MacBook Air Review - The Magic is Gone

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 8, 2018
  • Dave2D review of the 2018 Apple MacBook Air.
    Laptop skins from www.dbrand.com
    XPS 13 - amzn.to/2RJirbo
    Surface Laptop 2 - amzn.to/2Duvlas
    Surface Pro 6 - amzn.to/2F9102Q
    The new Macbook Air is the cheapest laptop from Apple with the modern styling. It is also one of the best laptop for students from Apple. It has had some big improvements like a retina display and much improved hardware but the pricing isn't as attractive anymore.
    Background Music: Fili - The Break
    If you want to support the channel, consider a Dave2D membership by clicking the “Join” button above!
    Dave2D
    Dave2D
    discord.gg/Dave2D
    Purchases made from store links may give me some money.
    (It doesn’t cost you extra, so please buy everything)
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 534

  • Dave Lee
    Dave Lee  Year ago +3181

    Anyone buying this at launch? I wish SO badly it launched at $999. The device is great but the price tag just doesn't make sense for the 2018 laptop market. Thanks for watching!

    • Going Down
      Going Down 2 months ago

      Razer? I think it’s more expensive then Mac

    • FLBT
      FLBT 4 months ago

      What do you think now that it’s 1000 for students- do you think it’s the best bang for its buck

    • Akshay Manglani
      Akshay Manglani 4 months ago

      Its $999 right now with student discount on apple.com with free beats worth 350 bucks. Do you recommend this deal?

    • fangtoothtv
      fangtoothtv 4 months ago

      it’s $850 on the refurb store now, thank god

    • Lil Uzi Vish
      Lil Uzi Vish 4 months ago

      You can get this laptop now for 999

  • Lil Ramen
    Lil Ramen 6 hours ago

    Tbh for anyone getting into Apple it makes more sense to go for a used, retina MBP. I just picked up a late 2013 retina and it is so smooth (atleast with 8GB ram). They can be had for about $400 and there really is no downside if you get one in good condition. Set expectations. The dual core I5 is still really really smooth on MacOS Catalina, and the NVMe storage is probably about the same as the 2019 Macbook Air, if not then it's definitely a margin of error.

  • Cheesy Twat
    Cheesy Twat 8 days ago

    Thumbnail should be MacBook air in a bin

  • senduboy
    senduboy 12 days ago

    Can I do simple programming on this? C, c++, html?

  • Hiranmoy Ghosh
    Hiranmoy Ghosh 12 days ago

    I saw on louis Ross man's vid where he pointed out there was no heat pipe between the fan and the cpu... And watching those internals its looks like it

  • AT
    AT 12 days ago

    happy im not into that macOS. Hate that garbage and fuck apple and their overpriced products which you will pay double for cause a hair inside the machine will cost you 1200$ repair from the genius bar. Windows is just better face the truth

  • Theo S
    Theo S 23 days ago

    buy a windows laptop, hack mac os onto it, ez

  • Michael 0788
    Michael 0788 27 days ago

    I think ipad has had a really bad afffect on the mac lineup. Because Apple is pushing ipad pros as entry level computers the Air is forced up in price. If the Air was $899-999 it would sell and the ipad pro sales would be stagnant. Apple cant have that as the apps for the ipad is making way more money for Apple.

  • Nader Ibrahim
    Nader Ibrahim Month ago

    Anyone talking about the fact that fan is utterly useless, IT'S NOT ON THE HEATSINK, WHAT IS IT DOING!

    • Nader Ibrahim
      Nader Ibrahim 28 days ago

      @v1nce n7 It's not, take a look at this video for a more detailed look tvclip.biz/video/iiCBYAP_Sgg/video.html

    • v1nce n7
      v1nce n7 28 days ago +1

      No need to shoot or to get angry, the fan is on the heatpipes like in any laptop. What's your problem?

  • HorstOfDoom
    HorstOfDoom Month ago

    Ngl I love my Macbook air 2018. I don’t regret the buy

  • IRezzet
    IRezzet Month ago

    Bro I am wondering if u ever get tired of hating Apple without reasons

  • Kumar Korale
    Kumar Korale Month ago

    Knock knock
    Dave: who's there?
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    Tim Cook: Hello Again!

  • SAAD ZAHID
    SAAD ZAHID Month ago

    The fan is not even close to the CPU tho ;(

  • Pablo Ortega
    Pablo Ortega Month ago

    The fan is not on the heatsync?!

