Crazy Rich Asians - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 767

  • Akhil Muraleedhar

    "Lifestyle Porno"

  • 501
    501 10 hours ago

    I JUST watched this on RedBox. Totally worth buying on Blu Ray. Just sayin'

  • Blender Mix
    Blender Mix 15 hours ago

    Can you please tell me if you think a straight man would like this movie? No worries if you have absolutely no idea.

  • Mario Lanzas
    Mario Lanzas 7 days ago

    it´s just a long Singapore turism reclaim in the form of the typical romantic comedy. the same archetypical characters, the same clichés... absolutely predictable

  • india atkin
    india atkin 12 days ago

    white people in this film are waiters and bikini models that get money thrown at them. no lines
    there are a total of 2 brown people, both wearing turbans and are the butt of jokes about savagery. no lines
    there are no black people. just none.

  • dangertomarketing
    dangertomarketing 19 days ago

    Lived in Singapore for the five years. Wonderful country and wonderful people. Progressive as heck - don't understand all the hate the city/country is getting... take a look at surrounding cities... or actually all the developed cities within 10 degrees of equator across the globe, and tell me which city is better to visit or to live? As far as prices go, yes you will not own a car, but that's why public transportation is affordable. For 20 years of my life I had a car, didn't thought about owning a car in Singapore one minute. As far as rents go, they're quite ok given what you get for (every condo has a pool and a gym, shared facilities are mostly great)... but then agaain, all the materialistic aspects fade away when you talk and work with Singaporeans - worked on fund projects out of NUS / NTU / Nanyang Poly. No wonder why GRAB ate Uber for breakfast. How's 10Gbps Internet for 80 USD makes you feel?

  • Felicity Smoak and Will Graham fan

    I think you wouldn't understand the impact of it and how monumental the fact that a movie like this being made meant to Asian people like me. I cried and cheered for it, not because of the plot, cause I have seen all that, but because I saw my culture being represented in Hollywood.

  • Pixel Chanthapanya
    Pixel Chanthapanya Month ago

    The wedding scene got me crying 😭😭😭 I loved it

  • le stabby
    le stabby Month ago

    honestly such an overrated movie. it just played the race card and suddenly its a "good" movie. it could have easily been of any other cultures and the movie would still be the same. wasted potential especially making the cast more "Singaporean" by making them talk in "Slangs" because yup obv everyone talks like that in sg. though there were some good things in the movie, still wished it was better

  • irshadi3
    irshadi3 Month ago

    Can u review the puisher please

  • Potatojerk
    Potatojerk Month ago

    Agree the trailer did not do the movie justice, only reason we wanted to see the movie was to see what all the hype was about. Check out our opinion in our review :)

  • Fluorescent Adolescent Nihilist

    I have to thank this movie as I got my first handjob in it because it was so boring. Thank you🙏🏻

  • kemuael
    kemuael Month ago

    I'll pass

  • Joshua
    Joshua Month ago

    That intro was deep af

  • adeline dinda
    adeline dinda 2 months ago

    As asian myself, what really struck me is that a lot of the cultural reference and family relationship is pretty spot on. But personally the story itself is not that interesting and a bit flat. Good, but not great.

  • Raven Darkholme
    Raven Darkholme 2 months ago

    Haven't seen the movie yet, but I definitely will soon since I'm happy Hollywood is finally using Asian actors. I watch a lot of k dramas and some Korean movies, as well as Japanese anime so I know there are many truly talented Asian actors. By the way, Jeremy you should review 'A werewolf boy' if you ever get the chance, I was shocked at how good it is. It's so different from western adaptations of the werewolf genre. It's a Korean movie that came out in 2012 that left me sobbing by the end of it and thinking about the movie for like 30 minutes after it had already ended. I was so impressed that Koreans could make such heartfelt entertainment. For me it's as good as Super 8, The book theif and X + Y which are all incredible western movies.

  • Connor Moore
    Connor Moore 2 months ago

    I like you Jeremy but you are wrong about The Beatles all u need is love its not about a love between two people its about a universal sense of it which connects us all there's two paths in life love or fear and always choose love

  • Niall Sheridan
    Niall Sheridan 2 months ago

    Oh the Actress who plays the mother in Fresh Off The Boat is in it is movie isn't for me she good in the show though

  • time engineer
    time engineer 2 months ago

    This isn't something I'd normally watch.. but I did.. and it's a lovely movie with funny moments. A good script and great performances really make this one of the better "romantic comedies" . Recommended. :-)

  • shirley ma
    shirley ma 2 months ago

    Would not see sequel.

  • shirley ma
    shirley ma 2 months ago

    Didn't like it.

  • William Lozier
    William Lozier 2 months ago

    How come Jeremy did not review MPR trailer?

