Donnie Darko - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 9, 2017
  • FACEBOOK: facebook.com/ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: twitter.com/Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann
    P.O. Box 1028
    Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44223
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Donnie Darko, starring Jake Gyllenhaal, Jena Malone, Drew Barrymore, James Duval, Beth Grant, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Patrick Swayze, Mary McDonnell, Holmes Osborne, Katharine Ross. Directed by Richard Kelly.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 2 615

  • Milan Kesić
    Milan Kesić 20 days ago

    I think that frank appearing in donnies visions isnt really frank that was shot in the eye but a product of donnies counsciousness in franks appearance (he feels guilty about killing him so he takes form of his guide) that leads him to save the world

  • ChillWeeb
    ChillWeeb 21 day ago

    This movie is just one big mindfuck

  • ChillWeeb
    ChillWeeb 21 day ago +1

    I just finished this movie I'm so confused and it's fucking crazy

    • Jay Bray
      Jay Bray 19 days ago

      ChillWeeb same dude idk what to think someone explain lmao

  • spire Outpost
    spire Outpost Month ago +1

    Hated the directors cut. Spelled every thing for you. No thought no conversation can come from it

  • The ReelDeal Film Reviews

    Awesome film; awesome score! Be afraid of the dark...

  • Wanted Scenes
    Wanted Scenes Month ago +2

    Dude,it's unbelievable that you thought about the movie almost exactly as I thought. And yes that song too.

  • Darth Potassium
    Darth Potassium Month ago

    yeah the theatrical cut was kinda fucked up sometimes because you get lost without the extra information

  • Holo Fox
    Holo Fox Month ago +1

    When mad world starts playing... *Intense feels and crying

  • Rochelle Kaake
    Rochelle Kaake Month ago

    Your review of Donnie Darko & what u think it means is by far the best one for me to have seen as far as how it helped ne to understand a few things even better too. Bc u keep it simple & intelligent & did the research of reading the book & seeing prob tons of other reviews on it. Urs was just the easiest for me to fully understand bc of knowing ur reasons y, bc they all made much more sense than many others I'd previously seen. Anyways, lol sry for the rambling, ty very much for ur excellent review of a movie that has enticed me & left me somewhat stumped for many years!!

  • gokussjdevil
    gokussjdevil 2 months ago

    Multiverse theory is a bitch

  • Jason Wolfgang
    Jason Wolfgang 2 months ago

    I honestly kept forgetting that this was shot in the 2000

  • Yaseen Mohammed
    Yaseen Mohammed 2 months ago

    Uh...Chris..........you forgot to mention that Jake co stars alongside his sister, Maggie.

  • Emily Magers
    Emily Magers 2 months ago

    That's a relief. I swear if u woulda clowned this movie

  • Aditya H.B.
    Aditya H.B. 2 months ago

    I want review of Mulholland drive..

  • Astuteous Maximus
    Astuteous Maximus 2 months ago

    This is one of those movies that you'll either consider a masterpiece or will be left wondering wtf even after your third watch. Personally, I thought they went too overboard on the intricacy of the plot. The best bit about the movie for me was the 80's setting/music along with the coming of age tone to it.

  • Lego Brick Meltdown
    Lego Brick Meltdown 3 months ago

    When you just realize it's young jake gylleenhaal

  • Sam Loomis
    Sam Loomis 3 months ago

    This film makes it's OWN kind of sense. Lost Highway and Donnie Darko are flawless masterpieces if film and they really make sense in their own way.

  • Sam Loomis
    Sam Loomis 3 months ago

    Definitely in my top 3 films ever made. So is Memento. Both are Newmarket Films.

  • Jman76
    Jman76 3 months ago

    2nd time viewing this movie and i''m still not impressed by it. I know some people LOVE this movie, not me. Good review though Chris :) I would rate it 5/10, perhaps 6/10...overrated for sure.

    • Sam Loomis
      Sam Loomis 3 months ago

      Stick with Marvel Avengers part 35 you dumb fuck

  • Diego Ramos24
    Diego Ramos24 3 months ago

    I wouldn't say the acting's good, half the time the characters deliver their lines with no emotion, they stand around really stoic, and of course some of the lines are really really bad.

