Donnie Darko - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 796

  • Stunn the Wombat

    The first time i watched this movie was with my sister and her partner. It sparked discussions for weeks about science vs religion and the multiverse etc. Great movie that at its core has some very deep concepts and is in my top 5 movies at all times.

  • Alicethewise
    Alicethewise 2 days ago

    I love that movie too! Subscribing❤️

  • Necessary Distraction

    Your description of the first viewing of it is dead on. It is also one of my all time favortie movies. I own every dvd and bluray that has ever come out

  • SLIMGRIZZY
    SLIMGRIZZY 11 days ago

    I used to watch this everyday when I was in high school. Loved it

  • KOS Listed
    KOS Listed 11 days ago

    There's No denying the A+ on this movie.... EVER.

  • Chase McAndrew
    Chase McAndrew 11 days ago

    I’ve seen this movie many times, I don’t get it. I don’t understand the movie, I don’t understand why people like the movie. Gyllenhaal and the rest of the cast are good in it, but it’s just so bizarre and strange that I just don’t like it

  • Φραγκισκος Χαλκιαδακης

    One of the best movies ever made

  • Kim B
    Kim B 15 days ago

    I dint mind doing the research. It makes you think which I think is a good trope of movies. I still have theories about this story. I loved it! The music!

  • EonHSD
    EonHSD 20 days ago

    This was the movie that got me into movies.
    I watched it about 15-20 times, have it on both BluRay and DVD and everbody i get to know has to watch this movie with or without me lol

  • liza Estevez
    liza Estevez 20 days ago

    donnie darko and 2001 a space odyssey have the same tones that they are both cold and mind blowing when you watch it

  • Ray
    Ray 21 day ago +1

    overrated movie.

  • Autodidact Grow
    Autodidact Grow Month ago

    Searching out what really happened in the film is what brought me to your channel a year ago. I never thought that I would enjoy watching someone review a movie.

  • Drew Arnold
    Drew Arnold Month ago

    *cough*bunny monsters*cough*

  • Zac Spearman
    Zac Spearman Month ago

    Kelly wrote and directed this when he was 25/26. Wunderkind.

  • wayne smalls
    wayne smalls Month ago

    so sorry, MAD WORLD ; Gary Jules. . . peAce

  • wayne smalls
    wayne smalls Month ago

    why oh why is it set during the month of October, especially on or about HALLOWEEN? Tell me the true meaning of this, please. Plus, You did not even bring up the Tears 4 Fears song done by Whoever that guy is and it is one of the best scenes in the movie. Watching it now . . . peAce

  • Willy Espinoza
    Willy Espinoza Month ago

    This movie is confusing and makes no sense, but Im giving it an A+. OK???!?!

  • Golden Goose
    Golden Goose Month ago

    One question....where was donnies dad at the end? They never showed him with donnies mom and little sister in LA, and they imply hes not around at the end since donnie and older sister throw a party.

  • Golden Goose
    Golden Goose Month ago

    Easily my favorite film of all time

  • Xda 3500
    Xda 3500 Month ago

    I Agreed

  • Dave Richards
    Dave Richards Month ago

    I remember my first viewing of dd. I rewatched it immediately. Gotta rewatch this many times over.

  • ALLinALL-Good
    ALLinALL-Good Month ago

    28Days6Hours42Minutes12Seconds
    𝔽𝐞𝓪𝕣-░░c|҂╥_J╥}♥░░☾⋆。░˚*ْ✧ं॰*✶░--𝕝𝓸ν𝐞

  • Arquimedes Quintero
    Arquimedes Quintero 2 months ago

    The first time I watched it I didn’t understand it but somehow felt like a liked it a lot. After watching it again and searching explanations I’ve come to love it a lot.