  • Arslan Malik
    Arslan Malik 2 months ago

    1:26

  • linda i’m not listening

    i read the book (yeah it’s based on a book idk if some people know that but yeah) and i felt like it was one of those movies that basically is made for the people who read the book who pretty much already know what’s gonna happen, and usually i’m a snob about this but honestly i was super selfish going in, not caring about people who may be confused.

  • Shawn Macdonald
    Shawn Macdonald 2 months ago

    Asians, blacks, whites, some kind of off shade color you don't recogize, a rom-com needs some kind of cynical edge for me to see it. To be fair, I need it to be like As good as it gets with Jack Nickelson type of funny, or I don't give a shit.

  • Hey, We’re Interesting!

    The sequel will most likely be based off of the events of China Rich Girlfriend, which takes place about 2 years after the vents in Crazy Rich Asians. It will revolve around Rachel wanting to know who her father was. When Eleanor Young visits them at their wedding, She tells them about how she thinks that she’s found her father, based off of a chance encounter with Carlton Bao, who, in her words, is: “the spitting image of Rachel Chu” Carlton turns out to be her step-brother, and she is immediately drawn into the crazy world of people who aren’t just crazy rich.... Their China Rich💰💳.
    Carlton’s girlfriend, Colette Bing, is good friend with Rachel, until she discovers that Colette wanted the money that Carlton would inherit because her parents cut her off. Her personal assistant poisons Rachel in an attempt to get her to leave China, even using products from Carlton’s Mothers’ pharmaceutical company to pin the blame on her, but is arrested, and when Colette finds out, fired. Colette makes up with Rachel just in time to talk Carlton out of a dangerous street race against one of Colette’s other suitors, and Rachel does just that. Meanwhile: Astrid has forgiven Michael and is having trouble and arguments with him, and Kitty Pong is seeking advice on how to fit in to the Hong Kong social scene after her scandal with Alistar. That’s all for now folks, because I’m writing this at 2 am with school tomorrow, so if you’re still interested, subscribe to my channel, and I’ll have a video up soon about this.

  • Nancy Gomez
    Nancy Gomez 2 months ago

    For me, at the beginning of the movie I was like aww I can relate to the main actress and her mom. Specifically when the mom told her even though she looks and speaks Chinese, on the inside she's American and how she's a "banana". I was like wow similar to my Hispanic upbringing being constantly told you're not really Mexican because you weren't born or brought up in the country. But that small amount of relatability died with all the wealth being depicted. I grew up poor... Never really had a liking to wealthy people who didn't grow up in ghettos or didn't have to think "shit can I afford college?" Like bruh... I was mostly spiteful through out this movie. This bitch was crying after having some snobby bitches make fun of her while she's getting a massage? Boo fucking hoo

  • HindsightPOV
    HindsightPOV 2 months ago

    I only saw “Crazy Rich Asians” because a friend wanted to see it and I ended up enjoying it a lot more than I thought I would, even though RomComs aren’t really my thing. I heard they’re going to make a sequel which I’ll be sure to watch.

  • Alyss
    Alyss 2 months ago

    I really loved this movie! The plot was very common so I was worried it would just disappoint me, but there was something unique and special in the way they executed it.

  • xxAlexixx88
    xxAlexixx88 2 months ago

    Glad you reviewed this movie! But not one comment on the cast or setting? Any of it come of interest?

  • Jeremiah Nunez
    Jeremiah Nunez 2 months ago

    Where is the "To all the boys i have loved before review"?

  • REIQ
    REIQ 2 months ago

    The movie was meh ok, but it feels Im pushed to like it just because the cast is all Asian and just because of that is has to be good, bland Asian romcon

  • chris roberts
    chris roberts 2 months ago

    I choose not to watch this film based souly on the title.
    And the
    "poor single american" that I am.

  • Jon RD
    Jon RD 2 months ago

    This movie made me want to date asian women

  • Dragonstar13
    Dragonstar13 2 months ago

    Going to agree. Travel more, have adventures, and enjoy things while you can. And loved Crazy Rich Asian, one of my favorite movies this year.

  • Bernardo Abdanur Sá
    Bernardo Abdanur Sá 2 months ago

    Where in Europe have you been?

  • awarlock82
    awarlock82 2 months ago

    I'd love to visit Singapore and other countries of South East Asia, like Malaysia, Vietnam, Thailand, Cambodia, Bali, etc. I also am absolutely in love with Gemma Chan now, upon discovering her these past few months and watching her interviews and photos! Now I want to see CRA mainly for her.
    That is all.

  • awarlock82
    awarlock82 2 months ago

    I want to see the sequel of Crazy Rich Asians called "Sane Middle Class Latin Americans".