  • ayy lmao
    ayy lmao 3 months ago

    Ayy

  • ayy lmao
    ayy lmao 3 months ago

    Nigga pee

  • Joseph R Deschamps
    Joseph R Deschamps 3 months ago

    “I’m not afraid anymore!!!”

  • Frankie Hamilton
    Frankie Hamilton 4 months ago

    I had to watch this movie a few times to get it's actually about time travel

  • Nate Stern
    Nate Stern 4 months ago

    I just noticed Chris's outfit

  • Jason Strom
    Jason Strom 4 months ago

    Did you say "Philosophy of time travel" is a fictional book?... Does that mean it doesn't exist?🤔

  • Alvaro Rivas
    Alvaro Rivas 4 months ago

    There was and is an interactive website that sort of tied up some lose ends and provided more info, plus the whole philosophy of time travel book

  • icec man
    icec man 4 months ago

    Notorious anyone?

  • mynameajeff
    mynameajeff 4 months ago

    I don't think there is a higher source that the people in the town are following. I believe that there are many time loops,because there is a scene in which Moore and the Physics teacher are talking about Donnie and then smiling without any context. It was as if they knew something. Also I don't like to believe in a higher power or something.

  • Jenn Dear
    Jenn Dear 4 months ago

    I can’t believe this was the director’s first movie.

  • Spidey John
    Spidey John 4 months ago +1

    I just watched Donnie Darko and I am now just trying to process what just happened and the actual meaning. But watching your review, I can kind of grasp the purpose of this movie. But ultimately will take a lot of time and rewatching to understand it more. The verdict is it is a well made movie of the 2000s but the meaning will take time to process

  • Crowded House
    Crowded House 4 months ago +1

    SPOILER: I'm still confused by the ending. Specifically, why is Donnie laughing in his sleep right beforre he dies???

    • Jenn Dear
      Jenn Dear 4 months ago

      Crowded House he knows the plan worked and the right timeline is going to happen

  • éangart vapakp
    éangart vapakp 4 months ago

    You praised it with an A+, me blessed you with a like and as a subscriber.

  • Milt Nation
    Milt Nation 4 months ago

    I just saw the full movie Donnie darko on TVclip. Thank you for the review Chris

  • C.C. 95
    C.C. 95 4 months ago

    Director's cut is an abomination. It hand-holds, and literalizes everything. Plus - it changed all the music. The music cues were perfect in the theatrical - the DC music changes the entire mood for the worse.

  • Eric Orange
    Eric Orange 5 months ago

    Trash pretentious garbage for teenagers who think it's deeper than it really it
    "You just dont get it"
    No its bad, really really bad

  • tonygreene113
    tonygreene113 5 months ago

    For Whom The Bell Tolls...

  • Ikoy De Torres
    Ikoy De Torres 5 months ago +1

    The sequel is better .

    • BNMB
      BNMB 5 months ago +1

      IKOYLEGEND 69 ew

  • Lego Fan
    Lego Fan 5 months ago +1

    Do an analysed video for this

  • AReadingSavage Ben
    AReadingSavage Ben 5 months ago

    Come home Ryan instantly sometime

  • Mon Mothma
    Mon Mothma 5 months ago

    If a movie makes you read and think because it's intriguing but you don't fully grasp it, doesn't that make the movie better, not worse...?

  • Gage Bailey
    Gage Bailey 6 months ago

    Honestly watching these videos are so depressing, I have only met one person who took it all in their first time like me and it honestly feel like an acid trip. The more literal you all try to make it honestly kills the movie, the ambiguity is what set's the tone for the viewer. Poets love this. Poe would be proud

  • Nick Paradies
    Nick Paradies 6 months ago

    This was the first movie I ever saw that made me say “huh?” and then go back again and again to try and analyze it and figure it out. I think I was around 12 when I first saw it and it’s stuck with me ever since, now it’s one of my all time favorites. In my opinion though many of tried (and Under the Skin comes close), no one has been able to replicate this movie’s brand of sci-fi weirdness. It really is one of a kind.

