The Meg - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 223

  • eldon Watson
    eldon Watson 2 days ago

    It was so bad on a Meg-a scale!

  • Fede Juarez
    Fede Juarez 6 days ago

    Just watched it today. Only for Jason Statham. It wasnt that bad to me. It had some funny parts, like when the lab billionaire got eaten by the meg.

  • Sauga Verse
    Sauga Verse 6 days ago

    I watched The MEG, and I had really been looking forward to seeing it too.
    The movie started out really well, but then ..........
    Yep, it took a turn towards pure silliness and that ruined it.
    This movie had so much potential too, so its too bad.
    It could have actually been a decent movie if it stuck closer to reality.
    But instead, the shark turns into a serial killer eating everything that crosses its path, and it yet doesn't gain a pound.
    And even after eating an entire whale, it goes looking for more food cause its still hungry.
    Anyways, a potential good movie gone bad.

  • mohamed hamed
    mohamed hamed 8 days ago

    the movie was so boring

  • TheNerdyBirdie 24
    TheNerdyBirdie 24 16 days ago

    We got the wall in the-
    Oh shizzle
    WE GOT THE WALL IN THE MEG

  • Bu Kholoud
    Bu Kholoud 25 days ago

    I found it really repetitive and boring

  • Fernando Marroquin
    Fernando Marroquin 29 days ago

    Meg... who let you back in the house?

  • Ka Jon
    Ka Jon Month ago

    I watched the movie. I like it.

  • Darth Meteos
    Darth Meteos Month ago

    I'm disappointed they didn't go with the book, that's a great story, and they completely changed it and made it generic.

  • wulfric 910
    wulfric 910 Month ago

    The only issue that I have for this movie is it's focusing a lot in the main character Jason Statham
    ( Jonas Taylor ) more than the other characters

  • K1RA
    K1RA Month ago

    I actually laughed a lot in this movie, probably to the point I guess people might be thinking if I was crazy. It's a fun movie, but why is it trying to be serious like it was trying to fuse a Taiwan Drama into a Hollywood movie lol. And 2 sharks is like getting 2 shark movies for the price of 1. And the final confrontation omg I really went LMAO, Statham was like, "wtv, fk the plan, even if it is up against the greatest predator ever,I will do it my way like I did in all my other movies, Roarrrr Bang! Slash! Stab! Boom! Yeah man so true, "Man vs meg is not a fight, it;s a slaugher...(Smile) It's Statham slaughering the meg!"

  • winston smith
    winston smith Month ago

    B????????????????This movie sucked ass.I watched it like a porn movie. I just fast-forward to all the shark scenes. The CGI was worse than anyone I've seen on Sy/fy channel.

  • NightGlider745
    NightGlider745 Month ago

    You mean Dwight

  • Sai Kishore
    Sai Kishore Month ago

    Chinese fast food.YUK

  • lillian reeves
    lillian reeves Month ago

    I fell asleep for 20 minutes in the cinemas

  • RepaleoN Halo
    RepaleoN Halo Month ago

    There's a big dam shark in the water!! Let's get in the water!! It's so fake it's just cringe worthy

  • RepaleoN Halo
    RepaleoN Halo Month ago

    I just saw it yesterday and it was shittier then I expected.. I knew it would be bad but it was worse then I thought.. Only reason I just wanted to see it cause I'm fascinated by Megalodons and I got tired of gaming hehe.. Either way the characters were completely unrealistic.. Alot of predictable jump scares.. Everything is CGI even though it looks good its just very lazy.. I don't know what to say it's okay for a rental but only like 4 euros.. All in all its just a bad comedy horror attampt,, and the credit scene just slappes you in the face of what you just watched you'll hear what I mean by then ;)

  • ur2c8
    ur2c8 Month ago

    I hate reviewers who start by saying how much they enjoyed a movie but then go on to tell you it is crap.

  • Potato Queen
    Potato Queen Month ago

    The meg is way better than jaws

  • steven lindsay
    steven lindsay Month ago

    well....we must have watched 2 different movies....this was bad.....just bad....like Sharknado bad

  • Christopher James Willington

    They made it out to be this Jurassic Park level badass shark film, but nope Statham had to Statham

  • Hari Gunawan
    Hari Gunawan Month ago

    Baby shark do do dodo baby shark !

  • bill nguyen
    bill nguyen Month ago

    we all know what this movie will be and thankfully, the movie itself is aware of how silly it is too, it is not pretentious. this is a movie about Jason Statham, fighting a giant shark... is there any review that is even necessary for this kind of movie? but in all seriousness, i had a MEGA fun time watching this movie. the first part with the rescue mission i actually quite like, i like the atmosphere of the setting and i like the characters. if it was suppose to be suspenseful then it most certainly failed though. but after the first act the movie just start to embrace the stupidity in it's nature more and more, with every single dialogue and character choices. and at the end it became such a hilariously stupid movie, but with Jason Statham stealing the show and some very very impressive CGI, it was satisfying. final score for me is a B- .