  • 90S Eurodance, Eurohouse and bubblegum dance songs

    i don't know how i finish watching whole movie it was boring stupid and what was that with the bunny it wasn't funny and it wasn't scary it was simply stupid like the rest of the movie. but that's just my opinion

  • Craftsman Sheng Can we get 10K Subs

    please watch a Tree of Palme

  • DiscountGeek
    DiscountGeek 2 months ago

    So you take the time to get deep into Donnie Darko to look through its confusing premise, but not look deep into Disney's The Lone Ranger and its themes?
    Disney may make fun straightforward movies and such, but The Lone Ranger was way more than that and you misunderstood it like how you did Donnie Darko the first time you watched it. Damn.

  • Robert Burns
    Robert Burns 2 months ago

    My favorite movie

  • Danny Long Legs
    Danny Long Legs 2 months ago

    :)

  • Daniel DeVito
    Daniel DeVito 2 months ago

    That movie was a COMPLETE mind f*ck... lol

  • Sam Ashkenazy
    Sam Ashkenazy 3 months ago

    I read a theory that Frank is showing Donnie a vision of what the future would bring dealing with the onset of paranoid schizophrenia. That's why at the end, it cuts to him laughing in his room because I think he's cynical about it in some ways and sees his options as a lose/lose. The whole movie takes place on the night of Oct. 2nd right before the plane falls into his room and Frank travels back in time and by doing so I think accidentally causes the plane crash(?). This theory is supported by the fact his family, friends, and therapist, are all aware he is medicated and is being diagnosed with schizophrenia.

  • drew downs
    drew downs 3 months ago +1

    chut up!

  • HankaHail
    HankaHail 3 months ago

    Thank you so much for this review, Chris. I just watched Dannie Darko for the first time. After ending I was like: What the fuck was that? I liked it a lot, I´m not exactly sure why, but WTF? I felt like some puzzle pieces were missing and you put some of them to the right place. But as you said: I need to do my homework.

  • XanetosVolkova
    XanetosVolkova 3 months ago

    Like the review but I feel like you have to have a really high IQ to like Rick & Morty.

  • Clover Brinley
    Clover Brinley 3 months ago

    100% one of my all time favorite movies!

  • waki
    waki 3 months ago

    You didn't even understand the movie.
    Donnie Darko is a movie about the rebel that lives in each of us, and it's regrets in afterlife for the undone things. Donnie is fucking dead the whole movie, and girl doesn't even know him, but he probably saw her but never met her.

  • Sam Geuvenen
    Sam Geuvenen 3 months ago

    There is a strange paradox in this movie in that Frank is the one who saves Donnie from the jet engine, but everything he does after that is what leads to the jet engine going back in the first place. Which means that Donnie is only alive due to the actions of a time traveler, but the thing that killed him is the product of the same time travel incident, so if the only way to stop him is to go back and die... well, it is very odd

  • Jennifer Poole
    Jennifer Poole 3 months ago

    In my opinion, it’s bad. One, it got boring.
    And two, Donnie is a jerk. I don’t like his attitude and personality.
    I tried to give the movie a chance. But it’s just not good.

  • 고추빈
    고추빈 4 months ago

    So frank is one of the manipulated dead and he purposely(dont know if that word is accurate) ran over gretchen in order to get shot by donnie so he can go back in time to save donnie from the jet engine? Pls i need help

  • Gareth Jones
    Gareth Jones 4 months ago

    I'm surprised you're not bringing up Drew Barrymore phoning it in. Her acting is MISERABLE.

  • Nerd Cave
    Nerd Cave 4 months ago

    you should have analyzed it.

  • Lily Brine
    Lily Brine 4 months ago

    I bought a full fucking Donnie darko bunny suit off amazon

  • Bekah Basically
    Bekah Basically 4 months ago

    Gosh I really, really wish I liked this movie. But, I had the horrible experience of watching it when I was in a pretty bad place in my life where everything was going wrong and nothing was making sense that this movie only helped to reinforce that belief. It sounds really dumb and this was only a few years ago that this happened, but the movie honestly made me feel like a lot of stuff in life didn't matter and when the ending happens, I was mortified and for many nights couldn't sleep. This could all attest to the fact that I was contemplating certain things and it just reinforced that. I think maybe the movie is really, really good, but I wouldn't want to go back and rewatch it because I would never want to go back to that state of thought that I had previously.
    And, honestly, I don't think anyone should watch this if they are in a vulnerable place/are depressed/are thinking about suicide. These kind of films and not good to watch also if you've experienced some kind of trauma in your life. This is a warning, because it took me a long time to get over this film and, as I said, it may be a perfectly fine film on the surface. Just don't fill your head with things that you don't need.