  • Stunn the Wombat
    Stunn the Wombat 6 months ago +1

    The first time i watched this movie was with my sister and her partner. It sparked discussions for weeks about science vs religion and the multiverse etc. Great movie that at its core has some very deep concepts and is in my top 5 movies at all times.

  • Alicethewise
    Alicethewise 6 months ago +1

    I love that movie too! Subscribing❤️

  • Necessary Distraction
    Necessary Distraction 6 months ago +2

    Your description of the first viewing of it is dead on. It is also one of my all time favortie movies. I own every dvd and bluray that has ever come out

  • SLIMGRIZZY
    SLIMGRIZZY 6 months ago +1

    I used to watch this everyday when I was in high school. Loved it

  • KOS Listed
    KOS Listed 6 months ago +4

    There's No denying the A+ on this movie.... EVER.

  • Chase McAndrew
    Chase McAndrew 6 months ago

    I’ve seen this movie many times, I don’t get it. I don’t understand the movie, I don’t understand why people like the movie. Gyllenhaal and the rest of the cast are good in it, but it’s just so bizarre and strange that I just don’t like it

  • Φραγκισκος Χαλκιαδακης

    One of the best movies ever made

  • Kim B
    Kim B 6 months ago +1

    I dint mind doing the research. It makes you think which I think is a good trope of movies. I still have theories about this story. I loved it! The music!

  • EonHSD
    EonHSD 6 months ago

    This was the movie that got me into movies.
    I watched it about 15-20 times, have it on both BluRay and DVD and everbody i get to know has to watch this movie with or without me lol

  • liza Estevez
    liza Estevez 6 months ago +1

    donnie darko and 2001 a space odyssey have the same tones that they are both cold and mind blowing when you watch it

  • Ray
    Ray 7 months ago +1

    overrated movie.

  • Autodidact Grow
    Autodidact Grow 7 months ago

    Searching out what really happened in the film is what brought me to your channel a year ago. I never thought that I would enjoy watching someone review a movie.

  • Drew Arnold
    Drew Arnold 7 months ago +1

    *cough*bunny monsters*cough*

  • Zac Spearman
    Zac Spearman 7 months ago

    Kelly wrote and directed this when he was 25/26. Wunderkind.

  • wayne smalls
    wayne smalls 8 months ago +1

    so sorry, MAD WORLD ; Gary Jules. . . peAce

  • wayne smalls
    wayne smalls 8 months ago

    why oh why is it set during the month of October, especially on or about HALLOWEEN? Tell me the true meaning of this, please. Plus, You did not even bring up the Tears 4 Fears song done by Whoever that guy is and it is one of the best scenes in the movie. Watching it now . . . peAce

  • Willy Espinoza
    Willy Espinoza 8 months ago

    This movie is confusing and makes no sense, but Im giving it an A+. OK???!?!

  • Golden Goose
    Golden Goose 8 months ago

    One question....where was donnies dad at the end? They never showed him with donnies mom and little sister in LA, and they imply hes not around at the end since donnie and older sister throw a party.

  • Golden Goose
    Golden Goose 8 months ago

    Easily my favorite film of all time

  • Xda 3500
    Xda 3500 8 months ago

    I Agreed

  • Dave Richards
    Dave Richards 8 months ago

    I remember my first viewing of dd. I rewatched it immediately. Gotta rewatch this many times over.

  • ALLinALL-Good
    ALLinALL-Good 8 months ago

    28Days6Hours42Minutes12Seconds
    𝔽𝐞𝓪𝕣-░░c|҂╥_J╥}♥░░☾⋆。░˚*ْ✧ं॰*✶░--𝕝𝓸ν𝐞

  • Arquimedes Quintero
    Arquimedes Quintero 8 months ago

    The first time I watched it I didn’t understand it but somehow felt like a liked it a lot. After watching it again and searching explanations I’ve come to love it a lot.