  • Fusion TV
    Fusion TV Month ago

    I hate how everyone complains about The Meg catering to Chinese audiences. Just enjoy the fucking movie. Stop focusing on that one thing. Honestly, just stop. Saying that just ruins the whole thing. IMO, I loved this movie. It had so much action and I loved it. But like some people, all they focus on is the *CaTeRiNg To ChInEsE aUdIeNcEs* bullshit.

  • DrizzlyEarth
    DrizzlyEarth Month ago

    Your Jason Statham impression was spot fucking on

  • Jack Flank
    Jack Flank Month ago

    Easily the worst movie I've watched this year. How they can over complicate a seemingly simple premise into a incoherent monstrosity is beyond me. And the effects sucked!

  • Russel Walker
    Russel Walker Month ago

    Can you review City Lights please.

  • hansdegebruiker
    hansdegebruiker 2 months ago

    Thanks for this review. Gonna watch it.

  • RANDOM DUDE
    RANDOM DUDE 2 months ago

    I thought the movie was really good

  • 420protoman
    420protoman 2 months ago

    total piece of shit movie... sorry lol

  • Eric Walker Whitelaw
    Eric Walker Whitelaw 2 months ago

    I personally liked the lack of blood, as I feel like sometimes movies like this abuse the use of it and rely on effects too much. But guess that is down to opinion :)

  • SMKU Slendermankillsu
    SMKU Slendermankillsu 2 months ago

    i FUCKING HATE THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • fissunix
    fissunix 2 months ago

    This movie is just a piece of shit.

  • Vegan BroScience
    Vegan BroScience 2 months ago

    Its rubbish, characters are annoying all trying to be cool, what a waste, get real

  • Level 99
    Level 99 2 months ago

    you can clearly tell that this movie was made for the chinese audience..
    the jokes, the "drama", the locations and also bad acting.

  • Paquette Stephen Brett
    Paquette Stephen Brett 2 months ago

    This better than deep blue sea?

  • MikeinWB
    MikeinWB 2 months ago

    The movie the Meg sucked. Do not waste your time.

  • Jen Toland
    Jen Toland 2 months ago

    I get it, but I really didn't care for it because I was unable to care about the charactors.

  • Scott K
    Scott K 2 months ago +1

    Of course the problem is, I don't think it was an intentionally silly, self-aware film. I'm pretty sure it was trying to be good.

  • dixson salomo
    dixson salomo 2 months ago

    I just finished watching the movie and I don’t really like it. It’s cheesy and a bit stale to me but the cinematic were pleasing to watch, I just wish corny characters such as the rich guy and the Asian mom didn’t kill the mood (mine to be exact.) In fact, I actually think the GIRL has more character than the mother herself! All in all, the movie. Didn’t really like it, sooooo C+ because of the cinematic that boosted it up.

  • am83330
    am83330 2 months ago

    A beard, massive tattoo, black T shirt, and dimly lit room. Is this a biker bar or a movie review.

  • daimy kruyshaar
    daimy kruyshaar 2 months ago

    This movie might be the worst shark movie i've ever seen, how can you be positive about it?

  • Kevin Smith
    Kevin Smith 2 months ago

    i just wasted 20 bucks on this piece of shit im gonna wrap mine up and give it to some poor bastard for xmas

  • dterryize
    dterryize 2 months ago

    Have to disagree. . .not enough carnage for something capable of creating a LOT of carnage. . .and when it came down to it. . .Jason had enough, got out, and killed the thing in about a minute. It's a MEGLADON!!!!

  • Kami Kiramaru
    Kami Kiramaru 2 months ago

    Guess its a "B" movie

  • Muhammad Sadiq Mughal
    Muhammad Sadiq Mughal 2 months ago

    I hated that movie, water is habitat to sharks, this movie just proved human superiority over animals(that very very true) but killing a living fossil is a really unethical thing, they simply could have got out of the water.Megalodon was a masterpiece that they destroy.... Disappointed

  • SkyCommander
    SkyCommander 2 months ago

    If they had just given it an R rating I'd have been amazing like Piranha 3D or the Hatchet movies

  • Future Atlanteans
    Future Atlanteans 2 months ago +4

    Didn't anyone notice that (((Hollywood))) didn't show any morning for the white people that died ? Any time a white person died nobody really cared yet when Toshi and the father of that girl died they showed some morning for their deaths. Except for Statham all white men in the cast were used as Shark fodder.