  • Lawrence Cavens
    Lawrence Cavens Month ago

    Hi David
    Just a minor warning about this particular mac book and all ready Louis Rossman has run into one - and that is there is no heat sink on the CPU... This I would say is a weak and or a bad design. This in no way would be able to handle long term video editing , and as I said before Louis Rossman has come across one - it seems that I think soon apple will start to shrink in popularity pending on there boring designs. There are better designs out there other than Apple

  • Dian Robertson
    Dian Robertson Month ago

    what hoodie is that

  • PrashBricks III
    PrashBricks III Month ago

    Oh this is the stupid laptop that louis rossman got angry about because of the heatpipes.

  • Dragoola Hopkins
    Dragoola Hopkins Month ago

    Honestly, in terms of that laptop in comparison to something like the Asus Chromebook Flip c434, they both have a Y processor, but mine is way cheaper at 560 and it runs pretty well. Sure it’s not Mac OS but that’s not a big deal to me because I have Linux apps and I have airmessage set up so I can receive texts on my chromebook and I have Linux program support so I can happily run just about everything I need.

  • Cynep
    Cynep Month ago

    The heatsink is a joke

  • Devin
    Devin Month ago +2

    Imagine paying this much money for an apple logo.

  • Jayblue873
    Jayblue873 Month ago

    If you dont want a keyboard skin go buy a usb-c keyboard then jeez.
    Im NOT a Apple worshiper, as I use windows laptops and
    other stuff not saying "apple is best and nothing is better".
    WHY WHOULD I SAY THAT?



    JUST BUY A KEYBOARD THEN.

  • Sonymnms 52
    Sonymnms 52 Month ago

    I’m still on my 2012 macbook. But fir real at this price point I have no idea why students wouldn’t just pick up a Surface Laptop instead of a macbook in 2019

  • Spiritv
    Spiritv Month ago

    Build quality not exellent the keys fall off like pieces of paper after a few weeks and dont type properly

  • Kazi VII
    Kazi VII Month ago +1

    the damn fan is sitting in the corner doing nothing. the heatsink is in the middle. retarded apple. i only use apple for iphones and ipads. pro devices not worth it.

  • Chocolate Giddyup
    Chocolate Giddyup Month ago +1

    so like why isn't the fan connected to the heat-sink...

  • Tihomir Piha
    Tihomir Piha Month ago

    You're always mentioning Mac OS vs Windows, but what about Linux? Regular ultrabook + Linux Mint = best of both worlds (except if you're working with graphics).

  • Bukan Vanessa Angel
    Bukan Vanessa Angel Month ago +1

    5:05 - 5:18 That's how Apple is able to stay alive by torturing you.

  • rondo 11
    rondo 11 2 months ago

    I got the zenbook 13 and man its great

  • Ethan D
    Ethan D 2 months ago

    when people buy a mac they're not buying for the ecosystem or the customer service or screen or whatever the hell its because of past fame and the marketing behind them so it doesn't matter how shitty a laptop they put out dumbasses are gonna buy them for top dollar

  • Nurul Erra Fazira Cheong

    I just recently switched from hp( the really old model one) to MacBook air.. I love MacBook air because of the touch id and macOS.

  • Ghassan Afara
    Ghassan Afara 2 months ago

    Should i get the 256 GB for £1169?

  • Matt Noble
    Matt Noble 2 months ago

    In Australia the base model is $1700 😬

  • Alessandro Bresci
    Alessandro Bresci 2 months ago +2

    The original Macbook air had thermal issues and throttled heavily. I know because i got it.

  • Hanxi Guo
    Hanxi Guo 2 months ago +2

    Cons:
    LPDDR3 in 2019? You serious?!?
    30W USB-C Adapter? Okay, I'm fine it's USB-C but isn't it greedy giving the customer a 30W Adapter?
    Dual-Core Core i5? Better not game (unless you are playing .io games)
    No Touchscreen and low resolution? How do you treat money Apple?
    Bluetooth 4.2?!? Your price should be lowered.
    Intel UHD 617?!? Change it to 620 next time.
    Pros:
    thunderbolt 3 port.

  • Minje Kim
    Minje Kim 3 months ago

    To be honest...i don't think that even for 999$ is worth for just a duel core laptop..

  • James Tan
    James Tan 3 months ago

    many issues with macbook now days especially the unreliable keyboard, faulty t2 chip, cable pin head bending due to usage

  • MaximoExcessum
    MaximoExcessum 3 months ago

    Apple echo system shit is so cringe

  • 陳君誌
    陳君誌 3 months ago

    螢幕亮度提升到400nt了

  • Marcos Reál
    Marcos Reál 3 months ago

    No touch screen. Say no more.

  • André Menezes
    André Menezes 3 months ago

    after over a decade of disappointment running windows machines, it is not an option for me.

    • André Menezes
      André Menezes 3 months ago

      @some anon Thanks for your effort, man!