  • Flute Løøps
    Flute Løøps 4 months ago

    I watched this movie for the first time last night, from midnight to 2 am. At the end I wanted to scream, it was literally so good. Like, I love movies like that and The Sixth Sense. It kept me awake thinking in bed for another hour.😂

  • Jetto
    Jetto 4 months ago

    Yeah like my FREN SAID.
    U will DIE n will LIVE THIS LIFE AGAIN.

  • Das Man
    Das Man 4 months ago

    xD

  • Jonathan Gibbs
    Jonathan Gibbs 4 months ago

    Hopefully someone can correct me on this position, I hated the directors cut. I saw it once and it didn't sit well with me at all. It was years and years ago, so don't ask me why I hated it, I guess (non specifically) I just didn't like what it changed from the theatrical release (which I really, really loved)

  • 4021971
    4021971 4 months ago

    Such a great movie on so many levels. It is a perfect movie if there ever was one. Richard Kelly hasn't done much since, but he really didn't need to do much after directing such an incredible movie.

  • SHAY RUTHERFORD
    SHAY RUTHERFORD 4 months ago

    Donnie Darko and Akira are those great movies that need to be researched to be appreciated completely.

  • sol woot
    sol woot 4 months ago

    The first time I saw this I loved it - so I watched it again in the same day XD

  • WHO?!
    WHO?! 4 months ago

    This movie is confusing af (in a good way)

  • firestarter maxu
    firestarter maxu 5 months ago

    I think the end of the world means the end of HIS world (him dying). when he goes back in time and purposefully lets himself be killed it's a sacrifice. he realizes that if he lets HIS world end that Gretchen won't be killed, Frank won't be killed, and his mom and sister in the plane won't be killed. he sacrifices himself, HIS world ends but Gretchen, Frank, His mom and sister are able to live. This also ties into when Donnie is in the movie theater with Gretchen and Frank and frank says "You should already know that" in response to Donnie asking "when's this gonna end" he's saying that it will end when Donnie dies. Side note, frank has the eye injury from being shot, this is a Frank from the future who comes back to lead Donnie to the right path. U also know this about frank because he says that he's sorry with no context, apologizing for Gretchens death which happens later in the future

  • Deku Boi
    Deku Boi 5 months ago

    "Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?"
    (It's not an offense just a quote from the movie)

  • Anirban Ghosh
    Anirban Ghosh 5 months ago

    that tee though 👌

  • Mikko Amour
    Mikko Amour 5 months ago

    i didnt find the movie confusing at all. i first saw it when i was 16, and it blew my mind. still to this day its in my top 5 all time favorite movies. lets pretend the sequel doesnt exist.

  • Nikkiboi Nanna
    Nikkiboi Nanna 5 months ago

    Frank is actually terrifying

  • Izzy Dandrea
    Izzy Dandrea 5 months ago

    Their is a theory that the people in the tangent universe are divided by the manipulated dead and the manipulated living the ones who die in the end have slightly more power than the ones that live. So, Gretchen and Frank have more consciousness than the other characters, so their actions were more deliberate. The living are subconsciously giving him hints at what he needs to do without themselves fully realizing it.

  • HMat
    HMat 5 months ago

    "...what's a fuck-ass?"

  • Optimatt Prime
    Optimatt Prime 5 months ago

    I figured this out pretty quick. When it rewound itself and it went back 28 days i thought oh it's a dream? Then i saw the director's cut...