  • Eddie Reis
    Eddie Reis 2 months ago

    Damn Chris sounds like a scientist

  • Resident Evilfan666
    Resident Evilfan666 3 months ago

    i really like this movie i just wish that eli roth could have directed this movie and i wanna a rated R film and i prefer eli roth i like his movies like cabin fever 2003 hostel part 1 2005 and hostel part 2 2007 and the green inferno 2015 and i dont like how we get pg-13 rated sharks movies we should have rated r like jaws not no shark night and also 47 meters down

  • Rabbit
    Rabbit 3 months ago

    This movie was stupid and had some cringey moments, but I loved it. I absolutely enjoy these animal monster movies.
    A surprising amount of people survived, which I'm fine with actually, usually most of them die.

  • Danny Raul Molina
    Danny Raul Molina 3 months ago

    Do you think they didn't make it R rated because the main audience is china? I assume censorship is very strict over there

  • Whynottho
    Whynottho 3 months ago

    I’ve seen better movies on SyFy.. sorry the actors were pretty bad.

  • Connor is a THICC SNACC of an android

    I like it, but I think there should’ve been more gore ( so many gore ideas that would look sick ) and maybe help get rid of the sterotypes of sharks so people wouldn’t be as afraid of sharks
    I like the fact the dog lived

  • TheWhiteDeath
    TheWhiteDeath 3 months ago

    You asshole! This movie was horrible in every way!

  • Derick Sy
    Derick Sy 3 months ago

    i thought this is gonna be another bad movie starring a shark but i was surprised the movie was great!! i just finished watching it!

  • William Kirchhofer
    William Kirchhofer 3 months ago

    The Asian girl and her daughter lived. That + Statham is all i cared about. The Acting was kind of careless but at least the black guy didn't die lol

  • Ismail Topa
    Ismail Topa 3 months ago

    When something dumb is presented as something cleaver and serious, I instantly hate.

  • Ben Wieneke
    Ben Wieneke 3 months ago

    I’m so frustrated that WB did not include a director’s cut, or ANY deleted scenes, in the home release. That alone convinced me not to buy it. The movie itself is good fun, but it’d be nice to see the R-rated version. Make it happen, Warner Bros.

  • Ruth Morris
    Ruth Morris 3 months ago

    I I read all five of the books watched every spoiler took two couples to see it. They lived it also. Now I own it& have watched it at least 6 times since yesterday. Now I can't wait for the next movie.LOVED IT

  • ErosiaEU
    ErosiaEU 3 months ago

    Grading this B is bordering on unfathomable. My verdict is a D.

  • King Mojo
    King Mojo 3 months ago

    people have forgotten that shark movies are scary...not that you should care about the characters but you should be scared for them

  • Bill L.
    Bill L. 3 months ago

    This movie sucked, glad I didn’t pay $$ to see it at the movie theatre! Horrible acting & directing! With a 130 million dollars budget, they could have hired a better director and writer. Hope the sequel to this crap will be rated R & please fire the original director and writer(s)!

  • Hikari Azuriel
    Hikari Azuriel 3 months ago

    How did the meg survive all this years?

  • chichiboypumpi
    chichiboypumpi 3 months ago

    as always trying-to-sell-to-china crap, pandering to sjws, libtards, and 3rd wave feminists, and make the Japanese a lesser character and then get him killed to please the uber-nationalist-Japanese-hating Chinese or the stoic Japanese

  • Bob Robertson
    Bob Robertson 3 months ago

    You have no balls ginger boy

  • Bob Robertson
    Bob Robertson 3 months ago

    This is a "F" or lower movie

  • Bob Robertson
    Bob Robertson 3 months ago

    Disrespect

  • Bob Robertson
    Bob Robertson 3 months ago

    "B" ? Realy? This is F

  • Bob Robertson
    Bob Robertson 3 months ago

    Disrespect for the conformist review

  • TheBoltMaster
    TheBoltMaster 3 months ago

    I'm not a fan of excessive gore, like any gorier than the Saw movies and I am OUT, like if you show me a movie with mortal kombat x levels of gore but on a much more detailed level, then I will just be like "fuck dis shit I'm out!" It's why I'm not a fan of the final destination movies. So I'd say the amount of gore in this movie could be increased, but since this movie is going for a more silly less serious and scary mood, I'd say excessive gore involving intestines and shit pouring out of people would not be very fitting.

  • Time Space
    Time Space 3 months ago

    I just got done watching The Meg.
    This movie starts off weak, but it has one of the most epic ending.
    The best fight seen you've ever seen!

