Ready Or Not - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 20, 2019
  • A new bride plays a deadly game of hide & seek with her new inlaws. Here's my review of READY OR NOT!
    #ReadyOrNot
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 205

  • Ka Hei Wong
    Ka Hei Wong 8 hours ago

    I know Samara from Ash vs Evil Dead and music video Attention by Charlie Puth

  • Namukolo Siyumbwa

    LOVED Adam Brody. He was the only redemption in the family.

  • Kenneth Dillard
    Kenneth Dillard 4 days ago

    It was a good movie...until the last five minutes when it went for a safe ending (the standard horror movie trope) as opposed to keeping the twist it had introduced just minutes before. Had the movie stuck the ending, it would easily be a 9/10. As it is now, the ending drags it down to 6/10.

  • Kunisake
    Kunisake 7 days ago

    I liked it a lot. The ending through me for a loop, though. It's when *spoiler alert.* But overall, a pretty good movie. I will be buying it at some point in the future

    When it turns out that everyone dies because they failed to kill Grace. Even Alex dies. To be fair, he pretty much deserved it because he turned into an ass in the last minute. But for most of the movie, it felt kinda realistic. Then this guy's spirit actually appears and blows up the family

  • Vits Vicente Torres
    Vits Vicente Torres 8 days ago

    Characters cursing isn't automatically funny. It depends on the delivery and context. There has to be an actual joke. READY OR NOT only falls into this trap occassionally. For the most part, it's a funny movie, as well as a thrilling one. However, the way GRACE (the protagonist) stops feeling... well, anything when seeing a person die (whether she witnesses it or she kills in self-defense) feels rushed.

    7/10


    *Spoilers ahead
    !*


    The reason why the LE DOMAS (GRACE's in-laws) are trying to kill her on her wedding night is because of a family tradition. They think that if they don't murder her, they'll die the next day. It turns out there were right. It's one of the many moments where the movie cleverly catches the viewer off-guard, because there weren't any supernatural elements before and because we've seen many fictional cults be wrong about this kind of thing. Unfortunately, there was more material to be explored. The revelation opens up a debate. Were the in-laws justified, since they were saving their own lives? Or is there no excuse in a situation like this unless there's evidence? Instead, the movie pretty much ends when they die. How disappointing. Early on, there's a point where GRACE manages to get out to the road. She tries to stop a car, but it drives away. I get that she's angry about this, but must she scream at them, thereby making it easier to get caught? And must her insults consist of heavy-handed social commentary? The only one who tries to help GRACE & ALEX (her husband) is DANIEL (the latter's brother). He puts something inside a drink and the LE DOMAS vomit blood. TONY (the father) asks what it is and DANIEL describes the bottle he found in the kitchen. TONY figures out the kind of chemical that it is (a non-deadly one). Why didn't DANIEL let them believe it was poison? I doubt they would've continued the chase if they thought they were going to die in a matter of seconds.

  • Brandon Westbrook
    Brandon Westbrook 8 days ago

    I loved it and thought Sam Weaving was Beyond sexy af in it. Good flick. 9/10, for me

  • Kareem Elshaarawi
    Kareem Elshaarawi 9 days ago

    I feel like Samara Weavings character in this movie was her before she became Bee in The Babysitter. Makes sense with the whole satanic cult thing. Jermey, you should watch The Babysitter!

  • Miello007
    Miello007 10 days ago

    Yo Jeremy is it just me or could this movie have been a Prequel to the Babysitter your thoughts.

  • Beach Bum
    Beach Bum 11 days ago

    Just seen this, fantastic movie 👍👏👏👏😁

  • James McDonough
    James McDonough 11 days ago

    Samara was in The Babysitter on netflix. Great horror comedy.

  • Carissa Lutton
    Carissa Lutton 13 days ago

    Just watched this finally, I thought it was amazing. The lead actresses similarity to Margot Robbie got me thinking, it could be a good origin story for how Harley Quinn become insane.

    • iWillRateYou
      iWillRateYou 6 days ago

      Harley has one it was just not told right

  • wawa
    wawa 13 days ago

    Props to Adam Brody for making this movie even that more better. I fucking love unexpected heroes.