  • Moises Hernandez
    Moises Hernandez 2 months ago

    What an amazing movie i loved the movie so much
    Funny and romantic thank god it’s getting a sequel

  • C I
    C I 2 months ago

    Having watched it and I'm Filpina American I can relate to how people in Philippines see me as different since I was born and raised in America. Also how mothers judged who date.
    Can't relate to the rich part.

  • cadr003
    cadr003 2 months ago

    What the movie got me as an Asian American myself is the strong underlying tension between global Western values vs traditional Eastern values, which really struck home for me and a lot of my Asian Am. friends.

  • raven fyhre
    raven fyhre 2 months ago

    It's also about Asian culture in countries that not even Asians care about.

  • Brendan Gilroy
    Brendan Gilroy 2 months ago

    Thank God, I finally found a review that wasn't jerking off the fact that it was an asian cast.

  • seanc41556
    seanc41556 2 months ago

    Review Black 47

  • brandon sneed
    brandon sneed 2 months ago

    Its as trash as the trailers looked. It's soooo corny

  • ArchTenshi Xue
    ArchTenshi Xue 2 months ago

    The movie was great! Culturally Relatable, cute romance, but important the family aspect made this movie for me.

  • Official Filmilen
    Official Filmilen 2 months ago

    Crazy Rich Asians is so good that it will get a sequel

  • thatnormalguy9
    thatnormalguy9 2 months ago

    I wouldn't watch the movie for the title itself. I'm not rich nor Asian.

  • TM Martin
    TM Martin 2 months ago

    JJ calls it Lifestyle Porn. I don't go to the cinema for that crap. Something just did not land for me with this movie. Michelle Yeoh was the 'Dragon Lady.' Wow. Please Do Better, Hollywood.

  • jairtzinio
    jairtzinio 2 months ago

    the trailer is shit and the movie is shit... boom... no need for a review

  • Bueller229 !
    Bueller229 ! 2 months ago

    Where'd you go in Europe?!

  • ItsLynnsyoutube
    ItsLynnsyoutube 2 months ago

    Asian dramas are like that, LIKE SHHIT MAN SMH

  • Omar' Commin
    Omar' Commin 2 months ago

    Don't understand 1% of the hype around this aside from cultural diversity bs

  • Blender Km
    Blender Km 2 months ago

    Can you say whether a straight man will like this movie? No worries if you have no idea.

  • Dean Lett
    Dean Lett 2 months ago

    I went to the movie to see how they would handle the presentation of wealth, and it had some eye candy and some good laughs, but rather vapid. The troubles of good looking people who have it all, give me a break.

  • BabeOfCakes
    BabeOfCakes 2 months ago +1

    Dad?

  • ilovevirtualconsole
    ilovevirtualconsole 2 months ago

    Cool review Jeremy.

  • Nathan Pollock
    Nathan Pollock 2 months ago

    Good to hear it's a good movie.
    Please talk about the new Halloween trailer. It's intense.

  • Scrubis Scrubmirez
    Scrubis Scrubmirez 2 months ago

    Sorry to bother you

  • James Kelly
    James Kelly 2 months ago

    So did John Lennon actually get anything right? I mean he wrote some good songs and strummed some good chords...and...?

  • OurlostIsland
    OurlostIsland 2 months ago

    the fact that you think the premise is basic and predictable shows you completely missed what makes this film culturally relevant... the conflict and tension of the film isn't what you see in all typical romcoms where the man has to decide between family or his partner (and always goes for 'passion'/their partner). The conflict is between the mother and Rachel, and Rachel makes the decision at the end. The cultural tension of Rachel realizing she is a stranger in her homeland while surrounded by people who look like her, personified by Eleanor, and then eventually gaining her respect through demonstrating her appreciation for sacrifice and family, speaks to many immigrants who are lost between worlds and looking to belong. This isn't a typical "win the parents' approval" film. We have never seen this before.

  • Nick Loiodice
    Nick Loiodice 2 months ago

    Peppermint review!!

  • Weareight
    Weareight 2 months ago

    Robin Leach died

  • Quadrilaterally
    Quadrilaterally 2 months ago

    TVclip will be gone?

  • Timothy Jason Carr
    Timothy Jason Carr 2 months ago

    This was some boring ass sex free 50 shades pandering bullshit.

  • Lady Judged
    Lady Judged 2 months ago

    How many cameras have you broken through punching them?👊😋

  • enjoi0555
    enjoi0555 2 months ago

    It was dogshit. Swap this out with white people and change the wealthy family to like the Waltons and people would say it sucked across the board. But hey it’s all Asian so give the shit quality a pass. Diversity!