  • La Gatita
    La Gatita 3 months ago

    I wanted an ocean glistening with blood so much that the sand on the beach turned bright RED...nope just got blue, plain old BLUE.
    :(

  • Eisenhorn Overlip
    Eisenhorn Overlip 3 months ago

    terrible jason statham imperssion chris. Ruined the entire review smh.

  • Worrysome Wasteful Wholesome Woomy

    I grew up with a megalodon -Chris

  • TMG ENTERTAINMENT
    TMG ENTERTAINMENT 3 months ago

    This movie is ass

  • grgrgr grgrgr
    grgrgr grgrgr 3 months ago

    Beets. Bears. Battlestar Galactica

  • Isaac Gaming
    Isaac Gaming 3 months ago

    Who Else Watched This Then After Goes Straight Here?

    Like Me?
    And If U Agree Wanna See Something?
    Press This It Should Turn Blue.
    👇

  • Eric Riley
    Eric Riley 3 months ago

    see I thought it was fuckin great I loved it could it have been better sure what movie couldn't but I thought it was great I've watched it 10 times since I've got it

  • andresisthename
    andresisthename 3 months ago

    The reason why I can't trust movie critics these days. This shitty film is extremely shitty. There is no good praising anyone can make about it.

  • Adwait Shinde
    Adwait Shinde 3 months ago

    I watched this movie only because Jason Statham was there...
    Awesome movie though

  • buzzardbeatniks
    buzzardbeatniks 3 months ago

    This felt just like a 90's movie to me.

  • takito butface
    takito butface 3 months ago

    jason statham is good

  • TylerAdams
    TylerAdams 3 months ago

    Infinity War got lower than this...

  • james lloyd
    james lloyd 3 months ago

    If you put an actress as bad as the lady that plays Suyin in a film, she has to at least get her tits out. Nearly ruined the whole damn thing

  • Richard Canipe
    Richard Canipe 4 months ago +1

    where's your review of Alpha (2018)?

  • I farted
    I farted 4 months ago

    No offence I HATED this film but I respect your opinion

  • W. 5
    W. 5 4 months ago

    Hoped for something as good as Deep Blue Sea...meh!
    DBS had humor mixed with scares, really good ratio.
    But the jokes in Meg are too lame/stupid and so not working-and nothing to be afraid of.

  • Ari Papermaster
    Ari Papermaster 4 months ago

    I was expecting I good movie and I didn't get it. Thats' all there is to it

  • Esperanzilla
    Esperanzilla 4 months ago

    I loved it , i was entertained every minute....my friends and I couldn’t stop laughing in some parts 😂

  • Peter Brackstone
    Peter Brackstone 4 months ago

    I Thought the Meg was a GREATTT load of shit

  • Mark Du Plessis
    Mark Du Plessis 4 months ago +1

    Terrible movie, no redeeming features at all, but cleverly Sinosycophantic.

  • michael mellan
    michael mellan 4 months ago

    They had to have the asian actors in it with a fake love interest just to pander to the chinise market, so istead of statham getting back with his ex they creat a weak love interest between the chinise actress and jason stathems character to sell more tickets in china

  • michael mellan
    michael mellan 4 months ago

    Thats exactly what i said, if it came out in the 90s it would of been a massive blockbuster but it gets a low rating coz peeps only wanna see superhero and starwars films, it never got the advertising budget it would of got in the 90s like speed etc!

  • Za N
    Za N 4 months ago

    i was bored :(

  • encycl07pedia
    encycl07pedia 4 months ago

    I saw this movie a couple days ago. It did exactly what it set out to do. 7/10
    The only thing I absolutely HATED was the Chinese pandering. Is there some law in China that makes it illegal to watch movies without Chinese characters/actors? Stop it already. It's so transparent. I don't even really like Statham as an actor (seems like a nice guy), but the racist cast was hard to ignore, especially when you know the motivations behind it.

  • hyenachase f
    hyenachase f 4 months ago

    watched lastnight what a load of bolloxs

  • MellowMadnessRMX
    MellowMadnessRMX 4 months ago

    2/5.. too much water

  • ShortyBig69
    ShortyBig69 4 months ago

    These days moviegoers are just to damn picky. You guys can't enjoy a movie because you want to pick at everything. No movie is going to be perfect.

  • Ashley
    Ashley 4 months ago

    So I just finished the audiobook (yea I’m gonna be that person...) and I can already tell the movie is faaaaaar from the told story from author Steve Alten.. I really liked the book.. not love but liked it have you read/listened to it? I tend to make the mistake of doing this a lot reading the books then seeing the movie and hating it, why couldn’t they actually make it like the book? Just from the few trailers I watched I didn’t see Maggie, Jonas’s wife who plays kind of a big role. I want to watch the movie now but I know I’ll be disappointed I hate that studios take a great book and twist everything into a blah movie 😑