  • Brew Dogg
    Brew Dogg 14 days ago

    Finally saw this I loved it so much annoyed that the trailer was portrayed it as a full on horror I just found it funny

  • Sun BurnR
    Sun BurnR 14 days ago

    Hugo Weaving's niece. The Babysitter is another great movie of hers.

  • Defcat
    Defcat 16 days ago +1

    I absolutely loved this movie... it was so out there and it worked, and it was fresh.

  • Robert Tiano
    Robert Tiano 17 days ago

    She is in the babysitter on Netflix btw

  • Sniff Heinkel
    Sniff Heinkel 17 days ago

    I just watched it. Its killer. pun intended.

  • E 1
    E 1 20 days ago

    Was fortunate enough to watch it before the trailer,HIGH FIVEE

  • conot veron
    conot veron 20 days ago

    Loved it well worth watching

  • Ben Sebastian
    Ben Sebastian 21 day ago +1

    Mid way through, i predicted this movie would have a Cabin In The Woods type of twist...


    And it did.... Wasn't disappointed. Movie was awesome!

    • Felix Chan
      Felix Chan 17 days ago

      I wish that there were more movies like this.

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 21 day ago

    Fun times this was more funny then any recent comedy in years

  • NoX#
    NoX# 22 days ago

    I enjoyed this quite a bit actually... the ending was fucking bloody as fuck! :D Loved it. The acting was amazing from everybody and overall the story was interesting and I didn't expect myself to laugh this much... There were seriously some funny ass scenes. Overall , I would give this flick a solid 8/10.

  • Brian Dominguez
    Brian Dominguez 22 days ago

    Idk, wasn't feeling Samara Weavings writing, lost it for me in scenes
    where she tries to be funny. Cool story and great acting for the most
    part but Weavings acting made it feel like another run of the mill Teen
    Movie. I'm confused as to why it has such good ratings. Nothing against
    Samara, loved her in The Babysitter.

  • Brian Dominguez
    Brian Dominguez 22 days ago

    Idk, wasn't feeling Samara Weavings writing, lost it for me in scenes
    where she tries to be funny. Cool story and great acting for the most
    part but Weavings acting made it feel like another run of the mill Teen
    Movie. I'm confused as to why it has such good ratings. Nothing against
    Samara, loved her in The Babysitter.

  • Akshay Jumani
    Akshay Jumani 22 days ago

    I watched this movie just now, skipped the trailer. Absolutely loved it. It was hysterical, gory and intense. Samara Weaving absolutely nailed it, her screaming was intense, and the way she said "fuck" was hilarious.

  • davidson louis
    davidson louis 22 days ago

    I agree Daniel was amazing

  • Lisa Tried 17
    Lisa Tried 17 23 days ago

    She's the girl from Charlie Puth's music video who just wants attention. But I first saw her in the movie the babysitter though and I liked her a lot, she's a good actress and her face, her eyes is very beautiful to look at, no homo.

  • robk1990
    robk1990 25 days ago

    Just walked out of this, it’s absolutely hilarious. It goes in a direction I wasn’t expecting & the ending had a twist that I didn’t expect it to go, still had me laughing. Highly recommend this one

  • Bret Casey
    Bret Casey Month ago

    Just make the rating "worth buying" and call it good. And Awesomtacular basically means "worth buying the movie and merch". That's how I see the top tier of your rating system in a nutshell.

  • Blade Leo
    Blade Leo Month ago

    The girl in this movie is from a tv show called home and away here in Australia. My mum watches it a lot, and when I was walking by the TV. I said to my mum "wow, her eyes are beautiful, I bet hollywood will pick her up like they did chris hemsworth" so yeah it's no surprise you find her eyes gorgeous lol

  • Paul Negrean
    Paul Negrean 2 months ago

    are her eyes cgi? :D just saw the film finally and wow loved it :)

  • 12pable34
    12pable34 2 months ago

    Dude samara weaving is awesome. You ghouls check out the babysitter. She carries that movie

  • Ben smith
    Ben smith 2 months ago

    Right you've convinced me to go see it tonight.