  • 90S Eurodance, Eurohouse and bubblegum dance songs

    i don't know how i finish watching whole movie it was boring stupid and what was that with the bunny it wasn't funny and it wasn't scary it was simply stupid like the rest of the movie. but that's just my opinion

  • Craftsman Sheng Can we get 10K Subs

    please watch a Tree of Palme

  • DiscountGeek
    DiscountGeek 9 months ago +1

    So you take the time to get deep into Donnie Darko to look through its confusing premise, but not look deep into Disney's The Lone Ranger and its themes?
    Disney may make fun straightforward movies and such, but The Lone Ranger was way more than that and you misunderstood it like how you did Donnie Darko the first time you watched it. Damn.

  • Robert Burns
    Robert Burns 9 months ago +1

    My favorite movie

  • Danny Long Legs
    Danny Long Legs 9 months ago

    :)

  • Daniel DeVito
    Daniel DeVito 9 months ago

    That movie was a COMPLETE mind f*ck... lol

  • Sam Ashkenazy
    Sam Ashkenazy 9 months ago

    I read a theory that Frank is showing Donnie a vision of what the future would bring dealing with the onset of paranoid schizophrenia. That's why at the end, it cuts to him laughing in his room because I think he's cynical about it in some ways and sees his options as a lose/lose. The whole movie takes place on the night of Oct. 2nd right before the plane falls into his room and Frank travels back in time and by doing so I think accidentally causes the plane crash(?). This theory is supported by the fact his family, friends, and therapist, are all aware he is medicated and is being diagnosed with schizophrenia.

  • HankaHail
    HankaHail 9 months ago

    Thank you so much for this review, Chris. I just watched Dannie Darko for the first time. After ending I was like: What the fuck was that? I liked it a lot, I´m not exactly sure why, but WTF? I felt like some puzzle pieces were missing and you put some of them to the right place. But as you said: I need to do my homework.

  • XanetosVolkova
    XanetosVolkova 10 months ago

    Like the review but I feel like you have to have a really high IQ to like Rick & Morty.

  • Clover Brinley
    Clover Brinley 10 months ago

    100% one of my all time favorite movies!

  • waki
    waki 10 months ago

    You didn't even understand the movie.
    Donnie Darko is a movie about the rebel that lives in each of us, and it's regrets in afterlife for the undone things. Donnie is fucking dead the whole movie, and girl doesn't even know him, but he probably saw her but never met her.

  • Sam Geuvenen
    Sam Geuvenen 10 months ago

    There is a strange paradox in this movie in that Frank is the one who saves Donnie from the jet engine, but everything he does after that is what leads to the jet engine going back in the first place. Which means that Donnie is only alive due to the actions of a time traveler, but the thing that killed him is the product of the same time travel incident, so if the only way to stop him is to go back and die... well, it is very odd

  • Jennifer Poole
    Jennifer Poole 10 months ago

    In my opinion, it’s bad. One, it got boring.
    And two, Donnie is a jerk. I don’t like his attitude and personality.
    I tried to give the movie a chance. But it’s just not good.

  • 고추빈
    고추빈 10 months ago

    So frank is one of the manipulated dead and he purposely(dont know if that word is accurate) ran over gretchen in order to get shot by donnie so he can go back in time to save donnie from the jet engine? Pls i need help

  • Gareth Jones
    Gareth Jones 10 months ago

    I'm surprised you're not bringing up Drew Barrymore phoning it in. Her acting is MISERABLE.

  • Nerd Cave
    Nerd Cave 10 months ago

    you should have analyzed it.

