maths
      I like Maths Month ago

      Give that to me, I want to fix that and then get android 9.0 on that

  • CODED
    CODED 2 months ago

    Some carriers removed the hotspot button from the notification menu.

  • asmr kid and tiktok kid
    asmr kid and tiktok kid 2 months ago +1

    Stop hating on Samsung's😠😠😠😠😠😠

    • Dady
      Dady 2 months ago

      He doesn't

  • Doom Slayer
    Doom Slayer 2 months ago +1

    I managed to grab myself an s8+ for 100 freaking dollars. It.is second and three corners are cracked and even chipped but doesnr effect the screen so I'm damn happy!

    • Dady
      Dady 2 months ago

      Get a new screen for 30 bucks it will be worth 250 dollars

  • Pretty Bird
    Pretty Bird 2 months ago

    You summed it up in a nutshell honey. I received a Samsung S8 as a replacement device for my Galaxy 6 Edge Plus I'm sending it back

    • Dady
      Dady 2 months ago +1

      It is better

    • Dady
      Dady 2 months ago +1

      Why

  • Vaisero
    Vaisero 2 months ago

    bought one thanks to this review

  • WarmIce
    WarmIce 2 months ago

    Not removing the headphone jack isn't a lack of courage, don't be that dumb..

  • Reavere
    Reavere 2 months ago +1

    8:33 you can adjust that in settings

  • jurnee21485
    jurnee21485 2 months ago +1

    🤣apple lovers use the SAME EXACT complaints lol smdh. The pros far outweigh the cons and there are apps for almost everything y'all complain about with this and other android phones.

    • Pacific Ocean
      Pacific Ocean 2 months ago

      Android phones will only last a year such a shit software

  • Daring Dreamer
    Daring Dreamer 2 months ago

    Listening to this on mid 2019 makes it sound a bit funny lol

  • Frederick Green
    Frederick Green 2 months ago

    You know when I was a kid we got along just fine without headphone jacks and cell phones and home PCS and flat screen TVs and all the other modern electronic gadgets we needed none of them we did not miss what we did not have obviously but I remember it's being a lot less complicated and confusing and a lot better I would go back to the 1970s any day and live like we lived then uncomplicated where are the Texas Instruments pocket calculator was the biggest piece of technology in the home I miss those days

  • Reee S02
    Reee S02 3 months ago

    I hope i have this on my birthday in June 23

    • dansterstuff
      dansterstuff 2 months ago

      Dont get an s8 man, great phone but you're not gonna get software updates very far into the future. You're better off getting an a70 for $350 on amazon

  • Hrabia Bambolino
    Hrabia Bambolino 3 months ago

    You can change like over a half of that software problems in the settings :/

  • NChync
    NChync 3 months ago

    Was this the video that started the rant videos instead of the informational videos?

  • Per Lindqvist
    Per Lindqvist 3 months ago

    Don't buy!
    I have always charged my phone wirelessly so the USB/Charging port is almost unused. The only time I use the USB port is when I connect Android Auto to my car. Not long ago I started to get connectivity problems, I thought it was the USB cable, so I bought a new one, same problem, I cleaned the port several times, no improvement. I started to google the problem and it seems to be a very common problem. The port is broken for some odd reason. That has never happened to me before. I thought the new type C port was going to be sturdier, but sadly not. The problem affects several things, fast charging stopped working, connecting to a computer or car becomes impossible.

  • John Sweeney
    John Sweeney 3 months ago

    Noone's gonna say anything about linuscattips

  • Nic W
    Nic W 3 months ago

    This phone was very siginificant even today in 2019 because it was the first phone with an edge to edge display! That in turn motivated Apple to make the iPhone X and motivated all phone manufacturers to get rid of the physical home button in favor of a larger screen in a smaller body! The s8 also moved Samsung from an iPhone ripoff company to truly making their own products and creating their own ideas! The iris scanner while not as secure as Face ID was more secure than face unlock on android phones! Even today, the s8 doesn’t look outdated!

  • Hugo Sandoval
    Hugo Sandoval 3 months ago +1

    This was the worst review video. I dont care about your crap excuses and opinion tell me how the phone works and compare adequately.

  • Chucken's Plush Studios // Ronniefleshman

    how i rate phones is by experience
    like a google play game in a way
    and i didn't have a good experience with s8
    because mainly because of some bad things that were going on in my life.

  • Mr. Memer
    Mr. Memer 3 months ago

    Every android screen looks 100% normal unless you put it next to an iphone

  • Aaron James
    Aaron James 3 months ago

    Stop complaining about finger print placement it's there unlike on the iPhone x if u have a iPhone x in the dark you have to put your password in like it's 2012

  • JOE
    JOE 3 months ago +1

    Using this in 2019 is some how better the updates they have given really is the cherry on top

  • XxDenizXx
    XxDenizXx 3 months ago

    Note 7 = boom

  • MattsNotBanned_
    MattsNotBanned_ 3 months ago

    "Samsung may have lacked the courage to remove the 3.5mm headphone jack"
    Haha, Linus taking stabs at Apple is the best thing ever lol

  • Paco_bl
    Paco_bl 3 months ago

    And you can record 4k 60fps with an app, no root needed

  • Dirty Asian Mafia
    Dirty Asian Mafia 3 months ago

    I wanted one of these so bad in 2017

  • mkgta
    mkgta 3 months ago

    If only we were talking about the new android 9 pie update. Split screen function is horrible now. I step up to fall down a flight of stairs

    • Idan Shilv
      Idan Shilv 3 months ago

      If you live in a supported country, You can install Good Lock from the samsung store with the Multi Star module to improve it.

  • Crimson AMV
    Crimson AMV 3 months ago

    2 years later with new software this phone is VALUE, simply 10/10 if you know how to set it up.