  • Bill Lozier
    Bill Lozier 2 months ago

    This movie was terrific!

  • theMartian93
    theMartian93 2 months ago

    Congrats on upgrading to the 4K club!!

  • CaptCooldude
    CaptCooldude 2 months ago

    So wait, what shtick is he talking about? I’m not quite sure. Loved this movie tho!

    • LazerTK
      LazerTK 2 months ago

      It's the dying maids probably

  • Ankit Das
    Ankit Das 2 months ago

    She looks like Margot Robbies younger sister. The kind of chick you want to take home to meet your family..but they get distracted by Margot Robbie whenever she walks into the room.

  • Taylor Moore
    Taylor Moore 3 months ago

    Finally saw this film. Loved it! I have some issues with the last 10 minutes but I’ll still buy it on DVD.

  • salbeh99
    salbeh99 3 months ago

    Unexpectedly it turns out one of the best movies of 2019,better than the boring Tarantino shit

  • Abranth Srivatsav Dayal

    I was hoping Jeremy would review control by remedy games for PS4. Someone really needs to talk about the frame rate drop .

  • Laughing at Nothing
    Laughing at Nothing 3 months ago

    This the closest a movie came close to the tone of a good Friday the 13th movie.

  • wale adenii
    wale adenii 3 months ago

    The girl should have died, it would have made sense for me. Just a lot of unrealistic escapes😑😒

  • Bobby Digital
    Bobby Digital 3 months ago

    Samara weaving was great in Ash vs Evil dead

  • Mushie Dude
    Mushie Dude 3 months ago +2

    Adam Brody was amazing in this. Wish I could see him in some great lead roles in the future.

  • Derron
    Derron 3 months ago

    5 stars.

  • Joh Mai
    Joh Mai 3 months ago

    first saw Samara weaving in Ash vs the Evil Dead tv series i love her

  • ℳ.
    ℳ. 3 months ago

    Totes agree! This movie was an absolute joy to watch

  • Hector Arredondo
    Hector Arredondo 3 months ago

    So how do they have kids if they kill every new member

    • Hector Arredondo
      Hector Arredondo 3 months ago

      Veronica Baranowski I know that’s why I’m asking

    • Veronica Baranowski
      Veronica Baranowski 3 months ago

      Hector Arredondo it’s for people who marry into the family, not born.

  • scampoli25
    scampoli25 3 months ago

    During the intro music, does anybody else go "Dir Derr Dur Dur Jeremy Jahns" Just me? Okay cool

  • Anthony Jordan
    Anthony Jordan 3 months ago

    Yes please up grade the rating. I made a comment on that before because one you go 4K there is no going back

  • thandinkosi simakade
    thandinkosi simakade 3 months ago

    The movie has no direction ,seeing the trailer is like seeing the movie🤷🤦the movie suck

  • TheYoungGun
    TheYoungGun 3 months ago +1

    Fkn love Adam Brody in everything but he was especially great in this one!

  • Brandon Gabriel
    Brandon Gabriel 3 months ago

    I dead ass watched this trailer a couple of times and had no idea it wasn't Margot robbie.

  • Juggernaut 333
    Juggernaut 333 3 months ago

    Discount Margot Robbie

  • Isaac Alonzo
    Isaac Alonzo 3 months ago

    Totally loved the premise and the humor was on point and of course loved the ending. Didn't see that ending coming at all!

  • hello
    hello 3 months ago

    This movie was awesome

  • G from Every Other Weekend

    I thought this was fantastic

  • AndyHasFeet
    AndyHasFeet 3 months ago

    "oh shit! granny is taking the battle axe to Grace, aaaand okeedokee, nevermind. crisis averted."

  • Gas Mask
    Gas Mask 3 months ago

    You haven't seen The Babysitter? Check out Netflix. You should review it, it's quite good.

  • The LoboGamer
    The LoboGamer 3 months ago

    Jeremy definitely watch the babysitter on netflix and mayhem with her. She is awesome. Samara weaving.