  • Lily Brine
    Lily Brine 10 months ago

    I bought a full fucking Donnie darko bunny suit off amazon

  • Bekah Basically
    Bekah Basically 10 months ago

    Gosh I really, really wish I liked this movie. But, I had the horrible experience of watching it when I was in a pretty bad place in my life where everything was going wrong and nothing was making sense that this movie only helped to reinforce that belief. It sounds really dumb and this was only a few years ago that this happened, but the movie honestly made me feel like a lot of stuff in life didn't matter and when the ending happens, I was mortified and for many nights couldn't sleep. This could all attest to the fact that I was contemplating certain things and it just reinforced that. I think maybe the movie is really, really good, but I wouldn't want to go back and rewatch it because I would never want to go back to that state of thought that I had previously.
    And, honestly, I don't think anyone should watch this if they are in a vulnerable place/are depressed/are thinking about suicide. These kind of films and not good to watch also if you've experienced some kind of trauma in your life. This is a warning, because it took me a long time to get over this film and, as I said, it may be a perfectly fine film on the surface. Just don't fill your head with things that you don't need.

  • Flute Løøps
    Flute Løøps 10 months ago

    I watched this movie for the first time last night, from midnight to 2 am. At the end I wanted to scream, it was literally so good. Like, I love movies like that and The Sixth Sense. It kept me awake thinking in bed for another hour.😂

  • Jetto
    Jetto 10 months ago

    Yeah like my FREN SAID.
    U will DIE n will LIVE THIS LIFE AGAIN.

  • Das Man
    Das Man 10 months ago

    xD

  • Jonathan Gibbs
    Jonathan Gibbs 10 months ago

    Hopefully someone can correct me on this position, I hated the directors cut. I saw it once and it didn't sit well with me at all. It was years and years ago, so don't ask me why I hated it, I guess (non specifically) I just didn't like what it changed from the theatrical release (which I really, really loved)

  • 4021971
    4021971 10 months ago

    Such a great movie on so many levels. It is a perfect movie if there ever was one. Richard Kelly hasn't done much since, but he really didn't need to do much after directing such an incredible movie.

  • SHAY RUTHERFORD
    SHAY RUTHERFORD 10 months ago

    Donnie Darko and Akira are those great movies that need to be researched to be appreciated completely.

  • sol woot
    sol woot 11 months ago

    The first time I saw this I loved it - so I watched it again in the same day XD

  • howdy
    howdy 11 months ago

    This movie is confusing af (in a good way)

  • ttd max
    ttd max 11 months ago +1

    I think the end of the world means the end of HIS world (him dying). when he goes back in time and purposefully lets himself be killed it's a sacrifice. he realizes that if he lets HIS world end that Gretchen won't be killed, Frank won't be killed, and his mom and sister in the plane won't be killed. he sacrifices himself, HIS world ends but Gretchen, Frank, His mom and sister are able to live. This also ties into when Donnie is in the movie theater with Gretchen and Frank and frank says "You should already know that" in response to Donnie asking "when's this gonna end" he's saying that it will end when Donnie dies. Side note, frank has the eye injury from being shot, this is a Frank from the future who comes back to lead Donnie to the right path. U also know this about frank because he says that he's sorry with no context, apologizing for Gretchens death which happens later in the future

  • Deku
    Deku 11 months ago

    "Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?"
    (It's not an offense just a quote from the movie)

  • Anirban Ghosh
    Anirban Ghosh 11 months ago

    that tee though 👌

  • Mikko Amour
    Mikko Amour 11 months ago

    i didnt find the movie confusing at all. i first saw it when i was 16, and it blew my mind. still to this day its in my top 5 all time favorite movies. lets pretend the sequel doesnt exist.

  • Nikkiboi Nanna
    Nikkiboi Nanna 11 months ago

    Frank is actually terrifying

  • Izzy Dandrea
    Izzy Dandrea 11 months ago

    Their is a theory that the people in the tangent universe are divided by the manipulated dead and the manipulated living the ones who die in the end have slightly more power than the ones that live. So, Gretchen and Frank have more consciousness than the other characters, so their actions were more deliberate. The living are subconsciously giving him hints at what he needs to do without themselves fully realizing it.

  • HMat
    HMat 11 months ago

    "...what's a fuck-ass?"

  • Matthew Knapp
    Matthew Knapp 11 months ago

    I figured this out pretty quick. When it rewound itself and it went back 28 days i thought oh it's a dream? Then i saw the director's cut...