  • blank pallet2
    blank pallet2 2 months ago

    Thats why the world is the way it is , why the kardashians made it without doing anything ,because everybody thinks they can get the wealth too

  • Buck Rogers
    Buck Rogers 2 months ago

    The movie is a little different from the book. The main sticking point between the potential MIL and DIL is different. The book has details of how crazy rich and fashionable these folks are and also an introduction to Singlish (Sg patois English). Yeah, it is a sweet romantic movie with an Asian cast in an Asian int'l city.

  • Amazing 101
    Amazing 101 2 months ago

    This movie is so...fuckin booooring, and im Asian, it's really not good at all.

  • alright anne
    alright anne 2 months ago

    I can't believe you didn't mention the fact that it was an all ASIAN CAST! Like Black Panther, CRA is significant because it gave Asian-American more represetion in WESTERN Cinema beside the now stereotypical martial art movie. CRA made history for Asian-American and give other an understanding how diversify Asian community can be.

  • Rodney NICA87
    Rodney NICA87 2 months ago

    As always man keep doing what your doing, you do it well. If you think about it this is your Job so you took vaca, we all need vaca, if some of you fan base can't see that than they can SUCK IT!

  • Muah Friend
    Muah Friend 2 months ago

    Hey look the communist Chinese own Hollywood

  • Fee B
    Fee B 2 months ago

    Loved it !

  • Ace Diamonds
    Ace Diamonds 2 months ago

    norm of the north is a straight to dvd movie that got a theatrical release. this sir, is no norm of the north.

  • Arturo Ortiz
    Arturo Ortiz 2 months ago

    Looks to me like "meet the 'rich' parents...."

  • browniebizzle
    browniebizzle 2 months ago

    Cinematography was amazing

  • Striker Ray
    Striker Ray 2 months ago

    So so.not that great, its cultural differences

  • rbc21
    rbc21 2 months ago

    next make a movie more relatable like "crazy cheap asian"

  • Joey Flacko
    Joey Flacko 2 months ago

    Bro that’s a typical ass movie pass

  • Yuanmei
    Yuanmei 2 months ago

    Welcome back!!
    I admit I'm new to this genre, but I'm surprised you didn't give it a higher rating. What would you recommend in this genre that would warrant an awesometacular?

  • George williams
    George williams 2 months ago

    This is literally just any romantic American comedy. It’s trite and almost gets obnoxious. Didn’t care for it

  • Fernando Herrera
    Fernando Herrera 2 months ago

    Date movie is right. Chicks love this stuff. Not really my cup of tea.

  • Just a cunt
    Just a cunt 2 months ago

    I didn't even know about this movie, now I really don't wanna see it

  • spritedrin
    spritedrin 2 months ago

    =_= there were so many clever references to Singapore/asian culture that I never expected to be there and Americans will never understand

  • M'Lissa Anderson
    M'Lissa Anderson 2 months ago

    RIP to the legend Robin Leach....

  • Jacob Healy
    Jacob Healy 2 months ago

    Did not like it, shit was too cheesy for me

  • szewei85
    szewei85 2 months ago

    Glad you enjoy the holidays haha

  • David Vowels
    David Vowels 2 months ago

    Do a review on Jack Ryan

  • Aixa Martinez
    Aixa Martinez 2 months ago

    Can you review some be flux originals like “set it up” or “to all the boys I’ve loved before”

  • Lok Stir
    Lok Stir 2 months ago

    So no kung fu? :(

  • TheBrendon67
    TheBrendon67 2 months ago

    My mother in law has watched so many Chinese, Thai, and Khmer movies with this exact plot.
    Usually, the protagonist is of exceptional virtue. Like, the kind of virtue that Angels would look down on and say: “damn, that’s one virtuous lady”.
    While the antagonist is cut of a cloth of assholes not of this world.
    Cheesy, fun, and often hilariously dubbed...
    I honestly love watching these kind of movies with my mother In law.
    More to chill with her than for the movies though.

  • Jason Lilly
    Jason Lilly 2 months ago

    It was my wife's idea to see this on date night. I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Rollin Kocher
    Rollin Kocher 2 months ago

    I really enjoyed it.

  • Bittertokken
    Bittertokken 2 months ago

    Hearing the bottle pop/break on the floor after he gives the no alcohol rating, is one of the most satisfying sounds ever.

  • Aaron brown
    Aaron brown 2 months ago

    Its only been 5 days

  • alanOHALAN
    alanOHALAN 2 months ago

    Better than Godzilla movie or whatever the beast movie you call it

  • Solid Snake
    Solid Snake 2 months ago

    This movies racist

  • FRÓÐI
    FRÓÐI 2 months ago +1

    "Why haven't you reviewed THIS movie ?"
    OHHHH i wonder why would they say that specifically about THIS movie... sjw pieces of shit...

  • Cycled Silhouette
    Cycled Silhouette 2 months ago

    Why are you using kid gloves with this movie Jeremy? You always mention pacing, not a word in this review. And what about the cinematography, the score?