    • some anon
      some anon 3 months ago

      @André Menezes damn,looked for about 30 mins and i cant find anyone else with this issue.
      Sorry i cant help you out

    • André Menezes
      André Menezes 3 months ago

      some anon it kept “installing” for ages and never completed the installation

    • some anon
      some anon 3 months ago

      @André Menezes what was the error.
      Though there is a problem where chips in newer macs prevent all linux useage (other than VM).

    • André Menezes
      André Menezes 3 months ago

      @some anon Last year I tried installing those on my Macbook Air from 2010, after a few attempts I just gave up

  • Bagas Setyonugroho
    Bagas Setyonugroho 3 months ago

    Good morning

  • K K
    K K 3 months ago

    Is this MacBook Air good for TVclip video editing ? Or should I go for iMac or MacBook Pro ?

    • K K
      K K 3 months ago

      @Bearza Klumpt isn't it too expensive ?

    • Bearza Klumpt
      Bearza Klumpt 3 months ago

      Go for iMac Pro. Very good for video editing 👍

  • ThatGuyJamal
    ThatGuyJamal 3 months ago +1

    Hell I still would take a 1.2$ pc vs a MacBook Air...Sorry not sorry!

  • Timeline Comics
    Timeline Comics 3 months ago

    In my country it is now at 1099 euros, worth it?

  • Lbj 23
    Lbj 23 3 months ago

    I just bought matebook d with 4x2ghz Ryzen 5 and 8gb ram and much better gpu for 600€.End of story.I dont care about Mac os, my macbook pro 2011 just died from gpu fault, I quess it isnt that premium.

  • Orpheus 010
    Orpheus 010 3 months ago

    am i the only one who hates the design of macbooks? they should take notes from Asus zenbook series, HP and Dell's xps.

  • André No Last Name
    André No Last Name 3 months ago +1

    You should update this considering the 2019 lineup.

  • nur afiqah
    nur afiqah 3 months ago

    hi im a student. i need help. do you think i should get macbook air 2018 or air 2019?

    • Malovent
      Malovent 3 months ago

      Don't get apple at all.not worth it

  • baggins1
    baggins1 4 months ago

    Trackpad, man machine interface, and OS is the candy here. Drop crazy keyboard, bump specs, replace processors with A chips, thicken up for cooling/structural integrity and they got the competition stomped again.

  • patoloco1000
    patoloco1000 4 months ago +2

    MacBooks are awful. Also, what is that nonsense about the track pad? The track pads on high end HPs are amazing, and work very well with GNU/Linux distritos.

  • Akshay Manglani
    Akshay Manglani 4 months ago +6

    Its selling for $999 on college discount at apple.com with $350 beats headphones for free. Do you recommend this deal?

    • Caleb Cook
      Caleb Cook 4 months ago

      Akshay Manglani I went with the MBP for 200 dollars more feels a lot more future proof

    • Aritro Vlogs
      Aritro Vlogs 4 months ago

      It's pretty good imo but its better to take the new baseline MBP since its quad core and performs pretty good for (I think) 100 or 200 more. That's my opinion though so take the one that makes most sense for you.

    • Car crashcentral
      Car crashcentral 4 months ago

      Akshay Manglani id take it

  • fangtoothtv
    fangtoothtv 4 months ago

    it’s 850 on the refurb store now

  • 素素
    素素 4 months ago +1

    Sorry ,but in 2019 MacBook Air refurbished 2018 only cost 830usd in hk

  • THE16THPHANTOM
    THE16THPHANTOM 4 months ago

    don't beat yourself up, your family would have landed in the apple eco system regardless.
    apple eco system is just way too perfect for normies. well played on behalf of apple.

  • Pablo Muñoz Salgado
    Pablo Muñoz Salgado 4 months ago

    Hey Dave , first of all I love your videos! Keep up the good work. However I would love that TVclip could show me your video titles in English. I’m not a native, yet I’m fluent in English, so if I see a non English title I usually skip the video since I like to watch only English-content.
    I don’t know if it is something that you control or not , but it had happened that I would not watch one of your videos because it was translated.
    Thanks !

  • Kim Graef
    Kim Graef 4 months ago

    Apple has great resale value - you can pass an 3 year old macbook to family/freinds or sell it -better than competition - and that evens out the price a bit.

  • Frans Isco
    Frans Isco 4 months ago

    I need indonesia sub titel

  • Retro YT
    Retro YT 4 months ago +6

    So, it's a dual core laptop with 128gb storage and 8gb ram for 1200$. Great 😂

  • Daniel Arcure
    Daniel Arcure 4 months ago

    Honestly I think the last gen MacBook Air is still very good. It still holds up after all these years.

  • -\ Zephyrus /-
    -\ Zephyrus /- 4 months ago +1

    Waiting to see these windows fans get pissed about macs lol. Butt hurt useless fellows