  • The Sabluke
    The Sabluke 5 months ago

    Chris looks stoned in the thumbnail

  • WiredMonk
    WiredMonk 5 months ago

    I think it's a process of internal manipulation modified by mental health issues and/or substances. He obviously sees the wrongs in his immediate environment but feels powerless. His entire experience is a fantasy that gives his life meaning while giving him an excuse to die unselfishly.
    It's about suicide. It's an acid trip into the mind of a broken child who sees his death as his destiny, but he needs to provide value to the events leading up to it. The jet engine is a metaphorical snapping point.
    The dreams in which I'm dying are the best I've ever had. Time travel, coercive insider teachers, a funny, one-eyed bunny, his love dies almost immediately after the love scene. He shoots Frank.
    The entire movie is a schizophrenic fantasy. His family is devistated at the end, but the gunshot was not to Frank's eye, it was to his own. The engine is a construct.

  • therewasanellie
    therewasanellie 5 months ago

    I watched the movie just now before watching this video... and I loved it on first watch! I can already tell it’s gonna be one of those movies that I get people to watch to try to get them to ~appreciate~ film more

  • Nicholas Spinner
    Nicholas Spinner 5 months ago

    So wait.... On the time travel bit, in the last scene Gretchen and the neighborhood kid waved to Donnie's mom. And there are these wierd cuts back and forth that seem to parallel/juxtapose the two kids and the adults. Does that mean that Gretchen and the neighborhood kid grow up to be Donnie's mom and dad, thus keeping all of this contained within one loop?

  • Reily K.
    Reily K. 6 months ago

    This movie and Twin Peaks are the two things that pretty much combine to make one of my favorite games of all time, gotta love it

  • Johnathan McKay Railfan

    You live close to me I assume

  • pateralus9
    pateralus9 6 months ago

    Chut up!

  • pateralus9
    pateralus9 6 months ago

    Also, reading what's available of The Philosophy of Time Travel helps to understand the story immensely (it's a quick, short read). You can find it online pretty easily. Thank you, Donnie, for saving the universe!

  • pateralus9
    pateralus9 6 months ago

    I've loved Donnie Darko since I first saw it in college in 2002. I was studying music at the time so I learned how to play many of the piano parts from the score, and I even burned my own CD and was able to fit the entire score and all of the soundtrack onto it.
    I'm glad to hear it's one of your favorite movies, Chris, because it seems that our tastes align very closely across almost all genres. Maybe it's because were both from Ohio, haha.
    Anyway, great job as always; I love your videos and will keep watching as long as you keep making them!

  • Zahni Gulbronson
    Zahni Gulbronson 7 months ago

    takes place in the matrix universe?

  • Troels Lychau
    Troels Lychau 7 months ago

    This is one of the movies I don't quite get. It was confusing and strange for the majority of the runtime. I did not like it, I would give it a C-

  • Nour Mourad
    Nour Mourad 7 months ago +1

    Donnie Darko is the worst.

  • Skabanis Malaka
    Skabanis Malaka 7 months ago

    I read somewhere back then cause of 9/11 it bombed in the theaters cause of the airplane engine fell...also there was a fantastic website that you had to open gates and levels to figure out the movie...like it was real world

  • Samuel Higdon
    Samuel Higdon 7 months ago

    I've seen DD multiple times and understand the film, but I can't get over how pretentious it is

  • Maja Ahmetovic
    Maja Ahmetovic 7 months ago

    I am 13 and this movie is movie favorite movie ever.

  • Absolut Veidt
    Absolut Veidt 7 months ago +2

    For me, its a Masterpiece.

  • Anthony Woodhouse
    Anthony Woodhouse 7 months ago

    So basically Chris still doesn’t understand this film

  • MicarSolaris
    MicarSolaris 7 months ago +1

    This reminds me of the anime Steins;Gate.

  • Pierce Markusic
    Pierce Markusic 7 months ago

    Frank manifested himself into the real image of Frank (the teenager) because the entity that drives Donnie knew that Frank would be shot in the eye. What's also crazy is Donnie stabs Franks eye before he shoots the real Frank, so when frank reveals his face in the theater you get the see what Donnie will eventually do. Fucking amazing movie...

  • Nexus truereality
    Nexus truereality 7 months ago

    Yo dude, Chris you're weird. Why would anyone sit and listen to the music manipulated living from that sound track. It's dark, foreboding and evil. It's intense and definitely not danceable.

  • Joey Stalone
    Joey Stalone 8 months ago

    One of my personal favourite films, great review

  • kimmyfreak200
    kimmyfreak200 8 months ago

    my movie list when i needed a good comfort movie: Memento, mulholland dr. Donnie Darko, green mile, Fight club, boondock saints, strange days.. old movies.. bring back the 90s and early 2000's

  • kimmyfreak200
    kimmyfreak200 8 months ago

    tsk sometimes I doubt your commitment to sparkle motion

  • NAKUL BAM
    NAKUL BAM 8 months ago

    I think I feel very proud of how much I understood this movie after you told me what you thought about it after watching the first time 😂😂😂

  • TheAussieAU
    TheAussieAU 8 months ago

    I’m glad I watched this with friends ( one of them had seen it already ) because i don’t always listen to small bits of conversation. Which, in this movie has a lot of important small bits of conversation.

  • komal
    komal 8 months ago

    This movie to me feels alot like the game life is strange.

  • PhobosDynami
    PhobosDynami 8 months ago

    I've always thought of this as a love movie. The world isn't going to end in the grand sense. It means Gretchen is going to die and by the end of the movie he knows how to save her. He has to stay there and get killed. And he knows everyone will be alright without him around.

  • Phil S
    Phil S 8 months ago

    Same shrink from Split! :O I think...! Lol

  • PivotShorts
    PivotShorts 8 months ago

    From a single viewing, I thought it was about Donnie coming to terms with his own death. That he created this separate storyline to prove to himself that his death is the best outcome. Following the themes of destiny and a predecided paths of life, convincing himself that his path would lead him to do more harm than good. But yeah sure, if the tangent universe thing is recognized by the director, I'll buy it.

  • Hugh Mungus
    Hugh Mungus 8 months ago +1

    Now review S. Darko lmao

  • g mont
    g mont 8 months ago

    I literally just found out that Patrick Swayze died 9 years ago. My mind is blown.

  • Moravian Lion
    Moravian Lion 8 months ago

    One question: How the hell you can get funding for film like this?!

  • CaRnAgE_4_Justin
    CaRnAgE_4_Justin 8 months ago

    I totally agree with your theory thank you for breaking it down Chris! Awesome

  • CaRnAgE_4_Justin
    CaRnAgE_4_Justin 8 months ago

    I actually appreciated the fact that you have to do a little research after watch the film to fully grasp....why you ask? Because what other films really do that or have done that in the past. It makes it a unique film and keeps you thinking about it days after watching it. That is what a great film can do to a individual. Great review man

  • darnell harvey
    darnell harvey 8 months ago

    Donnie Darko is trash... A+ my ass

  • StarDust
    StarDust 8 months ago

    I watched this and kind of loved it, even though I didn't fully understand it. My mum hates movies that are ambiguous, so she said it sucked:P

  • ReeLoy Kenjins
    ReeLoy Kenjins 8 months ago

    The role I want to remember Patrick Swayze for the most.

  • Banehogg
    Banehogg 8 months ago

    This movie changed my life!

  • BlackWing
    BlackWing 8 months ago

    lol when you said "Chips Review" i literally thought of someone who reviews Chips (the snack).

  • Samuel Kuhle
    Samuel Kuhle 8 months ago

    Frank was here went to get beer

  • Phatom Nerd
    Phatom Nerd 8 months ago

    finally watched this movie on netflix yesterday and ive already started watching theories and i still plan to watch it again and eventually get the directors cut because i really enjoyed it on first viewing

  • white like cocaine
    white like cocaine 8 months ago

    Best video ever however, I wish u would've brought up the old lady who goes back and forth to her mailbox all day waiting for a letter. She was a huge part In the movie